Add Your Review for LiquidWeb

LiquidWeb In 2018: How Would LiquidWeb Clients Review Them?

58 Reviews
Last Updated Dec 15, 2017Add your review

LiquidWeb Features

  • PHP
  • WordPress
  • Uptime Guarantee
  • MySQL
  • Perl
  • cPanel
LiquidWeb logo liquidweb.com
Location:MI, USA
Founded:1997

LiquidWeb Might Be the Perfect Web Host for You

Most hosts compete on the prices of their shared hosting plans.

LiquidWeb is different because they don't even have shared hosting plans.

Is Liquid Web's Quality Worth the Cost?

The easiest way to sum up LiquidWeb is that they try to be the best. Definitely not the cheapest, but high performance and excellent support.

This is an objective review, but most of it is positive and focuses on whether the good features are useful for your sites or not. The only real negative aspect is the higher cost than almost all other hosts.

LiquidWeb Hosting
LiquidWeb is a popular host, let's dig deeper.

Background

LiquidWeb has been around since 1997 and has had a great reputation for at least the last decade since I've used and followed them.

As of now, they have well over 32,000 customers and host over 500,000 sites. Of those sites, many belong to huge brands like The Home Depot and Motorola.

If you can afford the cost, you're unlikely to be unsatisfied with the service that you get.

No Shared Hosting: LiquidWeb Offers These Plans Instead

LiquidWeb used to offer shared web hosting but stopped in order to focus on premium hosting.

Now, there are 5 main premium hosting types that they offer, but I'd categorize them into 3 general types of hosting.

Why You Should use Managed WordPress Hosting

If you're a developer, you know that WordPress comes with some bloat out of necessity.

If site speed is important to you (which it should be), this is an issue, which is why you should look specifically for a WordPress host.

Managed WordPress Hosting generally requires very little involvement in technical terms, making it a great autonomous option.

Servers Optimized for WordPress

The most clever hosts have specifically designed servers optimized for WordPress sites so that they run faster; LiquidWeb is one of these hosts.

They say that the home pages of WordPress sites on this plan load 5-10 times faster than they do on other managed WordPress plans on other hosts.

Features to Look For

The "managed" part of the plan name refers to a variety of features, of which some are not available with other managed WordPress plans amongst the roaster of other hosts:

  • Free migrations from other hosts
  • Automatic plugin updates
  • Monitored for security issues
  • Free SSL certificates for all sites on the plan
  • Supports unlimited page views
  • Automatic image compression
  • Multiple site management tools.

LiquidWeb's site management tool is a control panel called Sync Pro.

Managed WordPress
Managed wordpress is a great perk with LiquidWeb.

It's a clean tool that is great to manage several sites. You can bag yourself a fully managed WordPress Hosting option from $59/month, with no programming knowledge required.

Cloud Sites and Cloud VPS Hosting

Not everyone wants to use WordPress.

If that's you, one of your main options is a cloud VPS (virtual private server).

Two Types of Cloud Hosting

LiquidWeb offers 2 types of managed cloud hosting.

Cloud Sites

The first is "cloud sites," which has a single plan. It's designed to let you host up to several sites, and makes it easy to install any popular CMS in a few clicks.

Creating a Website
Creation of a website in the CMS.

Those sites technically aren't on a VPS, rather they are hosted across multiple servers for maximum site uptime and scalability.

Cloud VPS Hosting

The other option is "cloud VPS hosting," which has multiple plans. The more resources you'd like, the more you pay.

As with all LiquidWeb plans, it's fully managed. Cloud VPS Hosting packages start from $59/month at LiquidWeb.

Dedicated Hosting

If your website actually needs a dedicated server, then performance is nearly always the most important factor for you.

Dedicated Hosting is generally a better option for those expecting heavy website traffic, in other words larger companies.

Dedicated Server Plan
LiquidWeb offers a stacked Dedicated Server option.

You can compare the performance of LiquidWeb's dedicated hosting plans against other hosts and LiquidWeb will almost always win in my experience.

Notable Dedicated Features

A few features of note on these plans:

  • All have Intel Xeon (E3 or E5) processors
  • Comes with free CloudFlare CDN
  • You have root access to the server.

Dedicated hosting from LiquidWeb starts with prices from $199/month.

Control Panel Options: cPanel/WHM and Plesk

Managed WordPress plans come with a custom control panel specifically designed for managing multiple WordPress sites.

For every other plan on LiquidWeb, you get a choice of using cPanel / WHM, or using Plesk.

cPanel/WHM

WHM provides more access to configuring servers, while cPanel provides access to configuring a single site on a server.

Your single WHM interface can be used to create multiple sites on your account, each of which can be managed with cPanel individually.

WHM Control Panel
WHM is not a bad looking control panel, overall. Try the demo here

Plesk

Plesk is another popular control panel, which rolls both server management and site management into a single control panel.

Plesk Control Panel
Plesk is cPanel's direct competitor. Try their demo here.

Comparison

Let's take a look at a quick comparison of Plesk and cPanel side by side:

Host/Features Interface Migration Admin Panels Cost
cPanel Slightly older but more familiarized by the masses Simple Web Host Manager (WHM) $35/month
Plesk Clean and tidy looking, slick design Simple Single log-in for users and admins $40/month

They're both solid control panels, and in most cases, it comes down to personal preferences.

