Add Your Review for Arvixe

390 Arvixe Reviews:

Is Arvixe the host for you?

Last reviewed Nov 2, 2016

Get 53% off today exclusively with WhoIsHostingThis

Arvixe screenshot

Key features

  • Free '.com' domain
  • 99.9% uptime guarantee
  • 24/7 technical support
  • Unlimited email
  • 60-day money-back guarantee
  • WordPress integration

Great reasons to choose Arvixe

  • Over 3 MILLION websites being hosted worldwide.
  • 93% of users say they would recommend Arvixe.
  • WhoIsHostingThis users rate Arvixe as 3.2 out of 5 – Good.

User Reviews - Total: 390

★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

Support has deteriorated to the point where it is useless. Delay in response, if any, is days. If a reply is received their lack of knowledge is readily apparent, even with simple questions. In addition, it is obvious that English is not their main language.

When I signed up with arvixe years ago, their support, features, speed and up-time were second to none. Now, support is useless, uptime and speed has seriously degraded.

If you are looking for a webhost, look elsewhere

 
★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

- With Arvixe you will learn that there is nothing really called Customer Care or satisfaction .. there is nothing called CUSTOMER .. they don't really care.
- With Arvixe you will discover that a small DNS problem needs tens of online chats and a lot of support tickets , and few phone calls ( long distance ).

Here is the story : I hosted a site with arvixe , an email arrived asking to change the name servers because the migrated..
Once changed .. the site disappeared .. nothing there .. server not found , no cpanel ..
And for 6 days i am still begging for any help .. at least to give me a link to download a full backup ..

If you are thinking of hosting a website .. never think of Arvixe ..refer back to the reviews on http://www.whoishostingthis.com ..
I wish i did that ..

 
★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Been with Arvixe for 6 months, they are useless, my site stopped allowed logins on Wordpress, via Clef, Password or Over-ride, everything has been blamed, including Cloudflare. One 'fix' has made the issue worse, now getting errors for a plugin which wasn't installed and their response, disable it, they really dont understand the issues or have a knowledge on fixes.

 
★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

I signed up for Arvixe because they would have been an upgrade from my current provider which offered a 200GB storage plan. Arvixe advertises unlimited storage on their website and they were just a little more expensive than I was already paying so it seemed like a bargain. I started getting emails stating that I was over my quota on my unlimited plan. The storage part seemed like nothing more than text book bait and switch.

While false advertising is a problem on it's own it is not the worse of Arvixe. Their support is either non existent or so busy that it isn't worth having. My first few support issues took between 4 days to 2 weeks to solve. Since starting to get the emails about over quota I have asked no less than 5 times what the actual quota is so that I know how much I can store for my website. I run a private ownCloud for my wife and myself on this particular domain. My storage is ~60G on an unlimited package but I'm over quota. In the handful of emails I have sent in response to their email asking for help they have not responded at all even though the email sent to me was to contact them to solve the issue. I have been in the tech industry since the early 90s and worked with many support organization and Arvixe hands down has the worst in the world.

Stability is another issue. Not more than being a customer for about 2 months they had a sever issue with DDoS attacks and had to swap out IP addressing for their servers the maintenance email stated. In 2016 a web hosting provider should be able to provide at lest 99% uptime and they have serious challenges just keeping their servers running, it reminds me of web hosting providers back in the mid 90s when everyone was just learning Apache.

I would highly recommend finding any provider other than Arvixe and only use them only if for some reason they are the only and last option in the world. Otherwise, stay far away from them.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Arvixe (sucks) changed my MX Records and my email stopped. I went to the support portal and they didn't respond after 7 days. I think posted an update that I would transfer the domain. The then answered questions that I did not ask. Then I waited another 4 or 5 days and they responded again. I think used the chat support app and the lady change my MS Records back and it worked -- for a day. Someone at Arvixe then changed them back and my emailed stopped again. I began the transfer domain process yesterday and will be done with Arvixe in another day or so. They clearly do not have enough support people and they do not post a tech support telephone number so all support is through their portal and you won't get an email when a new post is placed in the portal.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

The support is really embarrassing: If you'll experience a serious issue they will not even read your ticket (one of my ticket for an internal server error were without any replies for more than 48 hours).
Uptime is embarrassing too: in the last 6 months more than 100 hours of stops for server problems.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

They are the worst hosting company out there. I wanted to leave a review but don't see how. My email was completely down for three days, I sent them a message and it took them 2 weeks to respond to my issue. Before that the email was down several times a day. I switched hosts because they could not get it fixed.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

For the first year. Arvixe was fine. Renewal in June this year was, however, so poor that it has damaged my business and left me no choice but to move hosts. Renewal entailed renewing the hosting for two domains, both of which had SSL certificates. I paid for everything in good time. The hosting was renewed, but the certificates were not, so my customers got to see sites which were no longer secure and looked like scams. Weeks passed, but despite my chasing, nothing happened. I closed the accounts and moved elsewhere, and am pursuing Arvixe for a refund, which so far they have been unable to provide.

The technical side is a joke. Last week (end August 2016), months after cancellation, I got an email from Arvixe apologising for the delay in installing my certificates and undertaking to get on with it ASAP. I have lost count of the number of different people I have dealt with, none of whom have been able to sort out my technical or accounts problems, and none had any knowledge of previous communications. Yes, they offer refunds, but they repeatedly say that they do not apply to me because I had accounts for more than 30 days - true but I want a refund because their incompetence damaged my business and necessitated my move, not because I changed my mind.

