Globat In 2019: What Do Globat Client Reviews Say?

Gobat.com Introduction

Globat.com was founded in 2001, and it claims its goal is to make web hosting accessible to everyone. The company is based in America and has over a decades’ worth of hosting experience, with over 100,000 websites on its network.

Over the years, Globat.com has acquired a number of other web hosting providers such as Hostaway.net, Newista.com and Completehostingsolutions.com. Globat.com is also a part of the Endurance International Group, alongside other brands such as BlueHost, FatCow and Hypermart.

Globat.com is mainly focused on shared web hosting but offers a range of additional services for its customers. Judging by its website, simplicity is the key when it comes to their hosting plans.

Globat.com Hosting Plans

Globat.com only offers Linux-based shared web hosting to its customers. There are two plans available. Each provides unlimited disk space and bandwidth, and customers are able to host unlimited domains.

  • The GX01 plan limits the number of MySQL databases the customer can host to 50. This plan provides the customer with a starter ShopSite, allowing them to sell 15 products.
  • The GX19 plan offers the only step up from its low cost option. Labelled as ‘your ecommerce solution’, this plan allows for unlimited MySQL databases and provides a ShopSite Plus feature, allowing for 50 products.

There are a range of add-ons available for Globat.com’s shared hosting plans. These include site backups, an SSL Certificate and SiteLock. Customers can also purchase additional services. Globat gives clients the chance to set up a professional SEO campaign, buy professional website design services and obtain a bespoke Facebook page. These all cost extra, though.

Globat.com also provides an affilliate program and a referral program. The reseller program allows customers to sell their own branded server space at an additional cost.

Globat.com Uptime/Downtime

Globat.com does not make any guarantees about its uptime, nor does it publish any uptime statistics for its servers. Globat.com’s servers are located in two data centres in Boston, USA and utilise a pooled server environment.

Data is regularly backed up and the server network is monitored 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The server farms also feature UPS backup power and a diesel generator to keep everything up and running in case of a power cut.

Globat.com Support

Globat.com provides 24/7 customer and technical support should there be any problems with their service. This includes a live chat facility, a US phone number and an online support console for customers to submit questions and support tickets. There is also a knowledge base, user guides and a range of tutorials for self-help purposes.

Interestingly, Globat.com provide a feedback form for their customers, which hints that they are open to suggestions. There is no Facebook presence for the company that I could find, but there is a Twitter account. It does not appear to be very active at the moment; at the time of writing this article, the last tweet was in 2009, in response to a customer query.

Globat.com in the News

There is a news page on the Globat.com site, and I got the impression that the company had made the news headlines in large American TV networks. However, I was unable to find any articles. The stories it has published seem to be its own press releases. The latest release is from 2008, so it appears that this page is no longer in use.

A scan of the internet and technical blogs suggests that Globat.com have not attracted any other attention in the media, either good or bad.

Globat.com Control Panel

Globat.com’s shared web hosting plans only indicate that they come with a control panel, which provides customers with file managers, site statistics and other normal management features. There is a video in the tutorial pages where you can take a look at the custom panel, and that would definitely help smooth the transition to an otherwise unfamiliar system. The control panel does not appear to be a slick as cPanel or Plesk, so this may lose some of Globat.com’s appeal, particularly among more experienced web hosting customers.

Globat.com Extras

Globat.com customers receive a wide range of extras to tempt them to sign up. These include Google webmaster tools and Adwords credits, Yahoo! marketing credits, a free site builder and other marketing tools.

Globat.com hosting supports PHP, Perl, Mambo, Joomla, WordPress and a wide variety of other software for building websites.

Globat.com Money Back Guarantee / Cancellation Policy

Globat.com customers get a 30-day money-back guarantee to reassure them should they find fault with their services. This guarantee is only valid for customers who use a credit card when they sign up and doesn’t include domain name registration fees, setup fees and other additional services they have purchased.

The Globat.com cancellation policy indicates that customers need to give 30 days’ notice to cancel their account. You may not be charged for the full term of the contract if you cancel before it ends, but there is no indication of how Globat.com makes this decision.

Globat.com Summary

Globat.com has a company slogan of ‘Web Hosting Made Simple’, and it’s hard to disagree with that. The company only offers two hosting plans, and both are based on a shared model. Customers looking to move beyond shared hosting will want to look elsewhere.

The services on offer at Globat.com are geared towards helping novice site builders to get online quickly and effectively, backed up with site building services and SEO services. This would make them a good choice for new small businesses looking to get up and running on the internet, but perhaps not for a company who is on the verge of growth.

