MyHosting In 2019: What Do MyHosting Client Reviews Say?

MyHosting Introduction

MyHosting is a Canadian web hosting company which has been providing website hosting services since 1997. It claims to have 50,000 customers in more than 170 countries.

MyHosting is owned by SoftCom Inc, a private company based in Toronto. This parent company also owns Mail2web, a webmail service. Turker Sokullu is co-founder of both SoftCom and MyHosting.

Unlike many low-cost hosts, MyHosting pushes business hosting at the forefront of its portfolio. It offers shared hosting, email-only hosting, domain names, VPS services, and a range of paid and complimentary services that are largely business-focused, such as marketing and apps.

MyHosting Hosting Plans

MyHosting offers a very comprehensive range of website hosting packages, and the website is overflowing with technical details. In the interests of brevity, we’ll just look at the basics.

  • Web Hosting packages are split into three plans: Personal Website, Business Hosting and eCommerce hosting. Personal is the most basic plan and is a Linux-only service. Business Hosting is unusual in that users get access to both Windows and Linux servers on the same plan, making it ideal for companies that work cross-platform. Finally, eCommerce Hosting is the same as the Business Hosting plan but includes ecommerce-specific tools, such as shopping carts, your own SSL certificate and optional extra bolt-ons to make your store run smoothly.
  • In the VPS section, MyHosting offers a range of plans: Custom VPS, Developer VPS, Business VPS and Reseller VPS. The first two are available on Hyper-V cloud Windows or Linux (the latter with cPanel), whereas Business VPS is split into Linux with Plesk or Windows SharePoint Services cloud hosting. In the Reseller section, users can choose Linux with cPanel or Hyper-V cloud Windows Reseller plans. Be careful when selecting a Linux plan: cPanel and Plesk are chargeable on some of them.
  • MyHosting surprisingly doesn’t appear to provide dedicated hosting, but it does offer email hosting, SharePoint hosting and Hosted Exchange.

MyHosting Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 151 Reviews by MyHosting Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Thom Kime avatar
Thom Kime drthom.net
Feb 27, 2014

I must honestly say that a few years ago myhosting.com support was a big Zero. Now they have truly gone from zero to Hero. I had many things that needed to be done on multiple domains while some other domains needed very specific changes or corrections.

Do all these things and dealing with multiple domains involved just about every department and was daunting just to try to explain it. Myhosting.com not only handled it effortlessly, they were handling it all so fast that I became the weak link trying to keep up! From zero to Hero would be an understatement and I and others I know who use myhosting.com, never had any down time Ever! Grade: A+++

Thom

Visit Host →

Brandon Durand avatar
Brandon Durand vortexborn.com
Jan 23, 2014

I’ve been through approximately 6 different hosting providers in the last 10 years. I finally landed on MyHosting 2 years ago, whilst searching for a provider that offered VPN options regarding virtual resources. I was hooked the moment I saw the level of customization to allotted resources (cpu’s, ram, hdd, and the most important – bandwidth) – no other provider offers the level of control they do.

And that doesn’t even begin to explain how incredibly satisfied I am with them. I am a do-it-[my]self kind of guy, always have been. And whenever I encounter an issue, that I simply cannot resolve using PuTTy SSH terminal, I open a ticket, and the staff resolve it in a matter of 24-48 hours.

I’ve never had to wait longer than that; they are always quick to respond, and if the staff personnel cannot resolve it, they immediately escalate to a higher tier of support. It gives me an incredible amount of confidence, which is important with a web host – to know that even if you completely screw up your virtual container, you still have help – just a ticket submission away. It adds reliability to the services I offer using my hosting plan, knowing that I can rely on my host means my customers can rely upon me.

One of the best things about MyHosting, isn’t the 100% uptime (in 2 years I’ve never had a loss of service), or the superb security systems in place (my last host provider got hacked, and over 1000 people lost their website data) preventing hackers from tampering, or even the android app that lets me monitor my systems and subscriptions at all times from my phone, or even the grace period when it’s a hard month and I can’t quite afford the bill yet, or the stellar support they offer… The best thing about them, in my opinion, is how they allow you to adjust your VPS resources at ANY time. It’s simply perfect.

When you run a business on the internet, you know that sometimes you don’t need 32GB of ram. Sometimes, you just need 6. Other times you need more bandwidth, and rather than lose traffic, you can just adjust a gui slider and get the bandwidth you need, at incredibly affordable rates.

It’s exactly the level of control I need, combined with exactly the level of quality I expect for my money. Unless they change their entire business, I don’t see why I would ever go to any other hosting provider, ever. I love MyHosting, and I’m a customer for life.

