Add Your Review for IX Web Hosting

82 IX Web Hosting Reviews:

Is IX Web Hosting the host for you?

Last reviewed Jun 29, 2016

Key features

  • PHP
  • WordPress
  • Uptime Guarantee
  • MySQL
  • Perl
  • Linux

User Reviews - Total: 82

★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

IT was PERFECT. It is the ONLY reason I stay with IX. Customer service is 24/7 immediate and always accurate information and solved my issues well. It really is the best one. I honestly have been in contact with many hosting and web companies. IxWebhost is truly the best that I ever seen.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

"super helpful answered my question immediately . A+ service glad i picked IX Web Hosting"

"Great customer support i had, However I also HAVE to mention Stas Belotshitsky. (Spelling might be off) he has also done an awesome job for me at LEAST twice (such a help that I remembered his name). Just want to make sure you give him the credit he deserves as well!"

★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

As a client and business associate of IX Web Hosting - Their success, stability, security and profitability will also have a positive impact on my business. This
stability, security and profitability of IX web hosting is a good foundation for business like mine to build on in recruiting and soliciting new business who are looking for a proven web hosting company/platform. I really satisfied with their stability, security and profitability of IX web hosting and also satisfied with customer support is really helped me. So as a client i would prefer IX Web hosting for my current business as well as in future.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

We have struggled with IxWeb cloud hosting for an year. Real nightmare!!! Lots of downtime, very slow server, we got hacked, aways running out of memory because the system doesn't' delete the old backup files. They totally messed up the installation of the SSL certificate it took them 2 months to fix it!!
The last think that they did was deleting all our email forwards by mistake so lost our orders for 3 days!

Their support is incompetent and they believe that if they call you everyday with no real investigation of the issue but just call you is a good customer service. For a month I had everyday a call from ixweb apologizing for all the issues but never really resolving anything.
We just moved to SiteGround shared hosting and our site is 3 times faster then with IXweb cloud hosting at 1/10 of the cost of IXweb!!!

Do not make the terrible mistake to use them as your hosting company!

★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

I think it is time to emphasise that, according to the experience
I have, IXWebHosting is an outstanding host, especially with regard
to individualised service, plus 24/7/52 reachibility. I don't know
how many of their competitors have a comparable score?

So I'd like to thank IX again, and I'm looking forward to continued pleasant
business relations!

Best regards
Michael Laudahn

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

Just had a running battle with IX Web hosting

They advertise all over the place they have unlimited disk space, I spend years building up my site, then they say its a max of 30GB, give me a week to clear down my site, then suspend my account when I don't manage to clear it down in time.

I made it clear I was going to get on the forums and that they should review this very low limit (Flcikr you get 1tb for free, etc), but they would not budge

Not sure if it was just unlucky timing, but they effectively dropped the bomb a few days after I'd done my annual renewal (been with them for 8+ years, and its def not the cheapest !)

One thing I will say is that their support team in Ukraine is excellent, so such a pity I will be moving as they were top notch

I would recommend avoiding unless you have a very small (disk space) footprint with no growth expectations

★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have ben with IX for about 8 years I think. They have been solid until I added another domain. Weird, but you would think that would make me a more attractive customer. I pay around $216 every two years and now both of my websites cannot be seen at all. They said it looked fine on their end, but that does not help me at all. I stopped by this website to see if it was my imagination, but it seems my opinion is right in line with everyone else. Since I am a 'home user', meaning I don't have any job related website and any money spent is for me to have my own sites and domain names (living free of gmail and etc), I don't like having to try hard. So they provide you with the clunkiest, crappiest website design tools, they have wordpress, joomla, etc available - but they are all old versions that have to be immediately updated - then the sql or php services are disconnected and you have to figure out how to fix that and on and one. Seriously, I don't have this kind of time on my hands.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I am a developer and have used IX Web Hosting since 2008. I am very impressed with their knowledge and expertise on Linux based systems (Apache, PHP, and MySQL) and currently use them for those services. I cannot speak for Windows. I use a different host (GoDaddy) for Windows based solutions. If you are a developer on Linux systems then I HIGHLY recommend IX Web Hosting. If you are simply an end user looking for a graphic user interface (GUI) solution for Windows, I cannot speak to where IX stands in competency.

In short, IX is a great partner for the IT savvy developer.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I don't see any good reason for why should I host my sites with them, except that it will take some effort to move my current sites and domain to a different host. I am the one who rated them 5 stars at one time (couple of years back). But I would like to give them negative or zero, if possible. Is this how you take care of your customers?

It started with getting everything down once because of a key server issue. Understood that they have been good and are in some trouble now. I tried to be with them. But now since last 1-2 years problems seem to be generated by themselves with complete focus on money and not caring for customers.

They take your website down for server overload (which I guess would be an issue because they downgraded resources available). But they won't warn you and simply take your site down. They won't respond to ticket in such a major case (at-least 2-3 days) and you will need to trace them via chat. Then web space issues and now permission issues. Worst!

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

i had around 4 - 5 years experience with IX hosting ... and now after 2 years painless hosting with another company (inmotion) i realised and how BAD IX was!

I had issue with IX hosting every week! web-site were down every second day for up to 30 minutes! very SLOW web-site response! Often VERY VERY slow! I cleaned up all my code to make sure that it does not slow down performance but it wasnt my code at all!
IX always is under some DOS attack or similar and every time my site was slow i visited IX blog and i saw the alert message about IX hosting is under some attack!
i dont know why they still exist ?
all they care is how they look! they made an excellent upgrade to their own web-site look (note: which hosts with another company)! When you visit their web-site you have impresson that this hosting is very reliable and sound!
I remember at the very start IX was not bad ... but then the owner changed.. and after that they started to redesign their web-site look and were caring only about luring customers but not about the their service!

I think the marketing is outstanding! IX web site layout looks very attractive and good for the eye which is actually a cunning trap!

+ See More Reviews

IX Web Hosting

ixwebhosting.com Location: Ohio, USA Founded: 1999

Pros: Host multiple domains , Unlimited Disk Storage , FREE Domain Registration

Cons: Backups not guaranteed

IX Web Hosting Introduction

IX Web Hosting is primarily a shared hosting provider, but with one important difference: its services are geared towards SEO. By providing customers with their own dedicated IP addresses, all websites are ready to accept ecommerce transactions. In addition, sites with dedicated IPs could well be given an advantage in the search engines.

Based in Columbus, Ohio in the US, the company was founded by Fathi Said who is still the CEO. Said claimed the company hosted more than a quarter of a million websites in 2007, so five years on, it’s likely that they host considerably more. Fathi Said is also the CEO of Host Excellence as part of the Ecommerce Inc group.

IX Web Hosting Hosting Plans
Let’s look at shared hosting first of all. When comparing IX Web Hosting plans, consider whether you need a dedicated IP, either for SEO or ecommerce. If you do, their plans will be of interest.

The Expert, Business Plus and Unlimited Pro price plans step up incrementally in price. All include unlimited disk space, bandwidth and domains with the option of Linux or Windows hosting. In addition, you get those all-important free IPs: two on the low-cost plan, three on the medium plan and 15 on the top-priced plan. You’ll also get one, two or three free domain names. Beware though: Cpanel and Plesk aren’t included.

IX Web Hosting presents its plans in the wrong order on the shared hosting page, so take care. They promote the most expensive plan in the centre of the page.

Next up are IX Web Hosting’s VPS plans. There are three, all Linux based. The limits they place on resources are fairly standard, and you can choose either Cpanel or Plesk: both are self-installs. Unlimited domain hosting is included, and all plans include two dedicated IPs.

IX Web Hosting also offers four cloud hosting plans with your choice of Linux OS, two dedicated IPs and either Cpanel or Plesk.

IX Web Hosting Uptime/Downtime

IX Web Hosting runs its own tier 3 (N+1) data centre in Ohio. the company does not share its building with anyone else, although it’s formally run through Ecommerce Inc. The facility has two backup generators and protection against server outages. They offer a 99.9% uptime guarantee, which is fairly standard at this level.

