Add Your Review for 123-reg

46 123-reg Reviews:

Is 123-reg the host for you?

Last reviewed Jul 28, 2016

Key features

  • Uptime Guarantee
  • Plesk
  • Phone Support
  • Support Forum
  • Live Chat Support
  • Help Center Live

User Reviews - Total: 46

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Shocking customer service. Website working ok getting emails via the form on my page, then a customer reports that there is an error message from the page. I contacted customer service and I realised that I hadn't received an email via the form for over a month! Now to put a finer detail on it 'they' tried to say it was my web administrators fault (me) and that there was nothing I could do about it. I then checked the coding and there was no change to the code. I then contacted customer service again. I explained that I had uploaded another email form to the server and that also didn't work. So the customer service sent me an email via my hosting address and it arrived and he told me then its not their issue. I had to explain to him it was via the form on the web page that came back with a 'server' error. He then said he would pass this on to another department. It has since after numerous contacts via the chat been passed again to another department and the saga continues....123 Reg is only a few miles from where I live so watch this space! Do not put your business page in their hands!

★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

123-reg's customer service is poor. They just closed my ticket on an issue they were unable to resolve.
Despite claims that their support is 24/7, they never respond to messages during the weekend or evenings.
They suspended by site due to a report of a phishing attack being hosted at a URL belonging to my domain.
After investigating, no evidence was found of a phishing scam.
Customer service were unable to account for this or provide FTP logs showing a scam having been uploaded at anytime in the past.
The support staff weren't technical enough and didn't refer the case onto someone who could investigate the server logs.
They just weren't interested and closed down the ticket.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Support is non-existent. Total apathy if you eventually get any response and there is an inability to resolve real problems. I have to raise a ticket every other month to have them run a compacting process or the daily backups stop working, and I dread the need for the repeat interaction. They simply do not care and never offer any real clear explanation or apology. Fortunately we moved from their VPS service as according to the status pages their virtual hosting platform has been down for 10 days. Can you imagine having lost any ability to host your business for 24 hours, let alone that long. And this certainly isn't the first time for them.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I signed up the VPS package with 123-reg since May 2015. Everything seems to be good until Jan 2016. I suffered 3 major downtime in the past quarter, and the one happened yesterday on 16th April 2016 is so far the worst. The VPS is now down for 24 hours.

I've been on its Facebook page, and saw 100s of people who had the same problem were asking for a more regular update on the issue, but 123-reg literally blocks all ways of communications. No answer on the phone, no reply to emails or support tickets, no live chat online.

The only thing that gave us a bit clue of what was wrong and what was being done is a 'server issue' page which only got updated every 6 hours.

If you are serious about your websites, stay away from 123-reg.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

For simple domain registration and email set up they are quick, convenient and well priced provider.
You do have to watch as you go through the ordering process as every step of the way will try to sell you an add on.

For website hosting the features available are good for most users and give you some useful tool. They are limited however for the more advanced hosting manager.

Live chat enables you to get through to someone quickly but if your issue is more than needing simple advice the process is very long. Font line support clearly have limited access/ability to diagnose any issue and these have to be raise to a more technical support who has a long service response time target.
While downtime is rare, this will prove a challenge if your website is vital to you business and downtime is something that needs fixing in a couple of hours rather than "by the end of the day".

★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

My experience with 123-reg thus far has been very poor. Their support is appalling and slow, almost like they're reading off scripts half the time with copy & paste answers and even then when they respond you don't always get the answer you want. Their packages, however attractive with the business package being fairly cheap-ish (more so with a discount voucher code) unfortunately come with a restriction in the form of your free domain(s) being only .co.uk and you don't have the freedom or choice (like you get with other web hosting providers) of a different extension like a .com or .org. This puts a real downer on things as a .co.uk domain isn't always what the customer wants neither is it always appropriate and the only answer you get from support on that when you complain is that it's a decision made at the management level. I deem this to be an extremely poor business decision and only serves to put customers off. I am not happy with this web hosting provider at all and won't be using them again.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