I conclude that if you just want the simplest of websites where the host has to do nothing but set up a basic account for you, then Arvixe might be a cheap way of doing it. But as soon as you ask for more than this, they cannot deliver or even communicate with you. Yes they have numerous avenues of getting in touch, but in my personal experience these are all utterly useless. If you are looking at business-grade hosting, even for the smallest business, go somewhere else.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Worst web hosting and domain registration I have ever experienced. Cost me thousands of dollars. Customer service inept/ unresponsive. I had no access to my control panel fro my domain and had to rely on techs to change mx records, dns, txt, etc. I would be told they had done it when they did not and have to talk to someone else to get it done. They tried charging me for hosting after I canceled it and moved my hosting to another company, then tried telling me I hadn't paid for the domain, even though I had the receipts, transaction #'s, etc. They would not allow me to transfer my domain and denied I had even paid for it. I had to end up canceling everything and waiting for my domain name to be free again so I could buy it from another company- meanwhile I couldn't operate my business website and had to buy a new domain name and start all over.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

After a year with Arvixe, I have found that my websites have been down a lot, I have had serious email issues, the wait time to get support is typically between 15 mins and 45 minutes, and the support staff has, the majority of times, been unable to solve my problem straightaway. Moreover, when setting up, I asked a couple of questions that may have "seemed stupid" (although, no question is a stupid question, right?), and was offered NO response to them. I can't imagine what kind of operation they're running. However, they clearly have a lot of satisfied customers, which indicates that their service and product could be good, but that it's definitely INCONSISTENT. And that's not good enough these days when there are so many many many hosting companies out there...

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

The worst customer service of any company in the history of the internet. I have been trying to get access to my domain to setup a new laptop for email service. Customer service can not provide me with access. They can not reset the password. They can not understand English. They can not cancel my service. They can not understand any emails. They can not undetstand what my domain name is even though they send emails to that domain. They keep asking for credit card numbers when I can not get them to understand I do not know what they want. This has been going on for over 6 weeks. I have to resort to notifying ICAN to get the domain back. Arvixe used to be the best with USA managers, owners and customer service. Then a group of Indians bought the company and terminated customer service. The replacements are from India yet have no understanding of the English language. Run away as fast as you can. They are not able to run a hot dog stand.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Used Arvixe first time in 2009. My site grew and had to upgrade to dedicated server but not from Arvixe. Tried them again in 2012 and had to move the sites as ten sites I hosted had more inodes than they allowed. Both times had timely response from them.
Came back to Arvixe in Jan 2016 again for another set of sites. Sites worked fine. As the traffic grew they suspended my sites for using too much resources. I directed the traffic through Cloudflare and sites worked fine for a month.
On July 30th sites were suspended due to DMCA violation. Someone uploaded content and I was away and couldn't delete it on time. I opened ticket with Arvixe to allow an IP access so I can fix the problem.
After two weeks and numerous talks with Live Support Chat. No fix. No response from their abuse team. All they can tell me that higher support had to look into this. But how long does it take?
Would never user Arvixe ever again and while searching on internet for another host. Came across a company EIG, that has been buying all the smaller hosts. And all those companies owned by EIG are doing down the hill, due to terrible support.
Do your research before signing up with any host.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Hi, i am using arvixe business class plan for over an year. I chose them because of the good reviews across some websites. But I am really disappointed with their service. Their uptime is really bad. it gets frequent disconnection. And there is delay in receiving emails. and they don't give any notification before any server updates.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have been on shared hosting ($4/mo) for last year and half and so far my live e-commerce site has been running reasonably well and earning me $$. So there is very little to complain.
Pros:
1. Value for money.
2. Generally stable server. Almost 99% uptime.
3. Feature rich cpanel.
4. Fairly ok speed for shared hosting.

Cons:
1. Support might take very long time to look in to calls (sometime > 2 days).
2. First level support sometimes do not seem very knowledgeable will you give a very standard replies.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

very bad company, zero support, zero knowledge, takes a weeks to respond to ticket, even they have no time to respond to ticket. never buy hosting from ARVIXE
im on their server but im in trouble, my website goes offline everytime. even they are not answering to the live chat.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

I've been with Arvixe for a number of years and once upon a time they were the BEST host (for .NET) out there. Their support was once superb, response times excellent, customer service stellar...

Then they were bought by EIG who quite literally drove this train into the ground. Support times are measured in weeks (I'm currently waiting on a request for help with an "instant alias" which has been in the queue for a full 7 days with ZERO response). The servers (http, email, database) are up-and-down like a yo-yo. I've sent them so many "my server is not responding" tickets that it boggles the mind. Arvixe is now one of the WORST hosts that I've had the displeasure to deal with - ALL my properties that were/are hosted on Arvixe are currently being or are migrated over to a different host.

Do yourself a favor, preserve your sanity and stay far, far away from Arvixe.

 
★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

Arvixe hosting is just a good hosting provider. The major fault in it is Support and their UPTIME.
If you want to run micro niche site, then Arvixe is good choice, as it is affordable and have easy to use features.
But, if you are running a site with heavy traffic then this is not the best choice. The uptime plays an important role in the site ranking!
but here there is no 99.9% uptime, which can cause difficulties in ranking of the site.
If you want to know more about the Arvixe then you can take the EXPERT OPINION.
Hope it will be helpful for you!

