Add Your Review for GreenGeeks

GreenGeeks In 2018: What Do GreenGeeks Client Reviews Say?

greengeeks.com
Location:US
Founded:2006
Phone:1-877-326-7483
Address:GreenGeeks 5739 Kanan Rd Suite 300 Agoura Hills, CA 91301 USA
Pros:
  • Host unlimited domains
  • Free site migration
Cons:
  • Free domain only for the first year

Is GreenGeeks the Web Host for You?

GreenGeeks prides itself on environmentally friendly web hosting. But there are a number of such hosts. In this article, I will explain GreenGeeks to you and help you to see if it is the right host for you.

greengeeks overview

What Is GreenGeeks Hosting?

GreenGeeks is an EPA Green Power Partner that delivers strong eco-friendly "green" operations with no sacrifice of performance and quality. Indeed, high technology performance is GreenGeek's core focus.

Their simple guidance for those new to hosting is another key value point. You can find help on the GreenGeeks site for how to create your first website, how to promote it, and how to become successful online.

GreenGeeks Commitments

GreenGeeks stands out with their uncompromising commitments to:

  • Green operations
  • Excellent speed and security performance technology
  • Your personal online success.

I was was very impressed with GreenGeeks commitment to environmentalism. They don't just offset their energy with credits — they offset three times as much energy as they use.

If that math sounds a bit odd, keep reading. I'll explain it.

About GreenGeeks Hosting

GreenGeeks Features

  • Powered by renewable energy
  • Free '.com' domain
  • 30-day money-back guarantee
  • Free nightly backups
  • WordPress integration
  • Unlimited traffic, databases

GreenGeeks was founded in 2006, which makes its environmental focus all the more impressive.

Since then it's grown to host over 300,000 websites and serve over 35,000 customers while making a name for itself as an industry-leading green hosting provider.

greengeeks
Image courtesy of GreenGeeks

GreenGeek's website and hosting services cater to beginner and intermediate website owners. It's a solid fit if you're looking to start your site and easily scale with a single host.

GreenGeeks: Why Buy Hosting From Them?

  • Over 300,000 websites being hosted worldwide.
  • WhoIsHostingThis users rate GreenGeeks as 4.4 out of 5 – Excellent.

Different Hosting Types

Its core offering is the beginner shared hosting plan, but this can expand into a customized hosting environment perfect for your site. On top of that you'll find VPS, dedicated server, and even dedicated WordPress hosting options.

A green host fit for all. It's worth mentioning that its dedicated servers are very high performing and equipped with top of the line Xeon E5 processors.

Cleanest Hosting on the Market

On the topic of being green, this host truly stands out with its 300% renewable energy commitment, which makes it the cleanest hosting technology on the market.

Beyond its eco-friendly, beginner-friendly hosting plans, how else does this hosting company stand out?

In the beginner hosting space, it seems like every host offers the same thing. But GreenGeeks manages to set itself apart by offering uniquely scalable hosting, accessible beginner hosting packages, and solid WordPress hosting.

Extra Features

All of these plans come with backup and security features, and the ability to choose your own datacenter. Plus, did I mention it's dedication to eco-friendliness?

Web Host With a Commitment to Sustainability

GreenGeeks' commitment to sustainability outshines what most other green hosts have committed to.

More Than Just Green

Instead of simply offsetting their own energy usage, they purchase enough wind energy credits to put back into the grid three times what they use.

Since a lot of companies can't set up their own wind turbines or solar panels they can purchase renewable energy credits, which are generated from renewable energy sources like wind power.

GreenGeek's carbon footprint is zero, but it also negates the energy use of two other companies that are the same size.

greengeeks hosting
Image courtesy of GreenGeeks

Wind Energy Credits & Negative Carbon Footprint

Taking this next step allows it to have a negative carbon footprint.

This helps to make up for the rest of the hosting industry, which is far more resource-intensive than most people realize. It's easy to overlook the environmental and energy resources it takes to host websites.

Surprisingly, the hosting industry ranks up there with industries like air travel when it comes to energy use. Seeing this huge discrepancy is what caused CEOTrey Gardner to start GreenGeeks.

Efficient Infrastructure

Beyond the extensive purchasing of wind energy credits to offset energy use the server facilities used are already incredibly energy efficient and up to the latest energy efficiency standards.

GreekGeeks is leading the charge when it comes to green web hosting and hopefully continues to set an example for the rest of the industry to follow.

GreenGeeks Offers More Than Just Environmental Hosting

If you're the kind of person who doesn't think twice about environmental impact, then don't worry, there are still some other great reasons to consider using this host.

GreenGeeks Makes Growing Your Site Easy

If you're just getting started online the last thing you want to have to do is spend time managing all of the technical elements of getting your site online.

Web hosting novices might not mind configuring server settings and the like, but it's all too easy to forget about how steep this learning curve actually is.

GreenGeeks Features

With the basic shared hosting plan you get all the things you've come to expect from a host:

  • Unlimited server resources
  • Unlimited bandwidth
  • MySQL database creation
  • Email account creation
  • Free Cloudflare CDN
  • Unlimited domains one 1 account
  • Free marketing and SEO tools.

In fact, some of these features pop up in the GreenGeeks YouTube channel, in creative testimonial videos made by their customers, like this one:

greengeeks features
Image courtesy of GreenGeeks

Plus, you have the option to register a free domain name with GreenGeeks upon the creation of your account. Now this isn't actually the recommended option to take, as it can get pricey, but it's a nice add-on to have for people who don't mind price and want to take care of their entire website setup in a single place.

These features are nice to have, but they're not what makes GreenGeeks stand out. In addition to the over-the-top green commitment, GreenGeeks excels in:

  1. Speed technologies
  2. Security and Reliability technologies
  3. Datacenter options.

Speed technologies

GreenGeeks' speed "stack" (a geeky term meaning "set of technologies") includes LiteSpeed web servers, SSD hard drives, MariaDB (a database server known for its speed), PHP7, CDN (content delivery network), HTTP/2 and more.

The importance of speed for your website can't be overemphasized in 2018. There's plenty of research showing that if your site loads in more than 2 seconds, you are losing readers and buyers. This is because the general public is becoming used to top-of-the-line websites and checkout experiences. They become impatient with sites that load slower than these top performers.

Google recommends that your site load in no more than 2-3 seconds. Speed is also a search engine ranking factor, albeit a minor one. If it takes longer, Google may limit or slow down its crawling of your site, which is bad news for you.

Security and Reliability technologies

These include real-time file scanning, pro-active server monitoring and clustered threat analysis, secure vFS, and hosting account isolation.

