Liquid Web Reviews: They Say “The Most Helpful Humans In Hosting” – We Found Out The Truth…

LiquidWeb Might Be the Perfect Web Host for You

Most hosts compete on the prices of their shared hosting plans.

LiquidWeb is different because they don’t even have shared hosting plans.

Is Liquid Web’s Quality Worth the Cost?

The easiest way to sum up LiquidWeb is that they try to be the best. Definitely not the cheapest, but high performance and excellent support.

This is an objective review, but most of it is positive and focuses on whether the good features are useful for your sites or not. The only real negative aspect is the higher cost than almost all other hosts.

LiquidWeb Hosting
LiquidWeb is a popular host, let’s dig deeper.

Background

LiquidWeb has been around since 1997 and has had a great reputation for at least the last decade since I’ve used and followed them.

As of now, they have well over 32,000 customers and host over 500,000 sites. Of those sites, many belong to huge brands like The Home Depot and Motorola.

If you can afford the cost, you’re unlikely to be unsatisfied with the service that you get.

LiquidWeb Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 62 Reviews by LiquidWeb Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Michael Woods avatar
Michael Woods testifysites.com
Dec 13, 2017

I was with 2 other large web hosts before Liquid Web. Currently, I have 15 sites with them. Their value and technology got my attention and their support keeps me as a customer.

The price for what you get is reasonable, uptime is excellent, and servers are fast. Keep up the great work!

Visit Host →

David Zatz avatar
David Zatz allpar.net
Apr 18, 2016

Sometimes you pay a little more for value. LiquidWeb provides superb support and helps me fix my increasingly rare mistakes with real 24/7 support. They go above and beyond their service agreement.

Since they learn from errors and re-engineer/invest as needed, downtime has gotten vanishingly rare over the years. I use them for both “dedicated cloud” (virtual server on a single machine for portability) and basic web services.

Visit Host →

Jason McGee avatar
Jason McGee igroovetech.com
Jul 13, 2017

I have been with Liquid Web for 3+ years, hosting 10+ websites and their service is impeccable and second to none. Their support team is awesome and are also quick to respond to requests. I use their VPS solution to host websites I design and could not be happier with their service.

Visit Host →

Jesse Jameson avatar
Jesse Jameson socialmediapro.com
Apr 12, 2016

I’m a fanatic about customer support and the customer experience. I’m even a partner in a company called Create Buzz that trains businesses both large and small about creating an exceptional customer experience. I’ve bought and sold numerous companies, and each time I find a new one the first thing that I do is move the infrastructure to Liquid Web.

Day on night these guys are on it! They are probably the only company that I can honestly rate a 10 in all areas.

Visit Host →

Tracy Ross avatar
Tracy Ross rozberrydirect.com
Mar 26, 2016

I have hosted with multiple companies and most have been ok… Or at least that’s what I thought until I gave LiquidWeb a try. This is truly a Love Love relationship.

I know just enough to be dangerous and not enough to manage my own virtual server and too stubborn to contract an IT resource. The support team at LiquidWeb assisted (did all the work) me with moving 7 WordPress sites onto my new managed server, was ultra patient answering newbie questions and pointing me to additional information resources when I asked. When they say they "Go Above and Beyond" standard support they are serious.

I have relied on them many times to help me trouble shoot problems that were not really related to hosting and they stepped up to the bat and hit a home run every time. And that’s just the support! The stability and responsiveness of my cloud based fully managed storm server rocks.

I could go on for hours (that’s how much I love them) but I just say… if you are looking for a real home for your web space, look no further than LiquidWeb, they Rock!

Visit Host →

Steve Wiideman avatar
Steve Wiideman wiideman.com
Apr 12, 2016

Once in a lifetime a hosting company comes around that understands your needs as a small business owner. LiquidWeb is that company, with support willing to bend space and time to insure your satisfaction as a customer. I have been with LiquidWeb for over 10 years now.

I recommend them to friends, family, peers, and others who cry to us for heroic support they don’t get from registrars pretending to be hosting companies, or from hosting companies who sell space on a box rather than a warm comfortable nest for your web content. I love how they install components on our VPS like Google PageSpeed without questioning why. I love how they can search log files and find corruption where it happened and actually edit code to have it removed.

