Add Your Review for HostGator

509 HostGator Reviews:

Is HostGator the host for you?

Last reviewed Nov 29, 2016

Get 30% off today exclusively with WhoIsHostingThis

HostGator screenshot

Key features

  • 24/7 technical support
  • 45-day money-back guarantee
  • WordPress integration
  • Unlimited traffic, emails
  • 99.9% uptime guarantee

Great reasons to choose HostGator

  • Over 950,000 websites being hosted worldwide.
  • WhoIsHostingThis users rate HostGator as 3.3 out of 5 – Good.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

1: It's cheap
2: It works 99.9% of the time.
3: It's easy to install WP and configure emails
4: Did I mention it is cheap reliable and easy to use?

Maybe the bad complaints are specific to some of their servers but my sites are working without flaws and I'm happy.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have experience of buying Hostgator's WordPress shared hosting plan for two years. I will deliberately call it as premier web hosting company of world due to following reason.
1: affordable price
2: extensive promotions and discounts
3: maximum features offered
4: very impressive uptime
5: 24/7 available support team
6: attractive cpanel
7: 1click script installing
8: fast server speed
when i bought web hosting i was advised to go for other premier web hosting companies but i bought plan from host gator due to impressive discount of 60% off on first month. I was offered this discount twice during my relation of customer with hostgator. their customer support team reply to every query and also many times video support is available. My page speed was higher than many other sites, server up time was very satisfactory. It offered hosting on their Texas based server and i did not experienced any technical flaw and interruption in their servers. I ended off my contract with host gator due to some business reasons but it was great journey of excellency which give me immense professional pleasure due to professional excellency achieved by this company. I would also like to mention that some times hostgator created problems due to cache running plugins of WordPress on my website but when support desk was contacted problem was resolved. It was my experience with hostgator which was enough good to encourage other people to go for hostgator webhosting

 

User Reviews - Total: 509

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I am very happy with their services. This is te most professional hosting provider in industry. Their up time, hosting features, wordpress one click install and most importantly, their advertising credits. I like the host providing live chat and advertising credits, and hostgator is providing the both. They are also providing the first year discounted hosting with free domain.
The one drawback which i (and my friends) faced is their delayed customer response. Still this is best hosting in industry with low cost

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

They have lasted for almost 15 years, that says how strong, how good, how futuristic their progress is and their play in this industry. For a web developer like me who is developing and both managing websites for clients, up time is what they care about. It is the committed support which makes you feel that you are not alone when you are a freelancer like me. They should focus more on new features like adding more value to the money we pay. Thumbs up and I will recommend hostgator than any other fellas out there.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have used hostgator about a year ago and i find it very good for who want to be a professional, their support are very fast and my website also no problems with them and their prices are normal I am using baby plan web hosting but i will upgrade it to cloud hosting because it's 2 time fast

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

Hostgator for me has been one of the best Hosting company, What I like about Hostgator most is their up-time, Believe me I never see, that my website goes offline for any reason so far, Its being about
2 years now in a row. Actually myself it experienced web-developer, This may a reason I never face major problems. But I am really not very happy with their support, Once I fall in a situation from where only experienced technician could help, for some reason my website start consuming lot ram, I contacted them, But I got first reply after 48hrs, That really bad. But they resolve my issue in
30 mins. If you talk about their freebies they offer you few advertising credit for Facebook and adword that's cool. And Their shared hosting price are also very reasonable compared to other, and comes with cpanel. Which I thing is necessity if you are quite frequent changing your backend files.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

There are good and not so good hosting providers. I used some of them and I have found that HostGator is the best at a reasonable price. They also recorded or sell domain names. With Hostgator you get a powerful Control Panel cPanel known as cPanel is where you access all the powerful tools you need to have a stable and solid website. I think they have everything you need for a sophisticated merchant. I took several months with them and I have not used even half of the tools available. You can start with your basic plan, known as Hatching, and as you grow your business or website, you can improve your most advanced offerings. I've been with them for several years and I'm still with his plan Hatching, although it has time to improve your Baby plan.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I was hosted my website at Hawkhost since July 2015 but few weeks ago the website usually display error 500. I have contact with their support but they asked me upgrade to next hosting package which cost more than $15/month. My website is small not many traffic per day.

Few days ago Hostgator offers special cloud hosting for only $5/month. I have purchased this package and moved my website from Hawkhost to Hostgator.

Website working very smoothly without any problems. My hosting package has 4 CPU and 4GB of RAM. This is amazing and now I am making few more websites to host at this package.

I recommend you follow the blog of some hosting companies and purchase their good offers at lowest price.

Hope this review bring some helps to you

Regards,

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have tried them a few times. It is a decent service but you have to be mindful of service agreements and make sure you are doing everything yourself. They do not do offer backups anymore, for example. It is important to know what they do and do not do currently. It seems to change often as well.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have a site running on the Linux business package.

Let me say upfront I have never built a website on my own before now and so support was really very important tome as well as long-term value for money. Apart from getting a good discount on the first year tenure of my entry order, the support has been pretty decent. First my domain was transferred from a previous host pretty quickly, with speedy updates through their ticket system and speedy response to enquiries as I began to build mywordpess/buddypress/bbpress website.

The uptime has been good and I can say, so good. Thank you.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

This is the mine 3rd year with HostGator. I am their customer due to 3 major things if we say 3 specialties, then it will not be wrong.

1 ) they always gave me awesome support, I remember when 1 of my site was hacked and how they help me to recover my site withing 30 minutes. I am thankful to them because it was my years of hard work.

