Add Your Review for HostMonster

82 HostMonster Reviews:

Is HostMonster the host for you?

Last reviewed Oct 24, 2016

Key features

  • PHP
  • WordPress
  • Uptime Guarantee
  • MySQL
  • Perl
  • cPanel

User Reviews - Total: 82

★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

It’s interesting to see how different clients get different treatment from the same service provider. One would think the same treatment has to be offered to every client across the board. But hey, this world wouldn’t be unfair if that was the case. Ok, I thought I should just point that out.
Well, I have been a Hostmonster client for over 10 years and in my dealings with their support team I have never experience an issue that could call for a rant from me. Their support has always been top notch, fast at resolving issues and great at communication. Have had a few down times over the years, of course, but there were all planned and pre communicated to me. Only thing, I think they need to do better is to notify clients of every price increase for their services. It sucks to just wake up and see a different price increase for a domain renewal. There is a general downward trend in domain pricing and wonder why domains registered through Hostmonster have taken an upward route, comparatively.
Otherwise, overall, I am happy with Hostmonster service.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

We have been using Hostmonster for our two business websites for years now. We've had our first need to contact them recently for an account outage. While their technical support and account assessment departments were helpful, their billing department was just going around and around in circles, not answering our questions and our underlying issue is still unsolved. We're looking for a new hosting provider now, probably Australian based.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

This is the worst hosting company I have ever been with. Their phone ALWAYS gives a busy signal, their live chat is rarely available and when you do get through, no exaggeration, average wait times exceed 2 hours. The worst part is when you do get through, the customer service reps really arent that helpful

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have been a Hostmonster customer since 2007, and have had numerous websites hosted there. I have also suggested their service to everyone of my clients. When I first signed up they boasted great customer service & support. Their support was 24/7 & 100% USA-based with a guaranteed "under 2 minutes wait". They also offered unlimited domain hosting at an extremely fair price. I can definitely vouch for the support. Every time I called in it was fast, courteous, and my problems were resolved, no mater what. About a year ago they revamped their offerings, changed the pricing structure, and support just fell off the end of the world. I noticed that their Twitter accts (main & help) stopped being updated about 5 or 6 months ago, support chat wait times were ridiculous, and there were times that the phone was never answered. In my most recent experience (today 5/21/16) I was unable to one-click install a Wordpress script (something I've done w/o fail many times in 9 years). I tried several times before contacting support. I logged into chat and wait time showed 7 min. When it dropped to 3 min, it jumped up to 5 min, then back up to 7 min. After roughly 12+ min, I was asked to verify my acct. When I the rep my info it was about 3 min before he replied, saying ok give me a few min to verify. After verification he asked for a few more min, eventually getting back to me, asking me to now try the one-click install. I got the same error. After a few min of silence, he said OK well you just need to do a manual install. WTF? After nearly 10 years I walk away, and will no longer recommend HM. In fact, I will tell my future clients to avoid it like the plague!

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

The worst provider ever especially it's auto renew process.
Today it was a second time it charged me without any warning.
This time it is for "Professional SiteLock Domain Security" 1 year $47.88

I don't know anything about how to stop this auto renew process.
It's very hard to find the setting, I couldn't find it anymore.

It charged me a lot of money, took long time to solve the problem and refunded.
Very bad experiences with them.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I've been a HostMonster customer for about 8 years. I host all kinds of different custom HTML and WordPress websites on my HostMonster account. I've never had an issue with downtime, service, etc. Everything seems tor run very smoothly. FTP always works. I like the cpanel interface. Making custom name server changes is also a breeze for the domains I purchase through HostMonster (though the bulk of my domains are at GoDaddy).

 
★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have been with Hostmonster for 7 years. I have never had the issues we have had so far this year..unreal amount of down time, every single weekend Im down 2-3 days. Customer support is horrible..no explanations or eta of when the problem is fixed. All they do is put a bandaid on the problem, and the weekend comes, and it's right back to being crashed and down. As soon as I can, Im moving all websites off this provider. I do not recommend this provider to ANYONE...

 
★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

DO NOT sign up with hostmonster. The company does not send out emails notifying the customer when their site is down. You have to wait an hour for phone support and at least half an hour for online chat support. If you host additional sites, they add a dollar to the overall price every year with no improvements to their service. Currently, my site has been down for 4 days. After waiting an hour for tech support, I was told that they are doing maintenance on the server. I have not been notified that my site is down and I do not have access to the control panel or my files.

 
★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

Hostmonster at one time, before they got bought out, used to provide reliable service at a fair price. Since the buyout, they've become unresponsive to customer issues, putting their users through a voice mail and online chat hell. It's obvious that the new owners are milking this service for all it's worth without putting anything into solving longtime customer issues.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

I used them from 2007 to 2015, eight long years. According to pingdom, there are an average of 2.3 downtimes per day, averaging 1 minute long. The uptime percentage is 98.8 percent. I have received numerous complaints about how slow my website loads. This is despite the fact that, long ago, I upgraded to the "professional" shared hosting plan, at a cost of close to $40/month. I just moved my site over to Siteground. 100% uptime in the last 24 hrs and much faster load times.