Think of the latter as a quarantine that protects your website(s).

Datacenter options

Currently, GreenGeeks has 5 datacenters. These are in Chicago, Phoenix, Montreal, Toronto and Amsterdam.

They are rapidly expanding to additional locations in 2018.

There's More to GreenGeeks

Some of the above points were definitely on the geeky side (we do have geeks in our audience). But keep reading. You'll understand more about what GreenGeeks offers and we've got some nice follow-up reading for you on these technologies.

Web Hosting That's Easy to Scale Up

Another feature that really sets GreenGeeks apart is the scalable hosting.

Oh no, is that just another buzzword? Well, no, but thanks for asking.

Scalable Hosting

The scalable hosting offered is different than what other hosts consider scalable hosting.

Essentially, this feature allows you to easily deploy, manage, and grow your site without having to worry about the underlying server.

Hands Off Hosting

According to GreenGeeks, your hosting should work without you having to do anything.

A pretty simple claim, but it's actually kinda revolutionary considering the headaches a lot of hosting providers leave you with.

Hosting as a Service

This feature is called HaaS, which is short for hosting as a service. Total beginners might not see the value in this, and this is true when all you need is a basic shared hosting environment.

But, as your site grows, your traffic levels improve, and you demand more from your host you'll start to see how valuable it is.

For example, instead of getting a basic dedicated server, or having to upgrade to a VPS, you can easily add the computing resources you require like additional RAM, CPU, or other features.

This makes it very easy for beginners to run their sites on custom and powerful server environments.

More Packages: VPS, Dedicated, and Reseller Hosting

Of course, there are other hosting packages you can still upgrade to like VPS hosting, dedicated server packages, or even reseller packages.

But you don't have to if you don't want to take on additional tasks like managing your own server and keeping your environment secure.

VPS Plans

Here's a quick look at GreenGeeks' VPS plans:

VPS Hosting Plan 1 Plan 2 Plan 3 Plan 4 Plan 5
Memory 1 GB RAM 2 GB RAM 3 GB RAM 4 GB RAM 8 GB RAM
SSD RAID 10 Storage 25 GB 50 GB 75 GB 100 GB 125 GB
Premium Bandwidth 1,000 GB 1,500 GB 2,000 GB 2,500 GB 3,000 GB
Cores 4 4 4 4 4

Dedicated Server Plans

And, a comparison of their dedicated hosting plans:

Dedicated server hosting Entry plan Standard plan Elite plan Pro plan
Processor Intel Atom 330 Dual Core Xeon E3-1220 3.1Ghz Xeon E3-1230 3.2Ghz w/HT Xeon E5-2620 2.0Ghz w/HT
SSD RAID 10 Storage 25 GB 50 GB 75 GB 100 GB
Memory 2 GB DDR 3 4 GB DDR 3 8 GB DDR 3 16 GB DDR 3
Drive 1x 500 GB SATA 2x 500 GB SATA 2x 500 GB 2x 500 GB
IP addresses 5 5 5 5
Tansfer 10,000 GB 10,000 GB 10,000 GB 10,000 GB

A "Green" WordPress Hosting Plan

So, you know for a fact that you want to use WordPress as the foundation for your new website. Great, WordPress is awesome.

But, if you're looking to enhance your site's performance and make your life a whole lot easier, then you'll want to utilize WordPress hosting.

greengeeks wordpress
Image courtesy of GreenGeeks

The WordPress plans offered by GreenGeeks all depend on "shared hosting." This means you'll be sharing server real estate with other WordPress sites. Currently, there's no option for dedicated WordPress hosting.

But, if you're building a new site from scratch, then this setup will be more than enough.

greengeeks tutorials
Browse the GreenGeeks site and YouTube channel to find video tutorials on topics from WordPress set up to e-commerce to everything you'd like to know about web hosting. Image courtesy of GreenGeeks.

This plan is for "managed" WordPress hosting — which means that all of the technical parts of getting your server setup are handled for you, including:

  • WordPress migration
  • Free domain name registration or transfer
  • The WordPress core will be automatically updated
  • Site security scans are taken care of
  • Your site will be protected from brute force and DDoS attacks
  • Your site is isolated from other sites on the shared server, adding to the protection level.
  • You have access to 24/7/365 US-based support.

Put simply:

  1. Your site will be secure
  2. It will be runing in an optimized WordPress environment
  3. It will be online when you need it the most (all the time).

greengeeks wordpress
Image courtesy of GreenGeeks

cPanel: User-Friendly Control Panel

Like most beginner-friendly hosts, cPanel reigns supreme. If you've used a shared hosting environment in the past, then you've probably come across cPanel, or you're at least aware of its existence.

greengeeks cpanel
Image courtesy of GreenGeeks

The GreenGeeks cPanel is equipped with all of the features you might be familiar with.

In addition, there are some customizations that make it even easier to get your site setup and add additional features. For starters, the cPanel is very intuitive and organized.

The cPanel is worth exploring as it has a ton of hidden gems that'll help you build and grow your site.

Some of the additional features you'll find in the GreenGeeks control panel are as follows:

  1. The sitebuilder and theme installer if you're using the website builder
  2. The ever popular Softaculous software one-click installer
  3. cPanel account migration
  4. Enhanced security options
  5. Video tutorials on everything related to hosting
  6. Database performance tweaks
  7. Search engine submission and SEO tools
  8. Polls and survey software
  9. Form generators
  10. Magento, osCommerce, and PrestaShop shopping carts.

greengeeks sitebuilder
You can easily access GreenGeek's site builder via cPanel — your user-friendly
control panel. Browse the pre-built templates and select one to get started.

Typical to cPanel you can find all the apps you need by searching around the control panel or using the search bar to save some time. You'll also find your website stats on the left-hand side that show you your current CPU, storage usage, and other account data.

On the account management screen you'll be able to handle all other requests like managing your domains, purchasing additional services, opening support tickets, handling your billing requests, and of course accessing cPanel.

greengeeks cpanel
Easy one-click installs of content management systems like WordPress and Drupal
are available via your GreenGeeks cPanel. So are a plethora of marketing,
SEO, and site tools and enhancements. Image courtesy of GreenGeeks

Nightly Automated Site Backups

When left to your own devices how often would you run a website backup? I'm sure you'd like to think you'd be proactive about backing up your site, just in case something unfortunate happens.

But, no matter how solid your intentions are it's usually something that never gets done. That's why having nightly automated backups is such an awesome feature, especially for the basic shared hosting plans.

There are a handful of starter hosts that add backups to their list of features, but as a whole, it's still a rarity and definitely worth highlighting.