2) their performance is awesome, I have used their dedicated servers, they were working fine with more than users which was the limit of real time.
3) their chat is very friendly, i know whenever i contact with them they don't cut the chat until my issue is resolved.

in my opinion Hostgator is one of the great hosting because it worked for me like awesome.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

i took 1 year webhosting from hostgator with a free domain name. their customer service was excellent in every way except you have to wait a bit long because of high demand i think. their software's are update to latest released versions which was very good point for me. their prices are a little bit more than other random web hosting companies but their service is better than other regular companies so "Yes" i would recommend Hostgator as a reliable service provider.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

I've been using hostgator for last years. I liked only two things. 1. Uptime 2. Stable. Comparing with other shared hosting services, I found this is better one when comparing uptime. But, Other things just sucks! How? You can't install third-party ssl certificates without their assistance. They will charge you 10 dollars for it. You will also need dedicated ip which costs 4 USD/Mo. It was only $2/Mo a few months ago. They are using many outdated programs. Like, They are using CURL 7.12.1 which is around 10 years old. They don't even think of updating it. If you choose their wordpress hosting, You will die. How? You can't set your website to www! You have to keep it example.com instead of www.example.com. Else, You will have less control on your site. The next thing is their billing portal is not user friendly. It's true, Hostgator services are cheap. But their support is neutral. Not so good or not so bad. I only like hostgator for uptime which is a core thing. You can choose it, If you need just uptime. But if you need more, Just avoid it. Go for your own cloud vps from a good provider.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Hostgator is one of the top hosting site according to me because i had an excellent experience with them from last 3 years. Yeah, i am their customer from last 3 years :) it's happy huh. But why?

I would like to tell 1 of the incident which happened with me and how Hostgator gave their 100% to save me from the hacker. Almost 2 years ago one day I felt some problem in my server like someone entered and doing something wrong i immediately contacted with Hostgator support and reported this issue. Then on call their live chat gave me 1 hour + to solve that problem it was a having attempt which was destroyed by Host Gator support by immediately action.

it was the moment which inspired me not to leave Hostgator ever. :) There support is excellent in everything so from my they are rated as 100 out of 100 :) )

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I was in trouble due to the hosting servers, because i tried several servers of different hosting companies, but often servers went down and my traffic I mean my money went in the fire. Which is very bad for everyone who work hard.

But then I decided to use Hostgator. My mind was to give it just a try, but I was very happy when I found that host gator is soo good than other hosting companies in term of REAL TIME, Downtime, etc.. . Now I am their user from a long time, and I never face any issue.

also, their advertising credit is awesome, it has helped me a lot.

so overall it is an excellent experience :)

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

HostGator is a great host. The Customer service seemed to lack at points and it seemed to be quiet an extensive wait time for something simplistic.

Pros:
1.They have affordable hosting.
2.Features were just what I needed.
3.When you were able to get a customer rep, they achieved a first contact resolution.
4.Amazing up time, never had my site experience issues that wasn't due to operator error.

Cons:
1.Extensive wait time for customer service either it be chat, or phone.

Overall, the best hosting around for the greatest price!

 
★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I purchased a domain ( www.itswastik.com ) from hostgator and then i published my site. the control panel is very cool and it is very easy to install wordpress theme on my website. The interface is very good. but the only problem i face with the hostgator is that their support staff is not enough. If you want any support on your website concerning issues and if you open the live chat box, you have to wait for almost 20 minutes. which is very bad for a businessman like me. I hope hostgator will work on this issue.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

The support often takes to solve problems, causing stress. But it is rare to need support, because it is easy to host the website with hostgator, they provide all the instructions by email immediately after purchase. The plane P (the cheaper) supports a large number of visitors (over 5000 daily) without problems.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I am from India. After researching manyhosting by reading the reviews I decided to buy Host Gator. I have been using Host Gator since 2014 without any problems.HG server is very fast. I use Baby Plan and get traffic without increasing server fails. I recommend to all you guys. I know the price of this plan is a little high but you will never tips like other web hosting service especially in the server and technical support.On the positive side there is always someone to talk with minimal wait times. It is very important for me. They are generally able to help with any questions I have.

 
★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have been a HostGator customer for 2 years. I had a portfolio website which I used to send to potential employers to show off my work. In the beginning I didn't have any problems except for the constant spam emails I kept receiving. I recently tried to access my website in order to add more content to sent to a job application and my site was suspended due to malware. I was never given notification about this and I don't know how many potential job opportunities I have lost because of it. Their Tech Support staff were not even slightly helpful and hung up on me several times. I used their chat option to try and get help but was referred to a third party company that handles their security called sitelock who insisted that I purchase one of their protection packages in order for them to help me. I would not recommend HostGator to anyone for any reason and strongly feel like it was a waste of money.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

worst support
Was moving my dedicated server from another host to a VPS on hostgator and it's been a disaster. They have screwed up the transfer several times and they do not bother to respond to questions and will take days if not weeks to resolve a problem and every respond is sorry for screwing up but they continue to screw up. Hostgator has become too big for its own good and quality and customer service is suffering . Moving to another host.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I am using hostgator since 2012 on my 10+ websites. Its just an amazing hosting. Sometime it goes down but mostly it works fine.I am using Business Plan and it gives me some amazing features with no downtime. My all websites are working fine on this plan. I am recommending this hosting to everyone. Its cheap and reliable hosting.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Before trying HostGator I tried many hosting companies and used their services and the long time but I never got the support in the form of email or live like Hostgator provided me, their support is awesome in all point of views.

And with the time they proved that mine decision was not wrong by their service in term of UP TIME, Speedy hosting, and other.

1 thing which I can’t forget ever is one of my site’s data base was destroyed due to my mistake, and I knew this after 1 + week, but they did very hard work to recover my site while that site was my hard work. And their protection system against hacking is awesome, they protected me many times.

