Add Your Review for Site5

67 Site5 Reviews:

Is Site5 the host for you?

Last reviewed Nov 5, 2016

Get 23% off today

Site5 screenshot

Key features

  • 24/7 technical support
  • Unlimited traffic, disk space
  • 99.9% uptime guarantee
  • WordPress integration
  • Free daily backups
  • 45-day money-back guarantee

Great reasons to choose Site5

  • Over 150,000 websites being hosted worldwide.
  • WhoIsHostingThis users rate Site5 as 3.3 out of 5 – Good.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

With consistent uptime, amazing support, and an excellent interface, I am proud to be a Site5 user.

If there have been any issues, I was able to pop onto live chat and instantly connect with a support specialist that helped me out.

I would say that Site5 has the best shared hosting around, compared to the many others I have used.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Site5 is awesome because of their responsiveness to questions, issues, requests. I recently bought an SSL Certificate from them and chose to have them install it and they contacted me within about 15 minutes to get it all set up and confirm the settings. About a year ago I had an issue with an email address rejecting emails and it was resolved within 10 minutes. Site5 is great at having real people address your problems/needs as quickly as possible.

Their backend/admin page is simply awesome. Very easy to use, very straightforward and it never feels like they're constantly trying to upsell you to something else. They just present the settings and you go from there.

I've been with Site5 since early 2009 and have no interest in going back to my other hosts that I've tried in the past. They've been great for the last 4 years and it just seems that they are getting better and better.

 

User Reviews - Total: 67

★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have been with Site5 for 10 years. For 7-8 of those years they were excellent. They started to decline 2 years ago but what I had experienced in the last 3 months has forced me to move. Apparently Site5 had been bought by another company but nothing was going to prepare you for the drastic change in service that occurred. The first thing I noticed was when I was switched without warning to their new hosting software, which didn't work from where I was working, because I needed to access the console from either port 80 or 443, neither of which were available. The second issue was that my server was unable to actually send mail outbound for more than 2 days. I created help tickets which normally would have been answered in minutes. 2 weeks later they were still unanswered. The online chat took more than an hour to connect to, and then it disconnected before I could talk to someone. Having 10 domains and real customers to deal with I couldn't allow this to continue and in the last week I have transferred all my domains and hosts to NameCheap, which have been amazing. I also note that Site5 held onto my primary domains transfer for the maximum 7 days before they released it - thanks for that. I'll certainly remember how wonderful you have been to me.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have been a client of Site5 since 2010. It was the best hosting reseller organisation. The client service was absolutely awesome, the uptime, the backup service, everything was the best in the industry! Then it all deteriorated about 3-4 months ago (I see they were bought/sold). The service doesn't exist. You wait for 3 hours to get someone to chat in an extremely poor English to you and they never have any idea how to fix your issue, they don't even know these day hot to point you to the Site5 knowledge base (this is awesome resource by the way!). I have just moved about 100 websites form the 4 servers I rented from Site4. As someone above said: RUN!!! Do not even think about them!

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I was using site5.com for several years. Since some weeks they apparently experience a complete meltdown. Previously answered tickets within hours are not answered for weeks. Problems remain unresolved. Yesterday I got invoices for services which I terminated a couple of months/years ago. Since some days they change the terms and they suddenly pressure me to reduce Inodes. If it would not be enough, I realised that they moved my hosing account in Singapore to a server in the US without notice! Here in the tread I read that they have been bought by another owner, what is apparently the reason. If you don't want to get into deep troubles, avoid Site5.com!

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

As a loyal customer for 10 years and having numerous websites, accounts and databases with them it was a crying shame when the company that recently purchased them let all the support staff go.

The support staff at Site5 were the best I've ever come across in the hosting world.

Once they all left, I also left Site5.

I could not recommend Site5 anymore. Support tickers take days/weeks to get a reply now, where in the past they were answered in minutes

 
★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

In the last month, Site5 has deteriorated to the point that I'm moving 20+ sites off their servers in the next week. Good luck getting any support whatsoever - if you open a ticket, expect to wait for 2 weeks and only receive a reply when tweeting them an angry response. They were recently bought out and went from having probably the best customer service I've experienced, to literally the worst. Do not waste your time and money with Site5.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

Site5 used to be one of the best choices in the hosting market. Service was more than great. I could get answer to my questions in less than 10 min. These days, this company is the complete opposite. Since this company was acquired by its new owners, it has changed significantly for the worst. My support tickets since then had never been answered, and we will soon change to another company.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

had a site since 2013. no problems at all until early in 2016, i see they were bought! Anyway, since the beginning of 2016.....support is non-existant! I have a current support ticket that has been open for 6 days with one email saying they were escalating the ticket so that my accounts could be migrated to the upgraded account that I paid for already but have still not recieved! so now it has been 5 days since that email, and nothing! RUN don't walk away from site5.....it would not be worth the cost if it were free!

