Add Your Review for Daily.co.uk

12 Daily.co.uk Reviews:

Is Daily.co.uk the host for you?

Last reviewed Sep 27, 2016

Key features

  • ASP.NET
  • ASP
  • Uptime Guarantee
  • Perl
  • MSSQL
  • Phone Support

User Reviews - Total: 12

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have had hosting with Daily.co.uk for some time now. There have been regular times with shorter downtime, however, the last one has lasted longer than 2 days and it's still not online. It's starting to be devastating for me as having website down for a long time means no traffic and no money coming in. I don't even know when they will fix it and so I am totally in the dark. Obviously, there are other impacts that can cause long term damage from having a website down. I wonder if they will compensate me? If you rely on the money from your business and/or value your customers, I recommend you go with other hosting providers that are more reliable. This company is a joke and do not take your business seriously.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

This review is biased because at I write the whole of the Daily site is down. This includes their DNS servers so our sites are down as well. With a correctly planned and configured network there should be no single point of failure as the loss of DNS services must affect many thousands of e-commerce customers.

Their telephones are not manned today on any number I can find online (it is a bank holiday) so I have no idea if Daily is even aware of the outage, let alone what they are doing about it.

In the context of the loss if income that flows from an outage as serious and protracted as this one, the prices that Daily charge are irrelevant and their uptime must be rated as bad because a failure on this scale simply should be impossible. That there is no information available about what is going on and no contact point that is accessible to customers means their support is bad also.

We cannot afford unsupported outages as bad as this one and will move fro Daily as soon as possible.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have been using this host for three months now and I love it because they are very friendly especially a to a person who has little knowledge in web hosting. The support staff have really helped me by giving me every little steps on how to move my site onto their server. Up time has been good so far with very little downtime. I'll continue to use this host because of the great up time!

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

They use a very awkward kind of terms and conditions, their support is slow, their stability is very bad and they are very strict towards their customers. They think they know best and they treat you like patronisers. They are not recommended, avoid...

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Been hosting with various providers over several years and they all sell more or less the same. The deciding factor tends to be how a hosting company services its customers. I've had great service from Daily over the years and although they are some times hard to reach by phone (usually at peak hours like lunch time etc) they've always answered support tickets fast and to the point. So not sure what people are complaining about.

Their prices are also very very competitive - especially the .COM or .CO.UK - much lower than those in the market. You get lots of free features like free mailbox and full DNS controls. What I also like and you can only find it with Daily is the bulk domain management tool. As I register truck loads of domains for my customers I have to apply the same settings to loads of domains. With the bulk mgt tool I apply the same setting to loads of domains in one go. How cool is that. Totally recommend them to thsoe who manage lots of domains....

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I signed up with Daily about a year ago because they were UK based and within my price range. Initially, everything seems to be great, but in the last couple of months - ironically, just as I was in the process of rolling out a number of projects which depended on good web service - everything has gone downhill, and badly.

In the last two months, there have been at least five major outages I've been aware of, the latest of which resulted in my website giving a "503 - service unavailable" error for over 12 hours, and then they broke various settings during the recovery resulting in the site still not working correctly.

Three months ago, I'd have given them a shining recommendation but now? Avoid.

 
★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I joined daily over two years ago while learning to create & host sites, in 2009 I purchased the Linux Unlimited Pus package so I could host a number of sites. I found no issues with the package & was pleased with the features. In November this year I needed to renew my package. I have to admit I did not really do my homework, but in hindsight I feel as if Daily has conned me. My package initially was £77.94 not including VAT - when I renewed in November 2011, I was charged £132.50 not including VAT.

After renewing the package I have found out via my own CPanel, that Linux Unlimited Pro package is available for £77.92 not including VAT, and £119.88 not including VAT for two years. These two prices are not offer prices because the recent offer price for the same package is £4.99 a month not including VAT.

