GreenGeeks Hosting Review: Good For The Planet. But Is It Right For You?

Disclosure: Your support helps keep the site running! We earn a referral fee for some of the services we recommend on this page. Learn more

Our Verdict: Outstanding Choice for Eco-Friendly Hosting

GreenGeeks prides itself on environmentally friendly web hosting by offsetting 300% of the carbon from the energy they use. They also have a solid section of budget-friendly hosting plans, including WordPress optimized plans.

When you use our special GreenGeeks discount links and our promo code (applied automatically), you can get 70% off your monthly hosting fee.

Pros:

  • Carbon credit buy-backs offset their footprint by 300%
  • Top-notch security measures mean your site is safe
  • Automated backups to protect your content

Cons:

  • No Asian datacenters
  • Some hosts are cheaper

GreenGeeks scores over 4.5 stars out of 5 across all of our ratings with over 350 actual customers and has outstanding uptime and page load speeds.

Is GreenGeeks the Best Host for Your Website?

Curious about something specific? Jump to our most popular sections:

  • Expert review — Get the straight scoop from our expert, Kevin Wood.
  • Best reviews — Read over 350 reviews by GreenGeeks customers.
  • Hosting plans — See which plan is best for you.
  • FAQ — Read answers to the most common questions about GreenGeeks.

GreenGeeks Overview

GreenGeeks was founded in 2006 with a focus on environmental powerful, inexpensive, and environmentally-friendly web hosting.

Since then it’s grown to host over 500,000 websites and serve over 40,000 customers while making a name for itself as an industry-leading green hosting provider.

GreenGeek’s website and hosting services cater to beginner and intermediate website owners. It’s a solid fit if you’re looking to start your site and easily scale up with a single host.

Hosting Types

GreenGeeks is a solid fit if you’re looking to start your site and easily scale up with a single host.

Its core offering is the beginner shared hosting plan, but this can expand into a customized hosting environment perfect for your site.

On top of that, you’ll find dedicated WordPress hosting as well as higher-end options like VPS plans and dedicated server plans.

GreenGeeks manages to set itself apart by offering uniquely scalable hosting, accessible beginner hosting packages, and solid WordPress hosting.

Extra Features

All of these plans come with backup and security features, and the ability to choose your own datacenter. Plus, did we mention the dedication to eco-friendliness?

Green Hosting

GreenGeeks’ commitment to sustainability outshines what most other green hosts have committed to.

They stand out with a 300% renewable energy commitment, which makes it the cleanest hosting technology on the market as far as we can find.

This helps to make up for the rest of the hosting industry, which is far more resource-intensive than most people realize. It’s easy to overlook the environmental and energy resources it takes to host websites.

Greener Doesn’t Mean Weaker

Surprisingly, the hosting industry ranks up there with industries like air travel when it comes to energy use. Seeing this huge discrepancy is what caused CEO Trey Gardner to start GreenGeeks.

GreenGeeks is an EPA Green Power Partner that delivers strong eco-friendly “green” operations with no sacrifice of performance and quality. Indeed, high technology performance is GreenGeek’s core focus.

GreenGeek’s carbon footprint is zero, but it also negates the energy use of two other companies that are the same size.

GreenGeeks Hosting Stats
GreenGeeks emphasizes a commitment to sustainability.

Efficient Infrastructure

Beyond the extensive purchasing of wind energy credits to offset energy use the server facilities used are already incredibly energy efficient and up to the latest energy efficiency standards.

GreekGeeks is leading the charge when it comes to green web hosting and hopefully continues to set an example for the rest of the industry to follow.

Continued after user reviews

GreenGeeks Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 351 Reviews by GreenGeeks Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Gwendolyn L. Spelvin avatar
Gwendolyn L. Spelvin articulatemadness.com
Apr 03, 2018

As a self professed nerd, nerds and geeks normally don’t get along. Until now. After dealing with HostGator, Wix, and GoDaddy, GreenGeeks was a breath of fresh air.

Really. True, it’s a smaller company, but it has the focus and attention to know each and every one of its customers for the personal touch you won’t get anywhere else. My journey with the G started when I embarked on building my satire site.

I needed a company that could fit my specific hosting needs, particularly with size constraints and price point. After searching all the "names", Green Geeks came up as one of a few that could handle the expectations and then some. So, I took a gamble on them and signed up.

And honestly, I’m glad I took a chance on them. While I was a little iffy at first as my experience with other hosting sites were continuously horrid when site issues arose on the server side, Green Geeks had zero problems in the tech department helping me through any issues that I was finding. Whenever you set up a new site from scratch you might throw a file in the wrong folder or delete a critical piece of site functionality by accident – it happens.

It happened to me. Green Geeks was there doing tech support, letting me know where the problem was and if it was an issue on their end getting it cleared up Asap. Their virus protection is like Fort Knox!

Rest assured, if you have suspect viruses, trojans, and malware running around you will get the email immediately with instructions on the who, what, where, why, and hows. Whenever I had a problem, no matter what, I can honestly say that they helped me resolve the issue within 10 hours or less. Give them a shot.

Ask questions – Chat support is 24/7 and very knowledgeable. I promise you they aren’t reading from a script – the employees know their tech. So, go with the Green Geeks!

And tell them Gwendolyn L. Spelvin said so.

