GoDaddy Review: You’ve Seen The Adverts. We Tested Their Hosting For You.

In this review, you’ll learn what you need to know about GoDaddy’s hosting types and how to select the right one for your project. You’ll find out how they compare to other web hosts with similar offerings. And you’ll learn about GoDaddy’s marketing services for small businesses.

Is GoDaddy right for you? Read on and find out!

GoDaddy Is Changing Its Image 

Let me be blunt: I came into this review with the opposite of a soft spot for GoDaddy.

After all, they made their name from Super Bowl ads, bikinis, and controversy in the past.

But when I looked at their services recently, despite my previous aversion to them, I was pleasantly surprised.

It appears that GoDaddy has embarked on a new brand image of late.

From a marketing perspective, I think they realized that using scantily-clad women to sell domain names was only going to get them so far.

godaddy gender diversity
Screengrab from GoDaddy’s 2018 Diversity and Salary Report.

GoDaddy, in fact, released their 2017/18 statistics in which significant improvements have been made in gender diversity along with pay-on-the-dollar compared to average male salaries – another pleasant surprise.

So, to their credit, GoDaddy stepped back and took a hard look in the mirror and decided to reinvent their brand.

Continued below user reviews.

GoDaddy.com Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 597 Reviews by GoDaddy.com Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Manjesh shetty avatar
Manjesh shetty gopcsoft.com
Jul 06, 2016

Godaddy is great hosting company
Reason:
1. Payment Mode : Godaddy has many modes of payments.
2. support : Godaddy offers awesome support if you mess up with your website they will resolve your issue in No time.
3.

Uptime : When it comes to Uptime I rank GoDaddy 6/10 because In most cases server will be down for a Min(Not every time)
4. Price : You can buy a domain and many other products at a cheap price and you can apply many coupons.
5.Server response : Server response is bit slow when it is compared to other hosting services like HostGator
Overall Godaddy best hosting services

Visit Host Now →

Alejandro Chataing avatar
Alejandro Chataing castingsaca.com
Mar 28, 2015

Rocks:

Pr0s:
-It offers the cheapest service in the market of hosting. It can get you started with little money. I recommend their services to small companies and Entrepreneurs.
-Preferred choice for countries with no dollar currency (which is my personal case Venezuela).

If you are the kind of person to find it a bit hard to get your hands in a few dollars, then godaddy can definitely help you out. Its marketing campaigns offer enough coupons to get your first domain for free + the cheapest hosting for a whole year. The cheapest sale I have personally got is 12,18$ one year hosting with controlpanel + a free .com domain

-There are many users of godaddy so it is easy to find help by googling

CONs:

-Since its such a big company, then your little business is not going to be at the top list of godaddy’s concerns, however they do offer a quality support by phone
-According to many blogs it is not the fastest one around. But for your startup company it should suffice

Visit Host Now →

Zi Yang Lai avatar
Zi Yang Lai zylai.com
Jan 19, 2015

Some background: I’m not a webmaster who is in charge of 20 websites nor am I making a living through setting up web hosting, installing WP, designing websites, etc. I am someone that started looking for a web hosting company to build a site for myself to host my photography portfolio.

1. Value – amazing.

As everyone probably knows already, GoDaddy has the cheapest for everything most of the time. I signed up my Economy web hosting through an affiliate link and it only costed me $1/mo. for the first year!

You will not find anything for this price for the features.

2. Uptime – 99.9%, which is today’s industry standard. I’ve heard some bad things about GoDaddy’s uptime when I was researching and before I signed up.

But from my own personal experience, I have not had any downtimes at all. None (I use Pingdom to track my site’s uptime). Downtime differs from server to server.

But I’ve not experienced any downtime. Maybe I’m just lucky.

3. Features – eh… GoDaddy uses "cPanel" – in other words, their own customized version of cPanel.

If this is your first time signing up for hosting, I do not think you’ll care since you will get used to it pretty quickly. I did try the standard cPanel but I find that I actually liked GoDaddy’s version much better. It looks much organized to me and easier to find things.

4.

Support – this is the one thing that GoDaddy sucks at. They representatives do not seem to know much about web hosting. As a newbie, I learned most, if not all, about hosting, WP, SQL databases, etc.

from Google or YouTube. I have not tried out their other services like SSL certificates or reseller hosting.

Visit Host Now →

Load More

GoDaddy Now Targets Small Businesses

These days, GoDaddy strives to be the best web host for small businesses.