The company also takes backups of customer data, although it isn’t clear how often these backups are performed. Software automatically monitors the network, scans for malware and automatically removes any malicious code it finds.

IX Web Hosting Support

IX Web Hosting makes the impressive claim of offering the best support in the web hosting industry. They assign a Personal Support Rep - a named individual - to every customer, helping them handle technical problems, billing issues and more. The name of the IX Web Hosting support rep is even included in the control panel, and any new tickets that are logged are flagged up to that person as they come in.

This is quite an ambitious approach to support; IX Web Hosting even provides access to Personal Support Reps via social media.

On the Support page, users are given various email addresses to contact the relevant department if they have questions. There’s also access to support via telephone (toll-free in the US, regular if outside the US) and live chat, plus video tutorials, FAQs and a manual. The company’s social media pages are active; staff provide support through Twitter and Facebook, and they also have a YouTube channel.

IX Web Hosting in the News

IX Web Hosting doesn’t appear to have hit the headlines, although their parent company has had its controversies. As far as this particular branch of the operation goes, I didn’t find any verified, reliable reports of hacks, downtime or vulnerabilities.

IX Web Hosting Control Panel

VPS and cloud customers can choose Cpanel or Plesk, but shared hosting customers are denied either. Instead, they’re provided with Psoft H-Sphere which is considerably less attractive and more basic than Cpanel. Although H-Sphere is only provided on shared accounts, I found it a fair bit more difficult to navigate and understand than the industry standard tools. There is a live demo on the site if you want to try it out.

IX Web Hosting Extras

The free IPs and domain names are a major selling point for IX Web Hosting. There’s not a lot else in addition.

On the Shared plans customers get Google Adwords credit ($25, $50 or $75), one-click installers, a one-click photo gallery install and between one and three free domains. Customers also have access to a site builder tool.

There are no obvious freebies on the Cloud or VPS hosting plans.

IX Web Hosting Money Back Guarantee / Cancellation Policy

IX Web Hosting offers a free 7-day trial in addition to two money-back guarantees.

The first is a 30-day money back guarantee which provides a refund of hosting and setup fees, although domain name costs and over-limit fees are not included.

Additionally, they offer the ‘Anytime’ guarantee. This allows you to request a refund of your current month’s fees, plus any future fees, although not fees due in the current billing cycle. Setup fees aren’t included in this refund policy, and nor are domain name or over-limit fees. Customers who pay via Alipay are excluded from this guarantee clause.

Cancellations must be requested via their contact form on the Support page.

IX Web Hosting Summary

When comparing IX Web Hosting’s plans with other shared hosting providers, consider whether you need a dedicated IP. If you do, you might save a fair chunk of cash simply because you won’t need to pay top-up fees for your IP addresses, and the SEO advantages of having those IPs will appeal to some people with specialised needs.

The plans are otherwise fairly unremarkable, although capable enough for the price, and the support department’s commitment to personal service is very impressive if true. The ‘anytime’ money-back guarantee is also a step up from other hosts in the same price band.

IX Web Hosting Plans

Hosting Plan Features Disk Space Bandwidth Price
Expert Linux WordPress PHP Anonymous FTP PostgreSQL Dedicated IP CentOS Unlimited Unlimited $3.95/month
Usual price:
Business Plus Linux WordPress PHP Anonymous FTP PostgreSQL Dedicated IP CentOS Unlimited Unlimited $7.95/month
Usual price:
Unlimited Pro WordPress PHP Anonymous FTP PostgreSQL Dedicated IP CentOS Unlimited Unlimited $7.95/month
Usual price:
X4 Linux VPS Hosting Debian Plesk Windows VPS Dedicated IP CentOS 50GB 1500GB $54.95/month
Usual price:
X8 Linux VPS Hosting Debian Plesk Windows VPS Dedicated IP CentOS 100GB 2TB $89.95/month
Usual price:
Professional Cloud Plan Debian Dedicated IP CentOS Linux cPanel Uptime Guarantee 20GB 300GB $99.99/month
Usual price:
Business Cloud Plan Debian Dedicated IP CentOS Linux cPanel Uptime Guarantee 60GB 900GB $174.99/month
Usual price:
Corporate Cloud Plan Debian Dedicated IP CentOS Linux cPanel Uptime Guarantee 150GB 1500GB $249.99/month
Usual price:
Professional Cloud Windows ASP ASP.NET PHP Windows 2008 Plesk Windows 40GB 300GB $106.40/month
Usual price:
Business Cloud Windows ASP ASP.NET PHP Windows 2008 Plesk Windows 60GB 900GB $168.15/month
Usual price:
Corporate Cloud Windows ASP ASP.NET PHP Windows 2008 Plesk Windows 150GB 1500GB $239.40/month
Usual price:
Unlimited Pro Windows Hosting ASP ASP.NET WordPress PHP Windows Dedicated IP Unlimited Unlimited $10.95/month
Usual price:
Business Plus Windows Hosting ASP ASP.NET WordPress PHP Windows Dedicated IP Unlimited Unlimited $10.95/month
Usual price:
WordPress Hosting WordPress Dedicated IP cPanel Uptime Guarantee TRUSTe Help Center Live Unlimited Unlimited $8.95/month
Usual price:
X4 Windows ASP ASP.NET PHP Windows 2003 Windows 2008 Plesk 50GB 1500GB $74.95/month
Usual price:
X8 Windows ASP ASP.NET PHP Windows 2003 Windows 2008 Plesk 100GB 2000GB $114.95/month
Usual price:

IX Web Hosting Frequently Asked Questions

IX Web Hosting Features

All Features

  • b2evolution
  • Catch-all email
  • CGI Access
  • CMS Made Simple
  • Credit Card
  • Crontabs
  • Custom Error Pages
  • Daily Access Statistics
  • DokuWiki
  • Dreamweaver
  • Drupal
  • Email Forwarding
  • File Manager
  • FormMail
  • Free Shopping Cart
  • FrontPage Extensions
  • GD Support
  • Geeklog
  • H-Sphere
  • Help Center Live
  • IMAP Support
  • Joomla
  • Live Chat Support
  • Mailing Lists
  • Mambo
  • Multiple Domain hosting
  • MySQL Web Interface
  • osCommerce
  • Password Protected Directories
  • Phone Support
  • PHP 5
  • PHP-Nuke
  • phpMyAdmin
  • phpMyCounter
  • phpPgAdmin
  • PHProjekt
  • POP3 Support
  • Ruby
  • Ruby on Rails
  • Server Side Includes
  • Shared Hosting
  • Shared SSL
  • Shockwave
  • Spam Filter
  • SpamAssassin
  • Streaming Audio/Video
  • Support Forum
  • Transfer Support
  • TRUSTe
  • Unlimited Sites
  • vBulletin
  • Webalizer
  • WebCalendar
  • Webmail
  • Zen Cart
  • Zend Optimizer

How does IX Web Hosting compare to their competitors?

Overall ★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★
Visit IX Web Hosting
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★
Overall★★★★★
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★

More IX Web Hosting reviews

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

IX is the worst of the worst I feel. Ive been using hosting companies for over 14 years now and they are horrible. I mean its one issue after another and I can see Im not alone here. I mean its always this issue with malware and sites being infected. No other host has been like this for me and then once the sites get infected, they do nothing to help and send insulting responses that make you feel like your alone and have zero help. Im in process now of moving every site I have with them and they get zero stars from me and I should have moved these sites a long time ago and this is what you get for being lazy. DO NOT use IX Webhosting, there are so many other great choices.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

IX Web hosting is AWEFUL! Stay away from this provider. The shared server option goes down on a weekly basis. Switched email a long time ago as the email service went down for several days several times. I was talked into moving part of my web site to their cloud server option and was assured that I would get 24/7 live person service...did not happen. Certainly not a hosting solution for a business. Total run around. The only thing that the Platinum Technical service got me was a large bill to talk to an English-speaking rep after waiting on the phone for long periods of time. That was a step up from chatting with a foreigner who spoke very poor English. They told me that they could migrate my system from the shared server to the dedicated server in a month...it took 6 months and still did not work. Stay away.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Absolute Jokers! Like many others in here I have been with them since 2009, it was brilliant the first year or two then things went downhill...

