Dataflame Hosting Review: You Might Find It Difficult to Leave This Host. Here’s Why.

Important Update 2018: Dataflame has been merged into Tsohost

Dataflame Introduction

Dataflame is a UK web hosting company that focuses on small business customers. It offers low-cost, entry-level shared hosting front and center, with the option to upgrade to plans with higher capacity.

The company was founded by Duncan Knapper, and subsequently acquired by Paragon Internet Group in 2015. Paragon owns a huge selection of brands, including Tsohost, Vidahost, 5quidhost, Webfaction, Dataflame, Elastichosts, Mr Site, and Hostroute. In turn, Paragon itself is owned by the Host Europe Group.

Dataflame Hosting Plans

Dataflame offers shared hosting for businesses across four price plans. Although allowances are generous, Dataflame limits the number of websites that you can create. It’s notable that backups are included, and the backup feature includes self-restore. This is reasonably rare on shared hosting plans. Site migrations are free, regardless of the control panel or software you are using at your old host.

WordPress hosting is available with very similar specs to shared. Again, the number of websites is very limited.

VPS and dedicated servers are lumped together on one page, as are the Linux and Windows variants for each. Paragon owns its own datacenter, so it’s somewhat surprising that only two dedicated servers are on offer.

There are three reseller plans on sale at Dataflame, all with unlimited customers and bandwidth allowance. However, you’re limited to the number of websites you can create, which means you can’t resell beyond that figure without upgrading your plan.

Dataflame Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 15 Reviews by Dataflame Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Martin Bean avatar
Martin Bean mcbwebdesign.co.uk
Sep 19, 2009

Just reading the previous comments on Dataflame and must say I’m disappointed others feel that way. I’ve been with Dataflame for nearly three years now, hosting over 40 websites with them on a reseller package. The uptime, whilst not 100%, doesn’t pose any errors and any down-time isn’t for too long.

Their support is one of the best things about Dataflame. If I have a problem, my first port of call is the live chat function on the company’s web site, and I always get a response and 99% of the time my problem resolved there and then within that conversation. All in all, Dataflame provide a happy hosting experience and I have no qualms or inclination to sever any ties to them.

Although the hosting does come with cPanel, Dataflame are happy to make any required amendments to your server set-up, i.e. if you need a PHP module enabling/installing, etc. It’s this level of human interaction that makes me appreciative of the service Dataflame provides, while also feeling I’m being looked after rather than at the mercy of some multinational organization who doesn’t care much for individuals.

Visit Host →

Iain Lightfoot avatar
Iain Lightfoot thoughtlounge.co.uk
Aug 10, 2015

My website was built using web builder (WB). Recently the WB software was upgraded which meant that I could no longer make changes to my site… having fought for a week – the company had no backup – was no real help – didnt give me the impression of helping me – my site is now live with no ability to be amended, changed etc.

I have been let down badly and am looking at changing host for my site. I rely on this for my income and losing a 55 page site "just like that" and to be told "oh just start again" is not good enough. Pros – UK based server; 24 hour support; cheap; reliable servers. Cons – Potential to destroy your business!

Visit Host →

Andy Cowley avatar
Andy Cowley 8bitninjas.co.uk
Jun 27, 2012

I’ve used Dataflame for a very long time now. I’ve had very little in the way of issues and I’ve always had excellent support when I’ve needed it. I would and have recommended them to others as well

Visit Host →

Will Chapman avatar
Will Chapman waterwaywatc.org
Nov 04, 2014

I have been with Dataflame flame for several years and the main reason for staying is the quality of the 24/7 technical support. The only real negative experience I have had was that I was using the free Cloudflare service which, as far as I could see, was protecting my sites from attack whilst also reducing the bandwidth that Dataflame had to cope with. However, there was a downside, whilst Cloudflare effectively stopped volume of attacks I was experiencing on all of my sites (so much that my sites were frequently unavailable) Dataflame Tech Support couldn’t give me attention during that period because Cloudflare depended on my directing DNS settings to their site so I was obliged to abandon what seemed to me to be a free service that benefited both me and, indirectly, Dataflame too.

In short, I think it would have been better if Dataflame had looked more closely at what Cloudflare offers. I would add,that the Clourflare service was free but I would gladly have paid a monthly subscription to keep the rogue attacks at bay.

Visit Host →

scott pringle avatar
scott pringle
Oct 02, 2013

Absolutely horrendous!!! I paid for a year and cancelled after a month. they refused to refund me the other 11 months worth of payment which I had already given them.