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Arvixe experience:
Well I've been 6 months with them and wanted them to tell a little bit about them since the experience I've had with them is very good
In these six months I'm not complaining, first that all support is very good, they respond to the touch by skype is as much more rapid over there
something that I haven't seen in other companies that provide support for skype.
I have hosted with them regarding the hosting several sites hosted with them, some are warez and other legal issues 2
I'm not complaining have not fallen my pages websites with them and the truth seems to me to carry six successful months with them they deserve a good review from me, stand, and luxury are webhosting are a tremendous company in my opinion.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

I signed up for Arvixe PersonalClass hosting last week. Initially the site seemed fine. After being available for about 3 days, the site was then completely unavailable for at least 24 hours due to server problems. After it was restored, I noticed that the SSL I had purchased was not working - they had assigned the wrong SSL certificate to my account. After using their live chat support, this was eventually resolved. However, less than 24 hours later, the correct certificate has been replaced with a different incorrect certificate.

Their service responsiveness is awful. I have lodged two service tickets about my problems - neither have had a response - one of them has been unanswered for 7 days. Their live chat supports consistently stops working.

I have now cancelled my account.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I cannot stop praising Arvixe Web Hosting for a number of reasons which include:

1) 24/7 technical support
2) Affordability
3) Unlimited Mail storage
4) A full uptime guarantee

1: The technical support of Arvixe deserves a lot of praise and credit. They are available to take up your queries and solve them for you around the clock which is something extremely helpful. The time taken by the technical staff to solve the problem is never more than half an hour.
2: Unlike other web hosting companies that are very expensive to subscribe to, Avrixe comes to you at a very affordable price, a factor which is always important.
3. The previous web host that I used provided my with only 300mb of email storage which was simply not enough. Avrixe gives me unlimited email storage space which completely eliminates one of my problems.
4: The servers are active almost 99% of the time which is something every website owner desires. Any time where the server is down, the website owners are at a loss which is something Avrixe is able to minimize beautifully.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Pros:
Unlimited space and traffic.

Cons:
They have the worst support in the industry. I am going to switch hosting providers simply due to this reason. I purchased an SSL Certificate and need to apply it to my website and support never responds. You email them and it goes into a deep dark hole. The live chat you wait about an hour for a person that knows nothing and they send it on to someone else that never does anything. It is the same as having no support.

The servers are slow slow that my website frequently goes down. I get emails from customers about the server going down.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

Sad to say but their support is as bad it can be. I was not able to set up a Ruby on Rails site due to access rights problems, their average response time was measured in weeks. I gave up after the third round. Seeking your money back also seems impossible because they simply do not reply to your request...

 
★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Arvixe has been my ISP since 2008, but apparently they were sold this year. That explains the ridiculously piss-poor customer service I have been experiencing recently. Sometime around 6/9/16 the mail server that they use for my two domains with email went south. I however did not start getting error messages until around the 14th - incoming mail reduced to a trickle, and I started receiving "Sent mail delayed" messages (which three days later led to FAILURE messages). I used Arvixe's online support ticket. For days I received "we are aware of the problem". Then at some point they must have rebooted the mail server because I began receiving mail but all mail I sent continued to be "delayed" and then "fail". I updated the ticket with this information and they responded with 'they tested it and there is no problem'. I said, yes there is a problem and sent them an example. They responded with the same 'we are working on it, have a nice day.' 10 days later, they had done nothing to fix the problem with sending email from my two domains. I got sick of the fake ticket responses and simply used MX Toolbox to determine they have the RDNS for the rebooted server set incorrectly. I then sent them a screen shot of the issue and suddenly they say they have discovered the problem is with the RDNS and are upgrading the ticket. Then three more days pass with no change.

Today I tried the phone instead of an on-line support ticket. After around 30 minutes on hold while the woman on the phone reviewed the file, she finally said she had upgraded the ticket and tried to explain to me that their "Level 1" support -- the people handling the online support tickets - do not have the tools they need to determine the problem. #1 - they claimed that they had already upgraded the ticket, which apparently was not true if the person on the phone is to be believed, and #2 I found the problem myself by running the free scan on MXToolbox, so how hard was that?

Problem is, I cannot get them TO FIX IT....

Arvixe gets 72 hours and then I change ISPs. What a way to ruin what used to be a pretty good company. Very sad.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I was very happy with Arvixe until it went spiraling down in terms of customer support. I noticed this last year, it seems they have lost their passion for service.

Arvixe has a lot of needed features common to most hosting companies. The only thing I complain now about them is support. Because of the poor support and slow response times I'm forced to

leave them after being a loyal customer for almost 2 years.

I have also noticed considerable downtimes with Arvixe but I can't confirm the nature of the downtimes since they were lasting for only about 15 minutes and I didn't want to go through the hassle of

waiting for a very slow response and even forgetting about it after several days.

Very poor tech and customer support. They should change some of their people.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Hello Arvixe hosting one of a kind serivice I personally recommend this hosting company I have some time with this hosting company and have not had serious problems. Always my site is online and technical support answers quickly when i have a question. If you are searching for a hosting service I recommend this for the price and quality relationship. thanks

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

Arvixe is doing a great job keeping my website up and running. I have a lot of traffic on my website and never so far have I had any problems with Arvixe.

I've used other hosting companies in the past, but i kept having server issues. Everything has been fixed once using Arvixe.

I am really thankful to myself that i choose Arvixe.

I have tried many VPS host befor for proxy sites but the best i find is Arvixe and it very recommander for my friend, they have great suppport and powerfull host. I really recommend it!

 
★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Arvixe used to be the real deal in hosting. They had great support and were very fast. After what I think is their involvement with EIG they have been one of the crappiest I've known. I have abandoned them and I'm plannign to transfer my domain from their servers. They were at first very courteous and I hadn't had a problem with downtime. However these past few months they have been very unresponsive to my needs. They were less courteous and always sounded like in a hurry on their tech support that I sometimes don't mind contacting them on some hosting issues. I don't think their value is good anymore.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I used arvixe for asp.net hosting and I think they are the best option available for asp.net
the pricing is so resonable and never had any problem with uptime and support.