Server kept getting virus and my code was blamed for me, I was told off by them for using up more than 3GB memory (I had an "unlimited" account!)

Constantly lock down my account and raise a ticket along the lines of 'ToS Fair Use - Web Server Overload' or 'ToS Violation - Malicious software' or 'ToS - File storage'

I only host WordPress and always keep it up to date with latest version without using any fancy plugins etc.

AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

There e-mail has been consistently slow. Now my e-mail is down as it was about 4 days ago. The "support" is a joke. I spent three hours on the chat support. Instead of resolving the issue, and they just reset my DNS record and said that was the problem and to wait 24 to 48 hours!!!

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

IX webhosting is simply outdated... Outdated technology, outdated servers, outdated business structure and demotivated team.
When I first started out with them in 2007 they were good... uptime constantly at 99%, support responses within 6 hours, occaisional communication from the CEO about upgrades.

Now they are a sad shell of what they used to be. Disinterested tech and customer support respond when they are in the mood and mostly they just respond by throwing their rediculously updated ToS book in your face: Their servers got hacked - shut down without warning to sort out the mess, and end up upgrading nothing. You get an influx of traffic, shut down your websites for violating a new fair usage rule in their ToS. Somebody hacks the web servers and sends spam using their insecure smtp servers, still your problem as they block all your accounts till they discovered the IP sending the emails was in China. Turn back on after forcing you to change all your passwords... guess what? they got hacked again and did the same.

The control panel is old and they never upgraded their systems. There's no CDN / Cloudflare, no SSL webservers, nothing. Just slow servers that send the first website byte in sometimes more than 1000 ms.

The biggest crapper was when they silently introduced a stupid paid feature (ability to upgrade domains to dedicated IP) without confirmation or permission, just put a 9 dollar per month feature on my billing account and had it in the small print that it is not refundable. When I objected they very rudely told me that since I can cancel the service within 29 days of initiation without being charged I had no reason to be unhappy, and that I should keep aware of the messages they post on my hosting account!

Moving out all my websites as we speak right now.

Just stay away.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Used for about a decade for three different domains. IXWebhosting has gone absurd with monumentally incompetent customer "NO SERVICE" idiocy. I quit. Went there personally today (only live 10 minutes from their location). They STILL refused to help. Won't give me the EPP code required to transfer my registration to a much better, less expensive competitor. Nothing but stalls and threats. They could have me removed from their building because no one is supposed to be there!? Really. RUN! This place is 8X the price of my new hosting company and the new company has never failed to politely SOLVE MY TECHNICAL PROBLEMS. If you value your business, RUN! If they aren't threatening or blaming you for their failures, they'll fecklessly open another of the "tickets". I don't want tickets, I want services I pay for. Anyway, pulling all content today and never looking back. Feels better already! ;)

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have been with ixwebhosting since 2005. Recently i got DMCA notification about copyright issue of one mp3 file which was being hosted with ixwebhosting. I have 6 websites hosted in my account, So what ixwebhosting did, they actually suspended my whole accounts. So file was hosted in site - A but they blocked everything.

I responded to their ticket, and they asked to file a counter DMCA notification ( a document which should have been signed by me ) anyways, i uploaded the document and after 36 hours they responded that it will take 10-14 business days for other party to respond and my account will stay suspended during that time period.

For hosting I pay them 14.75 USD / month

Shocked, miserably helpless and totally Disappointed - That's my experience with ixwebhosting.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I am a web professional who has used IX Web Hosting for several years. Recently they moved their US support overseas. They obviously think that increased profits are more important than customer satisfaction. I used to get very good support. Now, my questions are not understood and not answered. It is worse than terrible. Recently they did a server migration during a business day! A key client of mine has been without their website the entire day. They think it's fixed, but it is now and are now ignoring my requests for help.

Good bye IX. You used to be good. I hope you enjoy your extra profits at the expense of losing long-time customers!

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

IX Web Hosting Sucks now! I had been with them for over seven years and up until today, May 15, 2014, they were great for my needs. Now my website is by no means complicated and my use of IX web hosting would fall under very basic. My greatest use and demand fell under email use. To send and receive. emails. Any time I ever had a problem, which was maybe once or twice in any given year, all I ever had to do was call and by the time my phone call was done the problem or question would be answered. If I had to be transferred to a supervisor or to someone else to resolve my issue it was done without incident.

Today however no one can resolve my problem, and they even tried to blame register.com, claiming that Register.com has their main server set to NS25 and NS26 which does not match IX web hosting. My site is up and running. My problem is I cannot get into my email. When I pointed this out to the person I spoke to he told me a supervisor would call me back shortly. After several hours of waiting, and no call back I called them again only to get someone who could barley speak English. Now I have no problem with people who actually know what they are doing regardless of where they are from, but a supposed tech who can barely speak English and does not know anything about tech support, should not be answering the tech support phone of company that is suppose to be based out of Ohio

It's fairly obvious that IX Web hosting has gone the rout of many other companies with outsourcing, which is fine if you can keep up the service you have provided in the past. But since they obviously can no longer provide their customer with what use to be excellent customer service I would recommend you run away from this company. And if you are thinking of using them because the price, remember that paying for horrible customer service will cause you more trouble than it is worth.

Websites are suppose to be fairly instant and keep you in touch with your public or potential customers. Can you really afford to be out of commission for up to 24 hours or longer, while you now have to wait for someone to get back to you? My site has nothing to do with paying customer but people still need to get in touch with me and I need to be able to get in touch with people. And 24 hour or even one hour can at times be too long to be out of touch.

So hats off to whoever turned IX web hosting into a colossal pile of manure.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I've been using ixwebhosting for a number of years now so I have extremely good knowledge of them. I initially chose them because they were one of the few hosting companies that offered unlimited domain name hosting on one server (plus unlimited bandwidth, unlimited disk space etc...) and most others didn't, or at least not even close to their price. They have a NUMBER of issues that make them horrible: 1. Uptime - Your website is either NOT up or takes more than a minute to load a page (or it never fully loads leaving you with half the content on the page missing). 2. Their add on's won't function properly (such as webalizer) - I contacted them FOUR times to get this working and FINALLY they got it working after telling me it was working the first 3 times. 4. Lack of any good support at all - Their support is the WORST in the industry. They never know how to fix a problem and ALWAYS tell you that they'll put in a support ticket for you and even then, don't expect it to get resolved the first time. 5. FTP is SLOWER than molasses - Expect to wait forever for files to upload! I'm a web developer for a living and like to offer domain hosting to people I build web applications for. How the heck can I do that when they can't even reach my site properly? They may look like a good deal, but they are not. If you don't mind not being able to access your website most of the time, then they are the company for you. Oh, I just finished building a web application for a local sports bar and they bought their own hosting through the company with Danica Patrick as the spokesperson if you know what I mean, and let me tell you! Wow the difference. Things worked. There was no waiting for ANYTHING. There were no issues. I didn't know what to do! I only wish that company offered unlimited domain name, bandwidth and disk space for one server and I'd sign up now!