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Site5 support used to be wonderful, but it is horrible now. You will spend 45-50 minutes on hold waiting to get a real live person on the phone. You'll wait at least 15-20 minutes to get someone to respond to their chat feature. Their servers on the reseller account that I'm on go down on almost a weekly basis over the past month. And, then you are completely unable to get in touch with anyone at all who can tell you what is going on. Many times, they will deny there is even an outage. I am getting ready to move all of my sites off their service. I would not recommend them at all.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I started with Site5 as it seemed to have lots of good reviews and represent good value; however take heed, if it seems too cheap, it probably is - and thats how its turned out. Having spent months and many hours building up my forum membership (and suffering random sql restores without warning of 48hours previous- annoying huh?) my site has now basically become so unstable my FB page is flooded with complaints, 29,000 members are now unhappy - but Site5 dont care, it seems.

The site is on and off with 503 errors and despite several tickets being submitted I have not had the slightest of response from Site5 - blatantly they have issues, know it and are simply not answering support tickets.

I STRONGLY advise against using this for commercial clients, or anything remotely requiring 99% uptime.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

For some time I am site5.com client, the response of a support beam speed, excellent in its support and very friendly.
The characteristics of the host, are really very good no complaints, my wordpress sites are fast and uptime is above 99%, which gives me a relief when the results make money from my web site.
Always give much value to the human hand, the human resources of a company, and today has site5.com.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

My company is using site5 for 2 years now and in the last couple of months they are getting worse and worse.
For example last 5 days my websites (I have multi-admin account) hosted on site5 were all unavailable for longer periods of times (and still are as I write this).
Contacting their support there always seems to be a generic answer like "there was a load spike and our engineers are fixing it", "I verified and there is an issue with the server. Our health engineers are already looking into it. Check our live post for more information about the outage". The worst part is I can't get a simple answer out of them because theres always someone else who's taking my ticket and replying without even checking previous replies in the ticket so I have to explain everything in every reply I send.
I'm having some important websites hosted on there and in the past 5 days so many outages of websites isn't really good for my clients and seems like I'm moving on from site5.
If you're not having anything important on there I still wouldn't recommend site5 because they're not really reliable, their service is often interrupted and customer service is horrible. Even tho they reply within 30 mins or so - don't expect a resolution to your problem. There's always a generic answer which doesn't offer much information.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I had problems with site5 and when i quizzed their support i found out that they had made changes to my setup which effected the running of my site. I asked for money back for the issues they caused. I was told to vacate their hosting within 10 days before they would delete the files. I have the emails to prove it should any one doubt it.

Think twice before using these. I had two sites and both were effected in the same way