And they helped me a lot and saved my a lot of money by giving me advertising credits of GOOGLE and BING. I only want to say if you wana host your site only select HSOTGATOR because i did not host my site on Host Gator, i hosted my dreams and they protected ver well

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

What an incredible and strong this hosting company is.I possess couple of sites and have them facilitated with no less than 4 diverse facilitating organizations, however hostgator is unmistakably extraordinary. Their specialized backing is super quick and quiet and their uptime time is just great. Throughout the previous 3 years my site has never been down notwithstanding for a brief moment! I have had not a solitary issue with my site. Great job! i literally recommend you to buy from them

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

I've used Hostgator more than once over the past 10 years or so and currently using them for some of my client sites. They rock in my book. They're like a '70s Allmann Brothers or Foreigner ... as in an old fogie band that still puts on a good show. I've used a broad range of their service packages from shared hosting to reseller and VPS. I've had only one single down-time incident in the last 5 years with their shared hosting service. The actual down-time problem was rectified later the next day as they needed swap out their physical server and did so promptly.

 
★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have my domain "http://womenssplanet.com" set up with HostGator. The following were the main reasons for going along with them.

* HostGator is cheap
* Works 99.9% of the time
* Single click WP Installation
* Reliable to a great extent

They do offer several discounts and a 24/7 support. Also their cpanel is one of the most attractive in the field. The service has been quite good up till now. I do hear a lot of complaints about them of late. This is probably because they have teamed up with a new security service and is taking some time to get adjusted.

Their customer support team has been answering my queries and giving me clarifications on any doubts. They have been active both through email and through their chat system.

I would also like to mention that some times hostgator created problems due to cache running plugins of WordPress on my website but when support desk was contacted problem was resolved.

I like their feature of CPU usage chart that shows you how your sites are utilizing their resources if you have their baby plan.

The renewal prices with HostGator is a little expensive.

Overall my personal experience so far has been good with HostGator and I would recommend the same; especially if you are starting your online business just now.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

They were good once, but since EIG took over, things have gradually gotten worse.

I'm not in the US, so phoning support is almost impossible.

So when things go wrong, I can only rely on their ticket system, & chat

About 4 years ago, they would reply in about 1 or 2 hours... but now, I have a major issue... I raised a ticket 7 days ago, & I got no indication that they even noticed it...

I tried the "chat" system... but its gone... I can't find it anywhere.

I'm using their reseller, account... with about 10 clients... & the problem with a missing quickinstall system is affecting all of them.

Although I paid for a full year in February, I cannot afford to wait (its now June)... I was previously with netfirms, until EIG took them over as well!

EIG seems to be buying every company I migrate to... & stuffing things up in the process.

I'll be moving to inmotionhosting ... hopefully they won't be selling out to EIG anytime soon

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

With Basic Knowledge of Cpanel you can easily access and manage their websites in hosstgator's host without extra technical knowledge.
Hostgator provides easy sitebuilder so we don't even need coding knowledge to make manage simple websites in host gator.

Hostgator offers 3 packages for shared hosting and I am using baby plan it has unlimited space,
bandwidth, emails and databases and i can host unlimited number of domains.IT all all feathers required to host websites ,

Overall, a very fulfilling web hosting service and i am happy with service experience so far, It is highly recommend for new users.

 
★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have been with Hostgator for last 3 Years now, for me they have been very supportive and my website on their service never go down. But Yes they do have some issues with handling their customer quarries and usually take 24-48hr to answer if you create support ticket, and You may have to wait up to 45min if you wants to talk them on their live support. But live support team is good enough to handle most of the issues. I like their feature of CPU usage chart that shows you how your sites are utilizing their resources if you have their baby plan. So if you ask me I am a satisfied customer. Everything looks find except the time they took to give support but believe me you wouldn't need their support too often.

 
★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have been a hostgator customer for 8 years. Their service was ok so far. But recently they have teamed up with sitelock security and they have lowered the security of their servers. As a result all my website got hacked. Of course hostagtor denies this and when contracted, they did not respond on this issue. I am a web developer and I have 32 sites hosted with them. There was not any backup. It was a nightmare. I have moved all my website to other hosting now. I will not recommend hostgator.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

There support is very poor. Tried to get an initial setup with them, couldn't get FTP working (works with my current hosting provider) and after 48 hours and still no FTP support (can you image, they couldn't even setup an FTP account so I could log in, even when they tried from their systems). Not the kind of vendor I want to rely on.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I switched to Host Gator after having issues with my old host. I chose Host Gator because one of my clients has all of his websites hosted there and since I am in charge of web site maintenance I've dealt with them one and one without any issues. During my first month, I had my website go down for two hours and didn't receive a reply from support until 4 days later, long after the issue resolved itself. This is drastically different from the treatment I receive when contacting support on behalf of my client, though he is on a much larger plan than I am (16 websites compared to my single site).

Aside from this small issue, I've been happy with the features they have. My old host gave me no control over which version of php I was running (and was also running a very old version of it that some of my wordpress plugins had a conflict with) and my website is running much faster now. My old host couldn't handle the load of one Wordpress theme I used and Host Gator loaded it without any issues.

The interface is very easy to get around and has all the popular features like one-click software installations, unlimited mail accounts, unlimited domain hosting and more. The price is great also. As a web designer, I've worked with more hosts than I can name and believe me, they all have their quirks but host gator has been my favorite so far. I recommend using live chat for support issues as you'll get a quicker reply but otherwise definitely give this host a shot, especially since they allow you to pay month to month instead of annual so you can really test them out before you commit to an entire year.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

All round, an ok'ish service considering the low-cost packages they provide. However, after 2 years with them, I decided to vote with my feet and change providers due to a bad experience I had with their support team.

I had my entire account wiped, no SSH access, all my server accounts gone, nothing in the server logs and all my files/directories missing. I was left with what appeared to be a brand new virtual server.

