Host1Plus In 2019: What Do Host1Plus Client Reviews Say?

Host1Plus Review

Host1Plus Home Page

Host1Plus is a hosting company founded in 2008 to offer high-value services to enterprise clients who would work with Host1Plus on a long-term basis. The company focuses on being reliable, tolerant, and collaborative, and over the years, Host1Plus has grown to a company capable of offering hosting in five different locations around the world.

Host1Plus offers only premium-level hosting, so you can opt between VPS plans or cloud hosting. Host1Plus does not offer shared or reseller hosting packages.

VPS Hosting Cloud Servers
Prices begain at… $5.20 per month $6.40 per month
Custom Plans Available? Yes No
Discount for extended billing cycles? Yes Yes
Managed or Unmanaged? Unmanaged Unmanaged
Datacenter Cities Los Angeles, Chicago, Sao Paolo, Frankfurt, Hong Kong Chicago, Sao Paulo, Johannesburg, Hong Kong, Frankfurt
Full root access? Yes Yes
Default Operating System Linux Linux
Windows Options Available? Yes Yes
Instant Provisioning? Yes No

Host1Plus Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 9 Reviews by Host1Plus Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Edvaldo de Almeida avatar
Edvaldo de Almeida eddealmeida.herokuapp.com
Mar 02, 2018

Host1Plus is great. Uptime, support and everything else. I’ve already used most of the services (hosting, VPS, domain registration) and had no trouble at all.

My personal domain was registered with Host1Plus and now that I am almost done with my website I intend to host it with Host1Plus. The panel is easy to use. I use and recommend.

Visit Host →

Joey  Zhao avatar
Joey Zhao summitinnovator.com
Apr 24, 2018

I have been used host1plus for 3 weeks after 1 week test,
I really love their support, they can always respond in 30m at worktime,
plus they support IPV6, i am also using other service provide like solidseovps for many years,
they are also good, but don’t IPV6 support as Host1Plus does. the only minor issues I have so far are followings,
1, their website sometimes have bug mistakenly report we are visiting by a bot, if you use residential ip this shouldn’t happen, i have this issue because i use VPN;
2, they may take a while to respond at weekend;

in a word, they are good, definitely worth your money. Joey Zhao

Visit Host →

Sandra Newsome avatar
Sandra Newsome mentalhaze.net
Jan 31, 2018

I’ve been a customer for over a year and I am very pleased with Host1Plus. I am still new to running a server, this being my first one, and they have been very helpful when I’ve hit snags. The times I’ve needed to contact support, they’ve been very quick to respond and help me resolve my issue.

The uptime has been very good. I can only think of twice my server has been down for any length of time and that was for scheduled maintenance and I was warned well ahead of time that it would be offline and how long it might take to complete work, as well as an email informing me when they were finished. Their pricing is also very competitive. I think I’m getting a very good value for my money with their reliable service and excellent support.

Visit Host →

Gilhiarde Marques avatar
Gilhiarde Marques social10.com.br
Apr 09, 2017

I’m customer for few months and until the moment i have no problem with the Cloud Server Hosting. Most of my ticket support is answered in minutes. The Host1Plus team is very attentive.

The price was the better that i found in the market. I have quoted few companies price. Because of this, the Host1Plus Rocks and i recommend it to everyone.

Visit Host →

jiesom smith avatar
jiesom smith dripoo.com
Mar 29, 2017

the service is very good. Although some ip address was blocked by the GFW. But it was solved quickly.I have a lot of vps hosts on the host1plus.

And them works well.I will continue to use their products. And I will introduce it to my friends. Thank you

Visit Host →

Petya Zharkov avatar
Petya Zharkov testforum.ru
Mar 23, 2017

I am working with Host1Plus since 2012. This service is realy cool! I have been using this hosting for 5 years already, and had no problems!

They have good prices, but in future I wish their Ddos protection would be better! Very good rates for VPS, and shared. Quick responds for all my questions!

Visit Host →

Yoav Nissim avatar
Yoav Nissim haella-edu.org.il
Mar 28, 2017

After going through quite a bad experience with one of the most affordable service providers on the net today, Host1Plus was the best combination I’ve found, of affordability, good infrastructure, good features, and even better support. They are very responsive, and always go the extra mile to resolve any issues that come up.

Visit Host →

Aleksandr Grinchenko avatar
Aleksandr Grinchenko linkedin.com
Apr 10, 2018

We are use Host1Plus half a year, every time when we are recourse in support this one, have resolve our troubles the shortest time! Guys from support are very good professionals, they are help resolve tasks related with configure and troubleshooting in linux, without requiring additional paid. We are recommend this company!