Gone are the celebrity spokesmodels. Instead, GoDaddy’s inventing products and services priced within reach for entrepreneurs and owners of small businesses and startups.

A variety of functional features on offer ensure an appealing service to the aforementioned entrepreneur demographic — all at fairly reasonable price.

More Than Just Domains

GoDaddy made its bacon selling domain registrations — and it’s still the largest domain registrar in the world, with 72 million domain names under their management.

But now GoDaddy is so much more. To quote their quarterly report, they want to “help customers kick ass in life-fulfilling independent ventures.” I’m guessing there are fewer bikinis involved in that mission.

Small Business HQ, Focused on Younger Solopreneurs

Although they’re focused on small businesses, it doesn’t mean they’re stodgy.

They now skew their messages toward younger makers and solopreneurs. Their Twitter header shows a tattooed dude dabbing. They use slang like “adulting = hard.”

godaddy twitter

“Plug Life” on GoDaddy’s Twitter profile.

If you can relate to that type of brand personality, let’s get into some of the nitty-gritty on GoDaddy’s products.

Business Services and Tools: Marketing, Web Design and Administrative

So what’s different? GoDaddy is now offering marketing services and administrative tools that can help small businesses.

Small businesses will be interested in their “local SEO” services. Here’s a list of what’s on offer:

Add-OnDescriptionBenefit & Use Case
EmailProfessional email accounts for your businessProfessional online presence via email
AccountingAn online bookkeeping app for invoicing and tracking expensesSaves time and money
DocumentsMicrosoft Office 365, including desktop and mobile appsConvenience
MarketingOnline marketing for email newsletters and adsEngagement with prospects and leads
PhoneA second phone number via SmartLineProvides a business number
Cloud StorageOnline storage workspace, a cloud-based workspace for shared files and backups (akin to Dropbox)Extra storage is useful
Professional ServicesAccess to experts-for-hire who can do everything from graphic design to SEO.Get high-level help in areas you struggle with

One-Stop Business Hub

It’s true that you can get many of these services cheaper — or even free — elsewhere.

However, although there’s no particular synergy between these apps, some small businesses may appreciate the convenience of having all these products centralized on one dashboard.

It’s true that you can get many of these services cheaper — or even free — elsewhere.

godaddy marketing and websites

GoDaddy’s GoCentral plans include extras beyond just web hosting.

However, although there’s no particular synergy between these apps, some small businesses may appreciate the convenience of having all these products centralized on one dashboard.

GoDaddy’s Shared Hosting Plans

GoDaddy’s cheapest shared hosting plans are in line with its competitors, so there’s no shocking news there.

They offer various plan tiers for hosting that range from hands-off DIY to full-service care and feeding of your site.

Choose from 4 Plans

The four shared hosting bundles show a clear intent of GoDaddy’s efficient targeting small business owners.

The resource allowances are generous and some generous freebies (like the free domain with all shared plans) are thrown in which should come as a relief for newbie hosting customers.

Comparison Table: Shared Hosting Plans

Here are the main variables of the shared hosting tiers side-by-side:

EconomyDeluxeUltimateMaximum
Website Allowance1Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Free SSL CertificateNoNoYes (1 year)Yes (full-term)
Databases10 x 1GB25 x 1GBUnlimited x 1GB Unlimited x 1GB
Starting (Discount) Price$2.79/mo$3.99/mo$5.99/mo$15.99/mo
Renewal Price*$7.99/mo$10.99/mo$16.99/mo$24.99/mo

*Note that the starting (discount) price only lasts for the initial term you sign up for. After that, renewal pricing kicks in.

Additional Features

In addition, all shared hosting plans come with:

  • 1-click installs (125+ free apps)
  • 1-click domain setup
  • Simple-to-use control panel
  • 24/7 security and DDoS protection

The economy plan comes with 100 GB storage and unlimited bandwidth, though the top three shared hosting plans all boast unlimited of both resources.

Along with the standard shared hosting features and optional add-ons, any growing webmaster can be assured to have suitable tools to perform any task they have in the pipeline.

What Stands Out in GoDaddy’s Basic Plans?

Most web hosts offer plans that are clones of their competition’s products. I won’t bore you with those specs.