Visit Host Now →

Marcia Ganeles avatar
Marcia Ganeles beautifulpots.com
Apr 04, 2018

My top reasons for selecting GreenGeeks were based on years of web design at a dot.com in Silicon Valley as well as teaching basic web design in colleges and university since the late 1990s. Sustainability was a top priority, and of course the best technology including security and support. GreenGeeks has the best of everything.

Eco Friendly + Technology. What more could you want right? In addition to offering just about anything I want from a hosting service, they offer more things that I don’t even understand and can’t even pronounce.

GreenGeek’s got it all. I’m really happy with them. I’ve recommended them to friends, family, clients and former students.

I researched a lot of hosting companies before selecting GreenGeeks. They are simple enough for those without much tech savvy, and robust enough for the big players. Cheers and thanks GreenGeeks. Marcia GK – former faculty in Computer Science and Computer Graphics Department, Foothill & MiraCosta Colleges — and Education Department, California State University East Bay.

Visit Host Now →

Mitch Grace avatar
Mitch Grace derebtheambassador.com
Jan 20, 2016

I’ve been with Greengeeks for years now, both personally and for other clients… they have been flawless in my humble opinion. Their customer service is fantastic and very accessible from different time zones.

I am writing this purely because of how helpful their staff have been as my sincere thanks for helping me, once again, when in a bind. I highly recommend them!

Visit Host Now →

Mary Luketich avatar
Mary Luketich bizwebshop.com
May 02, 2014

GreenGeeks rocks because their service is fast and friendly! GreenGeeks reduced the cost of our server by 2/3rds, saving us hundreds of dollars a month! We moved from a dedicated, managed server to an unmanaged vps server.

The migrated the largest 30 sites Free for us. They have different levels of support so complex requests go to higher level techs. We could not be happier.

We recommend GreenGeeks VPS servers for any web designer or developer interested in adding hosting to their offerings. The steady monthly income from hosting helps a small business keep the doors open.

Visit Host Now →

Graham Vajnagi avatar
Graham Vajnagi vighorusgames.com
Feb 18, 2014

It was important for me to find a Green web host, a core value of my business and I was looking for a green host with a lot of software options, this is 2014 and the more efficient we are the more we can get done. I needed it:

– Be Green!

– Not too expensive, startup business
– Project management features,
– Emails, forums, blogs,
– Online store,
– Unlimited bandwidth
– Security important
– A few other features. Found them ALL with GreenGeeks.

The easy to use cPanel is fantastic! Very intuitive, you just look and find what you were looking for. The support and sales team are great, I had Many questions before buying and contacted them at many occasions.

Always got my answer and documentation if I wanted to know more. The support team is great too, I sent a support ticket (which was Easy) and they replied rapidly and with a professional attitude. Not to mention they answered Immediately through the chat service when I used it.

Pros of using GreenGeeks:
– Huge software options and they are Great!
– Inexpensive hosting for a green service! I took the 3 year, worth it!
– Green service!
– Email features are great and we have choice of different interfaces
– Website builder does good work
– Security is excellent

Cons:
– Website builder takes time to learn but is great. This isn’t really a con.
– None so far after 1 month of intensive use. I am totally satisfied!

Visit Host Now →

Dana Gore avatar
Dana Gore iammyimagination.com
Oct 31, 2018

I’ve had some upsetting issues int he past with my previous web hosting companies. It’s frustrating when a company either doesn’t understand your problem, keeps you on hold for a long time or doesn’t seem to care about you as a customer (or a human being). I was referred to Greengeeks by a friend who’s extremely fussy about her web hosting companies, so I trusted her judgment.

I’m glad I did too because these guys are fantastic. I’ve needed to use customer support several times since I’m not exactly skilled with creating websites or navigating through the setup process. Both the chat options and the customer support phone number have been immensely helpful – and I never had to wait long for either.

Elvie, one of the support members was super helpful earlier today. She was friendly, clear and patient. She even followed up with me after the conversation to let me know she implemented one of the tasks I needed help with.

That left an impression on me and I really appreciate her for doing that. I’m thrilled with Greengeeks so far and I highly recommend them.

Visit Host Now →

Crystal Townsend avatar
Crystal Townsend crystallinesolutions.net
Oct 01, 2018

I’ve been using GreenGeeks for a couple of years now. In the fifteen plus years that I’ve been publishing websites I can honestly say that they offer the best service, hands down, that I’ve ever experienced. There really isn’t anything not to like.

The price is right, the customer service is lightning fast and they actually have people that know what they’re talking about. Give them a try, you won’t regret it.

Visit Host Now →

Jen Shea avatar
Jen Shea bohemianbranding.com
Jun 30, 2018

I’ve been using Green Geeks for the past 3 years (or so). I have always been very happy with the services @ Green Geeks. Tech Services is always available (rarely a waiting time).

On the rare occasion I’ve contacted them about anything else they’ve been pleasant and helpful. No down time that I can remember. I have been happy to refer them to others (and I always suggest it to my new clients – who have indeed signed up)."
Thanks Green Geeks!

Visit Host Now →

Kerry Burki avatar
Kerry Burki themoonandarrowlodge.com
Jun 20, 2018

I really love GreenGeeks! They make running my website so easy. I am not a tech person so I love how quickly they solve any issues that pop up.

