Register.com In 2018: What Do Register.com Customer Reviews Say?

Register.com Web Hosting Review

Register.com Web Hosting Review

Yes, you can register domain names through Register.com, but they also offer other services like web hosting.

As a result, they can be a convenient one-stop shop for website owners who like to make things simple.

About Register.com

Register.com is an internet services company that specializes in domain name registrations. The company can boast over 2.5 million domain name registrations over more than a decade.

Register.com was acquired by Web.com in 2010. Web.com is a very large web services organization which owns other brands such as Network Solutions and Solid Cactus.

Collectively, Web.com brands provide services to over 1 million customers around the world.

Register.com in the News

Register.com have made appearances in the technical media sites, although nothing I found related to serious outages.

I did find an article regarding the company being sued by a Chinese search engine for a problem that leads to hacking, but this appears to have been limited to a single customer.

Register.com Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 70 Reviews by Register.com Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Matthias Maurer avatar
Matthias Maurer spectrum07.com
Feb 05, 2018

Horrible hostiing company. Would like to advise everyone to stay away from them. We filled several complains without any reaction.

You should be careful, when registering your domain with this hosting company. Due to the fact that our website was down several times, back-ups were not available, we decided to move our website to another hosting company. We followed their instructions in regards to the verification codes and needed authorization.

During this process, we realized that Register.com (due to the bundled websites they are hosting), claims to be the owner of our domain. We asked them to immediately release our domains to move to another hosting company. Nothing happened so far (28 days) and we are taking now legal actions through our representatives in the US. agains Register.com

Visit Host →

Charles Fasterling avatar
Charles Fasterling fasterling1.net
Jul 11, 2018

Although I know that the service agreement stipulates these facts, beware that the fine print between you and register.com is heavily slanted in their favor, and they are unyielding in their enforcement of it. Though I’ve received a transfer code from register.com, when the attempt to utilize said code was properly executed, it was refused thrice by register.com due to their 60 day "lock" on your paid for domain name. I’ve communicated with them about this and they are unyielding.

Now I have to wait for 54 more days to transfer the domain name to another registrar. Register.com has no benefit in holding it, as stated in my email to them, and they’ve been paid. I don’t want my money back, though I’d go that route now due to this issue, but they….have no money back guarantee either.

Additionally, if you don’t notify them by 5pm on the day following your request for the registration of your domain name, your s.o.l. on the transfer until the 60 days are up. In these days when the customer can be aggressive and "always right", I believe I’ve been polite and will continue to be.

I don’t find register.com to be a good representation of a company that is interested in it’s customers. I will not continue to do business with them, and would almost go out of my way to inform others of my experience.

Visit Host →

Roger Dahl avatar
Roger Dahl easypasswordrecovery.com
Aug 18, 2014

I joined Register.com to take advantage of a $0.99 .com deal. The next year, they raised the price to an outrageous $38.00 for a one year renewal. I decided to let the domain expire.

They sent me at least 10 emails saying that I had to renew then, when I didn’t renew, they tried to renew it anyway, at the $38.00 price! I never signed up for automatic renewal. Fortunately, my credit card on file with them had expired, so they were unable to renew.

Of course, they then sent me another 10 emails telling me that I needed to update my credit card. And, get this, it’s not possible to turn off the automatic domain renewal from the website. You have to call them.

Visit Host →

inma zubi avatar
inma zubi ede-business.com
Nov 10, 2013

I have been trying to transfer my domain from register.com to another registrar for about two weeks now, they simply would not give me the auth code!!! Their argue: "We have implemented specific security measures to help prevent unauthorized transfer of domains to another registrar" I call that hijacking. Worst service ever!!! don’t register your domain with them!!!

Visit Host →

Roger Lin avatar
Roger Lin dynapost.com
May 06, 2013

They don’t notice their customer when your domain is expired. What they do just shut it down and charge you for reinstall fee $25.00. Their price is up and up…

Visit Host →

Chad Fatino  avatar
Chad Fatino mcdanielmarketing.com
Nov 02, 2010

Register.com is the worse domain registrar! They charge $37 a year, and then charge me $25 because I was 1 day late renewing the website. When I called customer support they told me basically too bad.

You’ve been with us for 7 years you should know the costs. I think a better approach is you have been a loyal customer for seven years…. I’m still trying to get the domain transferred.

They do not make it easy! I definitely do NOT recommend using them!

Visit Host →

Alexander Thorburn-Winsor avatar
Alexander Thorburn-Winsor 9dollardesign.com
Aug 19, 2013

I originally went with Register.com to take advantage of their affordable domain name packages. For the purposes of this review, I chose the Professional Hosting package because it had 500GB bandwidth and other features that were necessary for my website. Their packages start at $9.96 so are in the middle of the road when it comes to prices on hosting but their quality is top notch, and their support is my favorite part.