And I mean every single word that I’ve written here. They are fantastic. They are a programmers dream come true.

Visit Host →

Todd Lorentz avatar
Todd Lorentz esoteric-philosophy.net
Oct 08, 2018

MyHosting is terrible. Don’t waste your money, and especially your time. I started with MyHosting back in 1997 when they first started, and they were an excellent company for over 20 years.

I once had up to 20 different websites hosted on their service and really loved them. Then a few years ago they must have sold the company or lost it to someone in a poker bet or something, but the service went rapidly downhill. The hosting subscription prices were raised and the technical support was outsourced to a very poor company in, I think, India.

Customers started moving sites away from them due to bad support and so they implemented a no-refund policy, meaning that if you cancel your account with them they do not give a cash refund for the balance of time that you have left on your paid subscription. You only get a "credit" toward future services. Well it was worth taking the cash loss to stop wasting my time with a degrading system that provides no customer support.

If they tell you that they are "escalating" your problem to a higher tier technical advisor it means that they don’t know what to do and will probably abandon you and your problem over the next few weeks. Do NOT give them your credit card number…..

Visit Host →

Gary Kai Lo avatar
Gary Kai Lo patcheslabels.com
Sep 25, 2018

We have been using myhosting.com for our email exchange for many years and until recently, we were happy with them but since they have announced new ownership, the quality has dropped so much. The email service down once a week for hours, even their web page is now working. Email nowadays is so important for businesses and you can imagine if a business without email basically couldn’t run. Enough is enough, we definitely will change carrier.

Visit Host →

Gregg Seipp avatar
Gregg Seipp ncptboard.org
May 31, 2018

Our domain is parked with myhosting.com and has been for years. We accidentally let the domain expire (myhosting.com did not give us any notifications that it was going to expire and didn’t tell us afterward…we found out yesterday when it went to a sales page). We immediately contacted them and got it straightened out.

The DNS records repopulated and everything was back in order. Then, the next day it reverted back to the sales page. Nobody can tell me anything other than "they’re looking into it""they’re escalating it""we’ll let me know when we know more." It’s been hours and all I’m getting are apologies.

The tech support people are nice and try to help but they are in the dark and powerless. I have another domain on another provider and the experience is the exact opposite…very responsive, empowered support, several notifications about expirations even months before it happens. Yes, I get it…I should have caught this and not relied on myhosting.com to let me know.

But the lack of transparency, the lack of support they give to their support staff, is appalling. I’m sitting here, my website is down and I have no idea what is going on. I would not recommend them, full stop. Find another provider.

Visit Host →

stephen Todd avatar
stephen Todd todd.cn
Mar 13, 2018

I have been with Myhosting for about 15 years but in recent years the customer support has been very poor and slow to respond. E.g. one of my domains is up for renewal on April 1st 2017 and I responded to a reminder by asking for the costs and where to renew.

I got an automated reply and that was it for a day before asking for a reply to my email – I also tweeted them. The reply eventually came a day later saying they had `escalated’ the issue to accounts. It was at this stage I decided to move my domain to another host.

My new host is brilliant but Myhosting seemed unable to grasp simple concepts such as updating DNS etc. My advice is that they are cheap but there interface needs bring up to 21st century standards.

Visit Host →

Rob Horne avatar
Rob Horne creekbed.org
Dec 24, 2017

Been with them since the early years when things ran more smoothly. Service has declined over the past four years and customer service has always been problematic. If only they’d tell the truth when you call and admit that the problem is on their side.

Instead they try to send you on wild goose chases as a delay tactic. I’m just a hobbyist and will probably stick with them, hoping the pendulum swings back the other way. If I were in business I’d look somewhere else.

Visit Host →

Shawn Cooper avatar
Shawn Cooper
Jan 12, 2018

I’ve been with myhosting.com for nearly 6 years now; the first four as a shared hosting client. At first the service and quality were generally good. Over the past few years both have deteriorated significantly, and the service itself has been left behind by hosting companies that offer far more compelling packages.

Myhosting still has an older version of PHP 5.x installed on their shared hosting servers. They don’t offer cpanel access either. I’m now with a host that offers PHP version selection and cpanel, all on a shared hosting plan.

The support is also awful now. I believe the company was bought in 2013, and at that point they outsourced their support. They pick up the phone quickly, but they really have no idea how to help you.

They always have to escalate to upper level support, which usually leads to no resolution. What’s most frustrating is that every single time you call the entire process starts again. Even the simplest problems can take well over a week to fix.

This is simply unacceptable. At this point, the only recommendation I can make about Myhosting.com is to stay very far away.

