InMotion Hosting: Great For Small Business? We Asked Users

Our Verdict: #1 of 381 hosts for variety of hosting plans

InMotion Hosting stands out in a sea of web hosting companies with its wide variety of hosting plans and exceptional technical support.

You can get up to 50% off all plans with our special link. InMotion Hosting offers a 90-day money-back guarantee.

Pros:

  • Variety of plans to suit tiny and huge sites alike
  • Industry-leading 24/7 support to help you with any problems
  • Free domain and SSL certificate

Cons:

  • Overwhelming number of plans to choose from
  • Datacenters are only available in North America

You don’t need to take our word for it. Over 550 of our users have rated InMotion Hosting 4 stars out of 5 in terms of support, quality, features, and value. This makes InMotion Hosting one of the highest rated hosts on our site.

Is InMotion Hosting Perfect for Your Site?

Looking for something specific? Jump to our most popular sections to learn more:

  • Expert Review — read our detailed analysis by hosting specialist, Dale Cudmore.
  • Best Reviews — see what over 550 InMotion Hosting customers have to say.
  • Hosting Plans — compare the best InMotion Hosting plans and their prices.
  • FAQS — find the answers to the most asked questions about InMotion Hosting!

InMotion Hosting is one of the biggest hosts around, most notable for their WordPress-ready shared and VPS hosting plans that all come with cPanel and SSDs standard.

I’ve used this host as a customer and in this review, I’ll take a detailed look at InMotion’s features. Plus, I’ll show you our test results on uptime, speed, and customer support to help you decide if they are a good fit for you.

If you’d like a second opinion, we suggest having a look at our community reviews below for insights from hundreds of real InMotion customers.

Quick Overview

Here’s a top-level view of how InMotion differentiates itself from the competition:

Support24/7 help is available, in multiple forms (email, chat, phone). Knowledgebase has guides for almost any topic imaginable.
ScalabilityInMotion Hosting has plans for sites of every size and complexity. As your site grows, you can upgrade your plan accordingly.
SpeedServers have SSDs built-in to improve speed. You can also select your datacenter on VPS or business class plans.

Pros & Cons

Let’s look at InMotion’s overall benefits and drawbacks.

ProsCons
Plans for sites of all sizes with innovative technology
Their wide variety of plans can be difficult to choose from.
Green servers and max speed zones Datacenters are only available in North America; Visitors elsewhere may not get the best load speeds.
Great live support and documentation.

InMotion Hosting Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 572 Reviews by InMotion Hosting Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Kristy LeBlanc avatar
Kristy LeBlanc newworldartisan.com
Jan 27, 2017

I love InMotion. Whenever I have a support issue it’s always resolved by the end of the chat. With my previous host I waited for 20-30 mins to speak with someone, communication was always an issue, and half the time they had to escalate it to another department resolve the issue (which added several more hours to the process).

I’m very happy with the support I’ve received with InMotion and I also appreciate the ease of the dashboard and help articles. They put a lot of thought into the customer experience.

Visit Host Now →

Malcolm McKay avatar
Malcolm McKay crafthouseimages.com
Sep 01, 2016

I am NOT alone, anymore…

Now things have changed. Wow, have they changed! I am now happy to say I am a proud customer of InMotion Hosting.

YAY! I bought a WordPress Template and chose InMotion Hosting to keep my files safe and sound. Needing to ask many questions about "simple little issues" relating to uploading files; set-up; log-in; WordPress; cPanel; email; terminology; and all those tricky little things formerly foreign to me.

"Simple little issues"?

Yeah, to the tech gurus at InMotion Hosting, but not to me. These matters were, most important and were causing me anxiety! InMotion Hosting make it so easy to ask a question.

Literally, everywhere I ventured on their Site I would find a button to click on where I could either launch "Chat" or submit a "Ticket". Their “Chat” is great! Very helpful, with an expert team of consultants who have either answered my "pressing" question or passed me on to someone who could satisfy my query within minutes, leaving me content and able to move on with my great adventure.

