Host Color Review: Hosting Without The Fine Print? Are They For Real?

Host Color Introduction

Host Color started offering hosting services back in 2000. Since then, it has provided its customers a wide range of hosting services that include a high level of support as well as great quality of service. The company wants to offer its customers service they can understand without “cheap tricks” or “misleading TOS.”

Services and Specializations

Customers signing up for Host Color’s plans can expect many choices including shared, VPS, and dedicated hosting. In addition, Host Color offers cloud based hosting as well as colocation services. Through its hosting plans, Host Color primarily targets individuals and small businesses looking for cost-effective plans with great service and support.

For basic web hosting, Host Color offers customers both managed and self-managed shared hosting plans. Both types of hosting plans come with varying amounts of disk space, bandwidth, and number of domains. They also include 256 MB of RAM for PHP which is more than what the average host offers. The managed hosting, though more expensive, has additional features included, such as email, SSL certificates, and the cPanel control panel. The managed plan also allows customers to install popular scripts such as WordPress through Softaculous.

Customers who need even more advanced plans that can handle much more traffic can select VPS plans from Host Color. The company’s VPS plans include more resources including varying amounts of disk space, RAM, number of CPU cores, and bandwidth. With the VPS plans, customers can choose from a set of plans with SATA or SSD disk technology as well as KVM, OpenVZ, or Xen virtualization. Though some of the plans limit the OS choice to Linux, other plans are flexible and allow a choice of either Linux or Windows.

If customers want a dedicated resource to handle website visitors, they should consider dedicated server plans from Host Color. Host Color’s dedicated plans include a choice of virtual dedicated servers as well as a choice of North American and internationally based servers. The bare metal servers utilize Intel Xeon processors and are hosted in locations around the world and include varying number of cores, processing speed, and bandwidth.

Besides ordering standard hosting plans, customers can select colocation services as well as cloud hosting. The colocation services allow customers to have 1U to 4U (1U is 1.75 inches) as well as half and full rack configurations. Cloud hosting services include private, public, and hybrid configurations.

Host Color Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 16 Reviews by Host Color Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Dan Buss. avatar
Dan Buss. comeonlads.com
Oct 01, 2018

We are sports writers and we don’t know how to manage websites, so. I went to search the web to find a company that would host and do technical administration for us. After we spoke to HC representative we chose a Cloud server, which is a very stable and runs without any issues.

We have also got a Private Cloud – a Windows Desktop, hosted on their infrastructure, which is used by the whole team. HC is a very good provider and I recommend it to anyone who needs a stable web hosting service and management!

Visit Host →

Marc Davenport avatar
Marc Davenport marcdavenport.com
Jan 07, 2014

I’ve been a host color customer for about 10 years. I’ve had nothing but great personal service for support tickets. In fact I’m writing this review now after a great interaction with them and felt it was time I made it known how satisfied I am with both the features and the pricing.

I’m fairly technically adept and have no problem using their managers. Since I can’t go back and be a new user without knowing much, I can’t say what that experience would be like, but looking at the FAQs for domain changing and other issues, I would say that even for an inexperienced person, it would be just fine.

Visit Host →

Pavel Kashov avatar
Pavel Kashov ipcstore.com
Jun 01, 2016

We are online seller with vast amount of loyal customers, we needed good partner to collocate our new server and bet on Hostcolor after big research. We have been colocating with Host Color since May 2015. Their network AS46873 is stable and fast, have not had any issues so far.

The support is very helpful doing everything possible for us anytime we need. We highly recommend host color. They helped us many times providing free stuff

Visit Host →

Peter Muennig avatar
Peter Muennig kwahdao.org
May 06, 2015

When our website went down because of a coding problem we had, Hostcolor had it back up within 10 minutes. This happened again in the middle of the night, and the problem was again fixed immediately. Thanks to the team at Hostcolor.

We have been a customer on 3 sites for over 13 years. Our domains are www.Kwan dao.org, www.Burmese refugee project.org, and www.pceo.org.

Visit Host →

Dan Busuoc avatar
Dan Busuoc spotbank.com
Jan 08, 2011

I have been with HostColor.com for more than 6 years and their hosting service always worked good for me. The support has always been friendly and there’s always a live person to answer the phone. No answering machines or "Please hold, the next available agent will be with you shortly" messages. Their prices are fair and I can say that this is a company you can trust.

Visit Host →

Denise Hue avatar
Denise Hue dhue.net
Jul 15, 2015

Very happy with our shared hosting plan. It’s a great value and the Host Color responds very promptly and thoroughly whenever needed. After eleven years with them, I highly recommend. They can tailor or customize services to find the right mix for you.

Visit Host →

Danail avatar
Danail stoychev.me
Aug 28, 2012

I host my website Stoychev. Me on the European servers of HostColor.com for almost 3 years. Host Color‘s service is reliable and their network is fast.