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

I worked to move my PHP website to Site5 from GoDaddy for over 6 months. The (new?) structure of their "support" is just terrible. Each time you submit a ticket for help or to ask a question or need an issue resolved, a new person takes the ticket and responds in a different way apparently having spent no time reviewing your account. Perhaps they keep no history or notes? I don't know, but the process is so frustrating and laborious. After 2 days or so they automatically close the ticket so each time you have to start over - they just assume things are resolved even though they should easily be able to tell on their end that no migration has taken place so clealry the issue isn't resolved. Multiple times I responded to their emails and they closed the ticket saying I never responded (I have proof I did and they ignored it). After 8 months of attempting to transition my website over to Site5 I gave up and went elsewhere which has been great. I requested a refund and Site5 claims they provided resource and so pro-rated my refund, when in fact there was never a successful migration to their platform. They are all promises and very little substance in my experience. I had to go through the Better Business Bureau to even have them take notice - they are so automated and you can never talk to anyone - they won't put you with one support person throughout the process even when requested. There was one guy - one time - that actually seemed to have a clue. The other guys acted like they were reading from a script and wanted to close the tickets as soon as possible, not actually resolve anything. I would stay as far away from Site5 as possible if you have any need for support or customer service. I feel like they stole the fee from me and did as little as possible to support migration to their platform.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I've had a reseller account with Site5 for just over 2 years now, and initially I was impressed... with everything. After about a year, hosting a dozen or so simple, low-traffic sites through my account, things got pretty awful. My sites would (and still do) take entirely too long to load, if they load at all. The overall performance and uptime are both horrendous. Even on a "good day" my sites are slower than dirt. Sure, they have fast and friendly support, but what good is that when every single day your website visitors are subjected to insufferable performance. I would not recommend Site5 hosting to my worst enemies... they are unequivocally terrible.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have been using site5 for about 2 years as a VPS customer. The experience has been mostly satisfactory and I would recommend using site5 to someone. The support especially I really appreciate they respond very timely to email support which I use so I can track my requests and their responses. I highly recommend site5 for drupal hosting on their VPS. I like the features like being able to choose the server location, cloudflare integration, which gives you CDN, you have enom domain registration integrated and they will transfer cpanel accounts for you for free. What I didn't like was that the managed server solution does not allow you all the customisations you might want to do so you would have to move to the unmanaged solution and rebuild the accounts yourself. Also what I also would have preferred is to have SSD drives in the servers so I might move to another provider that uses SSD drives and offers more customised managed server solutions, I was thinking rackspace or I might move to dedicated server solution. However for the time being site5 has be stable and reliable for the critical applications that I have been using it for and I have had reliable service so far.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I started a hosting account with them about a year ago and have had one site that was under construction for most of the time. The problem came when I used their free migration service. Its was a week going through hell trying to get them to migrate. They claimed their ip was getting blocked (I have never had any ip blocked with them) but they could access it with another computer. They waited a week until the one ip worked. They supposedly migrated it over. My account with IXwebhosting came up for renewal, but I didn't worry about it since all the website were supposed to be transferred over. None of the websites are working. It is very frustrating and it seems no one knows what is happening.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have my ecommerce site hosted with Site5. They recently made changes to their servers that no longer supported my website - resulting in multiple errors in the shopping cart and a huge loss of business and income. When I complained to tech support they dragged out the investigation process for weeks, finding every excuse as to why they did not and could not do anything to resolve the issue. It was only weeks later that I found out the errors resulted from their servers no longer supporting the version of my PHP coding, I requested accounts contact me for a refund of the $500AU 2 yr subscription so I could move my hosting to a provider that could support my website - of which their were many - and this would mean I didn't have to spend money on expensive coding upgrades on the existing site, before my new website was launched. Not only did accounts fail to contact me back within the period I was eligible for a refund, but they refused to take any accountability for the damage their upgrades had on my online business and even though they were aware it was possible for me to host my site elsewhere with a provider that wouldn't require any expensive coding upgrades they said they could not assist further or refund my 2 yr subscription which had only just been renewed. Avoid them at all costs, their technical support staff are useless, unhelpful and they are only interested in getting your money and do not care about the level of hosting they provide, even if it means shutting down your business.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I recently started a 30 day trial period to see how site5 support will look like as far as ruby on rails is concerned. While tutorials in their knowledge base need an urgent update. their support is polite and ready to help at the worst. At the best, they helped me setup RVM while i was researching as well to help myself. I have a couple of 2.1.1 rails websites which will not be updated, so i wanted ruby 1.8.7 and rails 2.1.1 to be loccaly installed like forever and be independent from system upgrades. After numerous emails going back and forth i finally got help and got myself a setup that satisfied me 100%. The last host i used was slow and after trying site5 i got excited by their fast speed. Even though the server i am on has 1053 users (!) i am still able to do things very fast given that the server has 15 xeon cpus at 2.4GHz and 24GB ram. In general i give them a 8.5 out of 10 but i think they deserve a little more. The thing i mostly liked is that i have unlimited websites and unlimited bandwidth which after using a python script that targets speedtest, i got 500mbits dl and 270Mbits up. It may not look much in terms of how fast my website would load when i access it, but it is still something good in my opinion. To wipe off the thoughts from those who think that site5 wrote this review i am giving one of my websites naftilos76.net.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

If you are OK with emails and the server being down 1 or 2 days every month then you can go with them. They have a forum with hundreds of posts everyday where the services are down for hours and sometime even days.

The staff are helpless because they cannot provide a good ETA and just forward the link to the forum which we need to keep checking ourselves.

