Gradwell Hosting Review: Little Info About This Host, See What We Found

Gradwell Communications Introduction

Based in the United Kingdom and founded in 1998, Gradwell Communications is not a hosting company in the traditional sense. In fact, if you were to quickly glance over their website, you may not even realize they offer web hosting services at all.

Although the bulk of their messaging revolves around telecommunications solutions (voice and broadband), they do offer a number of cloud-based hosting plans to small businesses.

Cloud Hosting Services

For businesses wanting to learn more about Gradwell’s hosting plans, go directly to the Cloud page. It’s the only place on their website that features information about them.

The good news here is that Gradwell offers a full range of hosting services, so small businesses can do all their shopping in one place. The bad news is that the information isn’t as robust as you’d find from companies that work solely as web hosting providers.

Here is the breakdown of their cloud-based hosting, domain, and business website solutions: web hosting; email hosting; domain purchase and hosting;SSL certificate purchase from Comodo, GeoTrust, or Symantec; website builder tool; Microsoft Office 365 and Hosted Exchange; and Cloud Drive and Backup.

One of the benefits in choosing a company like Gradwell is the bundling. Telecom companies recognize that businesses don’t want to source one solution from one company, another solution from a different one, and so on. For businesses that have a need for an affordable and comprehensive web/email/domain hosting solution, then Gradwell offers a number of discounts for those willing to bundle for 12 months or longer.

Gradwell Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 5 Reviews by Gradwell Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Woody Goldsack avatar
Woody Goldsack ratwarehouse.com
Mar 28, 2016

Joined Gradwell in 2002 when they were about the best you could get. I have recommended them to many people. They stayed that way for a decade, with 24/7 support including with difficult or custom matters.

Since 2010 they made a move to Voip mainly and appear to lost interest in hosting. Outages went from unheard of to daily, and they seem to be unaware of these issues when they happen. Last month my site was down for 5 days.

They fixed an issue and my site never recovered. Not only that, I couldn’t persuade gradwell support that the problem was not my site itself until I wrote a script to demonstrate that one of their platforms was down. I have enough issues running a business without having to train their support staff.

Anyway, according to pingdom (and note this doesn’t show the 5 day outage as it was on one server of their shared servers:

Month start Uptime Outages Response
2006-02-01 96.84% 53 1009ms
2016-01-01 99.24% 70 915ms
2015-12-01 99.15% 34 554ms

etc. The last time I got above 99.9% was august 2014. Now I am a bit embarrassed that several people i know have sites on gradwell due to my recommendation.

Visit Host →

Fraser Edwards avatar
Fraser Edwards woohoo.co.uk
Oct 29, 2008

Slightly more expensive than your average shared host but uptime has been good. A really confusing control panel offers control over every single part of the configuration which is good in some ways but took me a long time to get my head round. Support is fairly good but it’s definitely not a web host for newbies.

Visit Host →

Ryan  Cox avatar
Ryan Cox convert2cash.eu
Nov 19, 2015

Great in all areas. Cannot complain with the price or service I have received. Dedicated Technical Account Managers make a huge difference.

I have never had an outage & I have been with Gradwell for almost 2 years now. Gradwell’s pricing and features are very straightforward. They can also provide the whole package should you be a small start up, like myself.

What hit me on day one and has hit me ever since and carries on right to this day is their support. They have given us fantastic support over the years – better than any other company that I know. I’ve always been happy to recommend Gradwell.

Visit Host →

Ollie Clark avatar
Ollie Clark ollieclark.com
Jan 28, 2011

Much more expensive than similar suppliers. Technical support ranges from clueless to deliberately obstructive. Outages are becoming an almost daily occurance.

There are regularly issues which take over a Month to fix. I’ve been with them for years. I’m currently moving to TSO Host.

I expect the odd glitch. I expect the odd clueless tech support monkey. I don’t expect to have almost daily problems and noone capable of fixing them.

Visit Host →

Ollie Clark avatar
Ollie Clark ollieclark.com
Jan 20, 2011

Gradwell used to be a reliable and solid provider but as they have grown and moved into other areas they have put less and less effort into their web-hosting to the extent that uptime is unsatisfactory, a recent hacking incident resulted in almost all customers files being hacked and then the fix broke many websites. Support is poor to useless, a recent incident needing five seperate contacts with front line support and then escalation to the director of customer services before a simple fix could be made. Their web logs have been unavaliable for over a month and any requests for an update result in "we don’t know what’s wrong or how long it will take to fix". They’re expensive, unreliable and have very poor support.

Visit Host →

Load More

Network

Gradwell’s cloud hosting solutions don’t leave much of an impression on their website, so you’ll be hard-pressed to find information on this. Here is what they do share:

“Our UK-based, state-of-the-art servers provide a fast and secure environment in which to host your website at a price you can afford.”

Support and Customer Service

According to the website, Gradwell offers free support from initial signup through the lifetime of the contract with them.

Hours of availability are listed as Monday through Friday from 8 am to 8 pm, and Saturday and Sunday from 9 am to 5 pm. As they are based in the UK, it’s safe to assume those hours pertain to their local time zone.

Backups

With barely any information available regarding their hosting infrastructure, it’s difficult to speak to this point. The website does mention that website backup is included with the Premier web hosting package. Aside from that, however, they explicitly state that backup is the sole responsibility of the website owner.

Security is briefly mentioned, but no discussion of how they protect clients’ websites against security threats is provided.

Uptime Guarantee

There is no guarantee of uptime. The only mention of this is the following: “Unrivaled uptimes and fast page loads.”

Conclusion

After carefully reviewing the Gradwell Communications website, we would advise businesses to proceed with caution. While they do offer good bundling discounts and offers, there isn’t a whole lot of information available regarding the reliability of their network or infrastructure. This may be a safe bet for businesses already working with Gradwell for their telecom solutions; the choice is not as clear to others.

Most Popular Gradwell Hosting Plans

Standard Web Hosting
Disk Space 5GB
Bandwidth 5GB
Price $8.59 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit Gradwell

Most Popular Gradwell Alternatives

Brenda Barron

About Brenda Barron

Brenda is an active online publisher and experienced WordPress blogger. She has been building websites since 1997. In addition, she publishes science fiction and fantasy stories under the name Brenda Stokes Barron.

Connect with Brenda

Review Gradwell & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a Gradwell customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more…

1 How would you rate your experience with Gradwell?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about Gradwell.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that Gradwell rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2019 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2019.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your Gradwell review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).