Namecheap Reviews of 2021

Disclosure: Your support helps keep the site running! We earn a referral fee for some of the services we recommend on this page. Learn more

Our Verdict: Outstanding Choice for 2-Factor Authentication

Namecheap is a hosting provider that offers a wide variety of web hosting options. They also offer free domain name registration, WhoisGuard for keeping your personal information private, and a robust customer support knowledge base.

Over 75 of our users have reviewed Namecheap, and they've given this provider an average score of 4.5 out of 5. They especially like Namecheap's commitment to securing personal data.

Below, we'll review everything else you need to know about this provider. You can also use any of our Namecheap links on this page to save up to 70% on your hosting plan.

Namecheap Overview

Namecheap was founded in 2001 by Richard Kirkendall, the company's current CEO. As you may have been able to tell from the name, they started as a domain registration provider, but they now offer many other services as well.

The company is based in Phoenix, Arizona, where a team of more than 1,000 employees provides their customers with low-cost domain registration, hosting, SSL certificates, and more.

Namecheap is also a strong supporter of net neutrality and has donated more than $300,000 to the Electronic Frontier Foundation and Fight for the Future, two non-profits dedicated to defending civil liberties in the digital world.

Pros and Cons of Namecheap

Before we go into more detail, let's review the main advantages and disadvantages to using Namecheap:

Pros:

  • Wide range of inexpensive plans
  • 2-factor authentication
  • Managed WordPress plans

Cons:

  • Below-average uptime and response time
  • No Cloudflare on shared plans
  • No free SSL certificates on shared plans

Namecheap Hosting Plans

Whether you are looking for a cheap way to host your personal website or want to start a white label hosting company, Namecheap has a plan for you.

Let's take a look at all the hosting plans they have to offer:

Shared Hosting Plans

When it comes to shared hosting, which involves a number of sites sharing one server, Namecheap has several options to choose from.

They offer three plans, starting at $1.58 per month.

The Stellar plan is their most affordable option. It offers 20 GB of disk space, unmetered bandwidth, access to Namecheap's website builder, and the choice of either a US or UK datacenter (you'll need to pay $1 more per month for a UK datacenter).

The Stellar Plus plan, touted as their most popular option, offers unlimited disk space and websites.

Stellar Business is advertised as the top option for e-commerce sites, and this plan offers 50 GB of disk space. Namecheap's servers are also PCI-compliant, so you won't need to worry about that.

Namecheap is a great choice if you need to host a basic one-pager or simple personal site.

But if you want to use Stellar Business for e-commerce, you'll need to purchase an SSL certificate, as this is not included with the plan.

WordPress Hosting Plans

Namecheap offers three hosting plans for WordPress, starting at under $4 per month. I really like the way they break down these plans based on site traffic. For the less tech-savvy, this provides an easy-to-understand reference point.

Namecheap WordPress Plans

These WordPress plans also offer:

Reseller Hosting Plans

Looking to host dozens of websites or even start your own hosting company? Namecheap offers three reseller packages, starting at $19.88 per month. The cost of the plans vary based on the number of reseller accounts and disk space.

All reseller plans include:

  • Reseller control panel

  • Security features

  • WHMCS billing platform

  • SSL reseller program

  • White label marketing tools

  • Dell PowerEdge with 24-core Xeon CPUs

  • 32+ GB RAM and RAID 10 hard drives

  • Unmetered bandwidth

  • 14-day money-back guarantee

VPS

When people outgrow shared hosting, they normally move up to a virtual private server (VPS). Although these are not physical devices, they do provide you with a dedicated amount of resources.

Namecheap's VPS plans start at $9.88 per month for 2 CPU cores, 2 GB of RAM, and 40 GB storage.

Dedicated Hosting

For the absolute best performance and security, you'll need to use your own dedicated physical server.

Namecheap offers three different dedicated hosting plans, starting at $48.88 per month. Their base plan includes:

  • CPU: 4 Cores @ 3.4 GHz

  • RAM: 8 GB
  • Hard Drive: 480 GB SSD

All dedicated servers use US-based datacenters.



web hosting coupon

Psst: Looking for a great hosting deal?
You can currently save up to 70% on Namecheap hosting. Use this exclusive discount link to get the best deal.




Namecheap Features

Now, let's review all the key features that Namecheap has to offer:

Control Panel

With the exception of their WordPress plans, Namecheap hosting plans use cPanel, which is the industry standard for control panels.

