HostWay In 2018: What Do HostWay Client Reviews Say?

Hostway Solutions Introduction

Since 1998, Hostway Solutions has been providing its customers with a wide range of hosting services. Its clients include famous companies such as Samsung and Wix. It is also an award-winning host dedicated to its customers.

Services and Specializations

Hostway Solutions primarily provides a range of cloud-based hosting services via shared and VPS plans along with other services including database management and application hosting. Its range of products primarily target small to medium sized businesses who are looking for a quality host with cost-effective plans.

Hostway offers a few shared hosting plans to its customers. These include a starter plan aimed at businesses who just need a web presence online without requiring much technical expertise. The starter plan offers unlimited bandwidth and is hosted on a Linux server. It has email and includes a GUI editor as well as templates to help customers create professional-looking websites. The plan also helps customers get noticed online through promotions and marketing tools like Site Promotion or Instant Business Broadcast.

Besides the basic plan, Hostway offers an advanced plan called FlexCloud for shared hosting. The FlexCloud plan includes unlimited bandwidth and more advanced features such as support for databases, up to a 1 TB of disk space, SSL certificates, and choice of either Linux or Windows operating systems. With the FlexCloud plan, customers can also install popular platforms like WordPress through Easy Scripts.

Sometimes a shared hosting plan is not enough. For these situations, Hostway has a set of VPS plans. Hostway’s VPS plans allows for the use of Windows or Linux and vary by the amount RAM, bandwidth, and disk space they provide. The plans make use of SSD storage and partitioning to improve performance. Customers can manage the plans using either Plesk or cPanel which can be used to control resources or deploy popular applications such as Joomla or WordPress.

Besides standard hosting plans, Hostway also offers many other related services. These include managed services for the Microsoft Azure Platform as well as Magento, an ecommerce application. Additionally, they provide: Microsoft Exchange, PCI compliance, and HIPAA compliance.

HostWay Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 19 Reviews by HostWay Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Lindsey Jones avatar
Lindsey Jones
Apr 26, 2017

Extremely slow hosting where pages take literally minutes just to save. Antiquated account back-end and cPanel. Terrible user experience on all fronts.

24/7 Support is a nice feature however I wouldn’t need 24/7 support if their system was more user-friendly and clear.

WPEngine is well worth the upgrade for the ease of use. Would never recommend Hostway.

Visit Host →

John Simone avatar
John Simone relevance.com
Aug 14, 2017

The support is pathetic. This is the most inefficient, disorganized, lame, frustrating service organization I have ever experienced, anywhere, ever. They are incapable of assistance and proper follow-up.

Three reps will tell three different stories about status, next steps, how you will be contacted, when you will be contacted, etc. Everything about their service is screwed up and will waste a ton of time making unnecessary extra phone calls because what they told you is wrong. If I didn’t have to stay with them (for now) I would be gone in a flash. Find some other service.

Visit Host →

Robert Jenkins avatar
Robert Jenkins wygk.com
May 10, 2013

I deal with several hosting companies – Hostway has by far the worst support. The problem is that their first-tier support can’t solve anything but the most trivial problems. Anything complicated gets sent to tier 2.

In addition, they have an entirely separate business unit that handles domain problems, so again, first-line support can only forward your problem. BUT – you can’t talk to the people who really know what’s going on. So the class response to your problem is: "we’ve submitted a problem report, and you should hear back within 24 hours."

Except you don’t.

So you call again, talk to a new person, go over the issue, and they then "escalate it" and again tell you that it should be resolved "in just a few hours." Sometimes it is – sometimes you need to make a third call. Oh, and if your problem is domain related, don’t expect anything to happen outside of business hours, because the domain operation doesn’t have a 24-hour support staff.

Visit Host →

Robert Taylor avatar
Robert Taylor talmark.com
Nov 13, 2013

Hostway has been my provider for almost 15 years. We have never had an unscheduled outage in all of that time and the customer service has always been very responsive and knowledgable when we’ve needed help with changes. There support systems are all automated and provide an easy to use interface for the most common needs.

I highly recommend them for anyone needing hosting and/or email services. Robert.

Visit Host →

Alexei Raiu avatar
Alexei Raiu alexrayu.com
Apr 06, 2015

Have been installing a website for a client. The web panel is next to useless. Could not find PhpmyAdmin, could not change PHP version.

It took HostWay days to install a SSL cert and days to switch the site to PHP 5 from their default PHP 4.4. (Have not switched it as I am writing this even now). After some useless correspondence, their support went to Easter holidays, leaving the setup un-functional, and making us days and days behind schedule to deliver the website. Very frustrating. As a developer, I have worked with many a hosting, but have never seen such a lack of client service ethic as at HostWay.

Visit Host →

Trudy Macero avatar
Trudy Macero stageperformers.com
Dec 01, 2017

I would not renew with this company. They conveniently know how to keep you in the contract when you want out. Make sure that if you send an email saying that you want out follow it up with a phone call or you are not out and they will continue to bill you and send you to collections.

