Add Your Review for MyHosting

MyHosting In 2018: What Do MyHosting Client Reviews Say?

148 Reviews
Last Updated Mar 13, 2018Add your review

MyHosting Features

  • Shared Hosting
myhosting.com
Location:Canada
Founded:1997
Pros:
  • Money Back Guarantee
  • Linux & Windows VPS
  • Build Your Own VPS
  • Joomla/Drupal/WordPress Support
Cons:
  • Discount on first term only

MyHosting Introduction

MyHosting is a Canadian web hosting company which has been providing website hosting services since 1997. It claims to have 50,000 customers in more than 170 countries.

MyHosting is owned by SoftCom Inc, a private company based in Toronto. This parent company also owns Mail2web, a webmail service. Turker Sokullu is co-founder of both SoftCom and MyHosting.

Unlike many low-cost hosts, MyHosting pushes business hosting at the forefront of its portfolio. It offers shared hosting, email-only hosting, domain names, VPS services, and a range of paid and complimentary services that are largely business-focused, such as marketing and apps.

MyHosting Hosting Plans

MyHosting offers a very comprehensive range of website hosting packages, and the website is overflowing with technical details. In the interests of brevity, we'll just look at the basics.

  • Web Hosting packages are split into three plans: Personal Website, Business Hosting and eCommerce hosting. Personal is the most basic plan and is a Linux-only service. Business Hosting is unusual in that users get access to both Windows and Linux servers on the same plan, making it ideal for companies that work cross-platform. Finally, eCommerce Hosting is the same as the Business Hosting plan but includes ecommerce-specific tools, such as shopping carts, your own SSL certificate and optional extra bolt-ons to make your store run smoothly.
  • In the VPS section, MyHosting offers a range of plans: Custom VPS, Developer VPS, Business VPS and Reseller VPS. The first two are available on Hyper-V cloud Windows or Linux (the latter with cPanel), whereas Business VPS is split into Linux with Plesk or Windows SharePoint Services cloud hosting. In the Reseller section, users can choose Linux with cPanel or Hyper-V cloud Windows Reseller plans. Be careful when selecting a Linux plan: cPanel and Plesk are chargeable on some of them.
  • MyHosting surprisingly doesn't appear to provide dedicated hosting, but it does offer email hosting, SharePoint hosting and Hosted Exchange.

MyHosting Uptime/Downtime

MyHosting says it offers a 100% uptime guarantee. While this doesn't necessarily mean that your website won't go down, it does ensure you'll get a day's free credit for every hour the service is unavailable. The information on service pages conflicts with this and promises 99.9% network uptime. It's not clear which is true, but it could have an impact on the compensation you receive if you have problems.

Unlike smaller hosts, MyHosting is very forthcoming about its datacenters. It uses two third-party facilities: one in Toronto and one in New York. All datacenters have quad-core Dell servers installed with 16GB RAM and NetApp storage. Buildings are controlled by key card entry, security guards and CCTV, and the network is protected by multiple firewalls, security alerts, scanners, and 24-hour systems monitoring by staff.

In addition, the facilities make use of diesel power generators and UPS boxes, HVAC cooling and environmentally-friendly fire protection which is specifically chosen to reduce the risk of damaging hardware if they are used.

MyHosting Support

Technical support is available 24/7, all year round. Support is provided by phone, email and live chat at no extra cost to customers.

Help and support is provided through a huge portal. From one page, you can access your account details, contact tech support, discuss issues in communities, read FAQs, check server status pages, read the Wiki, submit suggestions and access the MyHosting blog. I found that technical and help information was very detailed and more than adequate for advanced users.

MyHosting Control Panel

VPS hosting can be purchased with cPanel or Plesk control panels. Shared hosting plans use a proprietary system that integrates your account, hosting, and domain management all in one. This is also available for VPS hosting plans.

MyHosting Extras

As with the rest of MyHosting's service provision, the range of extra benefits it offers is very detailed and complex.

  • On shared hosting plans, you'll get a free domain name, free Outlook email, $25 in Google Adwords, $25 in Bing/Yahoo! Advertising, ecommerce add-ons, one-click installers and a site builder.
  • The Business Hosting plan ups the advertising to a $50 voucher for each site, and the eCommerce plan tops this up to $75 for each site plus specific ecommerce perks.
  • One-click installers include WordPress, Joomla, Drupal, Magento ecommerce, phpBB and so on.
  • There are no obvious free incentives with VPS plans.

MyHosting Money Back Guarantee / Cancellation Policy

MyHosting offers a 30-day money back guarantee to clients who pay annually in return for a quick email. Refunds exclude things like domain names, penalties for exceeding your allocation and penalties for exceeding bandwidth limits.