I appreciate that every now and again, things like this can happen with any provider. However, after contacting their support team I was told that "I must have manually deleted everything myself" and that I'd have to pay them to restore the site from a backup. They provided no evidence that suggested this was the case, and were unwilling to consider that my account didn't even have the permissions required to do such a thing.

I ended up paying to have my account restored as I couldn't afford to have the site down any longer. Immediately started looking for a new provider.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I am talking about Hostgator India. And the customer care is pathetic, even they are uneducated guys who are telling you to cancel the plan if you dont like. And in their sales page whatever they are mentioning that are not correct even. And one more thing i want to let you know in hostgator sales page if you want to see there are 3 plans and they mentioned in business cloud hosting plan one dedicated ip can be provided you free, but after you purchase business cloud they are not going to provide you dedicated ip rather they will tell you different story that is " The "Business Cloud" is configured in such a way that you can install an SSL certificate without a dedicated IP". When I asked them why they havent mentioned this thing in their sales page that representative told me "IF YOU DONT LIKE OUR SERVICES CANCEL IT"...
Simply dont go for hostgator india, their customer executives dont know how to deal and they will simply tell you cancel our service.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I purchased a package a year ago for a project that did not materialize. I noticed the recurring billing on my card a few months later and called to close the account. This month I noticed the annual domain charge and another one. I called again and was told I didn't respond to an e-mail after my earlier call so the annual recurring charging is still active. I asked to close it again, done. I asked if they'd refund these new charges, "No". I asked "Are you sure you don't want to refund my $25?"

"No"

And here's my review. :)

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

I am a reseller. I started using hostgator several years ago things were good. However everytime they touched my account something would go wrong. I would be able to get them fixed after using my time to tell them what they did and what was going on. Now I can tell you that the last 4 to 5 tickets I have started have never been resolved and I am talking about the last 5 to 6 months.

When it comes to email you get warning notices "The server you are connected to is using a security certificate that cannot be verified." I have 2 clients that say they get these every time they open their outlook. I get them every once in a while, it definitely happens when you set up a new email account and if you say no well you aren't going to be getting any email.

Because spam assassin doesn't stop the spam I have tried setting up spam filters in the control panel. I can tell you that your control panel doesn't connect with your email because that didn't work either.

I used to tell people that hostgator gets their support team from the accounting department but it is so much worse now.

I tried switching over to Namecheap and that was a nightmare! They said they could transfer all of the accounts for me. Nothing worked so everyone's websites and email went down. I pointed the DNS server back to hostgator and after waiting for 2 weeks they said they had it all working properly. I went to go look and I could see some stuff still pointing to hostgator so I canceled that. Now I am going to build my own webserver and do it myself because hosting companies are a joke now a days.

 
★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

After all these bad reviews from other customers, you would think that Hostgator would have received the message by now that their service and tech support are below expectation. I run a small business from Boston and I rely on my websites to attract more traffic hence it was critical to have the websites up at all time. The challenge is that when you need help or tech support, you would have to wait for days, should be hours but Hostgator does not have the sense of urgency needed to address issues sometimes caused by their own servers. I have 4 tickets that are almost a week old without resolution. This is not a good way to run a business. I am planning on migrating my Wordpress elsewhere because this hosting service is poor at best.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

There was a time when a support ticket would be acknowledged within hours. I've had 2 support tickets open for 6 days. I contacted support over their live chat. After an hour I talked with a support person who said that my tickets would be taken in order they were queued, and could not help me. They did verify that the issues I am having are due to incorrect configuration that I don't have access to change. Read the other reviews. If you depend on your websites to not be down for a week at a time, I'd recommend not going with Host Gator. The many other reviews that describe the dramatic drop in support are correct. From one of the best to one of the most unreliable.

 
★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Explaining why Hostgator 'sucks':

1. Their Indian office in Hyderabad is not helpful at all. Give them a call, and all they want is money. Every single time. For backups. And no, not old backups. It seems that they take their own sweet time to respond to make extra bucks.
2. These people are unbelievably unprofessional to talk to. Who's hiring them? And why?

So, unless your name is Uncle Scrooge, or Bill Gates, please don't get hosting from them. They'll make you go bankrupt in no time!

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

I had Hostgator for several of my own sites and recommended it to several of my customers. They where once great and support was a pleasure to speak to. For the past months support has degraded and they have implemented the most absurd bureaucratic processes that only serve to slow the support/response time. Do yourself a favor and if you are looking to host anything important look for another provider. They really could not care less if your business suffers or not, the priority is given to preserve their own processes.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Wow! What happened to HostGator? I signed up with them almost 10 years ago, and have had multiple domains hosted with them. I happily expended a lot of energy promoting their brand and great customer service for many years. Almost methodically, the customer service took a nose-dive. There are a couple of things I am not able to criticize. First was the great up-time my sites had with them, however I think that is something all Hosting companies focus on, especially for businesses that use their service. Second is the policies on emails. I have friends and “clubs” that repeatedly have problems with their email, due to attachment file sizes and quantities of emails that prevent them from conducting routine practices. I always bragged how I did not have those problems with HostGator. However, I have had some “spamming” issues with their email service a few times over the years, but that was when customer service was great and they were “Johnny On The Spot” to get it corrected.

My most recent difficulties with them has caused me to find another provider and throw away a 10 year business relationship. And worse of all leave a few hundred dollars of mine in their coffers without a service to me.

Long story short, in the past few years, I had four hosting plans with them. Of the four, I canceled one of them just before it renewed as I did not need it anymore. That was about a year ago. Of the remaining three, two was going to expire this year (2016) and the newest one was not going to expire until June of 2018. I canceled the one expiring this month so that it would not renew. That left two, one expiring in August (2016) and the June (2018) one.