GoDaddy’s unique offerings include:

FeatureDescription
Visitors vs. BandwidthGoDaddy’s pricing is tiered by number of visitors rather than bandwidth transferred, which is pretty nifty if you’re first starting out since your traffic will initially be small.
Control PanelsControl panels are cPanel for all shared hosting (as well as Linux servers) and Plesk for Windows servers.
Email AddressesWith your hosting plan you can create email addresses via your cPanel or Plesk, which you can configure to receive via Microsoft, Apple, Gmail, or any other email program. You don’t need to add on Professional Email (that plan is for domains not hosted at GoDaddy).
Disk SpaceDisk space is generous but not unlimited.
Backup & RestoreShared hosting comes with daily backups and 1-click restore but non-shared plans may require SiteBackup as an add-on.
SSL CertificatesFree SSL certificates are offered only on top-tier plans.
Customer SupportEvery plan gets “premium” level support, regardless of tier or pricing. Everyone gets free 24/7/365 email, chat, and phone support in their own language.

GoDaddy’s Premium Hosting Plans

In addition to the two site builders, GoDaddy has a wide-ranging suite of other hosting plans, including Virtual Private Servers (VPSs), and Dedicated servers.

So many plans, in fact, that it can be hard to find and compare them since they’re in disparate parts of their site. I don’t know if this confusion is intentional or if it’s simply chaos resulting from a recent redesign.

They offer both Linux and Windows servers, with the highest-priced hosting tier providing tools for developers.

Except for WordPress-only hosting, GoDaddy’s shared hosting plans give you access to Installatron’s library of 1-click installs.

godaddy one-click installs

GoDaddy’s library of 1-click installs comes via Installatron.

VPS Hosting Plans

Aside from the confusion, I have managed to get my head around the VPS hosting plans which they offer in four separate tiers.

godaddy managed vps

The cheapest managed VPS plan starts at $29.99/month and comprises of:

  • 1 CPU core
  • 2 GB RAM
  • 40 GB storage

All plans are advertised as managed although self-managed options are available too. Those who prefer to self-managed lose out on:

  • AutoSSL functionality with cPanel
  • Automated weekly backups
  • Automated software updates and patches
  • Uptime monitoring
  • 1-click installs

Dedicated Servers

These plans are definitely on the higher end of the pricing and performance scale.

Small business owners may want to avoid diving in head first and committing to a dedicated plan of this magnitude — though familiarizing yourself with it never hurts.

The most basic plan priced at $169.99/month consists of the following resources:

  • 4 CPU cores @ 3.1GHZ
  • 4 GB RAM
  • 1 TB RAID-1 storage
  • Unmetered Bandwidth
  • 3 Dedicated IPs
  • Free SSL Certificate (1 year)

Further notable server specs for the savvy shoppers include root access and additional back-up services.

Management of Dedicated Servers

All dedicated plans come with three management options in form of Self-Managed, Managed and Fully Managed.

While the likes of migrations, additional dedicated IPs are included in the upper managed plans, root access is only available for self-managed plans. If this is something you are in desperate need of – keep an eye out.

GoDaddy’s Website Builders

GoDaddy offers its own proprietary website builder and a WordPress drag-and-drop builder. Let’s look at the proprietary one first.

GoCentral Website Builder

GoDaddy’s business website builder is called GoCentral. I have to say, it’s pretty slick.

Without providing my credit card, I was able to put together a site in about ten minutes using the wizard to click through just five pages. I could’ve continued to tweak and add pages but the basic site was set to publish that quickly.

godaddy site builder
Just answer two questions and GoDaddy suggests templates and themes for your site.

Lots of Business Templates

One of GoDaddy’s real killer apps is that GoCentral has dozens of website templates, categorized and customized to specific products and services.

Don’t mistake templates with themes. Templates provide structure for your site whereas themes are concerned with design, colors, and fonts.

Own a pet grooming service? There are templates for that. Consulting engineer? Yep, templates for that, too. Go ahead, find your business in the full list of templates.

But Limited Theme Choices

The only drawback for the GoCentral site builder, in my view, is that you only have eight themes from which to choose. Other site builders like Wix and Weebly give you more design choices.

Add an Online Store in a Snap

If you buy the highest-tier GoCentral hosting plan, in addition to the site builder, you can also add e-commerce and shopping cart functionality with Online Store.

It’s just as easy to open a store as it is to use the website builder for the main part of your website.

Using WordPress Quick Start Site Builder

GoDaddy has another site builder called WordPress Quick Start.

Unlike GoCentral, you can’t try the WordPress Quick Start site builder for free. You must purchase at least 1 month of hosting to try out this builder.

