Add Your Review for Daily.co.uk

11 Daily.co.uk Reviews:

Is Daily.co.uk the host for you?

Last reviewed Aug 31, 2015

Key features

  • ASP.NET
  • ASP
  • Uptime Guarantee
  • Perl
  • MSSQL
  • Support Forum

User Reviews - Total: 11

★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

This review is biased because at I write the whole of the Daily site is down. This includes their DNS servers so our sites are down as well. With a correctly planned and configured network there should be no single point of failure as the loss of DNS services must affect many thousands of e-commerce customers.

Their telephones are not manned today on any number I can find online (it is a bank holiday) so I have no idea if Daily is even aware of the outage, let alone what they are doing about it.

In the context of the loss if income that flows from an outage as serious and protracted as this one, the prices that Daily charge are irrelevant and their uptime must be rated as bad because a failure on this scale simply should be impossible. That there is no information available about what is going on and no contact point that is accessible to customers means their support is bad also.

We cannot afford unsupported outages as bad as this one and will move fro Daily as soon as possible.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have been using this host for three months now and I love it because they are very friendly especially a to a person who has little knowledge in web hosting. The support staff have really helped me by giving me every little steps on how to move my site onto their server. Up time has been good so far with very little downtime. I'll continue to use this host because of the great up time!

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

They use a very awkward kind of terms and conditions, their support is slow, their stability is very bad and they are very strict towards their customers. They think they know best and they treat you like patronisers. They are not recommended, avoid...

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Been hosting with various providers over several years and they all sell more or less the same. The deciding factor tends to be how a hosting company services its customers. I've had great service from Daily over the years and although they are some times hard to reach by phone (usually at peak hours like lunch time etc) they've always answered support tickets fast and to the point. So not sure what people are complaining about.

Their prices are also very very competitive - especially the .COM or .CO.UK - much lower than those in the market. You get lots of free features like free mailbox and full DNS controls. What I also like and you can only find it with Daily is the bulk domain management tool. As I register truck loads of domains for my customers I have to apply the same settings to loads of domains. With the bulk mgt tool I apply the same setting to loads of domains in one go. How cool is that. Totally recommend them to thsoe who manage lots of domains....

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I signed up with Daily about a year ago because they were UK based and within my price range. Initially, everything seems to be great, but in the last couple of months - ironically, just as I was in the process of rolling out a number of projects which depended on good web service - everything has gone downhill, and badly.

In the last two months, there have been at least five major outages I've been aware of, the latest of which resulted in my website giving a "503 - service unavailable" error for over 12 hours, and then they broke various settings during the recovery resulting in the site still not working correctly.

Three months ago, I'd have given them a shining recommendation but now? Avoid.

★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I joined daily over two years ago while learning to create & host sites, in 2009 I purchased the Linux Unlimited Pus package so I could host a number of sites. I found no issues with the package & was pleased with the features. In November this year I needed to renew my package. I have to admit I did not really do my homework, but in hindsight I feel as if Daily has conned me. My package initially was £77.94 not including VAT - when I renewed in November 2011, I was charged £132.50 not including VAT.

After renewing the package I have found out via my own CPanel, that Linux Unlimited Pro package is available for £77.92 not including VAT, and £119.88 not including VAT for two years. These two prices are not offer prices because the recent offer price for the same package is £4.99 a month not including VAT.

I had also spent over the last two years around £780 including VAT for various extras, hosting & domains. I feel really let down, in fact I feel like a mug to be honest or that I have been mugged by a robber without a mask. I will certainly not be using Daily ever again once my hosting package runs out.

★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

As a company i have had nothing but inconsistant down time, on there part along with scheduled maintenance, when trying to investigate this they state that it will cost. The templates they use are based on trial and errors they find through customers, which means the customers go through it rather than them testing things there side.

There control panel is the worst i have come accross for ticketing adn vps control. took me three moths to realise that its all done throuh plesk. because it was so hard finding how to ticket them

As i run a company, how they do things as a host provider, comes across as amaturish, If you are relying on the services they provide or want to do, i would suggest you look elsewere.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Cant rate them yet as just joined.