The package I chose ("business") says it comes with 500 email mailboxes and can host 5 domains. Perfect. Or so I thought. It turns out the email mailboxes are only provided for domains that are registered with or transferred to 123-Reg so they DO NOT provide email for domains they are hosting if the domain is registered elsewhere. This means you have to buy a second email package which costs another 99p per month for a single mailbox or £7.50 per month for 10 mailboxes with no other options, and that's just for personal email! The business option is £5.99 per month for 1 or £24.95 per month for 5 with no other options. So much for 500 mailboxes. Oh, and those prices are excluding VAT so you can add another 20% straight away.
They don't advertise or guarantee an uptime % for their shared hosting packages which is quite a surprise considering that its a big selling point for most hosting companies with the lowest I've seen being 99.9%. In the first 8 weeks of my hosting package from July 29 2015 to September 25 2015 I had a total downtime of 10 hours 10 minutes and 44 seconds which was measured using uptimerobot.com... in only 8 weeks! That represents an uptime of just 99.24% or 66½ hours downtime a year. There were three days where one of my sites was down for over an hour with the worst day being a total of 2 hours 30 minutes. On another day the site went down a total of 49 times. Not once did I get any notification from 123-reg that my sites were down or any explanation as to why this may have been. There were an awful lot of downtimes that lasted exactly 1 minute too, that suggests to me that these were planned outages which I was also not notified about. Not so much of a surprise any more that they don't advertise their uptime for shared hosting packages. That was enough for me, I decided to get out of dodge.
I gave them two stars for support however because after I used their really convoluted support system to log my request to cancel my membership, somebody called me back within only a couple of hours. The call was very efficient and there were no arguments about contracts and no attempts to bleed money out of an obviously dissatisfied customer for things like free domains that were provided as part of the package.They also get two stars for features because while the package does provide a lot of features like templates and graphics libraries (or at least so they advertise) I never figured out how to access a lot of them. Also, judging by the way they advertised the 500 email mailboxes "feature" I'm pretty sure there would have been some disappointments there too.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

We have had the worst customer service experience from 123 reg.com today. we had to go through resetting up the account as they couldnt sort the problem out any other way. they cut us off on friday due to a credit card expiring - we put new details in on Weds, but this made no difference! phone numbers just ring out or cut off, phone calls are cut off. IT has taken me 4 hours to sort out this mess and no apology, no sincereity, it seems to me that they are used to it! We are transferring away from them ASAP. DONT USE THEM!

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

This is the worst hosting company i have come across with. I just wasted my money subscribing to their services. My domain stayed for days whole just being told it will take time to propagate. I wondered till when! Besides, their while logged in to my account, the site keeps on automatically adding items to the cart while you haven't selected any. Also, their procedures for customer support are complex and not user friendly. Keep off this company! Siteground or Namecheap ranks the best.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Appalling web host. I have never encountered such rude and incompetent customer support in my life. I filed a complaint after my first experience and discovered that the supervisors were just as incompetent!

Not only that, but after spending weeks and losing a fortune to fix my initial error, my VPS just shut down. I lost dozens of sites and tens of thousands of dollars. Why? Because I'm an idiot and I didn't move after the previous catastrophe. That's why.

+ See More Reviews

123-reg

123-reg.co.uk

123-Reg Introduction

123-Reg is a UK based web hosting company and as the name suggests, it’s focused on offering cheap domain names. Despite this, the company does offer a wide range of web hosting plans, including email hosting, cloud hosting, VPS and dedicated hosting.

123-Reg was founded in 2000, but arise a part of the Webfusion group, a larger company which has been around since 1997. Webfusion is in turn a part of the Host Europe Group which claims to be the largest privately owned hosting company in Europe. The Host Europe Group also owns Heart Internet, Domain Monster, RedCoruna and DonHost, providing customers in the UK, Germany, US, Austria, Switzerland and Spain with web hosting services.

123-Reg claims to be the largest UK based domain provider, having registered over 3 million domain names and hosting more than 1.4 million websites. The company philosophy is that website creation should be for the masses, and this is reflected in their web hosting portfolio. 123-Reg is also keen to stress its green credentials and that its UK based state-of-the art data centre is eco-friendly.

Despite being focused on domain name registration, we will look at their hosting plans in this review.

123-Reg Hosting Plans

123-Reg is unusual in the web hosting business as it does not seem to offer a simple shared hosting plan. Instead, all of its web hosting is designed for people and companies who prefer cloud hosting over VPS or dedicated hosting plans.