No Need to Understand WordPress

Despite the credit card hurdle, Quick Start could be worth trying out anyway. The brilliance of this WordPress site builder is that you don’t need to know anything about WordPress to put together a website in minutes.

In fact, you don’t even need to know what the heck WordPress is or how it works to add plugins to your site.

GoDaddy puts a layer of drag-and-drop goodness between you and the inner workings of WordPress so you can concentrate on the content and not the coding.

godaddy website builder interface

The Quick Start wizard transforms WordPress’ normal dashboard into an editor.

Impressively Easy to Use

As a WordPress geek myself, I was impressed with the ease of Quick Start. I’m pretty sure that even retired snowbirds in Florida could get a WordPress website up in a snap.

Great Support Staff, But Documentation? Not So Much

GoDaddy has gone all-out in the support personnel department. They employ over 4,700 customer support reps. 

These reps are matched to serve customers in specific countries. (GoDaddy offers support services in 27 languages.)

That means you’ll talk to someone who speaks your language and won’t talk down to you or over your head.

You can contact Support whenever you like over the phone or via online chat. The best part is that GoDaddy’s level of support isn’t contingent on the price of your plan.

Outstanding Customer Support

My experiences with the in-person aspect of their support were outstanding. When I chatted with support personnel, I received helpful answers to my questions with limited wait times, from reps who were genuinely interested in understanding me.

godaddy live chat
The chat help reps were awesome.

Self-Help Documentation

On the other hand, self-help is a bit difficult to accomplish.

It seems so basic, but it’s frustrating when it’s not available. For instance, there is no search box at the top of GoDaddy’s homepage. (The search box you see is for finding domain names.)

You’re forced to click around to stumble upon their plans, often not knowing how you got to a specific page.

Searching for Help Is Frustrating

While I was researching this article, I tried searching documents for help both as a non-customer and as a logged-in customer, most of the time with little success.

Eventually, I had to resort to Google site searches or clicking the support “chat” button. The Community forums were so garbled, I gave up on them.

godaddy community forum
GoDaddy’s community forum.

Uptime Guarantee and How to Request It

GoDaddy has a 99.9% uptime guarantee but they determine the percentages of uptime themselves. Assuming you somehow find out about a lack of uptime, you must contact them yourself to cash in on the guarantee.

Even if you are able to jump through those hoops, your reward is merely a 5% credit on your next month of hosting, which on low-tier plans could be a whopping 20-cents.

The Mystery of GoDaddy’s Infrastructure

GoDaddy is pretty mum about its infrastructure. I was able to find out that it uses 37,000+ servers globally spread across at least nine datacenters, but they don’t publish information about their network setup.

You can find the generalized, unbranded specs for hosting servers on some non-shared hosting price pages. The beefiest specs I could find are on the dedicated hosting servers.

You can choose between Linux and Windows servers, as you please for VPS and dedicated hosting plans. You’ll get a Linux server on shared or WordPress hosting.

General Web Security

It comes as a letdown that most standard security features come as add-ons with GoDaddy.

The likes of SSL certificates and backups are included a selected handful of plans though some customers are required to pay hefty premiums for these necessities.

Shift to AWS Cloud

According to a 2018 press release from BusinessWire, GoDaddy commited to a multi-year transition and will make full use of the AWS software and cloud hardware services.

Being the largest name in web hosting as well as the domain world, GoDaddy’s inevitable growth is obviously catered for by a reliable partner in the form of Amazon Web Services.

No Content Delivery Network (CDN)

I was perplexed to discover that GoDaddy doesn’t use a Content Delivery Network (CDN) to speed up its network and I couldn’t find a way to install one in the help documentation.

I assume that on VPS or Dedicated server plans that you can install CloudFlare yourself (or another CDN), but shared hosting is left out in the cold, CDN-wise.

How GoDaddy Compares to Bluehost

Of course, other hosting companies may be in contention for your small business wallet. As web hosts go, Bluehost is one of the more popular choices, but GoDaddy stacks up against them pretty well in terms of product offerings.

  • GoDaddy and Bluehost plans prices are fairly equivalent, even at promotional price points.
  • However, Bluehost offers SiteLock CDN and a free SSL certificate on all of their plans whereas GoDaddy doesn’t have a CDN on most of their plans and an SSL certificate is free only on the top tier plans.
  • While GoDaddy has two site builders, Bluehost offers none.

Here is an overview of key hosting information from GoDaddy.

Last 10 Months’ Uptime

Over the past 10 months (Feb 2019), GoDaddy boasted an average uptime of 99.992%.