So far spoke to support twice - quite friendly, straight to the point which is good
Bought two domains, setup email in 10 seconds on each
Looks like their panel is straightforward so far.

Will leave another review in about a month once i buy a VPS

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

Been with Daily for a few years now. The helpdesk are fantastic. It's so refreshing to find out that the guy who answers the phone actually knows what he's talking about or can readily find out. The longest I've ever had to wait for an email reply is about 6 hours, but usually they're back within the hour.

Never really had a problem with downtime or website not working

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Daily are a great hosting company, I have been with them for 3 years and have few complaints in that time. Both their telephone and live chat customer support services are superb, any problems I've had have generally been resolved with 24 hours, which is especially important for me as a reseller whose technical is average at best .

There are many options on the account control panel such as web stats, PHP5, mySql database support.

In three years there has been very minimal downtime, however when it has happened I feel they should alert customers by email as opposed to customers having to check their support pages for current issues.

All in all, daily offer excellent value for money and all the features needed for the needs of most people
running small websites, and on this basis i would fully recommend them.

+ See More Reviews

Daily.co.uk

daily.co.uk

Daily.co.uk Introduction

Daily.co.uk (also known as Daily Internet) is a web hosting company targeting users in the UK. The company is based in Nottingham and offers a range of hosting plans, including cheap shared hosting on Windows and Linux, as well as domain name registrations.

Founded by Abby Hardoon in 2006, Daily Internet PLC was originally called Hostvue (UK) Ltd. Mr Hardoon previously established Host Europe PLC which runs a number of well-known companies including 123-Reg, WebFusion and Magic Moments Internet. He sold Host Europe to Pipex for £31 million in 2006 and launched Daily Internet officially in 2007.

Hosting Plans

Daily Internet places equal emphasis on domain name registrations, shared hosting and VPS hosting, but promotes VPS plans prominently on its home page. Here’s a brief run down of its web hosting services.

  • VPS plans are split into Linux, Windows and Windows Hyper-V variants. Within each variant, there are a range of plans with differing specifications. All offer root access, and Linux users can choose their OS. There’s a lot of detail on each plan, and unusually, it’s promoted more heavily on the website than shared hosting. Support and management is not included and is charged in addition. Backups are not included.
  • Shared website hosting is available on three plans: Starter Pro, Home Pro and Unlimited Pro. Starter Pro is a very basic, very low cost plan which offers unlimited bandwidth but not much else. The most expensive plan is a more traditional unlimited shared hosting plan. Customers can choose Windows or Linux shared hosting. Backups are not included.
  • Reseller hosting is split into two plans, v2 Starter and v2 Unlimited. Resellers can only host 20 client accounts on the Starter plan. Web space is restricted to just 1 GB on Starter. There are no space or bandwidth limits on the more expensive plan, although only 5 MySQL databases are permitted. That means ‘true’ reselling with multiple WordPress installs would be out of the question. Again, no backups are included.
  • Ecommerce hosting is effectively a site builder plan with similar features and benefits to shared hosting services. The main difference is the extra set of ecommerce features, although not all of these are free across the board. For example, customers on eShop Personal cannot set up a Facebook shop, Google Translate or social bookmarking. Of the three packages, eShop Enterprise is the most comprehensive, but there are still strict limits on the number of products and categories that can be created. Daily Internet says it takes disaster recovery backups, but it recommends that customers create manual backups through the eShop system.
  • Instant Website hosting is another type of site builder package. There are two variants: Plus and Pro. These are fairly typical, basic website hosting plans marketed at people who prefer not to get into the technical side of website hosting. Backups are not included. Customers can pay a fee to have Daily Internet staff set up their website for them.

Uptime/Downtime

There’s no reference to an uptime guarantee on the Daily Internet website. In a 2010 press release, I found one mention of a 99.9% uptime guarantee, but this specifically relates to its Hosted Exchange email service - not its web hosting service.

Daily Internet does have a system status page, but it only gets updated if there’s an issue. The company doesn’t post any uptime statistics on its website.

