Jolt Web Hosting Review: UK-based Service from a Young Company

Jolt.co.uk Introduction

Spun off from WebHostingBuzz in 2015, Jolt is a very young company. It has a single datacenter, located in Newark, Nottinghamshire. Jolt caters primarily to customers in the UK, though it does some international business.

Until 2012, the domain jolt.co.uk belonged to an online gaming site. The present hosting business acquired the domain but has no other connection to the old site.

What Jolt Offers

The services from Jolt include shared web hosting, cloud VPS hosting, specialty cloud hosting, and dedicated servers. It also has a reseller program for shared hosting.

Shared Web Hosting

The web hosting packages offer a reasonable set of features even at the lowest price level. File storage is on SSD drives, cPanel is included for site management. The number of email addresses available ranges from 10 to unlimited. Email comes with spam protection and allows access by POP3, SMTP, IMAP, or webmail. Backup is an extra-cost option but certainly worth it.

The software is built on CloudLinux, Apache, and MySQL. The file system uses CageFS, which maximizes user privacy from everyone else on the same server. SSH shell access and SFTP for file uploads are available. Account holders can use and edit their .htaccess files. Developers can use PHP (versions 4-7), Python, and Perl.

Customers use their own domains, not a subdomain of Jolt. Getting a domain may require a one-time charge or be included in the plan. Alternatively, the customer can use an existing domain. A Comodo Positive SSL certificate comes with the highest tier, and other types of certificates at the DV level are available as extras. EV certificates, which provide a higher level of confidence in the owner’s identity, aren’t available through Jolt, nor are shared SSL certificates.

The higher-priced tiers, as you’d expect, come with more available databases, storage, bandwidth, mailboxes, and allowed domains. “Unlimited” storage and bandwidth are available with the top-level tier, but of course nothing is really unlimited. The Acceptable Use Policy spells out what the limits are.

Virtual Private Servers

For those who want a bit more, cloud-based virtual private servers are available. The customer can choose from half a dozen flavors of Linux. The VPS allows full root access, the the customer can reboot it if necessary. Plans with varying amounts of memory, disk space, and bandwidth are available. The plans don’t include cPanel, but you can get it as an extra. They can run any software application that’s consistent with the terms of service.

Reseller hosting

Agencies, designers, and developers can buy a reseller hosting package. They can manage all their end user sites through cPanel and Web Host Manager. Softaculous is included for easy installation of applications. These packages can work for organizations that manage multiple sites, even if they aren’t actually reselling them.

Web Host Manager (WHM) is included with reseller hosting. It’s a control panel that lets the reseller add sites, set up hosting plans, and specify resource limits for individual sites. WHMCS is an additional panel which handles client management and billing. It’s included or is an extra-cost option, depending on the plan the reseller chooses.

Dedicated servers

Finally, customers can lease the exclusive use of a physical server and run almost any kind of software. Options include managed support and high-speed data connections. Both Linux and Windows servers are available. And Jolt will aid in migration from a previous host.

In discussing its dedicated servers, Jolt says it “operates through multiple data centers in the United States.” These US datacenters aren’t mentioned anywhere else. It isn’t clear if this is a mistake or if Jolt uses datacenters in the US only for dedicated servers.

Jolt Web Hosting Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 15 Reviews by Jolt Web Hosting Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Robert Fabros avatar
Robert Fabros touringbuddy.com
Oct 01, 2018

I changed my hosting from 4goodhosting to Jolt Hosting a few months ago and what can I say, they are absolutely great. Their tech support was very helpful because they were the ones who moved all of my websites with no hassle and problems. And the transfer was free.

After a few months of observation regarding my websites’ performance, I would say that I am a very satisfied customer. Speed and uptime performance of my websites were good, until now. So far, I never experienced any downtime from my sites and problems. I like their customer support too, very helpful and fast turnaround.

Visit Host →

Graham Bennett avatar
Graham Bennett westcoast-media.com
Nov 08, 2018

I transferred my reseller account from Heart Internet some time ago as it was becoming very expensive. The tech guys transferred all my client accounts over to their servers without a hitch so I was really pleased. Every time I have contacted their support team I have been impressed with the level of service received. Certainly would recommend them to others.

Visit Host →

Kieran Headley avatar
Kieran Headley webbysite.co.uk
Oct 03, 2018

I have used Jolt now for the last 4 years, I have never had an issue with them. Their support team are always quick to respond and their level of knowledge is second to none!! I have referred many clients to use them also and would recommend anyone to use them. They are priced competitively in comparison to the market and offer a wide range of services.

Visit Host →

Tony Abbott avatar
Tony Abbott webpapa.co.uk
Sep 25, 2018

Since moving to Jolt from Webhostingbuzz the cost of hosting has remained the cheapest around that I have seen. Compare £106 for one year with Heart Internet with £54 for two years from Jolt for my hosting and you can see why I rate Jolt highly. Sometimes I do find domain names much cheaper on other sites like GoDaddy, but after a while you can transfer these over to Jolt.

I’ve contacted customer services online chat at times to handle transfers and other issues and always things have been resolved within minutes, I even called on Christmas Day once! As long as their core belief is to provide value for money then I plan to keep using them.

