Add Your Review for A Small Orange

30 A Small Orange Reviews:

Is A Small Orange the host for you?

Last reviewed May 14, 2017

Key features

  • PHP
  • WordPress
  • Uptime Guarantee
  • MySQL
  • Perl
  • cPanel

User Reviews - Total: 30

★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

ASO really sucks when it comes down to a problem. Support is unresponsive, you only are able to speak to someone via live chat so you have to sit around instead of being able to send an email. This makes it difficult to communicate with them when you're on your mobile for example.

They provide no insight into what the issue may be, or when it may be resolved. It seems their own support people can't even get any info from the "admin"

We've been hosting with them for quite some time using their highest level VPS. Every time there's a problem this is the kind of "support" that is provided.

Again our server is down for over 24 hours and there is no update on the cause or ETA for resolution.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I was initially very happy with A Small Orange. They were recommended to me by a friend who has done major business with them for years. A year ago I opened my site and was pleased with the level of service I received. In the last few months, that has deteriorated. Their support ticket system is totally unreliable. I submitted an SSL certificate installation request on March 29, 2017 and only received a response yesterday, April 26, 2017. It is outrageous that a simple SSL installation should take that long but I didn't even get a courtesy response in all of that time. I have no idea what is going on over there, but I am incredibly disappointed. I need a host that can be on top of service requests or at least communicate when there will be delays. I was just totally in the dark for a month wondering what was happening. Unacceptable.

 
★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I purchased shared (smal) hosting from this company after reviewing many articles on web and blogs. The customer satisfaction is great but the price is very high for the features they are offering. the service is not value for money. they should improve with all aspects and should offer more features like others are offering. Due to these factors I later switched to Namecheap as it is better and cheap.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I joined ASO back in 2013 and it was an incredible service and business. Now I can't wait to move all of my sites to a new service. I'm at 50% and as soon as ASO gets my server back online (been down for 2 weeks) I will move the others. I'm just lucky I'm a psycho about having backups of most of my important sites backed up to drop box.

This is the 5th time in a year that my dedicated server has gone down in 1 year....all with pathetic support and no answers, etas, or any help.

This company is literally the worst...

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

We were initially very happy with A Small Orange when we first opened our account with them nearly 4 years ago. During December of 2015, our sites went down for almost a week with no real explanation or apology from ASO. We lost alot of business and trust from our customers due to that event. Gradually over time, we noticed our sites going down very often, a few times a day at one stage, which then improved to once a week. Our sites still go down weekly. Yesterday our sites went down, as per usual, and when they came back up, I noticed all our sites were not loading correctly. I jumped onto a live chat with a technician, whom I spoke to for over an hour and a half eventually coming to a conclusion that I had run out of disk space on our VPS and that I need to purchase more. In order to do this I would need to open a support ticket, and the additional space would then be handled by senior technicians. This is a big concern for me as support tickets these days can sometimes take days to be responded to. Given the fact that our sites are not working correctly and emails are no longer functioning, a couple days is not an option. It's really disappointing how shocking ASO have become over the past few months, and have turned from a great company to bad.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have been with ASO for more than a year. Everything was great, support was excellent, until this week. Our site got hacked. The hacker apparently triggered a high cpu load and ASO disabled all scripts on our site, so basically our site was returning a 403. Shortly after that as I set about changing passwords etc. my public_html folder was emptied. At that point I started getting on the chat every hour in order to see what had happened. Support insisted that it wasn't in their hands anymore since I was in violation of the t&c's about cpu usage and that there is no way to contact them, except through the ticket! 48 hours (and still offline) I get the first reply, telling me to check the scripts in question, although I didn't have a site anymore. By that time, I had also begun asking for a backup. My cpanel had 2 which were corrupt. They insisted they had bu's from almost every day up to the incident but support couldn't provide it, it had to be given to me by the restore dep't. No way to contact them either, I was on an 'escalated queue'! I have now been offline for 4 days, I can't even put an under maintenance page up and they will not admit they have no back ups and they will not even tell what has happened. We are talking about an eshop with 300 products. All I have, and I hope it works, is a bu of the db!

