Siteground Hosting Review: Great Reputation. Find Out Here If They Live Up To It.

Is SiteGround the Perfect Host for Your Site?

SiteGround is best known for their WordPress expertise and beginner-friendly tech support. Just how good is SiteGround? According to the user reviews further down this page, they’re great! But is this true?

Maybe these high customer satisfaction ratings are a statistical fluke. Or maybe they don’t reflect how SiteGround would work for your particular hosting needs.

So: is SiteGround right for you?

Read on! I’ll explain everything: what SiteGround offers, what is good and bad about them and what they specialize in. And I’ll recommend a few other hosts that might suit some readers better.

SiteGround Overview

SiteGround is privately owned and was founded in 2004. They’re based in Bulgaria, where they have two offices. They also have an office in Madrid, Spain.

SiteGround’s website promotes different types of hosting; they offer shared, WordPress, cloud, and dedicated plans — in addition to many other specialized plans. Customers benefit from free Cloudflare CDNs and SSL certificates. And their shared plans are packed with features.

Additionally, SiteGround’s servers are rock solid. From experience (see data below), I’ve found that their uptime is impressive.

But SiteGround is most of all known for something else. Ask any customer, and support will be at the top of their list. I discuss this in detail below, including my own experiences with SiteGround’s tech support.

Let’s dive into the details now.

SiteGround Hosting Plans

SiteGround offers the full range of hosting types from shared to cloud, reseller, and dedicated.

Shared Hosting

Shared hosting is the battleground where all the best hosts compete for your attention. It is also the kind of hosting most people need; only large or demanding sites require cloud/VPS or dedicated hosting. SiteGround has done exceptionally well in the shared hosting market, distinguishing themselves from their competitors.

Plans

SiteGround offers three different plans. And because the highest-level plan is hosted on servers with fewer users, you can get higher performance without opting for a cloud plan.

The shared plans break down as follows:

StartUp

Hosts one website

10 GB of disk space

Up to 10,000 user visits per month

GrowBig

Hosts multiple websites

20 GB disk space

Up to 25,000 user visits per month

GoGeek

Hosts multiple websites

30 GB disk space

Up to 100,000 user visits per month

General Features

SiteGround uses CentOS Linux for their servers. So it shouldn’t be surprising that shared hosting plans come with the cPanel control panel.

There are a couple of benefits to this. First, most website owners are familiar with it because of its popularity. And those who aren’t should become so because they are likely to run into it a lot in the future.

The second reason is that using cPanel makes moving to and from SiteGround easier.

SiteGround cPanel
Web Applications

Of particular interest to new website owners is SiteGround’s inclusion of the Softaculous auto-installer. It allows you to easily install over 400 web applications like:

  • Blogs

  • CMSs

  • Forums

  • Wikis

  • Social Networking

  • E-Commerce

  • And much more.

These applications include WordPress, Joomla, Magento, PrestaShop, and phpBB3.

Bandwidth

All shared plans come with unmetered bandwidth. However, this is not how SiteGround measures site use. Each plan allows for a set maximum of site visitors per month.

PlanVisitors (month)Visitors (day)
StartUp 10,000 330
GrowBig 25,000 830
GoGeek 100,000 3,300

These numbers are approximate and designed to reflect reasonable resource usage. They are meant to give you an idea of what kind of plan is right for your website. And SiteGround’s technical support will help you minimize your resource usage so that you stay within the parameters of your plan.

Note that these are real user visits and do not include all the spammers and bots that are the bane of websites everywhere.

Like practically every host, SiteGround does have acceptable use limits. If you host movies, image galleries, or audio files, your web site might be considered an excessive drain on bandwidth.

If that happens, your hosting plan may be suspended while you upgrade your account. SiteGround is not unusual in this respect; most web hosts have this clause in their Terms of Service. However, SiteGround is notable for being clear about their expectations.

Disk Storage

SiteGround’s shared hosting plans offer between 10 GB and 30 GB of disk space. All of this storage is on fast SSDs (solid-state drives).

Free CDN

SiteGround offers the Cloudflare CDN for all shared hosting plans.

A Content Delivery Network (CDN) stores copies of your website all over the world. This speeds up page delivery to people located far from your base web server.

SiteGround offers the Cloudflare CDN for all shared hosting plans. If you are hosting more than one website, you can use this for all of them.

SSL Certificates

Free Let’s Encrypt Secure Socket Layer (SSL) certificates come with all shared hosting plans. SSL certificates are essential if you are going to run an e-commerce site.

However, they are important even if you don’t have an online store. SSL certificates (HTTPS) are a sign of trust to users. Google also gives SSL sites a minor ranking boost. So they are good to have regardless of your website.

Website Builder

For those who aren’t technically inclined but still want a great website, SiteGround offers a website builder. Weebly provides it. You just drag-and-drop elements to create pages. It even has e-commerce features.

Just be careful: if you select the Site Builder for your account, any content you’ve created outside of the site builder will be deleted. So be sure to only activate the site builder on a completely clean account, or if you’re happy to lose the data that’s already there.

Other Shared Hosting Features

SiteGround offers SSH access with all of their plans. Most website owners won’t use this. But if you plan to do any development (or hire someone to do it), this is critically important.

You get unlimited email addresses and databases. You may be surprised how many email addresses you use: for your blog, for sales questions, for a newsletter, and on and on.

Most web applications use a database. Thus, even though you may not deal with them directly, it’s good to have them.

There are many other features you shouldn’t forget. SiteGround offers a 30-day money back guarantee. And you get SiteGround’s exceptional technical support (see below).

GrowBig Features

If you’re going to use a major CMS like WordPress or Joomla, it is probably worthwhile to step up to the GrowBig plan. It includes everything in the StartUp plan and then some.