If you've used another host before, there's a good chance you are already familiar with cPanel.

Namecheap cPanel
The Namecheap cPanel dashboard is simple to use.

The features of cPanel on Namecheap include:

  1. Easy to use graphical interface

  2. File management

  3. Email set-up and usage

  4. Database management

  5. Backup access

  6. Softaculous application manager.

SSL Certificates

SSL certificates are used to ensure that all your data is kept secure. You will want an SSL certificate for most websites, and they're all but necessary for e-commerce sites.

Many other providers include SSL certificates for free with their hosting services, but Namecheap does not do this with most of their plans. However, Namecheap does offer over a dozen optional SSL add-ons.

Their entry-level SSL plan starts at $8.88 per year, which is quite affordable.

CDN

As with SSL certificates, Namecheap is unlike many other hosts in that they do not include the Cloudflare content delivery network with their hosting plans.

But you can still sign up for Cloudflare separately and then integrate it with your Namecheap account. Namecheap even has a document that will walk you through this process.

Datacenters

Namecheap has a datacenter located in the US (Phoenix) and a datacenter in the UK (Nottingham). When you purchase a shared hosting plan, you can choose which datacenter you want to use.

Namecheap has datacenters in the US and UK. You can choose which one your sites are hosted on.

There is no indication of what kind of security the servers have, such as guards, backup power, etc.

Backups

Namecheap backs up data on their servers every three to seven days for server restoration purposes only. This is pretty standard for budget hosting plans.

You can use the Backup/Restore feature in cPanel to locally back up your site content. If you lose your data, Namecheap will attempt to recover data for free on most plans.

Security

One of Namecheap's best features is TOTP 2FA (time-based one-time password algorithm two-factor authentication), a free service designed to keep personal data secure by verifying your identity through a second device.

Website Builder

Namecheap's site builder is available on all shared hosting plans. It can be accessed through the website builder option in cPanel.

Namecheap Sitebuilder
You'll log into your cPanel dashboard to access the Namecheap site builder.

The site builder is a simple template-based, drag-and-drop builder. There are nearly 200 templates to choose from. The templates are pretty basic, but they are also clean and modern-looking.

Namecheap Site Templates
With the Namecheap builder, you can select a pre-designed website then just fill in your content.

The site builder features include:

  • Drag-and-drop interface, so no coding knowledge is required

  • Plugins for social media, accepting payments, adding video, and more

  • Available in 45 different languages

  • Mobile-responsive

  • E-commerce capable

Overall, for a free site builder, it's pretty solid. But if you're looking to build more than a four to five-page site, you should probably look for a more advanced option.

Performance

The price is right and the features are solid, but how does Namecheap look when it comes to uptime and speed?

Here is their uptime data for a site we tested on their servers:

MonthUptime
Feb 201899.92%
Mar 201899.85%
Apr 2018100.00%
May 2018100.00%
Jun 2018100.00%
Jul 201899.93%
Aug 201899.96%
Sep 201899.98%
Oct 201899.90%
Nov 201899.71%
Dec 201899.89%
Jan 201999.93%
Average99.92%

And here is the page load data:

MonthResponse Time
Feb 2018927 ms
Mar 2018928 ms
Apr 2018955 ms
May 2018948 ms
Jun 2018804 ms
Jul 2018416 ms
Aug 2018407 ms
Sep 2018403 ms
Oct 2018377 ms
Nov 2018451 ms
Dec 2018465 ms
Jan 2019415 ms
Average625 ms

Hosting Uptime

Namecheap guarantees 99.9% uptime for most hosting packages, which is the standard in the industry.

99.9% uptime might sound good, but it also means your site could be down for up to 8 hours per year (43 minutes per month).

Over the last year, our Namecheap test site was up 99.92% of the time. And some of those outages were long — up to an hour at a time.

They do offer one full day of hosting for each hour of downtime past 0.1%, but that small refund won't mean much if downtime has cost you customers.

Hosting Speed

While the server specs look solid, most reviews say that Namecheap's speed leaves much to be desired.

My results were mixed. The overall load time was 625 ms, which is slightly below-average. But there were actually two distinct periods of performance seen in this test.

The early data indicates an average response time of 912 ms — horrible. But something changed near the mid-point of the year. After that, the load time was consistently under 500 ms, with an average of 419 ms.

That's not bad at all, especially for an inexpensive host.