Caveat: taken from one site we monitor on GoDaddy so offers an indication only.

Average Response Time

Over the last 10 months (Feb 2019), as measured by Pingdom, GoDaddy had an average response time of 1053.1 – not exactly impressive.

Many top hosts are in the low 300s.

godaddy server response
This Pingdom chart shows that GoDaddy response times in January 2019 hovered around 1,000 ms.

Caveat: taken from one site we monitor on GoDaddy so offers an indication only.

godaddy global server response
Server response times by country: the darker the green, the faster the service. (Source: Pingdom)

Unique Selling Propositions

  • GoDaddy specializes in productivity needs for small businesses.
  • It’s the largest domain registrar in the world.

Migration Policy

Migration for managed WordPress sites is extremely easy and can be done with one click from the control panel.

For other plans, it takes only a few more clicks. For the Basic and Deluxe WordPress plans, you can migrate 1 site. For Ultimate, 2 sites. For Pro, you can choose 1-25 sites.

Migrating out is simple, explained well, and you always have access to your data.

Quality of Support Material On Website

I found it extremely difficult to find what I needed sometimes, even with Google Site search. Nine times out of ten I had to resort to text-chatting with a support rep.

However, once you find the page you’re looking for, the steps are extremely clear, easy to follow, and backed up with relevant images. I was pleased to see that none of the help pages I found were outdated.

The “Community” section isn’t moderated by GoDaddy support people and a lot of questions go unanswered or poorly-addressed.

I’d rate their support material as “fair” since their info is good but it’s difficult to find what you need.

Control Panel

cPanel is GoDaddy’s control panel for Linux and their Windows servers use Plesk.

I tested cPanel. Although, it takes a few clicks to find the control panel because they add an intermediary page between your “products” dashboard and your website dashboard before you can get to either cPanel or Plesk.

Benefits of cPanel for Newbies

The dashboard layout is very airy and touch-friendly. Everything’s clearly marked and categorized, with a hint at where to start first.

If you haven’t yet encountered the term cPanel, here are a few useful functionalities it allows you to take advantage of:

  • Easy installation of apps and add-ons (otherwise a techy process)
  • Email management
  • Database management
  • Website portability – a flexible environment for your website

Available Datacenters

There’s a datacenter located near its headquarters in Phoenix, with two additional Arizona centers and others in:

  • Los Angeles
  • Chicago
  • Ashburn
  • Virginia
  • Amsterdam
  • Singapore

Guarantees and Trial Periods

For shared hosting, you can get your money back within 30 days of payment if you’re unsatisfied.

You can also downgrade your plan if you like. All plans are free to try for the first 30 days. You can request your money back by calling customer support.

Important note: unlike many hosts, you can’t try out GoDaddy’s WordPress plans without providing a credit card. You can, however, try out its GoCentral site builder without a credit card.

Uptime Guarantee

99.9% uptime guarantee: “If we fail to maintain this Service Uptime Guarantee in a particular month (as solely determined by us), you may contact us and request a credit of 5% of your monthly hosting fee for that month.”

Lowest Price for Shared Hosting or Other Cheapest Plan

Their cheapest WordPress or GoCentral shared hosting plan is $7.99/mon but they’ll give you a 50% discount for your first year, making it about $3.99/mon for that initial term.

When you renew for your 2nd year, the cost goes back up to $7.99. There’s no special link or coupon to get the 50%/mon discount.

You can also try out the GoCentral site builder for free (no credit card required) for 30 days.

Backup Policy

For managed WordPress plans, backup is included for no extra charge. You can initiate a backup or restore from your control panel. For other plans, you can add 1-click restore backups for $1.99/mon.

Site Builder Included?

Two types of site builders are available, which are dependent upon which plans you choose. You can’t add on a site builder to a non-site-builder hosting plan later.

  1. The WordPress managed hosting site builder, called Quick Start, will help you set up a WP site almost instantly. (As quickly as I’ve ever seen.) You can’t try Quick Start without paying for at least one month. The cheapest WordPress Managed Hosting plan starts at $3.99/mon (50% off of the $7.99/mon).
  2. GoDaddy’s other site builder is called GoCentral, which you can try for free. If you decide you like it after 30 days, the GoCentral plan costs $115.06/yr (approximately $9.59/mon).

PCI Compliant?

The only GoDaddy products that offer PCI compliance are Online Store and Quick Shopping Cart.