6 Reasons Why LiquidWeb Is Better than Other Hosts

There are too many ways to list that LiquidWeb stands out from your average hosts, but here are the most important:

  1. Migrations
  2. Fully Managed
  3. CloudFlare CDN
  4. Simple Scaling
  5. Premium Business Email (Add-on Product)
  6. SSD Storage.

Migrations

LiquidWeb has a migration team that will migrate your sites to LiquidWeb for free. If they can't for some reason, they will support you through the process.

Fully Managed

As I've mentioned, all servers come fully managed.

They take care of everything regarding server health, like updates, security, hardware maintenance, and more.

CloudFlare CDN

More plans comes with a CloudFlare CDN to serve resources from local copies of your site even quicker.

Simple Scaling

Depending on the plan, it either takes one click to scale up to handle more traffic.

In many cases, it takes zero clicks because it is automated.

Premium Business Email

LiquidWeb provides a managed email solution. They have inexpensive plans where LiquidWeb will take care of email spam, setup, maintenance, and more.

SSD storage

All plans come a significant amount of SSD disk space.

This makes most server operations much faster than with HDDs, and in-turn makes your website(s) faster.

Heroic Support

LiquidWeb refers to their support system as "heroic support," as they try to go above and beyond normal expectations.

There are a few things I think you should know:

  1. 100% Network and Power Uptime Guarantee
  2. Available 24/7/365
  3. Techs Have 300+ Hours of Training.

Sonor Monitoring Team

LiquidWeb has a sonar monitoring team, whose entire purpose is to identify issues on customers' servers before they cause any downtime.

LiquidWeb Live Chat
Live chat with LiquidWeb in action.

These issues may be on LiquidWeb's side, or the customer's side, but it doesn't matter. They will find them and fix them whenever possible. If you're dealing with sites that generate significant revenue, the peace of mind of a proactive team like this is worth a lot.

Knowledgebae

On top of all that, LiquidWeb has a solid knowledge base.

There are hundreds of tutorials and help articles in it.

LiquidWeb Knowledgebase
Plenty of information to scoop up, created by LiquidWeb's team.

You can find just about any topic you need with a quick search.

Behind the Scenes

Migrating to a new host always seems like a pain.

It's not too hard on LiquidWeb, though, and support will help you if you get stuck.

If you're coming from WordPress in particular, it's pretty easy using the migrate to LiquidWeb plugin.

Once activated, the plugin will redirect you to a migration form in your LiquidWeb account:

LiquidWeb Migration Form
Website migration form - very simple to use.

Once you fill that out, LiquidWeb's migration team will take care of the rest, usually in 2 to 7 days.

Customer Support

I've used the live chat support many times over the years. You always get a near-instant response, and support staff is always incredibly knowledgeable and helpful. No complaints at all.

Liking This Host?

If you love the high performance that LiquidWeb offers but shared hosting fits your needs better, give SiteGround a try.

If great support is important to you, but you'd like a host with cheaper plans, InMotion Hosting is a good alternative.

Frequently Asked Questions

In addition to our lengthly FAQ at the bottom of this page, I wanted to highlight a few of my own here.

What operating systems are available?

LiquidWeb supports a wide variety of 64-bit operating systems:

  • CentOS 6 and 7
  • Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
  • Debian 7 and 8
  • Fedora 24 Server
  • Windows Server 2016 Standard.

Can you host an e-commerce site on LiquidWeb?

Yes, you can install all the most popular e-commerce open source platforms like Magento, WooComerce, and PrestaShop.

Do all sites come with SSL?

All sites on a managed WordPress plan do come with free SSL. On all other plans, you have to purchase SSL certificates separately, an additional expense to keep in mind.

Uptime and Response Time

Having monitored this data since November 2017, we are not yet able to provide averages. As of November 2017, LiquidWeb boasts 100% uptime along with an average response time of 390ms.

LiquidWeb Uptime and Response Time
Recent statistics for LiquidWeb's uptime and response time.

LiquidWeb Quick Overview

This quick overview will help you when comparing LiquidWeb to other potential hosts.

Specializations

  1. "Heroic" Support
  2. High Performance Servers
  3. Managed Servers.

Migration Policy

No specific limit. Free migration to multiple sites is offered on all plans whenever possible (migrating from cPanel or Plesk).

If their migration team can't do it for you, they will guide you through the process if you get stuck.

Quality of Support Material

Excellent.

Control Panel

Choose from WHM/cPanel or Plesk.

Available Datacenters

Three datacenters, located in Michigan, Arizona, and Amsterdam.

Money-back Guarantee Trial Period

No money-back guarantee or trial period.

Lowest Price for Shared Hosting or Other Cheapest Plans

LiquidWeb's cheapest plan is $59 per month.

Backup Policy

Free account-level backups (you can pick the schedule). Optional backup plan add-ons with advanced backup options for small monthly fee.

Site Builder Included?

No.

PCI Compliant?

Yes, LiquidWeb's support will help you make your site(s) PCI compliant on all plans.

Additionally, you can purchase an add-on scanning system which will periodically check if your sites are PCI compliant and send you a report.

Do any big brands use this host?

The Home Depot, National Geographic, FedEx, Motorola — to name a few.

Pros and Cons of LiquidWeb

Even great hosts have both positives and negatives. Let's take a look at a brief summary.

