HostGator Reviews - Page 2

Screenshot of http://www.computerrepairsantaclarita.net
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Hostgator has never given me problems... and If I've had one, it's always been super easy to get help. The support is fantastic.

You can submit a ticket through a web-mail based form and it will most likely be responded to within the same hour. I've also had live chats with them and they really know what they're talking about, they aren't untrained professionals off in India or anything. I have a baby plan, and I host about 10 domains on it now.

Even when I forgot to pay for up to 2 weeks after due date (oops :)), they put my domains back up within minutes of submitting a new invoice. They almost give me too much leeway, I've done it more than twice :)

 
Screenshot of http://itechway.in
4.5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I am using Hostgator Hatchling plan from past 2 months and it works very well for my blog. Their contact support is better than others. The bad thing about the HostGator is it's server is quite slow.

But I can say it's worth our money. This is the best host for the newbie Bloggers with a low budget. I recommend the bloggers who want to start their go with the HostGator. The most loving thing about the HostGator is that they come with new offers every 2 months.

 
4 stars
Support
3 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've been using hostgator for last year's. I liked only two things. 1. Uptime 2.

Stable. Comparing with other shared hosting services, I found this is better one when comparing uptime. But, Other things just sucks!

How? You can't install third-party SSL certificates without their assistance. They will charge you 10 dollars for it.

You will also need dedicated ip which costs 4 USD/Mo. It was only $2/Mo a few months ago. They are using many outdated programs.

Like, They are using Curl 7.12.1 which is around 10 years old. They don't even think of updating it. If you choose their wordpress hosting, You will die.

How? You can't set your website to www! You have to keep it example.com instead of www.example.com.

Else, You will have less control on Your Site. The next thing is their billing portal is not user friendly. It's true, Hostgator services are cheap.

But their support is neutral. Not so good or not so bad. I only like hostgator for uptime which is a core thing.

You can choose it, If you need just uptime. But if you need more, Just avoid it. Go for your own cloud vps from a good provider.

 
4.5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Hello! I just love HostGator because it's te best, uptime 100%, best support, prices. <33 Hostgator always will be the best hosting, I used it for business, and it worked perfect. I'm hosting there now too, because the prices is so low, but quality is the best forever! I will never go away from Hostgator, it will be the best hosting.

 
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I was with them for almost 10 years now, my website is not for selling its more to let people know about us. Iam totally green about hosting and website but I can be able to have build my own website means its good. they used to helped me alot.

but now, hostgator seems very sad. totally sad. no 24/7 support.

try it your own, dont just read the review. they wont help you with anything. just keep quite and then close the window.

thank you for that hostgator. I couldnt open my cpanel now because of some redirecting problem now, and waiting 30 mins and never move a thing in their live support is rubbish. Im moving my hosting by tonight.

they dont deserve my money. all the best

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

After much research I chose to move all my sites to hostgator after being with my old host for over a decade. They were having too many issues. I've been with hostgator for several months and I'm beyond unhappy with the service.

They did move all my sites for free which was a wonderful bonus and that went smoothly. That was the only positive thing in my experience. Summary
1.

Horribly slow support via online support system.
2. Long waits to talk to customer service via chat or phone. Typically over 30 minutes.
3.

Sites go down regularly and once all my sites went down for hours as did all the other reseller packages.
4. Took one of my sites down with NO warning ue to a hacker bot trying to login repeatedly which I had NO control over. (Its still down.)
5. Sites are sloooowwww.

My sites go down regularly for short intervals. I have a reseller package which I use only for my own business and personal and family sites. One day the reseller packages were down for hours due to some maintenance.

My sites was much slower and hang a lot. I never had that issue with my old host though hostgater tells me its a problem with my sites and not them. Yesterday I learned my family site was taken offline for over a week for excessive use of resources. (I don't visit that site often.) Come to find it its because a bot was trying to log into my wordpress repeatably.

Common hacker tactic. I call support which this time was only a 10 minute wait. Normally its over 30 minutes.

The tech gave me a long spiel about how though the site is fairly dormant stuff goes on behind the scenes and I should upgrade to a dedicated server and I needed to follow the instructions in the email I received. I Never received that email telling me they had shut my site down. (I received all their other emails so it was not a spam folder issue.) He would not tell me what the problem was and kept talking in circles. It was unreal.

I had to figure it out myself and saw that it was due to a hacker trying to log in over and over. He kept saying because the site is "my property" they couldn't do anything and I had to do what the email said which was either upgrade my package and pay more or reply with my IP address. If I replied with my IP I could get my site available only to me so that I could try and remedy the problem.

As I learned it was due to a bot I could add a plugin to not allow repeated login attempts. However I'm still waiting for them to allow me to do that after giving them my IP yesterday. Replies on support take forever.

Once I can add that pluginI then I have to reply back to them and tell them what I did while they decide if its good enough to put my site online again. This is unbelievably poor customer service. All I needed was a notice telling me an external bot was trying to access my site and I would have logged on and stopped it immediately.

Instead they took my site down and I'm assuming its going to be at least 2 or 3 days before I get it back up due to their slow support. I've never been more unhappy. My old host was better than this.

I'm moving as soon as I find a new one. Nancy

 
3 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I am an existing customer under Hostgator.com. I run many sites. I purchased a hosting from hostgator.in.

There was some issue with my wordpress sites and 3 of my sites were down. One day all files were deleted. I spend 5 days with their support team to restore my sites.

I am losing my time, money and reputation. Still the issue is not resolved. Please do not buy hosting from Hostgator India ...

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Horrible! In the last 5 months our servers went down at least 4 or 5 times. One time the servers came back up and our site was destroyed.

Luckily we had a backup. Wait time is tooo long and customer server is a joke. They did give us a uptime credit every time but our losses out weighed that.

 
3.5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been with Hostgator since 5 years... Good support and quality... but from 2013 last on-wards...

frequent problems... exasperated by frequent problems....new support is also not so good as in the past.

 
Screenshot of techlima.com
2.5 stars
Support
3 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Each month the server goes down. Normally they find the worst time possible to go down. They do not tell us what is going own, and do not refund the our loss.

 
2.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

When I started with them in 2011 ish their support was fast and reliable. Sadly over the 2 years I've been with them, their customer service has gone downhill. Wait times of 20-30 minutes are common and tech knowledge levels have gone down too.

Pricing is OK, unless you throw in their (hidden) inode limits which make it impossible to completely fill the space you pay for. They never told me about that upfront. Bottom line - for basic hosting, 1 site, probably OK. Anything more - go elsewhere.

 
4 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I love HostGator, I don't see why there's so many negative reviews. I'm guessing the reviews deal with their virtual servers. If so, I don't use those. I just use their website to host all of my Domains/WordPress Site.

 
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

HostGator has worn down my last nerve. I am a web designer and started using them about 2-3 years ago, when they actually had great customer service and the sites actually worked and had about 100% uptime. Cut to the present: They claimed they are "migrating" my and my clients' sites to "faster" servers, Ten times faster, in fact!

Well, the sites all went down and it took me hours of online chats to find out the new IPs and fix all the issues. But that's not the worst of it. Today, their chat doesn't work.

Their 1-800 number has a busy signal, and 2 of my client sites are down. This is the second time this week for the one that is still down. Not only has it been down - but when it's up, it's super sloooooow.