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have been with IX Webhosting for years. I have weathered their growing pains and server issues, but stuck with them because of their customer service and good value. I recently talked with a rep over there that called about recent issues, which I thought was very good customer service. What I didn't know was they were planning to outsource their customer service. I called with a simple issue and could not get anyone who knew what they were doing. It was a simple domain transfer and I had all the info and initiated it through my control panel. The first rep just couldn't understand what I was talking about and kept telling things that didn't have to with what I was calling about. I called a second time and talked with another rep that also was tech savvy and couldn't figure out what I was talking about. He said they would email me and repeated my email, which was not mine. He was not even looking at the right account. So, what should have been a simple issue resolved in a few minutes was never resolved and they would not transfer me to someone who knew how to solve the issue. I was on the phone for over an hour and only left with frustrations. I will be looking to move all my domains to another hosting service because of this. I have been with them for years and stuck with them in the tough years and feel like they have forgotten that the customer is the only reason they are in business. I gave them a low mark on value because if I cannot get service, then there is not value. In the past, I would have given them 5 stars for service, but this change is really a deal breaker for me. Sorry IX, but I guess it is time to move on.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

If I could rate IX Webhosting even lower I would. I started using them several years ago and like other people they rocked. Recently, they have started to limit services to older customers like free domains with hosting account. The thing that bothers me the most, is if they see anything suspicious they halt your services altogether instead of calling or emailing. I am starting to look at other hosting providers as loosing emails and websites randomly shutting off is not acceptable to business.

Another thing that bothers me are the lack of updates to servers. I wanted to run a ruby on rails site in version 1.9.3 (shoulld be a reasonable request as the are time of this writing ruby on rails is at version 4.1) but nope. They are not able to accommodate to bump up from 1.8.7. I also had similar issues with php.

Seriously, steer clear of this hosting provider.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

Yes, ix webhosting sucks. Their tech support is virtually non-existent unless you enjoy waiting 45 minutes or so to talk to a tech who is trying hard but who may not understand what you're talking about unless you speak Russian. The good news is, he "deeply regrets" the problem you"re having. Tickets are usually responded to in four or five days. Their so-called manual is virtually useless and their Help files way out of date. Their interface software is clunky and badly needs updating. They have hosted my site for about 5 years, but I can't see that they offer anything to justify their relatively high fees. Look elsewhere for web hosting.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I had shared hosting with them and when i installed Wordpress website they asked me to move to VPS and when i refused they start saying that they willl not support this website . My website db was only 5 MB and only 300 posts .

they called my cell phone number of time to move to VPS which i refused and they start opening ticket just to hassle me . Evrytime i called they why they opened ticket , ix web hosting sayed that there sales peopel want to let me know that i need to move to VPS REALLY .

Never go with them if you have any business website and using any CMS like wordpress .

★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have been with IX since 2005, but this was over 2 different accounts. At first they rocked, but slowly started declining the services. It started when they decided to stop honoring smalls sales perks like 3 free domains mid-contract. They do this a lot, change the terms for new sales and apply these terms to current contracts. Next the start spamming your inbox with great new interface and looks. Wow you can now have Badges .. I won a badge for living in California. All this for the privilege having to click 3 additional times to get to my control panel. Next to go was the tech support. In an effort to squeeze even more money out of an aging infrastructure they started over selling and putting hosting in on demand clouds. I was sitting right there looking at a failed launch of a new domain inside the virtual machine ... while the tech support readily denied they were doing this. Next they told me if I was having trouble getting my clients to sites because they white listed the WordPress installations without notifying anyone I should have them use Hide My Ass proxy. The up time fell apart of the on demand system they did not install. You site is launch maybe, it you call the award winning software they will log in to your site and click refresh till it loads and say it works for them and suggest you refresh your browser a few time. They continue to degrade the professional package and shared hosting until it is actually useless. My advice is to just stay away from IX

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have been a customer of IX for about five or six years. Worked all right for a simple website but for ASP.Net/SQL Server development stay away. I have a few small projects I'm working on but avoided doing so very much because, frankly, something was always broken or down. My projects aren't that complex compared to some others - no esoteric custom controls, simple SQL databases. The web applications were always flaky, lots of crashes, just didn't work right. For heaven's sake, I'm just using VS2008 and, as I said, doing a simple web app.

I nearly gave up my projects thinking that maybe *I* just wasn't cut out for web development. As a last-ditch effort I changed to WinHost. Now absolutely everything in my projects works as expected. SQL access is easy and fast, no more page dropouts or application state getting lost. Like night and day.

IX was always courteous to me but it would often take 2 to 3 days before a detailed answer came back (often wrong). With Winhost, I almost fell out of my chair when I got a detailed answer to a setup problem I was having - in 5 minutes! Took me most of yesterday afternoon but I transferred my domains, got everything set up and it all WORKS. I didn't realize how bad IX was until I found WinHost.

★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I hate to have to submit this review as I have always been happy with IX Web Hosting. I found them when I did a search for hosting companies when Go Daddy had a melt down and my website was down for days due to their inadequate servers. So I got on board with IX Web Hosting because they offered 10 Dedicated IP's, unlimited bandwidth for the low price of $7.95

Whenever I had a problem I just called them and they would fix what ever needed to be fixed. Very personable, they went out of there way to make tweaks to my site that I didn't know how to do as far as server, .htaccess file and blog changes. Go Daddy never offered that type of attention.

The one thing I appreciated from them was when there was a hiccup with their servers they would own it and fix it within a short time period. Go Daddy support was always very condescending making it seem like I was only experience the problem telling me to refresh my cache insulting my knowledge. When they full well knew they were having server problems. I get it there is no 100% uptime but at least own it when your down.

So ya, in the past my experiences with IX were very good. Fast forward to the present and like a good relationship suddenly gone wrong it's all unraveling before me. I'm so done with them! They have had a complete melt down twice with in an 8 day period. 1st incident happened on Feb 22 , IX servers were down for 2 whole days thus so was my website. They recovered, apologized, and we moved on. Today, March 4th, again I am on my 3rd day with no hosting service and no email. My very lucrative blog has been black since Sunday morning, it's now Wednesday! ETA is estimated for late Thursday!! The maddening part I have all my "personal stuff" (website data, wordpress database etc.) all tied up on there server so I can't transfer anything over to a new hosting company until IX Web Hosting goes back up. It's so maddening!!

In the meantime I'm losing customers, sales & money! So very unacceptable. We're through IX Web Hosting! It was good, but now you blew it. I no longer trust you with my business.

#You'reFired #EpicFail #Fail

★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

When IX is up and running it is fine. But over the last couple years, I have experienced more & more down times. I am currently going on my third day without email and they still cannot tell me when they will get my email back up and running. I am far from alone - there are over 1,000 comments of angry customers on their status site... with still no estimated time of getting our email back up. It's pretty hard to run a business without being able to send or receive email - much less for 3 plus days. Absolutely ridiculous - Trust me - find another web hosting company!!!

★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have been a customer of IXwebhosting since 2005, at that time it was the best value on the market. If offered site studio tools which made it nice for someone like me, who didn't have web construction experience. Everything was very easy to use, uptime was good and I didn't have any complaints. By 2007 I needed to add another website, so I upped my plan. Again It was very nice. The past three years, 2011- 2013 things started to change. The rates for hosting doubled, and my domain names were no longer free. They "updated" the website applications (basically changed the layout- nothing was updated or upgraded) and I was expected to pay more with nothing additional to show for it. Also they wanted to tack on extra services so I could pay even more : keeping my information private, getting me to buy a dedicated IP addy etc. To me, they went from being the best deal on the market to being the biggest add on expense on the market. I don't know who is to blame, but I have already moved my domains and am doing with a different hosting company. I would not recommend IX Web Hosting.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

This is the worst host ever. I've two accounts with them. One of my account used 120MB of disc space and all my sites were taken down for fair-use resource usage. Fair Usage should start from at least a few GBs and mine was using only hundred & twenty megabytes.

You know what the worst part of all this is? The websites were taken down without giving me any kind of notice or sending me an email. A ticket was auto generated but I was never informed. Guess their emailing system is as shitty as their hosting. Following is what their ticket say:

"We are notifying you that your account has been found to violate our 'Fair-Use' Resource Assignment portion of our Terms of Service, due to the amount of disk usage that is being used".

Guess I'll have to find myself another host. And I'd advise anyone reading this to do your research and stay away from IX.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

STAY AWAY FROM IXWEBHOSTING !!