GreenGeeks' Uptime & Guarantee

Another very important consideration when choosing a web host is the uptime. What good is a website if it's always offline?

Luckily, GreenGeeks has a 99.9% uptime guarantee. As with most hosting industry guarantees, there are some specifics attached to it.

The cases in which GreenGeeks doesn't guarantee uptime are just common sense, and include:

  • Vendor hardware or a network malfunction that is outside of GreenGeek's control
  • Downtime caused by client error, including spamming activity
  • Downtime caused by cyber attacks.

This uptime guarantee is even good enough to make its way into the terms and conditions, which means one thing, they take their uptime seriously.

Still, there's no mention if you'll actually receive a refund or account credit if your site does go down like some hosts offer. But, judging by the uptime data this will never be an issue anyways.

Uptime and Response Time

greengeeks uptime
Uptime and response time for the month of December 2017. Image courtesy of Pingdom

One reason for the above average uptime could be due to the hardware configurations of the servers. They currently utilize efficient Intel processors, RAID-10 SSD storage arrays for maximum performance, along with dual-city power grids and backup generators in case a power outage occurs.

Additional Useful Features

A lot of hosts end up stuffing their offerings with additional features to either flesh out the sales page or make their offerings look more robust, which doesn't really help anyone.

GreenGeeks packs some additional features in, but luckily they're ones you actually want.

Robust Security Features

For example, the security features are pretty robust. The servers are under 24/7 monitoring, and include a built-in firewall that protects against DDoS, brute force attacks, and other cyber threats.

Plus, you can do things like use the Spam Assassin tool for email protection, and even password protect your directories.

Easy-to-use Site Builder

If this is your very first site and you want to get it online as soon as possible, then you may want to use the free website builder tool.

This builder is equipped with hundreds of different mobile-friendly themes that you can customize to your liking with the drag-and-drop builder.

Free Migration

Lastly, if you have an existing site that you want to migrate over, then the GreenGeeks team will help you do this free of charge, all with the minimal downtime.

Choose Your Datacenter

With most shared hosts you're stuck with whatever datacenter they choose for you.

This could mean your site's files are stored in Seattle, Washington while most of your site's traffic comes from Paris, France. Not a good thing for improving your site's performance and loading speeds.

greengeeks datacenters
Image courtesy of GreenGeeks

But, GreenGeeks offers you the choice of five different datacenter locations.

Most are North America-based, but there's also a datacenter in Amsterdam, Netherlands as well. The North American locations are in Chicago, Phoenix, Toronto and Montréal. Note: GreenGeeks is expanding rapidly into new datacenters this year (2018).

When choosing a datacenter, make sure you select the location that's closest to where your website's traffic is coming from, not where you're presently located.

greengeeks datacenters
Image courtesy of GreenGeeks

To continue on the topic of its datacenters, it's important to mention the latest advancements.

For starters, its server drives have been upgraded to SSD Raid Storage Arrays, which are incredibly fast. Plus, this upgrade is system-wide, meaning that even customers on a shared hosting plan will benefit from the SSD Raid Storage Arrays.

Where GreenGeeks Could Improve

Although I've been geeking out over GreenGeeks, there are still a few downsides to using this green hosting provider.

The drawbacks aren't huge and probably won't be a dealbreaker, especially if going green is a big concern for you, but they're still worth talking about.

Length Contract

Like most bargain web hosts, in order to get the cheapest plan rates, you have to sign up for a lengthy contract.

In this case, that number is three years. If you do opt for a shorter contract, then the rate will increase. But, even with the rate increase, it's not super expensive, but it's still almost triple the super low starter rate.

It's not a deal breaker, but having more honest and upfront pricing could go a long way. This style of pricing is an industry standard practice, but it's always nice to see hosting companies buck this trend in favor of transparency.

Guarantee Stipulations

There is a 30-day money back guarantee. But, like all guarantees, there are some stipulations that come along with it.

It's not as long as some other hosts that offer 60-day or even 90-day money back guarantees, but having 30 days should be enough time for you to test out the service to see if it's the right fit for your site.

Domain Registration

However, if you decide to register a domain name with GreekGeeks you won't be refunded for the domain registration fee. Plus, the domain registration fees are quite high, so you may not end up getting that much of a refund anyway.

The best course of action is to use this host for hosting only and use a separate domain name registrar. That way, if you do want to cancel within the 30-day window you'll be subject to a full refund.

High Domain Registration Prices

To continue with domain registration, the yearly pricing is quite expensive.

Now, their focus isn't on being a domain name registrar, so this makes sense. However, when focusing on providing beginner hosting you have to assume there's a solid chance your users will want to pick up a domain name from you too.

But, the steep pricing will probably cause users to go elsewhere for their domains. This will add an extra step in getting your site setup, but to avoid any complications with a refund, or paying high prices, as I noted before, it's best to look elsewhere for your domain.

Quick Overview of GreenGeeks

Here is an overview of GreenGreeks that you can use when you want to compare it to other hosting companies.

What are GreenGeeks' specialties?

  1. Sustainable hosting that doesn't sacrifice performance
  2. Easy scalable shared hosting for beginners.
  3. Cheap and simple dedicated WordPress hosting.

What is GreenGeek's migration policy?

Customers receive a free website migration with a new hosting account.

What is the quality of GreenGeek's support materials?

Good. The materials are also broad — their videos, knowledgebase, and site tutorials cover many topics.

Control panel

cPanel

Available datacenter(s)

Four datacenters located across North America and Europe.

Money-back guarantee or trial period?

30-day money back guarantee.

Lowest plan price

$3.95 per month.

Backup policy

Free nightly backups included on the shared hosting plan.

Sitebuilder included?

Free sitebuilder included.

PCI Compliant?

PCI compliance is included in the Premium plans, but those on other plans will need to purchase an add-on.

FAQs

greengeeks faq

Can I use WordPress without dedicated WordPress hosting?

Yes, if you're using one of the basic shared hosting plans you can quickly install WordPress via your cPanel access.

Just scroll down to the Softaculous App Installer and click on WordPress. This software will walk you through the process of installing WordPress on your new site.

Of course, if you want to make installing and managing your WordPress site even easier, then go for the dedicated WordPress hosting.

Is the 99.9% uptime guaranteed by GreenGeeks?

The 99.9% uptime is guaranteed, but there is no credit or refund if your site does happen to go offline.

It's more of an in good faith guarantee. However, all the data suggests that GreenGeek's uptime really is 99.9%.

Does GreenGeeks offer reseller hosting?

Yes, I briefly mentioned it above.

The reseller hosting is packed with features and competitively priced. So you can offer affordable web hosting to the sites you manage.