They can't figure out why that is, either. HostGator was listed as one of the top 5 hosting companies and I did my homework before using them. Now I will have to endure the long, arduous process of moving to another hosting company, which will again cost me hours and hours of time. I would never ever ever recommend HostGator to anyone and they have embarrassed me in front of my clients.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I registered with Hostgator last year and chose their baby plan and after my 1 year experience I will share pros and cons that I have experienced being their customer. Pros:
1. They have a great support that responds to you quick and tries to solve your problem as soon as possible.
2.

Their cPanel is amazing. It is quite comprehensive and user friendly. Being new to website building, I had no problem creating my website with them.
3.

They have video tutorials that guide you step by step in setting up your website.
4, This hosting provider is best for large website that have hundred of pages as you will never experience any kind of slow bandwidth. Cons:
1. Though their support is great and quick but it would be better if they are available on chat support 24/7.
2.

They have a bit expensive plans. Today we can find many hosting providers as low as $1/month. They should consider dropping their rates. At the end I will highly recommend hostgator to every one who is reading this review especially the new webmasters as they will be guided comprehensively by Hostgator support team.

 
2.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Host Gator use to be the best hosting provider in the world. NOT anymore, they are terrible! My sites load one moment at 2 seconds, while another moment over 60 seconds.

Lots of database connection issues, lots of page not found issues. Believe me, its not my site ad they have told me in about 10 phone calls, support tickets, that they found an issue, another user using the resources, or issue with one of the nodes, and so on. Now, how about that 20 - 30 minute wait for live chat, then when you get down to your turn, the darn thing does not work!

What about the 30 - 40 minutes of waiting on the phone? My personal favorite,. the lack of experience their support team has and at times, causes more issues than the original issue.

If they do not straighten up Very soon, I am leaving them. After reading all the comments and reviews here, I am sure I am not the only one. Just terrible all around. Worse hosting company ever, and its sad because they use to be the best!

 
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

HostGator (HG) support is terrible. I've been with them for 3 years and in the last year their support went straight downhill. The phone support is completely useless as the technicians know very little about the working of dedicated servers, so you need to have a great deal of expertise so you can tell them what to look for so they can fix the problem.

It can take up to 24 hours to get a response through their email ticket system, and by that time the site has long since been back in service, and HG has no explanation beyond some nonsense as to why it crashed in the first place. Each time the site goes down I submit a ticket. Each time I wait.

Each month I pay. No more. I have a web magazine that hosts 1.5 million unique visitors a month and I need reliable hosting.

HostGator no longer offers reliable service. If you have a little blog and all you need is shared hosting you might be fine. But if you have a decent sized site, with over 10K archived posts, I cannot recommend HostGator.

 
Screenshot of http://www.newcastlecarpetcleaningcompany.yoo-quote.com/
2.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Hostgator definitely Sucks, My VPS has been down for 2 days after a very shoddy migration to a new superfast data center. What a joke, bunch of clowns. I made contact after contact and get the same pre-written script from them "We are very sorry, we are having a few problems".

Well blow me down I never would have guessed. They still have not given me an explanation why the can't fix it and what has happened. My advice is to stay clear of these guys.

I'm now making efforts to leave Hostgator and migrate myself to another VPS host. Good luck if you choose Hostgator.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

One thing I love is their support. 24 X 7 chat with highly capable individuals from both billing and support.

 
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Since Aug. 28th the clowns at Hostgator have had me on the phone more than 30 hours, disconnected me 8 times, had literally dozens of people trying to as they might laughingly use the term "help". They are useless, one and all. They are time wasters.

They will aggravate you, mislead you, lie to you, and most of all not do what you paid them for. They have the worst customer service since eBay, and if you had any dealings with ebay you know that is the pits. Don't use them.

You would probably get more help from a high school dropout. Even the management does not care. They are only waiting to be bought by a larger company and really could care less about the customer.

I have proof of over 100 emails. Mostly saying "we apologize", "we value your time", blah, blah , blah.

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been paying for my site for 3 months now and have yet to figure out how to create a page. I've deleted certain photos that a friend, who is trying to build the site for me uploaded and they are Still showing up on my site! For me this is by far the most difficult website I have ever tried to use.

It is not user friendly. I've tried several times to create a webpage only to become so frustrated that I end up giving up. Why I am still paying for it is beyond me. Sigh!

 
Screenshot of http://rodolfogrimaldi.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I was looking for best reviews on the net and I have read that HostGator was just very good advertised, otherwise "this" host and "that" host were way better, as support and pricing, and wiping you down there, etc. Than I just tried HostGator. I found it the best offer I would have ever imagined, so I made the deal instantly.

My host is and will be HostGator. The support is 5 stars, they're very good and quick. I don't think one need anything better than that.

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

You would be a fool to use hostgator, their customer support is terrible and your website if even meaningfully successful will hit some imaginary threshold on their part and they will freeze your site for a few days without any replies. They do pay a lot for referrals however. Steer clear.

 
4 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I am using Hostgator services for past 3 years, I initially signed up with the HostGator's baby plan but after one year I upgraded my plan to their business plan which is just about 6$ per month. Their support is excellent and provides high value for money. Chat representatives responds within average 4-5 minutes and always proves to be very helpful even in very complicated situations, whether you are an experienced developer or just a newbie in website development they will provide best solutions quickly to all your problems in web hosting.

I recommend HostGator hosting services if you are looking for good value of money since their plans are very cheap and also if you require high quality support. I am also impressed with uptime of HostGator given the pricing of plans its best in the market. You can start with their Hatchling plan which is their cheapest plan and if you are satisfied with their service you can upgrade anytime its very easy and quick.

 
4.5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Hostgator Baby Plan
I joined hostgator by using their one penny welcome coupon but after using their service for a month, i felt really good that my website is always up and loads faster than most of my competitors website. I have also contacted their support several times, It takes 5 minutes on an average for a customer representative of hostgator to come on chat to help you, but after that they are very humble and fast in response as well as happy to help. All in all, I would recommend people to use hostgator if they want hassle free hosting experience.

 
Screenshot of http://subkuchonline.com
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Very Bad Company Don't Go For Sign Up I Have Created a ticket and he can not reply in two days we read in many blogs that support of hostgator is very good but we don't think we don't receive any reply in two days and My Customers also said hostgator sign up process is very bad for India they always require additionally verification details. BlueHost, iPage is good

 
Screenshot of http://zodiaccompatibility.com
3.5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I used to love them, they are not cheap though - I am on a plan that sets me back about $500 USD and runs for 4 years or so - mostly I am happy. But now, most sites require SSL, and all my other hosts provide this as a free addition - not Hostgator, where you pay an additional $30-$40 per year per domain. So, although they are friendly, the services are great and reliable, they are not providing what I now consider a necessity that is provided Free by their competitors.

 
4.5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

HostGator is one of the best web hosting services in india, they combined with google and gave free .in and .com domains to all people in india having PAN card, it was very useful for the people who want to develop thier small business network in india. thanks a lot HostGator.

 
4 stars
Support
3 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been a Hostgstor customer for some time now and I am happy with the up time service, sites almost never go offline and if they do it is for just 1 second or so. I did not like much customer service support. I was trying to install a Php script and asked Support to change permissions for my script to run properly but they refused to do it due to their server security policy.