There are three cloud hosting plans on the site which offer a choice of Windows or Linux-based web hosting.

  • The Starter Package offers one free domain name with 500 MB of space and unlimited bandwidth. However, this package doesn’t allow for the installation of applications such as Wordpress or Drupal or the creation of any databases. It also doesn’t allow for multiple site hosting or a SSL. The package is designed for customers who need a very basic and static website.
  • The Business Package offers two free domain names, 25 GB of space and unlimited bandwidth. The package is designed for small businesses and allows for 5 databases, 5 applications and multiple site hosting.
  • The Unlimited Package is more suitable for multiple site hosting and larger websites. This package provides 3 free domain names, unlimited space and bandwidth, unlimited databases and applications, multiple site hosting and an SSL Certificate.

There are three VPS plans on offer from 123-Reg, along with the ability to customise a VPS plan to your liking. All of the VPS hosting plans allow for a choice of Linux-based web hosting or Windows hosting.

  • The VPS100 plan is marketed as the perfect step up from a standard hosting package. This provides 1 processor core with 1 GB memory, 50 GB of storage space and unmetered bandwidth.
  • The VPS200 plan, ‘A Designer’s Utopia’, offers 2 processor cores, 2 GB of memory, 100 GB of storage space and unmetered bandwidth.
  • The VPS300 plan is their VPS ‘hosting powerhouse’ plan. This package provides 3 cores, 3 GB memory, 150 GB of storage space and unmetered bandwidth.

123-Reg offers dedicated hosting with a choice of either Windows or Linux based platforms (at slightly different prices). This gives clients a quad-core processor with 2 GB of memory, 2 160GB drives and unlimited bandwidth.

123-Reg Uptime/Downtime

123-Reg doesn’t make any claims about uptime, other than the claim that your site will be ‘online, at all times, no matter what.’ Their data centres are based in the UK and are monitored 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, but they do not publish any statistics regarding uptime or past performance.

The dedicated hosting plans come with a SLA which guarantees 99.9% uptime, allows for instant reboots of the server, provides regular security updates and guarantees an instant server replacement should the hardware fail. It also ensures that customers’ bandwidth isn’t compromised should this happen.

123-Reg Support

All of the 123-Reg hosting plans provide access to UK-based support and live chat support during office hours. There is also a support desk for customers which provides user guides, FAQ’s, live system status and video tutorials. There is also a 123-Reg self diagnosis tool to help solve common web site issues, plus a knowledgebase for self-help and reference.

123-Reg has very active Facebook and Twitter accounts and staff seem quick to respond to queries and other issues. The amount of social media activity is definitely a good sign, and something which is lacking on competitors’ sites.

123-Reg in the News

As one of the UK’s largest web hosting services, it’s perhaps understandable that 123-Reg has attracted some negative publicity. in May 2012, the company came under attack from hackers based in China and its services were badly affected, albeit briefly. It appears that the main attack was contained within the first 15 minutes despite the attack lasting for over 12 hours in total. The hack was big enough for the BBC to run an article on it at the time.

The Register
BBC

123-Reg Control Panel

Customers of 123-Reg have a choice of control panels for their hosting plans. They can choose from the well-known and familiar Linux-based Cpanel, or the Linux/Windows based Plesk 11, which is a popular alternative if not quite as ubiquitous as Cpanel. The fact that customers have the choice is a good thing in itself.

123-Reg Extras

Most of 123-Reg’s web hosting plans come with at least one free domain name. Other extras include a £50 Google Adwords credit and a further £30 when you spend over £36 on domain names. There is also a student discount offer, which is worth noting if you’re in higher education.

There are 22 free scripts that are available with Linux hosting plans, including WordPress, Drupal, Joomla, PHP Nuke and Media Wiki. Windows Hosting comes with blogengine.net, My Web Pages Starter Kit, screwturn wiki and AtomSite.net. All of the apps are installed through the control panel.

123-Reg Money Back Guarantee / Cancellation Policy

To cancel a 123-Reg account, customers are required to provide written notice 30 days from the cancellation date. The team do provide a 7-day money back guarantee as well. It isn’t as good a guarantee as the ones offered by many other web hosting companies, as it doesn’t allow much time for evaluation.