The money-back guarantee is not available to plans when the customer is paying monthly, nor when a customer has cancelled their account within 90 days previous to a new claim.

MyHosting does not offer refunds once you're into your contract term. If you're unhappy and want to leave, you're not entitled to any money back.

MyHosting Summary

The first impression of MyHosting is that it's a solid choice for business and highly technical use. The company has enough plans to cover most business needs, although anyone without prior technical knowledge may find that the sheer amount of technical detail on the site is more than they need to know.

If you're ready to make the leap from a basic host to a more comprehensive one, MyHosting could be a good option. The money-back policy doesn't seem to be particularly friendly, forcing users to pay full-term for a service they may wish to leave. Other hosts will allow the term to be cancelled in return for a refund, so this is a potential downside if you're hesitant about going ahead.

Last updated: 2018-05-07

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Screenshot of http://drthom.net
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I must honestly say that a few years ago myhosting.com support was a big Zero. Now they have truly gone from zero to Hero. I had many things that needed to be done on multiple domains while some other domains needed very specific changes or corrections.

Do all these things and dealing with multiple domains involved just about every department and was daunting just to try to explain it. Myhosting.com not only handled it effortlessly, they were handling it all so fast that I became the weak link trying to keep up! From zero to Hero would be an understatement and I and others I know who use myhosting.com, never had any down time Ever! Grade: A+++

Thom

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've been through approximately 6 different hosting providers in the last 10 years. I finally landed on MyHosting 2 years ago, whilst searching for a provider that offered VPN options regarding virtual resources. I was hooked the moment I saw the level of customization to allotted resources (cpu's, ram, hdd, and the most important - bandwidth) - no other provider offers the level of control they do.

And that doesn't even begin to explain how incredibly satisfied I am with them. I am a do-it-[my]self kind of guy, always have been. And whenever I encounter an issue, that I simply cannot resolve using PuTTy SSH terminal, I open a ticket, and the staff resolve it in a matter of 24-48 hours.

I've never had to wait longer than that; they are always quick to respond, and if the staff personnel cannot resolve it, they immediately escalate to a higher tier of support. It gives me an incredible amount of confidence, which is important with a web host - to know that even if you completely screw up your virtual container, you still have help - just a ticket submission away. It adds reliability to the services I offer using my hosting plan, knowing that I can rely on my host means my customers can rely upon me.

One of the best things about MyHosting, isn't the 100% uptime (in 2 years I've never had a loss of service), or the superb security systems in place (my last host provider got hacked, and over 1000 people lost their website data) preventing hackers from tampering, or even the android app that lets me monitor my systems and subscriptions at all times from my phone, or even the grace period when it's a hard month and I can't quite afford the bill yet, or the stellar support they offer... The best thing about them, in my opinion, is how they allow you to adjust your VPS resources at ANY time. It's simply perfect.

When you run a business on the internet, you know that sometimes you don't need 32GB of ram. Sometimes, you just need 6. Other times you need more bandwidth, and rather than lose traffic, you can just adjust a gui slider and get the bandwidth you need, at incredibly affordable rates.

It's exactly the level of control I need, combined with exactly the level of quality I expect for my money. Unless they change their entire business, I don't see why I would ever go to any other hosting provider, ever. I love MyHosting, and I'm a customer for life.

And I mean every single word that I've written here. They are fantastic. They are a programmers dream come true.

 

148 Reviews of MyHosting By Our Users

Screenshot of http://todd.cn
3 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been with Myhosting for about 15 years but in recent years the customer support has been very poor and slow to respond. E.g. one of my domains is up for renewal on April 1st 2017 and I responded to a reminder by asking for the costs and where to renew.

I got an automated reply and that was it for a day before asking for a reply to my email - I also tweeted them. The reply eventually came a day later saying they had `escalated' the issue to accounts. It was at this stage I decided to move my domain to another host.

My new host is brilliant but Myhosting seemed unable to grasp simple concepts such as updating DNS etc. My advice is that they are cheap but there interface needs bring up to 21st century standards.

 
Screenshot of http://creekbed.org
2.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Been with them since the early years when things ran more smoothly. Service has declined over the past four years and customer service has always been problematic. If only they'd tell the truth when you call and admit that the problem is on their side.

Instead they try to send you on wild goose chases as a delay tactic. I'm just a hobbyist and will probably stick with them, hoping the pendulum swings back the other way. If I were in business I'd look somewhere else.

 
Screenshot of http://www.complete.ca
4.5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I am new to cPanel /WHM. The support techs at MyHosting.com are quick to respond to my questions and quick to fix my issues. I have used other hosting services and I find MyHosting.com support to be better than a lot of others.