LiquidWeb Pros

  • All plans are high performance, arguably the best you can buy
  • All support team members at well-trained and always available
  • One of the only hosts with a 100% uptime guarantee.

LiquidWeb Cons

  • The price for each respective plan is relatively high
  • The knowledgebase could be organized a bit clearer.

Is LiquidWeb the Right Solution For You?

Honestly, I find it hard not to recommend LiquidWeb, the performance and support are miles ahead of most competitors.

But for your site(s) specifically, you need to determine how much performance and support you need, and what that's worth.

LiquidWeb is far from the cheapest host, so if budget is a big factor, you could be best off going with a different host.

Last updated: 2018-01-19

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I was with 2 other large web hosts before Liquid Web. Currently, I have 15 sites with them. Their value and technology got my attention and their support keeps me as a customer.

The price for what you get is reasonable, uptime is excellent, and servers are fast. Keep up the great work!

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been with Liquid Web for 3+ years, hosting 10+ websites and their service is impeccable and second to none. Their support team is awesome and are also quick to respond to requests. I use their VPS solution to host websites I design and could not be happier with their service.

 

58 Reviews of LiquidWeb By Our Users

5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Hello !! i have been a client for Liquid Web for a while now, i never had an issue of any kind , even when i needed support or issues which involve my VPS. The support is great !

fast and effective. they keep you notify with all the security patches. Thanks LW for everything ! Regards,
Nader Barakat

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've been with LiquidWeb since 2011. These guys run a masterful shop, they offer fast and reliable servers. Support is rarely even required, but the best I've experienced when needed.

Not leaving them any time soon! They're also happy to find excellent deals when you start to take up more servers. Two thumbs up.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

1. Customer support is excellent and knowledgeable 24/7.
2. They even spoke to my developer overseas and I at the same time.
3.

There's always a supervisor that can share more experience.
4. They are patient and try to help you figure out the best solution, and;
5. All of this always at the best price.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I used LiquidWeb for 3+ years and this probably has the most kindest knowledgable folks I ever encounter. They truly want to help you and do. If I could not afford RackSpace I'd choose these guys.

They do schedule down time, and this threw a few kinks in the projects I worked on when I relied on 24x7 up time. RackSpace won out for this main reason. They are more cost effective then RS.

RS has a better system and data mounting, where as LW mounts one drive as you would expect it. RS has more locations, then LW does. If you need access close to foreign county this can be an issue. If you want reliable VPS and can tolerate an hour or so a year down time, or a few minute reboots then this is not an issue and these are people to help you and make you happy.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Whenever we have new requirement to design deployment architectures, improving reliability and availability of services, storage and load balancing requirements and any issues related to networking, SSL, additional IP requirements etc. we never hesitated to post a query to the heroic team who treated us with at most enthusiasm and care in understanding our requirements and solving our business challenges with their technical expertise. They always provided us best suited solutions that are economical, quick in implementation, reliable and long lasting to suit business growth.

Truly, they are the most helpful humans in hosting. LiquidWeb rocks!

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I am using them almost more 3 Year now, Their Support is heroic, i will keep continue using them for more of my clients. excellent support and services. They are always human based chat system, easy control panel and best response time.

I will definitely recommend Liquid Web to everyone needs best hosting/server/service/support. They have all S.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

- Have a great price for their solutions. I have a dedicated server, the Xeon processors, backups, bandwith, RAM and solid state hard drives are cheap, and the OS and sotware offered are good enough.
- Good support. Their support is really heroic...
- Performance.

The best part is their first byte connection. https://www.miguelangelvargascruz.com

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

LiquidWeb is a great webhost for novice webmasters and those who wear multiple hats with webmaster only being one of them. They are always available to help and are willing to take care of the issue or walk you thru the issue so you can take care of it yourself next time.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I wrote a previous review regarding server hosting. However, I wanted to write a review of the services for web hosting and subsequent need to get a hold of people there when something we need is needed which is always NOW. And I am happy to say that the response and flexibility for allowing vendors to work on our "stuff" is remarkable.

I will always recommend service and quality over price. Thanks again folks! Ric Joyner, CEO of biblestudycompany.com

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

We've been with LiquidWeb's Managed Wordpress hosting for a few months, and it's been the most miserable experience possible. Just over the past 3 weeks, we've had 4 instances of our server going down. Our server uptime is just below 81%.

Each time we interact with customer support, they get our servers back online and tell us that they'll keep an eye on it. But they never do, the server goes down again in a few days, and it starts all over again. We can't get anyone there to take it seriously as a systemic issue.

This is the past 3 weeks, but in the first few weeks of hosting with Liquidweb, we also had a ton of issues. Support generally takes 30-45 minutes on the phone or chat (usually a 15-20 minute wait time), which isn't completely ridiculous, but we really wish they had some sort of priority support for more serious issues like server downtime.

 
3.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

LiquidWeb, for years, absolutely rocked. Believe the reviews from September 2016 and earlier as I'm sure they were accurate for the way the company was at that time. In the past few months, however, there has been a monumental change For the worse.

When I signed on with them (many years ago), any call to support was answered by a human within 30 seconds and whatever issue was being addressed would be handled in that phone call. Not so much today. Live Chat requests can take in excess of 10 minutes to be connected, call them and you get thrown immediately in to terrible music on hold.