At least Hostmonster agreed to cancel my plan and refund my money (prorated). I had to call them to cancel, though. There is no cancel button on their website or in the control panel.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I hate their customer support service. It takes lot of time to be in touch with them. Worse customer support I found. I like godaddy instead of it. Hostmonster.com is just a wastage of time. Don't go for it. You will regret. My friend suggested me to go for hostmonster.com

 
★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have had hostmonster for about 5-6 years now, in the beginning the service was "ok", I didn't need any support and I took a while building my site in Wordpress to include purchasing themes etc. I have run into many issues with email & FTP not working, and recently decided to not renew my subscription and move over to Squarespace or someone else who actually values their customers. On December 8th they had a planned server maintenance and upgrade, that same day mysteriously my site was taken down for " TOS Violation- Malware", hmmm a site that has been up and running for 5+ years gives a malware warning in EVERY DIRECTORY of EVERY DOMAIN after you upgrade your servers? I was eventually sent a email containing a list of "infected" files and directories. They did not include a way to remove those files as the system was locked but I was instructed that these are the problem and need to be addressed (pretty much anything that was a .js file) Anyhow, their support is lacking, their service is lacking and if I had time to move my site 3yrs ago i would have, Now, it seems I have no choice, so I guess I should thank them for that. Avoid hostmoneter if you value your site, your business and your online name/ reputation that's just my opinion based on my experience.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

Can never get a hold of anyone on the support line to ask a question about a bill or anything else. I was unable to find out exactly what I am being billed for. I have another similar site with another provider at 20% of the cost of Host Monster. The only way I could stop the mess was to stop the credit card payments. They noticed that right away, but still no way to talk to a person. We will be going with another provider.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I've had Hostmonster since 2009. It was fantastic, however in the last few years I have noticed a steady decrease in quality.

Tech Support:
When I first used HM the tech support was easy to get a hold of (5-1 minute wait time), knowledgeable, patient, and very friendly. Then they introduced their webchat support, which I loved. Now I'm on hold for at least 45 minutes (usually a lot more regardless of the time of day/night) and the webchat is no faster. I've actually have seen the webchat window count down from 59 minutes, get to 1 minute, then restart at 27 minutes. When the support does finally help you they are clueless, annoyed, and eager to get off of the phone. If you have used the webchat for tech support they do not respond quickly as they are helping multiple people at once, and they are also unhelpful.

Email:
The email was fine for a while, but recently I noticed that I do not receive emails from clients and have difficulty sending emails. When sending an email the window will freeze. The email search option is utterly useless. Even when you have the email address of the sender you are looking for and you use the most general search options, you are unable to find a specific email. I've actually had it come up blank many times even though the sender's email will show up in my inbox. Don't even bother adding extra criteria to an email search, you will get nothing.

General:
Whenever I had a problem in the past that was small I would send an email and let them respond when they had a moment. At first I would get an email response within 24 hours plus a follow up phone call. Now I don't event receive an email reply.

I like a lot of the features and add-ons Hostmonster offers, but their rude and inefficient customer and tech support have killed it for me. The last week has been the final straw for me as the email and control panel have not been accessible. It is time for me to move on.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

We started using Hostmonster about 8 years ago. At that time, hardly anyone new of them, and the service was impeccable. Support personnel really seamed to care. About 3 years ago things began to change and tech support began to wane. In the past year, support is basically non existent. For example, we relied on Hostmonster Webmail, and in the past few months webmail is broken, and there seems to be no interest in fixing it. Whenever we call for any type of help, hold time is at minimum 45min to 2 hours and then the tech person doesn't have an answer. I've been a loyal customer, however it is now time to change. My concern is the ease of making a change, how to avoid the pitfalls associated with Hostmonster with a new provider, and how to find a provider that really wants to be a provider. Also confusing are the associations. For example, Hostmonster is the same as BlueHost, and even this site rates BlueHost as a reasonable provider whereas in reality they are one and the same as Hostmonster.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have been with Hostmonster for five years and recently ran into a problem when I found out that someone was able to change my password through the password reset option. So it has to go through billing who informs me that I have to provide the financial document from 5 years ago to prove I am who I say I am. Seriously? I have 619 emails over those years with hostmonster but that first one with the order info was not there. Surely they could have used other billing amounts on other dates for the many domain renewals, hosting renewals etc. Nope. They have no problem to even suggest I contact the credit card company for them to provide me a paper copy of the statement from five years ago. Yet, the person who gained access to my account can move along with no problem. Lock him out? No way. It has been a very unpleasant experience and continues to be so. I am removing all of my domains from their control as fast as possible.