 
Screenshot of http://xemmex.com
4.5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Good hosting service provider, helpful support and cheap price. But... do not use their Windows 2003 VPS... it is really bad. Use their new 2012 Windows Server instead!

 
Screenshot of http://visualsociology.org
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I'm very happy with MyHosting.com. I wish I was a little more prepared for setting up a VPS. It's something that only experience can teach me.

I pretty much ignored the tutorials that were recommended. When there's an issue, I pretty much exhaust everything I can do before bringing in support - which I've done twice. Each time, support was great about confirming my concern and working on finding the problem.

They're a little quick to blame CMS installations. But I suspect they see a lot of problems cause by bad code. For me, I knew I needed to move on from shared hosting environments.

Managing a VPS is a bit tricky. No complaints, though. MyHosting's uptime is great.

Outside of my self-produced problems, I think their servers have been up 99.9% of the time. (I use a 3rd party monitoring service.) I would recommend MyHosting.com. I wouldn't recommend VPS to my friends, though. Not unless they are ready to work outside their comfort zone a lot.

 
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've been with myhosting.com for nearly 6 years now; the first four as a shared hosting client. At first the service and quality were generally good. Over the past few years both have deteriorated significantly, and the service itself has been left behind by hosting companies that offer far more compelling packages.

Myhosting still has an older version of PHP 5.x installed on their shared hosting servers. They don't offer cpanel access either. I'm now with a host that offers PHP version selection and cpanel, all on a shared hosting plan.

The support is also awful now. I believe the company was bought in 2013, and at that point they outsourced their support. They pick up the phone quickly, but they really have no idea how to help you.

They always have to escalate to upper level support, which usually leads to no resolution. What's most frustrating is that every single time you call the entire process starts again. Even the simplest problems can take well over a week to fix.

This is simply unacceptable. At this point, the only recommendation I can make about Myhosting.com is to stay very far away.

 
3.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Technical support has recently changed to India and they don't know anything about their own service. I cannot get answers to simple question without wasting hours with them. Every issue just gets a ticket that never resolves. Myhosting used to have great support but it should be avoided at all costs now.

 
Screenshot of http://technoracle.blogspot.com
3 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Without Prejudice, I used myHosting.com for a year. The time I used them was not bad however I sent them a clear "Please cancel" email on July 20, 2013. I subsequently converted with several people at the company who were aware I had cancelled.

They secretly billed me for an extra year claiming I had not completed the cancellation by filling out some form (through my admin panel which of course I could not access since my account was canceled). I had several phone calls with them and explained the situation. The CRM staff were rude, unhelpful and generally would not reverse the extra year of billing.

In my unbiased opinion, this company should be avoided at all costs until such time as they can rectify their customer service problems. I would Highly Recommend Avoiding MyHosting.com and using a more reputable hosting provider instead. It is a shame given they are so close to being a good company.

 
Screenshot of angiesdiary.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Most of the time the service is quick and to the point. I learned never to ask more than one question at a time, as this can create serious misunderstandings resulting in frustration on both sides. Overall score: Excellent

 
Screenshot of www.ricardosaracino.com
3 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have tried to renew my domain with them and have sent several tickets as to them not being able to accept payment through paypal correctly. They don't have a phone number to call. When my domain expired a could not register with another company and they removed all dns resolution so my business email would not go through. Really just a faceless company out to take money and hold my domain hostage

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've been a customer for several years and I have been amazed at the value I get with MyHosting. The up time has been pretty much at 100% and support has been right on top of any issue I have. My support calls are answered by a real live person and all issues are handled promptly.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been monitoring our domains' uptime and for the last 3 months it has been 100%. We have never noticed that any of our domains were down before that. Customer support is friendly and fixes problems within an hour any time night or day.

The features MyHosting.com offers are top of the line, I wouldn't host my sites anywhere else! Thanks MyHosting.com!

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

It's really great to have a vps hosting with myhosting.com. I first choose it for my website www.paperjobsads.com and after 1 year of good service, I recommend it to my client who is hosting his site easa.UK.com on it now. And we all are satisfied with it now.

 
Screenshot of http://allegra.ca
4 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

"It just works" overall. That's a good thing. We switched our site from Windows-based to a Unix-based WordPress site. Sometimes we've found the access/response times a little slow, but we haven't really encountered out-and-out "down time." (That's a good thing.)

 
Screenshot of ben@benbrink.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been a customer for about a decade. The company's phone and (especially) chat support is outstanding. I recently changed platforms with them--the move was accomplished quickly with superb help from their technical staff.