Your time has value and sitting on hold waiting for help when you need urgent assistance is a sign that your hosting vendor thinks it's more important to pad their bottom line rather than sufficiently staffing their support center. OK - so you survive the hold and finally get someone on the line. Until recently, a call to support meant you got your issue resolved unless it was a matter serious enough to require help from a high level tech specialist.

No more. Now the staff answering the phone (for the most part) is pretty much relegated to opening a ticket and they'll get around to you when they have time - regardless of the urgency. Please understand that I'm not one to call support for every last little change.

I'm not afraid to dive in to cPanel or WHM, I read the knowlegebase, I'll research forums to get an answer before calling or opening a chat. When I ask for help - it's something that needs attention. Sadly, that help is harder and harder to obtain at this host. To further make my point that LiquidWeb isn't what it used to be - one of their shift supervisors recently admitted to me that they are absolutely overwhelmed AND I wrote the majority of this review while "holding" on a support call about a site that was down due to an action taken by the LiquidWeb staff.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

My experience with LiquidWeb was absolutely wonderful. Their setup and offering rival the best hosting companies out there. They're more than likely able to handle your needs.

Our company used them as our primary host for multiple websites that we housed on one of their Storm VPS. We had no downtime and the speeds were excellent. During the course of 3 years, we put multiple applications on our Storm VPS and it was able to always keep up.

Having now moved to a new company that uses a competitor, I realize that what separates LiquidWeb is not just its outstanding hardware, but is its customer service. They support staff were able to handle a multitude of requests from our team, always seeming to have a quick answer and friendly response from questions mundane to complicated.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I am moderately new to liquidweb. I have been sufficiently terrible to experience a few issues at an early stage, be that as it may, fortunately liquidweb determined these issues rapidly with astounding client support. I can rest guaranteed that any issues will be sorted, rapidly.

Liquidweb take consumer loyalty genuine - that is the means by which it ought to be! In the event that you have an issue, let them know, they will alter it. I wish different organizations would take this methodology.

Uptime has been extremely steady; I utilize uptime robot to screen and it lets me know my site has 99.96% uptime throughout the most recent 30 days. I'm extremely satisfied with the quality offered by liquidweb, their facilitating is exceptionally reasonable.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

We have used liquidweb dedicated servers for years. They also offer other products such as shared and cloud servers. Their support times are always fast and the managed support usually helps you with any issues you have.

You also have the option of calling in. We highly recommend using Liquid Web.

 
4.5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Best support service that i ever seen!. Good technicians and quickly responses. 100% uptime time and always fix my problems at any hour! I had two servers on LiquidWeb, one Dedicated and one in storm and since my company are with them we stop a lot of issues and problems that we had with another companies.

Really, i recomend LiquidWeb because they know what they are doing. Sorry for my english, im from Argentina.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

LiquidWeb is the zappos of webhosting. I've used dozens of hosting companies and none can compare to the level of support and caring liquidweb provides. They have been amazing working with us keeping our business website up and running smoothly.

The support staff actually knows their stuff and if they dont know they are great at finding out who would know. Ive been with liquid web for over 5 years and expect to be with them another 5.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've been using Liquid web for at least 3 years. Well, the servers are reliable, customer support is The best. Liquid Web rocks because I get immediate help when I have a tech support call, I've never waited more than two minutes to get a technician.

On top of that they're pretty fast at getting things resolved. Thank you!

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I like liquid we due to its on time support executive have great skills All customer support executive are expert and well behaved you can ask them multiple time and they provide resolution all the different way every time to make that easily understandable for non technical person So I like all the software and support services from liquid web

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Due to PCI compliance issues, I switched from my previous provider. Service was extremely important to me my previous provider seemed to forget that it is easier to hold onto existing customers rather than acquire new ones. Liquid Web fills a gap for small businesses by providing a PCI Compliance service for a nominal fee ($50.00).

To know that I can run multiple online stores with my Wordpress / Woocommerce setup and not have to worry about compliance is huge for me. It allows me to focus on what I do best. Love this company!

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Liquid Web is more expensive than other hosts, but their support is absolutely top notch. I've never had an issue with LW, and any time I have an issue, tech support responds immediately. I love the service. I love that when I have a question to ask, I'm not given a run-around...they offer options that are good for ME, even if it's not the biggest money-maker for Liquid Web.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

LiquidWeb Rocks, I am using their hosting server since 2015. They are providing maximum uptime, awesome customer service. I already hosted 5 WordPress sites.

They have large database but it is not a problem for LiquidWeb as those sites are running fantastic on LiquidWeb hosting server. I would highly recommend LiquidWeb to all.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been with LW since 2001 and in all that time I have yet to have a minutes downtime (that is on three different server over the years) and have yet to have their tech support let me down. Honestly you can't do any better no matter what service you use.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I had an impersonal experience with HostGator and because of their hidden agreement about iNodes I kept running into problems. No one ever reached out to me to help. Their customer support treated me like a number.

I was told about liquid web and so after checking them out I decided to transfer all my sites over to them. From the beginning, they eagerly took my calls. Made me feel important and even despite some challenges with Hostgator limiting my backup file size Liquid Web was totally outstanding.

Their team quickly answered my questions, even called me, and they handled all the challenges and my sites were successfully migrated over. I feel like they are family. I really love working with them. They make business fun again.