The script I needed to use was a non cracked, but paid version, commercial and well known, clean Script and represented no harm to any site or server... So I ended spending 3 hours trying to get support to FIX the issue. Finally I decided to use another script, actually an older version of the same Script, that hostgator would accept.

My script provider was in shock considering they had to provide me with an older script php version that can run on my hostgator server. an outdated script version worked fine now. Anyway. Apart from that issue the website runs smoothly and price is not high, support is always online even when sometimes supervisors are not always available if you have to escalate your issue. - I would give them 3.5 out of 5 stars

 
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

After all these bad reviews from other customers, you would think that Hostgator would have received the message by now that their service and tech support are below expectation. I run a small business from Boston and I rely on my websites to attract more traffic hence it was critical to have the websites up at all time. The challenge is that when you need help or tech support, you would have to wait for days, should be hours but Hostgator does not have the sense of urgency needed to address issues sometimes caused by their own servers.

I have 4 tickets that are almost a week old without resolution. This is not a good way to run a business. I am planning on migrating my Wordpress elsewhere because this hosting service is poor at best.

 
2.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Hostgator used to be a great hosting site. But they've been going downhill for quite awhile. Today, their site won't even let me submit a ticket - it just forces you to their "Knowledge Base".

My issue is found there, by the proposed solution doesn't work. I've been a hosting reseller for fifteen years and even run some of my own web servers, so I'm not exactly a noobie. I've been moving my clients' sites off their servers for about a year now, but I still have a few dozen to go.

Last support ticket (2 days ago) hasn't even gotten a response yet. I've been happy with a2hosting so far, but after several years, they all seem to get bought out by bean-counters, then the service goes downhill.

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I will suggest not to go with hostgator at any cost as it's a worst hosting company in India. i have been with them for past 3 years. but Now after so many incidents and worst customer care I am changing server to other place.

For past 8 months their service and moreover worst customer care representatives We are changing server now because of these. There bill generation system is very unfriendly and if you put money to your account for further usage(for domain,server etc) they sometime bill you without informing you and only you will be able to know after receiving confirmation mail. And even though its their fault, they clearly say money wont be refunded.

And the attitude is really worst. You barely expect any help from representatives. Better not to go along with Hostgator.

They are very unfriendly and worst. Because again changing the server is a hectic job

 
Screenshot of http://deverallc.com
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been with HostGator for a couple of years and my sites have never been offline more times than with this hosting company. I have a reseller account with them and sure it's cheap, but not worth it at all. Their support is unhelpful, all they can do is start a ticket for you, and the wait time is at least 30 minutes, usually more.

I would never recommend HostGator to anyone. I though GoDaddy was bad with stuffing their servers. HostGator is unreliable, maxes out their server space, and they take days to get technical issued worked out.

 
4 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I am a webmaster from India I have used both hostgator and hostgator India.The service of Hostgator.com was really good on shared hosting. I never got any issue about uptime or anything else. The support is really good, even that I have contacted them 3.00 am in the morning.I was really impressed the service provided the support of Hostgator.com.

On the other hand Hostgator India really sucks which currently I am using. I purchased shared hosting plan on their servers. My website always got down.

I have contacted them many times but they never resolve my problem. I had purchased their hosting because I wanted to host my website on Indian servers but got disappoint. They also edit my website coding without my permission.

Whenever I tells them that I got warnings from webmaster tools about high response time they want me to share me webmaster account password to share with them. Why would I do that. They should really improve their service.

 
4 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Hostgator used to be the Best for website hosting and such amazing customer service. I've been with them for over 9 years now as a reseller and over the past 2 years they have gotten worse and worse at customer service. It takes them over 24 hours to respond to an "Urgent" ticket, at least 30 minutes wait time on chat and at least 45 minutes on the phone.

I don't make these decisions lightly and I rarely write reviews but Beware if you need them quickly you won't get it. They are still a great hosting company their customer service has went down the crapper. I'm considering switching companies if I can find one that I like.

 
4 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

HostGator was recommended to me by a few people. I know Glen from ViperChill is a big fan of their services however I don't think they are the most easy to use, nor the most cost-effective. I'd probably prefer to use my domain's hosting service as it is easier to streamline. In saying this however there is nothing wrong with the service, it does what it's meant to do and the support is good.

 
4 stars
Support
2 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Hostgator is a host with multiple unlimited features. Everything about the hosting part is great, no downtimes, you can do everything you'd like to do such as set up your email very easily. The fault of this hosting company comes at a different angle; customer support.

Sure they provide customer support, you can email them for help. I've emailed them once when I had a problem. It took them more than 24 hours to respond and their response did not at all help me with my problem so I emailed them again and it took them another 24 hours to respond.

That's what I find frustrating about hostgator. If you're good and techy, you shouldn't have to worry about this. I eventually fixed my problem and I lived happily every after with my hosting.

 
4.5 stars
Support
3 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

HostGator Rocks, for the intermediate to expert website developer. If you know nothing about building websites and the jargon required, HostGator maybe a little challenging for you, in the beginning. If you have the time (like I do) to learn about the many elements that exist to upload Your Site, then HostGator will be great for you, the beginner, too!

You have a few panel themes to choose from, you can add your domain email accounts, upload wordpress and they have forwarding of your domain name too! There are so many icons on the easy to view cpanel that offer the many, many tools to run your site. Options.

That is what Hostgator gives you. Many options to get your site, whether using a template or coding yourself in html, loaded up for the world wide web to see. I consider myself a beginner to intermediate web builder as I have had to save money as I build my business from scratch.

HostGator is the perfect place for me to teach myself how to build websites, while experimenting at a low cost. I love HostGator as an ongoing learner. I am bound to be a pro in no time!

 
3 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I wouldn't recommend HG reseller service at all. The server performance is just mediocre; downtimes everyday, and hurtfully slow. You will get more value for a PRO shared account in other hosting than from their reseller account that cost twice.

I have been working with quite a lot hostings, and HG is by far the worst in performance. Apparently I'm not the only one that thinks this, you will find all kind of complaints about their services around the web, and here too. I wish I read those complaints before.

 
2 stars
Support
2 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I was with Hostgator for about 3 years until I finally switched to a new host this week. I'm in the middle of migrating my site to my new host now. I've had several ongoing issues with Hostgator, including security issues, difficulty accessing my WHM / cPanel / FTP, etc...

But most of all the biggest problems, and most costly for my online business, have been downtime. As I write this review, their Provo server is down, which means my site is down completely until they get that resolved. This just happened a few weeks ago and my site was down for an entire business day.

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

From the day I decided to move my 60 sites to hostgator I have been disappointed. I picked them as a host because they said they would help facilitate the move from my other host and they seemed to have good packages. They started off our relationship by sending me all the wrong account passwords and logins.

Then they proceeded to move the domains but leave the SSL certs behind (had clearly requested this) Then finally when nothing was working properly and I said I wanted to cancel they assigned someone to fix it. Each time there was a problem I spent hours (no exaggeration) on the phone trying to get things resolved. The only person that really was helpful was the cancellation department.

They seemed to have the power to push things along and get things fixed. Finally everything seems to be up and running but people continually have email issues. Most of my clients are moving to other mail servers now.

Two weeks ago I had to transfer my final site left on my other server. They still haven't gotten it right! I have spent at least 10 hours on the phone trying not to scream at them.