Visit Host →

Glenda  Collins avatar
Glenda Collins plumbers-cardiff.net
Sep 20, 2018

I think the service was excellent and Roman was very helpful. I was having trouble setting up my MX Records, CName and A Records but he helped me throughout the process. I very much appreciate his help and patience. I would definitely recommend Jolt to other people looking for a good hosting provider with great assistance when you need help Thank you

Visit Host →

Joe Hewes avatar
Joe Hewes webwalrus.uk
Sep 25, 2018

These guys have excellent customer support. They are always ready to accept immediate online chats and help through any situation. After experiencing web hosting from overseas providers I was always disappointed with customer support I received.

Not so with Jolt – they have always been happy to help out no matter what the problem – usually with immediate responses. Was so pleased with their network I have now purchased a second account for my own personal use.

Visit Host →

Kaspars Greckis avatar
Kaspars Greckis greckis.com
Sep 07, 2018

Using Jolt already for almost 3 years. Have seen issues, in 2016 up-time was not 99,99% it was 99.2% for me. But when it happened, however I am small client, Jolt support was always there and I was always informed and updated about what is happening.

Even more… any time when I needed any help, technical support or I just had some stupid newbie question, Jolt support not just explained me what to do but in many cases even did a lot of things in my place in cPanel configuration, WHM and so on… Special appreciation to Jolt support manager Dmitriy! Great professional!

Visit Host →

Sam Martin-Ross avatar
Sam Martin-Ross digitaluncut.com
Aug 31, 2018

Having tried various big name hosting companies, I switched to Jolt over a year ago and haven’t looked back. My site speed improved significantly, and their support has always been quick and helpful. There has only been one downtime issue which was I was notified of, and it was resolved very quickly.

They could do with a CDN but then again, these are easy to get and setup. For Jolt’s price, speed and service, I can’t recommend them enough.

Visit Host →

Aiden Andrews-McDermott avatar
Aiden Andrews-McDermott entrepreneuraj.blog
Dec 12, 2017

Advertised as 24/7 support, no one available in the evening. Demanded screenshots of my PayPal account after receiving my money even though I don’t use PayPal I paid via a debit card. They are located 1 mile away from me told no they would not see me if I visited their office and no they can’t be called.

Spent the entire time with the support system being replied to with canned messages. Purely incompetent. Such a shame I had high hopes for a fellow local business.

Visit Host →

Nam Nazeem avatar
Nam Nazeem netinfinity.co.uk
Sep 02, 2018

Brilliant hosting service with The best support compared to all web hosting services I’ve used before. I’ve tried almost all leading hosting providers and Jolt is the only one I found to be reliable in all aspects. Highly recommend it to anyone who want a worry free hosting service that looks after their customers.

Visit Host →

Load More

Specialized packages

Jolt offers several specialty packages. The business web hosting packages are suitable for SMBs. They include a free domain and SSL certificate, with a dedicated IP address available as an extra. WooCommerce, OpenCart, ZenCart, and Magento are all supported e-commerce options.

Medium-sized businesses looking for a more powerful e-commerce solution can look at Jolt’s Magento cloud hosting. The plans are designed for tens of thousands of visitors or more, so they aren’t cheap. But if you have that many customers, you can likely afford it. Regardless of your size, Jolt allows you to scale up or down as their needs change.

A WordPress shared hosting package is available, with one-click installation. Premium themes are available at a discount, and there are no restrictions on plugins.

For educational institutions, Jolt offers Moodle hosting. Moodle is a learning management system which hosts online learning and delivers course content. It includes features such as online quizzes, discussion forums, and collaborative tools.

Support

Customers have access to online documentation and can get support by filing a ticket or using online chat. The wiki is a bit rough-looking, but it holds lots of information if you are diligent. Jolt promises to respond to help desk tickets in thirty minutes and to chat requests in 60 seconds.

The status blog provides information on issues and outages, and users can subscribe by email. Live status is available on shared and reseller servers, VPS carriers, and the core network.

Pros and Cons

Jolt is a new and relatively small company, not tied to any parent company. On the positive side, this gives it the motivation and ability to really pay attention to its customers. It also entails a certain amount of risk. The company could fail, or a disaster could hit its single datacenter.

There’s no far-reaching CDN to give distant users fast page loads. The customers who would get the most benefit out of Jolt are ones based in or near the UK, and whose audience is local.

It may not be the most conservative choice, but Jolt is well-suited to customers who want to go local and still get solid service and support.

Most Popular Jolt Web Hosting Alternatives

Clook Internet logo

Starts at:

$3.49

per month

Usual price: Get % off!

Visit Host

Read Reviews

UK2.net logo

Starts at:

$4.04

per month

Usual price: Get % off!

Visit Host

Read Reviews

Tsohost logo

Starts at:

$2.09

per month

Usual price: Get % off!

Visit Host

Read Reviews

Gary McGath

About Gary McGath

Gary McGath spent years as a software developer before turning to writing. In addition to writing many articles on technology, he's the author of two crowdfunded e-books. His tech passions include data security and digital preservation.

Connect with Gary

Review Jolt Web Hosting & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a Jolt Web Hosting customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more…

1 How would you rate your experience with Jolt Web Hosting?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about Jolt Web Hosting.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that Jolt Web Hosting rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2019 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2019.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your Jolt Web Hosting review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).

www.jolt.co.uk

15 Reviews

Starts at:

/ mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit Jolt Web Hosting
mark

All Jolt Web Hosting plans include 100% Money Back Guarantee

Table of Contents