Globat Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 7 Reviews by Globat Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

G. Carter Stokum avatar
G. Carter Stokum nonapp.com
Dec 18, 2013

Globat has been my primary host (both personal and professional) for a -I think- 11+ years. I’ve had Excellent up-time, access, and features the entire time. There’s been only One instance of data loss in the last 6+ years, and that was due to using their online editor instead of ftp pushes and such, and it was simple/small due to a timeout…

My only complaint would be that they do not support ssh sessions or officially support custom scripting (no blocking that I’ve yet found, just no support). There is all sorts of pluses and the price (almost) can’t be beat, but by FAR the best part of working with them over the years is that they have Excellent online 24/7 support. Even if the occasional answer is a bit Scripted, online chat access is Awesome.

Visit Host →

Windsor Ortiz avatar
Windsor Ortiz wortiz.co
Oct 01, 2014

Globat services are ok but there cost that claim to be "accesible" are just the same that you can find in other hosting accounts. Cons:
– They allow multiple domain parking in one account, but domains can’t access databases separetly so you can give exclusive access to a specific domain database.
– Extra charge for services like mx,a,txt record change, sub domains and other extras that in other hosting providers you get for free.
– No sub domain email accounts.
– Can’t cancel your recurring billing services until you contact via chat, email or phone to cancel them.
– If they find malware in Your Site(s) they will suspend all your hosted domains and will not delete the files until you do it. When you have clean and update your sites from malware they take up to 12 hours to restore your services back.

Hosts like BlueHost o HostGator delete the malware and notice you about the site clean up. Pros:
– The uptime is great thats a plus with globat and the cpanel is easy to manage.
– Support via chat is the only way to get a quick service. I was a globat customer for 5 years now. i moved out because of the cons.

Visit Host →

brandi blackburn avatar
brandi blackburn dropshipamerica.com
Feb 05, 2016

Been using Globat for over 8 years. Support has been superb. Never had to wait more than 5 minutes on the support live chat form even at 2AM.

All my issues were always taken care of then. You can add as many urls on the GX01. At one time I had around 18 websites going on GX01.

You can do 1 click installs of WP blogs and many other blog platforms, Drupal and many other platforms. Unlimited bandwidth and storage… Note: as with any host company stating unlimited bandwidth means as long as it does not interrupt other urls’ on the shared hosting.

If you have 10 million files then yes you will need to upgrade hosting. I really can’t understand why globat isn’t promoted as much as it should. I have used the other hosts that are rated top 10. Always stayed with globat.

Visit Host →

Amanda Lindemann avatar
Amanda Lindemann
Jun 19, 2009

When signing up, one of their sales people had made a bunch of promises and then didn’t follow through with applying them. I had to jump through hoops and repeatedly provide documentation of our conversations (which I’m thankful I saved.) Several months after signing up we had registration problems with one of our sites and billing problems. April/May of this year they did some migrations which caused huge problems for us and they were slow to resolve the issues.

Our website couldn’t be updated and wouldn’t show current data that was loaded to their servers for over 3 weeks. Then we had problems with one of our e-mail addresses that quit working for over TWO weeks. Our business relies on current data on our website and receiving e-mails from our clients and we were crippled for weeks because of their lack of help.

After I had just had enough, I had decided to cancel our service with them and just get a refund for the remainder of our term. After again waiting about 2 weeks and jumping through hoops to get a response, they say they will not refund us any money per their policy. Their policy does not say they WON’T refund your money.

It also may be of note the number of reports on Globat at ripoffreport. com. I wish we had seen these before deciding on this company. I would NOT recommend Globat to anyone!

Visit Host →

Reg Connolly avatar
Reg Connolly pegasusnlpblog.com
Dec 27, 2013

Been using Globat since January 2007. Over the past 7 years I have found their service to be excellent – and better than a couple of premium UK-based hosting services which I have used. Pros: Excellent uptime and speed.

Very competitive prices for their overall package. Great range of add-ons. Helpful and quite knowledgeable ‘first line’ Support – and they will quickly escalate any complex queries to a higher level.

Had some trouble migrating a site to them last summer and was quite amazed at the way in which Support went the extra mile to resolve things. Cons: I cannot think of any. Incidentally, I don’t normally bother with reviews for big companies. However I came across some negative reviews on this review site for Globat (and for their sister company PowWeb) and think this unfairly represents both companies and could prevent would-be customers from benefitting.

Visit Host →

Josh C avatar
Josh C
Aug 18, 2013

Don’t use them! I had several accounts with them. I closed the accounts to move to a new host (Web Hosting Buzz – they have been great!).