If you wish to end your service, plans can be cancelled over the phone. Like most money back guarantees, any refunds don’t include the cost of domain name registering or any other software licensing fees.

123-Reg Summary

123-Reg is a popular, well-established UK based web hosting company with well-structured and competitive hosting plans in the cloud. Its adoption of a modern social media approach to customer interaction is a good selling point, and if you’re a regular Twitter or Facebook user, that’ll be a bonus worth considering. 123-Reg’s green hosting boasts are commendable, but the company does not really provide enough details about this to back up the claim. More information would be a good thing.

The 123-Reg money-back guarantee is not as good as many other hosting sites out there, and if you’re nervous about joining, you may consider this a negative point. The company’s servers have obviously been targeted by hackers, and the press reports were certainly scathing, but their support team’s response appears to have been exceptionally speedy.

All in all, 123-Reg stands up well against many other web hosting companies and will particularly appeal to customers in the UK and Europe. If you’re looking for hosting in the cloud, give them a look.

123-reg Hosting Plans

Hosting Plan Features Disk Space Bandwidth Price
L Cloud Hosting Plan Plesk Uptime Guarantee Domain Name Snapshot Backups Help Center Live Live Chat Support 2000GB Unlimited $98.64/month
Usual price:
XL Cloud Hosting Plan Plesk Uptime Guarantee Domain Name Snapshot Backups Help Center Live Live Chat Support 2000GB Unlimited $123.71/month
Usual price:
XXL Cloud Hosting Plan Plesk Uptime Guarantee Domain Name Snapshot Backups Help Center Live Live Chat Support 3000MB Unlimited $148.79/month
Usual price:
L VPS Hosting Plan Plesk Windows Linux cPanel Uptime Guarantee Domain Name 70GB Unlimited $31.75/month
Usual price:
XL VPS Hosting Plan Plesk Windows Linux cPanel Uptime Guarantee Domain Name 100GB Unlimited $50.14/month
Usual price:
XXL VPS Hosting Plan Plesk Windows Linux cPanel Uptime Guarantee Domain Name 150GB Unlimited $75.21/month
Usual price:
Start up ASP ASP.NET WordPress PHP Java PostgreSQL 1GB Unlimited $2.99/month
Usual price:
Business ASP ASP.NET WordPress PHP PostgreSQL Windows 50GB Unlimited $4.99/month
Usual price:
Professional ASP ASP.NET WordPress PHP Firewall Protection Java Unlimited Unlimited $8.99/month
Usual price:

123-reg Frequently Asked Questions

How does 123-reg compare to their competitors?

Overall ★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★
Visit 123-reg
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★★★
Overall★★★
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★★★
Overall★★★★★

More 123-reg reviews

★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have used 123-reg for a number of years for simple website hosting. I recently decided to upgrade to a VPS to host my websites. I initially paid for the basic hosting package. After a month or two I found the package to be a bit restrictive with regard to hard disk space, there was barely 1gb free after the operating system was installed. I paid for the upgrade, £103 to the next level giving me 70gb hard disk. I paid on the 19/05/15 for this and as of today 26/05/15 I have yet to have an upgraded server. I have contacted the support section every day to ask them what is happening and the only reply I get is that they have passed the query to their supervisor and are waiting a reply.
I also monitor my websites with Monitor.Us to give me their uptime. This last week it has been reporting a 65% uptime, which I find to be totally unacceptable.
How much business am I losing due to their problems?

★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

A month or so back, I signed up to 123-reg to configure a VPS for my high traffic website after no shared hosting could handle the bandwidth my site was eating. I found 123-reg through Google and went on to set up my VPS. Their website was so easy to use, and the help articles worked so well I actually managed to have a VPS up and running, which was fantastic. It had fantastic uptime, (probably 100%) and the speed was fantastic. The pricing wasn't the most competitive, but I couldn't complain as I was very happy with the product I received. I actually used their Live Chat a few times and got answers to my questions.