I had been learning a lot about WP and was doing a lot of training on using it, so I was looking into WP Optimized hosting. Well, HostGator offered that, so I followed all of the instructions on their customer portal on upgrading the June (2018) plan (Baby Croc) to that WP Optimized plan. I knew based on cost and the disclaimers on their site that they would charge me the difference between that new plan and the time I had remaining on my existing plan. No worries, I completed the process. I got the rudimentary emails letting me know it was in the works. Next thing you know a couple of weeks had passed. I tried inquiring via support tickets, online chats, and calling. Painful and frustrating are the most polite words I can use to describe my experience. Support tickets result in emails that never lead to a solution. Online chats result in 40 plus minutes of regurgitating the issue to some poor person that is not empowered to resolve the problem and they simply indicate they will escalate the issue, not to be heard from again. Forget calling, I had done that six times and each time I hung up after more than 90 minutes of listening to repeating message that they were experiencing a higher volume of calls than normal. OUCH! I have tried entering into chats with the billing department on three occasions, but again very long wait times and each time even though it said I was next in the queue, no one ever came into the chat.

When I did get through in an online chat, it was again with a person that could not handle the problem. They had canceled my June (2018) account because it could not be upgraded to WP Optimized plan. (different servers) So I would need to sign up for the new plan separately, then they would give me a credit for my previous plan. No, I would not pay them until they refunded my approximately $288. That would need to be sent up to a higher tier of support, naturally. So as of now they have my money, have canceled the plan that I wanted to upgrade to a more expensive WP Optimized plan. That leaves me with my one hosting plan that expires in August (2016), which is ironically the one that has been with them for 10 years. I will NOT be renewing that plan. Good riddance to HostGator. Of course they win, because they have my money. I have moved to a Hosting company rated #1 by Who Is Hosting This?’ reviewers. I will not look back, except to try to get my money back. It is really too sad, as HostGator previously had a great run and I was more than willing to tell others about my great hosting service provider.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

I was with Hostgator for 3 years. You could not ask for a better company. In the past few months it has declined horribly. the support line waits are at the least one hour long. The staff seemed not to be as knowledgeable as they used to be. I left and went it elsewhere and the transfer was a nightmare. They raised their rates 2 dollars and their service went downhill 100%. I hope they can recover.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Atrocious support that forces a slow and broken verification process on me that nobody seems to know anything about, extremely inconvenient and confusing, completely stopped my work and days of productivity down the drain. If you are planning to have your website up and running in the same week without nasty surprises, pick someone else.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

Used to LOVE HostGator, their customer service was wonderful, until their ownership change a year or so ago. Service was drastically affected. We have a site with them for a photographer - who had been for years on a shared server with them. Thousands upon thousands of images, years worth of galleries because he photographs many top horse shows around the country, including National Championships. No issues with the site until the ownership changed.

In 2014, during the last two days of a National Championship show, the site was blocked by hostgator, citing CPU usage. He suffered immense damage to his reputation and sales because of this. In 2015, in order not to have the same issue for the period of that big horse show, we moved the site to a dedicated server with them, on a month to month basis. Before we moved the site to the dedicated server, we dumped about 4 years worth of images, about 45% of the site's files. We moved it to the dedicated, but the SSL cert was never moved over. A couple weeks went by where we couldn't process orders, with Hostgator just telling us they were working on it. Our site Developer finally dove into the files and moved the SSL Cert himself.

In September, we put in the request to move it back to the shared server on hostgator. Weeks went by without hearing from them. Subsequent calls and chats, which I saved, say they can't give me a time estimate to move the site back. Then they say it's too large for a shared server - to which I pointed out it was 45% larger earlier in the year, while it was on the shared server. Then they tell me that each time I call in or add to the original ticket, it DROPS my request to the bottom of the ticket queue - how stupid is that?

We still have no resolve, they are still charging us almost $200/mo for the dedicated server, 4 months after the original request, and will not move the site back to the shared. Nice business model they have going. Desperately looking for an alternative.....

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Hostgator is now a partner which providing one year free .in domain in India. Which is belongs to the digital India scheme. So everyone who want to bring their bossiness on-line, then it is the first choice. Not only free website builder, but also free .in domain along with 1 mail id.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I am a happy customer of HostGator, I never had any issues with HostGator and their uptime is 100%, my site never goes down for a single moment. If you are looking for a web hosting at reasonable price then you must try HostGator Baby Plan as this plan allows you to host unlimited websites at no any extra cost with unlimited space and emails.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

As an owner of a company with very little knowledge of website design and nothing of MySQL I would say Host Gator has the worse customer service. The wait times have been in excess of 1 hour and hung-up. When I did reach a technician he was very rude. Hired a technician who I had to pay for his wait time with Host Gator’s technical support.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

HostGator used to have the best support team I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. Recently, not so much. I am currently into over an hour and 20 min into the 4th call for the same issue of a spammer sending messages with forged From our domain. Should be simple to fix as we have an SPF record in place. Asked for tier 2 support and it looks like the team that didn't even know what an SPF record was is all they have available.

PLEASE BRING BACK YOUR QUALITY SUPPORT!!!

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I'm a Wordpress developer so I have experience with many hosting service provider.
HostGator is the worst hosting provider I've ever known.

They are not as they advertised. If you send them a ticket, no matter how important it is, you have to wait 4 weeks to 8 weeks to get response.

I don't lie. I sent them a ticket regarding email issue and I had been waited for a month before they response "Please check if the issue is still and let us know, then I will escalate this to my server manager" :)) and you know that? After 8 weeks, they could not fix the issue and asked me to pay more to use their delicate server.

3 days ago, I could not change my CP password. The Submit button on their page did not allow me to submit the changing request. I sent them a ticket and so far I have not received any response from them.

Don't trust their chat support. It doesn't help at all. If you wanna talk with them via chat, be ready to wait 30-45 minutes. Comparing to Siteground, my other hosting provider, every problem must be fixed within 30'. In most case, they fixed within 10 minutes.