So, don't trust anyone! Download your backups.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I've been with ASO for about 1.5 years and have noticed a gradual decline in support. Tickets take ~1 week for a reply, even simple inquiries like "Hey how many outgoing eMails am I allowed per hour?" have gone unanswered for days. I've been waiting to hear back about an SSL certificate issue for 9 days and the ticket hasn't even received an auto-response. It's completely unacceptable support. During the first 6-7 months of service I received speedy account setup and quick replies to support tickets. I consistently rated them highly when asked to complete their in-house surveys. I'm not sure what changed after I renewed for the next year.

My site loads extremely slow despite optimization attempts and there are frequent error messages in cPanel that make it difficult to get things done. I'd contact support but... well, see issue above. I would not recommend ASO after my recent experience. I've got 5 months left prepaid and I've requested a cancellation at the end of that term (no refunds available). I will not be paying for long hosting terms again in the future after this experience.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I was an A Small Orange (ASO) customer for over 7 years. Originally, they were very good, however, once sold to a parent company their service deteriorated quickly. Over Christmas of 2015 I had 4 days of downtime without a single response from support. They did post that they were having troubles and were full of apologies, but 4 days of outage is relatively unheard of in hosting circles. However, despite these issues I kept my VPS and a few shared servers with ASO. I hoped it was a one-off occurrence and that it would be an isolated issue. Over the next few months I would have periodic downtime as measured by a monitoring service; support requests would be file and the average response time was a few hours. Live chat is relatively quick to respond, quick to apologize, but very slow to help. From my experiences I don't think they're very tech savvy; just offshore people kept on-hand to provice the illusion of support. Every issue I had for the past six months always needed to be "escalated", which takes half a day or more.

This past week I had to cancel all my services with them when my VPS went offline for 5 days. We noticed the server offline within 30 minutes and placed multiple support requests. All requests were ignored for 5 days. Live chat finally responded and for another 36 hours gave me the run around. Empty promises and excuses about "having a high volume of support requests". After 6 days of the VPS server being completely unresponsive and offline we had to urgently move all our websites to a different hosting company and cancel our services with ASO.

Please, save yourself a lot of headaches and grief and avoid this company at all costs. I can honestly say that the experience has been the worst business ordeal in my twenty years plus of dealing with online properties.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have had ASO for about 2 years. Over the course of 2 years I have had a very large customer lose thousands of dollars to downtime. Every single time support had some excuse. First the server that my reseller account was under completely crashed and they couldn't bring it back up. Then the DNS server went out. Then they were blacklisted as a spam host so all of my emails were bouncing as well as my customers. This is probably the worst hosting provider in the business right now. Stay away at all costs no matter how cheap their hosting is.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

first 3 months all well

4-6 months

Steady bandwidth capacity warnings. Site was utilized for advancement as it were. No activity yet myself. Robots dismisses all bots.

6-11 months

After that site was stopped and have abandoned. I kept getting notices till in the end everything on the server vanished. They had no clarification how or why.

twelfth month

gotten different warnings of my site being hacked and how it was my deficiency

Outline:
Most exceedingly bad facilitating administration I have ever had and I have been creating for more than 10 years.
i WOULD RECOMMEND you to dont buy from them plis/

 
★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I came upon a small orange hosting by suggestion of one of my clients who was looking to move a site from a more expensive option (that site is now elsewhere). The transfer went great, and I was immediately impressed with the speed and quality that I saw with a small orange. Fast forward a year... It became time for me to build new web sites for my businesses, so I chose a small orange without question. The first year and a half were great, and I experienced almost no issues. Support / customer service were also remarkedly better than any other hosts that I had dealt with previously. At some point, I figured out that I was really hosted on a server at hostnine, but under the name a small orange, and it did not bother me at that time.

At some point, my server location changed and the performance level that I experienced suffered significantly. After three years, I have split ways with a small orange and the corporate conglomerate that now owns their trademark name. The final straw was that they let the SSL certificate on my e-commerce site lapse TWICE, and their excuse is to tell me that as the customer I hold all responsibility to maintain the certificate. So it is my responsibility to open a support ticket X number of days in advance of the SSL expiring so that they can renew it at their leisure. On top of that, my renew date for the SSL gradually shifted backwards (about two weeks a year).