Especially their Shared hosting account which according to me can be used for nothing more than a 'closed' development sandbox.
I have been their Shared hosting client since 2001 and been mainly using it for email and some small development test. Last year I decided to take a small forum online and then I painfully discovered all the hidden limitations.

1. They have serious email restriction which they do not disclosed anywhere but merely mentioned in a general FUP statement. When probbing further, one get to know about 25/mail, 300/hr and 5000/month hard limit. Any mail volumes more than this limit this is simply dropped without any archive or record !
2. To overcome above, one goes and subscribes to an external SMTP service. But then you are told that Shared hosting are not allowed to pass emails to thrid party SMTP hosts - no allowed to authenticate !!!
3. Complained many times about the antiquated CP and 90s era file management functionality. No response.
4. Notice nowadays at some times, your webpages start timing out perhaps because of too much web traffice load on some Servers.

For all the issues, they politely apologize and request you to upgrade to their expensive VPS or cloud hosting. You cannot even claim refund for the unused portion of paid up terms.

I would however compliment a few of their outsourced technical support team, who has gone overboard at times and helped me. example replacing their default antiquated Horde webmail with a custom webmail app of my own and few others.

As for me, I am moving to AWS/openStack hosting or some other productive service.

Thomas.

★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have been with IXwebhosting with Unlimited Pro for 5 years. It was pretty good until end of 2013. The website was blocked by multiple times without a clear explanation. I will not recommend IX Web Hosting.

★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

very bad server i never recommended to any one to go with iX , they are not treat you as customer they are in just impression that they are really providing service as FOC , if you start chat with technical department , they people just do copy and past regarding your problem, even technical person dont have technical knowledge , really bad service that i never face from any other server provider

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Control panel is poor...real poor.
All administration is looks like 20 years old.
Sorry for say this, but domain and files manager sucks.
Many cool features that are existing in other hosts are missing, such as CMS installations, ez navigation,...etc.

★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

I've been with IX Web Hosting since 2004. At the time and even for the last 8 years they have been great. Every once in a while my plan would gain more space (now unlimited), and bandwidth. Which made me as a customer appreciate the service even more. Now the past year, they had killed off two of my domains. What used to be "free" three domain names included is no longer the case. It was only free for the first year, that policy had changed, Not sure exactly when but I never was concerned with the domains until this year, they auto renewed with my hosting plan. But they had changed that.

I consider my self a prime customer for a hosting company. Barely use any space (Probably under 1GB total in data. And about 10 visitors a month, it was more for family use. And had always paid the due amount. So I figured we would be considered to be customers they would like to keep. They do not renew the domain names anymore automatically, So partially my fault for not checking every month, but the domain had expired and was now picked up by a domain "parker". Which shouldn't have happened if IX had held on and renewed my domain. This made me not very happy with this provider. Of course I am stuck in their new "contract" of sorts until the end of April. So 6 more months with a host that doesn't hold any of my domains.

Lastly they began to start deleting files of mine, and it wasn't just specific files, they were random, were it family pictures, or wallpapers, or Videos. And videos being family videos, they weren't even large either. They would just delete them, I've contacted them before in regards to why and they stated it was copyrighted material. Not sure whats copyright material about a video of the kids opening christmas presents, and no music was in the background.

I highly recommend to NOT use their service.

★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I got a lot of server overload messages.. it makes my live very hard.. - the strange that I have domains on other 3 hosting providers but never get that messages and they never close my hosting for a days till I dont know why the "overload" normalized... Uhhh.. I will never take this host again.. it cost too much for that service.. :(

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

been with IX for 8 years now, and sorry to say that IX but you FAILED. From my experience and analysis, this company went the wrong way for some reason and what ever it is, they are pretty much are on the survivors edge and not the stable busioness solution for the people that wants to host.

Anyways to make it short, don't waste your money energy and time.

good luck IX im moving out in 2 weeks with my 16 domains and wesbites

★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

When I signed up for IX Web Hosting two years ago, I was under the impression that I could cancel anytime. However, when I asked to cancel after two years of my three year contract, I was advised that the rules had changed several months ago and that it was no longer possible to cancel. When I inquired as to whether my account was grandfathered under the old rules, the answer was "no."

I am, to say the least, unimpressed with IX Web Hosting and cannot recommend them here. I am attaching below the response I got from their billing department:

Dear User,

I apologize, however, per our Terms of Service you have passed the 90 Day Money Back Guarantee and do not qualify for a refund. Your account has been set to not renew and will expire on Oct-19-2014 with no further charges. If, instead, you would like for the account to be canceled now and access to it removed, please let us know, via this ticket, and we will process your request. As always if you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to ask.

Should you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us, we are available 24/7.
Respectfully
Karina Nagornova
Customer Relations Dpt.

★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Websites are constantly down. I have multiple hosting plans and they randomly become unavailable. Very frustrating. For the money, I am probably going to switch to a company like GoDaddy or Amazon.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Windows hosting 2nd day is down, nothing but promises, and this is across the entire platform, not a local problem.

People are screaming, and as answer past and copy "Sorry for Inconvenience"!!!!!!

★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have been hosting sites at IX Web Hosting for several years. Suddenly, unlimited disk usage became less than 20 GB. No respect for my past patronage. Just get it under 20 or we will shut you down. Fortunately, my customers worked with me and we were able to meet their specs. I am currently looking for a more honest service.
Pror to this, I had been a very happy customer for years but will have to abandon this service.
Beware! Beware!

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have been with them for many years, no real issues. Now I am getting system generated messages saying I am using too much space.

Doesnt matter that I delete files, their system keeps coming after me, threatening to cut me off.

Good company until recently, now - stay away!!!

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

No support whatsoever. Sites hosted there are extremely slow, attitude of the staff if "well you have too much pictures". Or we should have known to host on ANOTHER server because this server is no good. Well we do not select the server, they do. Somehow any server we end up on is no good and site is moved again with 3 days of downtime.

Now they are completely down. HAVE BEEN FOR 2 DAYS. Here is the message agents give "The issue is related to DDoS attack against our nameservers. Our tech team is informed about the problem and is currently working to fix it. The work on the problem took longer than we had expected. Now all the efforts of our administrators are focused on fixing the problem. It will be resolved in the nearest time. Unfortunately there's no exact time frame for the problem being resolved. . Sorry again and thank you for understanding."

No I do not understand this. How can a hosting company be down, all of it and for prolonged period of time? They have no security, rude argumentative staff without any technical knowledge. Whenever you call - it is always something you doing wrong or "It fine on my end." Those chat support agent sitting in Russia have no clue of what they are doing and their instructions contradict what phone agents say.

For some reasons their web servers loaded to the point that they cannot function. Agents and supervisors admit that they got too many clients with too little technical support and too little capacity of the hardware and software. Control panel and all back end interfaces are old and cumbersome to use, very slow and often unresponsive.

We moved all but 2 sites to other hosting companies – and nobody has this much problems, this little uptime and such incompetent support staff. Worst hosting ever. Nightmare to deal with. Save your nerves, time and money and go someplace else.

★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

We had been hosting with IXwebhosting for over 10 years. Within the last few months we started getting "system generated tickets". It was never ending. We had 6 files that we hosted for our customers to download (credit app etc). All we used the service for was for email and hosting these files.

We got another system generated message telling us one of our accounts was sending spam. Not a dig deal as sh*t happens. Well... Instead of disabling this one account, IX decided to suspend the entire domain!!! All emails accounts were turned off.... That makes sense... I went in and changed the password for the one offending account and asked that the email for the domain be turned on... It was... for a few days. I then got a message that I needed to change the password for ALL my email accounts, even though none were suspected of sending spam. I was expected to change all the email accounts, then contact contact all the users and have them change their passwords as well...

I asked to see the TOS where is says I must do this... I got no response. So now they have turned off my email again !!! I'm moving to another host, these people have no idea what they are doing !! F-Them......