We make some pretty stupid decisions and webmasters and LiquidWeb is always there to save us without judgment, without grief, and with the understanding that everything is urgent to us (even when it’s something that really isn’t). We plan on being with LiquidWeb for the long run, not just because of the product quality, but because LiquidWeb cares about us.

Visit Host →

Nader Barakat avatar
Nader Barakat naderb.org
Dec 15, 2017

Hello !! i have been a client for Liquid Web for a while now, i never had an issue of any kind , even when i needed support or issues which involve my VPS. The support is great !

fast and effective. they keep you notify with all the security patches. Thanks LW for everything ! Regards,
Nader Barakat

Visit Host →

Andre Tannus avatar
Andre Tannus epungo.com.br
Dec 13, 2017

I’ve been with LiquidWeb since 2011. These guys run a masterful shop, they offer fast and reliable servers. Support is rarely even required, but the best I’ve experienced when needed.

Not leaving them any time soon! They’re also happy to find excellent deals when you start to take up more servers. Two thumbs up.

Visit Host →

CARLOS ROMERO avatar
CARLOS ROMERO puertoricopaymentsystems.com
Dec 13, 2017

1. Customer support is excellent and knowledgeable 24/7.
2. They even spoke to my developer overseas and I at the same time.
3.

There’s always a supervisor that can share more experience.
4. They are patient and try to help you figure out the best solution, and;
5. All of this always at the best price.

Visit Host →

Miguel Angel Vargas Cruz avatar
Miguel Angel Vargas Cruz grupoalianzaempresarial.com
Jul 07, 2017

– Have a great price for their solutions. I have a dedicated server, the Xeon processors, backups, bandwith, RAM and solid state hard drives are cheap, and the OS and sotware offered are good enough.
– Good support. Their support is really heroic…
– Performance.

The best part is their first byte connection. https://www.miguelangelvargascruz.com

Visit Host →

Load More

No Shared Hosting: LiquidWeb Offers These Plans Instead

LiquidWeb used to offer shared web hosting but stopped in order to focus on premium hosting.

Now, there are 5 main premium hosting types that they offer, but I’d categorize them into 3 general types of hosting.

Why You Should use Managed WordPress Hosting

If you’re a developer, you know that WordPress comes with some bloat out of necessity.

If site speed is important to you (which it should be), this is an issue, which is why you should look specifically for a WordPress host.

Managed WordPress Hosting generally requires very little involvement in technical terms, making it a great autonomous option.

Servers Optimized for WordPress

The most clever hosts have specifically designed servers optimized for WordPress sites so that they run faster; LiquidWeb is one of these hosts.

They say that the home pages of WordPress sites on this plan load 5-10 times faster than they do on other managed WordPress plans on other hosts.

Features to Look For

The “managed” part of the plan name refers to a variety of features, of which some are not available with other managed WordPress plans amongst the roaster of other hosts:

  • Free migrations from other hosts
  • Automatic plugin updates
  • Monitored for security issues
  • Free SSL certificates for all sites on the plan
  • Supports unlimited page views
  • Automatic image compression
  • Multiple site management tools.

LiquidWeb’s site management tool is a control panel called Sync Pro.

Managed WordPress
Managed wordpress is a great perk with LiquidWeb.

It’s a clean tool that is great to manage several sites. You can bag yourself a fully managed WordPress Hosting option from $59/month, with no programming knowledge required.

Cloud Sites and Cloud VPS Hosting

Not everyone wants to use WordPress.

If that’s you, one of your main options is a cloud VPS (virtual private server).

Two Types of Cloud Hosting

LiquidWeb offers 2 types of managed cloud hosting.

Cloud Sites

The first is “cloud sites,” which has a single plan. It’s designed to let you host up to several sites, and makes it easy to install any popular CMS in a few clicks.

Creating a Website
Creation of a website in the CMS.

Those sites technically aren’t on a VPS, rather they are hosted across multiple servers for maximum site uptime and scalability.

Cloud VPS Hosting

The other option is “cloud VPS hosting,” which has multiple plans. The more resources you’d like, the more you pay.

As with all LiquidWeb plans, it’s fully managed. Cloud VPS Hosting packages start from $59/month at LiquidWeb.