I had also spent over the last two years around £780 including VAT for various extras, hosting & domains. I feel really let down, in fact I feel like a mug to be honest or that I have been mugged by a robber without a mask. I will certainly not be using Daily ever again once my hosting package runs out.

 
★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

As a company i have had nothing but inconsistant down time, on there part along with scheduled maintenance, when trying to investigate this they state that it will cost. The templates they use are based on trial and errors they find through customers, which means the customers go through it rather than them testing things there side.

There control panel is the worst i have come accross for ticketing adn vps control. took me three moths to realise that its all done throuh plesk. because it was so hard finding how to ticket them

As i run a company, how they do things as a host provider, comes across as amaturish, If you are relying on the services they provide or want to do, i would suggest you look elsewere.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Cant rate them yet as just joined.

So far spoke to support twice - quite friendly, straight to the point which is good
Bought two domains, setup email in 10 seconds on each
Looks like their panel is straightforward so far.

Will leave another review in about a month once i buy a VPS

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

Been with Daily for a few years now. The helpdesk are fantastic. It's so refreshing to find out that the guy who answers the phone actually knows what he's talking about or can readily find out. The longest I've ever had to wait for an email reply is about 6 hours, but usually they're back within the hour.

Never really had a problem with downtime or website not working

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Daily are a great hosting company, I have been with them for 3 years and have few complaints in that time. Both their telephone and live chat customer support services are superb, any problems I've had have generally been resolved with 24 hours, which is especially important for me as a reseller whose technical is average at best .

There are many options on the account control panel such as web stats, PHP5, mySql database support.

In three years there has been very minimal downtime, however when it has happened I feel they should alert customers by email as opposed to customers having to check their support pages for current issues.

All in all, daily offer excellent value for money and all the features needed for the needs of most people
running small websites, and on this basis i would fully recommend them.

 
★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

They were very good at first, now are total rubbish. Sites are continually down, don't load, or don't work thanks to their unique caching system thats been employed instead of investing in hardware - a caching system that rsults in database driven sites not working - their reply - "do you have to use a database?" - I should be able to host whatever the hell I want, I've paid for it, not have to host what I don't want because they aren't capable.

They even had the servers hacked!

The owners used to own 123 reg and funnily enough that went exactly the same way, great until 12 months or so before they sold it - I don't suppose the owners are lining up a sale are they and are inflating the bottom line by cutting costs - even essential ones?

Well my advice to anyone who might be thinking of buying this lame dog of a hosting company is DONT - you'll have to invest so much money in hardware to make the service even half decent that you'll never recover your costs - or your customers.

1/10 - Should try harder.

 
Daily.co.uk logo

Daily.co.uk

daily.co.uk

Daily.co.uk Introduction

Daily.co.uk (also known as Daily Internet) is a web hosting company targeting users in the UK. The company is based in Nottingham and offers a range of hosting plans, including cheap shared hosting on Windows and Linux, as well as domain name registrations.

Founded by Abby Hardoon in 2006, Daily Internet PLC was originally called Hostvue (UK) Ltd. Mr Hardoon previously established Host Europe PLC which runs a number of well-known companies including 123-Reg, WebFusion and Magic Moments Internet. He sold Host Europe to Pipex for £31 million in 2006 and launched Daily Internet officially in 2007.

Hosting Plans

Daily Internet places equal emphasis on domain name registrations, shared hosting and VPS hosting, but promotes VPS plans prominently on its home page. Here’s a brief run down of its web hosting services.