 
Screenshot of angiesdiary.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Courteous support team. Some of them very knowledgeable. Rarely say nonsense (although it does happen)
Sometimes I need to repeat my issue several times, using the same wording, before it is understood.

Overall good experience. Sincerely,
Bart

 
Screenshot of www.colettelafia.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great support, responsive customer service, solution-oriented, and dependable. I would recommend this company to anyone seeking a resourceful, dependable, and service-oriented Web Hosting company.

 
Screenshot of www.calgary-bahai.org
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

In April 2013, when the "Global WordPress Attack" was happening, MyHosting sent an email alerting us to the issue. They then also temporarily locked down WordPress sites so that the attack could not succeed. In all this, they kept us informed with detailed emails. I definitely recommend MyHosting, for their professional and capable support and system administration.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Since we established our company in 2005 we hosted our website with several hosting companies starting with GoDdaddy, iWeb, BlueHost, HostGator, Knownhost, Linode and ending with iPage. Starting February, 7 2014 we moved to MyHosing.com, since this time we experienced the real meaning of business hosting. they care about every thing and provides a really guru support team.

I have to mention that among all companies we have hosted with, we experienced the real meaning of support with myHosing and KnownHost. They never told us, we can not. although I have to mention that linode has a great support too.

MyHosting.com gives you the real word of cost-effective-hosting. speed, cost, support, all these make myhosting company a place where we are proud to host our website with. as a little thank you, we published a post about its services at my website at http://egyfirst.com/egyfirst-com-migratd-to-myhosting-com/
Thank you, We are looking for long business relationship with you.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I believe MyHosting rocks because the support team is always willing to go out of their ways to help and provide an outstanding service. I am more than satisfied by the quality of their service and hope to remain a client for as long as I'm alive!

 
4.5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

MyHosting always has real people assisting you at all times, and it only takes a second to get in contact with someone. In case of an attack, they shut down your server for safety. They are some of the cheapest around, with really good service. I do recommend them.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

The only thing I'd wished I have known is not to reboot my VPS via command line! Haha
Other than that, I'm very happy with the services so far. Not only was setup fast, quick, and easy to do, but everything you'd ever need is right in front of you!

The ops/support team handled my issue quickly and politely, you simply couldn't ask for me :)
With a knowledgeable team, I'd say that the customer really doesn't need much of any techskills. They seem to be good at what they do. I can't comment further on this because I have the techskill I need to administrate a VPS.

MyHosting.com have handled my 2 issues politely and with plenty of patience. My first issue was that I couldn't find the root access details, after completely scouring the Control Panel and the Webmin - it turns out they were right in front of me on the Home page! The operator at the time, Kyle, was very patient and directed me to exactly where I needed to be. This host is suited to all kinds of customers, a musician could benefit from MyHosting.com as could a corporate business

I would definitely, and already have, recommend MyHosting.com to anyway - even if they don't need it!

 
Screenshot of sst-sa.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

the people at myHosting were very supportive while starting up my semi dedicated server, I was really have no knowledge in starting up the server, but the guys were very helpful in getting it up and running in very short time, since then it has been a year without any downtime

MyHosting rocks

cheers

 
Screenshot of www.bluesarthouse.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been extremely happy with my hosting service at MyHosting.com. I'm new at managing a Virtual Private Server and have had to call tech support with many questions. They have always been very helpful and courteous and never make me feel stupid.

I've learned so much! Thank you MyHosting.com!

 
Screenshot of www.natalieportman.com
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

We (NataliePortman.com) have had a dedicated physical server at The Planet (now Softlayer) for years and years but decided to give MyHosting a chance with a VPS (tuned to the max). It was cheap and the server itself was fast to respond on http. But the pros ended there.

The server is forced to their domain which makes hardening impossible. They have no self service through their portal - twice I had to reboot the server and had to submit a ticket and wait for their support staff which took as long as two hours to respond, during that time our site was down. Then they had an emergency maintenance and the "heads up" was so poorly written it got stuck in the spam filter.

So after having more downtime in one week at MyHosting than we had in years at Softlayer we went back. And that's when the next disappointment hit us - since I had apparently used a campaign code to sign up to the service I had forfitted my right to the money back guarantee as promised on their splash page. Really disappointed at the low service they offer.

//Kris

 
Screenshot of http://eachwaysniper.com
3 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Myhosting support sucks!! It takes them 10 hours to reply to a simple email. They never deal with the issue the first time, you usually have to contact live chat / email 3 times before they acknowledge there is a problem meaning it can take 24 hours to get a simple problem solved.

If you need support (e.g. when you website goes down), avoid this outfit like the plague.