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I am only writing a review because I read the negative reviews and felt I had to share my experience. I have small clients on ASmallOrange shared servers and company and other larger sites on a server we manage at Linode. Quite frankly, we've had zero -- and I do mean zero -- issues with ASmallOrange. I use chat for support when needed and have always felt happy with quick response time and the quality of the help. We do speak geek so I wonder if that helps? Someone mentioned having a problem accessing the database. I don't know their skill level but good grief, it's easily accessed from the control panel. We do our own auto backups of all sites to local, which is our preference as it's critical. Down time has not been an issue at all. We're not employed by or having any other relationship to ASmallOrange -- so this is truly representative of my company's experience. We'd be gone in a flash if that had not been the case.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I wish i had read these reviews before joining ASO. It's just frustraiting the amount of downtime, and when the website is up then you have tons of problems. I can't login to my WHM account or Cpanel for any of my pages.

Some people in customer support know what their doing, but you have to be a pain in the ass and insist in getting a supervisor in order to get those people on the chat. Forget about getting a phone number to talk to someone.

As i'm writing this review i noticed people were complaining about the latest collective downtime on Facebook (i've been on chat with them for over a month trying to solve different problems). Good luck trying to find them, they removed all the bad comments.

It's even hard to get away from them. I'm trying to download my latest backup and forget about it. Access to phpMyAdmin, forget it, can't even display the databases.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

At first these guys were great but a recent string of downtime, lack of support and flat out dishonesty led me to move away. Be warned, you will be let down by this company. Their uptime is terrible, chat waits times long and unhelpful and absolutely no phone support. They recently deleted all of the comments from their Facebook page to hide their unhappy customers.

 
★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Stay Away if you want serious hosting.

These guys host your shared hosting sites on Bluehost and hence they provide 99.9% uptime for cheap hosting whereas more serious VPS and Dedicated servers don't have any uptime guarantee.

During course of 1 year with them our site used to be down almost every month for 1 or 2 hours. But since it wasn't long duration we didn't bother much. But then all hell broke loose.

On Dec 25th they just shut down all VPS on their hosting for 5 days. 5 days guys and you can't even login to cpanel to take backup and get the shit out of there for 5 days.

Just one word Stay Far Away from them and never even think of having them as your host.

 
★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Really, really bad! Be forewarned, don't go there. My sites have been down for 3 days now (12/16-29), and all they say is "sorry". I cannot even get into the CPANEL to move the sites and domain to another host. I moved several of my other sites off A Small Orange previously, and now I am wishing I had moved them all. I'll likely lose my client over this. I work with dozens of hosts, and A Small Orange is by far the worst.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have used asmallorange.com for my hosting for about 2 years now... in that time period they have managed to have 7 days that were over 12 hours of downtime. That is NOT acceptable for any business website, so unless you are hosting a blog or something that is not involving purchases, then you should expect ASO is going to cost you more than you might save from their deals. Yesterday was one of the biggest days of the year for my sales and this incompetent handed me 23 hours of downtime followed by 6 hours of uptime and now it's down again... once again hurting my sales and reputation of my business. Furthermore during those 23 hours, I could not get ANY INFORMATION WHAT SO EVER about what was going on and when it would be resolved. The tech support people have no information for anyone, all they will do is create a ticket for you... but when you ask them ANY question they have NO ANSWERS. I asked a lot of questions and every single one was answered with "I'm sorry but I have no more information" - if you are running a business you would be a fool to use ASO to host it, take it from someone that's lost at least $1000 in sales due to their complete incompetence and lack of concern for the business that rely on them.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

A Small Orange is sort of like my beagle - when it runs, it runs fast, but a whole LOT of the time it's down for a nap. My beagle LOVES a good nap and my server just finished a just under 5 hour nap on today on Tuesday, 10/13/2015, on two of my ASO VPS servers - the second noteworthy "nap" in 4 days. Incidentally, the ticket I put in at 8:09 am on Saturday (server down) was responded to at 5:54 pm on Sunday. The server did actually come up around a half hour later, but the veracity of their support does bear a little scrutiny when it takes 34ish hours to respond to a "Server Down" ticket, yes?

I have spoken to them on occasion and their support is generally pretty good - not that the answers you get on the phone translate well to getting your server fixed, but... Pricing is reasonable and their control panel is comfortable. Their speed is GREAT (again, provided the servers aren't on "beagle time"). That all said TO their credit, if the servers aren't running, it's all a moot point. If they could resolve their uptime problems, I would be their biggest supporter. Unfortunately, with the service as it is, I will be moving my accounts elsewhere.