 
4.5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I would say 90% of the time LiquidWeb support rocks, but 10% of the time in support tickets I get passed between support people and the next person doesn't spend enough time to fully understand what the issue is. This can be super frustrating, but like I said it only happens 10% of the time.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

How many times have you gone to your host and asked for something, to be told "we dont cover that"? I've never heard that from Liquidweb - they do stuff that helps you, then tell you your upgraded fee, That type of stuff. The stuff that makes you want to stay with them! These Guys - These Guys Rock.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I'm a current client of LiquidWeb and all I can say is: supreme! They offer a fantastic support, even when you have some troubles that aren't hosting related. I have a VPS with them.

I was on another hosting company, and it's now something like a year ago that I switched to them, and trust me, the decision to move to Liquid Web is one of the best I made. I contacted them a lot of times, and they were always trying to help in a gently and professional way. So yes, I would strongly suggest LiquidWeb to anyone out there.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

LW is unbelievable. The only thing I wish they did more was Enterprise Email Hosting and OXOffice. I have been with LW since 2006 and have grown with LW.

I have brought so many customers to LW either directly or indirectly. The heroic support has been invaluable numerous times. I would say that that is its unique advantage and why I would never leave to go to HostGator or Codero.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I'm very happy with LiquidWeb. I was with another provider since 2005 and am moving all of my sites there. Speaking of support.

I had a few problems setting up some of my software, it was having a php resources problem. Even though the software was from a third-party, LW tech support helped me get my site up and running. It was also very easy to switch hosts. They even helped me with migration, LiquidWeb definitey Rocks!

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

After spending a decade at another provider, due to reliability issues, I moved to LiquidWeb and honestly I was very uneasy about it. It is a huge decision for our company, not a simple thing to decide upon. We pulled the trigger and I am so thankful that we did.

I absolutely have nothing but good things to say about LiquidWeb and their team of support folks (and sales). They are helping us scale a solution that fits our budget, and even helped with designing a service that allows us to grow and within our budget. We own a lot of premium one-word domain properties that have great traffic, thus the importance of choosing a good provider.

I'm not easy to please, so I had to take a minute to share this review. I'd recommend them to anyone (except my competitors (they can stay with bad hosts). ;-)

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Complete Confidence 24/7 For Over 5 Yrs
LiquidWeb has been the foundation for the confidence in my online business since Nov. 2010. They provide incredible, friendly, fast and knowledgeable support and I trust them completely. I always know my sites are up and running and help is just a quick phone call or help ticket away.

 
2.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Liquuidweb has changed over the years and we have been there for close to seven years. They are now barely training their support staff and allowing them to login to busy production servers with little or no experience. Yes, its true.

Some don't know how to SU to root, others complaint that they only have Plesk experience and will try to "figure out" your cpanel server. Ugh. The managed service is too expensive for the degraded customer service - I spend half my time trying to educate their staff or complain to unsympathetic support supervisors about the issues. Looking for an alternative to Liquidweb now.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have had a dedicate server with Liquid Web for 3 1/2 years and a VPS plan with them for 2, as well as put a few clients on the shared single plan hosting and have had a great experience with them. I can't say that i've never run into problems but they have always gone above and beyond to help figure the issue with me. We recently moved from a plesk based dedicated server to a cpanel based and while we have gotten different quotes over the years for this they wound up doing the full migration and not charging us any thing for the work that they did.

I do work with a number of clients and different servers and I really think that what sets them apart in my mind is their customer service. I have called them at least a handful of times when i've been having general problems on another host and stated that while I do have a number of accounts with them I have a more general question and they've always courteously helped me.

 
4.5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

The support is their best product. When our site was having intermittent outages that I was monitoring from a 3rd party, they did not argue the point but each time I contacted them via their live chat they investigated and finally found an issue with the server I was on. They moved my site to a new server within a few days we were up with 100% uptime at the time of this writing.

The only feature I wish they had was a scriptable FTP method of creating offsite incremental backups. The common cPanel backup that has to be manually done with shared hosting. Pricing is a little on the high side if you are just running a personal website, but I'm hosting a 501(C)(4) on it that processes memberships and dues collection and needed to have a host that will respond to the next webmaster that might not be at the same skill level.

I'm confident that the support team at LiquidWeb will be able to walk them through any issues they might have. Highly recommended!

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have had trouble with hosting my dedicated server in the past. The worst was Server Pronto where I had too much downtime and terrible support. The decision to move to Liquid Web is one of the best I made.

I have been with them for over a year now. There has been no downtime and the support is brilliant (almost heroic). I have not had to contact them many times but they have always been very helpful.

What prompted me to write this review is a particular issue both Microsoft Office 365 and GoDaddy got wrong (GoDaddy were actually rude until they realised it was there fault). I have been having trouble sending and receiving email from some recipients (not all). I have had several phone calls with Microsoft Office 365 who told me wrongly it was a temporary issue with the recipients server.

They even say it's temporary when it happens all the time to 3 addresses all the time. Luckily one of the addresses was liquid web so they could do some tests for me. They did not have to help as the problem clearly happened with other addresses too and it was not their servers fault.

Although it took a few communications with them with some partially inaccurate information given they correctly identified it was a DNS problem immediately (they did tell me I had the wrong settings for Office 365) which was not true but who's perfect. Finally one of their technicians spotted that my Dnssec settings which should have been automatically removed by GoDaddy were wrong. I can now send and receive email after being treated rudely by GoDaddy who told me Dnssec was nothing to do with it without knowing what Dnssec was (I struggled with them to look it up - then ask someone else until it was fixed). Thanks Liquid Web

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

LiquidWeb rocks. Practically most of the negative reviews are once-off issues. The culture of this company is what makes you stay.

