Alentus In 2019: What Do Alentus Client Reviews Say?

Alentus Introduction

Alentus has been in business since 1997, and over the years has collated a pretty serious client roster including Sheraton, the American Red Cross, Harvard Medical School, and Star Alliance.

Alentus offers a range of Windows hosting plans for everyone from simple email users all the way up to those needing dedicated and reseller server plans.

Services

Alentus offers a range of Windows hosting solutions that cover most every potential customer’s hosting needs as well as SharePoint- and WordPress-specific hosting plans.

They have several email packages that offer all you need to host personal or enterprise email activity for an extremely competitive monthly cost, with storage and total users scaling up with price.

Their shared web hosting plans include scaled web and email disk space as well as monthly bandwidth allowances. This means that shared customers only pay for what they need, quickly and easily adjusting their hosting to match their business requirements. Their shared plans support all the usual languages for Windows hosting including ASP, PHP, Perl, and the .NET languages.

Their dedicated hosting plans, like their shared hosting, are tiered to match customer needs. All dedicated servers are built for Windows, with hardware ranging from a Quad core Intel Xeon with a RAID-1 protection to 2x Quad core Intel Xeon with RAID-5 protection. Hard drive size, RAM, and bandwidth all scale accordingly. They also offer custom server solutions, and will build you a specific set of hardware specs to match yout needd if requested. All their servers are managed in their own datacenters.

Finally, Alentus offers reseller options under the Alentus MultiPlan hosting scheme. They offer control of multiple sites with one Plesk control panel for fast and easy management.

Like other plans, their MultiPlan reseller solutions scale to match customer needs.

Alentus Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 5 Reviews by Alentus Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Steven Morrish avatar
Steven Morrish asmcoaches.co.uk
Jun 23, 2018

Email and web page not working for the 4th day when you speak to customer service they say we don’t have a time when you will be fixed lost business and customers have lost confidence in not be able to email us
Very concerned about this issue and lack of concern from Alentus

Visit Host →

Joseph Sermarini avatar
Joseph Sermarini forumancientcoins.com
Jan 22, 2015

I have been a customer for over 5 years and have two dedicated servers (I pay them over $500 a month). I have had intermittent downtime about 15 minutes several times a day for the last 2+ weeks and have been sending trace routes and trouble calls again and again. They say there is nothing wrong.

I have asked again and again for a phone call from a Real tech who can explain to me how this can be happening and yet there is nothing wrong. No calls. I would have left long ago, except moving two servers of data and set up is difficult.

Visit Host →

sussanshawcooper avatar
sussanshawcooper ssc
Feb 08, 2012

Was with Areti from 2000 – since taken over by alentus technical support is non-existent

Had problems with renewing a website name in December 2011 and have been trying to get a response from them since then. I am now trying to change my hosting and they don’t respond to either ph calls or emails other than an automated ticket generated email

The 24 hours "technical help" is always "busy" and does not return calls or messages

I could not recommmend their "services" to anyone

Visit Host →

Kar Later avatar
Kar Later footinbothworlds.ca
Oct 10, 2013

Alentus Email = Terrible. Wish a Zero star were an option. These guys used to be good and I have been a loyal customer for many years.

But in the past year they have gone seriously downhill in the area of everything: email service, technical support, knowledge, up-times, work-ability, billings, and customer service. This is the first time I have written one of these reviews but since I relied on such reviews to pick a new service (yes, leaving Alentus!) thought I’d give back to the online community with a few thoughts. There are a few good ones out there, it takes time to find them, and this is not one of them.

So on Alentus…here goes…. On the technical side we’ve have had constant calls from clients for months now, saying Alentus bounced their email to our company – a terrible thing for a small organization. To make things worse, for a while they set their spam filter to remove all inter-organization emails such that we could not even email each other within our small company!

Emails vanishing into the ethers-never-to-be found (no, not found in spam folders) is not good for a small business and Alentus has not seemed to take this seriously even after months of issues. First they say it was this server, then it was that server. Recently they told me, twice now, that it was Shaw who’s to blame.

Hmmm, our internet service is not on Shaw. Then they said also there was an ‘outside server’ attacking ours ‘but we fixed it today’. Later that day we had another bounce example come in – again the reasons and excuses are not valid.