You have choices, just don't chose these dopes !!

★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

We've been with IX webhosting for over 5 years. In the past year they decided to change the server settings for "performance" reasons. Instead of better performance we are now not able to upload files from a web page larger than 7MB. I've been working with their support and they will fix it sometimes. Other times they will pull the "performance" card and tell us they can't fix it.

The reality is that their server admins don't know what they are talking about or are lying. They say they are doing this for "performance", yet the limitations they placed actually inhibit performance not help.

IX Webwosting is openly willing to limit your websites functionality for their own gain. They say it's for everyone's gain but it's not...

Save yourself the hassle. Go with another hosting service...

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Ix Web Hosting has turned out to have the poorest customer support that we have ever experienced. Their platform of Parallel Plesk fails in so many ways. It installs apps across all domains hosted by IX instead of installing on one domain only. Their support has failed to correct or come up with any logical explanation. This has caused us to lose entire websites, which had to be rebuilt from the ground up.

Their response time to issues has left several of our 7 hosted sites down for days at a time.

Their responses fail to solve the issues and require ticket response only. The financial cost has been tremendous.

I can no longer recommend this company for cloud hosting.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have been with I x web hosting since 2002 In the beginning they were wonderful Service was good and dependable. Also they had site builder. The last two years have been horrible. They no longer support site builder and that's how they got clients. They have terrible support and issues on hosting constantly.
It use to be you could call and speak to someone in Kentucky and get help. Now it's a call center tech that doesn't speak English and cannot help.
Leaving them - and do not recommend.
I had hopes they would pull it together. Not happening!

★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

Not unlimited, have been with them since 2007, in the last 3 weeks they say I violated the tos because the 20 websites total over 100,000 total files, they are threatening to turn it off. Control panel very poor, can't delete files that I want to delete. Support of no real help. Stay away!! Far away!!

★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Our websites are down- all in name of phishing attack.
It is being told to us that old version of WordPress are reason for this.
I would like to discuss with users – is this correct explanation for phishing ?

And who gives rights to down our websites- You should have asked us to upgrade.
But admins choose to delete ….:( and this is called SUPPORT.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I used IX webhosting for about 4 years with no problems. Then one day they decided to start blocking my URL's and said it was because it was overloading the server. I went and updated my sites, updated my robots.txt and added every known search eng bot to a blocked list and still they complained saying i was overloading the server. How can a site overload a server who gets 50 hits a day and has every known bot blocked from access? They are rude and demanding and really enjoy acting like your less a person then them. They block your sites without your knowledge then send you an email telling you they did it. Once you jump through enough hoops to make them happy they take another 24 hours to unblock your site. Then as if your not good enough they say well we are going to monitor your sites for 48 hours. Then you get more emails saying your still causing a load and we will have to block you again. Its rediculas to have to deal with these people, I have never had these issues in my 10 years using hosting plans. Sickening

★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

After investing countless hours and moving a number of clients to this "unlimited" hosting service, I found out my biggest customer site was down. No notice, just down. I called Customer service and was told I had over the limit (unlimited=very limited) CPU usage. Was told it was in the TOS agreement, though not in the advertisement.

They put me back up for 48 hours so I could try to figure out what was happening. They can monitor stuff, but I cannot. I'm in the dark, turning back bots, restricting IP addresses. You'd better be a programmer. This customer is so tangled up with a hybrid IIS+WordPress site, that it was a nightmare to set up, plus her email users all like IMAP which they don't understand. So moving to another webhost would be a real problem.

I'm sorry I didn't read and understand the TOS agreement more carefully, since it is NOT in my favor. I relied on the lies in the pages of their site.

I would only recommend this hosting service if you are incredibly competent, a programmer and not dependent upon uptime.

★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have been with IX webhosting since 2005 and I am 100% satisfied. I can not think of one bad thing to say. The price is great, the uptime is great, the features are great and the customer support rocks. In the rare chance that I have to call customer support, not only does a live person answer but they speak English and are super friendly. Their tech support speaks to you like a real person and not like you are a moron for calling, and they are not in a hurry to get you off the phone. They will talk with you and keep you informed until the problem is solved. The last time I had to call was because I screw something up and they even offered suggestions to help me so things would run smoother. They didn't make me feel like it was my fault (even though it was) It is nice to know that customer support is in Columbus, OH and not India. A+++++

★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I am basically echoing M Belcher's review:
---

All went well with IXWebHosting (where this site is hosted at the moment) until a couple of weeks back, when they started requiring some of the space-demanding content removed. They rationalised, that I am breaking their TOS by having some of the content, which is not accessible from the web-site. I conceded (there were a few files there that I kept as back-up) and removed that content. They then proceeded attacking the content, which constitutes a part of my web site here:

http://stanislavs.org/videoprojects/?page_id=6

They demand that I remove the video files from my video projects, that I made available for download and still claim that I am breaking TOS by having large files on my site.
This is ridiculous. Following this logic, they may as well start demanding that any site they host, which has anything more than pure HTML (or even that), remove any content.

They are boasting unlimited space, and that was one of the selling points, yet now they seem to be in real trouble and cannot afford buying a few more hard disks/servers!

I am now in the process of looking for another web hosting service, and I am unsure if IXWebHosting will refund a full year worth of prepaid services, that they are effectively terminating.

Steer clear of them!

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

I used IX Webhosting for a number of years. Their definition of "unlimited" seems to be off. It reminds me of one time, years ago, I took a date to the Olive Garden and ordered their Never Ending Sausage and Pasta. It turned out the "never ending sausage" ended at two sausages, and IX Webhosting "unlimited" has limits, very short ones at that.

Another issue I had was their "legal" department. Once, somoene filed a DMCA complaint about one of my websites, but my attorney pointed out that their "complaint" did not even allege any DMCA violation. IX Webhosting said it did not matter, and gave me an ultimatum to acquiesce to the complaint or they would take the site down. I acquiesced and they took the site down anyway.

My advice? Go elsewhere for hosting.

★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Well, I have been customer for 4 years, had to qiut now, as it is way too expensive (could find 2-4 times cheaper with same quality and rules). What else to say ?
Upload speed via ftp (and teir web ftw) is no more than 50KB/s (yes, you read right 400Kbps) at any time or on any internet 9I have 15Mbps up, works well with anything else, so the problem is on their side, as I have second internet as well, average up is 45KB/s on ixwebhosting), and that is quite a bit of a problem, if you want to share your vacation pictures quickly with friends.. (So the upload needs an entire night to complete).
Anyway, not sure about the "unlimited" things as i never used more than 1GB of space and so on.. Anyway, I think they stangnate, used to be very good, but they froze in time, that means byebye customers and byebye business in modern age.. Therefore, byebye ixwebhosting.

★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have had an account with IX web hosting for 2 years. Recently we uploaded some videos (didn't think there'd be a problem, since we supposedly have unlimited disk space.) However according to my info on google webmaster tools, the site has been down quite alot (loads of "unable to crawl" errors. So I decided to move my site elsewhere. Guess what? Even though my billing renewal was set to "manual", they went ahead and charged my credit card.

Two thumbs down.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Before becoming a customer, read reviews at several sites showing how awful customer support could get with this company. I did literally wait for hours to get minimum support and many times only after complaining I go some help.

I have been using IXWebhosting for several years, and it's been very frustrating. I could not change to other provider because of different reasons which would have taken time, extra effort and challenges migrating several websites and getting all necessary knowledge to make it work.