Dedicated Hosting

If your website actually needs a dedicated server, then performance is nearly always the most important factor for you.

Dedicated Hosting is generally a better option for those expecting heavy website traffic, in other words larger companies.

Dedicated Server Plan
LiquidWeb offers a stacked Dedicated Server option.

You can compare the performance of LiquidWeb’s dedicated hosting plans against other hosts and LiquidWeb will almost always win in my experience.

Notable Dedicated Features

A few features of note on these plans:

  • All have Intel Xeon (E3 or E5) processors
  • Comes with free CloudFlare CDN
  • You have root access to the server.

Dedicated hosting from LiquidWeb starts with prices from $199/month.

Control Panel Options: cPanel/WHM and Plesk

Managed WordPress plans come with a custom control panel specifically designed for managing multiple WordPress sites.

For every other plan on LiquidWeb, you get a choice of using cPanel / WHM, or using Plesk.

cPanel/WHM

WHM provides more access to configuring servers, while cPanel provides access to configuring a single site on a server.

Your single WHM interface can be used to create multiple sites on your account, each of which can be managed with cPanel individually.

WHM Control Panel
WHM is not a bad looking control panel, overall.

Plesk

Plesk is another popular control panel, which rolls both server management and site management into a single control panel.

Plesk Control Panel
Plesk is cPanel’s direct competitor.

Comparison

Let’s take a look at a quick comparison of Plesk and cPanel side by side:

Host/Features Interface Migration Admin Panels Cost
cPanel Slightly older but more familiarized by the masses Simple Web Host Manager (WHM) $35/month
Plesk Clean and tidy looking, slick design Simple Single log-in for users and admins $40/month

They’re both solid control panels, and in most cases, it comes down to personal preferences.

6 Reasons Why LiquidWeb Is Better than Other Hosts

There are too many ways to list that LiquidWeb stands out from your average hosts, but here are the most important:

  1. Migrations
  2. Fully Managed
  3. CloudFlare CDN
  4. Simple Scaling
  5. Premium Business Email (Add-on Product)
  6. SSD Storage.

Migrations

LiquidWeb has a migration team that will migrate your sites to LiquidWeb for free. If they can’t for some reason, they will support you through the process.

Fully Managed

As I’ve mentioned, all servers come fully managed.

They take care of everything regarding server health, like updates, security, hardware maintenance, and more.

CloudFlare CDN

More plans comes with a CloudFlare CDN to serve resources from local copies of your site even quicker.

Simple Scaling

Depending on the plan, it either takes one click to scale up to handle more traffic.

In many cases, it takes zero clicks because it is automated.

Premium Business Email

LiquidWeb provides a managed email solution. They have inexpensive plans where LiquidWeb will take care of email spam, setup, maintenance, and more.

SSD storage

All plans come a significant amount of SSD disk space.

This makes most server operations much faster than with HDDs, and in-turn makes your website(s) faster.

Heroic Support

LiquidWeb refers to their support system as “heroic support,” as they try to go above and beyond normal expectations.

There are a few things I think you should know:

  1. 100% Network and Power Uptime Guarantee
  2. Available 24/7/365
  3. Techs Have 300+ Hours of Training.

Sonor Monitoring Team

LiquidWeb has a sonar monitoring team, whose entire purpose is to identify issues on customers’ servers before they cause any downtime.

LiquidWeb Live Chat
Live chat with LiquidWeb in action.

These issues may be on LiquidWeb’s side, or the customer’s side, but it doesn’t matter. They will find them and fix them whenever possible. If you’re dealing with sites that generate significant revenue, the peace of mind of a proactive team like this is worth a lot.

Knowledgebae

On top of all that, LiquidWeb has a solid knowledge base.

There are hundreds of tutorials and help articles in it.

LiquidWeb Knowledgebase
Plenty of information to scoop up, created by LiquidWeb’s team.

You can find just about any topic you need with a quick search.

Behind the Scenes

Migrating to a new host always seems like a pain.

It’s not too hard on LiquidWeb, though, and support will help you if you get stuck.

If you’re coming from WordPress in particular, it’s pretty easy using the migrate to LiquidWeb plugin.