The security was so bad that I had to delete all my sites. Support was also terrible. They don’t have a clue what they are doing and they are very slow. Scott Pringle

PHP Developer

Visit Host →

Stephen Cooper avatar
Stephen Cooper pantsunderwearstore.com
Jul 21, 2015

Over the last week or two there have been times when I needed to contact technical support, once due to my own stupidity having made a change to DNS that messed things up. The other was a more serious issue that put my site off line for a number of hours. Barry at Dataflame support was incredibly patient with me, worked tirelessly and with his help my site is now back up and running. whenever I have had a problem with pantsunderwearstore.com Dataflame support have sorted things out quickly they have helped me with other issues relating to my server (mostly caused by my lack of knowledge and the service has always been unbeatable.

Visit Host →

John Ryan avatar
John Ryan diveskool.com
Feb 16, 2014

I have been with this company since 2005 and was reasonably happy with the service. They have recently however changed the terms and conditions of my contract without telling me. I pay the same fee every year I just get much less for it, Dataflame insist they have the right to change policy as and when they please.

I always thought a contract was a contract. They would also charge me a fortune to leave them, I feel like my web sights have been imprisoned.

Visit Host →

Michaela Metcalfe avatar
Michaela Metcalfe gothwitch.co.uk
Jan 16, 2016

I have had nothing but good experiences with Dataflame even when there has been problems. Their live chat has always been answered quickly in my experience and always with a couple of minutes at most. Their staff are patient and have always sorted out even the daftest or most serious problems.

I’ve had no noticeable downtime, and my latest problem was sorted by the fab Adrian. I have been with Dataflame two years and as I only have simple websites, for me they are perfect. I am currently on the Cloud 3000 service which gives me ample of everything.

Their Presence builder I find excellent to use and with the ability to automatically convert the site to mobile compatibility and auto cookie policy maker etc make it easy work for me (especially after the Google mobile compatibility changes). I will be renewing my hosting with them this year.

Visit Host →

Helen Batcher avatar
Helen Batcher bournemouthanddistrictconcertband.co.uk
Feb 16, 2013

We’ve been using Dataflame for several years now and can confirm the consistency of their high quality Live Support. All hours and very patient and understanding. Highly recommended.

Visit Host →

Neil Pritchard avatar
Neil Pritchard gwyneddsubaqua.org
Jul 11, 2009

After many years experience as a web developer and administrator these people gave the worst service that I have ever experienced in any industry. Their staff are inept, insulting, rude and happily break as many of Icann’s regulations as they can ! They are cheap, but they’ll cripple your company while you try to sort out their service, don’t bother unless you want to deliberately bankrupt your company !

When we tried to move the domains to another registrar they put up as many hurdles as possible to make things difficult for us, including locking the domain as inactive even though we had paid them for another years registration and a transfer fee so that we could transfer. For days they denied that the domain was inactive, even though their own who-is service reported the domain as inactive. This was only resolved, under protest from them, when our new registrar phoned them up to tell them to stop being childish and spiteful. I wouldn’t trust them to supply toilet paper let alone an internet domain registration and hosting service !

Visit Host →

Load More

Dataflame Uptime/Downtime

Dataflame’s About page refers to 100% uptime, but this is misleading, because uptime isn’t actually mentioned on the hosting pages. In the Terms of Service, there’s a 99.9% uptime guarantee, but we found a reference to 99.99% uptime at checkout. It would be wise to clarify this figure if uptime is important to you.

Paragon has its own datacenter in Slough, UK, which is where customers’ websites are hosted. There doesn’t appear to be any other datacenter option for customers elsewhere.

Dataflame Support

Support is offered by an in-house team 24/7 via phone, email, and ticket. Dataflame says that all tickets are answered within 24 hours.

Dataflame Control Panel

VPS and dedicated server plans come with cPanel. But it appears that shared hosting, WordPress hosting, and reseller hosting does not. Dataflame provides an overview of its control panel on its shared hosting page.

While Dataflame will help you to import data from cPanel or Plesk to its own cloud hosting control panel, it doesn’t look like there is an export option to transfer data the other way. If you want to move hosts later, this could make it difficult to take your data with you.

Money-Back Guarantee and Cancellation Policy

If you change your mind about hosting with Dataflame, it offers a 60-day money-back guarantee, “no questions asked.” Drilling down into the small print, Dataflame says that you’ll need to provide a reason for your dissatisfaction, and it will refund you if it can’t help.

If you cancel after this period, you’ll get a credit for full unused months on shared hosting only. There are no cash refunds.

Dataflame Summary

Like many of its sister brands, Dataflame specializes primarily in business hosting, and the backup provision is a welcome bonus. The cancellation policy is unusual, and other hosts do better in this area. Before purchasing, compare Dataflame’s business hosting with competing hosts that offer a UK datacenter option.

Most Popular Dataflame Hosting Plans

Cloud 200
Disk Space 2GB
Bandwidth 10GB
Price $3.60 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit Dataflame
Claire Broadley

About Claire Broadley

Claire has been creating websites for over 20 years and has been using WordPress for over ten. She is an expert in web hosting, design, HTML, and more. She lives with her husband and son in the United Kingdom.

Connect with Claire