PeoplesHost Review: A Hosting Newcomer, But One You Should Check Out Anyway

PeoplesHost Introduction

PeoplesHost is a relative newcomer to the hosting market, having been founded in 2015. It’s headquartered in Carbondale, Illinois in the USA, and is owned by Complete Digital Solutions, which also runs a cloud image hosting site called Chevereto.

PeoplesHost claims to have been launched as an alternative to “lackluster treatment of customers” across the hosting industry. In response, it says that its goal is to provide extraordinary service.

Services and Specializations

PeoplesHost splits its hosting plans into three categories: shared, VPS, and dedicated server hosting.

Its shared hosting packages are offered on both Linux and Windows operating systems, giving customers the freedom to choose the best platform for themselves. Linux plans include cPanel, unlimited websites, unlimited subdomains, and Softaculous. Windows shared hosting packages offer the same features, but with WebSitePanel as the control panel.

There’s also a separate package for WordPress hosting, which it says is optimized for WordPress. Its plans include free setup of WordPress and the ability to add WooCommerce if it’s required. In addition, PeoplesHost will install most standard software for new customers. Of course, all hosting plans include Softaculous, which allows users to install a wide variety of other applications (CMS, forums, ecommerce, etc) with a single click.

In terms of VPS hosting, PeoplesHost allows customers to customize their capacity based on a sliding scale. All plans are fully managed, so they’re suitable for people without full technical knowledge of running their own web server. Customers get cPanel and WHM on Linux VPS hosting plans, and WebsitePanel on Windows VPS hosting plans, and all accounts include root access and the ability to host unlimited sites.

PeoplesHost’s dedicated servers include cPanel or WebSitePanel, for Linux and Windows respectively. All servers benefit from automatic DDoS protection, KVM remote management. and 5 dedicated IPs, Customers can also choose single or dual CPUs. Again, all plans include full management so that you aren’t left high and dry without the right support.

The company also offers domain registrations.

PeoplesHost Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 14 Reviews by PeoplesHost Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Ronald Bower avatar
Ronald Bower lawleads.org
Nov 03, 2018

I had several sites that needed to be migrated from my previous web host. The team at PeoplesHost moved my personal site as well as my client sites within 1-2 hours after receiving the necessary info. Throughout the migration process their support staff communicated and sent updates.

They even found and fixed issues my other web host wouldn’t take a look at. so far my experience with PeoplesHost has been stellar! Thanks to the issues from my previous web host I was able to find a web host that delivers a much needed personal and human touch compared to how I was treated at my previous web host.

Visit Host →

Joal McAlister avatar
Joal McAlister mcalistermktg.com
Jan 27, 2017

PeoplesHost saved me from 2 days of downtime from my previous provider. After lousy – well, no – service from my previous provider for two whole days, I couldn’t afford to have my business email down any longer. The problem was on the host side and after trying to contact them, I desperately tweeted out to their support team for help.

Brian from PeoplesHost contacted me back and said they would help. And did they ever! He switched me over and had me up and running in no time, and long before I ever heard back from my previous host. Glad to be with a more reliable and service oriented email host!

Visit Host →

Gary Riggs avatar
Gary Riggs brentriggs.com
Mar 12, 2016

Great service, great performance… couldn’t be happier and I’ve used a lot of different hosting services over the years. 100% recommend Peoples Host… I put all my clients on with People’s Host and my client websites are business critical; they depend on performance and uptime reliability. They have never failed to respond quickly and provide great service.

Visit Host →

Shelby Collinge avatar
Shelby Collinge shelbycollinge.com
Nov 01, 2016

I have been Blown away from my support and ALL of my interactions with the staff at PeoplesHost. I’ve had a website for over 15 years and have tried more than a few hosting companies over the years and PeoplesHost service as been Bar none the most superior service Ever. No wait times and people who really Know what they’re doing.

Hosting used to be a soar spot for me and now I Love my website. Really. You wouldn’t think good hosting could make such a difference.

But it does. Highly recommend. On Every level.

Visit Host →

Taran  Kaur avatar
Taran Kaur thatssotaran.com
Jul 28, 2016

I am so impressed by People’s Host. They are so helpful, and really take time to look into my questions. I haven’t had a problem with them at all, and I appreciate their enthusiasm to make sure everything is running smoothly! Definitely recommend them to anyone looking to create a website!

Visit Host →

John ODay avatar
John ODay qats.com
Mar 28, 2016

We switched from another ISP to PeoplesHost just recently. The results have exceeded our expectations. Our uptime improved form 85% to 100%; Site speed increased as well, dropping from the 8 second range to 4 seconds.

We have to optimize some images on our site and we expect it to be in the 2 second range. Adam, our contact at PeoplesHost has been excellent to work with. He has worked with us to move our sites (we moved all four of them) and has done a lot of added value troubleshooting that has definitely been best in class. We highly recommend them.

Visit Host →

Karen Dawkins avatar
Karen Dawkins familytravelsonabudget.com
Sep 21, 2016

PeoplesHost rocks. Why? I moved my site to PeoplesHost after having weeks of delays in support with my previous host (which stinks!).

From the get-go, they answered my questions — almost immediately — and offered examples of sites similar to mine to help me decide if I should go with them. Once I decided to make the switch to PeoplesHost, the service continued at the same personal level. Matt, who migrated my site kept me updated on the transfer as it was happening and then offered suggestions to debug my site and make it run more smoothly.