Visit Host →

Eric Brown avatar
Eric Brown ericbrowntown.com
Feb 22, 2017

Technical support has recently changed to India and they don’t know anything about their own service. I cannot get answers to simple question without wasting hours with them. Every issue just gets a ticket that never resolves. Myhosting used to have great support but it should be avoided at all costs now.

Visit Host →

Duane Nickull avatar
Duane Nickull technoracle.blogspot.com
Jul 23, 2014

Without Prejudice, I used myHosting.com for a year. The time I used them was not bad however I sent them a clear "Please cancel" email on July 20, 2013. I subsequently converted with several people at the company who were aware I had cancelled.

They secretly billed me for an extra year claiming I had not completed the cancellation by filling out some form (through my admin panel which of course I could not access since my account was canceled). I had several phone calls with them and explained the situation. The CRM staff were rude, unhelpful and generally would not reverse the extra year of billing.

In my unbiased opinion, this company should be avoided at all costs until such time as they can rectify their customer service problems. I would Highly Recommend Avoiding MyHosting.com and using a more reputable hosting provider instead. It is a shame given they are so close to being a good company.

Visit Host →

Load More

MyHosting Uptime/Downtime

MyHosting says it offers a 100% uptime guarantee. While this doesn’t necessarily mean that your website won’t go down, it does ensure you’ll get a day’s free credit for every hour the service is unavailable. The information on service pages conflicts with this and promises 99.9% network uptime. It’s not clear which is true, but it could have an impact on the compensation you receive if you have problems.

Unlike smaller hosts, MyHosting is very forthcoming about its datacenters. It uses two third-party facilities: one in Toronto and one in New York. All datacenters have quad-core Dell servers installed with 16GB RAM and NetApp storage. Buildings are controlled by key card entry, security guards and CCTV, and the network is protected by multiple firewalls, security alerts, scanners, and 24-hour systems monitoring by staff.

In addition, the facilities make use of diesel power generators and UPS boxes, HVAC cooling and environmentally-friendly fire protection which is specifically chosen to reduce the risk of damaging hardware if they are used.

MyHosting Support

Technical support is available 24/7, all year round. Support is provided by phone, email and live chat at no extra cost to customers.

Help and support is provided through a huge portal. From one page, you can access your account details, contact tech support, discuss issues in communities, read FAQs, check server status pages, read the Wiki, submit suggestions and access the MyHosting blog. I found that technical and help information was very detailed and more than adequate for advanced users.

MyHosting Control Panel

VPS hosting can be purchased with cPanel or Plesk control panels. Shared hosting plans use a proprietary system that integrates your account, hosting, and domain management all in one. This is also available for VPS hosting plans.

MyHosting Extras

As with the rest of MyHosting’s service provision, the range of extra benefits it offers is very detailed and complex.

  • On shared hosting plans, you’ll get a free domain name, free Outlook email, $25 in Google Adwords, $25 in Bing/Yahoo! Advertising, ecommerce add-ons, one-click installers and a site builder.
  • The Business Hosting plan ups the advertising to a $50 voucher for each site, and the eCommerce plan tops this up to $75 for each site plus specific ecommerce perks.
  • One-click installers include WordPress, Joomla, Drupal, Magento ecommerce, phpBB and so on.
  • There are no obvious free incentives with VPS plans.

MyHosting Money Back Guarantee / Cancellation Policy

MyHosting offers a 30-day money back guarantee to clients who pay annually in return for a quick email. Refunds exclude things like domain names, penalties for exceeding your allocation and penalties for exceeding bandwidth limits.

The money-back guarantee is not available to plans when the customer is paying monthly, nor when a customer has cancelled their account within 90 days previous to a new claim.

MyHosting does not offer refunds once you’re into your contract term. If you’re unhappy and want to leave, you’re not entitled to any money back.

MyHosting Summary

The first impression of MyHosting is that it’s a solid choice for business and highly technical use. The company has enough plans to cover most business needs, although anyone without prior technical knowledge may find that the sheer amount of technical detail on the site is more than they need to know.

If you’re ready to make the leap from a basic host to a more comprehensive one, MyHosting could be a good option. The money-back policy doesn’t seem to be particularly friendly, forcing users to pay full-term for a service they may wish to leave. Other hosts will allow the term to be cancelled in return for a refund, so this is a potential downside if you’re hesitant about going ahead.