 
Screenshot of cantrell.ca
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I am currently working in France with a 6 hour time difference relative to Toronto. I get excellent phone support from MyHosting.com at 9:00 am my time which is 3:00 am Toronto time. For me, this 24/7 support is extremely important. I have recommended MyHosting.com for several customers and friends.

 
Screenshot of www.reidvansante.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

No frills, no nonsense web hosting at it's best. You are the first company I hosted with, for more than a decade, and I have no reason to jump ship!

 
Screenshot of http://www.midtownassistancectr.org
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

My Hosting has been so easy to work with! They take pride in their customer service and it shows when you have a problem you need resolved. I love how they summarize your problem and solution in an email.

It is great way to reference solutions. I feel very good about recommending them.

 
Screenshot of www.javieryanez.ca
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

If you choose myhosting.com you will have peace of mind and will never be left alone
Myhosting.com is reliable, they are available 24/7 365, and most important you deal with real people and know who they are, they don't hide, they provide, names, numbers, addresses. Great value!!!!

 
Screenshot of pizzazzweb.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

MyHosting.com is great, the pricing I saw on the site were good. The reviews were mostly on the positive side. So I decided to give them a try.

I'm glad I did. I have worked with several hosting companies over the years either for my own needs or on behalf of clients. The experience has not normally been a positive one, do the research, figure out the options then call tech support.

Talk with someone who says they will escalate the issue and someone will get back with you. Then you wait hours or probably a day or two for someone who does not comprehend the problem to get back to you. Or worse sends you an email explaining that it is not their problem and thanks you for your business.

Not the case with MyHosting. I ordered a VPS package, price was right. Got the notice a few hours later that it was set up and logged in.

Did some checking and realized that it did not have zend guard loader or ionCube PHP Loader installed. I started preparing to install them and thought I should call tech support and make sure doing so was not going to be their excuse for not supporting me in the future, yelp been burnt by that before. Saw the live chat button clicked on it and the tech answered within about a minute.

I explained what I wanted to do and why. The tech answered back with "I understand and if it is ok I can do that for you and send an email when it is done". I had to read that a couple of times before it sunk in.

Called the next day about an issue with the configuration that was causing a problem with a site I was putting on the server. Same response, "I'll do that and let you know when it's done." Two issues and both taken care of right away with no hassle or escalation promise. I've gotten really long winded here because it is great to finally have a hosting company and support staff that actually supports their customers.

Will I recommend to a friend/client YES. Was the support good? No it was fantastic.

Based on my experience I would recommend them for any level of hosting requirement. Single site shared hosting to large scale VPS requirements I am confident they can handle it. Prices are good and the support is great.

 
Screenshot of Borealiscats.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Very good value, easy to edit my website, and good service when things go wrong. Love the simple and straightforward way I can put up and edit my site. Thank you for a good service.

 
Screenshot of http://www.nwinds.com
4.5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

We have been using myhosting.com for about three years. Due to our lack of experience working with servers, it was a little rough getting started. The phone support is always curtious and somewhat helpful.

We found if you need advanced support the email support is the way to go. These guy are great. They will bend over backwards to help a neophite like me get to where we need to be to make money. These guys are great

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Almost all of the better hosting companies have comparable features and functionality offerings. Pricing can make a difference also, and I think MyHosting.com compares favorably, but there is one thing that separates MyHostng.com from the crowd, and that is - customer service and support (okay, maybe that's 2). MyHosting.com is incredibly dedicated to resolving issues, providing responsive feedback and seeing any problem through to resolution in just the quickest manner possible.

The technical ability of the staff at all levels, from front line contacts to back-end wizards, is better than any I have come across in the business. I have been a software developer since 1974, I know when people are capable. The staff at MyHosting are extremely capable!

 
Screenshot of http://www.capsulecomputers.com.au
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

MyHosting's services is fantastic, their support and customer service is always friend and willing and able to assist as best they can. The professional services team John and Daryl. and the great team there were fantastic with helping us transition from our old hosting provider to My Hosting without ANY problems or issues what so ever and after the transition they were able to support and assist with any support / technical issues we had to iron.

The entire experience was fantastic and we would highly recommend MyHosting to any one we know or speak to. Great service and friendly and knowledgeable staff and issues resolved in a reasonable amount of time.

 
Screenshot of www.lumiere.pro
4.5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Very good and courteous helpdesk. Always a very quick response. I would certainly recommend Myhosting.com to others.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

My early experience with MyHosting was absolutely horrible. You went through a period of upgrades/maintenance on almost a weekly basis that brought constant weekend downtime to my Game Server which just happens to be my peak usage time. Eventually this practice stopped and I was compensated for one month of VPS service and I became a happy customer.