“Submitting a Ticket” is so simple and InMotion’s informed Consultants get back to me via email within an hour or so.

Leaving me time to make a cuppa and mentally review my issue. InMotion Hosting also boast a busy “Forum” with many people ready and willing to assist. There has not been a single issue I have not been helped with.

I have "bugged" at least twenty Consultants and every time am answered with enthusiasm and knowledge. InMotion Hosting have a wonderful team representing their great products and services. I gladly recommend them to you and all your friends.

Thank you InMotion Hosting. Previously the people I had chosen to host my websites have been aloof and remained distant; an entity I had difficulty dealing with. Subsequently, I left many of my questions unaddressed or researched them myself with google. Sometimes not very well, they remained a problem.

Visit Host Now →

MaryAnne Nestor avatar
MaryAnne Nestor badgesoup.com
May 15, 2015

I have used InMotion Hosting for around 10 years. The technical documents are very good and suprisingly, most of the time I can figure out what to do by the online instruction. However, if I am unable to understand what to do and need to call, the guys at inMotion Hosting absolutely provide the best customer service.

I don’t know as much as I should about dot coms and hosting. And I am awful at explaining what I need. The people at inMotion are so patient and have the unique ability to explain how things work.

Yesterday, I worked with a guy, who explained the VPN over shared hosting, provided pricing, filled out the form my developer needed, and otherwise took care of me as if I were the only person submitting a support ticket. And this is the type of customer service I get Every time I call or write. A couple of months ago, my husband decided to use Wix for one of his sites and honestly, I was making a mess of things trying to set it up–pointing servers and such.

This amazing young man at inMotion fixed everything. A. So if you are looking for a new hosting provider, I highly recommend inMotion Hosting.

Visit Host Now →

Load More

About InMotion Hosting

InMotion Hosting has been in operation since 2001, pretty much the infancy of the modern web.

Since then they’ve grown to vast proportions, with customers hosting over 300,000 domains on their servers.

InMotion Hosting homepage screenshot
InMotion Hosting homepage screenshot

Plans Offered

InMotion offers several plans, covering:

  • Shared business hosting
  • Reseller hosting
  • VPS (virtual private servers)
  • Dedicated servers
  • Managed hosting.

The plans are not the cheapest, but they’re competitive with other hosting companies. Regardless, in most cases, I don’t think you should look for the cheapest host.

The cheapest hosts can provide poor quality, though this isn’t always the case.

Infrastructure

With InMotion Hosting, you get mature infrastructure with high-speed drives, redundant datacenters, and automatic backups. You also get great support and environmentally friendly servers.

Who Should Consider InMotion Hosting?

Overall, I think InMotion Hosting  offers great value for the cost of their plans.

In particular, I appreciate the ability to scale quickly, if needed. You can always find an appropriate plan for any size site you want to create on InMotion Hosting.

InMotion’s customer support is about as good as you’ll find anywhere — and you don’t need to pay any extra fee to get it. It’s reassuring that if you run into an issue, you can quickly get help.

Don’t forget to use our special InMotion discount coupon to get the best deal!

Popular Plan Features

Here are the most interesting and important features to me:

  • Free data backups — With other hosts, you often have to remember to create backups manually or pay extra for automated backups. With InMotion, backups are free and automatic with any of their plans.
  • Free website transfer — With some conditions, InMotion Hosting’s support will transfer up to 3 websites from other hosts for you for free.
  • 90-day money back guarantee — That’s about the longest trial you’ll ever find.
  • Free SSL — Many hosts still charge fees to add an SSL certificate to your sites. With InMotion, SSL certificates are free on all shared hosting plans.
  • Free domain name — A nice little bonus. It’s also cheaper to renew your domain after the first year than on many other hosts that offer domain registering.

Unlimited Resources

InMotion’s shared plans come with “unlimited” disk space and bandwidth.

Of course, that doesn’t mean you truly get unlimited resources.