Their system is messed up. They keep putting you on hold, takes hours to get to a supervisor and then they just put you on hold to review the ticket Again! They assigned an IP address that wasn't routed to my server, not once but Twice and then had to assign another one which still hasn't resolved.

Are you kidding me? I would never recommend them.

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I wish that i had known that hostgator did not respect its clients... I wish i had known that hostgator doesn't care that your a client, but your a number to them... They have ignored a lot of my support queries which is very worrying, and the servers are overfilled - Load levels are always high on the servers.

Host gator always treated me like a number via support ticket or email ( thats when they did reply ). They also have a strange billing policy - If your american your account can out of date by up to 6 months. However if your international and from another country well - If your away from the country and don't pay your bill for 2 months you get disconnected without phone call, without notice ( only one email ).

The live chat support is very arrogant, if they don't have an answer they simply just tell you to visit their website which is downright shocking and rude. I would not recommend hostgator to anyone, once upon a time they were a nice webhost and they treated you like a person - Now your treated like numbers its disgusting. When you buy hosting you dont want to be treated like another customer, like another number signing up.

You want them to treat you as a human being, a person - a client who is making them money. Hostgator has no respect for its customers.

 
4 stars
Support
3 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I took the baby plan of Hostgator hosting 6 months ago and it's running pretty much good. Never faced any downtime. And it is extremely fast through.

CPanel is customizable and easy to use. Assistance is excellent. The chat support is slow.

Although they have solved my every problem. Hostgator is extremely easy to use and various tutorials over the interweb will definitely help the newbies. I am using shared hosting and it is going good.

I read somewhere that VPS hosting of Hostgator is also very good. I highly recommend Hostgator to new bloggers and companies.

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Our software/webdesign business relies completely on our hosting provider. We have had Nothing but problems!! HostGator is the Worst internet service provider Ever! 2 weeks ago I received an email notifying me that our SSL was due to expire.

I contacted support the only way they allow, through chat. They don't have an account I can access online and renew things like this.However, I was assured by the chat representative that it was renewed. NO!

It was not! Now 2 weeks later and 6 additional chat sessions later our SSL is now expired, NOT renewed and completely fubar'd!! They have finally escalated it to a higher representative but do I receive a phone call?

NO! I have to wait for an freaking email!! This is the worst company I have ever done business with.

I would Never recommend them to anyone and if I could have given them a -100 stars I would have. They have cost my company a lot of time and money and if this isn't resolved Asap our next software launch scheduled in 4 days will be in dire jeapardy! Don't use hostgator!

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

As far it concers me, HostGator is a really good hosting site. Easy and fast, with low cost per month, so is very recommendable for those who don't want to spend too much and don't have experience with hosting their web page. Every when the service is down for some reason, you can contact for assistance, which never fails to do a great job and answer all the questions.

Any other doubts with the maintenance of the site, not accesible pages, broken wepage and etc. is investigated to see what is the problem, with a fast response as well. Would recommend totally to everyone.

 
4.5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I started using HostGator for my first website in late 2012, and I am highly satisfied with them. The uptime is Great and my website is almost never down, along with quality customer support. Other HostGator users have complained about HostGator ads being placed on their website, but I have not experienced this and have found them to be a very good host.

The only issue I have is the fact that the price hasn't gone down in many years as new competitors enter the market and their support is sometimes unreliable or unhelpful. Overall 4/5 stars, and I would recommend them to a friend or colleague.

 
4.5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I subscribed to HostGator nearly 5 years back. I felt it was an excellent hosting, what it actually turned out to be. I established the online presence of my business and till date I have not experienced any problems with their hosting.

Their support is available 24x7 and their hosting rates are cheap. I had tried other hosting earlier but it did not make me that happy. And then I transferred my hosting for Free!

HostGator got my hosting transferred without any charges. I did not have to interfere at all. We can say that they do not have additional features, but they are more than enough for small and medium businesses who want to set themselves up online.

I would recommend HostGator all my businessman friends. This hosting is also good for personal use, especially for web-developers who want to test their websites. I have also recently observed that they give away excellent offers which are cheap and reliable.

In short, HostGator totally rocks! A 4.7 out of 10 for me!!

 
4 stars
Support
3 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've used hostgator to host a website for Tech stuff to help people. It haven't had any issues so far and. I only had to talk to customer support once and they answered and fixed the problem almost instantly. HostGator user friendly User Interface makes it fun and easy to set up Your Site.

 
4.5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

What’s good with Hostgator hosting? I’ve been hosting websites at Hostgator long before I started this website and I still run a couple of websites with them at current time. With its quality service, the hosting company is growing fast and was named top in Texas for the recent Inc 5000 Awards.

Indeed they are one of the best hosting companies you can ever get and they are in my ‘A list’ and here are the keypoints of Hostgator’s success.

*Updates: Hostgator is now my top choice of hosting. Hostgator hosting service is reliable, priced reasonable, environmental friendly, and best of all, their customer supports rocks! Reliable server with guarnateed 99.9% uptime

Thru out the years Hostgator has never fail me as a reliable hosting service.

I barely notice any downtime for my websites – while this was quite a surprise until I recently found out that Hostgator is running its own data center (huge plus point). Also, it’s worth noting that every web hosting plan with Hostgator comes with a 45 day money back guarantee and 99.9% uptime guarantee. The deal is fully guaranteed by the company founder and CEO (Brent) himself – which is another huge plus point (responsible management team).

Host unlimited domain

Hostgator is now offering 600GB of disk storage and 6,000GB bandwidth unlimited bandwidth and disk storage!. On top of that, you will get unlimited domain hosting with Hostgator. In short, this actually means that you can host All your websites in just one single web hosting account with Hostgator.

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have around 30 sites hosted with hostgator and moved from shared to VPS (They corrupted and lost several sites in the move, something they do for free!). Now they have done a migration to another server (not at my request just seems they felt like it) have lost another 5 sites. The sites in question will be impossible to recover.

They also complained about over usage of space. Upon checking guess what Hostgator had left "Backup" copies of the restored files all over the drive. Adding to that they don't seem to have a clue about accounts initially when they did a move they messed up the account names and then created several on the VPS.

Ended up with 2 - 3 of the same sites under different accounts. Real mess

Do not use for anything other than A Very simple site, They are very simple people

 
4 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I switched to HostGator from Webs several days ago, and as some of you may know, you don't have to know much about how websites work to use webs. When you go to a more technical host such as HostGator, it's a big change. I have slowly got used to the change and have learned quite a bit about how websites really work.

I have had to use their live chat for support, and their support personnel are very helpful when it comes to your support needs. The cPanel setup can be complicated to newcomers, but overall you can learn it after a few weeks. The website builder for me is a downfall.

BaseKit may allow a modest amount of customization, but it's not as much as I was expecting, and it can get quite complicated and buggy. There is no real undo feature, so once you change several things, you're pretty much doomed. But, once you get used to it, you can create an operational website, though it may not look as good as you may have imagined you could accomplish.

Overall, for the price, I'd say it's a good choice. I hope they do switch sitebuilders in the future, but right now it seems unlikely, at least in the short term. I'd recommend them to experienced web designers, but I'd hold off if I were a newcomer, unless you're a faster learner that is.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've been with HostGator since 2007, after a string of disappointing hosting providers. I've read some of the negative reviews, and I'm thinking, "What the???" A different password emailed each time you call? And some of the other complaints just make no sense.