Are dedicated IP addresses available?

If you want a dedicated IP address, then you'll have to put in the request manually.

All you have to do is open an account ticket from within your account management dashboard. However, obtaining a dedicated IP address does come with a yearly fee.

Is Windows hosting available?

No, Windows hosting is not currently available. GreenGeeks is solely a Linux/Unix web hosting provider.

If you require a Windows hosting or any ASP.NET server configuration, then you'll have to look elsewhere for hosting.

What "unlimited" options does GreenGeeks offer on its starter plans?

Like most beginner-oriented hosts its shared hosting packages are equipped with unlimited disk space, unlimited bandwidth, unlimited domains, and unlimited e-mail accounts.

I'm still confused about how a company can be 300% green?

So, GreenGeeks utilizes energy from the grid, just like any other company out there. But, where it differs is by buying green energy credits, in the form of wind power, which offset the energy use.

This effectively brings down their net energy usage to zero. Then, instead of stopping there it buys three-times the number of green energy credits, which makes it 300% green and picking up the tab for two other hosts of comparable size.

Pros and Cons of GreenGeeks

greengeeks pros cons

First, the Pros:

  1. The best environmentally friendly host on the market
  2. Scalable shared hosting that minimizes the need for VPS hosting
  3. Bundled backup features and high-security protection, even on the shared hosting plan.

A Few Cons:

  1. Money back guarantee doesn't include domain registration
  2. To lock in the cheap monthly rate you have to sign a 3-year contract
  3. Domain name registration is very pricey after the first year of having a free domain.

What Type of Customer Support Does GreenGeeks Offer?

GreenGeeks offers 100% customer satisfaction.

I'm still not quite sure what this means, and it seems more like a marketing buzzword than anything else, but GreenGeeks does offer a wide range of support methods.

For example, you can reach customer support via live chat, email, or phone. Phone support is only available during business hours, but live chat can be accessed 24/7/365.

If you're the type who likes to work out technical issues on your own, then there is a large knowledgebase and a tutorial section that'll help you work through any issues.

If you're looking to grow your site and learn more about online marketing, SEO, security, and a lot more, then reading the blog is definitely a worthwhile investment.

If You Like GreenGeeks, You Might Also Like...

If you're not sold on going green there are other similar hosts that you might find appealing.

SiteGround

At the top of my list is Siteground. Like GreenGeeks you'll find unlimited shared hosting plans, top-notch support, and multiple datacenters. However, Siteground edges out GreenGeeks by having an additional datacenter in Singapore, which caters to the whole Asian market.

siteground best hosting

InMotion Hosting

If price is your main concern, then check out InMotion. The starter shared hosting package is cheaper than GreenGeeks, while offering a pretty great service. However, be aware that there's only one datacenter where every site is hosted.

inmotionhosting

Bluehost

Another common beginner recommendation is Bluehost. With these two hosts, you'll find comparable levels of pricing and performance. However, GreenGeeks gets a slight edge by providing unlimited resources to its shared hosting package. For the level of features you'd get with GreenGeeks you'd have to upgrade your Bluehost service.

bluehost

Is GreenGeeks the Right Hosting Choice for You?

If you're concerned about your environmental impact then GreenGeeks is a dependably green web host. Its commitment to making its service 300% green is certainly appealing to users who have the same outlook.

Plus, it provides a solid service and all the features you need to host and even scale your site. Put simply, you get a lot of value for your money.

A reliable server, top-notch security measures, automated backups, easy server management with cPanel, a plethora of support options, and even the ability to use dedicated WordPress hosting, if that's your cup of tea. All while being environmentally friendly.

That being said, if going green isn't a big concern for you or the pricing and guarantee discrepancies turn you off there are other beginner green hosting options that offer a comparable service.

Last updated: 2018-07-26

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Screenshot of http://www.articulatemadness.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

As a self professed nerd, nerds and geeks normally don't get along. Until now. After dealing with HostGator, Wix, and GoDaddy, GreenGeeks was a breath of fresh air.

Really. True, it's a smaller company, but it has the focus and attention to know each and every one of its customers for the personal touch you won't get anywhere else. My journey with the G started when I embarked on building my satire site.

I needed a company that could fit my specific hosting needs, particularly with size constraints and price point. After searching all the "names", Green Geeks came up as one of a few that could handle the expectations and then some. So, I took a gamble on them and signed up.

And honestly, I'm glad I took a chance on them. While I was a little iffy at first as my experience with other hosting sites were continuously horrid when site issues arose on the server side, Green Geeks had zero problems in the tech department helping me through any issues that I was finding. Whenever you set up a new site from scratch you might throw a file in the wrong folder or delete a critical piece of site functionality by accident - it happens.

It happened to me. Green Geeks was there doing tech support, letting me know where the problem was and if it was an issue on their end getting it cleared up Asap. Their virus protection is like Fort Knox!

Rest assured, if you have suspect viruses, trojans, and malware running around you will get the email immediately with instructions on the who, what, where, why, and hows. Whenever I had a problem, no matter what, I can honestly say that they helped me resolve the issue within 10 hours or less. Give them a shot.

Ask questions - Chat support is 24/7 and very knowledgeable. I promise you they aren't reading from a script - the employees know their tech. So, go with the Green Geeks!

And tell them Gwendolyn L. Spelvin said so.

 
Screenshot of http://www.beautifulpots.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

My top reasons for selecting GreenGeeks were based on years of web design at a dot.com in Silicon Valley as well as teaching basic web design in colleges and university since the late 1990s. Sustainability was a top priority, and of course the best technology including security and support. GreenGeeks has the best of everything.

Eco Friendly + Technology. What more could you want right? In addition to offering just about anything I want from a hosting service, they offer more things that I don't even understand and can't even pronounce.

GreenGeek's got it all. I'm really happy with them. I've recommended them to friends, family, clients and former students.

I researched a lot of hosting companies before selecting GreenGeeks. They are simple enough for those without much tech savvy, and robust enough for the big players. Cheers and thanks GreenGeeks. Marcia GK - former faculty in Computer Science and Computer Graphics Department, Foothill & MiraCosta Colleges -- and Education Department, California State University East Bay.

 

345 Reviews of GreenGeeks By Our Users

Screenshot of http://bohemianbranding.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've been using Green Geeks for the past 3 years (or so). I have always been very happy with the services @ Green Geeks. Tech Services is always available (rarely a waiting time).

On the rare occasion I've contacted them about anything else they've been pleasant and helpful. No down time that I can remember. I have been happy to refer them to others (and I always suggest it to my new clients - who have indeed signed up)."
Thanks Green Geeks!