My time is valuable and having to take calls and emails from customers complaining about site outages is neither good for business nor good for time management. Everybody's time can be better spent working on creating new, great things as opposed to trying to straighten out things that SHOULD be taken care of without a second thought.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Constant uptime issues. Down twice this month for hours due to "system maintenance". Avoid at all costs if your site actually being up is important. Their 99.9% uptime guarantee only applies to their cheap plans (makes no sense). Our sites are constantly down - I pay a third party for uptime monitoring... Constant issues. Seriously terrible uptime.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I moved from GoDaddy to ASO a few months ago. I haven't had any problems like some of the previous reviewers--fortunately. I have contacted both the tech support for trying to figure out how to get my domain moved to them and bill support to figure out the monthly charges. Both of the employees provided a high level of service that I didn't get with GD. I have been very pleased so far with this service.

 
★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have been with a small orange for 6 months now and we have had numerous outages like the one we are having right now. One of which lasted a full week, dealing with their tech support has also been a pita as problems which are not obvious do not get solved, they just get transferred. We are likely to go somewhere else whenever we get the change and would urge anyone looking for a reliable host to look elsewhere. We had read the really good reviews about ASO initially but now understand most of these do not come from actual customers. This has been frustrating for us and costly as well in both time and lost sales.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I run a startup news site and when a website is in its incubation period, reliable hosting matters. I signed up an got a business hosting under A Small Orange thinking they have the capacity to deliver but unfortunately, in less than a month of being with them, I have experienced terrible downtimes. In fact, as I am writing this review, my site is experiencing downtime. and it has been down for more than an hour already (going two).

One thing that attracted me to their hosting services is the load of the servers. According to them, they have 'lesser' load per server that's why the efficiency and speed won't get compromised.

YES. Their hosting is pretty fast, they have a clean cPanel and really professional support BUT not of those can compensate an UNACCESSIBLE website. as I write, i am losing readers clicking my social links, organic searches and referrals.

I think A Small Orange is a good hosting company for personal blog sites who have 1-10 readers a month as they need not worry about downtimes. But for startup companies, SME's and bloggers, STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOSTING COMPANY.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

By far I have used services of many hosting providers, but ASO is the best so far. Their resolution time is amazingly low... You ask them for any assistance and they will make sure that the correct thing is delivered to you. Their uptime is excellent, I have never faced any downtime so far.

They have all the latest cpanel plugins and also provide assistance in installing any of them or their modules.

Overall experience is amazing.. A Small Orange Rocks.. bigtime..

Regards
Donesh Laher

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have been with a small orange for two months. Their customer support does not understand the technology they are using. I have had 7 outages in two months. One of the outages lasted more than 24 hours. My email, corporate website was down for more than a day and all I received back from support was a generic reply with "We are sorry you are having trouble" thats it, no help or a direction to go. If you want uptime and decent service, this is not the place.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Asmallorange migrated my websites to a different server, but missed a step when setting up the FTP, or in the migration. I went back and forth with them for two days, trying to get them to fix it. At first they acted like nothing was wrong. Then they just completely ignored me. I finally fixed the problem myself with no help from their tech support department or their knowledge base, which only allows a broad search.

After I fixed the issue, I told them that I wanted to leave them and move to another host. I was paid in advance for almost 2 years out, so I wanted a refund of the unused portion. They refused to give me a refund of the unused service, which should be an illegal practice. It's practically stealing. They kept asking me how I fixed the problem. I guess they never figured it out. I will use most of the service I've already paid for, but as soon as the term is up, I'll run away from Asmallorange as fast as I can. Their support department is pathetic.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have moved to A Small Orange from GoDaddy because I wasn't satisfied with their hosting service. I have read great reviews from ASO and that is why I moved here.

The first problem I faced is migrating my websites. ASO didn't provide any useful help and their system even blocked my copy script to move my files in one transfer. It took me a month to migrate my websites.

The second main issue I faced is with their DNS service. It just wasn't reliable enough so I had to move back to GoDaddy Premium DNS which is a good service even though their hosting is awful.

The last issue I faced with ASO is their 99.9% uptime guarantee. I have a monitor set up for my websites and I have received constant alarms for one of them. When I notified ASO their first response was that my alarm is wrong. The next time I received an alarm I checked my website and it was really down. I also contacted the monitoring provider and they said that these 500 errors are 100% false-positive free. Still today ASO didn't fix these errors and when I had more than 50 days of downtime for a month they failed to refund anything. If there was an error at GoDaddy they at least refunded a month without any hassle.

