PhilmoreHost Review: Find Out Why They’re One of Nigeria’s Most Popular Hosts

PhilmoreHost Introduction

PhilmoreHost is a Nigerian hosting and web services company. While it offers a range of hosting plans, the company also handles professional website development for local and international customers.

It describes itself as the cheapest and most reliable web hosting services in Nigeria. The company goes on to state that its services are no different than those offered by many new entrants to the market, and that it doesn’t offer any special plans that would make it stand out.

However, there is a bit more to it than that.

Services and Specializations

PhilmoreHost specializes in shared, Virtual Private Server (VPS), and reseller hosting plans. However, the company also offers dedicated servers for clients who need a bit more.

In addition to hosting, PhilmoreHost handles domain registration and offers web design and development services.

As far as hosting goes, PhilmoreHost offers five entry-level cPanel shared hosting plans, backed by three reseller shared hosting plans. It also offers basic and reseller plans based on Plesk.

In the VPS deparment, PhilmoreHost offers Linux- and Windows-based VPS hosting packages.

If you are in the market for a dedicated server, the company has three to choose from. All are based on Intel processors and run Linux, with Plesk or cPanel on the side.

PhilmoreHost Infrastructure

Don’t be fooled by the fact that PhilmoreHost is headquartered in Africa. The company has a global reach, and uses three datacenters, a European facility located in Kent, Great Britain; a US datacenter in Phoenix, Arizona, and a facility Perth, Australia.

However, other than the geographical location of these facilities, PhilmoreHost does not offer a lot of specs or details.

Therefore, we took a closer look at some of the hosting plans in an effort to figure out what sort of hardware is employed. The company’s dedicated servers are based on Intel Xeon E5 dual-core server processors, as well as Intel Core i5 and Core i7 desktop processors (fourth generation Core parts at the time of writing).

All dedicated servers use Gigabit Ethernet ports.

PhilmoreHost Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 4 Reviews by PhilmoreHost Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Patrick Aziken avatar
Patrick Aziken patrickaziken.com.ng
May 18, 2018

I started with PhilmoreHost over 3 years ago. Their support and uptime was horrible back then. But over the years, they’ve improved their service and I can proudly say I currently have 6 registered domains with them with hosting.

Price is very affordable with benefits like more bandwidth, hosting space, site scripts and cutting-edge tools like PHP7. Support is very much on point with emails, tickets and even WhatsApp. They always send messages if there’s a problem with the service or if there’s any planned upgrade.

They surely have become better people over the years. You can’t go wrong with them. :D

Visit Host →

Sarah Chiejile avatar
Sarah Chiejile thyhandmaiden.com
Aug 24, 2017

PhilmoreHost is a hosting site I would gladly recommend to others. There is a prompt response to anything the customer calls their attention to. This is what I have experienced and I was happy that they attended to my request promptly.

We also receive notification about any update and upgrade that wants to be carried out which helps us not to be in the dark. And talking about the prices, they aren’t on the high side, everyone can afford it. PhilmoreHost rocks

Visit Host →

Chucks Nordi avatar
Chucks Nordi afrihoster.com
Apr 07, 2016

In My Experience With Philmorehost
As mentioned, I personally have been testing Philmorehost’s Shared 1200 plan since November of 2013, and in that time, I’ve found lots of good features from them – a rarity for both me and the hosting world in general. In summary, Philmorehost is reliable, no server down time.

Visit Host →

Load More

Support and Service

As we already pointed out, PhilmoreHost offers a bit more than your average hosting provider. The company also provides web design and web development services, and they are quite extensive.

It currently lists more than a dozen web-related services, and some of them are turnkey solutions. PhilmoreHost can design, develop, and deploy sites on its own infrastructure. Some bundled services also come with discounted prices and freebies.

The company’s ability to offer numerous hosting plans, based on Linux and Windows, means it can be tapped for all sorts of hosting needs, making it attractive for enthusiasts and hobbyists on one side of the spectrum, and enterprise users on the other.

Service and support are available through online chat and ticketing. The company claims 24/7 support.

Summary

PhilmoreHost is a major, regional hosting provider, and ranks well in terms of popularity, at least as far as Sub-Saharan Africa goes. The company offers a wide range of services, including a variety of hosting plans, as well as turnkey web development solutions.

While some information on the company’s infrastructure and policies is limited, PhilmoreHost provides detailed information on most of its services. In case you have any concerns regarding the finer points of PhilmoreHost’s infrastructure or services, we suggest you contact the company and clear everything up before making a purchase.

Most Popular PhilmoreHost Hosting Plans

Basic
Disk Space 500MB
Bandwidth 10GB
Price $0.50 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit PhilmoreHost
Nermin Hajdarbegovic

About Nermin Hajdarbegovic

Before concentrating on writing, Nermin specialized in 3D graphics rendering for commercials, music videos, and cartoons. Now he sticks mostly to writing and editing. He lives in Bosnia.

Connect with Nermin

Review PhilmoreHost & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a PhilmoreHost customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more…

1 How would you rate your experience with PhilmoreHost?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about PhilmoreHost.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that PhilmoreHost rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2019 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2019.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your PhilmoreHost review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).

shares