Bottom line: I found their help for most typical situations to be fine. But have someone steal your access code and they are the most unhelpful people on the planet. If your're running an ecommerce site or need access all of the time, run away from these people. Or decide for yourself .... I know I have.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have been with host monster quite a few years and been quite happy but customer service has got so bad over the last year that I am looking elsewhere. I am also have some problems with their server not running my cron job and terminating my scripts before they have finished, no help or explanation given

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I've been with HostMonster for many years. For the most part I have nothing to complain about, uptime was amazing, it had all of the features that I needed, price/value was good, and technical support was snappy. Then we look back at the last 18-24 months, and it feels like a different company. Tech support wait times have become much longer, with the techs visibly multitasking between tickets. The techs have also gotten worse in their knowledge of the system. I have to teach them the basics, and their scripts are insufficient. The majority of their responses to problems are an upsell to some new feature or package. If I didn't know any better, I would say that they fired the techs and moved sales into the tech support position.

The worst problems have been in the last 12 months. E-mail deliverability has become abysmal. They have signed on so many spammers, that their mail servers are blacklisted around the globe. We are a business that relies on guaranteed email delivery, and the 2 or 3 times we had a flood of bounces, we had to go to our personal gmail accounts just to be able to keep working. They have no answers, leaving us to shop around for a new host.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

I've had an account with HostMonster for six or seven years. Early on I was reasonably happy with the features and technical support they offered, but their value for money in the last few years has gone downhill rapidly.

The most annoying thing about their approach to customer service is their aggressive pricing strategy. Their approach is to try to lock customers in and hope that the inconvenience of switching hosts will prevent customers doing so, even if their prices spiral out of control. Right now they are advertising the service that I use with them for $3.95 a month on their homepage. So what's the special price they offer me as a veteran customer? $11.98 if I sign up for another 3 years! If I want to pay a month at a time, it's $17.99.

Their approach of offering discounts for 3-year contracts should also be a warning: any host that has faith in its own level of customer service and satisfaction shouldn't demand that you lock yourself in for 3 years in order to get a competitive price. It signals to you that they are going to do pretty nicely if you abandon them in disgust after the first few weeks.

They also advertise a lot of "unlimited"s -- unlimited storage, unlimited transfer. They don't mean it. They repeatedly complain about moderate usage based on a terms of service that is designed not to be read.

Altogether, a host that certainly is not interested in keeping its customers happy.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Hostmonster is exactly that : A " MONSTER" to deal with. They have absolute "zero" level of service. The minimum wait to get tech support is over 30 minutes. TheIr chat has a wait of 19 minutes! . I have lost 3 weeks of email service with them and they don't know how to fix the problem. They even do not host my website properly as it loads very slow and my search engine marketing campaign is suffering as a result since the "pay per clicks" take long to upload and connect. Unfortunately I paid three years of hosting and I cannot even get a customer service person on phone to get my money back. THEY ARE HORRIBLE IN EVERYASPECT. TECHNICAL AND CUSTOMER SERVICE.

 
★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have been with hostmonster for many years. The early years were great, smart people, quick resolutions.
HOWEVER....now is a whole new world. Server problems poorly resolved, email for clients disrupted.
Tickets ignored, or at best dumb answers, like read the help section. The most recent online chat was a disaster, I think the guy must have been a passing cleaner who sat down at the PC. He had no idea what I was talking about and was as close to being plain rude and dismissive as it gets and terminated the chat when he got fed up.
For Gods sake DON'T sign up. Feel sorry for me who was suckered into another 3 years before I released what was happening.
It would be nice for an insider to let us know what went wrong there, must have been something big.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

Same as most here.
Hostmonster were good for the first coupe of years. Now it's all falling to pieces.
Email problems galore. Clients incoming mail is missing, being rejected as spam. This is largely because the spamassasin tool is badly managed, if at all. If you look at a rejected mail, to see why it was rejected, it is using an old blacklist database. Which if you visit their site plainly says 'this database in no longer working and is now set to always return a positive' That's why we have all been getting missing mail.
As they are selling a 'premium email tool' wouldn't surprise me to find its neglected with a purpose.
I have repeatedly told them this in 'Tickets' which have all been either, ignored or answered by someone who seems to be on drugs, who doesn't even respond to the question.
If you are looking for a host RUN elsewhere.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have been having problem with there system all the time and charging you for site doctor to fix problems, when its there work to fix their own problems, it suck!!
Don't spend or waist your money with them.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

HostMonster - *VERY POOR technical support!
We have had technical errors on our hosting server for almost 2 months without proper resolve - Technical staff are friendly/ etiquette, but simply cannot fix the technical issues and are very quick to try and pass technical related issues back to the client without root cause fixes in place. We have followed ever request and yet technical staff are quick to claim they've 'tested' the issue and all is fine, but as soon as we try what should be a very simple once-click install for software via their MOJO solution, various errors occur (Numerous emails have been sent with screen shots). After holding the line for a fairly long time (*South Africa to USA) and testing with tech staff to no avail... We requested technical staff contact us after their "thorough investigation", which never happened and we had to follow-up again due to the lack of feedback. We then requested a senior technical manage contact us, but have yet to hear anything. HostMonster is quite happy to charge a monthly fee, but seem to think its more than satisfactory to keep client's website solutions down for months (*first call was logged in early December 2014) - Would your business want this from a so called "Top" hosting company?