Backups are offered, but they are a chargeable extra. Daily Internet charges £25 per year for weekly backups and £45 per year for daily backups. Backups are stored on a different server to the customer’s website and can be accessed via FTP.

Support

Daily Internet’s primary support channel is its knowledge base. There’s an impressive range of technical help documentation that should help to answer most questions beginners and intermediate users have.

Support is provided via email and a UK telephone number. There’s also a fax number. Both are 0845 numbers and are therefore not free to call. Customers outside the UK may struggle to use these numbers at all.

Personal support is not provided round the clock. Daily Internet only opens its telephone support department from 9am to 5.30pm on weekdays, excluding bank holidays. Email support is offered via a ticketing system from 7am to 9.30pm on weekdays and from 11am until 7.30pm on weekends and bank holidays.

On VPS plans, it appears that setup assistance isn’t included and must be paid for. Most VPS hosts include this for free.

The company has an active Twitter feed which is updated with facts and blog posts every few days. It’s not used for support. Its Facebook page is also a one-way stream and staff rarely interact with customers. Interestingly, Abby Hardoon, the company founder, ‘Likes’ the occasional post.

In the News

Before Daily Internet was founded, Abby Hardoon hit the headlines for attempting to remove directors from the Host Europe board after a dispute.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/business/2003/may/01/4

Control Panel

On most of its VPS packages, users are provided with cPanel with WHM or Plesk 11 (Linux) or Plesk 11 only (Windows). This applies all plans except for the cheapest Linux VPS which has no control panel software installed.

On Hyper-V Windows VPS plans, Daily Internet customers are provided with WebsitePanel instead of a more well-known solution like cPanel. There is an online demo on the site but the link was broken at the time of writing this review.

A separate control panel, MyDaily, is provided for domain name management only.

Extras

Shared hosting customers receive one free domain name (.co.uk or .com) or a free .com transfer. Daily Internet also provides shared hosting customers with £100 in Google AdWords credits. Shared hosting customers get free access to its Fotalia library.

Site builders are included for free on shared plans. Although mobile website builders and cloud storage is available, these are only free on a trial basis. Customers on Unlimited Pro get access to a SSL certificate. Some tools you’d expect to be free, such as search engine submission, are chargeable.

On ecommerce hosting plans, free domain names are limited to one co.uk on eShop Business and one co.uk or .com on eShop Enterprise. Customers get the same Google Adwords credits as shared hosting clients.

VPS plans come with one free IP address.

Money Back Guarantee / Cancellation Policy

Daily Internet’s VPS and shared hosting plans offer a meagre 7-day money-back guarantee. This excludes domain names which are charged at full price if the package is cancelled. The Terms of Service clearly state that no refunds are offered after 7 days.

Summary

Daily Internet clearly markets its services at customers looking for a UK-based host that offers VPS hosting. If you want the flexibility of a host that offers Windows and Linux hosting, you’ll find plenty of plans to suit, but bear in mind the control panel limitations on the Hyper-V plan.

Despite its prices being very competitive, some of the limits imposed on the plans are very low and seem outdated. For example, the ‘Unlimited’ reseller account only comes with 5 databases and 10 mailboxes; most resellers would quickly outgrow it. The feature lists for all services seem rich, but once you dig into the detail, you find that the plans aren’t as generous as they first appear: the lack of backups is a good example.

Limited support will be a concern to users who like to know help is always at hand. Additionally, the limited money-back guarantee means there’s only a week to test drive Daily Internet before the customer is locked in to a plan. Having said that, there’s a vast amount of detail about what’s on offer, so there wouldn’t be any nasty surprises ahead.

Daily Internet clearly relies on a good solid reputation and a well-established reputation in the industry, and the knowledge base is really very good. If you want the safety net of round-the-clock assistance, free backups or truly unlimited resources, you might be better off looking elsewhere.