Finally, I decided to do it, and it took me a while to get everything ready with new hosting service, but I did. 10 days ago I directly contacted IXwebhoting billing department and cancelled account. Then I got an email message stating a ticket was created about "request", so my account was not cancelled! It's been 10 day since then. I did send two email messages to Ixwebhosting asking them to please close my account and issue refund as requested 10 days ago. They have only replied once, asking me to confirm the last 4 digits of my credit card! Hey, I did call by phone and provided everything they requested when cancelled my account. Now they wait 10 days and ask me for my credit card number in my profile? Well, I did reply confirming information, but still nothing happened. I cannot waste my time with Ixwebhosting anymore. It's been very frustrating experience for years, and now it couldn't get worse. Nonsense for them to keep my money, like retaliating since I finally stopped using their services.
Please does seriously think twice before wasting your money , time and peace on IXWebhosting. The almost 6 years I used their services I have seen how gradually worse they have been getting, while increasing their advertisement and inflating their ego, stating there are the best of everything while only got worse. Not good at all!

★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I signed up with IXWebhosting several years ago, they seemed to offer great value, and years later I still agree. Everywhere else charges extra for dedicated IP's but here it's the default. (Subdomains are shared, but the parent domain is dedicated.)

My website is fairly basic and only uses 1% of the resources made available to me, so my uptime and bandwidth, etc. has been awesome.

I love the fact that I can call 24x7 with people I think in either Ohio or Kentucky. I have chatted online at times and had an ok experience, but I always get my questions answered in a timely manner. (I never open a ticket because my time to work on the website is limited and when I need something answered, I need it now.) Also, they have gotten me unstuck from a few situations where I made a complete mess of my site.

The only reason I am looking to move elsewhere is the Mysql and PHP versions are too old to handle Drupal 7.0 and I want to use that for my next version of my site. They recently upgraded their own website, and will be upgrading their webmail portals soon (FINALLY!), so I hope they start offering newer versions of Mysql and php soon too. But I am not going to wait around for them to do that. Overall, I recommend it for people whose websites don't need to use much resources.

★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

very bed, they reply the tickets very late. We are not happy with support. We have unlimited hosting account but we realize that they have CPU usage limite.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have very mixed feelings. They can be excellent providing advice through the 24/7 instant chat hotline. That's great. On the other hand, what is supposed to be "unlimited' turns out to be very limited. Unlimited space often means that they will force you using less space or they will shut down your site. Bandwith, which they say is 'unlimited' is also limited. They will shut down all of your sites even if only one of your sites is over the bandwith. What the extent of the bandwith is, they will not tell you, They will not even tell you how you can monitor your bandwith. Basically you are at their mercy. It can be very naughty business, and they don't care if you loose customers. After they close all your domains, they will take their time to respond to our questions. Rarely will they offer good advise. Their standard advice is "buy one of our plans that costs 10 times as what you're paying now".

Their own server has also been down far too often.

★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

IXWebhosting has horrible customer service from the Ukraine. Most of the time they can't communicate in English (through their online chat). Constant transfers to another person without any explanations. The next person takes 10 minutes to read the 5 lines from the previous chat which only consists of "I'm checking the problem." Many short outages. Your site probably goes out a few minutes multiple times a day.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I started with IX Webhosting in 2007 and as one reviewer mentioned up to 2010 they were great.

But as a photographer, one of the reasons I went with IX is because in great big letters on the front of their website are the words "Unlimited Disk Space"

Unlimited means unlimited, right?

Well, fast forward to December of 2012 and all of a sudden they are taking my website down because ToS Fair Use General (Disk Space Usage) telling me that I have to have no more than 15 gigs of data on my site.

Funny thing though -- if you look at the front of the website, they are STILL advertising "Unlimited Disk Space" --

At the end of wedding season, with all my weddings for the year online? THAT'S not going to happen.

After reading reviews I went with Hostgator and so far they have been great.

If I could have given IX less than 1 star, I totally would have. No reputable company should take your website down from being online numerous times without warning

★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

We've been hosting with IX Web since their first year. That's over a decade of customer loyalty. We have five small, very small, sites for non-profits and extremely low traffic. Two weeks ago our traffic soared on one of them. IX Web shut down ALL of our sites for TOS Violation. Our site had been hit by a bot and SQL Injection. Rather than assist us, they just gave us a list of things that we could do. We're not back end programmers. We were off line for a week as we learned about SQL and vulnerabilities. Al;l the while, we were unable to work on the site through the c-panel because they blocked us. Finally, not thanks to IX Web, we changed some SQL settings, added some other files designed to block bots and were back up. Four days later we were pulled off line again by IXW. This time it was not SQL injection but.... I don't know. They locked us out. WHY DOES IX WEB NOT PROVIDE A SECURE ENVIRONMENT FOR HOSTING? Should they not know how to block bots? How to secure their servers and maintain quality hosting? Does being a decades long customer have any value to IX Web Hosting? Apparently not. I found this site looking for a new host. It is the Saturday before Christmas, 3 AM. and here I am having to restore five sites thanks to the "do as little as we can" attitude of IX Web. (Caveat: If you get a US based tech on the phone the service is at least kindly. Their chat and ticket based service is all eastern European and common sense and understanding seem to be lost in translation.)

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have been with IX Web Hosting since June of 2008 & have experienced little to no issues what so ever. And any issue I have had has been typically fixed in 24 hours or less. I have actually downgraded my Hosting plan from the Unlimited Pro to the expert plan (do to my personal economy) & that was a breeze I thought I might have to fight for a credit but, nope they just adjusted my billing for me.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Disk Space is LIMITED to 15GB. beware. the unlimited advertising on their site is a lie. They asked me to delete 7GB from my site to meet the 15Gb limit, or they would shut down my site. That is simply DECEIVING PEOPLE.

★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

Pretty crummy host. My email is constantly going down. (probably my site as well). The Management interface is impossible to navigate and looks like it's from the dawn of the internet. Only reason I picked this host was I found a coupon code that saved me a good amount of money. Well it's not worth it. Pay a little more and get something like a rackspace cloud server(depending on your needs, may cost less) or mediatemple.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

My favorite thing about IX is the support team - whatever the question/issue I had and whether I called them by phone or through the live chat they were willing and able to assist me above and beyond my expectations.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

This has been an outstanding services that is a terrific return on investment. I have researched a number of hosting providers for both myself and clients and I just keep coming back to IX Web Hosting over and over. They just can't be beat!

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

The only thing I don't like about IX is that I can't assign different access accounts to different domains in one hosting product. That would be the best, just like I can do it with FTP. It would be awesome if we could give our clients a particular login/password to access just their domain control panel.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

They said unlimited disk space on their web site. My sites were pulled down and the tech support said I needed to reduce my file size from 56 GB to 15 GB .. YES overnight. When I asked why they say "unlimited disk space" on their web site they sent me a canned terms and service agreement that says Ix web hosting users understand that there are limits on technology, blah blah. Basically why not say limited if its limited ? False advertising protected by some kind of terms of service that nobody reads - beware.

Secondly - they also said that my sites were getting too much "CPU" activity on them and because its a shared hosting provider, they said I needed to look into what scripts were causing this CPU overload. I had THREE of my tech guys look at the sites and said they didn't see anything wrong with them.. so again I have no clue what's going on but I know I'm definitely changing hosts.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I used ixwebhosting for a year. I am not a high tech guy but I know what I am looking.

1. ixwebhosting offers poor customer service. Most of the time, they say that you are having issue because you do not have "PRO" plan.

2. I am a photographer and I get customer emails for their upcoming events. Many times, they did not get my emails at all which means I am losing all that business. When I call ixwebhosting, they tell me that may be email went to junk email. I always confirmed with my customers and they told me that it is not even in the junk email folder.

3. Web performance is slow. They says online that "Expect plan" has unlimited bandwidth but it is not. When I called them to complain that performance is slow, they asked me to upgrade to PRO version.

4. Inbox is slow: When you click on Inbox to check your emails, it is way to slow. It takes forever to open and reply to one email.

5. They says unlimited disk space but it is not. As mentioned, I am a photographer. After each event, I have to send pictures to my clients. Once they download it, I delete it from the site. Several times, ixwebhosting shutdown my website without out any notice. When I called, I was told that I am using to much disk space comparing many other users. They asked me to delete my files in order to bring up my website online again.