In regular terms, it means that you get unlimited resources as long as your sites don’t affect the performance of other sites on the shared server.

What Does It Actually Mean?

It’s a good news/bad news type of thing:

  • The good news: InMotion Hosting cares about how customers are using their shared accounts. They won’t let other customers affect your sites if at all possible.
  • The bad news: Your site can run slower than expected at certain busy times of the day. Also, if you’re using too many resources, it will affect the loading speed of your site and may cause it to not load at all in some cases.

This tradeoff is why I dislike “unlimited” shared hosting that many hosts offer. You’ll need to be more hands-on to get the most out of it.

You need to monitor your website performance to see if it’s being throttled. If it is, you’ll want to upgrade to a more expensive plan.

Unlimited Email

InMotion’s shared hosting plans come with unlimited email.

More specifically, this means that you can create as many email inboxes as you want and each of these inboxes comes with unlimited storage.

In this case, “unlimited” inboxes really do mean unlimited!

High-Quality, Fast Servers

Screenshot of InMotion VPS hosting page
Screenshot of InMotion VPS hosting page

Speed might be the most important part of hosting. If your website loads slowly, you lose visitors.

The best hosts invest in high-quality servers and other technology to improve how fast their customer’s sites operate. I feel that InMotion Hosting fits well in this category.

Solid-State Drives

Solid-state drives (SSDs) are about 20 times faster than standard HDDs for certain operations.

In the case of hosting, they help servers handle requests faster and more reliably. They’re especially important under high visitor loads.

All plans, even the cheapest shared business hosting plans, incorporate SSDs.

99.9% Uptime Guarantee

Part of being able to load pages quickly for visitors is being able to display them at all, which you can’t do if your website goes down.

InMotion Hosting offers one of the best uptime guarantees. It’s outlined in their terms of service.

If you’re on the Pro plan or higher, and you have an uptime lower than 99.9%, you’ll be credited with one month of free service.

What Does The Guarantee Cover?

However, there is some fine print here. Your site going down for server maintenance or due to an attack does not count.

The guarantee basically covers the basic expected service on InMotion Hosting’s side of things.

Historical Uptime and Response Time

We took a look at measurements for uptime on our InMotion test website, using Pingdom to look at the last 6 months. This data is taken from one test URL so it should serve as an indication only.

  • Average uptime: 96.93%
  • Average site response time: 1,584 ms

It looks like InMotion had something that drastically impacted their uptime in September 2018, which brings their average down quite a bit.

Graph of uptime for last 6 months
InMotion’s uptime has improved over the last 6 months.

Decline in Response Times

Additionally, response times have been taking a hit in recent months. The lower the response time, the better your website is performing because it’s loading pages faster.

Graph of response time for last 6 months
With response time, the lower the number, the faster your site loads.

Since InMotion offers an uptime guarantee, you should keep track of how your site’s performing and take advantage of the guarantee if performance starts slipping.

MaxSpeed Zone Technology

MaxSpeed Zone is one of InMotion’s unique features. The “max speed zone” is a feature available to VPS and business class customers. It lets you select which datacenter to use manually.

They have 2 datacenters, located on both the east coast and west coast of the United States. When someone accesses your website, your site will load from the closest datacenter.

In general, the closer a visitor is to a datacenter, the faster the page will load for them. It’s a very handy feature if you know that most of your visitors come from one particular area.

“Green Server” Technology

The environment may not be the first thing that comes to mind when picking a web host, but I think it’s good to understand what your host’s datacenter actually looks like.

For a host like InMotion, datacenters are massive, with thousands of servers that consume huge amounts of electricity.

They have a significant carbon output.

Eco-Friendly Policy and Ever-Green Datacenter

But InMotion Hosting is one of the few hosts which has invested in eco-friendly policies and technology.

Their datacenter in Los Angeles was the first-ever green datacenter. It reduced their typical cooling costs by about 70%, plus lowered carbon output by thousands of tons each year.