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Initially, i liked the price and features they were offering for a VPS. Until yesterday afternoon the website was working perfectly. After i returned from lunch the website got screwed up with database connectivity issues. I have been calling them repeatedly but they are neither giving a time line nor a solution.
The support technicians are not able to answer two simple questions
1.) When everything was working perfectly why did the website go down
2.) If you say, the files are altered why don't you restore them to the previous state i.e., 1 day back
I call them and they put me on hold for half an hour. Really Disgusting.
HostMonster has to improve its support to stay in the market.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Hostmonster was excellent when we first signed up about 6 years ago. In the past 2-3 years, I feel like it's a completely different company. It almost takes a talent to be that bad in customer service, reliability and indifferent attitude. My biggest issue is recently all of our company's email are being flagged as SPAM. The explanation I got was that we are on a shared server and when other clients spam, we get affected by the server's IP address. They offered a dedicated server option to us for almost $100/month which defeats the purpose of using them in the first place b/c at that price I can manage our own server on location.

My advice: is to stay away from them and look else where.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Hostmonster is not a good option. They charged my PayPal long after I cancelled my account. Their rep put me on infinite hold. Their servers are really slow. I would avoid them at all costs.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Hostmonster is a great place to host your site. I'm being completely honest, my website had an error once, and their great support team helped me RIGHT AWAY. I mean they SERIOUSLY put customers first. In fact, every now and then i get an e-mail asking if the site is running well. And hostmonster is the most reliable host i've ever used. There have been 0 files lost.Their price is unbeatable for that type of service. They have products for basic sites and e-commerce websites. You can use third party tools of course. Wordpress is available. Their tools are all up to date. I would definitely encourage you to try out, you wont regret it. Take my word for it, they are #1. I tried to make this review short. But the service is better than it sounds.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Long time client and as a small business owner, they did a great job for me in the inital five years. In the past couple of years, it seems I'm a tadpole in Lake Erie. First, emails were blacklisted because of others on the same email server Spamming and for over a month my emails were periodically being blocked by other servers but no one informed me this is happening. My solution was to go with Office 365 which works great. Next issue, I use an html editor to manage certain pages and now they have changed it and the new one doesn't have all the same features. I'm now going to have to go fine another host. HOSTMONSTER SUCKS!

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Hostmonster is an AMAZING host for people hosting anything from a personal/E-Commerce site, to a business site. They provide all tools needed for a great website. Personally, i've never had a problem with HM and whenever i had a question, i got a solution. Their prices are unbeatable for that type of quality. They have many plugins such as Wordpress. They even have a MARKET! This all sounds awesome but its even better having it. Trust me they've hosted me for 4 years.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I should have read the reviews before purchasing service from HostMinster. HostMonster SUCKS, and here's why.
I purchased service from them one week ago. after spending the time it takes to give them my CC information, choose a user name, password.. FTP files.. etcetera ...Everything seemed fine. WRONG. They wait a few days then ask me to send them a copy of my Identification, along with a copy of my credit card. They ask for all of the numbers of my credit card to be blacked out except the last four digits. Are they serious? I tried to call them, and was on hold for around fifteen minutes before I somehow got disconnected. So I responded to them explaining that this was not going to happen. What they did was to shut down my site, and replace my html with their ads with a note to call customer service. Hopefully this review will save someone precious time before wasting time with HostMonster. It turned out to be a blessing in disguise, because after this incident, I researched them further and found out that they are a sub par hosting company, nothing like I expected.
So if you don't care about service, and you don't mind sending a copy of your drivers license and credit card info to complete strangers.. Then this may be the hosting company for you.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have used this host for several years. Lately I began getting spam emails that came from third party vendors and I contacted Hostmonster about this. They do distribute emails to third party vendors without permission. If you like email spam, this is your company.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have no idea who is posting these other reviews by my experience has been completely positive with Hostmonster. I have used a couple of competitors and had issues primarily with downtime. I host about 10 different domains currently with Hostmonster and the only downtime I have ever had was planned and they would send emails in advance notifying me of the planned outage including dates, times, and expected length. My traffic is low and I don't need to utilize too many features, however I have no complaints at all as compared with other more expensive providers I have used in the past. I have never had to contact support because I have never had problems.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Hostmonster started out really great for my needs; hosting a small business webpage with low traffic. When our requirements changed and we started hosting small databases; the hosting was impossibly slow. We were encouraged to upgrade to a shared hosting server (shared with fewer customers). This again was far too slow and we were encouraged strongly to move to a VPS at a cost of around $500/yr... again, this was too slow. Tech support advised us that its slower than the service we first had, just that it was a private resource.

Then came the downtime - we had to close our online part of the the business for ten days with their company wide outages, we lost thousands of dollars.

Tech support gave no answers, no ETA's - literally a 'keep waiting' style response. Once the network was back online - customers received a 'sorry we messed up' email; no explanations, no compensation - nothing.