Customer Service & Knowledge Base

Namecheap offers support through tickets, live chat, and a support center. There does not appear to be any type of support by phone, which could be an issue if you need help fast.

I tested their live chat and got a response in just under two minutes, which is pretty good.

But the responses were slow and scripted. It felt like I was chatting with a poorly designed chatbot.

namecheap live chat
An excerpt from my live chat with Namecheap.

Their knowledge base is quite robust, and the search function helped me find articles related to just about any topic I could think of.

Other Hosts to Consider

Not sure that Namecheap is the right hosting provider for you? SiteGround, InMotion Hosting, and Bluehost are also worth looking into. Here's an overview of their cheapest shared plans:

NamecheapSiteGroundInMotionBluehost
Storage20 GB10 GB50 GB50 GB
TransferUnmetered10,000 VisitsUnmeteredUnmetered
Websites3121
Price (per month)$1.58$6.99$5.99$2.95

SiteGround

SiteGround offers many useful features, including a free CDN, site builder, SSL certificates, and additional security options. But while their plans are quite affordable, they're significantly more expensive than Namecheap.

SiteGround

InMotion Hosting

InMotion Hosting also offers a variety of high-end features, including free domains, free backups, unlimited disk space, free website transfers, and a free site builder. Their plans start at $5.99 per month, so this provider is still quite affordable.

InMotion Hosting

Bluehost

Pinching pennies? Bluehost is super affordable and yet still offers tons of features, including a free SSL certificate, free domain, and much more. Plans start at $2.95, and for $5.45, you can host an unlimited number of websites.

Bluehost

web hosting deals

Looking for a great hosting deal?
You can currently save up to 70% on Namecheap hosting. Use this exclusive discount link to sign up today.


Namecheap Review Conclusion

If you don't have particularly demanding hosting needs, Namecheap is a good, inexpensive option.

But if you do need premium service, then you should probably look elsewhere. I've found that their speed, uptime, and customer service are below industry standards.

For a few dollars more, you can get much better hosting from one of their competitors. But if price is your biggest priority, head over to Namecheap and check them out.

Edited by Frank Moraes.

Danielle Antosz

About Danielle Antosz

Danielle is a writer and editor who specializes in digital marketing, online businesses, and tech. She spends her days writing and her nights planning her next trip.

Connect with Danielle

Namecheap Frequently Asked Questions

  • What type of hosting does Namecheap provide?

    Namecheap provides shared, WordPress, reseller, VPS, and dedicated server hosting.

  • How much does Namecheap cost?

    Namecheap is inexpensive, with shared hosting plans starting at just $1.58 per month.

  • Is Namecheap better than GoDaddy?

    Namecheap is much cheaper than GoDaddy. Our tests indicate that Namecheap is also faster. However, GoDaddy is more stable with their excellent uptime rate.

  • Are there any hidden fees I should be concerned about?

    Namecheap does not appear to have any hidden fees, but users should understand that the prices shown on their site are introductory and will increase upon renewal.

  • Does Namecheap provide a dedicated email service?

    Customers who don't need a complete hosting package can choose an email hosting plan that includes disk space for email and file storage as well as anti-spam protection.

  • What type of money-back guarantee does Namecheap provide?

    Namecheap offers a 30-day money-back guarantee for shared and WordPress hosting plans. They offer a 14-day money-back guarantee for reseller and VPS plans. There is no money-back guarantee for dedicated servers. The refund does not include additional fees for items such as software licenses for cPanel or WHM.

  • What type of payment options does Namecheap accept?

    Customers have a number of payment methods to choose from, including major credit cards, PayPal, Bitcoin, and Dowolla.

  • Are Namecheap's unmetered plans unlimited?

    Namecheap offers a number of plans that have unmetered bandwidth. Your website can have all the resources it needs as long as it does not affect the overall server performance or exceed the number of processes allowed.

  • What programming languages does the company support?

    Namecheap supports a number of programming languages, including Perl, PHP, MySQL, and Ruby on Rails. This allows customers to create feature-rich and dynamic websites.

  • Does Namecheap provide help when transferring an existing site or domain?

    Yes, Namecheap's technical staff will assist customers in transferring existing websites and domains from another host regardless of whether or not they had cPanel.

    In addition to help from Namecheap's support team, articles are also available to walk customers through this process.

  • Am I able to set up multiple websites with a single account?

    Yes, it is possible for you to host multiple websites under a single account.