HG is cheap, I know. But you will get what you pay for. Be a smart customer.

 
★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

I'm a webmaster for several companies that use different hosting, therefore I have experience with several hosting companies. Hostgator is the only company that makes it's clients do the set-up for themselves. When I say set-up, I mean establish the hosting and FTP. Other companies set this up for you automatically then send along an email with the needed information. Hostgator is also the slowest company I've seen propagate the domain to the hosting. This only takes a few minutes with any other hosting provider, with Hostgator it takes 24 hours or more. Hostgator does have an automatic installation service to install WordPress but it insists that you have to allow the service to plant cookies on your computer. This doesn't make much sense at all because a cookie is information stored on your computer by a website you visit, not suppose to be used by an automatic installation service. Every other hosting company uses Fantastico - it works within moments and doesn't insist on cookies to work. With Hostgator it takes days to get your site up and running (including propagate time) instead of mere hours with other hosting providers. As far as I know once you get through the hoops to get your site up and running, Hostgator hosting works fine.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Hostgator used to be a great hosting site. But they've been going downhill for quite awhile. Today, their site won't even let me submit a ticket - it just forces you to their "Knowledge Base". My issue is found there, bu the proposed solution doesn't work. I've been a hosting reseller for fifteen years and even run some of my own web servers, so I'm not exactly a noobie. I've been moving my clients' sites off their servers for about a year now, but I still have a few dozen to go. Last support ticket (2 days ago) hasn't even gotten a response yet. I've been happy with a2hosting so far, but after several years, they all seem to get bought out by bean-counters, then the service goes downhill.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have used hostgator from last 1year but got lots of time issue on there like sometime SMPT down once SMTP issue solved database not working so this way one by one getting lots of issue and once everything was working fine after 1year so they want to migrate server with another server so again all that issue raised again and again so they are totally Try and Run with customer.

I really want please do not trust on hostGator otherwise that user loss money + website traffic. on service department never give us answer they look like all are fresher and for any ticket they take min 3days to give simple answer so really I am tired with this HostGator.

Thanks

 
+ See More Reviews
HostGator logo

HostGator

hostgator.com Founded: 2002

Pros: Free domain name , Unlimited bandwidth , Unlimited storage

Cons: Backups not guaranteed

HostGator Introduction

HostGator offer a broad range of services, but they’re undoubtedly best known for their well-priced shared hosting plans. They offer three shared hosting services - Hatchling, Baby and Business - and each one steps up the service options and support provision. In addition, HostGator offer reseller plans, VPS hosting and dedicated servers, as well as an affiliate programme.

HostGator is a private company. The current CEO Brent Oxley formed the company while he was at university in 2002. Now, HostGator host more than 8 million domains for 400,000 customers in over 200 countries. Originally based in Florida, HostGator’s rapid growth lead them to a move to Texas in 2007. They have a base in Houston and an office in Austin, plus an Indian arm which you can find at http://hostgator.in. Additionally, HostGator have a third office in Brazil which manages http://www.hostgator.com.br. They currently employ 200 people but are expecting to double this in the next couple of years.

HostGator Hosting Plans

Across the board, all of HostGator’s servers on shared, reseller and VPS plans run Linux (CentOS is specified on the Linux plans). When it comes to dedicated servers, users can choose Linux or Windows; the Windows servers run Windows Server 2008 R2 at the time of writing this review.

Shared hosting covers three plans. The most basic plan, Hatchling, is a one-domain package with no add-on domains and no anonymous FTP, but it’d be fine for hosting a blog. For more domains, users need to upgrade to Baby or Business. For anonymous FTP, only the Business package will do. Additionally, dedicated IPs are not available on the Hatchling plan. On Baby, they’re chargeable, and on Business, they’re free. Business also includes private SSL (the others are shared) and a toll-free number for you to use as you please. This is only really useful for US customers, or those marketing primarily to customers in the US, although the number can be extended to serve Canada at additional cost.

Shared hosting is HostGator’s speciality, but they do also offer a few other options.

Reseller hosting is split into five plans depending on the disk space, bandwidth and domains that are required. Other than that, the provision on each plan is more or less the same.

VPS hosting is split into nine plans. Again, you’ll need to fine-tune your requirements using the interactive price chart to calculate the applicable monthly fee.

Dedicated servers are priced according to the resources you need. The pricing is the same for both Windows hosting and Linux hosting, but the software obviously differs depending on the OS.

If you want to run Java, you’ll need a VPS or dedicated plan, but Python is installed on all servers.

HostGator don’t currently offer cloud hosting.

HostGator Uptime/Downtime

HostGator rent their data centre space from The Planet, using four of their facilities in Texas. Power back-ups, fire detection and constant monitoring from on-site staff keep their 12,000 servers safe and secure. They use 10 different fibre providers, including hardware from Time Warner and AT&T. They currently offer a 99.9% uptime guarantee (although they don’t publish any stats) and offer an RSS feed for service status updates.

All accounts (except dedicated servers) are backed up on a weekly basis. If you need to restore a backup, HostGator charge $15, unless you supply the backup file yourself, in which case it’s free.

HostGator host more than 8 million domains, and they’re pretty open about their staff, resources and services. They have a host of high-profile partners too: Cisco, AT&T, Dell are just a few of the recognisable names on the list. Notably, they don’t allow overselling, so the capacity you’re given is the capacity you’ll actually get. The exception is on a VPS or dedicated server where you’re free to oversell at your own risk.

HostGator Support

HostGator’s support options are pretty comprehensive for a low-cost shared hosting provider. You can access 24/7 live chat support, a FAQ, email support or phone support (within the US, it’s free to call their phone number). It’s not clear where their support staff are based.