  • VPS plans are split into Linux, Windows and Windows Hyper-V variants. Within each variant, there are a range of plans with differing specifications. All offer root access, and Linux users can choose their OS. There’s a lot of detail on each plan, and unusually, it’s promoted more heavily on the website than shared hosting. Support and management is not included and is charged in addition. Backups are not included.
  • Shared website hosting is available on three plans: Starter Pro, Home Pro and Unlimited Pro. Starter Pro is a very basic, very low cost plan which offers unlimited bandwidth but not much else. The most expensive plan is a more traditional unlimited shared hosting plan. Customers can choose Windows or Linux shared hosting. Backups are not included.
  • Reseller hosting is split into two plans, v2 Starter and v2 Unlimited. Resellers can only host 20 client accounts on the Starter plan. Web space is restricted to just 1 GB on Starter. There are no space or bandwidth limits on the more expensive plan, although only 5 MySQL databases are permitted. That means ‘true’ reselling with multiple WordPress installs would be out of the question. Again, no backups are included.
  • Ecommerce hosting is effectively a site builder plan with similar features and benefits to shared hosting services. The main difference is the extra set of ecommerce features, although not all of these are free across the board. For example, customers on eShop Personal cannot set up a Facebook shop, Google Translate or social bookmarking. Of the three packages, eShop Enterprise is the most comprehensive, but there are still strict limits on the number of products and categories that can be created. Daily Internet says it takes disaster recovery backups, but it recommends that customers create manual backups through the eShop system.
  • Instant Website hosting is another type of site builder package. There are two variants: Plus and Pro. These are fairly typical, basic website hosting plans marketed at people who prefer not to get into the technical side of website hosting. Backups are not included. Customers can pay a fee to have Daily Internet staff set up their website for them.

Uptime/Downtime

There’s no reference to an uptime guarantee on the Daily Internet website. In a 2010 press release, I found one mention of a 99.9% uptime guarantee, but this specifically relates to its Hosted Exchange email service - not its web hosting service.

Daily Internet does have a system status page, but it only gets updated if there’s an issue. The company doesn’t post any uptime statistics on its website.

Backups are offered, but they are a chargeable extra. Daily Internet charges £25 per year for weekly backups and £45 per year for daily backups. Backups are stored on a different server to the customer’s website and can be accessed via FTP.

Support

Daily Internet’s primary support channel is its knowledge base. There’s an impressive range of technical help documentation that should help to answer most questions beginners and intermediate users have.

Support is provided via email and a UK telephone number. There’s also a fax number. Both are 0845 numbers and are therefore not free to call. Customers outside the UK may struggle to use these numbers at all.

Personal support is not provided round the clock. Daily Internet only opens its telephone support department from 9am to 5.30pm on weekdays, excluding bank holidays. Email support is offered via a ticketing system from 7am to 9.30pm on weekdays and from 11am until 7.30pm on weekends and bank holidays.

On VPS plans, it appears that setup assistance isn’t included and must be paid for. Most VPS hosts include this for free.

The company has an active Twitter feed which is updated with facts and blog posts every few days. It’s not used for support. Its Facebook page is also a one-way stream and staff rarely interact with customers. Interestingly, Abby Hardoon, the company founder, ‘Likes’ the occasional post.

In the News

Before Daily Internet was founded, Abby Hardoon hit the headlines for attempting to remove directors from the Host Europe board after a dispute.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/business/2003/may/01/4

Control Panel

On most of its VPS packages, users are provided with cPanel with WHM or Plesk 11 (Linux) or Plesk 11 only (Windows). This applies all plans except for the cheapest Linux VPS which has no control panel software installed.

On Hyper-V Windows VPS plans, Daily Internet customers are provided with WebsitePanel instead of a more well-known solution like cPanel. There is an online demo on the site but the link was broken at the time of writing this review.

A separate control panel, MyDaily, is provided for domain name management only.

Extras

Shared hosting customers receive one free domain name (.co.uk or .com) or a free .com transfer. Daily Internet also provides shared hosting customers with £100 in Google AdWords credits. Shared hosting customers get free access to its Fotalia library.

Site builders are included for free on shared plans. Although mobile website builders and cloud storage is available, these are only free on a trial basis. Customers on Unlimited Pro get access to a SSL certificate. Some tools you’d expect to be free, such as search engine submission, are chargeable.