ASO's support is fast and good if you would like to have simple tasks but if something is bit technically complex they fail to help. Every ticket response is replied by a different person and they don't read back the full ticket case just the last response. I am deeply dissatisfied with their service and considering to move to another host.

 
★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Haven't had any problem using this hosting service, although my business was closed and i closed my hosting account. But when i asked to close my hosting account without requesting a refund, they still refunded me just like they guarantee. To me, it made me surprised. But the only thing i dislike about Asmallorange is the price. $10 for a standard package. With that money, i can buy a vps. But with its quality, i think it worth the money and i'd never had any downtime, i can barely say it's a pretty good hosting service for starter.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

A Small Orange Rocks! Of course they rock. I switched from Go Daddy in January because I found they had hidden cost and I was not happy. A Small Orange set me up in a matter of minutes. This was the fastest set-up I ever experienced, compared to other hosting companies I have used (Go Daddy, HostGator, Liquid Web and Site 5). My web site was online an hour later. I have never experienced any downtime. And their customer service is better than anyone else out there. I am 7 hours from them and have always had live chat support in a matter of minutes and the customer service person was always helpful. Four stars for value because at $10 per month, I find they are a little expensive. But I sleep well at night knowing my customers can find me because my web site is always up.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

The support is good but i think not the best. They answer as soon as possible, but i don't have to use them a lot.
The speed is fantastic - always works fine and very fast! Also i dont have problems with uptime their server and sites works well. And of course A Small Orange Rocks!!!

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I've been with A Small Orange almost a year now. I'm a developer so I'm constantly working with their interface. It's been one of the easiest companies I've worked with. Recently I've been developing for a website hosted on GoDaddy(the client already had hosting with them) and the experience has really made me appreciate my own server. Where do I begin? First, the servers being used are super fast. 6 cores compared to Go Daddy's dual core.

A Small Orange has been relatively problem free. When I have had issues, they've always been easy to work with and do it in style. I would recommend A Small Orange if you want shared hosting that uses state of the art servers and complimented with exemplary customer support.

 
A Small Orange logo

A Small Orange

asmallorange.com Location: USA Founded: 2003

A Small Orange Introduction

A Small Orange has been providing hosting services since 2003. Although it isn't one of the best-known hosts in the industry, it has grown rapidly. Having originally been based in Atlanta, Georgia in the US, it is now located in Durham, North Carolina.

The company was founded by Tim Dorr, a web designer, and then bought out by HostGator's customer service strategist Douglas Hanna in 2010. A Small Orange was acquired, with HostGator, by the Endurance International Group in 2012. Hanna stayed on as brand CEO until 2014.

Hosting Plans

A Small Orange splits its hosting into five types of plans: shared, reseller, business, cloud VPS, and dedicated. All hosting is provided on Linux servers only, and there are no Windows hosting packages on offer.

The company used to offer unlimited resources on shared hosting, but it has moved away from offering unlimited storage and bandwidth and towards setting a fixed limit on each plan. There are three shared hosting packages with resources that scale up at each price point. You'll need to choose a plan that suits your website and the amount of transfer you'll need. Free domains are included with the top two plans, but only if you pay upfront for a year or more.

Business hosting is shared hosting with added features and resources. For example, every business plan comes with an SSL certificate, and A Small Orange ensures that servers are PCI compliant.

Reseller hosting plans follow roughly the same model, but allowances and prices differ, as you would expect.

A Small Orange advertises WordPress hosting plans. These are not strictly managed WordPress plans; they are optimized for WordPress. Again, there are three tiers. There are some important differences between these plans and regular shared hosting. For example, you can create unlimited websites with all of the WordPress packages. You still get access to cPanel, and it's important to note that WordPress is provided as a one-click installer, rather than a pre-installed package.

Cloud VPS hosting is priced on a sliding scale, according to the number of cores, RAM, storage and bandwidth. Plans above a certain price point come with a free cPanel licence. Dedicated servers are sold in a range of configurations. All have free cPanel/WHM, and include full management and 5 IPs. Hybrid servers used to be available, but these appear to have been discontinued.

Uptime

A Small Orange advertises a 99.9% uptime guarantee, and will provide a 1 day credit for every 45 mins' unplanned downtime beyond 0.1%, to a maximum of 1 month's service. If you believe you are due a credit, you need to submit your claim within 10 days of the end of the month.