Tech support and phone answer time have always been excellent and the fact that you monitor your social media channels (Facebook, Twitter and Google+) is awesome! I canceled my service simply because my project was over but will certainly return when the next project arises. At this point I leave you for now with the opinion that you guys rock!

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

These guys are a joke. After 4 days of trying to get a simple WordPress site up on a static IP address, I've given up. Their frontline support that's available via the phone isn't technical, and can't grasp what the actual problem is, and their more advanced support isn't available by phone, only email and they don't seem to be interested in solving the problem, but rather send me inaccurate diagnoses and things to do that clearly won't (and don't even after I appease them by doing) solve the problem.

 
2.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

MyHosting.com has been hosting our small club website for about 3 years now. It's a WordPress site with public and members-only content. At least 3 times in the past 6 months MyHosting.com has edited our .htaccess file to forbid access to the login page.

They did this without notice and without permission, and when confronted with their actions offered no apology and no explanation-- just an offer to put a note on our file so that it wouldn't happen again. Their control panel is confusing and annoying. Their help documents are scant and out of date.

Their phone help is offshore, incomprehensible and unable to fix anything. And their shared hosting is insanely slow. Despite the pain of moving a site, that's precisely what we'll be doing-- far away from MyHosting.com.

 
Screenshot of conceptsfortheuniverse.net
5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I'm an ordinary mildly technical business entrepreneur who has been a year subscribed with MyHosting. I have been hacked twice and discovered my SSL certificate was installed wrong. I have had some precipitous and useless answers from some very ordinary support technicians.

And yet, I plan to renew with this company and can honestly say this company truly appears to be the right hosting company for me. If you want phone support, and 24-hour phone support at that, they offer it fully. I'm paying very low shared hosting rates, and I've had everything I needed...

shopping cart, protected directories,... I have also received some moments of incredible support from technicians. Yet it is support that is their lesser link of the four ratings asked for here, because the service can vary so wildly depending on who you get on the phone and the nature of the problem.

If you care about your own site and are willing to continually educate yourself, and if you realize that if you don't get the right help the first time, to call back and keep trying, then I have to say MyHosting provides a solid service and in the end will show you that they value their customers. Plus, I have never seen any downtime with my site; sometimes it loads a bit slow, but never anything awful. With the phone support, full online features, low price, and a sprinkling of great support staff, I am starting to love what I am building with them.

 
Screenshot of kenektus.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Myhosting is great. First VPS I purchased that was set up without problems. Servers are extremely fast. Prices are too reasonable. Great place to start my IT consulting company.

 
Screenshot of lalaproducts.com
4.5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

They do exactly what they say they can do and are very persistent when trying to solve your problems. Considering I am in the UK time differences do not appear to be any problem at all.

 
Screenshot of www.fcbnco.com
4 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Rocks for easy of service,

In the part of billing we had a problem because we couldn't deactivate a hosting plan, and the we had some automated payments charged to our corporate card,

The support is great, but i don't know if I could ask for more proactive, we had a problem with spoffin activities from nobady knows, but until I ask for a log we found that our account was used for spoofing and sending spam without our consent. Regards,

 
Screenshot of dhillman.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been using MyHosting for almost 18 years...I have absolutely no complaints and feel they have been professional and competent in all that time. I would strongly recommend them to others.

 
Screenshot of http://www.naming-schemes.org/
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I tried using MyHosting's Linux VPS service. Things mostly worked, although a bit more slowly than my current GoDaddy VPS, except for Smtp service. I couldn't use the VPS as an Smtp server without going through their smarthost server, which is fine, except that the smarthost specified on their wiki wouldn't relay my traffic.

I contacted tier 1 customer service. They told me how to configure my email client to get email hosted by them. That wasn't my problem, I said.

Tier 1 made a dumb excuse for their dumb mistake and then sent me to tier 2. Tier 2 looked at the logs for the wrong server, one I didn't own, and concluded that I couldn't send email because I was spamming. I pointed out that they had contacted the wrong server.

No reply. I went back to tier 1. They promised to escalate to tier 2.

No reply. Finally I discontinued my "service". Even if these clowns somehow stumbled into a solution to this problem, what would happen the next time something went wrong? Their incompetence is inexcusable, they are rude, and their VPS fails to perform simple tasks.

 
Screenshot of pcghr.net
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

The worst customer service that I have ever received. They have a very nonchalant, careless attitude when dealing with their customers. They refuse to allow you to speak to a supervisor and has no interest in trying to resolve your issues.

 
Screenshot of www.havuz.org
2.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been a shared hosting account holder for about 10 years. Over these years I have had very little need for support, so when I began suffering extended and frequent server downtimes in summer 2008 I opened a support ticket. The site server uptime is currently 99.48% which is mediocre considering the premium cost and basic features.