24/7 phone/chat/email support based in the US, the tech support people usually go above and beyond what they should have to for the amount they charge.

When I call, a tech support person usually picks up in less than 30 seconds, if that. Uptime has been fabulous. I even offer to migrate my web development clients to Hostgator for free if they'll leave some of the other hosting companies who shall go unnamed (but who have commercials at the Super Bowl).

I have several clients on Hostgator, so I probably call more than the average person, and in 4+ years, I can count on one hand the number of unacceptable tech calls I've had, and still have fingers left over. They are very patient. For their shared hosting, they will do a decent amount of hand-holding, but if you know nothing about having a hosting account, you should learn.

For $5-ish a month, you can't expect them to do everything (although they often will anyway). I love HostGator and highly recommend them. I don't work for them, nor do any of my family members or friends.

 
Screenshot of whiteandbeigeworld.com
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Very disappointed with this host. I'm not sure what is happening, but obviously firewall problems have corrupted all of the sites. So, when it's Christmas and your an eCommerce doing very minimal business, you'll know.

Bandwidth is a joke (no such thing as unlimited), RUN . Now I have to look to move somewhere else or do my own hosting, which isn't that difficult people. Just do some homework.

 
4 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I am into online business since last four years and have been hosting my sites on different web hosts.I used to host my sites with HostGator the service is quite satisfactory.I hail from a middle class family from India so I need to think about the price and In my opinion the price is little bit high. Coming to the features and support they provide us with cPanel and a account management area where one can track their payment and services. If you need some support then you need to raise ticket no need to go to their website as the chat takes little bit of time so just mail them and you will be assigned a support ticket so once someone replies to your ticket you get notified via mail. So that's also not bad still I think if you need to host some small sites or if you are starting out with your website then you must go with them.

 
Screenshot of http://nelmitravel.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I signed up for HostGator a week ago and had my files transferred from WordPress.com. It was a major decision to go self hosting and I wanted to make sure that I am choosing the best company. I read all the reviews and despite some of the bad reviews decided to give HostGator a chance.

To be honest, I don't know why people complain about the service. I had fantastic service even before I officially signed up. The live chat support team were friendly,helpful and resolved my queries.

I had to wait a little longer when I used the ticket system but response time was also fast. Migrating my blog was stressful and I had no idea what to expect and how long the process would take. The Migrating guys were wonderful and transferred all the files and to make sure that everything was functioning properly.

I couldn`t have done this without them! Best of all, it didn`t cost me anything and I had more than 400 posts and 7000 comments. They did a fantastic job.

The control panel offers a wide variety of options and tools and I am amazed to see what I can do. In my opinion this is real value for money! Thank you HostGator for all your help!

 
Screenshot of http://theyachtowner.net/
3 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have two years with Hostgator now, and my opinion about them smoothed a little. I mean, they're not the very best anymore, I feel this and I'm thinking to switch to other hosts as soon as my contract expires with them. First, you have to read carefully the TOS.

They're not responsible for anything, and they can close your account without warning. You will also find that the "unlimited" bandwidth, domains, GB, blah blah blah, are in fact very limited, I guess to 20 Gb, and everything will be fine with the backups. They do them weekly, but you have to pay additionally if something happens.

No problems here, you just pay, they're not responsible if something happens, either. I think they have the call-center in India somewhere, so if something more important happens, it's impossible to get a Texas admin online if the timeline is wrong, they prefer emails (of course), and the response rate is between 12 to 36 hrs. Otherwise, carefully optimizing cache and backups, cron jobs and such, they're good. They offer the possibility to pay monthly, which was good when I opened my first account with them.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

The HostGator support is phenomenal. They are very helpful and I never had an issue with them. There was a bit of down time recently but that was it.

I recommend HostGator! A low hosting price with unlimited storage and bandwidth.

 
3 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I signed up with Hostgator on Aug. 28th because I heard they rocked. It is now Sept. 15th and I still am having problems. I have spent over 9 hours online over this time with one rude, inept, and brainless inchworm they call their staff.

I have over 42 emails. I have spoken to more the 14 people including "managers". All this nonsense just to switch hosting from GoDaddy to Hostgator.

This was the Worst decision I ever made in my 20 years of business. If you are foolish enough to sign up with them, be prepared for hours of being on hold, listening to poorly trained vacuum headed bodies typing endlessly on the other end. What they are typing is beyond me.

How Hostgator got their reputation is incomprehensible. I suspect it was the same story as eBay, yahoo, and all the other companies who struggled at the beginning by providing great service but then completely gave up once they got on top. I suggest before signing up with Hostgator you open the closest window and throw your money out as at least you have the chance someone on the street with no education might be able to give you better help. Hostgator sucks.

 
4.5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Firstly HostGator is well known name in Web Hosting companies. I searched Lots of forum for HostGAtor review and i got 90+% Positive review. So i decided to use Hostgator For my webdesigning company.

Why hostgator Rocks?
-Great Technology
Their green technology is reallly Very powerfull.
-Great Server Speeds
Their server are well with Latest technologies , and pwerfomance of the server are mind blowing
-Great SEO tools
Their free SEO tools like sitemap generator, get in google and Auto Yellow page listing etc worked for me its awesome !
-great great great great support ! Their team at HG is really very speedy. If you found any technical errors or even if you need help with any other question like WordPress etc ., They are 24x7 available !

They hardly take 1 hour to solve your query ! Why Hostgator sucks?

-ftp timeouts
Its rare but sometime you may get FTP time outs when you uploading small icons files in very large amount
-500 MB maximum
500 MB per file is maximum in shared hosting
-BaseKit site builder errors
If you choose BK site builder and then you opted out from BaseKit you may get Error 300 Redirection loop or content decoding errors

Is Hostgator best for you? Its recommended for Shared and VPN and Dedicated !

from small sites to large organization Hostgator suits to all. I recommend HostGator to every one !

 
4 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

HostGator one of the biggest names in web hosting world, they are also few of the best shared hosting providers.I am having their baby plan to host one of my domain their and I am glad to say that I have never face a single downtime even with their shared plan. There are so many good things with them.One of the their feature I like most is the fantastico de luxe script installer they offer with their cPanel which gives newbies an easy and fast way to setup different open source scripts.One can easily setup a blog, image gallery, web portal and some other advanced web sites with this. They are having an affiliate program which I have been using from my initial days and now it helps earn handsome amount of affiliate commission promoting their hosting programs.

To generate more sales you can create your own exclusive coupon codes by logging in to your affiliate area and promote the same on your blog or website. Time to time they come up with discount codes on their official blog which give very large discount and some times they offer to try their hosting for a month or so using their coupon codes which really helps drive in lot more sales.

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I wish I had known that they do not understand their own server environment. They simply turned off our website because they said it was "draining services" - and copied and pasted something into a ticket in cpanel - no notification via email that there was a problem. They said it had to do with too many plugins in wordpress probably - which was ridiculous based on the fact I run over 65 websites similarly without a problem.

When I looked at what they had copied and pasted it looked like a denial of service attack. I suspected a hack. The 1st level tech person was clueless - she could maybe have the skills to check some one out at a cash register, but not analyze a technical problem.

She insisted "it wasn't true" that there was a hack and refused to escalate to a sys admin. I hired an outside person to do a quick review and they found the hack - fixed it -all in 15 minutes. Now hours later Host Gator has still not returned the site to normal.

