Host Color Review: Hosting Without The Fine Print? Are They For Real?

Host Color Introduction

Host Color started offering hosting services back in 2000. Since then, it has provided its customers a wide range of hosting services that include a high level of support as well as great quality of service. The company wants to offer its customers service they can understand without “cheap tricks” or “misleading TOS.”

Services and Specializations

Customers signing up for Host Color’s plans can expect many choices including shared, VPS, and dedicated hosting. In addition, Host Color offers cloud based hosting as well as colocation services. Through its hosting plans, Host Color primarily targets individuals and small businesses looking for cost-effective plans with great service and support.

For basic web hosting, Host Color offers customers both managed and self-managed shared hosting plans. Both types of hosting plans come with varying amounts of disk space, bandwidth, and number of domains. They also include 256 MB of RAM for PHP which is more than what the average host offers. The managed hosting, though more expensive, has additional features included, such as email, SSL certificates, and the cPanel control panel. The managed plan also allows customers to install popular scripts such as WordPress through Softaculous.

Customers who need even more advanced plans that can handle much more traffic can select VPS plans from Host Color. The company’s VPS plans include more resources including varying amounts of disk space, RAM, number of CPU cores, and bandwidth. With the VPS plans, customers can choose from a set of plans with SATA or SSD disk technology as well as KVM, OpenVZ, or Xen virtualization. Though some of the plans limit the OS choice to Linux, other plans are flexible and allow a choice of either Linux or Windows.

If customers want a dedicated resource to handle website visitors, they should consider dedicated server plans from Host Color. Host Color’s dedicated plans include a choice of virtual dedicated servers as well as a choice of North American and internationally based servers. The bare metal servers utilize Intel Xeon processors and are hosted in locations around the world and include varying number of cores, processing speed, and bandwidth.

Besides ordering standard hosting plans, customers can select colocation services as well as cloud hosting. The colocation services allow customers to have 1U to 4U (1U is 1.75 inches) as well as half and full rack configurations. Cloud hosting services include private, public, and hybrid configurations.

Host Color Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 16 Reviews by Host Color Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Dan Buss. avatar
Dan Buss. comeonlads.com
Oct 01, 2018

We are sports writers and we don’t know how to manage websites, so. I went to search the web to find a company that would host and do technical administration for us. After we spoke to HC representative we chose a Cloud server, which is a very stable and runs without any issues.

We have also got a Private Cloud – a Windows Desktop, hosted on their infrastructure, which is used by the whole team. HC is a very good provider and I recommend it to anyone who needs a stable web hosting service and management!

Visit Host Now →

Marc Davenport avatar
Marc Davenport marcdavenport.com
Jan 07, 2014

I’ve been a host color customer for about 10 years. I’ve had nothing but great personal service for support tickets. In fact I’m writing this review now after a great interaction with them and felt it was time I made it known how satisfied I am with both the features and the pricing.

I’m fairly technically adept and have no problem using their managers. Since I can’t go back and be a new user without knowing much, I can’t say what that experience would be like, but looking at the FAQs for domain changing and other issues, I would say that even for an inexperienced person, it would be just fine.

Visit Host Now →

Pavel Kashov avatar
Pavel Kashov ipcstore.com
Jun 01, 2016

We are online seller with vast amount of loyal customers, we needed good partner to collocate our new server and bet on Hostcolor after big research. We have been colocating with Host Color since May 2015. Their network AS46873 is stable and fast, have not had any issues so far.

The support is very helpful doing everything possible for us anytime we need. We highly recommend host color. They helped us many times providing free stuff

Visit Host Now →

Load More

Infrastructure and Uptime

Host Color’s infrastructure consists of a number of datacenters located around the world including South Bend, Indiana; Asia; and Europe. Its datacenters have redundant network connections to guarantee the lowest latency time as well as physical security and advanced power management solutions from Schneider. Despite its robust infrastructure, Host Color does not appear to have an uptime guarantee but they have an SLA which guarantees “that you use high quality, network.”

Support and Customer Service

Customers can rely on support from Host Color through support tickets, email, phone, and live chat on Skype. Host Color provides support 24/7.

Billing

Customers selecting plans from Host Color have the option of a number of payment terms ranging from monthly all the way to 3 year contracts. Customers willing to pay more upfront can get slight discounts, in some cases having the setup fee waived. For payment, the company accepts major credit cards as well as PayPal.

Summary

Overall, Host Color strives to provide its customers flexibility and reliability in terms of the number of plans and infrastructure quality. The company also aims to be straightforward with its customers and not include many “hidden” details in its TOS. Customers looking for a hosting company dedicated to serving its customers without “cheap tricks” or “misleading” terms will find much to like about Host Color.

Most Popular Host Color Hosting Plans

Blog Web Hosting CMS Web Hosting Social Web Hosting
Disk Space 5GB 10GB 15GB
Bandwidth 5GB Unlimited Unlimited
Price $3.99 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$4.99 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$5.27 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit Host Color Now Visit Host Color Now Visit Host Color Now
Plan Disk Space Bandwidth Price
E-Commerce Web Hosting
Shared
30GB Unlimited $6.79 / mo Visit Host Now
multi-domain-hosting
Shared
60GB Unlimited $7.99 / mo Visit Host Now
VPS Start Hosting
Shared
10GB 100GB $19.95 / mo Visit Host Now
VPS Advance Hosting
Shared
25GB 250GB $49.95 / mo Visit Host Now
VPS Power Hosting
Shared
50GB 500GB $69.95 / mo Visit Host Now
Dedicated Budget Hosting
Shared
250GB 5000GB $85 / mo Visit Host Now
Dedicated Start Hosting
Shared
2GB 1000GB $99 / mo Visit Host Now
Euro1 Dedicated Hosting
Shared
2GB 1000GB $99 / mo Visit Host Now
Dedicated Plus Hosting
Shared
500GB 5000GB $121 / mo Visit Host Now
Dedicated Advance Hosting
Shared
500GB 5000GB $209 / mo Visit Host Now
Dedicated Power Hosting
Shared
500GB 5000GB $479 / mo Visit Host Now
More Plans +
Brian Wu

About Brian Wu

Brian specializes in technology and medicine. This isn't surprising given he now has a PhD in integrative biology and disease and an MD with a focus on holistic treatment. In the past, he's been an actor. Brian lives in southern California.

Connect with Brian

Review Host Color & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a Host Color customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more…

1 How would you rate your experience with Host Color?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about Host Color.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that Host Color rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2019 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2019.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your Host Color review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).

shares