They are always so attentive, helpful, thorough, and thoughtful. I Always get the help I need in a timely manner. I would highly recommend them!

Visit Host Now →

Marie Gambetta avatar
Marie Gambetta advanceddentaldyer.com
Apr 10, 2018

I don’t know much about web hosting. I just do what my web designer tells me to do. She said to go with Green Geeks so I did.

I can say that I Never think about Green Geeks because I never have to. How refreshing is that?! I never have any problems.

I have way too much on my plate to have to think about web hosting. I just want it to work. And it does. Ohmmmmmm.

Visit Host Now →

Load More

Shared Hosting 

If you’re just getting started online the last thing you want to have to do is spend time managing all of the technical elements of getting your site online.

Shared hosting provides the best place to start your efforts on the web.

Shared Plans

When it comes to shared hosting, you can choose from 3 plans , all of which offer unlimited bandwidth, storage, and email accounts.

They also come with one free domain name for the first year (but read below on why you might not want to take one).

All shared hosting plans include a good collection of development tools like PHP, Perl, and Python languages, SSH, Git, and more.

Additionally, all plans come with a free SSL certificate from Let’s Encrypt.

Cloudflare CDN

These plans also come with advanced features like integrated Cloudflare CDN. A Content Delivery Network is a collection of servers all over the world that deliver your web pages to the visitors who are closest to them.

Imagine your datacenter is in New York. A website visitor in Beijing will see a delay if all the content is sent from the data center. With a CDN, the datacenter is roughly mirrored so that a server close to Beijing can quickly deliver the content.

GreenGeeks makes setting up a Cloudflare CDN easy. You just click a few buttons from within your control panel and you are set.

Lite Shared Hosting Plan

The cheapest plan is Lite for just $2.95/mo if you sign up for a long contract.

It offers standard performance, which we have found to be adequate for a WordPress site. To help with performance, it includes PowerCacher, GreenGeeks’ proprietary caching technology.

The one big restriction is that you can only host one website with it. But for those starting out, that should be fine.

Pro Shared Hosting Plan

The next plan up is Pro. It provides everything the Starter plan offers plus a better server infrastructre, which GreenGeeks claims provides twice the performance of the Lite plan.

You can also host unlimited domains with this plan.

GreenGeeks Shared Hosting
GreenGeeks offers 3 shared hosting plans.

Premium Shared Hosting Plan

Premium is the top level shared hosting plan. It features four times the performance of the Lite plan.

While the other plans include a basic SSL certificate, Premium comes with an AlphaSSL Wildcard SSL certificate. It has many advantages. It is 100% browser compatible and comes with $10,000 warranty.

This plan is also PCI compliant. Both the premium SSL certificate and PCI compliance can be added to the other plans for an extra fee, but those needing them (eg, to start an e-commerce site) are best off with the Premium plan.

Features

With the basic shared hosting plan you get all the things you’ve come to expect from a host:

  • Unlimited server resources
  • Unlimited bandwidth
  • MySQL database creation
  • Email account creation
  • Free Cloudflare CDN
  • Unlimited domains on Pro and Premium plans
  • Free marketing and SEO tools.

Plus, you have the option to register a free domain name with GreenGeeks upon the creation of your account.

What Makes GreenGeeks Shared Hosting Stand Out?

In addition to the over-the-top green commitment, GreenGeeks excels in:

  • Speed technologies
  • Security and Reliability
  • Datacenter options.

Website Speed

Hosting plans come with a 30-day money-back guarantee .

The importance of speed for your website can’t be overemphasized. There’s plenty of research showing that if your site loads in more than 2 seconds, you are losing readers and buyers.

This is because the general public is becoming used to top-of-the-line websites and checkout experiences. They become impatient with sites that load slower than these top performers.

Google recommends that your site load in no more than 2-3 seconds. Speed is also a search engine ranking factor, albeit a minor one. If it takes longer, Google may limit or slow down the crawling of your site, which is bad news for you.

Speed Stack

GreenGeeks offers a speed “stack” — a geeky term meaning “set of technologies.”

It includes:

  • LiteSpeed web servers
  • SSD hard drives
  • Fast MariaDB
  • PHP 7
  • Content Delivery Network (CDN)
  • HTTP/2.

Security

GreenGeeks offer several tools to make your site secure. These include:

  • Real-time file scanning
  • Pro-active server monitoring
  • Clustered threat analysis
  • Secure vFS
  • Hosting account isolation.

Think of the latter as a quarantine that protects your website(s).

Datacenter Options

Currently, GreenGeeks has 4 state-of-the-art datacenters. See Datacenters below for more details.

GreenGeeks allows users with shared hosting plans to pick which datacenter they will be hosted on. This is an unusual bonus.

Scaling Up

GreenGeeks allows users to scale up in their shared hosting by providing greater performance in the higher-level plans.

As your site grows, your traffic levels improve, and you demand more from your host you’ll start to see how valuable it is.

For example, instead of getting a basic dedicated server, or having to upgrade to a VPS, you can upgrade to a higher shared plan or add the computing resources you require like additional RAM, CPU, or other features.

This makes it very easy for beginners to run their sites on custom and powerful server environments.