The price of my package is s affordable. Also got free domain names, unlimited storage and bandwidth and unlimited data transfers along with it!

Firewalls, encryption, and regular security updates is great, never got any problem from hackers and viral attacks.

I don't know what to say about because rarely I had to open support ticket.

Even I asked a special favor directy to the admin and he accpeted my request.

It may look like it's a partial review but seriouslly I am writing what I got from them

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

ARVIXE - what happened??? Arvixe is rapidly is going down hill. I began utilizing their hosting a while ago (about 2 years or so), and they were fantastic. More recently, things have been going from bad to worse. Service-wise, reps are apparently unable to handle anything for you. Tickets they create sit in the queue for simply inexcusably long times, with a few never being solved. Downtime has (especially in the last week) been the worst I have seen from any "professional" hosting company, with no reason or actions to indicate why the downtime occurred. Performance, while stable in the last few weeks, has suffered as well. Any contact I've attempted to make with them about said downtime results in a "sorry, our servers are experiencing difficulty at this point in time" - well, duh, 20-30 minutes of every hour, my domains, hosting accounts and even cPanel are offline! I've not even bothered to ask about "guaranteed uptime" and the compensation I feel Arvixe customers deserve, as I'm sure a blanket/generic apology with no explanation (in hopefully less than 3 weeks) would be the response.

Whoever bought this once-great host out should be ashamed for tarnishing a good name, thrashing its reputation and burning customers. Although the price may be reasonable, I'm not paying for downtime and generic one-size-fits-all apologies and lackluster service. Shame to see Arvixe on the wayside, my advice is to seek service elsewhere - almost anywhere at this point. Sorry Arvixe, but this is what you get from burning a once satisfied customer!

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Arvixe sucks!

Use to be good but recently their support has been terrible,
My account was suspended due to spam under 24hr notice.
And i've noticed several people complain of spam on arvixe servers.

For over 3 weeks i have been trying to get it re-activated,
what i get is empty promises!

Cant even access my recent database that contains clients
online financial transaction.
Everything, Lost!

If you value your time and money,
Stay away from arvixe.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Business affects, clients get angry! What is 99.99% ?
My website has been down for 2 weeks and nobody answered the ticket. I told them my package type is personal class, so they don't focus on me. I tried moving to Host4asp.net, that site is worse than Arvixe. I think it would be better to stay with Arvixe. After this I bought the business plan, but Arvixe cannot answer the simple ping 2xx ms question. Then I thought maybe I can get a faster support with $20 per month. The final answer is rubbish! Luckily I only bought 1 month business plan and 1 month fast support.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Arvixe was my first host and I'm happy with their service. Recently I had a bad experience with the support staff's tone, being not accommodating on a simple question I asked. I know the question seemed dumb but I honestly did not have a strong knowledge with hosting. I was complaining about the downtime last week and told them that I might be on a bad server (I don't know if that really makes a difference) and I requested to be transferred. The staff responded promptly but we had a back and forth that was quite not professional, in my opinion.

Support is a person to person basis so it might be that I've just encountered a bad support person, so I give this part the point it deserves. As with the uptime, I only experienced it just once (the downtime I mentioned). Arvixe's value is okay for the features included in each plan.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I first heard about Arvixe from a hosting forum and grabbed their discount. I was disappointed with their uptime as I encounter several problems and loading duration for the first 2 weeks.

I would like to recommend them, being one of the best ones. But they have responded sourly to my support question about my downtime instead of apologizing.

Their features are complete, as far as I know with regular cPanel hosting. The value is okay but considering the uptime and support issue I had I can't recommend it now. I hope to see them succeed though.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

Arvixe Review:

My main issue with Arvixe is their customer support. When one of my sites have just been developed (the first day of web development as soon as the domain propagated), the site went down several times that day (around twice every 2 hours).

I contacted them through their live support and said that the site uptime checker I used "Is it down for everyone or just me" says that my site is down several times today. Then he simply said that there were several plugins installed in my site which caused the downtime.

I told him that the plugins I have are all part of the theme and I need to have them all in order to get the theme to work. These are plugins bundled with my Themeforest theme for it to work properly then the customer support said that he "sees" all my plugins and that they're too many-- I just have to deactivate them and we're good to go.

That's crazy. They put the blame on the plugins when in fact it's clearly a server problem. The site is just new, no content yet and few mandatory plugins are installed. If it worked well for most sites who's using the theme then it should also be working well regardless of my hosting.

Value and features are ok. Uptime and support are insanely disappointing.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have used many different hosting providers (both free and paid), and I have come to love Arvixe.
I have used a2hosting, Hostgator, and Inmotion, but left them due to various problems. Given Arvixe low price of $4.00/month, I decided to give them a try. For over a year now, I have not had any downtime or slow websites (these were the problems that I have had with other hosting providers.

They have CPanel and unlimited email addresses which is a useful feature. I haven't had any issues so I haven't gotten to see what their support is like so I can not comment on that.

I now use Arvixe to host all of my sites as well as hosts sites for clients that I have done web design for. I think that I have personally found a host that I like and will be able to continue using.