Today, my site is with PeoplesHost and runs better than it ever has. My last host was unable to transfer my domain to their company — GoDaddy just didn’t want to give it up and we kept hitting snags. PeoplesHost also hit the same snags, but pursued the transfer and helped me get past the hurdles.

I’m leary of super-positive reviews, often wondering if the people posting them got freebies. I did not get freebies for this review — i’m a full-fledged, happily paying customer and I hope PeoplesHost is the wave of the future in web hosting!

Visit Host →

Phillip Seaman avatar
Phillip Seaman rvretirees.com
Jun 28, 2016

In June 2015 I had to change web hosting service as my old service just plain dropped the ball, their support system had failed too. I found PeopleHost.com and decided to give them a chance… boy am I glad I did!

The support tech I got, Adam, gave me undivided attention for several days. PeoplesHost took care of all the transfer details from my old domain holding service. Then they even moved my web sites over to their servers.

Their support went over above normal as Adam even helped me setup my email. Then he even tracked down an error I had on my mobile phone that was causing their email server to flag the email account as "Banned", all my fault, but Adam found it. After my web sites were moved over Adam kept contacting me to make sure everything was working properly.

I had an issue from the old hosting service when they broke my sites. Adam did not hesitate for a moment and went overboard in contacting Joe Audette at mojoPortal, the CMS system I used to create my web sites. Between them they found a solution to the error created by the previous hosting service.

The initial service of domain & web site transfer was so seamless and efficient it was totally painless. I can’t say enough about Adam and Gregg and their exemplary service. They also offer very competitive hosing prices on several different plans. I highly recommend PeoplesHost.com for all your hosting services, personal or business services.

Visit Host →

Ryan Delph avatar
Ryan Delph delphcommunications.com
Mar 21, 2016

I have been a PeoplesHost client for four months now and have nothing but good things to say about my account rep and the web hosting services offered. Great service at an affordable price! It has saved me a substantial amount of money on my web hosting needs each month!

Visit Host →

Larry White avatar
Larry White capslockoff.com
Mar 22, 2016

The best hosting site I ever encountered! The owner gets involved if needed. I put my eggs in their basket and can rest at night and all day long.

PeoplesHost Rocks! PeopleHost make you happy to be in the business when you see how diligently they assist you. You can rock too when you join them.

Visit Host →

Load More

Datacenters

PeoplesHost owns its own hardware and datacenter, located in Orlando, FL. The facility is a SOC1 Type II audited, HIPAA, and PCI DSS compliant datacenter. It offers full redundancy, priority 1 restoration (in case of emergency power loss), and automatic transfer switches (ATS).

Support and Customer Service

Online support for all packages is provided 24/7. We would assume this means that support is provided via ticket only, and not via phone. PeoplesHost has an easily accessible ticket system for support requests, and an online knowledge base that’s designed to answer basic queries. However, there were only six articles in the knowledgebase when we put this review together.

There is an announcements page with RSS feed, and a download page, but there was no content in any of these resources when we checked. There’s also a server status page, but it’s hidden behind a login page.

It’s not clear where its support team is located.

Backups

All PeoplesHost customers with Windows and Linux plans benefit from R1Soft backups each day. This includes WordPress hosting customers.

Uptime Guarantee

PeoplesHost offers a 99.9% uptime guarantee on all of its shared hosting plans.

There’s no advertised uptime guarantee on VPS hosting or dedicated hosting plans, so it would be worth contacting PeoplesHost to clarify this before signing up for one of these services.

Its terms and conditions don’t say what kind of compensation is offered if the company breaks its uptime promise.

Billing and Payment

Payment is taken via credit card, bank account, or PayPal. PeoplesHost customers can also pay by check or money order, if posted to the address on the site.

Packages are billed on an adjustable schedule ranging from monthly to yearly, and there are discounts for a long-term commitment. If you choose to cancel your account after the first 60 days from initial signup, you won’t receive a refund for the unused term.

All plans are provided with a 60-day money-back guarantee, “No questions asked.” In order to use this guarantee, you’ll need to log in to your billing account and request a cancellation. Remember to clearly state that you’d like a refund under the guarantee. Refunds are processed using the original payment method.

Summary

PeoplesHost lacks clarity in some areas, particularly support, and needs more information in its knowledgebase. But it’s a new host, so we expect it to add more service details to its website as it matures. If you need a convenient WordPress host, or a fully-managed VPS or dedicated server, it’s worth comparing alongside some of the bigger players in the hosting market.

Most Popular PeoplesHost Hosting Plans

Linux Basic Windows Basic Linux Choice
Disk Space 5GB 5GB 20GB
Bandwidth 10GB 10GB 30GB
Price $8 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$10 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$11 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit PeoplesHost Visit PeoplesHost Visit PeoplesHost
Plan Disk Space Bandwidth Price
Windows Choice
Shared
20GB 30GB $13 / mo Visit Host
Linux Pro
Shared
50GB 60GB $21 / mo Visit Host
Windows Pro
Shared
50GB 60GB $23 / mo Visit Host
More Plans +
Claire Broadley

About Claire Broadley

Claire has been creating websites for over 20 years and has been using WordPress for over ten. She is an expert in web hosting, design, HTML, and more. She lives with her husband and son in the United Kingdom.

Connect with Claire

Review PeoplesHost & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a PeoplesHost customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more…

1 How would you rate your experience with PeoplesHost?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about PeoplesHost.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that PeoplesHost rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2019 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2019.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your PeoplesHost review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).