Higher-Level Hosting

Of course, there are other hosting packages you can still upgrade to like VPS hosting, dedicated server packages, or even reseller packages.

But you don’t have to if you don’t want to take on additional tasks like managing your own server and keeping your environment secure.

VPS Plans

Here’s a quick look at GreenGeeks’ VPS plans . There are three plans. For simplicity, I’ll just provide information on the top and bottom plans:

Plan 1Plan 3
Memory2 GB RAM8 GB RAM
SSD RAID 10 Storage50 GB150 GB
Bandwidth10 TB10 TB
Cores46
Price$39.95$109.95

Dedicated Server Plans

GreenGeeks also offers four dedicated hosting plans. Here is a comparison of their top and bottom plans:

Entry ServerPro Server
ProcessorAtom 330Xeon E5-2620
Memory (DDR 3)2 GB16 GB
Drive (SATA)1x 500 GB SATA2x 500 GB
IP addresses55
Tansfer10 TB10 TB
Price$169$439

WordPress Hosting

So, you know for a fact that you want to use WordPress as the foundation for your new website. Great, WordPress is awesome.

But, if you’re looking to enhance your site’s performance and make your life a whole lot easier, then you’ll want to utilize WordPress hosting.

GreenGeeks WordPress
GreenGeek’s hosting plans use modern speed technologies.

GreenGeeks offers 3 WordPress plans . These use shared hosting. This means you’ll be sharing server real estate with other WordPress sites.

But, in almost all cases, this setup will be more than enough.

Managed WordPress Hosting

This plan is for “managed” WordPress hosting — which means that all of the technical parts of getting your server setup are handled for you, including:

  • WordPress migration
  • Free domain name registration or transfer
  • The WordPress core will be automatically updated
  • Site security scans are taken care of
  • Your site will be protected from brute force and DDoS attacks
  • Your site is isolated from other sites on the shared server, adding to the protection level.
  • You have access to 24/7 US-based support .

Put simply, your site will be secure, it will run in an optimized WordPress environment and it will be online when you need it the most (all the time).

GreenGeeks WordPress
GreenGeeks offers a number of WordPress tools.

Other Content Management Systems

GreenGeeks offers specialized plans targetted at users of the Joomla and Drupal CMSs. So if WordPress isn’t right for you, GreenGeeks has you covered.

cPanel

Like most beginner-friendly hosts, cPanel reigns supreme. If you’ve used a shared hosting environment in the past, then you’ve probably come across cPanel, or you’re at least aware of its existence.

GreenGeeks cPanel
A view of the GreenGeeks cPanel dashboard.

The GreenGeeks cPanel is equipped with all of the features you might be familiar with.

In addition, there are some customizations that make it even easier to get your site setup and add additional features. For starters, the cPanel is very intuitive and organized.

The cPanel is worth exploring as it has a ton of hidden gems that’ll help you build and grow your site.

cPanel Features

Some of the additional features you’ll find in the GreenGeeks control panel are as follows:

Nightly automated backups are included with all shared hosting plans.

  • The sitebuilder and theme installer if you’re using the website builder
  • The ever-popular Softaculous software one-click installer
  • cPanel account migration
  • Enhanced security options

  • Video tutorials on everything related to hosting
  • Database performance tweaks
  • Search engine submission and SEO tools
  • Polls and survey software
  • Form generators
  • Magento, osCommerce, and PrestaShop shopping carts.

Typical to cPanel you can find all the apps you need by searching around the control panel or using the search bar to save some time.

Statistics and Account Management

You’ll also find your website stats on the left-hand side that show you your current CPU, storage usage, and other account data.

On the account management screen, you’ll be able to handle all other requests like:

  • Managing your domains
  • Purchasing additional services
  • Opening support tickets
  • Handling your billing requests
  • Accessing cPanel.

Backups

When left to your own devices how often would you run a website backup?

I’m sure you’d like to think you’d be proactive about backing up your site, just in case something unfortunate happens.

But, no matter how solid your intentions are it’s usually something that doesn’t get done reliably. That’s why having nightly automated backups is such an awesome feature, especially for the basic shared hosting plans .

There are a handful of starter hosts that add backups to their list of features, but as a whole, it’s still a rarity and definitely worth highlighting.

Even rarer is that GreenGeeks offers free restores. The first one in a calendar month is included with all plans. After that, it’s $25 per restore.

Performance

We monitored our own server over the last year. The results are shown in the table below.

MonthUptimePage Load
Jan 2019100.00%338 ms
Feb 2019100.00%294 ms
Mar 2019100.00%289 ms
Apr 201999.99%280 ms
May 2019100.00%330 ms
Jun 201999.99%327 ms
Jul 2019100.00%293 ms
Aug 2019100.00%308 ms
Sep 201999.98%319 ms
Oct 201999.60%335 ms
Nov 2019100.00%291 ms
Dec 201999.97%260 ms
Average99.96%305 ms

Uptime

GreenGeeks performed very well through most of the year. But they had problems in October — specifically October 17th through the 21st. During that time, they had 111 outages for a total of 172 minutes.

Most of the outages were very brief — just one or two minutes. The longest outage represented just 4 minutes.

GreenGeeks provides 24/7 U.S.-based support .

The good news is that after this period, the data look great. Whatever the problem was, GreenGeeks fixed it.