 
Screenshot of http://www.themoonandarrowlodge.com/
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I really love GreenGeeks! They make running my website so easy. I am not a tech person so I love how quickly they solve any issues that pop up.

They are always so attentive, helpful, thorough, and thoughtful. I Always get the help I need in a timely manner. I would highly recommend them!

 
Screenshot of http://blueskyjam.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

GreenGeeks are outstanding! Their pricing is great and their features cover everything I need plus more. I'm particularly impressed with their customer service.

They did a great job in transferring my sites from my previous host and are have been really quick in responding to any questions I've had. I would not hesitate to give GreenGeeks my highest recommendation to anyone looking for a hosting company.

 
Screenshot of http://www.sitsecure.net
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Greengeeks rocks! Best hosting service, very prompt customer support, highly professional staff, Always willing to help, Always working towards finding innovate to empower the customer to the max, smooth, easy and beautiful experience. In 2008 one of our domain with a very bad spam score and I was looking to migrate out of my existing web host because they were not able to help me in resolving this.

I came to greengeeks because they appeared new and they were providing green hosting. I did not in my wildest dream would have thought that their service would be so awesome. I recommended greengeeks to everyone and since 2009 all my domains are hosted at greengeeks. Being a techie I often question customer care about the cause or technical glitches that may have caused a hitch in our work and I have never known them to shy away from any technical discussion or to explain me the technical nuances of shared hosting which none of the hosting companies I know are willing to engage with the customer at such deep level. 100 Stars.

 
Screenshot of http://danielrothra.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've used Green Geeks for 4 years and they have exceeded my expectations. Their customer service has been responsive to my questions. They took extra time to help with problems created when we began using a new email client.

Their cost is low compared to other service providers. I recommend them without reservation.

 
Screenshot of http://www.gatipoftheday.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I believe I've had 100% uptime, and when I do have a support issue, it's quickly and accurately resolved. And I feel great knowing that the server that hosts my domain runs on green power! Great value as well - I believe that I'm paying $180USD for three years of hosting.

 
Screenshot of http://advanceddentaldyer.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I don't know much about web hosting. I just do what my web designer tells me to do. She said to go with Green Geeks so I did.

I can say that I Never think about Green Geeks because I never have to. How refreshing is that?! I never have any problems.

I have way too much on my plate to have to think about web hosting. I just want it to work. And it does. Ohmmmmmm.

 
Screenshot of https://designweblouisville.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I love Green Geeks. Uptime is almost 100% and the backend/cpanel is super easy to use. Friendly support with no issues whatsoever.

I would recommend Green Geeks to everyone I know. I've used a lot of hosting providers and they are the absolute best because of their support and ease of use of their platform.

 
Screenshot of https://appzventure.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Very good dedicated server, reseller hosting i am 100% satisfied from there services but little issue they must have to focus on it the issue is support over phone and high tech support representative, one more thing they have add in there business modal that they can add the backup feature which is not good because backup feature is by default provided by cPanel Inc. Backup & High tech support is very valuable if they can amend there business modal. Other then that i am 100% satisfied.

 
Screenshot of http://www.thegamecavern.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I made the jump to Green Geeks initially after having a lot of issues with my previous host. I was very happy with the transition as not only is my website uptime and speed heavily improved, but they helped me out a ton when transfer all of my data making it require little effort on my end. I've been with them for a couple years now and am very happy with the service.

 
Screenshot of http://wpnet.co
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I was recommended GreenGeeks by a friend who had to close down his hosting service. I must say I was not disappointed. Transfer from old host was quick and flawless.

Very few issues to be addresses, and when I did have questions the response was quick, helpful and efficient. I especially appreciate the fact you now also support LetsEncrypt - bravo

 
Screenshot of http://mentalwoohoo.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have had zero downtime, so I haven't had to contact their support much at all, but when I do, their support is unbeatable. I don't like spending money, so I have shopped around, and I cannot find better value anywhere. All of this and renewable energy, what's not to love?

 
Screenshot of http://www.marinasamont.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have many sites with them and several years. I'm very satisfied with the fast support and their availability. GreenGeeks team helps me a lot with sites questions and even when the answer is another tech problem they guide me through.

I like their prices and the security. I'm very happy with GreenGeeks

 
Screenshot of http://highnotemusic.net
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I own several small businesses and know just enough about web hosting, design, etc. that it is something I haven't outsourced yet. I manage all the web related tasks myself, and ever since I switched to GreenGeeks almost three years ago now, I have had a much easier time with these things.

The back end is so much more intuitive and easier to use than my previous hosting service. I love the online code editor, the various email portals are great, address forwarding and other such tasks are a breeze -- especially compared to the hosting company I used previously. The few times I have had to use the support/customer service (all for user error or lack of web-skill), it has been excellent.

There have not been any issues with downtime, data loss, security, or anything like that. And, though it may seem like an odd feature to praise, I especially like that I was able to pay for 3 years at once for a nicely discounted rate. Thanks, GreenGeeks!

 
Screenshot of https://ruffandmeow.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been hosting with GreenGeeks with all my sites for several years. They have constantly improved my service and when I had issues.... I immediately got the attention I required, often exceeding my expectations and giving advice to help me grow my business.

GreenGeeks is a value added service that I have come to really enjoy working with.... Come see what I am talking about.

 
Screenshot of http://lotsastuff.info/wot
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I moved to GreenGeeks 3 years ago from a 12 year stint with GoDaddy. During that process I had a couple of bad test runs with other vendors and finally landed on GreenGeeks. Chose them mainly for a few reasons, pricing, customer service rating, and eco-green rating.

After three years here is what I have found:

Pros: They have great customer service. My issues have been answered or dealt with rapidly and to my satisfaction. Up-time has been as advertised, with the only downtime for maintenance or a software glitch on my part, which they worked with me to correct.

One reason for switching from GoDaddy is I was one on of the oldest servers they had and to switch would have reuired me to manually move everything. Decide if I was moving, move to someplace better and cheaper. Recently GrrenGeeks upgraded me to a faster server and they did all the work.

My site is now faster and I didn't have to do anyting and at no additional charge. Hard to beat that kind of service. Cons: Not hardly any.

The only issue I have had with them is a question of storage space and we resolved that quickly and easily, mostly a misunderstanding on my part. Summary:
- Great customer service
- Outstanding up-time
- Economical pricing
- Highly recommended

 
Screenshot of https://shop.frannsalthealth.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've been with Green Geeks for a few years now, and I've been a very happy customer, as it has so far been the end of a long line of hosts, some of which were obvious garbage from day 1, while others fell down because of poor staff who didn't seem to understand anything about hosting, ridiculous if that's your main product. Then, as a substitute they either ignore you completely when there's a serious situation going on, or are downright rude, and still never solve the problem you're asking about. That's my history before finally finding Green Geeks.