I had questions when it came to getting my site started and they helped me instantly, making a perfect first impression. I highly recommend Register.com and they are one of the best hosting and domain registration companies out there!

Visit Host →

Randall T. Harpham avatar
Randall T. Harpham midwestclassicmustangs.com
Aug 18, 2013

Register.com is my absolute favorite hosting service anywhere on the internet. I have purchased domain names through them as well and have been 100% satisfied with every and all areas and aspects of this company. I have purchased many domain names and hosting packages with many different companies and have had many issues with domain transferring, web hosting and editing.

With Register.com I have never once experienced a bad product, service or support. I have transferred domain names that I’ve bought from them to other servers without any problems or questions and without any waiting periods or restrictions. In my opinion Register.com is the best service to date and I continue to recommend them to everyone I know needing their services.

Visit Host →

Sean Fullerton avatar
Sean Fullerton localseoireland.com
Jul 11, 2013

Absolutely awful (non-existent) customer support. Live chat support always unavailable, expected to pay full international telephone charges (I live in Ireland) and wait for a minimum of 12 minutes to speak to customer service. A help section that was last updated in 2009 which has tutorials and how-to’s that are completely unrelated to the site which I presume must have been updated since the "help" section was created. Very frustrating

Visit Host →

Michael Kaplan avatar
Michael Kaplan kaplanforensics.com
May 13, 2015

I have dealt with a number of web hosting companies. Register.com has been the best for me. Excellent customer service.

Great follow up. Their service department expedited the process and hand held me through the steps that I needed to do. I am beyond pleased.

Visit Host →

Load More

Hosting Plans

Register.com Hosting Plans

Register.com only offers shared hosting plans for its customers, meaning you share server resources and a single IP address with other customers.

The plans can be based on Unix or Windows operating systems and there are three plans to choose from:

  • Essential Hosting Plan
  • Professional Hosting Plan
  • Premium Hosting Plan

Which Plan is Worth It?

Depending on your needs, you’ll certain to find a plan which works. Take a minute to compare the three plans on offer, side-by-side.

Essential Hosting Plan Professional Hosting Plan Premium Hosting Plan
Disk Space 300 GB 500 GB Unlimited
Email Boxes 10 25 25
FTP Accounts 25 50 Unlimited
MySQL Databases 25 50 Unlimited

Essential Hosting Plan

The Essential hosting plan is the lowest priced option available with Register.com. This provides unlimited bandwidth and 300 GB disk space. This plan also gives customers up to 10 email boxes, 25 FTP accounts and the ability to host up to 25 MySQL databases.

Professional Hosting Plan

The next plan up is the Professional hosting plan which increases the available disk space to 500 GB, email boxes to 25, FTP accounts to 50 and MySQL databases to 50.

While numbers aren’t much greater than the Essential Plan, some medium-sized businesses may benefit from the slight upscale.

Premium Hosting Plan

The top of the range plan is the Premium hosting plan. This provides unlimited disk space, FTP accounts, and MySQL databases and the customer has the option to set up 25 email accounts.

Other Services

Register.com also advertises a range of other services such as website building, a range of site security options and marketing/SEO services. Customers can purchase these in addition to a hosting plan.

Website development features such as Ruby on Rails, PHP 5, JSP, ASP, and Python are available and the hosting plans come with AWStats tool to monitor traffic to your site.

Uptime/Downtime

Register.com Uptime/Downtime

Hosting with Register.com is advertised with a 99.99% uptime guarantee, although this drops very slightly to 99.9% for Windows hosting).

Customers are given free hosting time if availability drops below the relevant point.

What Are Downtime Credits?

Credits are awarded based on a sliding scale. The first hour of downtime only provides 1 hour of credit, whilst every hour after the first will compensate the customer for 12 hours, and so on.

The uptime calculation excludes:

  • Scheduled maintenance
  • Problems caused by customer scripting errors
  • Problems with third-party applications

Some other factors which may cause downtime are excluded from the calculation as well, so this is a fairly complex arrangement. Anyhow, the compensation appears to be quite generous.

Why Is Uptime So Important?

Many companies look at this factor from a single-dimensional point-of-view, but there are multiple factors why a solid uptime guarantee is key.

Here are 6 reasons to prioritize this measure, and issues which can arise if downtime becomes frequent:

  1. Loss of money and revenue
  2. Loss of visitors’ trust
  3. Patchy brand image
  4. Increased room for error
  5. Increased reliance on developers
  6. Damaged reputation

Each and every one of the above is paramount to a successful online presence – prioritize uptime.