Support and billing is provided via a portal where customers can login to upgrade their account, access user forums, check out the knowledge base and watch helpful video tutorials on some of the most common configuration questions they’ll face. This account login is separate from the Cpanel login. In addition, transfer requests are handled smoothly via a quick online form.

HostGator in the News

In June 2012, a hacking group hit HostGator with a DDOS attack which was named #TheHolocaust. UGNazi later used similar tactics to take down other hosts and payment processing companies. HostGator brought their servers back online within four hours

http://www.scmagazine.com.au/News/303903,ugnazi-builds-dos-tool-takes-down-hostgator.aspx

HostGator Control Panel

All of HostGator’s Linux plans come with Cpanel 11 as standard, and users are given a variety of themes to choose from. Cpanel provides access to all the features you’ll need, including webmail, one-click backups and DNS settings for Google Apps.

Reseller accounts are also provisioned with Cpanel and WHM. Both Cpanel and WHM are optional on VPS and HostGator’s Linux dedicated server hosting plans. On a Windows dedicated server, Plesk 11.x is included in the price.

On VPS plans, HostGator also provide Virtuozzo, an administration package for the server itself.

All customers get access to a separate billing area to organise payments and download invoices.

HostGator Extras

The Business shared plan on HostGator includes a free toll-free number for US callers. Optionally, this can be extended to Canadian customers for an additional charge per call. Should you cancel your hosting plan, you lose the number, unless you contact HostGator first to take it to a paid service. You’ll also need to receive at least one call per month to keep the line active.

Most packages come with SiteBuilder, SiteStudio, Fantastico (a range of php scripts), osCommerce, WordPress, Joomla, one-click installs and a host of capable stats packages. On dedicated servers, you can allocate individual SiteBuilder accounts and templates to your clients.

HostGator also offer $100 Adwords credit on all shared hosting plans, and reseller accounts receive a free upgrade to an eNom domain reseller account. This requires manual set-up, but it’s a quick and painless process that takes a couple of minutes.

HostGator Money Back Guarantee / Cancellation Policy

You can cancel your shared, reseller or VPS hosting plan within the 45-days and receive a full refund. Dedicated servers are not eligible. Costs incurred, such as admin and installation fees or domain name purchases, are non-refundable.

Cancellation requests need to be sent via a special online form. The account will be cancelled within 48 hours. If you want to claim a refund, you need to reply to the cancellation email and request it - it’s not automatic. Refunds are sent via credit card or PayPal.

HostGator Summary

HostGator proudly claim to be eco-friendly. They offset their emissions, and they also use 130% wind power via Renewable Energy Credits (RECs). Considering the company claim that more than 1% of the planet’s internet traffic flows to and from HostGator’s 12,000 servers, that’s definitely a big achievement. While HostGator’s low pricing is similar to other shared hosting providers, their plans are extremely comprehensive and scalable, making it easy to purchase a small shared plan and upgrade to a higher-spec shared hosting, VPS or dedicated server package over time if you need to.

HostGator also place great emphasis on user help, and it’s rare to find such a large hosting company that readily offer efficient live chat, email and phone support for free. The added extras, such as the eNom account and affiliate programme, make them an ideal choice for a new business that’s looking to grow or white-label. All in all, they offer a rounded feature set for a good price with a whole host of extra features to keep loyal customers happy.

HostGator Hosting Plans

Hosting Plan Features Disk Space Bandwidth Price
Wordpress Starter WordPress Managed WordPress Aardvark Check Payments MOJO Marketplace CDN Unlimited $5.97/month
Usual price:
Wordpress Business WordPress Managed WordPress Aardvark Check Payments MOJO Marketplace CDN Unlimited $13.98/month
Usual price:
Wordpress Standard WordPress Managed WordPress Aardvark Check Payments MOJO Marketplace CDN Unlimited $8.77/month
Usual price:
Windows Personal ASP ASP.NET Plesk MSSQL Windows Python Unlimited Unlimited $4.76/month
Usual price:
Windows Enterprise ASP ASP.NET Plesk MSSQL Windows Python Unlimited Unlimited $14.36/month
Usual price:
Linux Hatchling WordPress PHP Shell Access Dedicated IP CentOS Python Unlimited Unlimited $3.40/month
Usual price:
Linux Baby WordPress PHP Shell Access Dedicated IP CentOS Python Unlimited Unlimited $4.95/month
Usual price:
Linux Business WordPress PHP Anonymous FTP Shell Access Dedicated IP CentOS Unlimited Unlimited $6.78/month
Usual price:
Aluminium Reseller ASP WordPress PHP Anonymous FTP Shell Access WHM 50GB 500GB $9.98/month
Usual price:
Copper Reseller ASP WordPress PHP Anonymous FTP Shell Access WHM 80GB 700GB $13.98/month
Usual price:
Silver Reseller ASP WordPress PHP Anonymous FTP Shell Access WHM 120GB 1000GB $19.98/month
Usual price:
Diamond Reseller ASP WordPress PHP Anonymous FTP Shell Access WHM 200GB 1400GB $39.98/month
Usual price:
Standard Dedicater ASP WordPress PHP Anonymous FTP Shell Access Dedicated Server 1000GB 15TB $88.00/month
Usual price:
Gold Reseller ASP WordPress PHP Anonymous FTP Shell Access WHM 160GB 1200GB $73.70/month
Usual price:
Basic Dedicated ASP WordPress PHP Anonymous FTP Shell Access Dedicated Server 500GB 10TB $70.00/month
Usual price:
Elite Dedicated ASP WordPress PHP Anonymous FTP Shell Access Dedicated Server 1000GB 20TB $112.00/month
Usual price:
Pro Dedicated ASP WordPress PHP Anonymous FTP Shell Access Dedicated Server 1000GB 25TB $150.00/month
Usual price:
SNAPPY VPS 500 WordPress VPS Dedicated IP CentOS Python Linux 25GB 5000GB $8.95/month
Usual price:
SNAPPY VPS 1000 WordPress WHM VPS Dedicated IP CentOS Python 60GB 1TB $25.98/month
Usual price:
SNAPPY VPS 2000 WordPress Java VPS WHM Dedicated IP CentOS 120GB 1.5TB $41.98/month
Usual price:
SNAPPY VPS 4000 WordPress Java VPS WHM Dedicated IP CentOS 165GB 2TB $57.98/month
Usual price:
SNAPPY VPS 8000 WordPress Java VPS WHM Dedicated IP CentOS 240GB 3TB $69.98/month
Usual price:

HostGator Frequently Asked Questions

  • Will HostGator help me to migrate my website?