However, within the last month it all began to change. I had to change my billing details, so I went over to 123-reg and entered my new billing details, simple, right? A few days later, I received an email saying my VPS payment was overdue and would be cancelled within 7 days. That's terrible considering I run a rather high traffic website and would leave me serverely out of pocket and without the backups I keep it could've been disasterous. However, I go over to their website and see that my new billing details were already entered, so I should have no problem. Incorrect. Yesterday I received another email saying my VPS was overdue and they would cancel it if I don't pay.

I didn't think much of it again. The next day I try to give them a call. The first call didn't go through. The second call rang for a minute with no answer. I found a different phone number in their support section. Dead line. I go over to the live chat to try talk to somebody and get my billing all sorted out. No answer on the live chat. I send them an email, rather concerned that they could just switch off my VPS at any time because they were not billing me. I received a reply to my email within about 5 hours. Not terrible. However the response didn't help me in any way. They told me how to renew my services, however when I clicked "Renew VPS" it didn't give me a further option on how to actually renew it therefore it may still be switched off at anytime and I am absoluetely powerless.

As soon as I have chance I'll be moving away from 123-reg to a more competant company, maybe one that can answer their phone lines and provide some proper support.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

123 Reg screwed me. They messed up on a domain that was hosting a website that cost in excess of $5k. That domain crashed, they deleted all of the content and after I complained and asked them to fix it, they literally ignored me. I did get one response from very rude customer service, but her way of "helping" was to direct me to a random forum page that had nothing to do with anything.

There is a good chance they are staffed by monkeys, slapping keyboards randomly to reply to customer complaints. It seems that these monkeys also control the servers, which is why I am one website and several thousand dollars down.

★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have been with 123-reg for far too long now, I moved to them in 2006 and purchased a dedicated server to host my domains, the price was fair but there were too many support issues to mention, but having taken the trouble to move more than 30 domains I was not about to give up that easily, so I stuck at it.

During the time I have been with them (now more than 8 years) their entire IP range has been blacklisted more times than I can remember, this happens because they harbour spammers on their servers and don't care, money is paramount to them. This means that any mail from my server gets returned from almost all the major email providers, Hotmail, Gmail etc. Int he beginning I thought it was me, and when I wrote a support ticket just got a fob off from their support crew even though I now know that they knew about the IP range blacklisting. SUPPORT??? They don't know the meaning of the word.

The next issue I had with them came to light by accident, THEY WERE SYSTEMATICALLY DOUBLE BILLING!!

WOW! I couldn't believe that they had been doing it all the time, domains were being renewed midway through their term, my server would be billed twice in a month, all done through direct debit. When I queried it they refunded the money (over £1000) but never even apologized. Like I said it was as if it happens all the time.

Now once again they have been blacklisted, me and my customers cannot send mail to any company that uses UCEPROTECT, and that almost all the big boys, and also many of my customers use Hotmail or Gmail so any enquiries from the web sites cannot be sent to them. More than a week this is going on and 123-Reg are doing nothing, asking me to be patient with them and all the while to total number of spammers sending mail from a 123-Reg hosted server is growing.

In short, DON'T TOUCH THEM WITH A BARGE POLE!

If you go with them expect trouble, you have been warned!

★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

123-reg are good value for domain registration, but that's where it stops. A demanding site that uses WordPress often crawls, with frequent error 505s when you try to update a WP article too quickly. But it's that absolutely appalling control panel that takes the biscuit. Why they can't use a tried and tested CP like Cpanel or Plesk, using instead a cobbled together apology obviously written by a graphic artist with little programming knowledge is beyond me! For instance, you can't add an email address to an existing forwarder without deleting the forwarder and starting afresh. The 'customer service' robot keeps directing you to a list of irrelevant FAQs.... Likewise, webmail is excruciatingly awful - again they'd shunned the likes of Horde and Squirrelmail in favour of their own abortion. I avoid using it by forwarding all my mail to my other domain hosted by FVS - who I will transfer this one to when my hosting with 123-reg expires.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

A complete waste of time and effort.
I ordered two domain backorders through 123reg (one was a few weeks in advance and one was a few months in advance) because they brag about how excellent their service is and how fast and reliable it is.
Anyway the first backorder failed - it appears as though someone using a different company (obviously better than 123reg) for a backorder was more successful.
The second backorder failed as well - it looks like somebody manually monitoring the drops was able to get it faster than 123reg's "amazing" system.
I also set up a friends company with 123reg to host their website. Other hosts offer much more for much less. Lets face it...nobody really uses customer service and no customer service is ever any good these days. They have a nice front end to their website and it decieves people into thinking there is a better framework under the nice facade. In reality there just isn't
So all in all just don't bother with them....you'll regret it.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