 
★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have been experiencing consistent issues with both websites I have on Site5. One is a blog, one a basic informative business website. No matter what server I change to, my websites will not open. One opens only when using Google Chrome on a PC, the other not at all.
When I emailed Site5 IT support, they told me I should contact every person that cannot open my website and notify them of an issue with their personal browser. Seriously? I have a crystal ball and can tell when someone is searching out my blog or website? Or should send an email to all the followers to tell them how to change settings on their computer. To date, I have received numerous emails from people asking me if I've taken my site down.
Finally consulted with an IT firm, unrelated to Site5, to confirm they are experiencing major issues with their servers and systems. I am searching for a new provider. Which led me to these reviews. I hope this helps anyone who is looking for the same. Do not go with Site5. The tech personnel are extremely friendly and try to be helpful, but are helpless. I should have made this change months ago. Who knows the impact on the business. Oh, wait, according to Site5, I have that crystal ball to tell me...

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

91.5% UPTIME.
Speaks for itself. The constant outages are intolerable.
Their solution is to move me to a VPS and charge me $55/mo - that's a long way from $6

 
★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I have had site5 reseller hosting for almost 5 years. I have quite a few of my client accounts on the service. When I first signed up the service was actually pretty decent, not the best, but worth the price I was paying, $25 per month.

The past few years however have been the most painful I have ever encountered. My sites have been experiencing daily issues, I can't remember the amount of times I had clients call me furious that their sites are not loading. I have also lost a lot of money on Google Ads because clients click my ad and never get to my site.

It's always the same few excuses, first they try and blame you that your 30 visitors per day is eating up the bandwidth or there is a database issue, etc. I have also been migrated to "better" servers a few times, but it is always the same. Absolutely terrible hosting performance. As I am writing this all of my sites are down, I had to stop my ads again (note - I did move my most important sites off the server a while ago) They just are not reliable.

If you have a real business and need a website for your business, then DON'T host it with them. Their hosting is for playing around only, NOT RECOMMENDED for anyone who needs their website to be useful.

The only thing good about this company is their customer service reps. They are nice, but that doesn't help any when all of my sites and client sites are consistently down.

I am now finally moving all of my client's sites to a couple different hosting services, hopefully it will be much better. I would have done this before but it is a lot of work.

I am done with Site5 hosting, never again, ever... I do not recommend this company for anything.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★

First off, Support is great had a problem solved in minutes. Panel is anything too special currently price is great for starters/beginners websites. Overall loved this host

 
★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I wouldn't really call it a cool hosting service but not bad.If it ever gets some other services like accepting direct payment from a bank account and getting a bit more user-friendly,it might really look,cool.It installs forum softwares like mybb,phbb etc initially.If you want to start a forum software,I will recommend this hosting service.The price isn't that high in fact, it's actually pretty reasonable.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I was looking for a new host when I found Site5. I took a deeper look into it and I really liked the possibility to choose the location of the server.
I chose the server of Sao Paulo - Brazil with the free trial of 30 dias, picking the hostPro + turbo plan.
The uptime was excellent, but in a specific day the server was unstable and pretty slow. Again, just in one specific day.

About the price, It's more expensive than the other hosts. You can find a service with the same quality cheaper..

The control panel is good, but could be better. They use a modified version of the cPanel, which has less functions. It would be much better if Site5 use the standard cPanel, like HostGator. However, is better than the panel used by other hosts.

About the support, I just needed them in the activation of my account. They took some hours to contact me, but they were very attentive.

My opinion is: if you need or if you want to choose the location of your server, go with Site5. You will pay a bit more for it, but you won't regret.
If you don't need to pick the location of you server, there are other hosts that are cheaper and has the same quality.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I'm satisfied with the uptime and speed but the problem with them is they have 2 maintenance in a single month. During maintenance all account on the server will be down. Support is very quick that's a good thing.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

We are pretty satisfied with the speed of the actual site. The migration was pretty seamless as well. Where Site5 falls short is Wordpress. They have a limit to how many PHP processes can be run on any given shared hosting account at one time, and that limit is 3!!! It's normal that a hosting provider puts limits on it, but this low limit that Site5 has makes it impossible to have any plugins installed at all. Administrating Wordpress with this limit is impossible: we can only have one individual logged in at a time and it STILL runs slowly to the point that it will often crash.

Site5 is fast, but for Wordpress users: STAY AWAY!