Its a relationship of trust. Perhaps not all the newbie techs know their stuff or get it always right, but they are always Willing to help you out and will transfer you to a more senior tech. The fact that they never make you feel like your query or problem is trivial and are able to offer best effort support for things that are not even their problem is absolutely outstanding.

No other web hosting company is as nice, and I have tried a few. You will never get a "Sorry, we can't help you with this, you have to do it yourself." They will log the ticket for you everytime -- so many other hosting companies draw the line somewhere, but LW try their utmost best to do whatever they can to solve your problem in the most friendly way. They have some very competent techs who has helped us troubleshoot and resolve complex server issues.

I can't rave about them more, you guys have to try them out. They're server downtime have never given me any trouble and I have Alot of sites hosted here. So I would say alot of the negative reviews are arb cases, and we're not hearing the other side of the story, and I would recommend you guys get a taste of their support and it will be hard to go anywhere else.

They are real heros because their culture is very personal and very human. Im not saying every single time you're going to get the best experience or solution, but you can trust that you can speak to someone who will understand your problem and actually do their best to resolve it. This is real customer care and support and most of the reviews here agree to that.

We stay with them because we can count on them and these techs are Eager to help vs just sitting at their computer because they Have to do their job. Go Liquid web GO!

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been looking to move away from an unrelaible host for some time, I have been having lots of issues and I am very skeptical and cautious after my past experiences. Liquidweb have been great at answering all my questions, assistance with what I need in the move and seem to know exactly what they are talking about. Running a big company called www.seoempire.com.au and having hosting the blood of my business I cannot afford to have an unreliable host as every single one of my clients use me for hosting and down time is not an option.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

They always go above and beyond what is a normal hosting experience, I seriously seriously recommend these guys, if they keep like this, I'll be their customer forever!

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been with Liquid web for over 5 years now... prior to that I was using a number of different hosting companies due to the saving in cost... only to later find out that this was costing me a lot of money in wasted time...

so I bit the bullet and invested in the hosting and the amount of time it has saved actually talking to a competent staff is phenomenal. Highly recommend liquid web they have been an amazing member of our team.

 
4.5 stars
Support
3 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I constantly get ip blocked and wanted some support for this, the tech support will treat you like an idiot for trying to solve a problem and no real help from LiquidWeb. I had some of the best service in the past when I was a new costumer. If you need help with something i would look for someone else.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Liquidweb rocks,it isa nice hosting site. They considered my queries and handled them with support.î have recommended this site to my friends and colleages.I had nice technical experience.I would recommend this to all future domain hosters.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I used Site5.com for several VPS accounts for years and while their service is very impressive in terms of support and uptime my hosting needs simply outgrew them (they don't do dedicated servers). After a huge amount of research I opted to give Liquid web a try and set up a VPS with them about a month ago. To date the service has been phenomenal in terms of the functionality offer and the support is just out of this world, once or twice I waited maybe a little longer than a minute to get a support person on the other side but usually they are there within seconds!

What I love about the support is that they will try and solve the problem there and then and not enter into a ticket situation unless it's something pretty tricky i.e. at the start I needed my server tweaked to match my existing VPS which would take some considerable time so that went onto a ticket but on other occasions I have been online for 30-40 minutes with one of their support team fixing or addressing some issues while I set up the server initially. I have found their staff really obliging and pretty friendly while doing their job which is always nice!

In fact one guy stayed with me for almost 2hrs working on an issue which turned out to be a conflict between a script and the php version on the server - All their staff show really amazing patience in fact. My account dashboard is simply put, the most amazing thing I have ever seen in over 8 years of web hosting, you can add firewalls, load balancers, extra storage and most impressively upgrade/downgrade your server on the fly, choose a server, and literally with a few clicks you have a brand new server - I have tried this out 3 times so far to see how well it works and it's a dream if you want to grow your hosting business. So one month in and I am blown away by them as a company and thought they deserved a review for the great help in setting up my server for me. In summary, I cannot recommend them highly enough – We are based in Ireland we have no relationship or affiliation with them other than as a very happy new customer.

 
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I loved all the feature they offered but when I need the support was incredible slow and they actually act like the don't care. I asked why my site it wasn't showing when I was partially working on it and suddenly stop, they said about the DNS and after the change I still having problems to see my content. They claimed to be heroic support but that is FAR from what they really are.

If you need to move Your Site right away and need to act fast, They cant do it. You will lose your time!

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been a customer of liquid Web since April and in that time our server has had many challenges for our own reasons what I can tell you about their service is that they go far beyond any other company that I have ever had host our servers which we have had hosted with other providers for the last 15 years we would never ever consider changing back to any other provider. The support team liquid Web is courteous polite thoughtful expedient and they always do the very best they possibly can. Their service and support has been invaluable to our organization. We could never give them enough praise !

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've been a customer with them for more than 5 years now and have 3 dedicated hosting accounts with them. It has been till this past month where I've had the worst experience anyone could ever have for one of my dedicated servers. Last month, requested an upgrade of a hard disk from 250GB to 1TB, to do that they took down my site for 12 hours the first time and couldn't complete it so I had to cancel the process.