If you’d like to support a company trying to reduce their harm to the environment, InMotion’s green policies are a big plus.

cPanel Control Panel

Screenshot of InMotion Hosting Tools page
Screenshot of InMotion Hosting Tools page

Once you create an account and sign up for a plan, you’ll be given access to an account panel.

This is what my account panel looks like on a shared hosting plan:

Screenshot of InMotion Hosting Account Panel of Shared Hosting Plan
cPanel for InMotion’s Shared Hosting Plan

This is where you can manage your SSL certificates and domain settings.

Most importantly, there’s a link to cPanel, where you’ll spend most of your time.

Screenshot of InMotion Hosting cPanel Main Sections
InMotion Hosting cPanel Sections

InMotion Hosting’s cPanel Alterations

You may think you know cPanel, but there are some differences, as InMotion Hosting has done some serious customization to make this dashboard software more useful.

  • Softaculous installer – Gives you an easy way to install over 400 applications, including content management systems (CMSs) like WordPress, Joomla, and Magento.
  • Cron jobs – Lets you create scripts that automatically perform some repetitive work. If you ever learn web development, or hire a developer to add custom site functionality, this may be useful.
  • Multiple database options – You have access to both MySQL and PostgresQL in your cPanel.
  • Custom error pages – Customize what your website’s error pages display when something goes wrong for visitors.
  • SSH access – Manage your site files through a command line, a feature that not too many hosts offer.

Advanced cPanel Options

In short, your cPanel has everything that other hosts offer in their cPanels, plus advanced options that give you more control over your website and server resources.

If you’re already convinced, try our InMotion discount coupon to get the best deal!

InMotion’s Hosting Plans

Shared hosting is the most popular type of hosting for small businesses and individuals, including shared hosting, WordPress, VPS, and e-commerce plans.

Let’s break these plans down.

Shared Hosting For Business

Shared hosting is where a web host provider places many websites onto a single server. Why is this good?

  • Shared hosting websites all draw from the same pool of resources.
  • Because the host can place many sites onto a single server, it can pass the cost savings onto its customers.
  • Customers, in return, get hosting at a low cost (although it might not be ideal for highly-trafficked, resource-intensive websites).

Three Shared Plans Side-by-Side

InMotion Hosting offers three shared hosting plans, in their business hosting section.

The highest tier plan, the “pro business plan,” comes with the most resources and features of the trio.

LaunchPowerPro
$6.39 / mo$8.49 / mo$14.71 / mo
Free domain, unlimited resources & email, security suite, free SSLFree domain, unlimited resources & email, security suite, free SSLFree domain, unlimited resources & email, security suite, free SSL
2 websites6 websitesUnlimited websites
1X performance2X performance4X performance
Standard customer supportStandard customer supportPro level customer support

The biggest plus of these shared hosting plans is that you benefit from InMotion Hosting’s investment in high end servers, as we talked about above.

Screenshot of InMotion WordPress Page
Screenshot of InMotion WordPress Page

Managed WordPress Plans

While you can install WordPress on any shared hosting plan, InMotion Hosting also offers 6 specialized WordPress plans.

The plans include the following features:

PlanWP-1000SWP-2000SWP-3000SWP-4000SWP-5000SWP-6000S
Number of websites12361020
Storage Space40gb80gb120gb160gb200gb240gb
BandwidthUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Email accountsUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Price$4.95$8.99$11.99$29.99$59.99$114.99

The more expensive plans can support more monthly visitors, more websites, and have a few extra valuable features.

On these Managed plans, WordPress comes pre-installed. You also have access to BoldGrid, a plugin for WordPress that acts like a website builder. (We’ve got more on BoldGrid below.)

WordPress Optimization

There are a few features that these plans offered that are tailored specifically towards WordPress users.

WordPress is known to developers for being bloated and relatively slow. InMotion’s special features minimize those negative aspects of WordPress.