Visit Host →

Christian Ramon avatar
Christian Ramon smurfbrasil.com.br
Mar 23, 2017

Good support, a little bit confusing when you want specific stuff, but after some tickets/conversation you get it. Could offer more flexibility on the plans, upgrade/downgrade and options to get specific range of ips/subnets available, not random. Great uptime, didn`t let me down for a second, will recommend for my friends/partners.

Visit Host →

Load More

Virtual Private Server (VPS) Hosting

Host1Plus offers five virtual private server (VPS) web hosting plans from which you can choose. Each differs from the others based on your allocation of CPU cores, RAM, disk space, and bandwidth (none of Host1Plus’ plans come with unlimited bandwidth).

If none of the pre-configured options meet your needs, you can certainly request a quote for a custom hosting package.

Host1Plus VPS Hosting Plans

Linux is the default operating system when ordering VPS hosting services, though for an additional fee, you can choose to host your website on a Windows-based server instead.

Host1Plus’ VPS servers come with everything you need to get up and running (including a sitebuilder), but it is most certainly a no-frills option.

Cloud Servers

Host1Plus Cloud Server Plans

If VPS hosting isn’t the best fit for you, Host1Plus offers six different unmanaged cloud server plans from which you can choose. They differ based on the allocation of CPU cores, disk space, RAM, and bandwidth (none of Host1Plus’ plans come with unlimited bandwidth). In addition to being able to choose between Linux and Windows operating systems, you can interact with your cloud server via the command line or via the associated API.

Similar to the VPS hosting plans, Host1Plus’ cloud servers are a no-frills option for those needing the capabilities of cloud hosting, but can’t splurge for all of the bells and whistles.

Backups and Migrations

Host1Plus charges $2 per backup (regardless of plan)

Host1Plus will assist with small (less than 2 GB) “as-is” transfers (that is, there are no changes made to the data during the transfer process. Customers are otherwise on their own with regards to migrations.

Add-Ons and Extras

For additional fees, you can add tools to your order. For example, you might choose to purchase private SSL certificates or a dedicated IP address to beef up the security of your website. You might also choose to purchase a license for a GUI-based control panel.

However, note that Host1Plus does not offer much in the way of professional/consulting services. Its plans are unmanaged, and the expectation is that you will do most of the server system administration.

Host1Plus Quick Overview

Specializations

Budget-friendly, no frills VPS plans and cloud-based hosting services

Plans starting at…

$5.20/mo

Migration Policy

YOYO (You’re On Your Own)

Behind the Scenes

Host1Plus Admin Dashboard

When logging in to your Host1Plus account, you’ll notice that there are relatively few options for you to interact with in the dashboard. You’ll see:

  1. A listing of all your Host1Plus accounts
  2. A list of the support tickets you’ve opened with Host1Plus
  3. DNS management tools, such as creating add-on domains
  4. Billing and payments management for your account(s), including the ability to add or remove web hosting plans
  5. Access to your client-specific information (such as the API key you need to interact with Host1Plus API) and other account-related particulars
  6. Options to contact support and get customer service or submit feedback

Host1Plus Server Management View

That’s pretty much it. Like many other premium/advanced-level hosting options, Host1Plus does not bundle its plans with a control panel. The dashboard that you see when logging in is strictly for non-technical administrative features. To manage your server, you will need to use the command line if you do not choose to purchase a license for a GUI-based product, such as cPanel, or install an open source option.

None of Host1Plus’ plans come with a control panel, though you may choose to purchase a license for one during the checkout process. Host1Plus supports most of the major options, such as cPanel and Direct Panel. However, you have full control over your hosting environment, so you are free to install whatever option you would like, regardless of whether it is open source or proprietary (obviously, in the latter case, you are responsible for the licensing fees).

Datacenters

When choosing a web hosting package, you can choose your server location:

VPS Hosting Plans: Los Angeles, CA; Chicago, IL; Frankfurt, Germany; Hong Kong; Johannesburg, South Africa

Cloud Servers: Chicago, IL; Frankfurt, Germany; Hong Kong; Johannesburg, South Africa; Sao Paulo, Brazil

Customer Service and Support

Host1Plus offers customer support in English and Portuguese. You can get in touch with Host1Plus’ technical support team via email or the support ticketing center.

Host1Plus’ support material is poor. Host1Plus has some support material on their website, but the content is very limited in nature. All of its documentation is written using a question-and-answer format. There are currently just over 120 of these questions, though the number of questions relevant to the technical aspects of web hosting is considerably smaller. Do not expect to be able to troubleshoot using the provided support material; you will either have to do it yourself or call Host1Plus to speak to its technical support staff.