 
★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Ever since Arvixe was sold last year support became bad. Then month by month it kept getting worse. At one point I was on hold for over 7-hours. Then they give you some email instructions that change daily. It is now taking a week to accomplish a 5-minute task. I never experienced such bad service from any company at any time any where.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I had a site created and was never able to administer it. I went back and forth with support over multiple months. I was literally never able to gain access to what I paid for. When I asked for a refund for the product I was never able to use they refused. I went to GoDaddy and had my site up and my email running in 15 minutes. Arvixe has the worst technical support of any company I have ever dealt with in my life. They make Comcast support look like the gold standard. My most recent interaction with them was online support. I asked them to make sure my account would not be autobilled. They told me "Once the credit card details are deleted , the account will not be renewed." Nothing about how to remove the details or if automatic billing was even enabled. Just the most atrocious service.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Support : The worst ever. I amd trying to get a SSL cert installed since 17/5/2016 (today its 7/6/2016) and not done yet. Their support is so dumb they wont even read your ticket properly. The answers they give (one answer every 24-36hrs) are not even related to what you ask. Im not referring to one incident. This is just the recent one. Related ticket ID : UVU-574-14321 (If any one wants to verify)

Up Time : Their control pannel has a tendancy to go off when ever we try to do something (like taking a backup of the DB) and then return after about 1 hour. And the worst is our production site (in the basil server https://basil.arvixe.com/) has been down since the 4th June 2016 (today its 7th June/2016) and theer is no hurry in getting it to work. Their Network Status page (https://status.arvixe.com/) doesn't even mention this issue

Features : Good features for the money buy pointless if cant use them

Overall : My advice, avoid like a plague. And avoid sleepless nights.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have been using Arvixe for a few years. Things were great in the beginning. Service was consistent and support was excellent.

Then, this year, everything went to hell. Apparently Arvixe was purchased by a bigger company at exactly around the time things went south.

I have three domains with Arvixe. About five weeks ago they dropped all three of my sites. There was no notice. All three of my sites just vanished. I figured they moved them to another server without telling me. Support got two of the three sites back up within two days with numerous support ticket posts by me, and my main site by the third day. Ever since then my main site has gone down over and over and over and over about a dozen times so far over the last five weeks. They just can't get it right.

They created a Support Code system, and inside your Support ticket they respond after making you wait a whole day for a response by asking you to go copy/paste your Support Code from the client area of their site. It's bad enough that they tell you it's to prove who you are, even though you have to have the correct credentials to login to their support site to create a ticket, but then when they take two or three days to respond to your posting of your Support Code they ask you to go get another code because the one you posted has expired.

Last night my main site when down again. I spoke on live chat with a support guy who told me that he had to reset the nameservers for my site. He said they would resolve within 24 hours. It's been over 24 hours and now my site comes up showing nothing but an Arvixe block with cPanel Login, WHM (Reseller) Login, Webmail Login: and a speed test. My site is completely gone. When I ping the site I get the new/different IP, but I cannot login to my account nor see any of my files. The FTP still works, so I am copying all of my files to my PC hard drive now in the event that, God forbid, they delete all of my files.

If they wanted to get me to quit their service they are certainly doing a good job at it, because I have been more frustrated with these people than ever in my lifetime.

Run screaming from these people. I can't wait for my contract to be up so I can move to another host. Do not waste your time, money or patience on these people. They were a once great service, but they are now the worst I've ever experienced.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Arvixe used to be good, I set up multiple accounts with them. However, in past 6 months, they have managed to delete our data twice (on two separate accounts / domains), with no explanation, extremely poor service, it took 16 days to recover data back up in the first instance, the second instance is ongoing after 4 days and still no sign of recovery (the whole SQL database has mysteriously evaporated). Contact with support keeps saying it has been escalated, senior managers are working on it, it will be restored shortly, but they never provide time lines, the data does not get recovered for days / weeks (we have been informed the latest back up available is from 2 months ago!!! just how incompetent has it become).
The support team does not connect you to any senior manager, does not provide SLAs or any documentation providing recovery times in case of issues caused by their own faults.

In short, I have started migrating all my domains, web applications from them.
Stay away unless you want to go through heartache and extreme stress / uncertainty / possible loss of your data.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

If you new webmaster and want run some adult offers or blog then this will be choices for you.

Arvix is one of the few great shared hosts which allow you host adult websites , I used their support system may times and they were always responsive and, well, stable.

Features as standard

· Latest CPanel control panel
· Dedicated ticket & email support
· Superfast reliable servers
· Instant setup

They are also runing good cheap offers specially on december with black friday promo.
Reliable and managed hosting providers you should go for .

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I've been a fan of Arvixe since receiving a 6 month trial membership free with their participation in DreamSpark (Microsoft Student Program), and let me say, this was a wise investment decision on behalf of Arvixe, as I have been hooked since! Aside from the responsive customer service, Arvixe is very generous when it comes to provisioning resources for websites. Because of the interactive and visual site design i usually prefer, I've had serious load, performance and up-time issues with other hosts. While any company can offer unlimited space or bandwidth, Arvixe offers both, as well as plenty of Memory, so your site won't get bogged down like with other hosting companies!
Arvixe not only does shared hosting, but have a wonderful reseller line as well. Little perks like $100 Ad Credit towards Yahoo! Bing AND Google Adwords, free WHMCS, a free domain reseller account, nightly backups and more really round the experience out, and make it so there aren't any "surprise" fess or charges after signing up, and the nightly security updates make me feel like my site and intellectual property are being taken care of. A big two-thumbs-up to Arvixe, from a satisfied customer of many years, looking forward to more to come!

 
★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Sucks Sucks Sucks!!

Please do not buy hosting with Arvixe, my account with 6 sites are down from many days. They are saying that they don't know when the site will be up. Till today I am facing this problem. Please never go with them.