Behind the Scenes

To wrap things up, here is a quick summary of all other notable GoDaddy features. Special mention goes to the intuitive account dashboard which you have access to as a GoDaddy customer.

godaddy account dashboard
GoDaddy’s account dashboard is user-friendly which after a complicated website comes as a surprise.
  • Products Dashboard
  • Upgrading Your Plan
  • Shared Hosting File Manager
  • cPanel Account Dashboard
  • Check All Your Site’s Stats on the cPanel Dashboard
  • cPanel Email Dashboard
  • Professional Email Add-On
  • Welcome Email With Promotional Offer

Pros and Cons

Like all hosting companies, GoDaddy has its good and bad points. Here are the major ones to keep in mind while you decide which hosting company to choose.

Pros

  1. GoDaddy provides a lot of tools that can help small businesses be more productive. You can get online in minutes with dozens of templates you can choose based on your product or service.
  2. Attractive pricing, especially on the site builder plans (GoCentral and Managed WordPress).
  3. 24/7/365 phone & chat support in dozens of languages.

Cons

  1. Plan descriptions are muddled. It’s hard to find and compare all the different plans GoDaddy offers. Also, you can’t add on functionality if you pick the wrong plan (eg, you can’t get a site builder on non-site-builder plans).
  2. Although in-person help is responsive and customized, the online help area is pretty chaotic. It can be difficult and time-consuming to find what you need in the help sections, even if you know what you’re looking for and even using Google site search.
  3. Adding on à la carte products can get pricey (eg, site backups, office email), especially if you have more than five employees.
  4. GoDaddy doesn’t offer a CDN on shared hosting packages.

Room for Improvement

GoDaddy’s web hosting lineup has some great features, but its website has room for improvement in a couple of areas:

  1. They could stand better organization of the GoDaddy site, including adding a search box to make it easier to find information about the plans and features you’re interested in.
  2. The self-help knowledge base and the community forums need to be reindexed so that it’s easier to find the help you need.

FAQs

Here are the answers to some of the most frequently asked questions about GoDaddy.

Is GoDaddy’s “shared hosting” the same as “WordPress hosting?”

No, shared hosting isn’t the same as WordPress hosting. Shared hosting gives you a bare-bones server to do with what you will. WordPress hosting comes with the Quick Start wizard and you can only use WordPress with it.

Can I get access to a site builder or wizard on any plan?

No, you cannot add a site builder to a GoDaddy hosting plan. To get a site builder, you must sign up for the GoCentral plan or the WordPress plan.

What’s the difference between the WordPress Quick Start site builder and the GoCentral site builder?

GoCentral lets you add on an online store and any other 1-click installable app. Quick Start is only for WordPress and its plugins.

Where can I find the 1-click install options?

You can find the 1-click install options in your control panel. Look for the Installatron icon. (GoDaddy’s 1-click provider is Installatron.) For a list of the apps visit Installatron’s website.

How many email addresses do I get on the cheapest hosting plans?

On the cheapest GoDaddy hosting plans you get as many email addresses as you want, for free.

How hard is it to add e-commerce to my site? Do I need to decide before I choose a plan?

Adding an online store is easy, but you do need to pick a plan that includes it.

Do Any Big Brands Use GoDaddy?

I couldn’t find any big-name businesses advertised as using GoDaddy. That includes in their quarterly reports (pdf).

More FAQs: see below for more FAQs.

GoDaddy Alternatives

If GoDaddy sounds intriguing to you, you might want to compare its plans with similar web hosts. The web hosts below are similar in that they also offer website builders, sell domain names, and cater to small businesses:

Our top picks are iPage, HostPapa and HostGator – take a look at what you get in terms of freebies and performance with their basic budget shared hosting plans:

iPageHostPapaHostGator
Storage and BandwidthCustom Bandwidth
Unlimited Storage
Unlimited Bandwidth
100 GB Storage
Unlimited Bandwidth
& Storage
Domain and SSLFree SSL
Free Domain
Free SSL
Free SSL
Support24/724/724/7
Price$1.99/mo$3.95/mo$2.75

Final Thoughts

GoDaddy is great for:

  1. Small businesses or entrepreneurs who want an easy way to get a website up quickly at a good initial price. As your business grows, you can expand the services you get from GoDaddy, including adding an online store.
  2. GoDaddy is also good for business owners who aren’t super tech-savvy (or don’t have the time to fool with it) and are looking for an easy-to-use website builder. It also offers other products small businesses can use like Office 365 and online bookkeeping.
  3. GoDaddy probably isn’t for you if you need enterprise solutions, extensive development tools, or if you don’t know how to use Google site:search to find DIY help.