In my whole time dealing with hosting companies 123 Reg take the biscuit! Today is the 5th time I have had to call them to cancel a hosting package. After being assured on the first time I cancelled the hosting package it was actually cancelled. But they still took the money from my account. Asked for the refund and was told I would have to wait as it was a direct debit and the money was 'with the bank'. I had to then call up 123 to ask for the refund again, and the money appeared in my account 3 days later. Then a week later I had a notification that, hey my hosting had been renewed!!! and an invoice for the same amount was sent. So even after cancelling with 123 twice, me cancelling the direst debit with my bank did 123 decide to renew my hosting, again! They took the money out of my account so I have to call up AGAIN to ask for my money back... I cancelled my account as I have a separate VPS hosting with 123 and no longer needed the old hosting, however the VPS is a nightmare, downtime and terrible support with 'pass the blame' excuses. So all in all 123-REG are a nightmare, I would never recommend them to anyone. Sorry but they need to sort it out as the amount of time, stress and shoddy service is simply not worth it. So ONTO the next hosting company we go!!!

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

123-reg IDC is a very good business, their host quickly, and the price is very cheap, the domain name is better than others, and the process is also very timely friendship, so I give 123-reg vote, they support you, and I hope to become a better IDC 123-reg business, giving us a better and faster, the host and domain name more cheap.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

OK - 123-reg sucks - BECAUSE:

As it turns out, the default settings on the server are for log files to grow infinitely. Not being a server guru, I would never guess that something like that needs to be set differently from the default setting. Needless to say, after a few months the logfiles are so huge that the server stops running. I open a support ticket, but after several hours no response. I have to wait until 9:00 AM until the support phones are answered. Fun enough now? All day, the server is not working, tickets are answered only after lengthy phone calls or harsh messages on 123-reg FB page. More fun. The evening rolls around and I am informed that the admins have gone home and will look at this in the morning. that means by morning the server will have been down 24 hrs and they will only START trying to fix it. That is not support, that is a complete disaster. Not for 123-reg. They have lots of unwitting customers. but for a small business like mine, (I am hosting other websites) it is the kiss of death.
DO NOT USE 123-reg if you really need your server to be on line.
the really funny thing? the last support person I spoke with (Luke) told me that the server isn't actually off line, it's just that it isn't working. Unbelievable!

OK, off to find more review site to warn people.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

I used 123-reg for a number of years and was very satisfied with the product, ie; the hosting package contents and 123-reg support.
The only reason I left them was to get more diskspace at the same cost per annum.

123-reg makes a very good entry point for new comers, ie; someone trying to find their feet in a complex business environment, but unfortunately they don't present the best value for money if you want UK based hosting.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Though i have used many webhosting website,my best and favourite website is 123-reg. It has great uptime, support and features better than anyone :)

★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

123-Reg is one of the poorest performing web hosts I have ever used, in my 20 years of developing websites I have not come across anything quite so bad. The interface and control panel looks nice but is genuinely the most unresponsive and unstable pile of rubbish imagineable.

I don't know what I was thinking when I bought a hosting package with them, all my clients I host with another low cost provider whose name is abbreviated to 3 letters (they're great) and I am now stuck with this terrible terrible package. Cannot wait for my year to be up.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I never ever complain and very rely review online, but this company makes me so mad and the fact I am sitting here without emails again with no explanation! I cant work, but cant get hold of them either, everytime I log into the online support in goes back to the home page! and seeing there is no physical reason why my emails should not be working! All I can do is post out to you and let you know I would not recommend this company not even to my competitors!

Like a lot of people on here, 123 reg have helped themselves to renewal fees without my acknowledgement, taking £58 out of my paypal account, with no reminder, no newsletter, no thank you for your business. They make it next to impossible to cancel and there are hidden fees for everything!