Visit Host →

William Totten avatar
William Totten williamtotten.com
Nov 15, 2013

I am an IT consultant. I provide IT services to a small number of customers. I have a customer who has used Hostway for email services for about 7-8 years and they and I are both very satisfied with their uptime.

In the past year there has not been one problem with the email servers. It might even be the last two years. The number of problems in those 7-8 years is less than 5.

I used another hosting company (iPower) for my email and web site and another one of my clients used the same company as I was using. We were both being put on RBL (Black lists) a few times a year and it was causing some of our emails to be rejected by the recipient. It was because we were on a shared IP address and the company wasn’t doing a good enough job of catching spammers that shared the IP address with us.

We also had their email servers go offline multiple times a month. I and my client needed a change so I moved us both to Hostway because my other client had such a good experience with them. I have only needed tech support a couple of times; when I was switching over form iPower, and they were very helpful.

Of the three of us, I am the only one using Hostway as my web site host. The otehr two use the hosts dictated by their web site designers. My site is minimal and has no ecommerce.

Therefore, I cannot give a fair recommendation on Hostway as a web hosting company; I can only say that my web site works fine all the time. I recommend Hostway.

Visit Host →

Peter Blumtritt avatar
Peter Blumtritt eco-divers.com
Feb 19, 2010

What a terrible, terrible company. Apart from the fact that their servers and support suck they are also hopelessly disorganized and incapable. Months ago I ordered some services with them.

They said they couldn’t charge my credit card – which is used for 20-30 online transactons each month elsewhere without a single problem – and advised me to pay via Paypal which I did. I sent them all of Paypal’s transaction details – not only once but about 10 times since they kept sending reminders about "non-payment". Now, after 4 months they have suddenly charged my credit card for the same amount, saying that they never received my Paypal pament which is of course nonsense – I have all proof that it was paid.

And their billing support doesn’t even bother to reply anymore. Stay away – under all circumstances. Hostway means trouble on all levels!

Visit Host →

Frank Oddo avatar
Frank Oddo roadtruckertest.com
Nov 01, 2017

It is next to impossible to cancel with these people. They keep sending you automatic emails and keep charging your card. Service is lousy.

Actually it is less than lousy. it is non existent. The best hosting I have found to date is InMotion Hosting.

At least as far as service. Blue Host is also good. I could not get logged on and they were no help at all.

They just ignored me. Hostway has been the worst of all the companies I have dealt with and there has been several. Do yourself a favor and go someplace else.

Visit Host →

Xander Brennan avatar
Xander Brennan xanderbrennan.com
Jun 25, 2015

I don’t know what is wrong with this company. They haven’t upgraded anything since 2012 (at least that is how it feels). Their support is by far the biggest joke I’ve ever ran into.

They can’t solve even basic issues. I ended up walking them through what they had to do to fix things. Their security is a nightmare.

My clients site got hacked, yet they blocked my IP when I tried to FTP new files into place. I have around 50 website clients I deal with frequently. This is the first that has used Hostway since 2005, so I didn’t know they had gone downhill so far.

I have a few take aways:
– When dealing with Hostway, use early 2000s settings and tech. Any modern setups will probably lead to your IP being blocked
– If you need support, figure it out yourself and then call support and tell them what you need done.
– Most importantly… Don’t use Hostway.

Visit Host →

Load More

Infrastructure and Uptime

Hostway’s provides customers with “proven infrastructure” that consists of the latest hardware deployed around the world. Its communications consist of multiple providers and redundant connections. Their facilities undergo regular audits and consist advanced cooling and power systems. Despite spending much effort on their infrastructure, Hostway does not provide an uptime guarantee for its plans.

Support and Customer Service

Hostway is a hosting company that is really passionate about customer service. As a result, customers can get the help they need via phone, live chat, support tickets, and email — all available 24/7.

Billing

Customers ordering service from Hostway have a number of options for payment. They can select from a variety of payment terms ranging from monthly plans to triennial plans which they can pay for with PayPal or major credit cards.

Summary

A global hosting provider, Hostway offers its customers cloud-based shared and VPS hosting plans. In addition, the company offers several other services such as cloud based managed services as well as email hosting. Small to medium sized businesses looking for a quality host that likes to “go above and beyond” will find much to like about Hostway.

Most Popular HostWay Hosting Plans

Managed Dell Server
Disk Space 1TB
Bandwidth 2TB
Price $299 / mo
Visit HostWay

Most Popular HostWay Alternatives

Clook Internet logo

Starts at:

$3.49

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

UK2.net logo

Starts at:

$4.04

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

Tsohost logo

Starts at:

$2.09

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

Brian Wu

About Brian Wu

Brian specializes in technology and medicine. This isn't surprising given he now has a PhD in integrative biology and disease and an MD with a focus on holistic treatment. In the past, he's been an actor. Brian lives in southern California.

Connect with Brian