Second attempt, again another 12 hours downtime and then only did it get done! And I find out online that it should have never taken so long in the first place. Then this past week, the new hard disk starts acting weird.

I am not able to upload / write files, unable to access emails, etc. I have to keep restarting the server to get things working and while I raise tickets over the course of 3 problematic days, they're unable to find the issue. It is only on the 4th day that I highlight something which leads them to figure it could be a corrupt filesystem.

After 10+ hours of downtime and still counting at the time of writing this review, my server's still down as they're unable to fix the hard disk or replace it with another one. It's been a really bad month of multiple downtimes and bad service overall. Unfortunately, I will be looking to shift from their services as soon as I get my server back up.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I own a webhosting company called Cheshire Web Hosters, and I have been a client since April and am very satisfied. When I originally signed up and provisioned a server I called technical support so they could help me setup and migrate everything. To my surprise their horoic support was amazing.

I have never had so good customer support from a hosting company. The technician (Christopher) stayed with me for 8 hours until everything was completely functioning and setup. He even went to the extent of setting up my SSL for my server and client area!

Amazing company. I would recommend them to anyone looking for awesome server hosting. I will be getting a tour in June of their facility also.

Its more expensive than some companies but its definitely worth it. Oh and I have had 0 down time also. I will do another review in 6 months.

 
4 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

After reading all of the review here...I decided to dive into Liquid Web for our hosting needs. We are a Michigan based MSP and we have several small and medium size businesses who also needed web hosting and email hosting. None of us were solely web techs by trade, but we dabbled...sorry to say it wasn't enough.

Our customers also had some onsite IT in addition to us...but many do not. Since I do not have many employees, I needed to find a hosting solution that worked with our budget and quality demands for the level of support that we provide our customers. Liquid web appeared to be the answer.

I started a few servers for some of our basic customers. What i found afterwards...i will never regret. I don't know how I can ever run my hosting without them now.

Top notch customer service...I've had issues with DNS and connectivity before....but most ended up being due to my technicians adding an incorrect address for A records or misconfiguration of the firewall. Each time, the technicians were very prompt, helpful, and understanding. I don't believe any issue ever took more than a few hours to resolve.

As for the review by Mr. Jones (Respectfully) , I have never experienced any of the issues he has portrayed....I decided to investigate who he may have switched to and see if they would have any better reviews or better hosting packages, but it appears he is a competitor who hosts himself? NS1.Digitalshieldhosting.COM

but he doesn't appear to have a complete website either? Regardless, I am very happy with my service and it works great for me.

 
3.5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

We've had LW for 4 years for a VPS to host our client web sites using Lamp. LW was good at first, especially because we could get someone on tech support quickly and in the US (you pay for that but that is worth it.) However, they have been slipping and disappointing in the last 6 months. Their "Storm Servers" have proven to be a step backwards in reliability from when we started with a smart server.

In the last 2 months, we are seeing server reboots about every week if not more, w/o any valid explanations, debugging or solution. They initially convinced us we needed to move to a larger capacity VPS, so we did (cost more) and if anything the problem has become worse since then (2 months.) Sounds like we got conned by a salesman who doesn't understand the technical issues plaguing their data center. We are down again today. 48 hours since our last server crash.

Waiting on tech support to pick up the phone after 15 min still. Going to ask for money back this time as it is affecting our business.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I went in Liquid Web just a month and I feel that is the best company that I saw in my hosting life, they give the best heroic support that I saw, the services are really functional, the value may be big but I think it will be worth. Thank you Liquid Web!

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been a loyal customer since 2001 and I have now been down for 6 days and in just a few hours 7 days. I am still not up but also been lied to about things that said were done and was not. If have been patient and supportive as things happen until today.

Today I was lied to numerous times. If you can't be heroic then be honest. I have listened to my clients yell and watched a combined loss of business for them of over $185,000 per day in online sales and fielded all the calls 24 hours per day.

This is getting crazy! No longer a loyal fan or customer of Liquid Web after all these years of having dedicated and shared hosting accounts with you. I have referred dozens of people to you who I know are customers to this day. I hope the lies are worth it as this will cost you greatly as it has cost me.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Liquid web is a great hosting company i have dedicated hosting with them and i never want to change them great support and facility.

 

Most Popular LiquidWeb Hosting Plans

HIPAA Dedicated Server 1 GB VPS 2 GB VPS
Disk Space 2TB 50GB 100GB
Bandwidth 5TB 5000GB 5000GB
Price $338.84/mo $50.00/mo $59.00/mo
View Plan View Plan View Plan

All LiquidWeb Hosting Plans

Hosting Plan Features Disk Space Bandwidth Price
HIPAA Dedicated Server Dedicated
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • .NET Framework
  • DirectAdmin
  • Windows 2008
  • Windows 2003
2TB 5TB $338.84/month
Usual price:
1 GB VPS Cloud
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Fedora
  • Anonymous FTP
  • Ubuntu
  • Debian
50GB 5000GB $50.00/month
Usual price:
2 GB VPS Cloud
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Fedora
  • Anonymous FTP
  • Ubuntu
  • Debian
100GB 5000GB $59.00/month
Usual price:
E3-1240 Dedicated Server Dedicated
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • .NET Framework
  • DirectAdmin
  • Windows 2008
  • Windows 2003
2TB 5TB $159.00/month
Usual price:
Colocation Cloud
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Shell Access
  • Dedicated IP
  • Uptime Guarantee
  • Colocation
5TB $150.00/month
Usual price:
Personal Managed WordPress Cloud
  • WordPress
  • Uptime Guarantee
  • Wire Transfer
  • Money Order
  • Cerberus
  • SeaMonkey
100GB Unlimited $89.00/month
Usual price:
Professional Managed WordPress Cloud
  • WordPress
  • Uptime Guarantee
  • Wire Transfer
  • Money Order
  • Cerberus
  • SeaMonkey
150GB Unlimited $149.00/month
Usual price:
Windows VPS Cloud
  • ASP
  • ASP.NET
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • .NET Framework
  • Plesk
100GB 5TB $99.00/month
Usual price:

LiquidWeb Frequently Asked Questions

  • Does LiquidWeb offer Windows or Linux hosting services?

    LiquidWeb offers both Windows and Linux hosting services on their dedicated server plans.

  • Does LiquidWeb have Virtual Private Servers (VPS)?

    Yes, and they all feature SSD storage for the best performance as well as different specs that are designed to fit your computing needs.

  • Do they offer domain registration? What about a free domain?

    You can get a free domain when you select their dedicated server plan. Additional domains can be purchased from the account management interface.

  • What payment options does LiquidWeb offer?

    For payment options, you have the choice of using credit cards and PayPal. Each plan is paid month to month.

  • Do they have a money back guarantee?

    They don’t offer a money back guarantee, however, with most of their cloud hosting plans you will get a prorated refund if you cancel a server.

  • Do they offer phone support? What language is their customer support available in?

    The company offers 24 x 7 support by phone, chat, and through a support system which can be found on their website. English is the only available language from the support team.

  • Where is LiquidWeb located?

    LiquidWeb is based out of Lansing, Michigan. They have four datacenters in the USA, three of which are located in Michigan and one in Phoenix, Arizona. The have a European datacenter is located in Amsterdam.

  • What programming languages are supported?

    LiquidWeb offers support for most programming languages, including ASP, ASP.NET, PHP, Perl, and Ruby on Rails.

  • Can they help with transferring an existing website?

    LiquidWeb offers an included site migration service to make new customer transfers as simple and painless as possible. This includes migrating WordPress, Joomla, Magento, and Drupal websites.

  • Can I host more than one domain on a single hosting account?

    Customers can host as many domains as they need to on their shared web hosting offerings.

  • Does LiquidWeb include any software so that I can easily build a website?

    While there are no wizards or software for building sites, they do offer easy access to several software platforms that make it easy to build a site such as Wordpress and Joomla.

  • Is LiquidWeb suitable for an ecommerce website?

    Yes, ecommerce websites are well supported and have access to features such as multiple payment gateways, coupon and gift certificate support, inventory stock control, full-customization, multi-currency/multi-lingual support, SSL, and more.

  • Could I host an image-heavy site on their services? What about video streaming?

    Image intensive sites and media streaming are not a problem as long as you stay within your bandwidth and space purchased.

  • Do they provide a control panel?

    Yes. cPanel and Plesk are the web hosting control panels of choice, depending on whether you are hosting on a Windows-based product or Linux-based product.

  • Do they have an uptime guarantee?

    The company maintains a 100% uptime guarantee and backs it up with service credits.

  • Is there anything special about LiquidWeb's hosting plans?

    LiquidWeb offers a variety of features with each of their hosting plans.

    They include comprehensive security service that protects systems from a variety of security issues, CDN services, DDoS protection, and Sonar Monitoring which ensures your server's optimal performance through early detection of problems.

  • What is LiquidWeb's backup policy?

    The company offers local backup with flexible scheduling on each plan.

    Full server backups on a daily basis are available as a paid add-on for each hosting plan and come with more features such as multiple layers of protection, painless recovery options, encryption, and off-site backups.

  • Do they offer an affiliate program?

    LiquidWeb offers an affiliate program with generous one-time commissions and monthly recurring commissions for dedicated servers. The affiliate program is very straightforward, and they pay affiliates based on the account types they refer.

Who Are The Most Popular LiquidWeb Alternatives?

Overall 4.5 stars
Support
4.5 stars
Features
4.5 stars
Uptime
4.5 stars
Value
4.5 stars
Visit LiquidWeb
Overall3.5 stars

Price Comparison

LiquidWeb$50.00
Interserver$4.50
Knownhost$23.75
Servint$49.00
Atlantic.net$9.93
Media Temple$20.00

WhoIsHostingThis Recommends

5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4.5 stars

Pros: 24/7 Customer Service , WordPress Experts

Cons: No Windows hosting plans

SiteGround is an established web host managing well over 1,000 servers and... Read more about SiteGround

Visit host
3.5 stars
Support
3.5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
3.5 stars
Value
3.5 stars

Pros: Free Domain , Unlimited Bandwidth

Bluehost provides customers with low-cost shared hosting, as well as reseller, VPS... Read more about BlueHost

Visit host

3. iPage

4 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
4 stars

Pros: Instant Activation , Money-back Guarantee

Based in the US, iPage specialises in low-cost shared hosting. Each plan... Read more about iPage

Visit host

Review LiquidWeb & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a LiquidWeb customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more...

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about LiquidWeb.
Please be specific: we're only interested in hearing that LiquidWeb rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

(We hate spam - see our privacy policy)