Months of troubleshooting and getting nowhere, so much lost time. It seems they are over their heads and cannot fix ongoing, recurring issues. If you want exchange email, they can provide it but they go through a third-party (Ceryx) and thus you are not a direct customer and then have no direct control over your exchange mail.

And this makes it even harder to troubleshoot. And Alentus filters themselves with their ‘Quarantine’ filter! Sometimes they don’t even pass email from their own organization to a client …maybe it their convoluted-pop-to-Exchange-plus-quarantine-everything–including-yourselves-process.

Or maybe it’s their latest blamee, the rogue server. The webhosting side is good if that’s all you need – we’re not aware of much downtime on that side. But don’t host your email with Alentus – that side has been broken – they are not delivering.

Visit Host →

rrrrmm avatar
rrrrmm vi-iv.mobi
Nov 08, 2012

I’ve checked Alentus site and customer base before I signed up as an individual customer. Looks like they have reputable customers and their website seemed very convenient to use. This is my first time to deal with a web host and because I phoned their Edmonton office, I felt comfortable with them as they are in Canada.

The sales guy talked more about their services rather than asking if I have a domain, etc. I’ve dealt with their support – phone, email, chat – and found them responsive. However, because they are a Reseller to Wild West Domains LLC (which was not revealed on Alentus site) and Domains By Proxy, my domain cancellation was not a positive experience – emails back and forth, the long wait time, then their Whois search of your domain shows it’s Available for Sale.

Would not recommend this company for first-time individual customers. So beware of web hosters who are Resellers to Domain Registrars, etc.

Visit Host →

Load More

Infrastructure

Alentus owns and operates two datacenters — one in Edmonton, Canada and the other in Columbus, Ohio. Their datacenters are comprised solely of Dell servers and are protected by Cisco firewalls. Their power infrastructure is a fully redundant BGP-enabled Cisco-powered network in both their datacenters. They are further protected by power redundancies like a unique power distribution systems and an APC uninterruptible power supply array. They also have an emergency generator on site as a further redundancy.

For security their datacenters have onsite guards, security systems with motion detectors, and constant video surveillance.

Support

For customer support, Alentus offers live chat via their website, a ticketing system, a knowledge base, and a community forum. They also have a range of guides and other useful content to help web hosters solve problems on their own.

When it comes to their network, they staff their datacenters 24/7 for network and server support and for their dedicated servers, they promise a “rapid response to any hardware or software issue.”

Guarantees

Alentus offers two guarantees. First, they guarantee 99.999% network uptime for all of their servers and plans. The usual restrictions apply. In the event they fall below this level, you are eligible for a 5% discount.

Second, they offer a 30-day money-back guarantee on their SharePoint and shared hosting plans, and a free trial period for their WordPress hosting plans.

Wrap up

Alentus has been supporting organizations big and small for two decades. And with a client roster a mile long a wide range of Windows based solutions, they are definitely a host worth checking out.

Most Popular Alentus Hosting Plans

Value.Net Web Hosting Premier.Net Web Hosting Professiona.Net Web Hosting
Disk Space 2GB 5GB 10GB
Bandwidth 20GB 30GB 100GB
Price $8.95 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$12.95 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$21.95 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit Alentus Visit Alentus Visit Alentus
Plan Disk Space Bandwidth Price
Professional Sharepoint Hosting
Shared
1GB 100GB $29.95 / mo Visit Host
Enterprise.Net Web Hosting
Shared
20GB 200GB $44.95 / mo Visit Host
Enterprise Sharepoint Hosting
Shared
2GB 200GB $59.95 / mo Visit Host
Fortune500 Sharepoint Hosting
Shared
3GB 300GB $99.95 / mo Visit Host
More Plans +

Most Popular Alentus Alternatives

Spencer Grover

About Spencer Grover

Spencer studied politics and psychology at university in New Zealand, which sparked his interest in efficient communication. His interest in technology just developed along the way. When he's not writing, he's usually attempting to bake sourdough while listening to "This American Life."

Connect with Spencer

Review Alentus & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a Alentus customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more…

1 How would you rate your experience with Alentus?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about Alentus.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that Alentus rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2019 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2019.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your Alentus review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).