Neither of these numbers is stellar. However, they are quite reasonable and competitive with other hosts.

Uptime Guarantee

GreenGeeks has a 99.9% uptime guarantee. As with most hosting industry guarantees, there are some specifics attached to it.

The cases in which GreenGeeks doesn’t guarantee uptime are just common sense and include:

  • Vendor hardware or a network malfunction that is outside of GreenGeek’s control
  • Downtime caused by client error, including spamming activity
  • Downtime caused by cyberattacks.

This uptime guarantee is even good enough to make its way into the terms and conditions, which means one thing, they take their uptime seriously.

Still, there’s no mention if you’ll actually receive a refund or account credit if your site does go down as some hosts offer. But, judging by the uptime data this will never be an issue anyway.

Speed

Our GreenGeek’s server provided excellent overall page load speeds. The 12-month average was only 305 ms. However, these tests were done with a static website. This year, we’ve changed our demo accounts to run WordPress.

As a result, the speeds have gone up substantially to a still-reasonable 750 ms. Are results indicate that this may be due to computational power given that a higher level plan sees much faster page load times.



web hosting coupon

Interested in GreenGeeks?
Our readers can currently save up to 70% on GreenGeeks plans with this special discount link .
30-day money-back guarantee included.



Additional Features

GreenGeeks packs in some additional features that are more than fluff.

Security Features

For example, the security features are robust. The servers are under 24/7 monitoring and include a built-in firewall that protects against DDoS, brute force attacks, and other cyber threats.

Plus, you can do things like use the Spam Assassin tool for email protection, and even password protect your directories.

Site Builder

If this is your very first site and you want to get it online as soon as possible, then you may want to use the free website builder tool, SitePad.

GreenGeek ‘s site builder.

This builder is equipped with hundreds of different mobile-friendly themes that you can customize to your liking with the drag-and-drop builder.

Site Migration

Lastly, if you have an existing site that you want to migrate over, then the GreenGeeks team will help you do this free of charge, all with no downtime.

They can transfer from cPanel, Plesk, Helm, and other control panels. And if you have multiple sites under a single control panel, GreenGeeks can migrate them all (assuming your plan supports multiple websites).

Datacenters

GreenGeeks has four datacenters in:

  • Chicago
  • Phoenix
  • Montreal
  • Amsterdam.

Their datacenters all offer a high level of security and redundancy. These include:

  • Network connections to multiple Tier 1 backbone
  • FM 200 fire suppression
  • Climate control of temperature and humidity
  • Dual-city power grid feeds
  • Backup battery power
  • Backup diesel generator
  • Biometric and card security
  • Onsite technicians 24/7
  • Audited to SAS 70 Type 1 standards.

Recent Datacenter Upgrades

GreenGeeks has also recently upgraded their datacenter servers.

Of particular note is its server drives. They have been upgraded to SSD Raid Storage Arrays.

This upgrade is system-wide, meaning that even customers on a shared hosting plan will benefit from the SSD Raid Storage Arrays.

GreenGeeks Datacenter
GreenGeeks datacenters feature advanced security.

Datacenter Choice

With most shared hosts you’re stuck with whatever datacenter they choose for you.

This could mean your site’s files are stored in Seattle, Washington while most of your site’s traffic comes from Paris, France. Not a good thing for improving your site’s performance and loading speeds.

GreenGeeks Datacenters
The GreenGeeks site lists details on their datacenters.

But, GreenGeeks does offer you the choice of the four previously mentioned datacenter locations.

When choosing a datacenter, make sure you select the location that’s closest to where your website’s traffic is coming from, not where you’re presently located.

GreenGeeks Overview

Here is an overview of GreenGreeks that you can use when you want to compare it to other hosting companies.

Specialties

  • Sustainable hosting that doesn’t sacrifice performance
  • Easy scalable shared hosting for beginners
  • Cheap and simple dedicated WordPress hosting .

Migration Policy

Customers receive a free website migration with a new hosting account.

Support Material Quality

Good. The materials are also broad — their videos, knowledgebase, and site tutorials cover many topics.

Control Panel

cPanel

Available Datacenters

Four datacenters located across North America and Europe.

Money-Back Guarantee

30-day money-back guarantee .

Lowest Plan Price

$2.95 per month.

Backup Policy

Free nightly backups and one free monthly restore included on the shared hosting plan.

Sitebuilder Included?

Free sitebuilder included.

PCI Compliant?

PCI compliance is included in the Premium plans, but those on other plans will need to purchase an add-on.

Pros and Cons

Pros

GreenGeeks’ hosting is eco-friendly .

  1. One of the best environmentally friendly host
  2. Scalable shared hosting
  3. Fast servers
  4. Bundled backup features
  5. High-security protection.

Cons

  1. To lock in the cheap monthly rate you have to sign a 3-year contract
  2. Money-back guarantee has limitations
  3. Domain name registration is very pricey after the first year of having a free domain.

Let us go into some depth on these cons.

Contract Length

Like most bargain web hosts, in order to get the cheapest plan rates , you have to sign up for a lengthy contract.

In this case, that number is three years. If you do opt for a shorter contract, then the rate will increase. But, even with the rate increase, it’s not super expensive, but it’s still more than triple the super low starter rate.

It’s not a deal-breaker, but having more honest and upfront pricing could go a long way.