The company is not clear how many datacenters it uses, or where the facilities are located, but we did find status updates suggesting that at least one facility is in Dallas. The site does say that the company's servers are monitored with CCTV and protected with backup battery and diesel power.

Customer Service and Support

Support is provided 24/7 via ticket. Support staff are based in the USA. The ticket system is hidden behind a login screen.

A Small Orange doesn't advertise a telephone support service on its website.

All A Small Orange customers are provided with cPanel (and WHM, if applicable). You may have to pay for this, depending on your plan.

Money-Back Guarantee

If you change your mind after buying a shared hosting, reseller, or cloud VPS plan at A Small Orange, you can claim a refund under its 90-day money-back guarantee. If you want to cancel your plan after that point and you've paid annually, the company will refund your unused time on a prorated basis.

There's no refund policy for other plans.

Summary

Since A Small Orange was acquired, it has had a change of leadership, and it has been absorbed into a much larger hosting brand. This has allowed it to provide more packages, and re-align itself more effectively towards small businesses. It has also modernized its shared hosting with the addition of specific plans for WordPress. While shared hosting customers no longer get unlimited resources, the limits on the plans are not restrictive.

It's a shame that telephone support isn't available. Maybe it just isn't advertised. However, we know that a lot of customers like to know there's someone on the end of the phone. The good news is that there's an uptime guarantee with a fairly solid system of compensation for downtime, and the long 90-day money-back guarantee should give customers enough time to get a feel for its service.

Last updated: 2017-04-22

A Small Orange Hosting Plans

Hosting Plan Features Disk Space Bandwidth Price
Tiny Shared WordPress PHP WHM Python cPanel Perl 250GB 5GB $2.92/month
Usual price:
Small Shared WordPress PHP Anonymous FTP WHM Python cPanel 1GB 20GB $5.00/month
Usual price:
Medium Shared WordPress PHP WHM Python cPanel Perl 5GB 100GB $10.00/month
Usual price:
Large Shared WordPress PHP WHM Python cPanel Perl 15GB 300GB $20.00/month
Usual price:
Small Reseller WordPress PHP WHM Python cPanel Perl 3GB 30GB $15.00/month
Usual price:
Medium Reseller WordPress PHP WHM Python cPanel Perl 5GB 50GB $25.00/month
Usual price:
Large Reseller WordPress PHP WHM Python cPanel Perl 10GB 100GB $35.00/month
Usual price:
Managed Dedicated Server WordPress PHP Firewall Protection WHM Python cPanel 1TB 5TB $109.00/month
Usual price:
Business Startup WordPress PHP WHM Dedicated IP Python cPanel 10GB 100GB $20.00/month
Usual price:
Small Business WordPress PHP WHM Dedicated IP Python cPanel 20GB 200GB $40.00/month
Usual price:
Enterprise WordPress PHP WHM Dedicated IP Python cPanel 30GB 300GB $60.00/month
Usual price:
Cloud 1 VPS WordPress PHP Windows 2008 Fedora Ubuntu Debian 30GB 500GB $20.00/month
Usual price:
Cloud 2 VPS WordPress PHP Windows 2008 Fedora Ubuntu Debian 50GB 1000GB $30.00/month
Usual price:
Cloud 3 VPS WordPress PHP Windows 2008 Fedora Ubuntu Debian 75GB 1500GB $45.00/month
Usual price:

A Small Orange Frequently Asked Questions

  • What hosting products does A Small Orange (ASO) offer?

    They offer shared, VPS, and both managed and unmanaged dedicated hosting. They offer a range of product tiers within these groups that vary by bandwidth and space. They also offer special hosting packages for WordPress sites and ecommerce sites. See website for more details.

  • Where are A Small Orange's datacenters?

    They have two datacenters — one in Dallas, Texas, and the other in Dearborn, Michigan. The company is headquartered in Durham, North Carolina.

  • Does A Small Orange offer migration services?

    For their shared plans they do not offer website migration. For their VPS and managed dedicated servers, they do offer free website migration from another Linux-based system via cPanel.

  • Will A Small Orange give me a domain?

    Yes. All their plans come with at least one free domain for the first year except for the lowest tier of shared hosting, which does not include a domain.

  • What sort of support is available?