Hostmonster is good if you want to host a family album or a hobby website; but its just not fit for businesses of any size

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Hostmonster has turn off my account for several times with no announcement first. Then I must buy sitedoctor to clean my sites from malware (they said). If they want to sell such services, why don't they including the cost in the hosting package cost? I ran an online business and my hostmonster account contain at least 5 websites, don't they think about what lost I got? I won't recommend this host again to my clients. I plan to move all of my sites to other hosting company. Is anyone could give me recommendation??

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I run a web development company and always host client's as well as my own company's site with Hostmonster (over 6 years now). Quite frankly, I don't understand the negative reviews here. Over the past 6 years I have had very little trouble with this hosting service and when I have a question, Tickets and Live Chat are prompt and on-point. No issues here. In fact, we routinely move clients' over from other hosting services who nickle-and-dime them for resources and features that are already included with the basic HM service (*cough* GoDaddy *cough).

CON: The basic hosting service can be a little slow when it comes to First-byte page loading, but that's the price for a shared hosting service. I have also experienced the same with Powweb and GoDaddy. However, once you bump up to Pro Hosting, the speed of your site increases tremendously.

I would highly recommend over GoDaddy or similarly-priced web hosting service.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

My company used this service for several years, but in the last 6 months, they've had nothing but problems!
I moved our entire company site to another hosting company and no problems since!!
However, today my boss asked me to contact HostMonster and find out why one of our oldest web pages would not load. Customer service was just downright RUDE and ignorant. They even had the gall to keep regurgitating the SAME sentences when I asked several questions!!
The final straw was when the representative on Live Chat told me to find the problem myself!

We've cancelled every subscription with this horrible hosting company and will NEVER recommend them!!
If this is how they treat long term customers they will soon be out of business and well deserved too!
Don't go with BlueHost either...they are owned and run by HostMonster!!

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Absolutely Terrible. Do not waste your time and money! I have several domains and hosting accounts with them. My sites are down regularly for hours at a time. When I ask technical department when they will be up, I get short sharp response that they have no idea and cannot give me a timeframe, as they are working on their servers and no apologies.

I cant even transfer my sites now to a new host as the files and databases cannot me accessed. For all I know its all been wiped. There technical department are useless, don't care at all that the services you are paying for don't work, my customers can't access the sites, and no one can work on them.

Do not waste your money and time!

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have moved my personal hosting, and that of most of my clients away from Hostmonster.
Unfortunately, I have one client left there.
I went in today at 10:00 am est 2014-04-16, and .........you guessed it........they went down!!
It is 4:07 pm est as I write this.........they are still down. When they come up I will move my last client, and be rid of this black hole of a hosting company.
DONT BUY THEIR SERVICES!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

When I put up my site in 2011, everything ran great, I had no observable downtime and phone tech support was fast. For about the last year and a half, the decline has been swift. I'm on the phone with them about every 2-3 months. One day in 2013, the entire Bluehost family went dark for almost an entire business day, including phone support. I had to google my problem before I could find out the situation. Then I found out the ugly truth-they run 4 companies out of the same data center with no redundancy and no separate communication systems. And no letter of apology to customers for the extreme inconvenience. My email went down just the other day, the wait for tech support was over 30 minutes and all they could say is that they were working on the outage and had no ETA on when service would return. It was down 8 hours, but back up by noon my time. I just don't trust them, this is my business. I'm looking for a better host.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

​I just left hostmonster(really sucks, rated Zero) after 4 years. Thru the 4 years, I have over 3000 emails from intersee stating my site was down anywhere from 1 hour to 3 days as i believe they meddle with the server too often, what isn't broke doesn't need fixing. Aside from that, i have word press sites that they recommend with the one click but wordpress is total garbage, it is the easiest hacking site on the internet and hostmonster doesn't protect its customers from malware or virus attacked, yes, they are getting through the website but they are hacking your server and you should have protection on your servers. I just called other hosting like 1and1 and they provide free malware protection with sitelock, all hostmonster wants is money, they tech support staff is the worst, i know more of what problems are then they do. i have told they so many times that my site was down do to php configurations and they would say no, no one meddle with the server today, just garbage and stay away from them.

They chose to lose me as a customer rather than just run a program to fix the malware they allowed to happen due to no protection, just shows they do not care about you as a customer, very poor communication skills as well

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

hostmonster is by far the biggest crap hosting company you can find on this planet.

I changed my websites to hostmonster because I wanted to diferentiate my business websites to reduce 100% downtown and thus no income...

Jezus, there is nothing more that I regret in my life than changing my money websites to hostmonster!

since I use hostmonster my life is a mess. My websites are more offline than online. I get constantly 500 errors! I have been hacked 4 times in 2 months which I NEVER had before in 3 years of online affiliate marketing ventueres.

this joke costed me over 450$ to restore 22 of my websites. When you see that your website is offline and you contact the support the real trouble starts.