On ecommerce hosting plans, free domain names are limited to one co.uk on eShop Business and one co.uk or .com on eShop Enterprise. Customers get the same Google Adwords credits as shared hosting clients.

VPS plans come with one free IP address.

Money Back Guarantee / Cancellation Policy

Daily Internet’s VPS and shared hosting plans offer a meagre 7-day money-back guarantee. This excludes domain names which are charged at full price if the package is cancelled. The Terms of Service clearly state that no refunds are offered after 7 days.

Summary

Daily Internet clearly markets its services at customers looking for a UK-based host that offers VPS hosting. If you want the flexibility of a host that offers Windows and Linux hosting, you’ll find plenty of plans to suit, but bear in mind the control panel limitations on the Hyper-V plan.

Despite its prices being very competitive, some of the limits imposed on the plans are very low and seem outdated. For example, the ‘Unlimited’ reseller account only comes with 5 databases and 10 mailboxes; most resellers would quickly outgrow it. The feature lists for all services seem rich, but once you dig into the detail, you find that the plans aren’t as generous as they first appear: the lack of backups is a good example.

Limited support will be a concern to users who like to know help is always at hand. Additionally, the limited money-back guarantee means there’s only a week to test drive Daily Internet before the customer is locked in to a plan. Having said that, there’s a vast amount of detail about what’s on offer, so there wouldn’t be any nasty surprises ahead.

Daily Internet clearly relies on a good solid reputation and a well-established reputation in the industry, and the knowledge base is really very good. If you want the safety net of round-the-clock assistance, free backups or truly unlimited resources, you might be better off looking elsewhere.

Daily.co.uk Hosting Plans

Hosting Plan Features Disk Space Bandwidth Price
Entry ASP ASP.NET MSSQL Perl Uptime Guarantee Simple Machines $0.00/month
Usual price:
Home ASP ASP.NET WordPress PHP MSSQL Python 3GB 30GB $6.57/month
Usual price:
Business ASP ASP.NET WordPress PHP MSSQL Python 12GB 150GB $6.97/month
Usual price:
Business Plus WordPress PHP Python Perl MySQL Uptime Guarantee 24GB 250GB $10.07/month
Usual price:
WordPress Hosting PHP Python Perl Uptime Guarantee Trouble Ticket Express CGI Calendar 50GB Unlimited $7.64/month
Usual price:
Starter Pro PHP Python Perl Uptime Guarantee Trouble Ticket Express CGI Calendar 5MB Unlimited $3.76/month
Usual price:
Home Pro PHP MSSQL Python Perl MySQL Uptime Guarantee 50GB Unlimited $7.64/month
Usual price:
Unlimited Pro PHP MSSQL Python MySQL Uptime Guarantee Trouble Ticket Express Unlimited Unlimited $10.11/month
Usual price:
Entry VPS Plan SSH Access 40GB Unlimited $13.90/month
Usual price:
Value VPS Plan PayPal SSH Access Live Chat Support 80GB Unlimited $20.87/month
Usual price:
Plus VPS Plan Uptime Guarantee PayPal SSH Access Live Chat Support Phone Support Support Forum 100GB Unlimited $45.22/month
Usual price:
Pro VPS Plan Uptime Guarantee PayPal SSH Access Live Chat Support Phone Support Support Forum 120GB Unlimited $65.49/month
Usual price:
v2 Starter WordPress PHP Python Perl Uptime Guarantee Trouble Ticket Express 1GB 10GB $18.80/month
Usual price:
v2 Unlimited ASP ASP.NET WordPress PHP MSSQL Python Unlimited Unlimited $39.07/month
Usual price:
STAG-DX1000 Windows 2008 Ubuntu Debian Plesk Windows CentOS 1000GB 500GB $123.32/month
Usual price:
WOLF-DX2000 Windows 2008 Ubuntu Debian Plesk Windows CentOS 2TB 750GB $201.37/month
Usual price:
COUGAR-DX3000 Windows 2008 Ubuntu Debian Plesk Windows CentOS 600GB 1TB $295.03/month
Usual price:
BEAR-DX4000 Windows 2008 Ubuntu Debian Plesk Windows CentOS 4TB Unlimited $435.52/month
Usual price:
HAWK-DX5000 Windows 2008 Ubuntu Debian Plesk Windows CentOS 2MB Unlimited $544.79/month
Usual price:

Daily.co.uk Frequently Asked Questions

  • Does Daily.co.uk provide both Linux and Windows hosting?