Once activated, the plugin will redirect you to a migration form in your LiquidWeb account:

LiquidWeb Migration Form
Website migration form – very simple to use.

Once you fill that out, LiquidWeb’s migration team will take care of the rest, usually in 2 to 7 days.

Customer Support

I’ve used the live chat support many times over the years. You always get a near-instant response, and support staff is always incredibly knowledgeable and helpful. No complaints at all.

Liking This Host?

If you love the high performance that LiquidWeb offers but shared hosting fits your needs better, give SiteGround a try.

If great support is important to you, but you’d like a host with cheaper plans, InMotion Hosting is a good alternative.

Frequently Asked Questions

In addition to our lengthly FAQ at the bottom of this page, I wanted to highlight a few of my own here.

What operating systems are available?

LiquidWeb supports a wide variety of 64-bit operating systems:

  • CentOS 6 and 7
  • Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
  • Debian 7 and 8
  • Fedora 24 Server
  • Windows Server 2016 Standard.

Can you host an e-commerce site on LiquidWeb?

Yes, you can install all the most popular e-commerce open source platforms like Magento, WooComerce, and PrestaShop.

Do all sites come with SSL?

All sites on a managed WordPress plan do come with free SSL. On all other plans, you have to purchase SSL certificates separately, an additional expense to keep in mind.

Uptime and Response Time

Having monitored this data since November 2017, we are not yet able to provide averages. As of November 2017, LiquidWeb boasts 100% uptime along with an average response time of 390ms.

LiquidWeb Uptime and Response Time
Recent statistics for LiquidWeb’s uptime and response time.

LiquidWeb Quick Overview

This quick overview will help you when comparing LiquidWeb to other potential hosts.

Specializations

  1. “Heroic” Support
  2. High Performance Servers
  3. Managed Servers.

Migration Policy

No specific limit. Free migration to multiple sites is offered on all plans whenever possible (migrating from cPanel or Plesk).

If their migration team can’t do it for you, they will guide you through the process if you get stuck.

Quality of Support Material

Excellent.

Control Panel

Choose from WHM/cPanel or Plesk.

Available Datacenters

Three datacenters, located in Michigan, Arizona, and Amsterdam.

Money-back Guarantee Trial Period

No money-back guarantee or trial period.

Lowest Price for Shared Hosting or Other Cheapest Plans

LiquidWeb’s cheapest plan is $59 per month.

Backup Policy

Free account-level backups (you can pick the schedule). Optional backup plan add-ons with advanced backup options for small monthly fee.

Site Builder Included?

No.

PCI Compliant?

Yes, LiquidWeb’s support will help you make your site(s) PCI compliant on all plans.

Additionally, you can purchase an add-on scanning system which will periodically check if your sites are PCI compliant and send you a report.

Do any big brands use this host?

The Home Depot, National Geographic, FedEx, Motorola — to name a few.

Pros and Cons of LiquidWeb

Even great hosts have both positives and negatives. Let’s take a look at a brief summary.

LiquidWeb Pros

  • All plans are high performance, arguably the best you can buy
  • All support team members at well-trained and always available
  • One of the only hosts with a 100% uptime guarantee.

LiquidWeb Cons

  • The price for each respective plan is relatively high
  • The knowledgebase could be organized a bit clearer.

Is LiquidWeb the Right Solution For You?

Honestly, I find it hard not to recommend LiquidWeb, the performance and support are miles ahead of most competitors.

But for your site(s) specifically, you need to determine how much performance and support you need, and what that’s worth.

LiquidWeb is far from the cheapest host, so if budget is a big factor, you could be best off going with a different host.

Most Popular LiquidWeb Hosting Plans

2 GB VPS 2 GB+ VPS Personal Managed WordPress
Disk Space 40GB 100GB 100GB
Bandwidth 10TB 10TB Unlimited
Price $59 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$79 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$89 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit LiquidWeb Visit LiquidWeb Visit LiquidWeb
Plan Disk Space Bandwidth Price
Windows VPS
Cloud
100GB 5TB $99 / mo Visit Host
E3-1220 Server
Dedicated
2TB 5TB $129 / mo Visit Host
Professional Managed WordPress
Cloud
150GB Unlimited $149 / mo Visit Host
Colocation
Cloud
5TB $150 / mo Visit Host
E3-1240 Server
Dedicated
2TB 5TB $159 / mo Visit Host
Managed WooCommerce Starter
Shared
Unlimited Unlimited $249 / mo Visit Host
HIPAA Server
Dedicated
2TB 5TB $338.84 / mo Visit Host
More Plans +

LiquidWeb Frequently Asked Questions

  • Does LiquidWeb offer Windows or Linux hosting services?