The online support is a good idea, but when you take 10 minutes getting through only to be told they cant help you for 24 hours. You just feel like you want to close your account there and then! Only you cant as they charge you £11.99 for porting your domain to another provider. Your stuck with them, until next time your emails go down, you cant do business, you loose revenue and generally get very frustrated!

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

They charged me £59.99 for a domain that I no longer wanted. It was on back-order but they didn't bother contacting me prior to charging me for it, now they refuse to give me my money back. I therefore started to remove all my domains from them and now they have locked my account and refuse to speak to me.

They will be hearing from my lawyer in due course. The prices are VERY VERY cheap but now I understand why as they charge you if you want to leave them!!! Avoid them like the plaque.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

i have used many web hosting, 123-reg is my favourite website.It has great uptime, support and freatures better than anyone

★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

I transferred from Supanames to 123reg some time ago but ob=ver the last year or so the quality of their shared hosting has become extremely poor at time and in many cases has ground to a halt. We recently re-built our web site using WordPress which the claim to support and at times it dies and updating the site can be a very slow process. As anoth reviewer stated I would not recumbent 123reg to my worst enemy.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have used several domain hosts in the past and now I'm hooked on 123-reg. Primarily due to the intuitive interface and easily accessible functions. There have been no hidden surprises and the pricing is very reasonable. I would recommend 123-reg to users of all ability, as it allows beginners to understand the basics whilst featuring advanced tools if you need them.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I used to be a big fan of 123-reg. I have had an account with them for longer than I can remember. They used to be pretty good too. But now, let's see:

Beyond bizarre, we have a hosting plan, it comes with 100 webmail accounts. The only way to change the password for a webmail account, is via the 123-reg hosting / DNS control panel. They don't seem to see this as a problem.

Beyond belief, is that twice since implementing Google Apps (we really wanted company email where everyones' password wasn't set to cantchangethis) our MX records have flicked back to point at 123-reg without us going anywhere near them. Worse, they refuse to provide a log of changes to our DNS - I say 'refuse' because I'm being charitable; I prefer to believe that over them simply not logging DNS changes, which is the essence of what they claimed.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

123-reg as the name says domain registration is as easy as 1 2 3. In just 3 steps your site will go live and too simple steps. What i like about them is they offer a large number of domain extensions. For a website which is to be hosted online, it will need the domain extension that describes the field\country it belongs to. So 123-reg is always the best option in that case. Also they are offering domain names ending with .info at very less cost. Unlike the other web hosting providers they they are into various other fields also like advertising solutions. Also for web hosting they provide many packages according to persons interest that will definitely suits ones needs. Talking about the support they provide it understandable for even new users so there wont be any problem in having a domain registered. Their service won;t end once you register you site. They provide all necessities that make it safe n secure with several tools like malware protection. I would suggest this provider as the best i have ever seen because of the services they offer.

★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

i've mixed feelings about 123-reg. the majority of my experiences with them have been good. i have a VPS with them and it's reliable with plenty of processing power, RAM and bandwidth...the price is competitive too.
i also use them to register domains. their DNS management has improved mightily over the years. now SPF, CNAME and all the usual suspects are very easy to setup.
my main beef is with their support (as others have mentioned, here). i have always got my problems resolved but their team sometimes need things spelled out for them repeatedly.
to sum up...an excellent hosting company if you never encounter any issues...if you do be prepared to exercise some patience.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I only use this host when I deal with international clients, overall they're "okay". Not bad but not good either.. Their support staff always seems to be "helping" someone else and makes me feel like they honestly don't care about you. I like how everything seems organized in the control panel, though.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Terrible service and extremely poor quality of services provided. The email service crashes on a daily basis, I experience this EVERY SINGLE DAY! The webpage is also very poor.

I would recommend 123 Reg not even to my enemy.

DO NOT BUY 123 REG otherwise you are wasting your money. utter rubbish

★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

123-reg is a great blog to buy your domain. It is easy and efficient for use. But the drawbacks are the prices. If it decrease its prices, it would have been a little better. Its services are also great and templates are also great. It would be a lot better if they have less price and have more security.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

123-reg are amazing! They're customer services is great and you need no technical experience at all. I would definitely recommend 123-reg to everyone.

