Datagram Hosting: A Survivor from the Early Days of the Web

Datagram Introduction

Datagram was founded in 1995 by Alexander Reppen. He served as CEO until April 2016 when the company was sold to another hosting provider, SingleHop, and Reppen took up a CTO role at Anexio.

Datagram is still located in New York City, and it has datacenters in five locations, giving it a strong presence in the United States.

The host focuses almost exclusively on colocation services and will be of interest to very large businesses and enterprise customers. Datagram’s website does not offer huge amounts of detail, and you’ll need to contact the sales team if you’re interested in a service or solution.

Datagram Hosting Plans

Datagram’s main service is colocation, and it offers this through all of its 5 datacenter locations. These plans are designed for businesses that have very specific requirements for managed services and high capacity hosting. At the same time, Datagram’s aim is to make even its most complex services simple, accessible, and easy to understand.

Customers can opt for four different colocation plans, from a partial cabinet up to a private cage. Full management is included, including the option of remote hands, so businesses can use their own tech team or outsource everything to Datagram.

Datagram also offers managed dedicated servers which come with optional load balancing technology. Again, everything is fully managed with a 24/7 support SLA.

Finally, Datagram also offers some less prominent managed services, including backup and recovery services, private clouds, VPNs, and managed DNS.

Datagram Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 4 Reviews by Datagram Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Stephen Watson avatar
Stephen Watson mansfieldweather.com
Jul 31, 2014

We where with Datagram for several years until about 2009 when we sold out and had a break from the industry. At that time we where also hosting in 2 other big data centers and we had half rack with DG. Datagram was the stand out Colo provider for us, they bend over backwards to help and compared to the other providers with Datagram we had a feeling of security rather than fearing the provider as we did with one of the other providers.

We recently came back to DG and things are just as good as ever, great prices, personalised service that goes beyond the call, there are even setting up some new peering arrangements just to help with the service we are offering. In a way I don’t want to recommend them as they are like our best kept secret, but its only fair that I do …. highly recommended.

Visit Host →

Tony Kelly avatar
Tony Kelly demonware.net
Nov 26, 2008

We provide network software and services to the video games industry for some of the most popular titles in the world and, as such, demand high performance, high uptime and rapid response support. We went through 3/4 other providers before coming across Datagram. We only wish we had found them sooner. These guys rock.

Visit Host →

Ian avatar
Ian bluvue.tv
Oct 04, 2011

Overpriced..outages that are blamed on "other providers"..cocky tech support that knows Nothing!..Supposed 24/7 service but when you call or email they always have to get back to you

Visit Host →

Load More

Datagram Infrastructure

Datagram uses 4 datacenters spread across the United States. This includes a purpose-built facility in New York City, which was designed to withstand ‘catastrophic events’.

It also has servers in facilities in Danbury, Connecticut; Chicago, Illinois; and Phoenix, Arizona. The company has one non-US facility in Amsterdam in the Netherlands, and additional POPs in LA and New Jersey.

Prospective customers can contact the Datagram sales team to book a tour of its datacenters.

Datagram Support

Datagram says that its servers are backed by robust SLAs, and that includes 24/7/365 support. This appears to be provided by telephone only. There is a live chat form on the website, but this was not available 24/7 when we tested it, so we must assume that it is for sales inquiries only.

Datagram Money Back Guarantee / Cancellation Policy

There’s no information about pricing on the website, nor is there any information about a money-back guarantee or cancellation policy. Since most of Datagram’s services are aimed at very large businesses, it’s likely that these terms would be baked into a contract.

Datagram Summary

Datagram has a long history stretching back to the early years of the web, and its website shows that it has specialized its services to serve a very small niche. The company has several high-profile clients, including media and publishing websites that need massive amounts of resources. Customers that need bespoke colocation services will be drawn to Datagram, particularly now that it has the backing of SingleHop too.

Most Popular Datagram Hosting Plans

Colocation and Managed Servers
Disk Space Unlimited
Bandwidth Unlimited
Price / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit Datagram

Most Popular Datagram Alternatives

Limestone Networks logo

Starts at:

$104

per month

Usual price: Get % off!

Visit Host

Read Reviews

Cherry Servers logo

Starts at:

$144

per month

Usual price: Get % off!

Visit Host

Read Reviews

Pair Networks logo

Starts at:

$5.47

per month

Usual price: Get % off!

Visit Host

Read Reviews

Claire Broadley

About Claire Broadley

Claire has been creating websites for over 20 years and has been using WordPress for over ten. She is an expert in web hosting, design, HTML, and more. She lives with her husband and son in the United Kingdom.

Connect with Claire

Review Datagram & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a Datagram customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more…

1 How would you rate your experience with Datagram?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about Datagram.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that Datagram rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2019 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2019.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your Datagram review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).

www.datagram.com

4 Reviews

Starts at:

/ mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit Datagram
Table of Contents
shares