    Daily.co.uk is a full-fledged web hosting, registrar and dedicated services provider that offers both Linux based web host services and Windows based web hosting services as part of their product lineup.

  • Will the renewal price be higher than the intro price?

    The company does not have any introductory pricing schemes to look out for, however there are structured pricing advantages for long term contracts.

  • How about dedicated servers or managed services, do they have those?

    This provider has a number of dedicated services and managed services available. They offer five dedicated server platforms that are configurable with many types of options including operating systems, disk space and more.

  • Do their hosting plans come with a free domain?

    Either one, two or three domains come with their hosting plans, depending on which one you choose for your needs.

  • Does Daily.co.uk provide domain registration services and how much does that cost?

    Daily.co.uk features domain registrar services on their site. It is available to their own customers as well as the general public. There you can secure popular domains with just a few clicks and find many Top Level Domains (TLD) that are available.

  • Does Daily.co.uk have a money back guarantee?

    The company has a seven day money back guarantee that is behind their hosting services.

  • Do they provide Virtual Private Server (VPS) services?

    This company offers 4 VPS levels that vary in operating systems, resource configurations and space. They also offer a second performance tier of 4 additional VPS products that offer higher levels of performance throughout.

  • Does Daily.co.uk offer phone support?

    Daily.co.uk is available for support via email communications only, there is no phone access provided.

  • In what languages is their customer support available?

    Whether you are on the web, in their ticketing system, in email, or on their site, support is only available in English.

  • Where is Daily.co.uk’s headquarters?

    This company is headquartered in the city of Nottingham out of the United Kingdom.

  • Where do they have their datacenters?

    Their data centers are based out of their East Midlands UK location. Fully equipped with around the clock video monitoring, redundant connections, and uninterruptible power supplies, they are designed to keep your site going 24 x 7 x 365.

  • What Programming Languages are supported by their services?

    Depending on which platform you are talking about, their supported programming languages include PHP, ASP.NET, Perl, Ruby, ASP, and Ruby on Rails.

  • Does Daily.co.uk offer reseller options?

    The company has a reseller program that has starter and unlimited levels for easy entry and a quick path to large success.

  • Is there an affiliate program available?

    The Daily.co.uk affiliate program is set up in stages so that you can earn commissions as you grow your hosting referrals. They pay out monthly and provide easy to use tools and reports.

  • Do they provide help with transferring an existing site/domain name?

    The company doesn’t have transfer concierge services. You can however choose to onboard and migrate your services with the full assurance that the tools they provide are solid and that you can rely on their support if there are exceptional problems to deal with.

  • Could I host WordPress on their services?

    WordPress is provided in their software suite and there are many installations on their services because it is one of the most popular site platforms in the industry.

  • Can I have more one domain per account on their service?

    Their shared web hosting plans allow you to host an unlimited amount of domains. That is realistically limited however by the disk space size you select with your corresponding package.

  • Does Daily.co.uk have software available to help build a website easily?

    They provide Instant Website Builder as a paid option. This software allows users to build their own site with little to no knowledge of how it was actually put together. The results are quickly built and launched sites that have a professional look to them.

  • How is the security on their hosting products?

    Daily.co.uk uses 24 x 7 monitoring, spam protection, and other security equipment and software to protect their systems.

  • Is their platform suitable for a Prestashop installation?

    PrestaShop installations are supported and the resources required to open a site are included on their shared web hosting plans.