  • You get specifically configured NGINX server to optimize WordPress performance.
  • InMotion provides a proprietary cache manager tool. InMotion Hosting created their own caching tool to speed up WordPress site performance.

Managed VPS Plans

InMotion offers Virtual Private Server (VPS) hosting for larger, more resource-intensive, and highly-trafficked websites.

These plans are managed, which means that InMotion’s support undertakes some of the administrative work required to keep it up-to-date, including:

  • Installing updates and security patches for the operating system
  • Updating core tools like the cPanel/WHM

VPS Resources

InMotion offers three VPS plans from which you can choose:

  • VPS-1000HA-S: 4 GB RAM, 75 GB storage, 4 TB bandwidth
  • VPS-2000HA-S: 6 GB RAM, 150 GB storage, 5 TB bandwidth
  • VPS-3000HA-S: 8 GB RAM, 260 GB storage, 5 TB bandwidth

With all of these plans you’ll get a free SSL certificate to encrypt your traffic and improve your search engine rankings, automatic backups, and the ability to choose your data center.

The VPS plans are cloud-powered, which means that you’ll see “virtually no downtime.”

E-Commerce Hosting Plans

InMotion offers e-commerce hosting, which is like their shared hosting plans, but these plans come with one-click installers for platforms like:

You can choose between shared and VPS e-commerce hosting options, but both options come with a 99.9% uptime guarantee.

SSL and PCI Compliance

To keep your traffic secure, you’ll need to invest in an SSL certificate. Note that neither option is PCI compliant, though the VPS plan can qualify you for PCI compliance.

Pricing on the InMotion e-commerce plans is the same as for shared hosting.

BoldGrid Premium Website Builder

BoldGrid is a plugin specifically built for WordPress that enables all sorts of customization functionality.

Basically, it makes it easier to customize and edit your WordPress site using a drag and drop editor.

It’s intuitive to use and saves a lot of time if you regularly customize the design of pages.

BoldGrid Themes

BoldGrid comes with over 200 professionally designed themes:

Screenshot of BoldGrid Themes
Examples of BoldGrid’s themes

Personally, I’m impressed with the designs, and themes are divided into categories to make it easy to find an appropriate one. You can even switch between them with little impact.

All of BoldGrid’s themes are mobile-device responsive.

Staging Area

BoldGrid has a staging environment included as well.

In simple terms, a staging version of your site is a duplicate that search engines and visitors don’t see.

You can make changes on it, and then when you’re happy with the final results, you deploy those changes to your actual site. No more panicked editing needed.

With BoldGrid, it’s a simple radio button that indicates which version of your site to save changes to.

BoldGrid staging vs. active content
Screenshot showing how easy it is to deploy content from your BoldGrid staging area.

SEO

Most BoldGrid themes come optimized for the basics of Search Engine Optimization (SEO), including above average coding practices, XML sitemaps, and automatic canonical URLs.

Small things, but they can save you time from having to configure other WordPress plugins to take care of them.

Excellent Customer Support

InMotion support options animated gif
Scrolling down to show all of InMotion’s customer support options

If I had to pick one thing that InMotion Hosting is known for, it’s customer service.

To start with, the availability is as good as it gets. There are four different ways to get support:

  • Live chat
  • Email
  • Phone
  • Submitting a Ticket.

These options are all available 24/7, and available for customers on every single hosting package. Many other hosts only offer their support for higher paying customers.

Industry Leading 90-Day Money Back Guarantee

InMotion offers a generous 90-day money back guarantee to those who opt for shared, VPS, and reseller hosting plans with a six-month (or longer) contract.

If you cancel within this time frame, you’ll receive a full refund of all monies paid, no questions asked.

Those with dedicated servers or with VPS or reseller plans which are billed on a monthly basis are eligible for a 30-day money back guarantee.

New Customer Onboarding

All new customers get a free 25-minute consultation with one of InMotion’s support representatives to help you get started with a specific aspect of your hosting plan.