The ticket (#303876) opened on 08-08-2008 is to this day still unresolved. It has been marked resolved (more than once) by MyHosting despite their failure to reply to or explain the massive downtime. The server downtime ticket covers around 30 hours from May through August 2008.

There have been subsequent periods of downtime. The most recent response from technical support (by Peter M), about 5 weeks after the initial e-mails, says:

"Normally an exscalated(sic) case has a response in 48 to 72 hours. I am not sure what is being done that is taking so long for your case.

I will send a reminder to operation for follow up."

That was over 3 months ago. It's frightening that a host which claims 24/7 support can fail to adequately respond to a server downtime query for so many months. I think any time/service critical hosting should stay well clear of Myhosting.com - they offer round-the-clock support acceptance but are unable to provide even the most simple support or courtesy to say they are stumped. The downtime continues and yet a "we're still working on it" reply for an issue or query is yet to be had after 5 months of patience.

 
3.5 stars
Support
3 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I didn't get collapses or problems with the network on my site. However, I don't understand how an 18 years company can not improve its customer support. When I write them explaining any problem, it happens:
The first reply comes just in seconds, an automatted reply to tell you that they received your email and will reply you as soon as possible.
The second reply might delay, according to my experience, less than an hour and sometimes just fifteen minutes, but What a reply!

It is just a template made with robots probably which missunderstand the real content of your issue. For example, if you mention during your claim the word "Spam", the robot assumes straight that you have problems with spam, when not always is like that. So, the automated answer says: You can activate the Spam filter like this...

and son, but That was not really your problem! I have to write them to ask if they have really read my claim. It seems that definitevely No.

So, even the reply with the "estimated" solution is an automated answer and not always regarded to your issue. I have a site with them for long time ago, but... Yesterday, I just wanted to add a new website with a different domain which I own and I could not see the page on the browser, even when everything was set up correctly.

When I wrote them to ask why my NEW site is not shown, they or better say the Robot replied me that everything is OK with my site... what??? but it was refering to the first old site which I have for a long time ago, not for the new domain.

And at no time I mentioned my current old domain. The two first replies was same like above.

* The third reply said that I don't have subscription for a new site. What?

so, what do they mean by unlimited domain? I was making the configuration and everything seemed to work. Even, I could upload a test-index.html page to test on the control panel of my new site and there is.

At no time, I receive a page saying that I am restricted to have a new site, etc. nothing. I wrote them again attaching pics of the screenshots.

The fourth reply says that I have to contact my registrar in my country because my new domain is .pe (Peru).

So, at the end, am I able to host a new site or not? If I can not have a new site without paying extra, they should have told me: "Dear customer, you need pay... bla bla bla...regardless your relationship with your registrar..." but not. I am thinking seriously to change of host provider.

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

If your business depends heavily on your website don't use MyHosting. You will not receive help from them if a real problem arises. Yes, when you call support a low level staffer will write down your problem and tell you someone will get back to you but that can take days.

After running great on their VPS service for a year, our site began running incredibly slow. We complained and they told us it was our site. They said, that our site, the same site that had been running fine for a year was suddenly the problem.

Meanwhile we had not changed anything. After days of complaining they finally agreed to move us to a new server. When they did our site ran great again but the damage was done to our business.

Months later the problem reoccurred. Again, they told us it was our site. During a 10 day period, in addition to taking as much as 20 seconds to open (new customers are gone long before that), our site was down more than 10% of the time.

We screamed for nearly 2 weeks and MyHosting did nothing. So we moved the site to a new hosting company and it ran great immediately. My experience with MyHosting was awful and I don't wish it on anyone. It was the most helpless feeling in the world watching our company suffer while they did nothing.

 
Screenshot of http://www.indoor.net
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

The two times I did have to use support, they answered very fast and fixed my problems in an hour or two. Just perfect.

 

Most Popular MyHosting Hosting Plans

Personal Website Hosting Plan Business Hosting Plan eCommerce Hosting Plan
Disk Space Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Bandwidth Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Price $4.95/mo $9.95/mo $18.95/mo
View Plan View Plan View Plan