This style of pricing is an industry-standard practice, but it’s always nice to see hosting companies buck this trend in favor of transparency.

Guarantee Stipulations

GreenGeeks hosting plans come with a 30-day money-back guarantee . But, like all guarantees, there are some stipulations that come along with it.

It’s not as long as some other hosts that offer 60-day or even 90-day money-back guarantees, but having 30 days should be enough time for you to test out the service to see if it’s the right fit for your site.

Domain Registration

However, if you decide to register a domain name with GreekGeeks you won’t be refunded for the domain registration fee.

Plus, the domain registration fees are quite high, so you may not end up getting that much of a refund anyway.

The best course of action is to use this host for hosting only and use a separate domain name registrar. That way, if you do want to cancel within the 30-day window you’ll be subject to a full refund.

High Domain Registration Prices

To continue with domain registration, the yearly pricing is quite expensive.

Now, their focus isn’t on being a domain name registrar, so this makes sense. However, when focusing on providing beginner hosting you have to assume there’s a solid chance your users will want to pick up a domain name from you too.

But, the steep pricing will probably cause users to go elsewhere for their domains.

This will add an extra step in getting your site set up, but to avoid any complications with a refund, or paying high prices, as we noted before, it’s best to look elsewhere for your domain.

Customer Support

You can reach customer support via live chat, email, or phone.

GreenGeeks offers 100% customer satisfaction.

I’m still not quite sure what this means, and it seems more like a marketing buzzword than anything else, but GreenGeeks does offer a wide range of support methods.

For example, you can reach customer support via live chat, email, or phone. Phone support is only available during business hours, but live chat can be accessed 24/7.

Self-Help Resources

If you’re the type who likes to work out technical issues on your own, then there is a large knowledgebase and a tutorial section that’ll help you work through any issues.

If you’re looking to grow your site and learn more about online marketing, SEO, security, and a lot more, then reading the blog is definitely a worthwhile investment.

GreenGeeks Alternatives

If you’re not sold on GreenGeeks there are other similar hosts that you might find appealing. All of them offer excellent performance and come with a ton of extras like SSL certificates, SSD drives, unmetered bandwidth, and more.

SiteGround

At the top of our list is SiteGround. Like GreenGeeks, you’ll find unlimited shared hosting plans, top-notch support, and multiple datacenters. If your target audience is in Asia, SiteGround has a datacenter there where GreenGeeks is limited to North America and Europe.

SiteGround stands out especially when it comes to customer support. And they can help with a lot more than problems including configuring your site for best performance.

InMotion Hosting

InMotion Hosting is another green hosting company. The starter shared hosting package is comparable to GreenGeeks.

They have the advantage of allowing you to host 2 websites on their lowest-level plan. However, be aware that InMotion Hosting only has datacenters in the US.

Bluehost

If the price is your main concern, Bluehost is a good option. GreenGeeks offers more unlimited resources, but in most cases, website owners won’t notice the difference.

In terms of performance, Bluehost and GreenGeeks are about the same with Bluehost being a tiny bit more stable and GreenGeeks being a tiny bit faster.



web hosting coupon

Want to save big on hosting?
Our readers can currently save up to 70% on GreenGeeks plans with our new discount link .
30-day money-back guarantee included.



Is GreenGeeks Right for You?

If you’re concerned about your environmental impact then GreenGeeks is a good choice because of its 300% green commitment.

But even if you just want solid and inexpensive hosting, GreenGeeks is well worth investigating.

They offer reliable servers, top-notch security measures, automated backups, easy server management, a plethora of support options, and even the ability to use dedicated WordPress hosting.

Check out GreenGeeks.com now.

Most Popular GreenGeeks Hosting Plans

EcoSite StarterEcosite PremiumSeed Reseller Hosting
Disk SpaceUnlimitedUnlimited50GB
BandwidthUnlimitedUnlimited500GB
Price $2.95 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$16.95 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$19.95 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit GreenGeeks NowVisit GreenGeeks NowVisit GreenGeeks Now
PlanDisk SpaceBandwidthPrice
Sprout Reseller Hosting
Reseller
80GB800GB $24.95 / mo Visit Host Now
Plant Reseller Hosting
Reseller
120GB1200GB $39.95 / mo Visit Host Now
1 GB VPS Hosting
VPS
25GB1000GB $39.95 / mo Visit Host Now
Tree Reseller Hosting
Reseller
160GB1600GB $59.95 / mo Visit Host Now
2 GB VPS Hosting
VPS
50GB1500GB $59.95 / mo Visit Host Now
3 GB VPS Hosting
VPS
75GB2000GB $79.95 / mo Visit Host Now
Forest Reseller Hosting
Reseller
200GB2000GB $99.95 / mo Visit Host Now
4 GB VPS Hosting
VPS
100GB2500GB $99.95 / mo Visit Host Now
8 GB VPS Hosting
VPS
125GB3000GB $159.95 / mo Visit Host Now
Entry Server
Dedicated
500GB10TB $169 / mo Visit Host Now
More Plans +

GreenGeeks Frequently Asked Questions

  • Where is the company located?

    GreenGeeks was founded in 2006 in the state of California in the United States. Their headquarters are in Agoura Hills. But they have clients all over the world with datacenters in Chicago, US, Phoenix, US, Montreal, CA, and Amsterdam, NL.