Rather than following a set onboarding format, you can choose the topic you want to cover with your representative during this session. Options include:

  • Beginner’s Getting Started (for those who aren’t sure which option to choose, this choice walks you through an overview of InMotion’s services)
  • Account Management Panel
  • cPanel
  • Email
  • Transferring Domains
  • Transferring Websites
  • Joomla
  • Premium Website Builder
  • PrestaShop
  • WordPress

Knowledgebase

On top of that, InMotion Hosting is also renowned for their knowledgebase, filled with support articles and tutorials.

The quality of the content is good, even though I believe it could be improved in some cases.

What’s really the impressive part, is the depth. There are hundreds of articles and guides.

Topics For Even External Products

You can search for almost any topic, and you’ll find a specific article that will help you.

They’ve even created guides for using other applications like Prestashop and WordPress. Yes, they’ve created help documents for other products that they do not own, just because it might help you.

This is the best evidence of going above and beyond for customer service that I’ve seen in any host.

How to Migrate to InMotion Hosting

Since InMotion Hosting really likes to highlight their migration services, but never show exactly what it involves, I thought it’d be nice to show what the process looks like so you can see how simple it really is.

Once you login to your account, you click the “website transfer request” option on the main page.

That will give you a form to fill out, it doesn’t take very long:

Screenshot of Website Transfer Request form
Just fill in the form to transfer your website to InMotion from another host

You must enter your old host’s password, so make sure it’s unique and not one you use anywhere else, just to be on the safe side.

Optional Priority Transfer

You have the option of paying for priority transfer, which puts your migration at the top of the queue.

In most cases, you can just wait the 1-4 days that a free migration usually takes.

How InMotion Could Improve

I’ve yet to come across a host that is perfect, and that includes InMotion Hosting.

Here are my biggest gripes:

“Unlimited” Hosting is Unclear

You don’t get a specific minimum amount of resources on shared plans. You’re simply told that if your website consumes too many resources, it will get slow.

You may need to choose (or later upgrade) to a more costly plan if your site gets bogged down.

There Are So Many Hosting Plans

I think the massive choice of plans can be overwhelming for anyone without much experience buying and using hosting.

I’d like to see InMotion Hosting offer clearer support for this or even a tool that gives you specific recommendations. Or, they could reduce the number of plans.

Datacenters Are Only In The United States

Datacenter location can have a significant impact on website load speed. If your visitor is halfway across the world, your pages will load a bit slower.

Datacenter location is only a big deal if you have a high traffic site and you’ve already optimized every other aspect of page load speed.

There Can Be a Few Unexpected Costs

Having to upgrade because of resource throttling is one way you might face a rising cost. Additionally, if you migrate sites to InMotion Hosting, they will migrate up to 3 websites or databases, but charge you a small fee for any additional ones.

I don’t think these costs are malicious, but keep them in mind when purchasing a plan.

None of these negatives are deal-breakers to me in most situations and they may not apply to your specific needs. Just be aware of them when comparing InMotion Hosting to other hosts.

Summary Snapshot

Below you will see the most important information about InMotion Hosting. It is a handy list to have as you make your decision about which hosting company is right for you.

Migration PolicyUp to 3 sites migrated for free. Small fee for each additional website, cPanel account, or database.
Control PanelcPanel
Available DatacentersLos Angeles, Virginia, USA
Quality of Support Materials Available on WebsiteExcellent
Money-Back Guarantee or Trial Period90-day Money Back Guarantee
Lowest price for Shared Hosting or other Cheapest Plan$3.99/mo using this link
Backup Policy/ Fees for Cheapest PlanBackups are provided for free on all plans
PCI ComplianceSupport will help your site pass PCI compliance scans, but only on VPS or dedicated hosting accounts.
Website BuilderNo custom website site builder included. The BoldGrid WordPress site builder is included for free.

I’ve used InMotion for many years and I do recommend it for most people.

If you think InMotion sounds good for your website, take advantage of our InMotion discount coupon to get the best price.