With all the information you have here, you should be in a good position to make the right choice for yourself. Happy hosting!

Most Popular GoDaddy.com Hosting Plans

Web Hosting Economy Windows Shared Economy Basic WordPress
Disk Space 100GB 100GB 100MB
Bandwidth Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Price $1 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$3.99 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$3.99 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit GoDaddy.com Now Visit GoDaddy.com Now Visit GoDaddy.com Now
Plan Disk Space Bandwidth Price
Web Hosting Deluxe
Shared
Unlimited Unlimited $4.99 / mo Visit Host Now
Deluxe WordPress
Shared
500GB Unlimited $4.99 / mo Visit Host Now
Web Hosting Ultimate
Shared
Unlimited Unlimited $5.99 / mo Visit Host Now
Website Builder (Personal)
Shared
Unlimited Unlimited $5.99 / mo Visit Host Now
Ultimate WordPress
Shared
Unlimited Unlimited $7.99 / mo Visit Host Now
Developer WordPress
Shared
$13.99 / mo Visit Host Now
VPS Hosting Economy
Shared
40GB Unlimited $16.99 / mo Visit Host Now
VPS Hosting Value
Shared
60GB Unlimited $19.99 / mo Visit Host Now
Business Launch
Shared
60GB Unlimited $19.99 / mo Visit Host Now
VPS Hosting Deluxe
Shared
120GB Unlimited $21.99 / mo Visit Host Now
Windows Economy VPS
VPS
40GB Unlimited $26.99 / mo Visit Host Now
Online Store Website Builder
Shared
Unlimited Unlimited $29.99 / mo Visit Host Now
VPS Hosting Ultimate
Shared
240GB Unlimited $31.99 / mo Visit Host Now
More Plans +

GoDaddy.com Frequently Asked Questions

  • Does GoDaddy offer Windows hosting?

    Yes. GoDaddy offers Windows hosting packages with the Plesk control panel. It recommends Linux hosting for non-technical users.

  • Are VPS hosting plans available?

    Yes. GoDaddy’s VPS hosting includes full root access, dedicated IPs, and unmetered bandwidth.

  • Does GoDaddy provide a free domain with hosting packages?

    Yes. If you sign up for a new WordPress or shared hosting plan, you’ll be able to claim one free domain name.

  • What support options will I have?

    GoDaddy provides local telephone numbers for many countries, so you can speak to someone by phone when you need help. Lines are open 24/7. They also offer live chat support.

  • Does GoDaddy offer VPS and dedicated hosting?

    Yes. GoDaddy offers VPS and dedicated web hosting.

  • Does GoDaddy have a money-back guarantee?

    Yes. You can try any GoDaddy hosting plans for 30 days risk-free.

    Rules for domain name refunds are also different.

  • Does GoDaddy allow me to create unlimited websites?

    Most shared hosting plans allow you to create unlimited websites, apart from the most basic which are limited to one website only. Other hosting plans, like Managed WordPress, have a limit to the number of sites you can create.

  • Is the bandwidth and storage unlimited?

    On some plans, GoDaddy refers to bandwidth and storage as being unmetered. You won’t be charged for exceeding a limit, providing you use your hosting account for normal activities.

    For example, hosting files on your web hosting account is likely to attract an additional fee due to excessive bandwidth usage.

  • Can GoDaddy migrate my site for me?

    Yes, but the number of sites is limited — depending upon the plan you choose.

  • Does GoDaddy offer an uptime guarantee?

    Yes. GoDaddy offers a 99.9% uptime guarantee. If it decides that it has not met its uptime promise in any month, customers can request a 5% credit of their monthly fee.

  • What languages do customer service operators speak?

    GoDaddy customer service is available in 26 languages, including English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, German, Dutch, Turkish, Russian, and Chinese.

  • Where are GoDaddy’s datacenters?

    GoDaddy has 9 datacenters, spread across the USA, the Netherlands, and Singapore.

  • Does GoDaddy offer cPanel?

    GoDaddy deploys cPanel on its Linux-based accounts and servers, along with WHM on dedicated server, VPS, and reseller accounts. Windows accounts include Plesk.

    Note that you may have to pay for your control panel software on some unmanaged hosting plans, as it is considered optional.

  • Can I pay for my hosting with PayPal?