Let me say right now that Green Geeks' tech staff are not idiots, and there's no faffing about. Questions and requests are answered promptly, politely and in a friendly way. Also it's green. What's not to like?

 
Screenshot of http://www.jebraweb.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I own a small web consulting business, so I am regularly called upon to suggest hosting solutions for my clients. I also spend a tremendous amount of time on support chats with my clients' existing host companies. Without a doubt, GreenGeeks is my favorite host company of all of them.

The biggest draw for me is the chat tech support. I know have nearly a dozen clients hosting with GreenGeeks, and so I sometimes talk with the tech support chat window several times a week. Without fail, they are helpful, friendly, patient, and -- most importantly -- effective.

So far, I haven't had any downtime on any of my client's sites in the several years I've been using GreenGeeks. I appreciate them all the more when I have to spend time dealing with tech support at other hosts. It's astounding, the value I get from such reasonably priced hosting.

I have literally no complaints. I recommend them with my whole heart.

 
Screenshot of http://jenniferbillock.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I used to have GoDaddy hosting my site and I was plagued with downtime and errors. Since moving to GreenGeeks, I have never had any issues (and I've been a customer for multiple years). I love the mission of the company, and the customer service and technical support if they're ever needed are top-notch. GreenGeeks is fabulous!

 
Screenshot of http://jocelynekelseyleach.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I love Greengeeks, mostly because I know a little bit about this online / hosting / web stuff, but not a lot! I know enough to do stuff on my WordPress website, but sometimes, not enough. When I get an issue that I can't resolve, I contact Greengeeks and mostly, they know what needs to be done, and if they are the ones to do it, or if it's someone else.

This is such a relief for me. I don't have to wait long for them to contact me, and the chatbox is even quicker to make initial contact. I don't know if they are the cheapest, I've never compared because I doubt I will ever leave!

But to me they are very good value! I also love their Green credentials, as that was the original reason I joined them. Uptime, downtime, I wouldn't know, but when my site was reported 'slow to load' by a customer just recently, they sorted it almost instantly. I'm a happy customer.

 
Screenshot of http://leanneroed.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've been using GreenGeeks for many years for my portfolio and project websites and I've never had an issue. The service, when I've needed to get in touch, has always been prompt and informative. I find it has had great value for me since I don't plan to take my sites offline anytime soon I always opt for the longest contract for the cheapest rate.

I also love that they're committed to environmental sustainability, I wish more tech companies had the same values. Highly recommended for those with similar needs to mine!

 
Screenshot of http://unlessweb.com
5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've been using Green Geeks for years and have had a great experience with them! Their support crew is available 24/7 and speedy to respond. I have gone from a hosting plan for my own personal site to a VPS/reseller for my business.

The few problems that I have had are resolved quickly and smoothly. I will continue to recommend Green Geeks to all of my clients!

 
Screenshot of http://www.consultoresmarnic.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

During several years I have hosted my domains in GreenGeeks, this has been a very good experience for me. Whenever I have needed support they are happy to help me. Uptime has been as promised.

At this time I don't have any complain about their service. I'll keep my domains for long time.

 
Screenshot of http://www.housingallies.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

GreenGeeks has the best customer service I have experienced in web hosting, hands down! In my experience, their support ticket response time is typically 30 minutes or less, with detailed instructions that quickly resolve the issue. If not, they promptly respond until it's taken care of.

Their live chat is staffed with knowledgeable employees, not just random people who do not know how to help. A treasure in today's marketplace, I highly recommend GreenGeeks.

 
Screenshot of http://enrich-solutions.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

GreenGeeks are outstanding! Their pricing is great and their features cover everything I need plus more. I'm particularly impressed with their customer service.

They did a great job in transferring my sites from my previous host and are have been really quick in responding to any questions I've had. I would not hesitate to give GreenGeeks my highest recommendation to anyone looking for a hosting company.

 
Screenshot of http://www.undotheego.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've been using Green Geeks for quite a few years now - and every single time I have called for support, someone has picked up the phone immediately and patiently walked me through my concerns - in some cases, even did for me, what I was trying to do. I've never had to wait through a "your call is important to us" queue to get help, and the staff has always been knowledgeable and able to help.

 
Screenshot of http://abdelhadidev.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I love it , because they have an amazing support in any mistake billing/technique . etc and the high speed make me happy :)
all of this and more with Good and resonable price thank you greengeeks / Clients de cette société depuis maintenant 6 ans, nous sommes entièrement satisfaits de la prestation proposée. Du personnel de confiance, compétent et fiable.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Their live chat is so fast and effective. They've resolved all kinds of issues for me quickly and efficiently, and even when they couldn't do it right away and needed to escalate, it all happened fast. They've even gone above and beyond to find out what an issue is (for example, rather than tell me a plugin was causing a problem, they tested all my plugins themselves and let me know Which plugin was the problem). And it's a bonus that they're "green"!

 
Screenshot of http://www.mac-works.com
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I signed up during their Black Friday promotion and thought there wouldn't be anything to lose because they have a 30-day money back guarantee. Shortly after signing up I received an email that I could get additional RAM for a 1-time fee. Nowhere within the email or the web page did it indicate this "Upgrade" was non-refundable even if canceled within the 30 days.

I would have lost $50 simply by canceling within the 30 days and they weren't willing to negotiate. This is also a sub-company or reseller of Single Hop. They don't actually own the data centers - so it's hard to validate

 
Screenshot of http://www.aliceboyle.net
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've had Only positive experiences with Green Geeks since first moving my sites here about 7 years ago. Customer service has been uniformly prompt and helpful every time I've communicated with them. The prices are great and I can't ever remember a time that service was down. Thanks for being a great company.

 
Screenshot of http://www.thinktank-group.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Reliable partner with good support. Using greengeeks for over 5 years now and never had serious problems. In those years I had a few times a Drupal Issue, probably also because I'm using an old version of Drupal and PHP.

Since I use a shared server the Webservers are probably updated regularly and sometimes it does like my older versions. When I noticed I asked support to look at it and the problem was always solves quickly. Mostly they had to make a minor change in an INI file or a setting.

The support does this fast and things run fine then. Therefore 5 stars for the absolute satisfying support. Their infrastructure seems to be very good as well as I have never experienced unavailability due to hardcore technical problems (like server or network failures).

Regarding features I would like to have something in place that would proactively informs me when the website is not running properly. Obviously, I could go the an external service provider to achieve this but everything in one head should be more cost effective. And yes, I would trust them to give me objective information and alarms.