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have been a Site5 customer since almost 2 years. Over this time period, I have seen the good and the bad; however, downtime and server issues are unavoidable and it depends on how the host handles such issues. In my experience, Site5 staff has always been on top of issues before they started affecting me as a customer.

Support:
Technical Support enquiries have always been answered in a timely fashion, within 30 minutes. However, it can sometimes take long for a sales specialist to answer a request, even during their listed business hours. Whenever I had an urgent issue, I contacted them through livechat and they always diligently resolved them.

Servers, Network & Uptime:
I will admit here, there definitely were issues at some point. Nonetheless, they were handled professionally and customers were not left in the dark. Whenever they failed to meet their monthly 99.9% uptime guarantee, they did not hesitate to credit my account upon requesting it.

Overall:
Site5 are a very decent hosting company. I would definitely recommend them to anyone with little to advanced technical knowledge as they offer a variety of upgrade paths as well. They are an excellent provider and transparent as well.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I use to like the company and support but recently most of our emails:

1.) sent to go into google spam folder,
2.) they use spamcop which currently is blocking a lot of yahoo emails
3.) bounce

support is very unhelpful in this matter.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

BAD EXPERIENCE

***Maintenance 2 times in a month.
Jan 15, 2014 4 hours
Jan 26, 2014 14 hours <<<< In fact 48 hours

***No temporary backup server during maintenance and let all account on that server down

***When i contact the customer server, they told me to be patient and there's nothing they can do

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I have been with Site5 for several years. Unfortunately, they have recently been hit with a problem where all email sent is bounced back from customers due to being flagged as spam. They have been absolutely hopeless sorting this out, saying that the problem has been fixed when it hasn't. I really regret going with this company. Avoid!!!!

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

We know the questions that all we ask when we are just looking for a new hosting provider, before we choose site5.com we check the speed of their servers (ping, load impact, reviews, performance, network that they use with other providers) and site5 was top on our test so we decide to migrate our customers with a Reseller Webhost account that with have with them since 2010. (Almost three years on this october). And look my face its smiling!

We also have more than 10 years of experience using different webhosting companies and site5 at this moment its one of the best in the business.

We had some minor issues but the support of the team is faster and always had solve asap any trouble. we all know that the support and the guys behind the backstage are important when you need it and if you never need it its because their are making their job so well, and thats one of the 5 starts of site5 deserve.

There is a lot of providers around but some of them are (resellers of resellers of resellers) and thats its why you maybe show lowest prices but the support its not direct with the Datacenter. So check out before you make a decision. Becauses site5 its a Direct Provider and that its a Great value to consider to uptime and performance.

So is your are looking for a web hosting or reseller account even VPS or cloud site5 its one of the best on the business. They will be always with you!

Also they have the FREETRIAL for 30 days if you wish to test your service but be aware if you use your offer im sure you will stay with them for sure.

So, have a great cloud computing and be part of the glad customers that excepct more for a webhositng provider that site5 never let you down!

Alex Flores
3onica.com

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Shared hosting plans are fast and customer service is always prompt in responding to tickets. I would definitely recommend them for any web hosting needs.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Site 5 has been a dream thus far. I transferred several servers from a certain other host (that uses a large crocodile-like creature as a mascot...) and I've been amazed at their willingness to help, fix things and answer all my questions.

Super-fast server, excellent feature set, great price - can't be beat!

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Site 5 is one of the great hosting in this universe, technical support are really great ,they immediately answer the queries through email. For webhosting site5 is the best as they offer unlimited disk space and they make sure that our website is always accessible.

"No set up fee", so what are you waiting for...don't think twice as I assure you that this is the best web hosting! from Philippines :)

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

I hope this review keeps others from making the mistake I made by using SITE5 hosting. Based on my what I know now, wouldn't even use SITE5 for parked sites.

SITE5 is by far the worst web hosting company I have every come across. I ported an existing e-commerce application from GoDaddy to SITE5 to save a few bucks. This has turned out to be one the biggest mistakes I have ever made.

Setting up my RoR application on SITE5 was much more difficult than it needs to be. Many generally self-service tasks at SITE5 require level 2 support. Also, their servers are extremely slow by any standard. But this isn't even the worst part.

Only one week after going live on SITE5, my website MySQL server became corrupted and we lost some critical data. Also, the MySQL server was generating erroneous errors in response to simple queries (such as: select * from users where id = 111) and the MySQL command was being forcefully terminated.