    PayPal is available in some territories. GoDaddy also accepts credit cards, Skrill, Allpay.com, Good as Gold, CCAvenue, Invoice (boletos), e-check, and GoDaddy’s own gift cards. Payment options vary depending on customer location.

  • Does GoDaddy have a reseller program?

    Yes. GoDaddy offers two different reseller hosting packages, which benefit from discounted pricing, a white label billing system, payment processing services, and sales reports.

  • Can I use a CDN with my site?

    If you want to use a CDN, you will need to set this up yourself with a third party provider. GoDaddy used to provide Website Accelerator, but this has been discontinued.

  • Can I pay for my hosting monthly?

    GoDaddy offers monthly payments, as well as other payment frequencies. The longest payment cycle is three years.

    Note that contract lengths vary from three months to three years; you may be granted a discount if you choose to sign up to a longer contract.

  • Will GoDaddy back up my site for me?

    GoDaddy offers a number of different backup procedures, including automated and managed backups. Secure cloud backup options are available as well.

  • Is Magento supported?

    Yes. Magento can be used on GoDaddy shared hosting plans, but you will almost always see better performance if you use a VPS or dedicated server for Magento.

    There is no specific Magento-optimized plan, but it is provided as a one-click install or a cloud application.

  • How do I check my email on GoDaddy?

    You can access GoDaddy email through your web browser.

    In the address bar, type http://email. and then the domain name for your website.

    For example, http://email.yourdomain.com. If this does not work, there is an alternate method: go to https://email.secureserver.net and sign in to access your email.

  • How do I link my GoDaddy domain to WordPress?

    If your WordPress site is hosted with a different provider, ask them which nameservers you should use. Then, go to GoDaddy and add those nameservers to the domain you want to use with WordPress.

    Allow a minimum of 24 hours for the changes to propagate; 48 hours is recommended.

    Once propagation is complete, head to the Settings section of your WordPress dashboard, and navigate to the General page. Carefully, type your domain name into the URL field, and save.

  • How does GoDaddy search engine visibility work?

    Search Engine Visibility is a GoDaddy service that may improve search engine rankings.

    Features include search engine submission, an SEO Checklist, a site map creator, and a keyword generator. GoDaddy does not guarantee that your site’s rankings will be improved.

  • What is GoDaddy website builder?

    GoDaddy website builder is a DIY website creation tool. GoDaddy says that you should be able to build a usable website in less than an hour.

    The website builder creates responsive layouts, and pricing includes hosting and support.

  • How do I make changes to my website on GoDaddy?

    The way you edit your website differs, depending on the tool you used to create it. If you used the GoDaddy website builder, editing is simple; log into your GoDaddy account, and follow the instructions to make changes to your site.

    If you used another platform, like WordPress, log into the admin area to edit your website.

  • How do I use WordPress with GoDaddy?

    GoDaddy allows hosting customers to install WordPress quickly and easily on their own hosting account.

    Once you purchase a hosting plan, the WordPress software is free to use.

    If you prefer, you can purchase a managed WordPress package, and let GoDaddy take care of all the updates and bug fixes for you.

  • How do you set up GoDaddy email on iPhone?

    You can add a GoDaddy Workspace email account to your iPhone’s Mail accounts. But you’ll need your email server information from GoDaddy’s Email Setup Center.

    In the Mail app on your iPhone, add a new account, and tap Other. Choose IMAP or POP, and fill in the details from the Email Setup Center.

  • How do I create an email with GoDaddy?

    You can create a new Workspace email account by logging into your GoDaddy control panel. In the email settings area, click Manage, and then Create above the list of email addresses.

    Once you’ve completed all of the steps required, GoDaddy will send you an email message with configuration instructions for your computer, phone, and tablet.

  • What is the POP server for GoDaddy?

    The GoDaddy POP server address is pop.secureserver.net.

    All GoDaddy email accounts are compatible with POP. On some plans, you can also use IMAP, which can be more convenient when using a single account on multiple devices.

    Check the fine print to find out whether IMAP is offered on your plan.

Natalie Mootz

About Natalie Mootz

Natalie writes about consumer tech and enjoys all manner of geeky things. She lives in California with her husband, two cats, and a banjo.

Connect with Natalie

Review GoDaddy.com & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a GoDaddy.com customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more…

1 How would you rate your experience with GoDaddy.com?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about GoDaddy.com.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that GoDaddy.com rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2019 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2019.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your GoDaddy.com review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).

shares