Unprofessional to say the least. Maybe you have had luck with them - but it only takes one big problem like this to discover what their capabilities really are. PS - I harden my sites and doing weekly QAs to ensure WordPress is secure, but they still manage to find a way in sometimes.

Upon calling HG they said, oh we could have scanned it for you too - but how could they when their front-line tech was too clueless to escalate it? I have multiple accounts at Host Gator and as much as a pain it is, I will have to move everything after this experience. It's usually a sign of things to come.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been with Hostgator for almost 6 months now and hey never cease to amaze me. The support is out of this world, i have used both the live chat and the support ticket process and both times my problems were solved immediately. When ever I had an issue, their support staff would fix it right then and there, and then they would explain to me what happened.

As for pricing, for the price I pay a month to them I can't complain. especially when you consider everything they offer. and absolutely no downtime.

The options that they have on their Cpanel just blows the competition away. and if I can't do it myself, they will gladly do it for me with no complaints. I recommend Hostgator to all my customers who need a webhost, or if they are on a webhost that sucks. I recently had a client change to hostgator from another host because my php code wouldn't work on the other hosting companies software.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

HostGator is an amazing host! I have looked all over that place but have never found a host this good! I have never had downtime for more that a minute!

They have also handled my support questions amazingly fast! HostGator is the perfect fit for anyone! I highly recommend HostGator to anyone who needs low priced, high quality web hosting!

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Some time ago I started hosting my website on HostGator and my 6 month plan has now ended. I've only seen my website offline a few times (three at the most) and those were always short periods. The website runs well most of the time but unfortunately it gets slow sometimes.

I have required support a few times and I always got my problem fixed, although their support was a bit slow. About the features, they've got unlimited disk space and bandwidth for all the plans. They have CPanel and I never had any feature I required missing.

The price is pretty decent compared to other hosts. Overall I can say I'm happy with HostGator's service and will for sure host my future websites there.

 
4.5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

HostGator in my honest opinion is one of the best hosts out there. They have the most outstanding plans when it comes to Shared or Reseller Hosting, VPS or Dedicated Servers. They offer tons of coupons and have outrageous deals.

Their support is out of this world, It only takes a maximum of five minutes to catch an operator on both live chat and phone support. They have helped me with all my queries and resolved any major problem within seconds. They have the most outstanding technicians on this planet.

They are always there waiting to get to work. I think HostGator is suitable for everyone. Even if you are new to hosting, their support will have you up and running within minutes.

They also offer a number of auto installers making tasks alot easier. I would definitely recommend HostGator to friends. I am very pleased with their services and would like to continue. Especially with the prices, they are unbeatable!

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've been with HostGator for almost a year now and so far so good. I have not experienced downtime yet (and I'm hoping to avoid downtime) HostGator's customer service respond fast as well to my inquiries. Though my inquiries were small their responses were spot on.

Regarding the price, it is just right (I have the baby plan) at $10 a month its actually a steal. I would absolutely recommend HostGator.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Host Gator is a very good hosting service site. Not only is it good for the professionals but also it provides a great starting point for the beginners. Their service is excellent.

I must admit that they have the best customer support i have ever seen. they reply to the support tickets very quickly. They have great value for money too with their very cheap hosting offers such as 1 cent hosting and unlimited hosting space and bandwidth for just a meagre 4.95$.

I also liked the way they support the environment by running their servers on wind energy. I also like that they provide many nameservers. My own nameservers are 1925 and 1926.

That is really cool. They are the professionals of today in web hosting. The have many great tools for beginners such as the sitebuilder which was very useful to me when i started off my second website.

Also they support many programming languages like php, asp, ruby, and everything. They a have great accelerated cPanel to offer to their customers. Hostgator is capable of giving service to any type of people they receive.

So i will surely and have already recommend my friends about hostgator and now they are also a part of the hostgator network. Hope that hostgator has a good future ahead.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

HostGator is a very great service. They have great customer support, great features, 100% uptime and that too at really affordable prices. Their customer support is really fast.

I had submitted 2 to 3 tickets and they answered it within a day. That was really appreciable. Their cPanel is so user-friendly that even a beginner can start off with great addons such as sitebuilder.

They support all the scripting languages and that was one great thing I always loved. They supported PHP, mySQL, Ruby, Javascript, and their servers were also very fast. HostGator is suitable for every customer that walks in their way.

They have different plans which supports the needs of different people. As far as the service of HostGatoe is concerned they are way ahead of all other hosting service providers. They have surely come up to my expectations and that is why I would surely recommend this service of HostGator to my friends and business partners.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I am a blogger since last 3 years initial 4-5 months were difficult as the money for investment is low and you have to bare with some cheap hosting companies which show you great deals but they have some catch after all there is something for them to be so cheap. Initially I was up with free hosting companies but how can a good hosting company can be free. My site was frequently down I have to bear as I had no money to purchase a good hosting company account.

I had 3 domains within next 6 months and traffic was getting high so I decided to invest in the best hosting companies I came across many companies out of all I trusted Hostgator. The selection was made after a very long research on forums, talks with other bloggers and my friends who were already using hostgator. I purchased the $7.95 monthly plan which offer me to host unlimited domains.

I was so happy with them till now I think I have seen a few minutes down time only. Not even down time their support is excellent. We can talk to their Live chat client my query resolving time was just 5 mins I became a fan of Hostgator from that incident.

I personally recommend Hostgator to all who can afford to Pay the fees. There is also a $4 plan which offers hosting for single domain. I would strongly recommend to go for hostgator as why pay for a poor host and to save only $1 or $2 .

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Honestly, I knew everything about HostGator before signing up. The only thing was that it would cost me $10 to change my main domain, if I had known that then I would've used a different name since mine expired in a couple months. The support is magnificent.

There is a 24/7 support line as well as a 24/7 support online chat. I always get answers to my questions and the representatives are more than willing to help. Customers only need to know how to setup the website, although there are free website templates and builders in your cPanel which is fantastic.

All problems (only 1) was resolved within hours. It was actually my fault, I was used to my old host who allowed basically everything that wasn't adult content. I setup a few proxies and was shutdown in a matter of hours.

They reasoned with me and all I had to do was get rid of the proxies then all my websites were back up. This hosting service is good for anyone who is doing regular websites and wants to host a lot of different domains. It is not suitable for people for (A) want a type of file/video host, need specific server requirements (like Ffmpeg hosting) or want adult/warez/proxy hosting.

I recommend HostGator to all of my friend. I've actually made $250 from the affiliate program which has been paid to me. I just paid my 12th month which is pretty impressive, I usually back out on things like these in 2 months and change so HostGator really has that certain charm that I need.

Because of the affiliate program my hosting has been free, I've paid $120 approximately for the year, and made $130 profit from the affiliate program after the $120 hosting deduction. They are definitely the #1 host and new features are being added every month; for example the free AdWords voucher. They also have a $0.01 coupon to try out the hosting, pretty good eh?

 
Screenshot of http://www.travelvivi.com
3.5 stars
Support
2 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

The service was good back in 2010, but now this become terrible. I'm using their cloud hosting in a week my websites are down for already third time. Support sucks in a big way, usually you need to wait more than 20 min to get connected. I guess we need to move to another host.

 
4 stars
Support
3 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have tried them a few times. It is a decent service but you have to be mindful of service agreements and make sure you are doing everything yourself. They do not do offer backups anymore, for example.