Our valuable customers are screaming on us because of Arvixe c grade support and technical staff

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Arvixe support is not helpful at all as they use canned responses it is essentially like talking to a computer. Arvixe servers have been down since 5/12 or later and still have not been fixed so their 99.9% uptime gaurantee is false. Also, if you look at any of the reviews and go to their website they say they have hosted with Arvixe you will see that none of those good reviews are using Arvixe as their host, look for yourself!

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

I get all features I need. However, I have periods of unavailability on my site almost every day, about three or four minutes. Although it is a personal site, I mean, do not use it to earn money, I am seriously considering migrating to another host when my six-month subscription expires.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

The customer support group at Arvixe is fantastic. They respond quickly and are very thorough in their answers. I have only had great experiences with them. I like the format of the dashboard - easy to find what I need. The site has only been down a couple times for short periods in the last year, and I thought that was acceptable. The price is great. I would strongly recommend Arvixe. It's like having a friend help you along.

 
★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

before it was all good but now support sucks, no reply for 2 to 4 days. need to improve support specially abuse support my ticket is yet not replied for 7 days and my account is suspended for 9 days. I do not understand what happened to arvixe. I will change the host if it continues

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I was a happy GoDaddy customer. But a friend recommended Arvixe because of the great price for multiple websites. I currently host five sites on Arvixe. The ASP.NET/SQL Server platform is perfect for the web sites I create. I like that the CLR and database versions are very close to current.

The only issues I've had in five years was a brief problem with the domains not resolving. It took about 20 minutes for support to find the problem and they fixed it promptly. I have occasional problems deleting a database, but support tickets get it cleared up quickly.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Arviex use to be a great web host, until EIG bought them out and outsourced the staff. Not only did I start having issues at this point, but it continued for a couple of years afterwards. The final straw was when they billed me improperly and I contacted them and got it resolved then I noticed that my SSL cert had an expired date when I contacted them and being on hold for over an hour they indicated that they had billed me improperly; I requested that the billing department contact me and that never happened. I had decided to drop them as a host and then they felt obligated to just satisfy their bill themselves when they had no authorization to do so. Which I don't really understand since you pay for services up front and I was planning on dropping them. I not only do not recommend them I moved my sites because they cost me a very valuable client and subsequent business.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I am a website designer and truth my experience has been excellent with Arvixe. It has been more simple, orderly and better performance than other servers. Even I recomindo always Arvixe my clients.

As for the support I have always received very good response from the support department, only once I had a delay. the answers were accurate, clear and concise. solutions have been really efficient.

Server tools have always worked properly and I have not had any problems with the installation, nor with the adjustments of the sites I've created.

 
+ See More Reviews
Arvixe logo

Arvixe

arvixe.com Founded: 2003

Arvixe Introduction

Arvixe is a web hosting company which offers a range of services from shared hosting through to dedicated hosting. It does not seem to specialise in just one area like many other companies do, preferring to keep its options open.

The company was formed in San Luis Obispo, USA in 2003. It is a privately held limited liability corporation and hosts a variety of websites from around the world, from personal sites through to sites for enterprise-sized businesses. Its mission is to serve as a complete hosting resource to clients and provide reliable and high quality services and support.

Hosting Plans

Arvixe offers both Linux (CentOS) and ASP.Net (Windows) hosting for all of their hosting plans. Whilst they offer shared, reseller, VPS and dedicated hosting, they do not yet offer a cloud hosting service.

Arvixe hosting plans are split into five classes, Personal, Business, Reseller, VPS and Dedicated.

  • The PersonalClass plan represents competitively-priced shared hosting. Customers can choose Linux hosting or pay slightly more for Windows hosting. These plans provide unlimited disk space, unlimited bandwidth and up to 6 domains. The Windows hosting plan includes up to 6 dedicated application pools. The personal plans can also be upgraded to a Pro version, which allows for unlimited websites (and unlimited dedicated application pools for Windows hosting).
  • The BusinessClass plans are similar to the PersonalClass shared hosting plans, but include a dedicated IP. The servers are set up to contain fewer users on each server and therefore increase reliability and uptime.
  • Arvixe offers ResellerClass hosting plans based on the amount of disk space and bandwidth you need. Again, you can choose from Windows and Linux hosting and get up to 200 GB disk space, 2000 GB of bandwidth and unlimited domains.
  • The VPSClass Linux hosting plan offers 40 GB of disk space with unlimited bandwidth, 1024 MB of dedicated memory, 2 cores and 2 IP addresses. You can upgrade to the pro version to get 80 GB of disk space, 2048 MB dedicated memory, 4 cores and up to 5 IP addresses.
  • The VPSClass Windows hosting plan comes with 40 GB of disk space with unlimited bandwidth, 1536 MB of dedicated memory, 2 cores and 2 IP addresses, which can be upgraded to 80 GB of disk space, 3072 MB dedicated memory, 4 cores and 5 IP addresses.
  • The DedicatedClass hosting starts with a choice of single-processor or multi-processor servers. Each plan can then be customised to suit your individual business needs.

The plans also allow you to pay for additional services such as a dedicated IP address, Coldfusion (Windows) or MSSQL reporting service (Windows), depending on which plan you have signed up for.

Uptime/Downtime

Like many other web hosting companies, Arvixe offers a 99.9% site uptime guarantee, and it will refund you if the guarantee is broken in any given month. It also offers a 100% uptime guarantee for dedicated servers with pro-rata refund for any downtime.