★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

Awful web hosting. Flat file hosting is possibly 'acceptable', but forget it if you've got a MySQL database or any kind of PHP activity going on - do not go near nor bother if you're using Joomla, Wordpress, Drupal etc. A client of mine took out their Linux Professional package and the experience has been horrid. Going to urge them to move as soon as possible.

Incredibly slow, Regular and random FTP connection drops, very very slow database connection/access, random downtimes too.

8Mb HTTP upload limit that you can't change as has very restricted htaccess and PHP ini_set access. No php.ini file usage either.

★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Really awful support service! Agents respond with generic statements that look as if they haven't even read the actual info in the tickets. Slow to respond and not worth wasting the money on their VPS services as a result of the poor support on offer. Their scheduled maintenance work caused massive issues with long periods of downtime with little warning prior to them taking place. Very disappointing!

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

The support team respond quickly to any queeries in a helpful manner. They uploaded our SSL certificates within the hour of our request for help. Thats pretty good!

Value For Money

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I bought a domain a few months ago. I tried to log in the other week, and I was told my account doesn't exist. I checked through my emails and found confirmation of my username and log in. I tried to request a password reset as it wouldn't work, and was told my account does not exist still. My next step was to contact their support via their website, to be told to call a 0845 number to find out what the problem is. Umm no, I am not paying to wait on the phone for them to resolve a problem they have created! Why not just communicate with me online? Dreadful!! Stay away! I have paid £8.38 for a domain I cannot even use!

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

Really terrible support.
They do not read what I have written on the tickets I have created.
I got an error message when I changed my email password, I reported it.
They changed the password on my main email account.
I was having trouble with emails being rejected by routing servers. They deleted all my DNS settings and replaced them with thier default advert page DNS.
There is a button on their contol panel to "Reset DNS" it deletes all settings. They do not accept that this could be a problem.
I asked many times "Please an you explain why I have to use mailex.mailcore.me. ???" I never got an explanation.
I used to be with Supanames who were taken over by 123-reg, I think they never integrated the two businesses, the customers from Supanames were just a pain in the neck for them.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I like how the process of thing go along down there, I am comfortable using as my service. There is nothing I can say that's wrong with it!

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Hopeless

Fine at taking your money but zero help when things go wrong

CEO too important to talk to customers

Only accept written complaints!!

★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

123-reg just raised their .COM prices to £10.99 - what a rip considering I can still get them for just £8.89 from Daily. Nothing special about 123-reg - other companies offer the same if not better features. Cheeky.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

This is absolutely the worst DNS registrar I have ever used. Nothing works. Settings don't get updated, URL forwarding and CNAME aliases fail, and support is non-existent. Waste of money and even worse, lots of time.
Further, my URLs get redirected to random locations. Updating the settings throw bizarre database errors. If this happens with mere DNS registration, I'd hate to see what happens with hosting or something more complex.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Great value for money, but have made some serious mistakes in my time with them. They charged me for the renewal of my package - and then failed to renew the domain - which has now been snapped up. Their response was to refund me the money for the domain but not the hosting. Would urge people to think twice before using them.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

What range of hosting services ? They can reach customer support 24 hours a day, seven days a week by either phone or email.They customers get 123 Reg’s bespoke control panel, allowing them to manage their website with ease. If we are interested in reselling, they also offer a reseller hosting package. 123 Reg guarantees 99.5% uptime, and has a 30-day “unconditional” money back guarantee. Hosting is aimed at both individuals and businesses.

I shall recommend 123reg to friends.

Is it perfect for hosting blogs, personal sites, business sites, simple shops, E-mail and portfolio sites ?
Is it versatile and will grow with us as our site grows ?
What value for money and is it perfect for starting a blog or a small content managed website ?
Do the package includes every pro tool that we'll need to run a successful website ?

How much will we get of storage on our server ? And how much in a month transfer ? Will we also get a great selection of other tools including, e-mail, FTP, MySQL, spam fighting tools and much more ?

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

For a new starter the help I recevied via phone and email support was great

WhoIsHostingThis Recommends

Want a Free Domain Name?

Already a 123-reg customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more...

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about 123-reg.
Please be specific: we're only interested in hearing that 123-reg rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Next step

Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

(We hate spam - see our privacy policy)
Terms & Conditions