It is important to know what they do and do not do currently. It seems to change often as well.

 
3 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

There was a time when a support ticket would be acknowledged within hours. I've had 2 support tickets open for 6 days. I contacted support over their live chat.

After an hour I talked with a support person who said that my tickets would be taken in order they were queued, and could not help me. They did verify that the issues I am having are due to incorrect configuration that I don't have access to change. Read the other reviews.

If you depend on your websites to not be down for a week at a time, I'd recommend not going with HostGator. The many other reviews that describe the dramatic drop in support are correct. From one of the best to one of the most unreliable.

 
Screenshot of http://www.xmkd.net
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Hostgator was a good company. Not anymore. First the company sold out, and as you can do a little research on Glassdoor you can see they lowered their CSR staff, cut of most of the tech staff.

Hostgator has been up and down the past few days. Issues with uptime, corrupted DB. Non responsive tech support, phone lines busy.

Everything hostgator provided and build for years managed to ruin in few months. I would not recommend it to anyone, pay few $ more get a real host.

 
Screenshot of http://www.eatlovepray.me
3.5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

The service is good. The prices are okay. The only thing that matter is the speed and uptime.

While I haven't seen any downtime with my websites, the servers are slow. Not just the website, but when you try to log-in to the wordpress dashboard, it is slow to a crawl. I'm thinking about moving my main site back to my cheap host which only cost about $20 a year!

The good thing about my current plan is for about $100 a year, I can have as many websites as I want on this account. Good yes, but when it's slow as a snail, it's pretty much useless. The service is the only good thing.

They transferred one of my sites and the emails which was awesome of them. However, it seems like I am losing sales and customers aren't happy with the site at all. I run an affiliate site and sales have dropped by over 75%.

I am connected to cloudflare but the site is still slow. Really slow. According to pindom, my site is about 50% slower.

Honestly, it feels even slower than that. And I visit my site daily. Imagine the 1st time visitors.

You know how slow it would be for them? No wonder I'm losing sales.

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

This once great web hosting company has been run into the ground. It fine when its running, but when it goes down for a full day then you realize that it is now the most expensive hosting company on earth if you are losing money on your website..not to mention rankings, trust, etc. It has gone down 5 times in 7 months for several hours each time.

They do not offer refunds when this happens either..you have to ask for one (demand rather) and then they only can give you 1 month. Worst hosting company ever! Avoid this company like the plague ....you're welcome.

 
Screenshot of http://bpophotoflow.com/
2.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Hostgator is horrible! Stay clear from them. They have gone down 2 times in 4 days.

They are down right now, 4-16-14 and so far it's been 90 minutes. About 5 months ago they were down for 3 Days. They go down at least one time per 2 weeks.

Sometimes it's only for a few minutes but many times they are down for hours. The customer service is horrible. I have been on hold for 52 minutes so far and still waiting.

 
Screenshot of truelovephoto.com
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I cannot express how frustrating it has been to deal with hostgator. They have me at the end of my rope with trying to verify my account so I can pay my bill. We are in this endless cycle of them trying to send me an e-mail and it not going through. I would NOT recommend working with this company.

 
Screenshot of http://trickandtipscity.blogspot.com/
3.5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Host gator is good but sorry to say not best. it get down some time. But Its support service is great. But i think this only for those person who are start site from basic. Over all good.

 
Screenshot of www.jabble.jp
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Another customer mentioned the same thing:

The migrated data servers (9/4/13) without any DNS redirects, so I couldn't access the data on the new machines for 4 hours (only 4 hours because my business closed after that; who knows how long it went on for??)

Today (9/6/13) the site was online, but anyone wanted to access my site had to supply My admin username/password. Needless to say, no one could use the site. Then, the site was up again...for an hour or two.

Then, back down again. It's been down for over five hours. The bad:
-Downtime is long
-Tech support has no idea what to do (except to say "I'm sorry")
-Time to fix problems is long
-Online tech support takes a long time (expect to wait 1-2 minutes per response)

The good:
-Tech support are nice
-If you call, tech support pick up the phone quickly (but can't do anything).

 
Screenshot of http://www.venusianarts.com
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

since they migrated to new servers they screwed my business and I lost thousands of dollars. website is down average 5 hours per day and they did nothing to fix it. when i ask why its down, they gave me maintenance BS for a reason.

its dedicated server as well. I am moving to another server. host gator is dead.

I waited a month for them to solve this problem but no luck. extremely disappointed.

 
Screenshot of http://speedingticketfixer.com/
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

HostGator really sucks because of my personal experience with them. I have spent hours on the phone with them, sent countless emails and support request about all my site being down. My server not being available and all they could come with to charge me a $15 fee to reload my week old back files.

They can't explain why my files and server disappeared at all. I could go on and on about them so what's the point. They have thousands of affiliates all over the world selling for them and give rave reviews. Remember, pay peanuts, get monkeys.

 
Screenshot of www.nseries-themes.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

The first host that i used and i am still using it. Why?? Bcoz its frigging awesome.

There is nothing i have to complain about. I have found no faults in their offering ever. I had opted out of hostgator once bcoz i couldn't afford it(I was just starting IM and had shortage of fund so opted for cheaper sub-standard rivals).

But sense prevailed, and i am back. The main plus is their excellent customer care reps. They really know everything and solve many random issues which i stumble across while editing my site. I have no plans to change to any other host even if they offer me at a $1 or for free.

 
Screenshot of http://sanuja.com/
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

The only thing I think they should add is cheap domain names. I have to hold the domain on one provider for a cheaper price. But so far for the last few month, the service and customer support has been great.

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Do not choose Hostgator. I am so disappointed. Without notice Hostgator decided to delete my website because I missed a payment.

Hundreds of website pages and information were deleted from Hostgator after 1 month of non payment. So disappointed! Looking for a new hosting site now anyone have recommendations. What difference does it matter what the website name is they deleted it.

 
2.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

All round, an ok'ish service considering the low-cost packages they provide. However, after 2 years with them, I decided to vote with my feet and change providers due to a bad experience I had with their support team. I had my entire account wiped, no SSH access, all my server accounts gone, nothing in the server logs and all my files/directories missing.

I was left with what appeared to be a brand new virtual server. I appreciate that every now and again, things like this can happen with any provider. However, after contacting their support team I was told that "I must have manually deleted everything myself" and that I'd have to pay them to restore the site from a backup.

They provided no evidence that suggested this was the case, and were unwilling to consider that my account didn't even have the permissions required to do such a thing. I ended up paying to have my account restored as I couldn't afford to have the site down any longer. Immediately started looking for a new provider.

 
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I'm a webmaster for several companies that use different hosting, therefore I have experience with several hosting companies. Hostgator is the only company that makes it's clients do the set-up for themselves. When I say set-up, I mean establish the hosting and FTP.

Other companies set this up for you automatically then send along an email with the needed information. Hostgator is also the slowest company I've seen propagate the domain to the hosting. This only takes a few minutes with any other hosting provider, with Hostgator it takes 24 hours or more.

Hostgator does have an automatic installation service to install WordPress but it insists that you have to allow the service to plant cookies on your computer. This doesn't make much sense at all because a cookie is information stored on your computer by a website you visit, not suppose to be used by an automatic installation service. Every other hosting company uses Fantastico - it works within moments and doesn't insist on cookies to work.