Instead of immediately escalading the problem to level 2 support, I was initially told the problem is due to an intrusion on my account. Hours later, Level 2 support got around to asking me if I wanted the database to be restored from the previous week. They clearly never read the detailed error description and replication examples that I had provide. They provided no explanation as to the underlying issue nor how they plan to fix the core cause. Even as of now, I have no clue what data I have lost and I am totally exposed to the legal ramifications of this with our customers.

Again, this has been a very costly way to learn that SITE5's service is the worst and their technical support is downright incompetent. Please be warned and don't make the same mistake I made by using SITE5 webhosting.

Now I'm in the process of switching my e-commerce site to another hosting company.
.

 
★★★
Support
★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★

As of today this is the last straw.

After a migration to a larger machine I requested a restore of a database a day after. I got told they couldn't restore from the old environment as they no longer the ability to recover a backup.

Stay away from these clowns... safer to host it yourself.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Site5 hosting has been most reliable for me. We can manage everything without any complications, the user interface is very smooth and neat. My sites running on this hosting have hardly got any issue and the billing staff is so friendly that all customers will love to be with them. With them I have understood two things that I am not going away from them and my sites are going to have big success and I am sure of their great service. I give them 100 out of 100.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Site 5 is enough for me, it doesn't have a great feature but the uptime is great :thumbsup;
because I'm using Site5 for about 2 years already and my site is still up and running!
with great supports and awesome features, I rated them all 3 stars because when it's getting longer and longer the support isn't responding at the exact time but still, I love this hosting. <3

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Always, always top notch service. In an industry filled with very shady types, These guys really do go above and beyond to make sure you're happy no matter the issue, whether it's a technical issue or billing problem, they always go way above to make things right.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

When their level 1 support cannot resolve my issues, it is quickly upgraded to level 2 and responses from their level 2 support people are timely. I've had email conversations with level 2 as if we were on twitter.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Clientexec vs site5: Well I do with they would work with more on the reseller part on talking to clientexec about resources as I've had tons of issues with that. I even have a ticket open right open with them on that so its to better improve clientexec and site5

Stie5 server health: Does a poor job at getting back to clients (such as my self several times) on improving resources. Its like a 16 hour delay and then you hear "we will watch your usage for the next three days) with new updates on progress or anything.

Resource usage: Just like with a cell phone provider they flag you when you are starting to run out and there is nothing that shows what site5 recommends.

That it! :) Thank you for your time! :)

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Why I stay with site5:

With out a doubt the customer service I have gotten from the site5 team and their ability to answer questions, sometimes complete out of scope for a hosting provider has been remarkable.

• Reliability, only a few times have I had a customer support request that was critical to my sites performance keep me and my clients from their websites for more then a couple minutes.

• Easy to use control panel for me and the clients who want access to it.

• You can email the CEO directly (or follow him on twitter) and he will email you back. (try that with go-daddy)

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Before coming to Site5, I went through three hosts in four years, and I left each one of them because of unreliability and horrible customer service. I was at the point of assuming that *all* hosting companies were terrible and I was just going to have to settle for the least terrible one I could find...and then I found Site5, and my opinion of the business of hosting did a complete 180.

I've been with Site5 for eight years, and in that time I haven't had a single issue of any importance (awesome reliability, near-100% up-time), and the few minor issues that have come up have been dealt with quickly, courteously, and with complete professionalism. I've recommended Site5 to a number of people, most recently my boss, who switched from another host to Site5 on my recommendation and has also had nothing but praise since the switch.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Site5 rocks on:
a) Support (A+)
b) Management (A+)
c) Server has been down lately, last 6 months the uptime is consistently below 99.7% whereas before that I rarely had to check my server's uptime.

Overall I'd score 9 out of 10, being 10 the highest.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

Site5 is an awesome hosting company! I have had my website hosted there for over 2 years now and I am can say that I am thoroughly impressed with there service.With very little knowledge of web hosting you can have your website up and running in no time. I have only had downtime with scheduled maintenance and there support is excellent! I would recommend Site5 over anyone else for website hosting.