    Yes. You can transfer a limited number of sites for free, with support from the HostGator tech team. You must file your transfer request within 30 days of signing up. If you have already used your allocation, or you miss your 30-day window for a free transfer, the technical team will provide a quote for the transfer service.

  • Will I receive a free domain when I sign up?

    No. However, you can claim one free domain name transfer. To qualify, you must transfer the domain at sign-up, and your domain must be at least 60 days old.

  • Does HostGator offer specialized Magento hosting?

    HostGator doesn't market plans specifically for Magento, but all of its Linux hosting is Magento-compatible. It also offers free transfer of your Magento site from your old host when you sign up.

  • Does HostGator offer Windows hosting?

    Yes. It offers Windows hosting packages with the Plesk control panel.

  • Does HostGator offer managed dedicated hosting?

    Yes. All HostGator dedicated hosting plans can be purchased with unmanaged or managed servers.

  • Does HostGator offer VPS hosting?

    Yes. All VPS plans run CentOS Linux with full root access. Managed and semi-managed options are available.

  • Where is HostGator's office?

    HostGator is headquartered in Houston, TX in the USA.

  • What development languages are supported?

    HostGator's Linux hosting plans support unlimited MySQL Databases with phpMyAdmin Access, as well as CGI, Fast CGI, PHP 5, PHP 7, Ruby on Rails, Perl, Python and SSI. Windows plans support unlimited MySQL, Microsoft SQL and Access Databases, as well as ASP, ASP.NET 2.0, ASP.NET 3.5, ASP.NET 4.0, ASP.NET 4.5, PHP, Python and SSI. VPS and dedicated servers offer the ability to install the language of your choice.

  • Does HostGator offer a reseller hosting plan?

    Yes. HostGator offers Linux reseller plans with cPanel and WHM.

  • What control panel does HostGator provide?

    All plans are set up with cPanel. If you purchase a reseller, VPS, or dedicated hosting plan, you will also be able to use WHM.

  • Does HostGator offer a free CDN?

    No. HostGator used to provide CloudFlare with most plans, but it has discontinued the feature. Linux hosting customers may optionally purchase SiteLock and use its CDN. 

  • Will HostGator back up my data?

    HostGator takes backups once a week, and does not guarantee that they will be made available to customers. For proper coverage, HostGator customers should make their own backup arrangements.

  • How many email addresses can I create?

    All shared hosting plans come with unlimited email accounts and unlimited disk space. VPS and dedicated servers offer unlimited email accounts, but storage space is limited by the disk size of the chosen plan.

  • Does HostGator provide unlimited storage and bandwidth?

    Yes. Unlimited storage and bandwidth are provided on shared hosting, including both Linux and Windows plans. HostGator says that it will only charge overage fees for abnormal usage, which is defined in its Terms of Service document.

  • Where are HostGator's data centers located?

    The company's data centers are located in Houston, Texas and Provo, Utah. It uses the CyrusOne Houston West facility and the Ace Data Centers facility, respectively.

  • Does HostGator provide a sitebuilder?

    HostGator provides the Weebly Web Builder tool with most hosting packages. The Basic plan is free, and is limited to 6 pages, or 5 ecommerce products. You can upgrade your subscription from cPanel if you would like to create a larger site using Weebly Web Builder.

  • Is there an uptime guarantee at HostGator?

    HostGator guarantees 99.9% uptime for shared and reseller plans only. If uptime falls below that figure, HostGator will provide one month's hosting as a credit on your account. Dedicated and VPS hosting plans are subject to a separate Network Guarantee, which offers a pro rata credit for eligible downtime.

  • Is there a money-back guarantee?

    Shared, reseller and VPS plans come with a 45-day money back guarantee. However, HostGator does not provide refunds for all payment types. Dedicated servers, administrative fees, install fees for custom software, and domain name purchases do not qualify. Outside of the 45-day guarantee, you may be able to claim a refund for unused months when you cancel, providing you have not violated HostGator's terms of service.

  • Can I pay for my hosting via PayPal?

    In addition to major credit cards, customers can also pay via PayPal.

  • What is the minimum contract term?

    You can pay for your hosting month by month, or pre-pay for one or more years. Some prices are slightly discounted when you pre-pay for one year or longer.

  • What kind of security protections are in place?

    HostGator offers DDoS protection, custom firewall rules, and mod_security rulesets to prevent network disruption. It has the option of enabling security at the datacenter level to contain the impact of an attack.

  • What support options are provided?

    Support is provided 24/7. All hosting customers can access email support, live chat and telephone support. 

HostGator Features

All Features

  • 24/7 Support
  • Aardvark
  • CDN
  • Check Payments
  • Managed WordPress
  • MOJO Marketplace
  • Snapshot Backups
  • Transfer Support

How does HostGator compare to their competitors?

Overall ★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★
Uptime
★★★
Value
★★★★★
Visit HostGator
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★★

WhoIsHostingThis Recommends

Want a Free Domain Name?

Already a HostGator customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more...

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about HostGator.
Please be specific: we're only interested in hearing that HostGator rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Next step

Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

(We hate spam - see our privacy policy)
Terms & Conditions