All they do is blame you for their mistakes and problems. Your website is offline sire? perhaps you should buy site security? WTF, I already bought sitedoctor for all of my 22 websites which costed me a fortune and afther 1 month all my websites got offline again... BUT you would need to buy sitedoctor again since it is a one time service.

talking about quality...

the support members are mostly rude and not helpfull, waiting times are super long and 1 minute is 10 minutes in reality.

I am going to change all of my domains to another host and am looking forward again to a good night rest while my affiliate sides pay my rent. At this moment I spended severial $100's of dollars to this bullshit company.

My advice: don't work with them! EVER!

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have been with Hostmonster for about 7 years. At the beginning it was OK and they provided a great service - fast, reliable, and with a great support. But about 3 years ago I started experiencing slow loading, too many down times (at first, they claimed fire in the server room, then a failure of a router and today DDoS attack). Many times when I complained about a speed time, they blamed me for unoptimized websites and many other stuff. Today I lost my patience when my whole account was down since 11 am and it is now 9 pm and it is still down. All my domains, websites, email accounts are dead. At first I called them and they told me that it is OK and that they could load everything on their end. And they blamed my ISP provider using wrong routing tables. I had to argue that even third party ping services such as isitdown.com couldn't ping the server and whether they also used wrong tables. After arguing for some time, they found out that their server I was hosting on was under DDoS attacked, so they shut it down. Can you imagine it? They simply shut down the server. They do not care about businesses of their clients.
So, if you want a reliable service, run! Run fast away from this company.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Worst Hosting Company. They mess up all the time, and try blame it on you. My websites have been up and down for 5 days straight....very unreliable and the staff is rude and inconsiderate! I do not know how such a company can run with so much down time. Absolutely not worth the hundreds of dollars ive spent to get VPS! Someone needs to restructure this company and get top admins to make sure their servers are running ALL the Time, NOT SOME OF THE TIME!

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

If you're looking for a cheap host for a small site, go ahead.

If you have any interest in uptime, kept promises, or halfway decent support, look elsewhere. After hitting limits on what their front page said was unlimited, we upgraded to their VPS service for considerably more money. This was a mistake. Their VPS servers are even more unreliable, and go down on an almost weekly basis taking our email offline with them.
When contacting support, you have about a 50/50 chance of getting someone competent, and for most issues, it takes forever to fix, and they never admit fault, even when it's obviously theirs.

If you're considering HM for a commercial site or email, think again and save yourself a world of pain.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

Host Monster sucks because they lie about providing unlimited space, unlimited databases, and unlimited email accounts. On their home page they list those items as a main feature but actually on the terms of service they stipulate limits for number of mysql tables, limits on total number of files, and so every email you receive is counted as a file, so actually there is no unlimited email space.
My account has been deactivated - taking all of my sites down - twice. Once because I had too many mysql tables, and the second time because One of my email accounts had too many emails on it.
I think if they were a honest company they should remove those highlights from their home page as they are deceiving people, or at least put a big asterisk on each one of them and a copy at the bottom letting people know that those features are not actually real.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

Switched to Hostmonster.com three years ago. Having come from a number of other terrible hosts (Bluehost, Dreamhost), I was very happy for at least a year, possibly 18 months. Nonetheless, Hostmonster eventually fell into the same disrepair as my previous hosts: hosting too many sites on a server and blaming their users for installing computationally intensive scripts and not performing optimizations (site was running Wordpress,the blogging software Hostmonster goes out of its way to tout the virtues of on their front page). Solicitations of support result in canned responses at best, misplaced blame on you at worst. I look forward to taking my business elsewhere.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have hosted 4 or more domains on my HostMonster account for over 5 years.
I have a high level affiliate account for the amount of referrals I bring in.

Since the new ownership, I have seen nothing but downhill management. Although the front line support reps are great, the people managing them have poor business skills when it comes to service. Not only has 2013 been full of constant down time while they upgrade their servers and fix ongoing issues, which they acknowledge, I have had multiple directories disappear from my server. After searching the limited server access logs my own personal FTP logs, I have evidence of now file or directory removal activity. Their advanced support teams found the same results, yet insist it something I "must have done", even though I'm sending them evidence of otherwise, and they cannot find their own history.

I really do not like making accusations but it's extremely ironic that my account on my shared server always goes down when I have high bandwidth traffic. In addition, I always receive incentives to upgrade to their Backup Pro service whenever I have an entire website directory disappear! I was to be their number 1 customer when they had beta testing on their VPS and Dedicated hosting before it's public debut. Unfortunately I am so far away from paying them any more money to upgrade, that I've just the cancellation process.

Hostmonster, Blue Host, HostGator, and JustHost are all owned by EIG. I definitely no longer recommend any of their service. If the customer service reps were not compensated so well for doing their dirty work, I am sure they would move on as well.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

I just found out that there are
more than 500 Domains hosted
on the same IP address that I
have with HM and I"m paying
top dollar for my hosting....

My sites were hacked - malware
put on them and HM just shut
me down...

