BrainHost Review: Are They A Smart Investment?

Brain Host Introduction

Brain Host specialises in “unlimited web hosting”; typical shared hosting plans with solid tech support, unlimited resources, Cpanel and a website builder. The company’s premises are in Ohio, with the HQ located in Akron and the operations department located in Brunswick.

Founded in 2010, Brain Host is a relatively new hosting provider. It already has more than 95,000 customers. In July 2012, Brain Host appointed a new CEO, Corey Hammond. He was previously the President of the company and has been involved in its growth since day one.

Brain Host Hosting Plans

Brain Host offers three Linux hosting plans in its shared hosting portfolio. These aren’t named, so I’ll refer to them as Plan 1, Plan 2 and Plan 3.

  • Plan 1 provides the basics: unlimited hosting, domains, email and bandwidth, plus a website builder. That’s it.
  • Plan 2 tops this up with unlimited MySQL databases, $250 in ad credits and access to ‘more than 50’ one-click installers.
  • Plan 3 is the most expensive, but it actually appears to be a step down from Plan 2. It only offers unlimited hosting, domains and email accounts, the website builder and the marketing credits.

Brain Host states it offers dedicated hosting, but there are no prices or details on the site. We can therefore assume that customers who require advanced hosting packages are considered an exception rather than the norm.

Brain Host Uptime/Downtime

Brain Host doesn’t say where its centre is, but it does provide information about its green credentials. The company arranges its servers in such a way as to eliminate hot-spots which requires less air conditioning and therefore less power consumption. Technicians also install low-voltage servers for the same reason. Beyond this, technical data is not apparent.

The company offers a 99.9% uptime guarantee, although there’s no published data on its past history.

There doesn’t appear to be an obvious automatic backup option, although backups can be created via Cpanel as you’d expect.

Brain Host Support

Brain Host’s tech support department is open 24/7 all year round. It offers support via ticket, phone and live chat (via Cpanel).

The company has active profiles on social media, although its social media pages are geared more towards posting links and photos than providing support. The Brain HostTwitter page is mainly a feed for their blog and press releases, although staff do reply to the occasional tweet. The blog does seem to be the central point for interactivity.

Their Help Centre portal is fairly small, with a ticket login and a knowledge base containing around 600 articles. A huge 100 of these are related to the web builder tool. There don’t appear to be any user forums, wikis or other opportunities for clients to interact.

Brain Host in the News

I didn’t find anything negative in the press about Brain Host. Given that it’s a fairly new company, this is probably to be expected.

Brain Host Control Panel

All Brain Host’s plans offer Cpanel as standard. Account and billing options are located in a separate account which is customised, but the actual technical control panel will be familiar to anyone who has used Cpanel before.

Brain Host Extras

  • One-click installers at Brain Host feature all the usual suspects: WordPress, Magento, MediaWiki, phpBB and so on. Bear in mind that one-click installers are only available on Plan 2.
  • Advertising credits are also provided on Plan 2 only. These include credits for Google, Yahoo!/Bing, Miva and Myspace, and the combined value is $250.
  • It appears that Brain Host occasionally runs free domain name promotions, but you won’t get a free domain as standard.

Brain Host Money Back Guarantee / Cancellation Policy

Brain Host offers a standard 30-day money back guarantee on shared hosting plans, excluding sign-up fees and domain name registration fees. The refund covers the entire term of the contract, but cancellations may only be made by telephone to their US number.

Dedicated hosting customers are not eligible for any money-back guarantees.

Brain Host Summary

BrainHost’s website proclaims that they’re my own city’s ‘#1 Choice In Web Hosting’. While I have no stats to prove this, I’m not sure that’s strictly true. Additionally, it claims that their load balancing technology is unique, but again, it didn’t seem to be that different to the standard clustering offered by many shared hosts.

Brain Host’s prices are fine, but they’re not as competitive as some of their bigger peers. The most expensive Brain Host plan, Plan 3, represents poor value, particularly since it’s much less capable than Plan 2. In addition, it’s odd that dedicated hosting is nothing more than a footnote, when Brain Host dedicates an entire page to its drag-and-drop website builder tool.

If you’d like to use a small, independent host that’s eco-friendly, Brain Host is a good option. Support is geared towards more basic topics and their services and prices feel a little immature, but this is a young company so that’s to be expected. The fact that it already hosts 95,000 websites after just two years is a good sign for the future.

Brainhost Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 22 Reviews by Brainhost Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Bishnu Dev avatar
Bishnu Dev experimentaltricks.blogsot.com
Jun 19, 2014

Brainhost is the best hosting service in my view. I was tired of many others hosting service but none of those worked for me. After working hard for some days I heard about Brainhost but at that that I didn’t register here.

Few day later I went to my friend home and he showed me this hosting network. I really shocked, this hosting was really satisfying him. As my thought this hosting service must host my website.

Finally, I hurried up and registered here and now I am happy with it performance and service. This hosting service provides a reliable and speed hosting. I am proud to be its member.

Visit Host →

Robert Gerhard avatar
Robert Gerhard travellatte.net
Mar 05, 2015

To start, I don’t even know if the company is actually still in business because they have not responded in more than six months. There is no contact number. There is none of the advertised 24 hour support – the last time I actually could call in, I got a recording that they were not there on weekends, nor after 5pm.