    LiquidWeb offers both Windows and Linux hosting services on their dedicated server plans.

  • Does LiquidWeb have Virtual Private Servers (VPS)?

    Yes, and they all feature SSD storage for the best performance as well as different specs that are designed to fit your computing needs.

  • Do they offer domain registration? What about a free domain?

    You can get a free domain when you select their dedicated server plan. Additional domains can be purchased from the account management interface.

  • What payment options does LiquidWeb offer?

    For payment options, you have the choice of using credit cards and PayPal. Each plan is paid month to month.

  • Do they have a money back guarantee?

    They don’t offer a money back guarantee, however, with most of their cloud hosting plans you will get a prorated refund if you cancel a server.

  • Do they offer phone support? What language is their customer support available in?

    The company offers 24 x 7 support by phone, chat, and through a support system which can be found on their website. English is the only available language from the support team.

  • Where is LiquidWeb located?

    LiquidWeb is based out of Lansing, Michigan. They have four datacenters in the USA, three of which are located in Michigan and one in Phoenix, Arizona. The have a European datacenter is located in Amsterdam.

  • What programming languages are supported?

    LiquidWeb offers support for most programming languages, including ASP, ASP.NET, PHP, Perl, and Ruby on Rails.

  • Can they help with transferring an existing website?

    LiquidWeb offers an included site migration service to make new customer transfers as simple and painless as possible. This includes migrating WordPress, Joomla, Magento, and Drupal websites.

  • Can I host more than one domain on a single hosting account?

    Customers can host as many domains as they need to on their shared web hosting offerings.

  • Does LiquidWeb include any software so that I can easily build a website?

    While there are no wizards or software for building sites, they do offer easy access to several software platforms that make it easy to build a site such as WordPress and Joomla.

  • Is LiquidWeb suitable for an ecommerce website?

    Yes, ecommerce websites are well supported and have access to features such as multiple payment gateways, coupon and gift certificate support, inventory stock control, full-customization, multi-currency/multi-lingual support, SSL, and more.

  • Could I host an image-heavy site on their services? What about video streaming?

    Image intensive sites and media streaming are not a problem as long as you stay within your bandwidth and space purchased.

  • Do they provide a control panel?

    Yes. cPanel and Plesk are the web hosting control panels of choice, depending on whether you are hosting on a Windows-based product or Linux-based product.

  • Do they have an uptime guarantee?

    The company maintains a 100% uptime guarantee and backs it up with service credits.

  • Is there anything special about LiquidWeb’s hosting plans?

    LiquidWeb offers a variety of features with each of their hosting plans.

    They include comprehensive security service that protects systems from a variety of security issues, CDN services, DDoS protection, and Sonar Monitoring which ensures your server’s optimal performance through early detection of problems.

  • What is LiquidWeb’s backup policy?

    The company offers local backup with flexible scheduling on each plan.

    Full server backups on a daily basis are available as a paid add-on for each hosting plan and come with more features such as multiple layers of protection, painless recovery options, encryption, and off-site backups.

  • Do they offer an affiliate program?

    LiquidWeb offers an affiliate program with generous one-time commissions and monthly recurring commissions for dedicated servers. The affiliate program is very straightforward, and they pay affiliates based on the account types they refer.

Dale Cudmore

About Dale Cudmore

Freelance blogger by day, developer by night, Dale is a freelance writer who specializes in technology and digital marketing. He studied Chemical Engineering at the University of Waterloo. After finding that unfulfilling, he moved onto a career in freelance writing, while self-teaching himself web development on the side.

Connect with Dale

Review LiquidWeb & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a LiquidWeb customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more…

1 How would you rate your experience with LiquidWeb?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about LiquidWeb.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that LiquidWeb rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2019 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2019.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your LiquidWeb review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).