 
★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I like Site5 because it gives me peace of mind that I'm only a chat away if I run into trouble. The reseller WHM interface is updated and maintained often. I use PHP MySQL technology and their version are always up to speed. They are Wordpress friendly. The ticketing system is very prompt. I have rarely waited more than 4 hours to hear a return on a submitted support ticket. The knowledge base contains easy to follow written and video tutorials.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I love site5 because they have 24/7 live chat support. This is great when you need immediate server info when your site crashes. Everything gets done way before they say they'll finish, I respect that. They work fast, but don't promise too much. Also they have free themes and a site builder and it's cheap and most importantly the interface is easy to navigate.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I love Site5 hosting!

When I first gave Site5 a try, I was not really thinking about all of the technical issues that my websites could experience, I was more interested in them because a friend of mine who has been online for years recommended them from their personal experience.

I have had to contact Site5 tech support about three times to answer some small questions I could have done a Google search on, as well as to order a bigger server. Their customer support team is phenomenal!

All of my questions have been answered and my server upgraded within a matter of minutes. There is no question to small and the customer always comes first, at least that has been my personal experience with Site5. Now that is service.

I can see myself with Site5 for many years too come and I would definitely recommend their hosting packages to my friends.

 
★★★★★
Support
★★★★★
Features
★★★★★
Uptime
★★★★★
Value
★★★★★

I had webhosting from Site5, rhacking.com is bought from there. Is very good, i recommend it! The raport between costs and uptime, completed by the professionalism of Site5's team make Site5 webhosting the best!

 
+ See More Reviews
Site5 logo

Site5

site5.com

Pros: Unlimited disk space and transfer , 60-day money back guarantee , Choice of server location

Cons: 24/7 support only via live chat , Phone support available during business hours

Site5 was founded in 1998 and focuses on providing hosting built for designers and developers and their clients. They provide a custom backend control panel called Backstage which allows their clients to jump from account to account easily and create additional users with specific security roles.

The company runs with a 100% remote team, and has 100+ employees spread out around the world - just like their 50,000+ client base.

They also offer their clients the choice of 19+ locations around the world to choose for shared web hosting, reseller hosting, and managed and unmanaged VPS. This gives a slight edge for local SEO efforts and faster websites for visitors in that region.

Site5 offers 24/7 live chat and ticket support plus telephone support during American business hours.

The mailing address is Site5.com, 303 S Broadway, Suite 200-341, Denver, CO 80209.

Site5 Hosting Plans

Hosting Plan Features Disk Space Bandwidth Price
hostBasic Web Hosting WordPress PHP Anonymous FTP Shell Access WHM Python Unlimited Unlimited $4.95/month
Usual price:
hostPro Web Hosting WordPress PHP Anonymous FTP Shell Access Python cPanel Unlimited Unlimited $8.95/month
Usual price:
hostPro+Turbo Web Hosting WordPress PHP Anonymous FTP Shell Access WHM Dedicated IP Unlimited Unlimited $11.95/month
Usual price:
resellerStarter Plan WordPress PHP Anonymous FTP Shell Access WHM Python 50GB 500GB $23.95/month
Usual price:
resellerStandard Plan WordPress PHP Anonymous FTP Shell Access WHM Python 80GB 700GB $33.95/month
Usual price:
Plus Cloud Hosting WordPress PHP Anonymous FTP Shell Access WHM Dedicated IP 10GB 100GB $20.00/month
Usual price:
Advanced Cloud Hosting WordPress PHP Anonymous FTP Shell Access WHM Dedicated IP 20GB 200GB $27.00/month
Usual price:
VPS2 Managed VPS Plan WordPress PHP Anonymous FTP VPS cPanel MySQL 50GB 800GB $55.00/month
Usual price:
VPS3 Managed VPS Plan WordPress PHP Anonymous FTP Shell Access VPS WHM 75MB 1TB $81.00/month
Usual price:

Site5 Frequently Asked Questions

  • Where is the company located?

    Site5's mailing address is in Houston, TX in the United States.

  • Does Site5 specialize in Linux or Windows hosting?

    No. Site5 only offers Linux hosting.

  • Does Site5 offer VPS hosting?

    Yes. Managed VPS hosting is available.

  • What satisfaction guarantee is offered?

    Shared and reseller plans come with a 45-day money-back guarantee. VPS packages come with a 15-day money-back guarantee. Beyond this 45-day or 15-days period, no refunds are available if you cancel.

  • Are renewal prices more than the intro price?

    In some cases, yes. Site5 offers discounts if you pay in advance. You can lock in your initial discount by paying ahead by up to two years.