The Arvixe data centres are located in Dallas and Houston. Each has a fully redundant power supply with backup generators and a UPS power control system. The data centres are monitored 24/7/365 from the network operations centre with state of the art monitoring systems. Both data centres have Statement on Auditing Standards No. 70 Type II certification.

Servers are backed up daily and weekly for PersonalClass and ResellerClass accounts. For BusinessClass and EcommerceClass accounts, they are backed up hourly, daily and weekly. The backups are primarily for Arvixe in the event of a server going down. Arvixe advises customers to regularly backup their own data, but backups are made available to customers wherever possible.

Support

Arvixe customers have access to 24/7/365 in-house US based phone support, live chat and email support. They can also discuss issues on a customer forum and have access to raise support tickets on the Arvixe help desk.

The help desk software also provides access to a knowledge base and a news feed which Arvixe keep up-to-date with news articles and videos about the company.

The Arvixe blog is very active and provides regular ‘how to’ articles as well as other bits and pieces of information. The Facebook page is not very active, but the Arvixe Twitter account is busy and the team promptly replies to customer queries. Staff post out regular tweets to news stories and useful blog posts.

All in all, the Arvixe support service seems to be very proactive in getting information to customers on a regular basis.

In the News

Arvixe has not made any significant impact in the news, good or bad. Despite being around for nearly a decade, there are no news stories relating to downtime or other controversial activity.

Arvixe Control Panel

Arvixe provide cPanel with all of their Linux based web hosting plans. Resellers, VPS and dedicated server Linux based hosting customers also get WHM control panel. Both are fairly standard and will be familiar to experienced users.

For Windows hosting, they use DotNetPanel.

Extras

  • Arvixe offers a free domain name for life when you sign up; it will continue to renew your domain name whilst you are still paying for web hosting. If you move to another hosting company, you need to start paying for the domain name and transfer it away if you wish to.
  • Customers who have signed up for Linux hosting get RVSiteBuilder, as well as Fantastico and Softaculous one-click script installers. These support Python, PHP, Perl, Ruby on Rails, SSI, Zend and more.
  • Arvixe will transfer your website for no additional cost when you sign up. It also offers extra discounts for customers who purchase additional hosting accounts and a discount for linking to them from your own web site.
  • Finally, there’s an affiliates programme which gives rewards for customers you successfully refer.

Money Back Guarantee / Cancellation Policy

Arvixe provides a commendable 60 day money-back guarantee, which is relatively generous for web hosting. Refunds do not include domain names, SSL certificates, dedicated servers and marketing accounts. Customers can cancel their account by emailing the sales department.

Summary

Arvixe stands up well when compared to most other web hosting companies. The sheer range of hosting types put them in a prime position and allows for easy upgrades as businesses grow.

The support provision for Arvixe appears to be very proactive and the team are are keen to discuss different hosting options with customers.

Arvixe Hosting Plans

Hosting Plan Features Disk Space Bandwidth Price
Personal Class PHP Shell Access Firewall Protection PostgreSQL Python Linux Unlimited Unlimited $3.27/month
Usual price:
Personal Class Pro PHP Shell Access Firewall Protection PostgreSQL Python Linux Unlimited Unlimited $7.00/month
Usual price:
Business Class PHP Shell Access Firewall Protection PostgreSQL Dedicated IP Python Unlimited Unlimited $22.00/month
Usual price:
Business Class Pro PHP Shell Access Firewall Protection PostgreSQL Dedicated IP Python Unlimited Unlimited $35.00/month
Usual price:
Reseller Class PHP Shell Access Firewall Protection PostgreSQL WHM Dedicated IP 50GB 500GB $20.00/month
Usual price:
Reseller Class Pro PHP Shell Access Firewall Protection PostgreSQL WHM Dedicated IP 200GB 2000GB $50.00/month
Usual price:
VPS Class PHP Red Hat Shell Access Firewall Protection PostgreSQL VPS 50GB Unlimited $40.00/month
Usual price:
VPS Class Pro PHP Red Hat Shell Access Firewall Protection PostgreSQL WHM 100GB Unlimited $70.00/month
Usual price:
VPS Class Lite PHP Red Hat Shell Access Firewall Protection PostgreSQL WHM 20GB Unlimited $20.00/month
Usual price:
Personal Class ASP ASP ASP.NET PHP .NET Framework Firewall Protection MSSQL Unlimited Unlimited $5.00/month
Usual price:
Personal Class ASP Pro ASP ASP.NET PHP .NET Framework Firewall Protection MSSQL Unlimited Unlimited $8.00/month
Usual price:
Business Class ASP ASP ASP.NET PHP .NET Framework Firewall Protection MSSQL Unlimited Unlimited $30.00/month
Usual price:
Business Class ASP Pro ASP ASP.NET PHP .NET Framework Firewall Protection MSSQL Unlimited Unlimited $43.00/month
Usual price:
Reseller Class ASP ASP ASP.NET PHP .NET Framework Firewall Protection MSSQL 50GB 500GB $25.00/month
Usual price:
Reseller Class ASP Pro ASP ASP.NET PHP .NET Framework Firewall Protection MSSQL 200GB 2000GB $60.00/month
Usual price:
VPS Class ASP ASP ASP.NET PHP .NET Framework Firewall Protection MSSQL 50GB Unlimited $60.00/month
Usual price:
VPS Class ASP Pro ASP ASP.NET PHP .NET Framework Firewall Protection MSSQL 100GB Unlimited $100.00/month
Usual price:
VPS Class ASP lite ASP ASP.NET PHP .NET Framework Firewall Protection MSSQL 30GB Unlimited $30.00/month
Usual price:
Dedicated Class ASP ASP.NET PHP Dedicated Server MSSQL Windows $105.00/month
Usual price:

Arvixe Frequently Asked Questions

  • Where is Arvixe based?