Daily.co.uk Hosting Plans

Hosting Plan Features Disk Space Bandwidth Price
Entry ASP ASP.NET MSSQL Perl Uptime Guarantee Simple Machines $0.00/month
Usual price:
Home ASP ASP.NET WordPress PHP MSSQL Python 3GB 30GB $6.57/month
Usual price:
Business ASP ASP.NET WordPress PHP MSSQL Python 12GB 150GB $6.97/month
Usual price:
Business Plus WordPress PHP Python Perl MySQL Uptime Guarantee 24GB 250GB $10.07/month
Usual price:
WordPress Hosting PHP Python Perl Uptime Guarantee Trouble Ticket Express CGI Calendar 50GB Unlimited $7.64/month
Usual price:
Starter Pro PHP Python Perl Uptime Guarantee Trouble Ticket Express CGI Calendar 5MB Unlimited $3.76/month
Usual price:
Home Pro PHP MSSQL Python Perl MySQL Uptime Guarantee 50GB Unlimited $7.64/month
Usual price:
Unlimited Pro PHP MSSQL Python MySQL Uptime Guarantee Trouble Ticket Express Unlimited Unlimited $10.11/month
Usual price:
Entry VPS Plan SSH Access 40GB Unlimited $13.90/month
Usual price:
Value VPS Plan PayPal SSH Access Live Chat Support 80GB Unlimited $20.87/month
Usual price:
Plus VPS Plan Uptime Guarantee PayPal SSH Access Live Chat Support Support Forum Phone Support 100GB Unlimited $45.22/month
Usual price:
Pro VPS Plan Uptime Guarantee PayPal SSH Access Live Chat Support Support Forum Phone Support 120GB Unlimited $65.49/month
Usual price:
v2 Starter WordPress PHP Python Perl Uptime Guarantee Trouble Ticket Express 1GB 10GB $18.80/month
Usual price:
v2 Unlimited ASP ASP.NET WordPress PHP MSSQL Python Unlimited Unlimited $39.07/month
Usual price:
STAG-DX1000 Windows 2008 Ubuntu Debian Plesk Windows CentOS 1000GB 500GB $123.32/month
Usual price:
WOLF-DX2000 Windows 2008 Ubuntu Debian Plesk Windows CentOS 2TB 750GB $201.37/month
Usual price:
COUGAR-DX3000 Windows 2008 Ubuntu Debian Plesk Windows CentOS 600GB 1TB $295.03/month
Usual price:
BEAR-DX4000 Windows 2008 Ubuntu Debian Plesk Windows CentOS 4TB Unlimited $435.52/month
Usual price:
HAWK-DX5000 Windows 2008 Ubuntu Debian Plesk Windows CentOS 2MB Unlimited $544.79/month
Usual price:

Daily.co.uk Frequently Asked Questions

Daily.co.uk Features

All Features

  • Access Logs
  • PayPal
  • Raw Files
  • Simple Machines

How does Daily.co.uk compare to their competitors?

Overall ★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★
Visit Daily.co.uk
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★★★
Overall★★★
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★★★

More Daily.co.uk reviews

★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

They were very good at first, now are total rubbish. Sites are continually down, don't load, or don't work thanks to their unique caching system thats been employed instead of investing in hardware - a caching system that rsults in database driven sites not working - their reply - "do you have to use a database?" - I should be able to host whatever the hell I want, I've paid for it, not have to host what I don't want because they aren't capable.

They even had the servers hacked!

The owners used to own 123 reg and funnily enough that went exactly the same way, great until 12 months or so before they sold it - I don't suppose the owners are lining up a sale are they and are inflating the bottom line by cutting costs - even essential ones?

Well my advice to anyone who might be thinking of buying this lame dog of a hosting company is DONT - you'll have to invest so much money in hardware to make the service even half decent that you'll never recover your costs - or your customers.

1/10 - Should try harder.

WhoIsHostingThis Recommends

Want a Free Domain Name?

Already a Daily.co.uk customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more...

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about Daily.co.uk.
Please be specific: we're only interested in hearing that Daily.co.uk rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Next step

Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

(We hate spam - see our privacy policy)
Terms & Conditions
2:00

Get 6 months free hosting

Only open to our newsletter subscribers - claim it now before the offer ends.

Our secret hosting provider is...

Hosting over 500,000 websites worldwide
Our users rate them 4.1 out of 5 (481 customer reviews).