Customer Support

Customer support options of Register.com
Customer support options of Register.com

Register.com provides its customers with a range of FAQs, user guides, product tours, tips and tutorials for self-help purposes.

In terms of technical contacts, there are both US and Canadian toll-free support numbers, plus an international number for customers to call for technical support.

Lightning Fast Response Times

It’s worth noting that there is also a call-back form to request a call at a time suited to you, which is a nice addition I haven’t seen elsewhere.

Register.com claims that its phone line statistics show that 70% of all calls are answered in under 50 seconds. Customers can also email the support teams as you’d expect.

Social Media Presence

Register.com staff maintain active Twitter and Facebook accounts. More importantly, the company takes the time to interact with its customers through these channels when they need a hand.

In the social age we live in, social media support can result in masses of people being answered or supported simultaneously.

Features

Register.com Features

Time to see what features are on offer. In this section, we’ll cover the following Register.com has to offer:

  • Control Panel
  • E-mail Accounts
  • Extras and Freebies
  • SSL Certificates
  • Money-Back Guarantee and Cancellation

Control Panel

At first glance, Register.com doesn’t seem to mention its control panel at all. Digging a little deeper, it appears that there is a custom control panel of some sort. The design is a little dated.

It doesn’t have the same familiarity and power of a control panel like cPanel that most other web hosts offer. But if the specific control panel doesn’t matter to you, this one will do the basics just fine.

Email Accounts

Register.com is fairly generous with their email limitations.

Many shared hosts charge extra if you’d like to create email accounts for your website or restrict the number of email addresses you can make to a small number.

Even on the smallest Register.com hosting package, you can create up to 10 custom email addresses, with ample storage.

Extras and Freebies

Other than a free domain name, which is valid for any top-level domain name, there are few bonuses to tempt customers to sign up.

I didn’t see any free advertising credits on offer, which is a little unusual.

SSL Certificates

Premium SSL options on Register.com
Premium SSL options on Register.com

When you take a look at Register.com’s hosting services, you’ll notice that they are tied closely to their SSL certificates.

If you’re running any sort of online business, an SSL certificate is a basic and expected security feature.

Cost of SSL Certificates

Register.com provides their own SSL certificates, and they are not free. However, they are not as expensive as the ones that some other web hosts sell.

You can buy a certificate on a 1 year or 2-year term and will have to renew it when it expires.

It’s nice that the option to get an SSL certificate and easily add it to your website is there, but you need to factor in the extra on-going cost.

Register.com Money Back Guarantee and Cancellation Policy

There is a money-back guarantee for Register.com’s internet services, but according to their terms and conditions, web hosting is exempt from this policy.

There doesn’t appear to be a guarantee covering hosting at all.

Liking This Host?

I have a handful of hosting providers which may be of interest, should you feel Register.com appeals to your needs.

Yahoo Small Business Hosting

Yahoo Small Business Hosting is also geared towards small business owners, offering services like domain name registration, marketing, email, and more.

The plans are a similar price, and you get the benefit of servers being managed by an established tech company.

BlueHost

BlueHost has the cheapest shared hosting prices among beginner hosts. It’s a simple host to get started with, and uses an intuitive cPanel control panel that all site owners should learn to use at some point.

SiteGround

If you’re looking for your site to be faster and more reliable, SiteGround is a solid choice, while still being inexpensive.

Additionally, you can upgrade to cloud hosting or even dedicated hosting as you get more traffic.

Frequently Asked Questions

So, let’s cover some common questions asked about Register.com.

Which payment methods are accepted?

Register.com accepts all major credit cards for their services, but nothing else.

Which operating systems are available on hosting plans?

Register.com is one of the few web hosts who offer both Linux (Unix-based) and Windows hosting.

For most businesses, Unix is the best choice for both convenience and performance. However, if you plan to host a site written in ASP or .NET, Register.com offers some of the cheapest Windows hosting there is.

Pros and Cons

Pros and Cons

Let’s break down Register.com’s hosting services into its strengths and weaknesses so you can determine if it’s a good fit for your hosting needs.

Pros

  • Simple plans to choose from – There are only 3 web hosting plans to choose from. This is easier to pick from than hosts that have several complex hosting plans.
  • A variety of services – Domain registration is tied right into your web hosting services, and other Web.com services are also easily integrated (Marketing, email, etc.).