  • Is GreenGeeks hosting good?

    GreenGeeks is an established and well-respected web host with solid infrastructure, excellent support, and a focus on the environment. They offer a broad range of hosting services but their focus is on shared hosting for beginners. With their other offerings, they provide plenty of room to grow regardless of your needs.

  • What is green web hosting?

    Web hosting uses a tremendous amount of energy. This is particularly important for global warming because most energy sources release carbon dioxide into the atmosphere. So a host is said to be green if they emit little or no carbon-dioxide or otherwise offset what they do emit.

  • Where are GreenGeeks datacenters?

    GreenGeeks has four datacenters. They are located in Chicago (US), Phoenix (US), Montreal (CA), and Amsterdam (NL). In addition to this, GreenGeeks provides easy integration of the Cloudflare CDN. With it, your content will be served to your visitors from a server located close to them.

  • Can I use WordPress without dedicated WordPress hosting?

    Yes, if you’re using one of the basic shared hosting plans you can quickly install WordPress via your cPanel. Just scroll down to the Softaculous App Installer and click on WordPress. This will walk you through the process of installing WordPress on your new site.Of course, if you want to make installing and managing your WordPress site even easier, then go for the dedicated WordPress hosting.

  • Is GreenGeeks any good for WordPress?

    GreenGeeks specializes in hosting WordPress as well as the two other popular CMSs, Joomla and Drupal. Their support staff know WordPress and can help with configuration and optimization questions. GreenGeeks is not, however, an official WordPress host like SiteGround , Bluehost , and DreamHost .

  • Is a domain included in any of the shared hosting plans?

    All GreenGeeks’ shared hosting plans come with a free domain name for the first year. Note, however, that if you take a free domain name and get a refund on your hosting, you will be charged for the domain name. The domain name will be yours to do with as you choose.

  • Does GreenGeeks have cloud hosting?

    GreenGeeks has never offered cloud hosting. The closest they have to it are their VPS plans that offer virtual computers with dedicated resources. Their base plan includes 4 CPU cores, 2 GB RAM, 50 GB SSD storage, and 10 TB of bandwidth for $39.95 per month.

  • Does GreenGeeks offer an uptime guarantee?

    GreenGeeks offers a 99.9% uptime guarantee, but there is no credit or refund if your site does happen to go offline. It’s more of a good-faith guarantee. According to the SLA, “GreenGeeks will try to maintain maximum uptime.” However, we have been testing GreenGeeks since 2017 and they have rarely fallen below this. Last year, their average uptime was over 99.95%.

  • Does GreenGeeks offer any reseller hosting options?

    GreenGeeks offers 5 different reseller plans. They all offer unlimited SSD storage and bandwidth. You can host as many sites as you like. The only limitation is the number of cPanel accounts they provide. The base plan offers 10 accounts and costs $19.95 per month. The reseller plans include most of the features found in their normal shared hosting plans.

  • Are dedicated IP addresses available?

    The Premium shared hosting plan comes with a free dedicated IP address. One can be added to the lower-level plans for an additional cost. All VPS plans come with a dedicated IP address and dedicated servers come with five of them.

  • Is Windows hosting available?

    No, Windows hosting is not currently available. GreenGeeks is solely a Linux/Unix web hosting provider If you require a Windows hosting or any ASP.NET server configuration, then you’ll have to use a dedicated server or look elsewhere for hosting.

  • What “unlimited” options does GreenGeeks offer on its starter plans?

    Like most beginner-oriented hosts, GreenGeeks’ shared hosting packages are equipped with unlimited disk space, bandwidth, e-mail accounts, MySQL databases, and parked- and sub-domains. With the Pro and Premium shared hosting plans, you can also host an unlimited number of domains.

  • How is GreenGeeks “300% green”?

    GreenGeeks utilizes energy from the grid, just like any other company. But, where it differs is by buying renewable energy credits, in the form of wind power, which offset their energy use. This effectively brings down their net energy usage to zero. GreenGeeks buys three-times the number of wind energy credits, which makes it 300% green and picking up the tab for two other hosts of comparable size.

  • Can I get a VPS from GreenGeeks?

    Yes. GreenGeeks offers three VPS plans offering from 4 to 6 virtual CPU cores, 2 GB to 8 GB of RAM, 50 GB to 150 GB of SSD storage, and 10 TB of bandwidth. All plans come with the cPanel control panel and most of the other goodies you expect from GreenGeeks. The plans range in price from $39.95 to $109.95 per month.

  • Will GreenGeeks help me to transfer an existing site?

    Yes. When you sign up, you can have your site transferred free of charge. They can manage most hosting control panels including cPanel and Plesk. And if you host a number of websites in a single control panel, they will migrate all of your sites for free.

  • Does GreenGeeks allow more than one domain to be hosted per account?

    Maybe. GreenGeeks allows unlimited domain hosting on their Pro and Premium plans, so you can set up as many websites as you have resources for. Their basic plan, Lite, only supports a single website. If you want a super cheap plan that allows two domains, check out InMotion Hosting .

  • Can I host a site with a lot of images on a shared hosting account?