Their maintenance schedules are sometimes too much focussed at USA time zones. The might give customers an option to select their preferred time zone and cluster them accordingly in appropriate maintenance schedules. Don’t know who does so but it would be nice.

Pricing seems to be fare. I’m quite price sensitive but never found the need to move somewhere else, though I haven’t checked it for a while. Still, I know their support solves issues fast and effectively and never started any discussion about who is responsible. Gives me a good sleep at night

 
Screenshot of http://www.kamakagreen.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

We highly recommend GreenGeeks for your business web hosting needs. We have been with them for 6 years. The best thing I can say is that we barely notice them because the service is so reliable and consistent. And when we have needed support, due to our own deficiencies, they are prompt and responsive.

 
Screenshot of http://www.calecoballetstudio.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've used GreenGeeks since 2010 and have always been pleased with their service and product. Whenever I've had some problems the technical staff is always helpful. The service is quick and efficient.

I would highly recommend GreenGeeks to other businesses. I also have enjoyed the way our website looks and the menu offered.

 
Screenshot of http://www.deadmorestore.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

7 Years of Heaven with Green Geeks Web Hosting
I want to give a big Thank You to the best web hosting company I use. As a web designer, I use several web hosting companies and have found after 7 years with Green Geeks, that they are the only company I use that I have had no complaints about. I highly recommend their services.

 
Screenshot of http://www.orcaes.co
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I chose greengeeks after trying a couple of hosting companies. They are my most wanted hosting company that I was searching for. I am a drupal developer, and found greengeeks as the best drupal hosting provider.

Their customer support is amazing, really, their team are so friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. I chose greengeeks to be my hosting providers, I used them for my website and my clients website. When it comes to drupal, they are the one.

The most important thing is that they provide drush, and that helped me in improving my websites, and maintaing them. Just for it with greengeeks, you will never find a better that them.

 
Screenshot of https://www.jannatalquran.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been with GreenGeeks for one year. I don’t have any problem with my website so far. I have unlimited email addresses which I really need to offer to my customers and employees.

I always find them helpful whenever I need any help. This is very important to me as I am not a developer and my information is not too vast in this field. I would like to thank them for the great work and wish them more success in the future.

 
Screenshot of http://arapaimatravel.ca
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

When we transferred to GreenGeeks it was seamless. Our Website and e-mail was up and running without a hitch. We received prompt and helpful responses the few times we had to ask for help.

You cannot find a better and more professional team to work with. And their price speaks for itself.

 
Screenshot of http://xenogeny.net/
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I was a client of my previous server from June of 2002 until November 06 2016. My previous server was bought by a large foreign company and became intolerable. They were down to often and toward the end without explanation I was locked out of my account and it took me 4 days to get back in.

Enough was enough. I transferred all my accounts to GreenGeeks on November 06 2016. They have been great.

I had two problems when I was setting up. They went out of their way to help me get it right. I have not had any problems since I got setup on GreenGeeks.

Want a recommendation? You will get it from me. I am a very happy man.

 
Screenshot of http://robynpattison.com.au
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I am completely clueless when it comes to the technical side of maintaining and hosting my website. Useless. Dreadful.

Hopeless. But - it's ok ( I'm good at other things). My web designer recommended Greengeeks to me when she was designing my site.

I figured, if she said they were good, she would know - so I did as I was told and signed up. What I didn't know is that whenever I needed help - or assistance - there would be somebody there to help. George, Richard and the team have helped me quite a few times.

They don't fob me off and try to get rid of me, quickly. They don't make me feel silly - and they follow through with my issue - until it has been resolved. The support is fast and I never wait more than a minute or two for somebody to respond. I am so grateful for their incredible support and would recommend Greengeeks to anybody - even if they're clueless, like me.

 
Screenshot of http://www.onelove.tv
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Aloha, I have been with Green Greeks for years and they have awesome competitive pricing and are supportive of the issues we are doing. We are building a Global online cultural new media channel called One Love TV. It's still in development but we hope to share that we are green all the way to the host server. Hope to be with them for years more.

 
Screenshot of http://www.danieljarthur.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have happily relied on Green Geeks to host my WordPress website for years. I haven't noticed any downtime, and none of my users has reported such. The loading speeds have been great, and I am able to update the content as I please. Green web hosting for a very competitive price brings me back.

 
Screenshot of http://succulentpossibilities.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've worked with several other hosting companies, and in my experience, GreenGeeks is the best. They import new sites seamlessly, and quickly. Their tech support is efficient and quick...

they go above and beyond with their help, and don't resort to "geek talk" with speaking with a non-geek. Their pricing is outstanding. Top stars all 'round!

 
Screenshot of http://www.themacguy.info
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

First-rate tech support when I had an issue (that I caused - oops!). They were patient and kept at it until we found the problem and resolved it. Other than that, my website is always up and my Email just works. The annual cost was pretty cheap, as well, so what's not to like?

 
Screenshot of http://shvconstruction.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

GreenGeeks rocks! We have used GG since 2013 and have been very happy with the company. We are a small company who needs all of our manpower focused on what we do.

GG has helped us stay focused by taking care of all our hosting needs and then some. They do a great job for us and take very little of our time if any. That is very important to us.

Another thing we like is the ease of access and very user friendly hosting service they provide. I highly recommend GreenGeeks for all your hosting needs.

 
Screenshot of http://howtodoubt.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Customer support is excellent. They are available for questions and give intelligible answers, and they are actively helpful if necessary. Basic services offered are very comprehensive and extras are reasonably priced. Communication is proactive about what they are doing to improve their service and if you call them they are very responsive.

 
Screenshot of http://friscolibrary.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

We are a very satisfied Green Geeks customer because 1) they are prompt and thorough in responding to our support requests and provide frequent updates along the way, 2) the prices are quite competitive, 3) the user interface is friendly and features are expansive, and 4) the uptime has been outstanding. GreenGeeks is one of the best vendors we deal with.

 
Screenshot of http://terrisandy.com
4.5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

There's nothing "geeky" at all about great website hosting. And GreenGeeks has done an exceptional job hosting the Terri & Sandy website for us. They are incredibly reliable and responsive.

The team at GreenGeeks is always smart, fast and committed to our business. Happy to recommend this exceptional company to others.

 
Screenshot of http://staugpediatrics.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

GreenGeeks is everything you need and more. The features are abundant, affordability is unparalleled for the inclusions and the support staff are knowledgeable as well as available when you need them. We have been a customer for 7 years and have no plans on switching services. Thank you, GreenGeeks Team for making us feel important and supporting our business with your awesome service!