Cons

  • Only shared hosting – Shared hosting is great for hobbyists and very small businesses, but isn’t reliable or powerful enough for sites with significant traffic. There’s no option to upgrade to a VPS or dedicated server, or even purchase a dedicated IP address.
  • No money-back guarantee – Setting up hosting takes time, so it’s annoying when you try out a host, and it doesn’t meet your expectations. Many other hosts offer money-back guarantees so it doesn’t cost you quite as much. Register.com does not.

Summary

Register.com Summary

As far as ‘pure’ hosting goes, Register.com does not stand up particularly well against its competitors.

It has a limited range of plans with few extras and guarantees to reassure customers. The lack of a money-back guarantee could mean that you’re tied to it if you don’t like it.

On the flip side, technical support appears to be fairly good and customers aren’t ignored or brushed aside when it comes to social media interaction.

Additional Services Hold The Fort

Hosting package options.
Hosting package options.

The real strength of Register.com lies in the other services it provides, such as website building, SEO, and marketing. If you are looking for a simple hosting plan, you will probably be better off elsewhere.

However, if you are looking for help building and managing your site, Register.com have a good range of services on offer, and it looks like you can bolt these on to a hosting plan fairly easily.


Additional material by Dale Cudmore.

Most Popular Register.com Hosting Plans

Register Essential Register Professional Register Premium
Disk Space 300GB 500GB Unlimited
Bandwidth Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Price $5.95 / mo $7.95 / mo $9.95 / mo
Visit Register.com Visit Register.com Visit Register.com
Plan Disk Space Bandwidth Price
Starter Ecommerce Hosting
Shared
1GB Unlimited $9.95 / mo Visit Host
Register Windows
Shared
20GB 300GB $14.95 / mo Visit Host
Standard Ecommerce Hosting
Shared
2GB Unlimited $14.95 / mo Visit Host
Premium Ecommerce Hosting
Shared
5GB Unlimited $19.95 / mo Visit Host
More Plans +

Register.com Frequently Asked Questions

  • Does Register.com offer hosting?

    Yes. The company is probably best known for its domain registration services, but it also sells hosting packages. It offers both sitebulder plans, and regular shared hosting.

  • Does Register.com provide both Linux and Windows hosting?

    Register.com offers both Linux and Windows-based web hosting.

  • Do I get a free domain name?

    Yes. However, you must choose a .com, .net, .org, .info or .biz domain. Your domain will be free for the first year.

  • Does Register.com sell dedicated servers?

    No. You will only find shared hosting services and sitebuilder hosting at Register.com. 

  • Does it provide virtual private server (VPS) services?

    No. Register.com does not sell VPS hosting.

  • Does Register.com have a money-back guarantee?

    Hosting services are excluded from the Register.com money-back guarantee.

  • Does Register.com offer phone support?

    Yes, between the hours of 9am-midnight Monday to Friday, and 9am-10pm on weekends. It says that email requests will receive a response within 48 hours.

  • Where is Register.com’s headquarters?

    The company is based in New York City, NY in the United States.

  • Will it help me to migrate my website from my old host?

    No. There is no migration service.

  • Does Register.com have software available to help build a website easily?

    If you need a website builder, you could consider the Do-It-Yourself plans, rather than shared hosting. These plans include a sitebuilder tool.

    Shared hosting comes with a sitebuilder and one-click installers for applications like WordPress.

  • How is the security on their hosting products?

    There’s no information about security on the website.

  • What payment options does Register.com accept?

    It accepts credit card payments.

  • Does it specify an uptime guarantee?

    Yes. Linux hosting customers enjoy a 99.9% uptime guarantee. This figure is measured across all customer accounts, not any individual account. Other hosting types are not covered under this uptime guarantee.

  • Do they offer CDN services on their platform?

    No CDN is offered.

  • Does Register.com offer monthly contracts?

    No. You can only sign up for yearly plans, and you will pay for the whole year at an introductory price up front. If you cancel after the first 30 days, Register.com will not provide a pro-rated refund.

  • Can I create unlimited email addresses?

    All plans limit the number of emails you can create.

  • Do I get unlimited bandwidth and space?

    The company does not offer unlimited disk space. It does offer unlimited data transfer, with the usual fair use clauses.

  • Does it offer discounts for students non-profits or schools?

    The company does not provide special rates for students, non-profits, and schools.

Most Popular Register.com Alternatives

SiteGround logo

Starts at:

$3.95

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

BlueHost logo

Starts at:

$2.75

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

InMotion Hosting logo

Starts at:

$3.99

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

Claire Broadley

About Claire Broadley

Claire has been creating websites for over 20 years and has been using WordPress for over ten. She is an expert in web hosting, design, HTML, and more. She lives with her husband and son in the United Kingdom.

Connect with Claire