    Maybe. GreenGeeks supports unlimited bandwidth and disk space. However, that only applies as long as you don’t put too much of a drag on the server. So if you are going to host a large number of images on an active site, you will probably need a VPS or dedicated plan.

  • Does GreenGeeks have a money-back guarantee?

    Yes. It provides a 30-day money-back guarantee for all hosting plans, except dedicated servers. If you received a free domain or other hosting add-ons, the cost will be deducted from your refund. You will maintain ownership of the domain and can transfer it to another registrar.

  • What control panel options does GreenGeeks provide?

    All shared, WordPress, and VPS plans come with cPanel. Reseller plans come with at least 10 cPanel accounts to use with your clients. GreenGeeks has modified its cPanel to provide other hosting services, support functionality, add-ons, and the ability to manage multiple domains with the same interface.

  • What payment options does GreenGeeks accept?

    GreenGeeks provides relatively limited payment options: major credit cards such as MasterCard, Visa, American Express, and Discover, as well as PayPal. They do not accept any other form of payment including checks, money orders, wire transfers, Western Union payments, and any crypto-currencies.

  • What is GreenGeeks’ backup policy?

    GreenGeeks takes backups every day but they are only stored for 24 hours. They provide one free restore per calendar month. If you need more than one restore in a given month, you will be charged $25. This is actually a very liberal policy; many hosts charge for all restores.

  • How many email addresses can I create?

    You can create unlimited email accounts on all plans. The only limit is the level of resources your plan has. In addition, GreenGeeks provides webmail clients to use and manage your accounts. You can also set quotas, forward mail, and much more.

  • Will I be able to reach tech support by phone?

    Yes. Sales and technical support are available 24/7 every day of the year. It is provided via live chat and email ticket through your hosting control panel. Phone support is also available but not at night. GreenGeeks offers Above & Beyond Technical Support to assure that you are completely satisfied. They also provide excellent online materials if you want to research a problem yourself.

  • Are there any special security features on offer?

    Yes. GreenGeeks implements a wide variety of security measures. These range from real-time scanning for threats and server monitoring to hosting account isolation and automatic updates to hardware and power redundancy. They also provide enhanced SPAM protection and daily backups.

  • Can GreenGeeks customers use a CDN?

    All GreenGeeks hosting plans are CloudFlare-ready. They provide a simple point-and-click interface to set up the free content delivery network (CDN) on all of your websites. Using a CDN allows you to serve pages to your visitors from the closest server thus increasing page load speeds.

Kevin Wood

About Kevin Wood

Kevin got his start as a web developer. Now he spends his time as a technical writer and poet. His main interests are technology and human potential. When he's not diving headfirst into technical topics, you can find him scrawling lines of poetry and getting lost in the woods.

Connect with Kevin

    Review GreenGeeks

    Already a GreenGeeks customer? Write an honest & helpful review.

    1 How would you rate your experience with GreenGeeks?

    Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

    Support
    Features
    Uptime
    Value

    2 Write your review

    Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about GreenGeeks.

    Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that GreenGeeks rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

    Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

    Back

    3 About You

    Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

    Back

    Terms and Conditions

    By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

    1. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
    2. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
    3. You hereby grant QNL a perpetual, exclusive, irrevocable, royalty free, licence to host, display and otherwise use the review for any purpose anywhere in the world.

    Thank You For Your Review

    Thanks! We’ve received your review of GreenGeeks. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).

    Comments

    Thanks for your comment. It will show here once it has been approved.

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    avatar

    Marko

    July 25, 2019

    Quick update on GreenGeeks – I’ve been with them for the past 4 months. Despite being an inactive customer, I had a handful of queries and the responses were quick and punctual. So far so good.

    How is everyone else getting on?

    avatar

    Sherrie

    August 9, 2019

    Good to know – I haven’t tried them yet but I know they’re totally legit re: green hosting.

    I noticed that some hosts (not GreenGeeks) have dropped their green activities, but still have a page or two on their sites defining green hosting. It seems one has to do some research to determine if a web host is truly ‘green.’

    avatar

    FabFaj

    September 18, 2019

    It is true that they are quick to answer. But they do not really address your main concern. Please be careful of your account. I was like you, an inactive customer. My initial queries have also been answered punctually but I got tired of asking for refund because it seems that they will really give me a hard time to get my money back. So I just let it be. After a year of not using my domain twinklemedia.net registered with them (I was just trying to get my hands on DIY site building), I got debited on my credit card but my card’s information was not updated on the billing page. My previous card with them was expired. Even now, it is what is on their site. Still, I got charged. I requested for a refund, and again, they’re giving me a hard time. And it’s just eating up days of exchanging communications with them. I really felt scammed by #GreenGeeks

    Was GreenGeeks not quite right? We recommend

    Top Alternative
    SiteGround logo
    • Super-fast servers
    • People's choice 3 years running
    • Outstanding tech support
    (2,903)

    $3.95 /mo

    Get % off!

    Visit SiteGround Now

    money back guarantee

    BlueHost logo
    • Generous storage & bandwidth
    • Great support & easy setup
    (482)

    $2.75 /mo

    Get % off!

    Visit BlueHost Now

    A2 Hosting logo
    • Great value Windows hosting
    • 45 day money-back guarantee
    (262)

    $3.92 /mo

    Get % off!

    Visit A2 Hosting Now

    No thanks