    All plans include 24/7 email support based in the US as well as live chat.

  • What programming languages does A Small Orange support?

    All their plans support PHP, Ruby on Rails, and Python. They also support MySQL and NodeJS.

  • Does A Small Orange have an uptime guarantee?

    Yes. They offer a 99.9% uptime guarantee per month on their shared and reseller hosting. If they fail to meet that level, customers are credited with 1 day of service for every 45 minutes the site is down. The first 45 minutes a site is down is not credited. VPS and dedicated server plans do not include an uptime guarantee.

  • Does A Small Orange have a money-back guarantee?

    Yes. They offer a 90-money back-guarantee on all their hosting products save unmanaged dedicated hosting. They also offer a 10-day money-back guarantee on their web design service. See the Terms of Service for more information.

  • Can I run all the usual applications with A Small Orange?

    Yes. All A Small Orange plans come with access to Softaculous and with it, all the most common applications, including WordPress and Magento.

  • Does A Small Orange have unlimited bandwidth and storage?

    No. A Small Orange states the limits for each plan on their website.

  • Does A Small Orange offer a content delivery network (CDN)?

    No, none of the products A Small Orange offers a CDN.

  • What backup options are there with A Small Orange?

    A Small Orange runs automated daily backups on all their products. Backed up files are available for 7 days.

  • What security options are available with A Small Orange?

    SiteLock is available for an additional cost to all shared hosting plans. They also include a range of security measures like password-protected directories, IP-blocking, and hotlink/leech protection on their shared servers as standard. Some plans also include SSL certificates and all plans can add SSL certificates as an add-on product.

  • Does A Small Orange provide a website building tool for beginners?

    Yes. Customers have the option to purchase a drag and drop website editor for a monthly fee. Alternatively, A Small Orange has a website building service for a one-off fee. Contact customer service for the specifics.

  • What control panel does A Small Orange provide?

    All their hosting plans come with cPanel access and some come with WHM, if applicable.

  • What payment options are available with A Small Orange? What's the billing cycle like?

    Billing cycles with A Small Orange are very flexible. You have the option to pay monthly, annually, biannually, or triennially on all available products. Customers can pay via major credit card or PayPal.

  • Are there any discounts available?

    Yes. A Small Orange usually offers discounts for a longer contract (eg, triennially).

  • Is there an affiliates program available?

    Yes. A Small Orange has an affiliates program with a set payment for each successful referral.

A Small Orange Features

All Features

  • b2evolution
  • CodeIgniter
  • Concrete5
  • Coppermine
  • Django
  • DokuWiki
  • Dolibarr
  • Dolphin
  • Dreamweaver
  • Drupal
  • Drush
  • Email Forwarding
  • Gallery
  • Help Center Live
  • Horde
  • IMAP Support
  • Joomla
  • LifeType
  • LimeSurvey
  • Live Chat Support
  • Mailing Lists
  • MediaWiki
  • Moodle
  • Noah's Classifieds
  • OnApp
  • osCommerce
  • osTicket
  • ownCloud
  • Oxwall
  • Password Protected Directories
  • PHP 5
  • PHP 7
  • phpAdsNew
  • phpBB
  • phpESP
  • phpFreeChat
  • phpList
  • phpMyAdmin
  • phpMyCounter
  • phpMyFAQ
  • PHProjekt
  • phpWebSite
  • PhpWiki
  • Pligg
  • Plog
  • Plone
  • PmWiki
  • POP3 Support
  • PrestaShop
  • Proxy SSL Encryption
  • PunBB
  • Quick.Cms
  • Redmine
  • Ruby on Rails
  • Softaculous
  • Spam Filter
  • SquirrelMail
  • SugarCRM
  • vtiger
  • Web Architect
  • Webalizer
  • WebCalendar
  • Webmail
  • WHMCS
  • Yii

How does A Small Orange compare to their competitors?

Overall ★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★
Visit A Small Orange
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★★

Price Comparison

A Small Orange$2.92
SiteGround$3.95
BlueHost$2.75
iPage$1.99
InMotion Hosting$2.95
A2 Hosting$3.92

WhoIsHostingThis Recommends

Want a Free Domain Name?

Already a A Small Orange customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more...

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about A Small Orange.
Please be specific: we're only interested in hearing that A Small Orange rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Next step

Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

(We hate spam - see our privacy policy)
Terms & Conditions