    Its headquarters are in Pleasanton, CA in the USA.

  • Where is Arvixe's datacenter?

    Arvixe does not mention a specific location on its website, but it does say that its datacenter is in the USA.

  • Does Arvixe offer Windows hosting?

    Yes. It provides both Linux and Windows hosting. Windows plans are provisioned on Server 2012 R2.

  • Does it offer managed hosting?

    Yes. Management is available with dedicated servers, and some cloud hosting plans. It also provides the option of fully managed WordPress hosting. 

  • Does Arvixe offer any reseller hosting packages?

    Yes. You can buy a Windows or Linux reseller hosting plan. Linux plans come with cPanel and WHM, while Windows plans have Plesk panel.

  • Can I buy cloud hosting from Arvixe?

    Yes. Arvixe offers managed cloud hosting plans. Cloud hosting a scalable alternative to a dedicated server, and can be provisioned on Linux or Windows.

  • Does Arvixe offer a money-back guarantee?

    Yes. Arvixe provides a 60-day money-back guarantee on shared and reseller plans, so you can claim a refund if you aren't totally satisfied. This only applies to new accounts, and does not apply if you choose to upgrade.

  • Can I use more than one domain with my account?

    Yes. Most plans allow unlimited domains to be used, apart from the basic Personal and Business plans. These limit customers to 6 domains.

  • Does Arvixe provide any software to help build a website?

    Yes. All customers can use Arvixe Builder, which is sometimes called Site.Pro in its support documentation.

  • What control panel will I use?

    On Linux hosting plans, cPanel, along with WHM where applicable. Windows users are provided with Plesk.

  • How can I access technical support?

    Arvixe has a ticket system for support requests, and a live chat feature on its homepage. You can also contact the technical support team by phone. Support is provided 24/7.

  • Is support available in languages other than English? 

    Arvixe's technical support blog is available in English, German, French, Spanish, and Turkish. It doesn't specify which languages its technical support team speaks.

  • What is Priority Support?

    All customers benefit from standard technical support. When signing up, you can optionally pay to upgrade to Priority Support, which offers the best expertise and fastest response times.

  • Does Arvixe provide help migrating from another host?

    Arvixe offers a free migration service, providing you use cPanel on your own host. Your site must be less than 5 GB in size for a personal or reseller transfer, or less than 10 GB in size for a business plan transfer. It does not offer any kind of migration support for Windows users, or new customers moving from a non-cPanel host.

  • What forms of payment does Arvixe accept?

    Arvixe accepts major credit cards and PayPal.

  • Does Arvixe have an uptime guarantee?

    Yes, there's a 99.9% uptime guarantee. If it fails to meet that figure, it'll provide a credit for one month's hosting fees.

  • What programming languages does Arvixe support?

    It offers support for Perl, Python, PHP 5, Ruby on Rails, and support for both MySQL and PostgreSQL.

  • How many email addresses can I create?

    You can create unlimited email addresses with all plans.

  • Is Arvixe bandwidth and space unlimited?

    Yes, although you'll be expected to adhere to its fair use terms, which means that your website needs to be operating within a normal range. If your site uses an excessive amount of disk space or bandwidth, you may be asked to upgrade.

  • Do I get a free domain?

    Yes. Arvixe will give you a free domain when you purchase your hosting package. It will renew the domain free of charge 'forever', as long as you do not cancel your hosting.

Arvixe Features

All Features

  • 4images
  • Aardvark
  • AbanteCart
  • Access Logs
  • Adult Hosting
  • Agora Cart
  • Ajax
  • Analog
  • Announcement Lists
  • Apache
  • AWStats
  • b2evolution
  • BSDs
  • Catch-all email
  • CGI Access
  • Credit Card
  • Crontabs
  • Custom Error Pages
  • Dew-NewPHPLinks
  • DocFaq
  • Drupal
  • Email Forwarding
  • File Manager
  • FlatPress
  • Free Shopping Cart
  • GD Support
  • Hotlink Protection
  • ImageMagick
  • IMAP Support
  • ionCube Loader
  • IP Deny Manager
  • LimeSurvey
  • Live Chat Support
  • livesite
  • Mac
  • Magento
  • Mailing Lists
  • Mailman
  • markItUp!
  • MaxCDN
  • Mod-rewrite
  • node.js
  • Nucleus
  • osCommerce
  • Oxwall
  • Password Protected Directories
  • PayPal
  • Phone Support
  • Phorum
  • PHP 4
  • PHP 5
  • PHP-Fusion
  • PHP-Nuke
  • phpMyChat
  • phpMyFAQ
  • phpPgAdmin
  • POP3 Support
  • Railgun
  • Redmine
  • Ruby on Rails
  • RVSiteBuilder
  • sandvox
  • Server Side Includes
  • Shared Hosting
  • Shared SSL
  • Softaculous
  • Spam Filter
  • SpamAssassin
  • SPF
  • SSD
  • Support Forum
  • Webalizer
  • WebDAV
  • Webmail
  • Zend Optimizer

How does Arvixe compare to their competitors?

Overall ★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★
Visit Arvixe
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★★

WhoIsHostingThis Recommends

Want a Free Domain Name?

Already a Arvixe customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more...

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about Arvixe.
Please be specific: we're only interested in hearing that Arvixe rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Next step

Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

(We hate spam - see our privacy policy)
Terms & Conditions