I no longer had access to the email accounts that I used with globat and I did not realize that they were still billing us. A couple years later I noticed the charges on my credit card and contacted globat. They would not refund any of the charges. Make sure if you close your account do NOT only do it in the admin panel you Must talk to a person and double check that they do not continue to bill you!

Visit Host →

Rona Holynas avatar
Rona Holynas holisticbeautysolutions.com
Jun 10, 2013

Globat provides you with a website building software which contains some scripts that are not compatible with a Security Certificate on most browsers. If your website is secure it must show: https; lock; popups with the statement that a connection is fully encrypted). Globat will force you to purchase the Security Certificate which is essential to accept credit cards by your shopping card.

However, Globat never check if this Security Certificate is really working on every browser. If you are not a computer geek and trust Globat you will lose all your sales, revenue and possible your business. If your store is not correctly secure, your shopping card will give an instant warning to your customers that your web-store is unencrypted and the information about your customers’ credit cards may be viewed by anyone.

Buyers never will purchase anything from your web-store and warn everyone around about your “ fishy” site. When you, finally, understand why you have no sales on your website and ask Globat to correct the problem you will be drugged into endless senseless and time consuming correspondence with incompetent and indifferent tech-support. If your loss is substantial you probably will end in the Court. I hope the owner of Globat Mr.Ben Neumann will read this.

Visit Host →

Load More

Most Popular Globat Hosting Plans

GX01 GX19
Disk Space Unlimited Unlimited
Bandwidth Unlimited Unlimited
Price $4.44 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$19.99 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit Globat Visit Globat

Globat Frequently Asked Questions

  • Does Globat offer both Windows and Linux hosting plans?

    Only Linux hosting plans are available.

  • Does Globat offer dedicated servers or VPS plans?

    No, the company only offers shared hosting plans.

  • Does Globat offer a free domain with their hosting plans?

    Yes, they offer one-year free domain registration with the purchase of one of the two of their hosting plans.

    Additionally, you can register an unlimited number of domains with its GX19 hosting plan as well as register domains without purchasing a hosting plan.

  • Does Globat offer domain and website transfers?

    The company offers free domain transfer services. Website migration assistance is available for a flat fee which includes migrating CMS-based websites.

  • What programming features does Globat support?

    Programming supported on Globat hosting plans include CGI, in addition to sever-side languages PHP, Perl, and others.

  • Are any site builders available?

    Globat provides the CM4all browser-based site builder as well as a number of one-click installers for most popular CMS applications such as WordPress and Joomla!

  • Does Globat have any security measures in places?

    The company offers free shared SSL on all accounts and CISP protection.

  • Does Globat have support for ecommerce features?

    Their packages come ready for ecommerce applications, with the ability to use one-click installers to install them.

    Additionally, the company fully supports PayPal credit card processing, different levels of SSL certificates, and product sourcing from Doba.

  • Does Globat offer unlimited storage and bandwidth?

    They advertise unlimited storage and bandwidth with the possibility of hosting unlimited number of websites and email addresses.

    However, their user agreement clearly states that they reserve the right to take corrective action if abuse is detected.

  • Can I host image galleries?

    The host offers a free photo gallery with its GX19 package.

  • Can I host audio and video?

    The company offers RealAudio and RealVideo streaming options, as well as QuickTime Streaming with its hosting plans.

  • What control panel to they offer?

    cPanel is offered on all hosting plans.

  • What forms of payment does Globat accept?

    They accept all major credit cards and PayPal. Yearly contracts are available with an introductory price for hosting plans, which renew at the regular rate.

  • Is there a money-back guarantee?

    The company offers a 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Does Globat offer an uptime guarantee?

    Yes, they offer a 99% up-time guarantee.

  • Does Globat have a support hotline?

    Yes, the company has a 24/7 customer support hotline and online chat support. Customer support is available in English only.

  • Will Globat backup my website for me?

    They perform and maintain backups for their own internal purposes. Customers are advised to take their own backups. However, the company offers several paid backup options as an addon with each hosting plan.

  • Where are their datacenters located?

    They have two datacenters in Boston, Massachusetts.

Claire Broadley

About Claire Broadley

Claire has been creating websites for over 20 years and has been using WordPress for over ten. She is an expert in web hosting, design, HTML, and more. She lives with her husband and son in the United Kingdom.

Connect with Claire

Review Globat & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a Globat customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more…

1 How would you rate your experience with Globat?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about Globat.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that Globat rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2019 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2019.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your Globat review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).