Contributing writer: Katie Horne. Contributing editor: Natalie Mootz

Most Popular InMotion Hosting Plans

Business Launch WP-1000S Business Power
Disk Space Unlimited 40GB Unlimited
Bandwidth Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Price $3.99 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$4.99 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$5.99 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit InMotion Hosting Now Visit InMotion Hosting Now Visit InMotion Hosting Now
Plan Disk Space Bandwidth Price
WP-2000S
Shared
80GB Unlimited $8.99 / mo Visit Host Now
WP-3000S
Shared
120GB Unlimited $11.99 / mo Visit Host Now
Business Pro
Shared
Unlimited Unlimited $13.99 / mo Visit Host Now
R-1000
Reseller
80GB 800GB $13.99 / mo Visit Host Now
VPS-1000
VPS
75GB 4TB $19.99 / mo Visit Host Now
R-2000
Reseller
120GB 1200GB $19.99 / mo Visit Host Now
R-3000
Reseller
160GB 1600GB $27.49 / mo Visit Host Now
VPS-2000
VPS
150GB 5TB $49.99 / mo Visit Host Now
VPS-3000
VPS
260GB 6TB $74.99 / mo Visit Host Now
Essential
Dedicated
1TB 6TB $99.99 / mo Visit Host Now
Advanced
Dedicated
1TB 10TB $159.99 / mo Visit Host Now
Elite
Dedicated
1TB 8TB $229.99 / mo Visit Host Now
More Plans +

InMotion Hosting Frequently Asked Questions

  • Does InMotion Hosting offer shared hosting?

    Yes. InMotion refers to it as Business Hosting.

  • Do I have to use a CMS on InMotion Hosting plans?

    On many hosts, your only option is to install a major CMS like WordPress or Joomla. It’s an option on InMotion Hosting, but far from the only one. All hosting accounts support PHP, Ruby, Perl, and Python. You also have SSH access on most plans. Put these two factors together, and it’s easy to host many custom built sites as well if that’s the path your developer chooses.

  • Does InMotion Hosting offer a reseller package?

    Yes. InMotion Hosting has several reseller plans which come with WHM, cPanel, a dedicated IP address, and an eNom domain reselling account.

  • How many websites can you migrate for free?


    InMotion Hosting will migrate your website for free with close to zero downtime. However, they will only do this for a total of 3 websites and databases. Each site or database on top of that comes with a small fee. Alternatively, if you’re already using cPanel, you can do the migration yourself fairly easily. There’s even a guide to doing it in the knowledgebase.

  • Can I buy managed hosting?

    Yes. You can purchase hosting for an hourly rate whenever you need help with your server. Alternatively, you can subscribe to a managed hosting package for discounted rates.

  • Will InMotion Hosting help me get visitors to my sites?

    Hosts almost always just focus on hosting your website as well as they can, while getting traffic is on your shoulders. However, InMotion Hosting has put together a great guide full of around 100 links to small business resources. It covers many areas of marketing, from conversion rate optimization, to email marketing, to the best marketing tools to use. These will help get you started in the right direction.

  • Where is InMotion Hosting based?

    InMotion Hosting has offices in El Segundo, CA and Virginia Beach, VA, in the United States. The company has two datacenters: one in Los Angeles, and one in Ashburn, Virginia.

    With shared hosting and VPS hosting plans, you can choose which one you’d like your website to be hosted in.

  • What programming languages are supported?

    InMotion’s servers support Python, Ruby, Perl, and PHP.

  • Will InMotion Hosting help me to migrate my website?

    When you buy a new InMotion Hosting plan, you can request a free site transfer. Your site will be assessed by its technical team, and they’ll tell you if you need to pay.

    InMotion’s support center offers good quality migration tutorials if you want to migrate your website yourself.

  • What one-click installers are provided?

    Shared hosting plans come with more than 300 one-click installer scripts. You can also ask the technical support team to install WordPress, Joomla! or PrestaShop for you.