RUN... there are many other
hosting companies that don't
overcrowd IP addresses and
charge you up the wazoo to
do it.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I got an email which announce that my web hosting has been deactivated with reason listed in spamhaus blacklist. And I am sure that I did not did something which break their rules.
Then I contacted them and they suggest me to purchase their Site Doctor to clean my site. After around six hours from the purchase, my hosting was activated but it deactivated again in the next few hours. I don't understand what was happen? My server was deactivated 2 times in 24 hours. You can imagine what will happen to your online business if this kind of problem appear in that frequency.

I hope Hostmonster team could improve their services to their customers if they want to exist in web hosting business.

 
+ See More Reviews
HostMonster logo

HostMonster

hostmonster.com Location: US Founded: 1996

Pros: Unlimited Space & Bandwidth , Host Unlimited Domains , Free Domain

Cons: Backups not guaranteed , No Windows-based plans

HostMonster Introduction

HostMonster specialises in competitively-priced shared web hosting. The team present their services around a simple package with the option to upgrade and get additional features. The company was launched in 1996, so that makes it a well-established web hosting company compared to some newcomers.

HostMonster is an American company based in Provo, Utah. It is a sister company to BlueHost and FastDomain. Like its sister companies, HostMonster appears to have been acquired by the Endurance International Group, a huge web hosting organisation with over 2 million customers and 40 different hosting brands under one roof.

HostMonster Hosting Plans

HostMonster’s servers run Linux and, as you’d expect, the team utilise Apache web server software to host their customer’s websites. The servers are regularly updated with the latest versions of PHP, Python, MySQL and other software to keep on top of security issues.

There is no indication that HostMonster offers VPS hosting, dedicated server hosting or cloud hosting; their focus is on shared hosting. It does have an affiliate programme to reward people for referring new customers.

The basic HostMonster hosting plan is advertised at a competitive price and provides unlimited space, unlimited space for domain names and unlimited email accounts. You can upgrade to the Pro Package if you need even more: this gives you the fastest possible speed and a dedicated IP. The Pro Package also provides a site backup facility, SSL, Postini Anti-Spam protection and Domain Whois Privacy. Instead of the full Pro Package, you can choose to bolt on different parts of the services on offer.

HostMonster Uptime/Downtime

HostMonster’s servers are located in Utah. The data centre is monitored 24 hours a day and 7 days a week and by technicians. Like many other companies, it boasts 99.9% uptime for your site, although I’ve not been able to find any historical uptime data to back this claim up.

The data centre makes use of a balanced, synchronised power system that will keep them running at an optimum level should any power outage occur. They also use a UPS backup power supply and have 24/7 live system monitoring in place. There is a an automatic backup system which covers customers for accidental loss of data to some degree.

HostMonster Support

The HostMonster Help Centre is available on the website, and this gives you access to knowledge base articles, tutorials, user forums and getting started guides. Technical support is available 24/7 via email, telephone and live chat, as well as providing access to the server status and helpdesk ticket history. There are a wide range of options for you to get the information you need.

The helpdesk team are also based in Utah in the USA and their service is free to use for all customers. Other support, such as billing enquiries, offers more restricted opening hours.

HostMonster also has a fairly active Twitter account. We noted regular tweets, and their team seem to respond quickly to followers. The HostMonster facebook page is not as active; at the time of writing this article, the last post was over a year old. The HostMonster fans’ Facebook pages are updated more regularly, as you might expect.

HostMonster in the News

HostMonster appears to have avoided any publicity, good or bad, despite being established for a number of years. We can only conclude that they provide a solid service which is - to date - free from controversy.

Host Monster Control Panel

Users can log in to the control panel through the front page of the website. HostMonster makes use of cPanel for site administration purposes, which is more or less the industry standard. That’s good news if you’re migrating and want to stick with a control panel you know well.

HostMonster Extras

The HostMonster plan gives you one free domain name and a $100 Google Adwords credit to tempt you to sign up. You get plenty of one-click install options for over 70 scripts, including Wordpress, Joomla, Drupal and so on. There’s also a simple drag-and-drop website builder, Weebly.

HostMonster Money Back Guarantee / Cancellation Policy

You can cancel your agreement with HostMonster via email, phone or online chat, although you need to confirm that your files, emails and databases are all backed up and verify that you own the account/domain. You can cancel within 3 days of opening your agreement and receive a full refund with the exception of any additional packages including SSL, backup, SEO, SiteLock, domain names and domain privacy. If you cancel between 3 and 30 days after your agreement, you will be charged for any free domain names as well as and Postini or Dedicated IP fees.

HostMonster Summary

On the face of things, HostMonster appears to be a fairly standard shared web hosting company with few features that make it shine out above the others. The service is well integrated and provides most of the standard website tools you’ll need, and their highly competitive prices will attract many potential customers.

The services they provide seem to be reliable and have a solid support network to back them up. American based support teams will also appeal to customers who want English-speaking support, particularly those in the US.