The only option today is email, which is no option if you’re trying to run a site. (If you click on the link that says "Live 24 Hour Phone Support" you get an email form, no phone number to call. WTF?) The uptime performance of my site was decent, but when it did go down, it took far too long to make contact and resolve. When they did have a phone number listed, one of the options in the menu was to request a refund – I should have taken it when I could!

Instead, I just switched providers while waiting for them to "get back to me," which still hasn’t happened. Save yourself some woe and frustration: Don’t do business with this company.

Visit Host →

Hugh avatar
Hugh vets-helping-vets.com
Jan 08, 2013

I called in to get my password changed , and add things to make my website better "you guys are great that’s all there is too it"

Visit Host →

Load More

Most Popular Brainhost Hosting Plans

Web Hosting Plan #1 Web Hosting Plan #2 Web Hosting Plan #3
Disk Space Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Bandwidth Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Price $6.95 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$7.95 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$9.95 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit Brainhost Visit Brainhost Visit Brainhost

Brainhost Frequently Asked Questions

  • What hosting products are available with BrainHost?

    BrainHost offers shared hosting products only in two tiers: business or consumer. Business is about three times as much per month as consumer. Contact customer support for more details on what separates the two plans.

  • Will BrainHost help me migrate my site?

    Yes. BrainHost has a free site migration service. However, there are no details available on their site. Contact customer support for more information.

  • So there’s no VPS or dedicated hosting?

    That’s correct. Currently, BrainHost offers no VPS or dedicated hosting products.

  • What applications are available with BrainHost?

    BrainHost includes Fantastico! on all shared hosting plans, which provides easy access to hundreds of applications. Applications available include popular CMSs like WordPress, Joomla, and Drupal and shopping carts like Magento and Zen Cart.

  • Is there a money-back guarantee or free trial?

    BrainHost offers a 30-day money-back guarantee on all shared hosting plans. Setup fees, domain registration, and some upgrades are non-refundable. See their Terms of Service for more information (look under “REFUND POLICY”).

  • Does BrainHost have an uptime guarantee?

    Yes they do. They guarantee 99.9% uptime, but do not provide any details in their Terms of Service. Contact customer support for more information.

  • How can I pay for my hosting account?

    You can pay via PayPal, BitCoin, Alipay, and major credit cards. They operate on a monthly billing cycle only, with no discounts available for longer contracts.

  • What sort of support does BrainHost provide?

    BrainHost has self-directed support via a knowledge center and video tutorials. They also provide standard support through email, ticketing, and live via cPanel.

  • Where are BrainHost’s datacenters?

    BrainHost does not say where their datacenters are located anywhere on their site. Their own website is hosted with RockSolid Networks, which is located in Ann Arbor, Michigan. According to customer press releases, their headquarters is in Akron, OH.

  • What programming languages are available with BrainHost?

    BrainHost supports PHP 5, Perl 5, Python, and Ruby on Rails as well as other industry standard programs like Java.

  • What security features does BrainHost provide?

    They offer spam assassin protection, SSLs, Open PGP/GPG encryption, and a range of server redundancies and securities both within the server and physical security for their datacenter.

  • What backup features are available?

    BrainHost offers courtesy site backups on all accounts and has a video tutorial for how to back-up your site manually on their website.

  • What control panel access does BrainHost provide?

    BrainHost provides access via cPanel. This access is included in all plans.

  • Does BrainHost offer unlimited disk space and bandwidth? What does this mean?

    Yes they do. But they do stipulate in their Terms of Service that they are a web hosting company, and thus customers cannot use their accounts for online storage or backups. Also, if MySQL databases get too large, they may cancel your account without notice. As for bandwidth, they do say it’s unlimited but if your website starts to impact the performance of other sites, BrainHost reserves the right to throttle your traffic.

  • Does BrainHost offer any CDN services, either themselves or through a third party?

    No. BrainHost makes no mention of a CDN network nor do they mention a third party option like CloudFlare.

  • What about domains? How many can I have and how many registrations are included?

    BrainHost offers truly unlimited domains per account for all their shared policies. However, domain registration is not free and not included in the cost of their shared plans.

  • Is there website building software or help available?

    BrainHost offers Launch Pad, an easy website builder that will get a site up and running in “just 5 clicks” according to the BrainHost website.

  • Is BrainHost eco-friendly?

    Yes. Their datacenter is 100% powered by wind.

  • Will BrainHost support my web marketing?

    Yes. When you sign up to BrainHost, they give you a set amount in ad credits spread across Google AdWords, Bing, Yahoo, Facebook, and Shopsite. They also have an intro packet to web advertising including traffic generation resources, SEO help, and social media marketing basics. Finally, they provide access to Attracta to further help with SEO.

  • Does BrainHost offer an affiliate program?

    Yes. They offer a per-sale program.

Claire Broadley

About Claire Broadley

Claire has been creating websites for over 20 years and has been using WordPress for over ten. She is an expert in web hosting, design, HTML, and more. She lives with her husband and son in the United Kingdom.

Connect with Claire

Review Brainhost & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a Brainhost customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more…

1 How would you rate your experience with Brainhost?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about Brainhost.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that Brainhost rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2019 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2019.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your Brainhost review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).

shares