  • Can I host multiple websites on one shared hosting account?

    The first two levels of InMotion Hostings’s shared hosting plans allow you to host 2 or 6 websites, respectively.

    The lowest-level WordPress plan only allows you to host one domain, but all other WordPress plans include the ability to host more.

    The reseller, VPS, and dedicated plans included unlimited domain hosting.

  • Does InMotion hosting provide a free site builder?

    Yes. It provides BoldGrid, a website builder tool built on WordPress. It has a drag-and-drop interface to make site creation simple. You can use one of its predefined HTML5 themes, or create your own layout from scratch.

    If you want to use BoldGrid, be sure to check the appropriate option when you buy your hosting package.

  • Will I get a refund if I cancel?

    InMotion Hosting offers a 90-day money-back guarantee for shared, VPS, and reseller hosting packages paid for 6 months or more.

    It offers a 30-day money-back guarantee for dedicated servers, as well as reseller and VPS hosting that’s paid monthly.

    The refund is for hosting costs only, and does not cover domain purchases. If you got a free domain, the cost will be deducted from your refund.

    After the 90-day guarantee period ends, InMotion Hosting may refund you for unused months, providing you haven’t violated its terms.

  • Does InMotion Hosting offer SSL certificates?

    All of InMotion’s shared hosting plans come with access to a shared SSL certificate. You can purchase a private SSL certificate through your Account Management Panel. 

  • Which control panel is provided?

    cPanel is included free of charge with all its hosting plans. Reseller plans, VPS packages and dedicated servers also include WHM.

  • What payment options does InMotion Hosting accept?

    InMotion accepts payment via Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, check, and money order.

  • Is there an uptime guarantee?

    InMotion has a 99.9% uptime guarantee for their top level shared hosting plan. Customers with this plan can contact InMotion once every 30 days to check for physical downtime.

    If InMotion finds that there has been downtime that exceeds 0.1%, you may receive a one month credit to your account. There are some restrictions, so be sure to check the policy for details.

  • Does InMotion Hosting accept monthly payments?

    InMotion offers monthly billing for all hosting plans except for the two lowest-priced Business plans. On plans that are available monthly, substantial savings are offered for longer contracts.

  • Will my website be backed up?

    InMotion Hosting automatically backs up data for customers on shared hosting, VPS, and reseller hosting accounts providing the account uses 10 GB disk space or less. Backups are made every 24-36 hours.

    InMotion stresses that these backups are only intended to cover emergencies. If your data exceeds 10 GB, or you have a dedicated server, you will need to pay InMotion for the service or organize your own backups.

  • Are there special hosting plans for educational users?

    Yes, but only if you attend school in the US.

    Students with a valid .edu email address get a 50% discount on shared hosting, while educators can get shared hosting free. These discounts are only available to new customers, and can only be renewed once.

    InMotion Hosting does not offer any discounts for non-profits.

  • Do I need a dedicated IP address?

    Not necessarily, though having one is helpful. If you’re running an online store, you should have a dedicated IP address. You might also get one if you’re doing something like email marketing, since a dedicated IP address will make it less likely that your messages get confused by email servers for somebody else’s. This means you’ll be less likely to be flagged as spam.

Dale Cudmore

About Dale Cudmore

Freelance blogger by day, developer by night, Dale is a freelance writer who specializes in technology and digital marketing. He studied Chemical Engineering at the University of Waterloo before becoming a freelance writer.

Connect with Dale

Review InMotion Hosting & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a InMotion Hosting customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more…

1 How would you rate your experience with InMotion Hosting?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about InMotion Hosting.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that InMotion Hosting rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2019 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2019.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your InMotion Hosting review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).

Comments

Thanks for your comment. It will show here once it has been approved.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

avatar

Jalal ahmed

June 20, 2019

You should have atleast 2/3 backup fo ryour clients web , so that when they are in trouble, you all can help them

avatar

silvia

July 4, 2019

Great service, great people! I recommend them!

shares