 
Screenshot of http://www.zigzagadventures.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Green Geeks offers great support, which is probably what I love best - they are always very quick to respond and resolve any issues. I definitely appreciate the instantaneous chat function with the support team. There is very little downtime, and if there is it usually doesn't interfere with the workday.

When compared to other choices out there, the prices are very reasonable too. Combined with the outstanding support, I have been very pleased with Green Geeks.

 
Screenshot of http://createtheicanlifestyle.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have 3 websites currently running on 3 different hosting platforms. Prior to finding Greengeeks I had only the other 2 major host sites to choose from. I've had a few glitches with the other sites which took me days and several attempts to make contact before I could write several more emails and get my site running properly again...

I use the sites to generate my income so downtime is money to me. I have not had this experience ever with Greengeeks they respond right away and will continue to follow up with me the customer until everything is working smoothly again and to me, that is great customer service! Thank you for hosting such a great site and even it is eco-friendly! So we are doing Mother Earth good at the same time!! :)

 

Most Popular GreenGeeks Hosting Plans

EcoSite Starter Seed Reseller Hosting Sprout Reseller Hosting
Disk Space Unlimited 50GB 80GB
Bandwidth Unlimited 500GB 800GB
Price $3.95/mo $19.95/mo $24.95/mo
View Plan View Plan View Plan

All GreenGeeks Hosting Plans

Hosting Plan Features Disk Space Bandwidth Price
EcoSite Starter Shared
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • LAMP
  • Anonymous FTP
  • PostgreSQL
  • CentOS
Unlimited Unlimited $3.95/month
Usual price:
Seed Reseller Hosting Reseller
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • LAMP
  • WHM
  • PostgreSQL
  • CentOS
50GB 500GB $19.95/month
Usual price:
Sprout Reseller Hosting Reseller
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • LAMP
  • WHM
  • PostgreSQL
  • CentOS
80GB 800GB $24.95/month
Usual price:
Plant Reseller Hosting Reseller
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • LAMP
  • WHM
  • PostgreSQL
  • CentOS
120GB 1200GB $39.95/month
Usual price:
Tree Reseller Hosting Reseller
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • LAMP
  • WHM
  • PostgreSQL
  • CentOS
160GB 1600GB $59.95/month
Usual price:
Forest Reseller Hosting Reseller
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • LAMP
  • WHM
  • PostgreSQL
  • CentOS
200GB 2000GB $99.95/month
Usual price:
1 GB VPS Hosting VPS
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • LAMP
  • WHM
  • VPS
  • PostgreSQL
25GB 1000GB $39.95/month
Usual price:
2 GB VPS Hosting VPS
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • LAMP
  • WHM
  • VPS
  • PostgreSQL
50GB 1500GB $59.95/month
Usual price:
3 GB VPS Hosting VPS
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • LAMP
  • WHM
  • VPS
  • PostgreSQL
75GB 2000GB $79.95/month
Usual price:
4 GB VPS Hosting VPS
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • LAMP
  • WHM
  • VPS
  • PostgreSQL
100GB 2500GB $99.95/month
Usual price:
8 GB VPS Hosting VPS
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • LAMP
  • WHM
  • VPS
  • PostgreSQL
125GB 3000GB $159.95/month
Usual price:
Entry Server Dedicated
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • LAMP
  • Dedicated Server
  • WHM
  • PostgreSQL
500GB 10TB $169.00/month
Usual price:

GreenGeeks Frequently Asked Questions

  • Does GreenGeeks sell Windows shared hosting?

    No. GreenGeeks only offers Linux shared hosting services.

  • Where is the company located?

    GreenGeeks is based in the United States out of Santa Monica, CA.

  • Where are its datacenters?

    GreenGeeks uses three different datacenters. They are located in Chicago, Phoenix, Toronto and Amsterdam.

  • Can I get a VPS from GreenGeeks?

    Yes. There are various VPS options offering different combinations of disk space and memory.

  • Does GreenGeeks offer any reseller hosting options?

    Yes. GreenGeeks allows resellers to create their own hosting packages for clients. Five reseller plans are available.

  • Will GreenGeeks help me to transfer an existing site?

    Yes. When you sign up, you can have your site transferred free of charge.

  • Will GreenGeeks allow more than one domain to be hosted per account?

    Yes. GreenGeeks allows unlimited domain aliases, so you can set up as many websites as you like.

  • Can I host a site with a lot of images on a shared hosting account?

    Yes. The service supports unlimited bandwidth and disk space, so your website will be fine as long as it is not an intensive file download site.

  • Will the renewal price be higher than the introductory price?

    No. GreenGeeks' plans renew at the same price as the intro price.

  • Does GreenGeeks have a money-back guarantee?

    Yes. It provides a 30 day money-back guarantee for all hosting plans, except dedicated servers. If you received a domain free when signing up, $24.95 will be deducted.

  • Which programming languages are supported?

    Its hosting environment supports PHP 5, Perl 5, CGI-Bin, and Python.

  • What control panel options does it provide?

    All customers get cPanel with their account.

  • What payment options does it accept?

    Major credit cards such as MasterCard, Visa, American Express, and Discover, plus PayPal.

  • Does GreenGeeks have an uptime guarantee?

    Yes. GreenGeeks has a 99.9% uptime guarantee, and backs that up with a money back commitment.

  • What is GreenGeeks' backup policy?

    GreenGeeks takes nightly backups, and they are retained for 24 hours.

  • How many email addresses can I create?

    You can create unlimited email accounts on all plans.

  • Will I be able to reach tech support by phone?

    Yes. Sales and support are available by phone.

  • What languages do GreenGeeks' support team speak?

    The support team speaks English only.

  • Are there any special security features on offer?

    Yes. GreenGeeks implements advanced security features like Advanced Real-Time Security Scanning, as well as Apache & MySQL Security Tweaks.

  • Can GreenGeeks customers use a CDN?

    Its services are CloudFlare-ready, and there's an easy 1-click integration feature in cPanel.

Who Are The Most Popular GreenGeeks Alternatives?

Overall 4.5 stars
Support
4.5 stars
Features
4.5 stars
Uptime
4.5 stars
Value
4.5 stars
Visit GreenGeeks

Price Comparison

GreenGeeks$3.95
SiteGround$3.95
BlueHost$2.75
InMotion Hosting$3.99
A2 Hosting$3.92
HostPapa$3.95

Review GreenGeeks & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a GreenGeeks customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more...

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about GreenGeeks.
Please be specific: we're only interested in hearing that GreenGeeks rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

(We hate spam - see our privacy policy)