PLEASE do not use this company. You will cry.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Down quite a bit, but the worst thing is their server and other software. I could not update Wordpress to 3.0 when it came out because they were using such an old version of PHP. Today I was informed I couldn’t install a plugin because their version of Apache was too old. They tried to sell me a VPN account. No thanks. When they finally updated PHP, my site was down for days, and I had to move to a new server that took a huge amount of time and a Google rank hit.

They have also canceled the free domain updates and other "lifetime" features (I've been with them for 6 or 7 years now I believe. Time to move on. IX's "control panel" is incredibly an lame POS that looks like something from the last century. And lastly, they have one server farm instead of the two or more that others have. Very slow.

★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I was with IX Webhosting for over four years. At the time, they were one of the highest rated hosts. The first year or two was great. But the last two years, their servers got slower and so did my site. Support has always been "canned" answers first, and only after a lot of back and forth do you feel someone understands what you're talking about. I have to say, most hosts are this way... and I can understand why. Most tech problems are repetitive.

One of the more irritating things IX did was maintenance to servers on Saturday night or Sundays. They forgot that there is a large portion of the world that works during their night hours and on their weekends. Many time I was blocked from the control panel or things simply didn't work properly as a result. There was also an instance when they changed their FTP configurations, and I couldn't figure out how to update my FTP settings. Their control panel / file manager was suffering technical problems and it was very frustrating to say the least.

The last straw was when they changed their "business hosting plan". I was supposed to have two domains registered for free, and was informed a few months ago that they can't afford to do this anymore. In addition to paying for the business plan, I have to pay for registration of two domains! On their site, they were still offering free domains for new clients.

Long story short, I've moved on.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have been with IX for a few years and never really noticed a problem with their hosting reliability. Recently however we have picked up traffic to our website and many times our users have found the website down. Support usually tells us that it is a problem with the internet or that they are being hit with hacks. Needless to say I'm shopping around for a new host because the problems have been on going for the past year and we have had enough.

I find it difficult to actually find a "Real" review site and I hope this one is in fact independent and unbiased.

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have used IX for two years.
Pros: Inexpensive, dedicated IP addresses, good Customer Service.
Cons: Frequent down time.

Customer Service: You need to keep in mind what you are paying, and based on that their US based customer service is good. Forget their ticket system, I have submitted maybe 10 tickets and have received the wrong answer every time. Their pnone us based customer service phone lines are much better. The wait time is less that five minutes, I have had calls answered in less than 20 seconds. I find that the answers are helpful about 80% of the time. When the rep is not helpful you can call back and get another one with little wait. Their personal support rep idea is a joke, you will never speak with your assigned person.

Price: Their Unlimited Pro plan at $6.36 per month (two/three year contract and using coupon) you get 3 name registrations and 15 dedicated IP address, site studio, ulimited site, email etc.

Email: They use Horde email. It is weak but easy to use.

Renewals: They do not let you use the 20% coupons on your renewals

Bottom line: You can host 15 sites with no knowledge of programming for lless than 22 cents per day, without calling India for help. They are geared for very small businesses such as plumbers, real estate etc who want to do their own sites. They accomplish that well.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Most Horrible webhosting i have ever had.. I can't even install wordpress, and they said they will upgrade me to a newer serve and said it will take 2 hours,.. after opening a ticket, i didn't get any response for one day, and the problem didn't get resolved by the end of 2 days, and ended up moving away from them to hostgator..

★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I've signed up for their hosting expert plan service for almost two years considering that they offer cheap and and unlimited hosting, there was an incident that one of my site/s was hacked and all of my websites hosted in the same account suffered the same attack ie; site/s defaced and spam injection links, despite all of my paranoid efforts of securing all core files, only to find out that the problem was in their end. It took them 3 days to restore my site, 3 days of downtime is worth something to me - I lost some traffic, visitors and revenue too.

There are times that the support personnel are responsive and sometimes not. There was a time when I requested for a simple restore of one my site and they said they could no longer offer it - I was wondering - I think that's what you get on cheap hosting - you get compromised.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

This company has very good features, but worst support you can think of, every time you submit a request to support, even if it is simple think, first response you get puts the blame on you. I am moving out from this hosting company because of their terrible support.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Ok, I have only been with them for about 2 weeks, however they seem to offer a huge amount for how little you pay. I have sites being hosted on hostoptima and webhost4life.

Hostoptima is probably faster, but WAY more expensive and have a tendency to nickle and dime you for everything. So far the speed here has been good. The help desk seems good. I have only opened support tickets and not phoned in or used live chat, but the responses are timely (within the hour) and accurate (a few simple steps to solve all the problmes.)

Most of my issues is that the control panel isn't very intuative. However, currently I have 3 sites (with unlimited emails) being hosted here. Absolutly NO COMPLAINTS!.

Compared to webJoke4Life (webstrive4life) opps webhost4life. These guys rock. I will be taking the 30 sites we have hosted there and moving them to these guy's.

Rob

★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Email gets tons of SPAM that is able to bypass their IronPort SPAM filters. Support does not fully read support requests and one must go back and forth with them several times before they will answer any questions. Even then, they first try "stock" answers to try to get you to go away.

If IXWebHosting can get SPAM under control, then the services is great value for the money.

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

* What do you wish you'd known before becoming a customer?
THEY WERE GOOD IN THE BEGINNING (few years ago) BUT NOW SEEM OUT OF DATE
* How have they handled your support queries?
THEY ARE NOT AS QUICK AS I WOULD LIKE
* What level of technical expertise do their customers need?
MEDIUM LEVEL
* How have IX Webhosting handled any problems?
NOT TOO BAD BUT OFTEN SEEM LIKE AN EXCUSE!
* What kind of customer is this host suitable for?
SMALL SIMPLE WEBSITES TO SMALL COMPANIES
* Would you recommend IX Web Hosting to friends?
I DID IN THE PAST BUT NOT ANYMORE

FURTHER INFO
IX Webhosting has average features but Ifound the uploading of files a constant pain, always very slow and having to retry numerous times.

I used IXwebhosting for a few years but as their systems seem to be going out of date I will not be renewing my contract.

VERY USEFUL TIP FROM ME: Do host checks by testing out their own site and one of their customers especially on a package that you are interested in, perhaps by using a free online tools.

e.g.

http://tools.pingdom.com/fpt/

and if necessary do a world wide ping test to check if the hosts web site data packets deliver okay around the earth!

e.g.

http://just-ping.com/index.php

Please note most host providers are generally very good and the saying 'you get what you pay for' is very very true.

Please also note only one simple website is left running on the ix webhosting server, only until the contract ends. I had fourteen with them in the past.

And a big thank you to 'whoishostingthis' website for a place where I can post my comments :-)

★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

How have they handled your support queries? Depends. Some answers were excellent, others were absolutely not and didn't have anything to do with the question I asked.
What level of technical expertise do their customers need? Medium. Knowledge of how FTP works, that's pretty much it. They have nice video tutorials on their site to show how to do this and that.
How have IX Web Hosting handled any problems? Their hardware failed all at the same time once due to a power surge, that was painful. During another server crash, they were kind enough to provide a backup, although it is up to the customer to apply the backup. It is nice for a power user, but not so much for an end user.
What kind of customer is this host suitable for? Medium. Someone who wants a custom domain name and decent, dynamic hosting, but without a screaming server farm. Good for blogs and personal sites, sensitive to Digg/Slashdot.
Would you recommend IX Web Hosting to friends? No.

Other comments: Great value. For the price they charge, it's worth it. But if you're looking for something powerful and stable, look away.
I say "stable" because while their uptime is pretty good, the server response speed can sometimes drop all of a sudden.

WhoIsHostingThis Recommends

Want a Free Domain Name?

Already a IX Web Hosting customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more...

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about IX Web Hosting.
Please be specific: we're only interested in hearing that IX Web Hosting rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Next step

Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

(We hate spam - see our privacy policy)
Terms & Conditions