HostMonster Hosting Plans

Hosting Plan Features Disk Space Bandwidth Price
Basic WordPress PHP Shell Access PostgreSQL CentOS Python 50GB Unlimited $4.95/month
Usual price:
Plus WordPress PHP Shell Access PostgreSQL CentOS Python 50GB Unlimited $6.95/month
Usual price:
Pro WordPress PHP Shell Access PostgreSQL Dedicated IP CentOS Unlimited Unlimited $14.95/month
Usual price:
Standard VPS WordPress PHP Shell Access PostgreSQL VPS Dedicated IP 30GB 1TB $28.74/month
Usual price:
Enhanced VPS WordPress PHP Shell Access PostgreSQL VPS Dedicated IP 60GB 2TB $57.49/month
Usual price:
Premium VPS WordPress PHP Shell Access PostgreSQL Dedicated IP CentOS 120GB 3TB $86.24/month
Usual price:
Ultimate VPS WordPress PHP Shell Access PostgreSQL Dedicated IP CentOS 240GB 4TB $114.99/month
Usual price:
Standard Dedicated WordPress PHP Shell Access PostgreSQL Dedicated IP CentOS 500GB 5TB $143.74/month
Usual price:
Enhanced Dedicated WordPress PHP Shell Access PostgreSQL Dedicated IP CentOS 1000GB 10TB $191.66/month
Usual price:
Premium Dedicated WordPress PHP Shell Access PostgreSQL VPS Dedicated IP 1000GB 15TB $239.57/month
Usual price:

HostMonster Frequently Asked Questions

  • Does HostMonster offer any Windows hosting plans?

    HostMonster is a Linux-only provider.

  • Where are HostMonster's datacenters located?

    HostMonster does not publicize the location of its datacenter.

  • Are managed dedicated servers available at HostMonster?

    Yes. HostMonster provides both dedicated servers and VPS servers with full management.

  • Do I get a free domain with my hosting plan?

    Every plan comes with a free domain for the first year.

  • Will my price change from the intro price when I renew my services?

    HostMonster offers a promotional price for the first term only. It renews at the regular rate. It offers progressively lower prices for longer contracts.

  • If I am dissatisfied, can I get a refund?

    HostMonster provides a 30-day money-back guarantee on most hosting plans. If you cancel after this time, you will receive a pro-rated refund for unused months.

  • Will HostMonster compensate me for downtime?

    No. HostMonster does not have an uptime guarantee.

  • Can I get support on the phone?

    Yes. 24x7 support is available by phone.

  • Does HostMonster still offer reseller plans?

    No. HostMonster announced in late 2014 that it will no longer be accepting reseller hosting signups.

  • Can the team help me with transferring an existing site?

    It will migrate up to 5 websites and 20 email accounts from a single account. More information is provided in the customer account area.

  • Does HostMonster allow more than one domain per account?

    Yes. Unlimited domains can be hosted.

  • Does the company have a sitebuilder?

    Yes. To help users create sites easily and quickly, Weebly is provided.

  • Does it offer cPanel?

    Yes. cPanel is provided as the default control panel.

  • What payment options does HostMonster accept?

    HostMonster accepts credit cards, including Visa, Master Card, American Express and Discover. It also accepts PayPal, checks (USD) and money orders (USD).

  • Is there a one-click installer library?

    Yes. All customers can use Mojo Marketplace which allows you to install or upgrade applications, including WordPress and Joomla!.

  • Does HostMonster set up monthly contracts?

    Yes, you can opt for a monthly contract or a longer deal.

  • What does its backup policy look like?

    HostMonster backs up data at its discretion, and those backups are kept for a maximum of 30 days. It would be sensible to set up your own backups, as HostMonster does not guarantee availailability.

  • Which of service would be most appropriate for multiple websites?

    All HostMonster hosting plans can accommodate an unlimited number of websites.

  • Does the company provide unlimited bandwidth and unlimited space?

    Yes. HostMonster offers unlimited bandwidth and disk space, subject to its fair use policy.

HostMonster Features

All Features

  • Agora Cart
  • Apache
  • b2evolution
  • Coppermine
  • Custom Error Pages
  • Drupal
  • Email Forwarding
  • File Manager
  • FormMail
  • FrontPage Extensions
  • Gallery
  • Help Center Live
  • Image
  • IMAP Support
  • Joomla
  • Live Chat Support
  • Mailing Lists
  • MOJO Marketplace
  • Moodle
  • osCommerce
  • Password Protected Directories
  • Phone Support
  • PHP 5
  • POP3 Support
  • Ruby
  • Ruby on Rails
  • Server Side Includes
  • Shell Access
  • Shockwave
  • SpamAssassin
  • SSH Access
  • SSL Certificates
  • Streaming Audio/Video
  • Support Forum
  • Webmail

How does HostMonster compare to their competitors?

Overall ★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★
Visit HostMonster
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★

WhoIsHostingThis Recommends

Want a Free Domain Name?

Already a HostMonster customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more...

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about HostMonster.
Please be specific: we're only interested in hearing that HostMonster rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Next step

Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

(We hate spam - see our privacy policy)
Terms & Conditions