  • Could I auto-transfer Joomla installs with their services?

    Joomla! is one of the most powerful Open Source Content Management Systems. It is used all over the world for everything from simple websites to complex corporate applications. You can easily install it on any of their shared web hosting plans, and you can set up automatic updates as required with easy to use tools.

  • Would it be easy to migrate WordPress installations to their services?

    WordPress migrations are easy to do with the included tools that come with each of their shared web hosting plans.

  • Are they and e-commerce site provider with features like SSL?

    Shopping carts and other e-commerce elements are available for installation on their platforms. This includes SSL certificate integration, which encrypts and secures e-commerce transactions during a buying experience.

  • Could I host an image-heavy site on their services?

    You won’t have any issue with image heavy websites because each of their shared web hosting plans provide unlimited disk and bandwidth utilization.

  • Do they support Magento and can they help migrate existing Magento installations?

    Their shared web hosting plans have the elements required to deploy Magento, but it is not one of their provided installations. You would have to rely on the community for support.

  • Do they provide a control panel, and if so which one?

    They offer cPanel and Plesk, which are control panel software choices that are popular and powerful.

  • What payment options does Daily.co.uk offer like American Express, Visa and PayPal?

    Daily.co.uk accepts all major credit card payment methods like Visa, MasterCard, and Discover. They also accept PayPal.

  • Does Daily.co.uk have an uptime guarantee and do they pro-rate for downtime?

    The company features a 99.9% uptime guarantee that is backed by service credits for any downtime that is experienced. As always, it is always best to check your terms of service for language that refines this better.

  • Are there any special security features that come with their services?

    They do not have any specialized security options for any of their hosting accounts.

  • Do they offer CDN services on their platform?

    This company does not have a CDN option with their shared web hosting plans or any of their plans.

  • Does Daily.co.uk offer monthly services or is there a minimum contract?

    The company's pricing is set up for monthly or yearly service terms, with yearly service contracts getting an overall price reduction.

  • Can I get whois domain privacy with them and what is the cost?

    If you need WHOIS domain privacy protection, it can be added to their domain names for a nominal cost.

  • What is the backup policy at Daily.co.uk?

    The company back up their servers for their own purposes and retain this data for up to four weeks. It is best not to depend on this however as these backups are not accessible by clients and are for the host only. It is recommended that customers back up their own data regularly.

  • Which package is most appropriate for my five websites?

    Any of their shared web host plans could easily handle a five web site deployment as you have unlimited options on each of them.

  • How many email addresses do I get how much storage do they allow for email?

    Email options scale from 100, 500, and unlimited mailboxes. The amount of space that you have per mailbox is dictated by your package size.

  • Do I get unlimited bandwidth and space?

    The company provides an unlimited tier of disk resources, and what they call unmetered monthly data transfer. However the provider is the ultimate decider of what kind of usage is acceptable on their systems, so review terms of service for limitations.

  • Does they offer discounts for students non-profits or schools?

    Daily.co.uk does not regularly provide any promotions specifically tailored to students, non-profits, and schools.

  • Does Daily.co.uk provide Google AdWords credit with signups?

    The company does provide $100 Google promotions in advertising credits for every new account.

  • Is there an available plan that is suitable for video streaming?

    Streaming video is best suited for VPS and dedicated environments where the demands on resources can be isolated and the systems can be groomed to support this kind of site better.

Daily.co.uk Features

All Features

  • Access Logs
  • PayPal
  • Raw Files
  • Simple Machines

How does Daily.co.uk compare to their competitors?

Overall ★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★
Visit Daily.co.uk
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★★★
Overall★★★
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★★★

WhoIsHostingThis Recommends

Want a Free Domain Name?

Already a Daily.co.uk customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more...

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about Daily.co.uk.
Please be specific: we're only interested in hearing that Daily.co.uk rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Next step

Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

(We hate spam - see our privacy policy)
Terms & Conditions