Purehost Hosting Review: 30 Day Guarantee, 24-7 Support. Right for You?

PureHost Introduction

PureHost is a US-based hosting company, headquartered in Burlington, Massachusetts. They have been providing hosting services to businesses worldwide since 1997, and they currently support more than 80,000 customers. Their hosting options are targeting primarily at business, and the features and pricing reflect that.

Services and Specializations

The first thing you will notice about PureHost is they don’t have your typical “Hosting for Under $5” banner flashing anywhere on the screen or big signs for unlimited hosting, because the under $5 customer seeking unlimited shared hosting is not who they are in business for. 

PureHost specializes in business solutions, so they provide the resources and options most business require. That includes virtual private servers (VPS) with dedicated disk space (2 GB) and bandwidth (50 GB), 200 mailboxes, a newsletter manager, 10 subdomains (with Unix hosting only), a toll-free phone number for your business, ad and search credits, built-in Google tools, and a storefront builder and management system. A free domain is also included for your first year.

Unlike most hosts, you don’t have to decide with plan is right for you, because PureHost only has one plan. The only choice you have to make is whether you want Unix or Windows hosting.

PureHost features a number of tools to help you quickly launch your website, including a site builder, Mojo Marketplace for a variety of one-click installations, themes, and plug-ins, and installation and consultation services available for an additional fee.

PureHost Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 3 Reviews by PureHost Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Gerald Rowles avatar
Gerald Rowles royaltyfreephoto.biz
Jan 10, 2018

I have been a Purehost subscriber since its inception under Dell. In general, it has been a satisfactory provider with regard to access speeds and uptime for the two photo portfolio websites I created. In originally choosing this provider, the primary reason was the Web Stats feature that was offered which allowed me to follow general site traffic and to note which pages were generating the greatest number of visits – an essential tool for my business purposes.

In recent years, however, this feature has become increasingly problematic (buggy?) with frequent losses of data. And the technical support has eroded in a corresponding fashion. Almost all initial tech contacts are met with condescension followed by the need to forward my complaints to a higher level tech support and precious time losses in seemingly endless chat room exchanges.

At the risk of sounding like a paranoid conspiracy nut, it seems that whenever I have responded to service surveys noting my dissatisfaction with the foregoing issues, ‘something bad happens (data losses, etc.)’ to my stats results within days of my survey submissions. I have wanted to change providers for the past couple of years, but the prospect of jumping from the frying pan to the fire and the time/inconvenience of doing so has been a major deterrent.

Visit Host →

Dennis Earley avatar
Dennis Earley premiermag.com
May 16, 2017

We do not recommend Purehost for companies wanting a web hosting company. Our website was down and restored in March of this year. It took nearly 20 calls to get resolution and our website back up.

Fast forward to May and we noticed that our search function no longer works after the website restore. Also the "Contact Us" page on our website no longer functions so our customers cannot contact us for quotes, samples, or catalogs via the website. I just contact the support team about the website errors, was put on hold for 15 minutes and told that I could not be helped at this time as their internal server was not working. The support from Purehost is very disappointing.

Visit Host →

Walter Chang avatar
Walter Chang metaplexor.com
Jul 09, 2016

10 years ago Purehost was ok. Today, I need use up to date software and more control of my website. MySQL and Python are important technology building blocks for me.

Purehost is still stuck on Python 2.5 with no plans to upgrade. This is completely not acceptable. While they seem to be a reliable hosting provider, they can’t offer customers a version of Python that 10 years obsolete with no plans to ever update.

Visit Host →

Load More

Additional Services>

If you need more than the standard plan, PureHost offers a variety of business-specific add-ons. If your company needs advanced email hosting, they have options for OX Mail or MS Exchange, as well as spam filters and additional mailbox storage. For eCommerce customers, they offer shopping cart services through ecwid, PayPal credit card processing, SSL Certificates, and product sourcing through Doba.

They also offer a number of marketing services designed to increase traffic to your website, including search engine optimization (SEO) tools, Google Apps for Work, email marketing services through Constant Contact, SubmitNet services, online advertising with YP.com, LocalLife to help local customers find your business, and a Facebook business page solution.

Infrastructure

PureHost’s servers are located in Boston, Massachusetts. They utilize two data centers, which combined cover over 2,400 square feet and include thousands of servers. Both data centers feature around the clock security, N+1 power, and identical network architecture and equipment. 

They utilize a pooled server environment, so your site’s information is available on nearly any server, meaning customers reach your page faster and you experience fewer service interruptions. Their front-end network features redundant routers connecting via BGP to multiple providers world-wide.

Support and Customer Service

PureHost prides itself on their level of customer service. As such, they have nearly 100 agents ready to assist customers through an online support console, live chat, and telephone support. Support is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. When you don’t need direct support, they also have a large knowledgebase available on their website to assist you.

It’s particularly nice to see a hosting company that puts its phone number on the support page, when so many have moved to an almost exclusively online system.

Security and Backups

PureHost offers a number of security features available at an additional cost. Their backup and restore service provides automatic online backups, automatic restoration for lost files, version control, and more. They also offer three levels of malware protection, from simple malware and bot scans to automatic malware removal and firewall service.

Billing and Payment Policies

PureHost accepts card payments and checks (though credit cards are the preferred method). All initial payments are due at sign up and all additional payments are due at the time of the invoice (non-credit card payments are due within 30 days of invoice). If payment is not received, PureHost can terminate your service and delete all data on your servers at their discretion.

PureHost offers a 30-day money back guarantee.

Conclusion

If you are looking for a web host that specializes in business hosting and understands the unique needs that brings to the table, PureHost is definitely worth considering. They won’t trouble you with a ton of up front choices. Instead they offer a simple, one-size VPS solution that you can customize with other features and add-ons.

Businesses looking for assistance with their website will appreciate the “Jumpstart” program, which includes assistance with installing basic websites or WordPress sites, as well as their professional web services, which are available to help design and maintain your site.

Ecommerce businesses will also appreciate the variety of add-ons available to increase exposure and revenue to your store. The turn-key Doba service should especially appeal to those who want to quickly get a store up and running, but don’t want to maintain their own inventory.

Most Popular PureHost Hosting Plans

PureBusiness Windows PureBusiness Unix
Disk Space 2GB 2GB
Bandwidth 50GB 50GB
Price $16.63 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$16.63 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit PureHost Visit PureHost
Jaramy Conners

About Jaramy Conners

Jaramy has been a technical writer for many years, specializing in privacy, identity theft, blogging, business, and communications writing. But he's also a children's writer. His short story "Steve" won the Hunger Mountain Katherine Paterson Prize for Young Adult and Children's Writing. He lives with his wife in upstate New York.

Connect with Jaramy

Review PureHost & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a PureHost customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more…

1 How would you rate your experience with PureHost?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about PureHost.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that PureHost rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2019 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2019.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your PureHost review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).