I have had a few interruptions of the service, some of them scheduled, and Host Color staff has always informed me about status of the service. If there were issues they usually resolve them promptly. One can also trust their support. It is friendly and responds fast!

Visit Host →

Jurgen Neubaue avatar
Jurgen Neubaue babelnetz.com
Mar 25, 2011

I have been using Host Color‘s Multi Domain hosting service plan for 2 years before upgrading to a virtual server called VPS Advance. Host Color has a good support and respond promptly to support tickets. I like that they are open and honest company that keeps to its promises.

For the last 2 years they never misled me, as other web hosts I used did before. Their prices are fair and it seems that they don’t oversell they servers. I like Host Color and will continue using them.

Visit Host →

Kristalin Chavdarov avatar
Kristalin Chavdarov kristalinchavdarov.net
Nov 09, 2009

I’m a web designer and developer who has significant experience in
creating websites. I used to use Shared Hosting (just for start), but a one point I needed to use guaranteed resources so I begun searching for a Virtual Private Server (VPS). I went searching in Google and compared the pricing
and the features of the VPS hosting plan some web hosts offered.

Then
I decided to choose Host Color. The reason for this choice was that
they have responded very fast to my enquirer and offered some help and
customization for setting up MODx on a VPS. I have been with them for almost 6 months and I shall sat that their
service is excellent up to this point.

They support responds promptly
to all support tickets I submit and is very friendly. Based on my
experience I highly recommend Host Color as web hosting provider. Now i work with them and i`m calm and Happy! Thanks!

Visit Host →

Daniel avatar
Daniel na
Mar 25, 2009

Held my domain hostage and did not allow me to transfer it out. They are terrible….I was with them for 5 years….servers used to got down. When I left they wouldn’t let me take my domain with me until I renewed it with them for another year.

Visit Host →

Load More

Infrastructure and Uptime

Host Color’s infrastructure consists of a number of datacenters located around the world including South Bend, Indiana; Asia; and Europe. Its datacenters have redundant network connections to guarantee the lowest latency time as well as physical security and advanced power management solutions from Schneider. Despite its robust infrastructure, Host Color does not appear to have an uptime guarantee but they have an SLA which guarantees “that you use high quality, network.”

Support and Customer Service

Customers can rely on support from Host Color through support tickets, email, phone, and live chat on Skype. Host Color provides support 24/7.

Billing

Customers selecting plans from Host Color have the option of a number of payment terms ranging from monthly all the way to 3 year contracts. Customers willing to pay more upfront can get slight discounts, in some cases having the setup fee waived. For payment, the company accepts major credit cards as well as PayPal.

Summary

Overall, Host Color strives to provide its customers flexibility and reliability in terms of the number of plans and infrastructure quality. The company also aims to be straightforward with its customers and not include many “hidden” details in its TOS. Customers looking for a hosting company dedicated to serving its customers without “cheap tricks” or “misleading” terms will find much to like about Host Color.

Most Popular Host Color Hosting Plans

Blog Web Hosting CMS Web Hosting Social Web Hosting
Disk Space 5GB 10GB 15GB
Bandwidth 5GB Unlimited Unlimited
Price $3.99 / mo $4.99 / mo $5.27 / mo
Visit Host Color Visit Host Color Visit Host Color
Plan Disk Space Bandwidth Price
E-Commerce Web Hosting
Shared
30GB Unlimited $6.79 / mo Visit Host
multi-domain-hosting
Shared
60GB Unlimited $7.99 / mo Visit Host
VPS Start Hosting
Shared
10GB 100GB $19.95 / mo Visit Host
VPS Advance Hosting
Shared
25GB 250GB $49.95 / mo Visit Host
VPS Power Hosting
Shared
50GB 500GB $69.95 / mo Visit Host
Dedicated Budget Hosting
Shared
250GB 5000GB $85 / mo Visit Host
Dedicated Start Hosting
Shared
2GB 1000GB $99 / mo Visit Host
Euro1 Dedicated Hosting
Shared
2GB 1000GB $99 / mo Visit Host
Dedicated Plus Hosting
Shared
500GB 5000GB $121 / mo Visit Host
Dedicated Advance Hosting
Shared
500GB 5000GB $209 / mo Visit Host
Dedicated Power Hosting
Shared
500GB 5000GB $479 / mo Visit Host
More Plans +

Most Popular Host Color Alternatives

SiteGround logo

Starts at:

$3.95

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

BlueHost logo

Starts at:

$2.75

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

InMotion Hosting logo

Starts at:

$3.99

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

Brian Wu

About Brian Wu

Brian specializes in technology and medicine. This isn't surprising given he now has a PhD in integrative biology and disease and an MD with a focus on holistic treatment. In the past, he's been an actor. Brian lives in southern California.

Connect with Brian