  • What support options are provided?

    Site5 offers email, live chat and telephone support. Live chat is available 24/7, while telephone support is available Monday through Friday, 10AM-6PM EST (UTC -0500).

  • What languages are technical support available in?

    Support is available in English only.

  • What is the minimum contract term?

    Customers can pay one month at time, or they can pay in advance, up to two years. Remember that Site5 does not offer refunds beyond the initial 45-day money-back period, so if you cancel part-way through your billing cycle, you will not get a pro-rated refund.

  • What space and data transfer limitations are there?

    Site5 offers unlimited disk space and unlimited bandwidth on web hosting plans. Reseller and VPS plans are limited by the disk size and bandwidth of the specific plan.

  • Does Site5 offer reseller packages?

    Yes. There are several reseller plans, so you can divide and resell web hosting space to customers or clients.

  • How do I migrate my existing website?

    Site5 offers free transfer of your entire website. The free migration service is limited to 25 cPanel accounts, or 10 non-cPanel accounts. Non-cPanel accounts can only be migrated on a limited basis.

  • What control panels are offered?

    Hosting plans come with Backstage, Site5's custom cPanel theme. Reseller plans come with cPanel/ WHM. VPS plans are available with Backstage, but you can choose to use cPanel/ WHM for an extra fee.

  • What payment options are supported?

    In addition to major credit cards, customers can also pay via PayPal.

  • What is Site5's backup policy?

    Server backups are performed on a nightly basis and retained for 7 days. There are also options available to perform your own backups.

  • Is Site5 a good choice for multiple sites?

    Yes. It offers a number of options for multiple sites. Some of its web hosting plans offer unlimited domain support. 

  • What development languages does Site5 support?

    Its Linux hosting plans support Perl, PHP, Python, Ruby, and Ruby on Rails.

  • Does Site5 have one-click installers?

    Yes. One-click installers for tools like WordPress can be installed via the Site5 SiteAdmin control panel, or through the Softaculous feature in cPanel.

  • Does Site5 offer Magento support?

    Yes. Magento is fully supported by Site5, even on shared hosting plans.

  • Does Site5 offer CDN services?

    Yes. CloudFlare support is included.

  • Does it have discounted plans for schools and non-profits?

    Site5 does not offer free hosting for non-profits.

Site5 Features

All Features

  • AbanteCart
  • Access Logs
  • Agora Cart
  • anyInventory
  • AWStats
  • b2evolution
  • CakePHP
  • Concrete5
  • Coppermine
  • Cotonti
  • Crontabs
  • cURL
  • DocFaq
  • DokuWiki
  • Dolphin
  • Dotclear
  • Drupal
  • FTPS
  • FuelPHP
  • Gallery
  • GD Support
  • Geeklog
  • Green Hosting
  • Help Center Live
  • Horde
  • Image
  • ImageMagick
  • IMAP Support
  • Joomla
  • KompoZer
  • LAMP
  • Laravel
  • Live Chat Support
  • livesite
  • Magento
  • Mailing Lists
  • Mambo
  • MediaWiki
  • Moodle
  • MyBB
  • Noah's Classifieds
  • Nucleus
  • Password Protected Directories
  • PayPal
  • Phone Support
  • PHP 5
  • PHP Support Tickets
  • PHP-Fusion
  • PHP-Nuke
  • phpBB
  • phpMyAdmin
  • PhpWiki
  • Plog
  • POP3 Support
  • PunBB
  • Quick.Cms
  • Redmine
  • Ruby
  • Ruby on Rails
  • Server Side Includes
  • Shared SSL
  • Softaculous
  • Spam Filter
  • SquirrelMail
  • SSH Access
  • SSL Certificates
  • suPHP
  • Support Forum
  • Tiki Wiki
  • Transfer Support
  • TYPO3
  • Ubercart
  • Webmail
  • XMB Forum
  • XOOPS
  • YaBB
  • Zen Cart

How does Site5 compare to their competitors?

Overall ★★★
Support
★★★
Features
★★★
Uptime
★★★
Value
★★★★★
Visit Site5
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★
Overall★★★★
Overall★★★

WhoIsHostingThis Recommends

Want a Free Domain Name?

Already a Site5 customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more...

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about Site5.
Please be specific: we're only interested in hearing that Site5 rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Next step

Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

(We hate spam - see our privacy policy)
Terms & Conditions