With Hostgator it takes days to get Your Site up and running (including propagate time) instead of mere hours with other hosting providers. As far as I know once you get through the hoops to get your site up and running, Hostgator hosting works fine.

 
5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Hostgator is great for users beginning their journey in website creation. It can be used for e-commerce sites too! I personally started web creation and used HostGator!

You can even request help if you have questions. Very affordable prices at unbeatable service. They include anything a website designer needs + more. If you aren't completely satisfied you can talk to their awesome support team and get immediate help.

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been with Hostgator for over 5 years, starting back when they were the best hosting company out there, hands down. After a recent takeover and buyout though they have quickly turned into one of the worst service providers I have ever had to deal with. We currently have 20+ accounts with HG several with dedicated and virtual servers, so we are no small 4$ users, and after spending hundreds of dollars a month, to have to deal with their downtimes, Ddos attacks, hacking, and poor customer service is a complete slap in the face.

Unfortunately we are locked in on long term agreements and several high profile sites containing hundreds of GB of data, so simply ditching them and moving is NOT an easy task otherwise we would have already done it. We have had to have BBB step in and intermediate several issues already and HG shows no sign of change, for the better at least. When hosting many private companies think cheaper is better, and for them a cheap hosting service may be fine, since starting with HG their prices have cut in half and the result is obvious. As a corporate level user I need reliable service, not cheap prices.

 
2 stars
Support
2 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

HostGator recently sold out to Endurance International Group. Since then, it has been nothing but chaos. The servers are extremely oversold now.

Roughly 6TB worth of users data thrown on one server. Non-standard /home1 /home2 and /home3 partitions used due to the massive overselling. Additionally, EIG is now moving all of HostGator's operations to their Provo datacenter. Since then, there has been somewhere in the ballpark of 12 hours of downtime, and requests for a refund have gone ignored.

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Hostgator is taking a page out of Godaddy and the elephant killing episode. The data center servers were a mess on Friday causing some of our website contents to be lost, I requested that the website be restored as it was Friday Morning and the response I got is that there is $15 fee! The server outage caused us a great deal of pain and lost sales and Hostgator seems to careless, That is why we plan on moving our business elsewhere at end of the term.

 
4.5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Hostgator is currently one of the most amazing hosting ever. Simply Hostgator Rocks
The only problem with hostgator is with bandwidth sites are getting ddosed every day but we can still use cloudflare so it's good. Now about features hostgator provides cpanel with softaculous which comes with hundred's of scripts auto installer.

I am Hostgator customer from last 2 years and simply this is awesome. It has almost 98% uptime. So once again I would say HostGator Rocks.

 
5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Website: liveonlinechat.net
I have been with Hostgator for over 4 years now having moved from many different hosts before finding the right one, Hostgator. I have never had such a fantastic service from any company anywhere! Hostgator are simply the best you will find, the customer service is amazing, 24/7 and they help with all kinds of advice, even when it isnt server related.

They have techs working for them that actually care for the customers and this has been proven time and time again when I had issues with scripts, even though it wasn't up to Hostgator to fix these issues, they gave me great advice to get the scripts working. I have a dedicated pro server, fully managed and a level 4 VPS, both are perfect for my entire business and I have a lot of sites! Anyway, Hostgator are simply the best hosting company out there and that is the reason why they are so popular, if you are searching for a hosting company, you don't need to, just go to Hostgator!

 
4.5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I think Hostgator Rocks! For what I know is that Hostgator supports 24/7 uptime that even new and untaught customers can be at ease choosing Hostgator as their number one hosting and domain service, Hostgator is also responsible and reliable that they have handled every Problem of a customer quick and have a magnificent feature all the time, I also recommend Hostgator to my friends and family who is very passionate about blogging.

 
Screenshot of http://www.newcastlecarpetcleaningcompany.yoo-quote.com/
2.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

The most irresponsible hosting provider ever to bless the internet. I have been 95% happy with Hostgator for the last 10 years. "Not Anymore" I am -95% happy now. Hostgator decided to migrate my VPS to a different data centre on a Friday evening with only 48 hrs notice.

I didn't receive any email informing me of the move and this caused me major problems, as i use IP licensing on some of the domains. Now the problem with this is, when a server is migrated the IP changes, rendering the licenses useless. This irresponsible behaviour by a bunch of irresponsible linux admins cost me a fortune in license reissue's, not to mention the loss of customer revenue.

I asked Hostgator if they were going to reimburse my costs and they politely appologised and said NO, which is what i expected from them anyway. I just can't describe in words without getting arrested for verbal abuse how unprofessional these bafoons are. Stay clear of these amateurs, they are not worth the hassle even if they are one of the cheapest providers. You have been warned.

 
3 stars
Support
2 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Pros
Uptime is pretty good recently. Did have some issues a couple years ago with other users on my shared server locking it up. Cons
Can't setup stored procedures on a MySQL database without an act of congress.

Support is slow and often never accomplish what you contacted them about. Making changes to account is not easy, especially changing your username (impossible). Pricing has not gone down in 10 years of being with the company. I'm switching everything over now to a new provider.

 
3.5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

hostgator is very good hosting company I like hostgator hosting the hostgator hosting is 85% uptime hosting and feature is best but not very good I like some features my rating is 3 because 75% feature is good but all feature is did not good hostgator value is higher other than hosting service support is very good hostgator provide telephone support its a best support other than hosting service

 
Screenshot of xperic.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Very helpful support, prices are excellent, and features....I can't explain them in words. Definitively recommend!

 
4.5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

HostGator has been hosting on the web for a long time in the beginning it was a bit costly as compare to other web hosting websites but now it is one of my top priorities it also offers one month web space only for 1 cent. HostGator has never brought me a down time and is almost all the time available with full support, it also provides a good help support and a 45 days money back guarantee. It also provides unlimited webspace and bandwidth, it has the following softwares/plugins Perl 5, PHP 5, unlimited mySQL Databases, Ruby/Ruby on Rails, Java script/Dhtml, Fantastico, Message Forum(Phpbb & more), Guest Books, Image Galleries. In the end i say Hostgator is highly recommended if you are searching for a good web host to provide quality service.

 
4 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I really like the price and the day to day with HostGator, but if you ever have a big problem be prepared to deal with a line of techs that are not very helpful until you get passed up the chain to find someone that can actually address the problem.

 
Screenshot of http://inspiratafilms.com
3 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been with Hostgator since they were a small privately owned company, over ten years I think. At first the customer service was Fantastic. I sang their praises.

After they expanded too fast and were bought by EIG, the customer service has gotten worse and worse. Now like dealing with the cable company. I cannot file a trouble ticket myself, I have to endure a chat with an (often) know-nothing intermediary somewhere in the universe who will make me walk through all the stuff I already did.

Actually getting to a real tech nearly impossible and at times takes days. "24/7 support" means that you can chat with someone, not that you will GET support in a meaningful period of time. Our IPs have been blacklisted numerous times, only once because of a problem on one of our sites. All the others were a range of IP addresses -- ours somewhere in the middle.

So we suffered due to problems on someone else's Hgi ip. Right now all emails from our server go to Spam on AOL and several other companies, and we don't know why. They are probably great if all you want is a Wordpress site, but running a VPS or reseller server where your reputation with your customers depends on Hgi's responsiveness is a losing proposition.