Most Popular MyHosting Plans

Personal Website Hosting Plan Business Hosting Plan Custom Linux
Disk Space Unlimited Unlimited 20GB
Bandwidth Unlimited Unlimited 300GB
Price $4.95 / mo $9.95 / mo $15.95 / mo
Visit MyHosting Visit MyHosting Visit MyHosting
Plan Disk Space Bandwidth Price
eCommerce Hosting Plan
Shared
Unlimited Unlimited $18.95 / mo Visit Host
Developer + LAMP
Shared
40MB 600GB $18.95 / mo Visit Host
Business + Plesk
Shared
40MB 600GB $18.95 / mo Visit Host
Custom Windows
Shared
25GB 300GB $34.95 / mo Visit Host
Developer + .NET
Shared
40GB 600GB $34.95 / mo Visit Host
Business + Plesk Windows
Shared
40GB 600GB $39.95 / mo Visit Host
Reseller + Plesk Windows
Shared
40GB 600GB $45.95 / mo Visit Host
Reseller + cPanel/WHM
Shared
40MB 600GB $55.75 / mo Visit Host
Hyper-V VPS Cloud
Shared
40GB 600GB $65.25 / mo Visit Host
More Plans +

MyHosting Frequently Asked Questions

  • Where are the MyHosting.com’s datacenters located?

    It uses two datacenters; Equinix in Toronto, Canada, and Earthlink inRochester, NY. 

  • Where is the company located?

    MyHosting is headquartered in Toronto, Canada.

  • Does MyHosting.com have Windows hosting plans?

    MyHosting offers both Windows and Linux hosting. Personal plans are Linux-only, while business and e-commerce plans offer a choice of operating system. VPS plans are also available with Windows or Linux.

  • Is a domain included with the purchase of a hosting plan?

    Yes. All shared hosting plans include a free domain for a year.

  • Does MyHosting offer VPS hosting?

    Yes. VPS plans are available with both Linux and Windows operating systems. 

  • Are renewal prices more than the intro price?

    Possibly. On some plans, MyHosting offers discounts if you pay in advance. The company does not guarantee that the same price will be available when it’s time for your renewal.

  • Can I host multiple sites or domains on my account?

    Yes. MyHosting.com’s shared plans offer the ability to host unlimited websites.

  • What satisfaction guarantee is offered?

    All plans come with a 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • What payment options are supported?

    Customers can pay via PayPal or major credit card.

  • How do I get support?

    All hosting customers have access to email support, live chat and 24/7 telephone support. Local numbers are provided for several different countries, but support is only available in English.

  • What development languages does MyHosting.com support?

    Windows servers support ASP.NET, PHP, Perl, IIS7, Visual Studio, Microsoft SQL, MySQL and PostgreSQL. Linux servers run CentOS and offer PHP 5.5.3.

  • What uptime guarantee is provided?

    MyHosting.com provides a 100% uptime guarantee on all of its hosting packages. If services do go down, customers are given a 1-to-1 credit.

  • What is MyHosting’s backup policy?

    All VPS servers are regularly backed up by the MyHosting.com technical team. On shared hosting accounts, backup and retrieval is not provided. In emergency situations, MyHosting may be able to retrieve a backup for a fee, but it’s best not to rely on this.

  • Is bandwidth and storage unlimited?

    MyHosting.com offers unlimited disk space and unlimited data transfer on shared hosting plans.

  • What control panels are offered?

    VPS servers are provisioned with WHM/ cPanel or Plesk. Shared hosting accounts have a proprietary control panel.

  • Does MyHosting.com provide discounted plans for schools and non-profits?

    Non-profits, educational organizations, and some government organizations can apply for free web hosting.

  • How many email addresses are provided?

    Email accounts range from 10 to 50 per package, depending on the selected plan. Shared hosting plans offer unlimited disk space. With email-only plans, space allocation ranges from 1GB to 4GB per account.

  • Can I stream video and audio from my website?

    Streaming is disabled on shared hosting plans, due to their limited resources. However, both Windows and Linux VPS plans offer media streaming capabilities.

  • Does MyHosting.com have a sitebuilder?

    Yes. All hosting plans come with a site builder with hundreds of templates to make creating a website easy for individuals of all skill levels. Personal plans include the capacity for one sitebuilder website, while business plans come with two. E-commerce plans include capacity for three sites. You can add more for a small fee.

  • What security measures are offered?

    HackerWise, StopTheHacker, and SiteLock are available.

Most Popular MyHosting Alternatives

SiteGround logo

Starts at:

$3.95

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

BlueHost logo

Starts at:

$2.75

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

InMotion Hosting logo

Starts at:

$3.99

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

Claire Broadley

About Claire Broadley

Claire has been creating websites for over 20 years and has been using WordPress for over ten. She is an expert in web hosting, design, HTML, and more. She lives with her husband and son in the United Kingdom.

Connect with Claire

Review MyHosting & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a MyHosting customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more…

1 How would you rate your experience with MyHosting?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about MyHosting.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that MyHosting rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2015 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2015.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2015 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your MyHosting review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).