All My Hosting Plans

Hosting Plan Features Disk Space Bandwidth Price
Personal Website Hosting Plan Shared
  • Shared Hosting
Unlimited Unlimited $4.95/month
Usual price:
Business Hosting Plan Shared
  • Silverlight
  • Shared Hosting
Unlimited Unlimited $9.95/month
Usual price:
eCommerce Hosting Plan Shared
  • Silverlight
  • Shared Hosting
Unlimited Unlimited $18.95/month
Usual price:
Custom Linux Shared
  • Silverlight
20GB 300GB $15.95/month
Usual price:
Developer + LAMP Shared
  • Silverlight
40MB 600GB $18.95/month
Usual price:
Business + Plesk Shared
  • Silverlight
40MB 600GB $18.95/month
Usual price:
Reseller + cPanel/WHM Shared
  • cPanel
40MB 600GB $55.75/month
Usual price:
Custom Windows Shared
25GB 300GB $34.95/month
Usual price:
Developer + .NET Shared
40GB 600GB $34.95/month
Usual price:
Business + Plesk Windows Shared
40GB 600GB $39.95/month
Usual price:
Reseller + Plesk Windows Shared
40GB 600GB $45.95/month
Usual price:
Hyper-V VPS Cloud Shared
  • Shell Access
40GB 600GB $65.25/month
Usual price:

MyHosting Frequently Asked Questions

  • Where are the MyHosting.com's datacenters located?

    It uses two datacenters; Equinix in Toronto, Canada, and Earthlink inRochester, NY. 

  • Where is the company located?

    MyHosting is headquartered in Toronto, Canada.

  • Does MyHosting.com have Windows hosting plans?

    MyHosting offers both Windows and Linux hosting. Personal plans are Linux-only, while business and e-commerce plans offer a choice of operating system. VPS plans are also available with Windows or Linux.

  • Is a domain included with the purchase of a hosting plan?

    Yes. All shared hosting plans include a free domain for a year.

  • Does MyHosting offer VPS hosting?

    Yes. VPS plans are available with both Linux and Windows operating systems. 

  • Are renewal prices more than the intro price?

    Possibly. On some plans, MyHosting offers discounts if you pay in advance. The company does not guarantee that the same price will be available when it's time for your renewal.

  • Can I host multiple sites or domains on my account?

    Yes. MyHosting.com's shared plans offer the ability to host unlimited websites.

  • What satisfaction guarantee is offered?

    All plans come with a 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • What payment options are supported?

    Customers can pay via PayPal or major credit card.

  • How do I get support?

    All hosting customers have access to email support, live chat and 24/7 telephone support. Local numbers are provided for several different countries, but support is only available in English.

  • What development languages does MyHosting.com support?

    Windows servers support ASP.NET, PHP, Perl, IIS7, Visual Studio, Microsoft SQL, MySQL and PostgreSQL. Linux servers run CentOS and offer PHP 5.5.3.

  • What uptime guarantee is provided?

    MyHosting.com provides a 100% uptime guarantee on all of its hosting packages. If services do go down, customers are given a 1-to-1 credit.

  • What is MyHosting's backup policy?

    All VPS servers are regularly backed up by the MyHosting.com technical team. On shared hosting accounts, backup and retrieval is not provided. In emergency situations, MyHosting may be able to retrieve a backup for a fee, but it's best not to rely on this.

  • Is bandwidth and storage unlimited?

    MyHosting.com offers unlimited disk space and unlimited data transfer on shared hosting plans.

  • What control panels are offered?

    VPS servers are provisioned with WHM/ cPanel or Plesk. Shared hosting accounts have a proprietary control panel.

  • Does MyHosting.com provide discounted plans for schools and non-profits?

    Non-profits, educational organizations, and some government organizations can apply for free web hosting.

  • How many email addresses are provided?

    Email accounts range from 10 to 50 per package, depending on the selected plan. Shared hosting plans offer unlimited disk space. With email-only plans, space allocation ranges from 1GB to 4GB per account.

  • Can I stream video and audio from my website?

    Streaming is disabled on shared hosting plans, due to their limited resources. However, both Windows and Linux VPS plans offer media streaming capabilities.

  • Does MyHosting.com have a sitebuilder?

    Yes. All hosting plans come with a site builder with hundreds of templates to make creating a website easy for individuals of all skill levels. Personal plans include the capacity for one sitebuilder website, while business plans come with two. E-commerce plans include capacity for three sites. You can add more for a small fee.

  • What security measures are offered?

    HackerWise, StopTheHacker, and SiteLock are available.

MyHosting Features: Do They Support Your Favorite Feature?

Who Are The Most Popular MyHosting Alternatives?

Overall 4 stars
Support
3.5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
4 stars
Visit MyHosting

Price Comparison

MyHosting$4.95
SiteGround$3.95
BlueHost$2.75
InMotion Hosting$2.95
A2 Hosting$3.92
HostPapa$3.95

Review MyHosting & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a MyHosting customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more...

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about MyHosting.
Please be specific: we're only interested in hearing that MyHosting rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

(We hate spam - see our privacy policy)