Host1Plus offers no free trials, but you do get a 14-day money back guarantee.

If You Like This Host, Also Look At…

A2 Hosting is a developer-friendly hosting provider offering a wide-array of web hosting products and services at many different price points. If you’re technically savvy enough to work with Host1Plus, you should have no issues with A2 Hosting. However, if you like Host1Plus, but you want a host that offers professional services, A2 can help with that as well.

Liquid Web is a provider of premium web hosting services. Their prices are quite a bit steeper than Host1Plus’, but Liquid Web’s options are much more feature-rich and come as managed options.

<!–

Frequently Asked Questions

What’s the difference between the service offered by VPS hosting plans and the cloud servers?

Both the cloud and VPS offerings are very similar in that they are advanced-level hosting options aimed at those needing solutions for a resource-intensive website, a website that sees high levels of traffic, or both.

The former, however, is more like a traditional web hosting plan where you get a “slice” of a physical server. Host1Plus implements a solid barrier between the resources allocated to your site so that others cannot encroach on it. So there are some very real limitations on your site based on the way the physical server has been virtualized.

The cloud servers, on the other hand, distribute your website across Host1Plus’ network. While the plans based on the cloud servers are similar to the VPS plans, you get additional benefits that are inherent with cloud-based networks, including redundancy to minimize the possibility of downtime.

Furthermore, the distribution of services means that you get access to multiple environments, ensuring that your website isn’t reliant on just a single entity. The extra features come with a small premium when it comes time to purchase cloud hosting.

What are the operating system options available?

You can choose between Linux and Windows VPS/cloud hosting. If you opt for the former, you can choose from any of the following distributions:

  • CentOS
  • Debian
  • Fedora
  • Ubuntu
–>

Pros and Cons

All hosts have good and bad points. To give you a simple rundown of where Host1Plus stands, I’ve put together the main good and bad points.

Host1Plus Pros

  • Fully scalable, flexible web hosting environments that allow you full control
  • Multi-language support (English, Chinese, Portuguese, and Spanish)
  • Backed by solid customer service that is available 24/7

Host1Plus Cons

  • Advanced hosting features means that Host1Plus might not be a good option for you if you are not comfortable with doing your own server system administration
  • Host1Plus’ focus is strictly on web hosting, so you do not have many options when it comes to purchasing consulting services.

Conclusion

If you are an enterprise client looking for advanced/premium-level hosting on a tight budget, look no further than Host1Plus. The company offers some excellent options at very low prices.

Most Popular Host1Plus Hosting Plans

Amber Bronze Silver
Disk Space 40GB 60GB 120GB
Bandwidth 1TB 1TB 1TB
Price $15 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$21 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$36 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit Host1Plus Visit Host1Plus Visit Host1Plus
Plan Disk Space Bandwidth Price
LIN2
Cloud
40GB 1TB $40 / mo Visit Host
WIN4
Cloud
50GB 1TB $65 / mo Visit Host
More Plans +

Host1Plus Frequently Asked Questions

  • What’s the difference between the service offered by VPS hosting plans and the cloud servers?

    Both the cloud and VPS offerings are very similar in that they are advanced-level hosting options aimed at those needing solutions for a resource-intensive website, a website that sees high levels of traffic, or both.

    The former, however, is more like a traditional web hosting plan where you get a “slice” of a physical server. Host1Plus implements a solid barrier between the resources allocated to your site so that others cannot encroach on it. So there are some very real limitations on your site based on the way the physical server has been virtualized.

    The cloud servers, on the other hand, distribute your website across Host1Plus’ network. While the plans based on the cloud servers are similar to the VPS plans, you get additional benefits that are inherent with cloud-based networks, including redundancy to minimize the possibility of downtime.

    Furthermore, the distribution of services means that you get access to multiple environments, ensuring that your website isn’t reliant on just a single entity. The extra features come with a small premium when it comes time to purchase cloud hosting.

  • What are the operating system options available?

    You can choose between Linux and Windows VPS/cloud hosting. If you opt for the former, you can choose from any of the following distributions:

    • CentOS
    • Debian
    • Fedora
    • Ubuntu
Katie Horne

About Katie Horne

Katie is a C# developer who became a technical writer. She is a lifelong bookworm and all-around nerd with a soft spot for gimmicks and packaging. She judges books by the cover, and she's not sorry about it. In her spare time, she likes to swim, knit, and do the New York Times Crossword Puzzle.

Connect with Katie

Review Host1Plus & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a Host1Plus customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more…

1 How would you rate your experience with Host1Plus?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about Host1Plus.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that Host1Plus rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2019 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2019.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your Host1Plus review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).