  • Does Namecheap provide tools that make it easier for me to set up websites?

    To help beginners create websites, Namecheap provides the Softaculous one-click installation tool for installing popular scripts such as WordPress, Joomla, and Drupal.

    Customers can set up simple blogs, static pages, or even shopping carts within minutes.

  • Are additional security services offered by Namecheap?

    Though Namecheap does not offer any specialized security options such as DDoS protection, they feature an internal firewall and "in-house" security to protect customer websites.

  • Does Namecheap support video streaming?

    For shared hosting plans, the company does not allow video streaming because it could impact server resources. The company recommends using either a VPS or dedicated server plan for video streaming.

  • What is WhoisGuard with Namecheap?

    WhoisGuard hides your personal details from public Whois records. If someone looks up your domain using Whois, Namecheap will show placeholder details instead. WhoisGuard helps to prevent spam emails, direct mail, and identity theft.

NameCheap Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 78 Reviews by NameCheap Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

vana Verouti avatar
vana Verouti lifestyleandberries.com
Nov 11, 2018

Very good and detailed review for Namecheap hosting. I use Namecheap for many years either to pursues my domain names, either to host blogs. If you want a cheap domain name or a cheap but pretty good webhosting service you are in the right place.

Namecheap is a perfect webhosting provider for small blogs and websites. Thanks for this article :)
Great job whoishostingthis.com ! Vana Verouti
lifestyleandberries.com

Visit Host Now →

Megan Riffey avatar
Megan Riffey hateyourway.org
Aug 10, 2018

I signed up on August 3rd, 2018 after my current hosting company doubled their prices. Within 3 days, my site was down (experiencing 503 errors or taking 60-90 seconds to load a test file with only the word, "Test" in it) approximately 3-4 times. I chatted with their support and their support stated that it was an issue on my end, despite using two separate IP addresses and two complete different providers to attempt to view my website.

I ran through their technical support which included providing them my IP address to verify if my IP address listed as suspicious one. After this failed, they had me visit kproxy.com to see if my site would load. Unfortunately, this did not success and generated an error to try again.

Their support then had me trace/ping the server to verify it was not an issue with my network. Once I pinged the server, it ended up timing out on their server response. I tried a speed test on my site as well, and timed-out.

After all this, they stated that there was no issue on their end; that it must have been on mine and to try later. I continued to push back in regards to two different IP addresses (my phone on Verizon Network and my computer) would both display the same issue. I requested that they disable the Mod_Security triggers, and sure enough, once they did this, they stated, "the issue has been caused by a spike of load".

They proceeded to fix it, but it happened 3 more times after this. After the 3rd time, I contacted their chat support again and provided them the previous chat reference number. I had asked to be moved to another server because of the issues we were encountering on this specific server, but they stated that they were showing no issues again and were unable to move me. Needless to say, I ended up cancelling my package with them.

Visit Host Now →

Bob Wallace avatar
Bob Wallace polyglotinc.blogspot.com
Apr 25, 2018

The only support mechanism is chat (i.e. no phone), and they will never escalate things to a manager even tho no progress is being made. I was on chat for hour and a half before they simply left, and then on a followup chat for another hour where I was transferred to a new person at least 8 times, and each new person had to start all over.

And all this this for a simple service that they volunteered that they could do! Not something exotic that I was demanding!

Visit Host Now →

Load More

Review NameCheap

Already a NameCheap customer? Write an honest & helpful review.

1 How would you rate your experience with NameCheap?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about NameCheap.

Please be specific: we're only interested in hearing that NameCheap rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 About You

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  2. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  3. You hereby grant QNL a perpetual, exclusive, irrevocable, royalty free, licence to host, display and otherwise use the review for any purpose anywhere in the world.

Thank You For Your Review

Thanks! We've received your review of NameCheap. We'll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).

Comments

Thanks for your comment. It will show here once it has been approved.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Was NameCheap not quite right? We recommend

Top Alternative
GoDaddy.com logo
  • Generous storage & bandwidth
  • Great support & easy setup
(602)

$1 /mo

Get % off!

Visit GoDaddy.com Now

Awardspace logo
  • Generous storage & bandwidth
  • Great support & easy setup
(32)

$2.99 /mo

Get % off!

Visit Awardspace Now

iPage logo
  • Generous storage & bandwidth
  • Great support & easy setup
(436)

$1.99 /mo

Get % off!

Visit iPage Now

No thanks