The primary appeal of this plan is that it offers SuperCacher — SiteGround’s own caching system. It allows static and dynamic web pages (as well as database queries) to be cached for quick delivery to users.

The GrowBig plan also allows you to host unlimited websites on your account (up to your resource limit). Additionally, it includes a free site migration.

GoGeek Features

The biggest reason to choose GoGeek is that it is PCI compliant — essential if you are running an online store.

If you are running an e-commerce site (or otherwise have a demanding site), GoGeek is the best choice. It includes all the features of GrowBig and more.

The biggest reason to choose GoGeek is that it is PCI compliant — essential if you are running an online store.

It also provides greater power by having fewer websites hosted on your server.

A final great feature is one-click staging servers for your WordPress and Joomla sites. This makes managing a site easier and safer.

WordPress Hosting

SiteGround offers a special form of shared hosting for WordPress users. It is mostly the same: visits, disk space, features. Its most obvious difference is that WordPress is installed for free. But there is more under the hood.

Bot Protection

In 2017, SiteGround launched their own bot protection system, powered by their own artificial intelligence algorithm. When this system was switched on, I noticed a remarkable reduction in the number of alerts from my WordPress security plugins.

This system prevents the vast majority of brute force attacks on the WordPress login screen, and it also does a good job of detecting malicious login attempts.

It presents a Captcha challenge to any suspicious user; any genuine user that successfully completes the Captcha won’t be blocked again. And it continually adapts to new threats.

This kind of technology is increasingly important in tackling the millions of unauthorized login attempts that webmasters have to battle.

Beyond Security

Of course, you can achieve this with a plugin for the CMS or script that you’re using. But the fact that SiteGround has implemented it means that many of those malicious bots need never hit your site in the first place.

So it’s a speed-booster for your site, as well as an important security feature.

WooCommerce Hosting

Another variant of shared hosting is SiteGround’s WooCommerce hosting. If you are planning to start a WooCommerce site (built on WordPress), you should look into these plans. However, you will almost certainly want to use the GoGeek plan as it is the only one that is PCI compliant.

Cloud Hosting

For high-demand websites, SiteGround offers 4 cloud hosting plans: Entry, Business, Business Plus, and Super Power.

All of them provide 5 TB of monthly data transfer. Even the Entry plan is extremely powerful as you can see in the following table.

Plan CPU Cores RAM Disk Price (mon)
Entry 2 4 GB 40 GB $80.00
Business 3 6 GB 60 GB $120.00
Business Plus 4 8 GB 80 GB $160.00
Super Power 8 10 GB 120 GB $240.00

Reseller Hosting

Reseller hosting allows businesses to create additional revenue streams by including web hosting with their services. You could also set up your own web hosting business using these plans, and white label everything, so your users won’t ever see the SiteGround brand.

The core package includes 10 GB disk space, and the ability to host an unlimited number of customers. But the pricing is a little unconventional.

Credit System

Here’s how the credit system works:

  • You must buy at least 5 credits to get set up as a reseller

  • One reseller credit is equal to a year’s hosting for your customers; if you begin with 10 customers, you need 10 credits to activate each site for one year

  • Additional services, like domains, must be paid for by credit card

  • Resellers get discounts on space and domain registrations; the more credits you buy in one transaction, the bigger the discount will be.

So as a reseller, you don’t get access to WHM. Everything is done via your SiteGround user area.

Another Option

Of course, if you don’t like this credit system (and you want more control over client accounts), you could just purchase a cloud plan and use WHM with that.

The disadvantage is that you’d lose some of the best features of SiteGround’s reseller package, like the ability to choose each customer’s datacenter location individually.

For your customers, this kind of choice is going to be a big draw — so this could be a tough decision.

High-End Hosting: Dedicated and Custom-Built Servers

SiteGround offers two kinds of hosting for website owners who require the most power and stability. Even if that isn’t you, it’s good to know that you have a path upward should your website take off.

There are three plans for dedicated servers: Entry, Power, and Super Power. They are all built on Intel Xeon processors and come with 10 TB of monthly bandwidth. They vary as to CPU cores, RAM, and disk space.

SiteGround also provides enterprise hosting where they build custom servers for you and then manage them. You will have to contact them about these, however.

Continued after user reviews

SiteGround Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 2,106 Reviews by SiteGround Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Rich Austin avatar
Rich Austin richaustinmusic.com
Oct 01, 2018

Amazing technical support. The best. Every support agent I speak to knows their stuff and they are always on hand.

I’m a complete layman when it comes to computers and they teach you as well as being extremely polite, fun and helpful. Highly recommended, so no need to look any further :)

Visit Host →

Kath Dawson avatar
Kath Dawson digitalacademycollective.co.uk
Jun 17, 2017

I have used Siteground for years, both as a previous agency owner, and now as a consultant. I am absolutely confident that if I get stuck with an installation that live chat tech support will get me up and running. They have honestly never failed to solve a problem. Always willing, polite and incredibly helpful I find the support staff a delight to deal with.

Visit Host →

Karen Neumann avatar
Karen Neumann websavvystudio.com
Dec 04, 2018

I was nervous about a major WordPress release (5.0 Gutenberg) and the auto update feature, so I contacted support. Wow, I was thrilled to hear that they already had it under control and were extending the auto update timeframe for this release. SiteGround rocks because as a web developer they make my job easier! Support is always helpful and pleasant to work with – I feel like I have a team working with me.

Visit Host →

Steve Albin avatar
Steve Albin steve-albin.com
Nov 13, 2018

I switched from another ISP where I was managing about a dozen small websites for friends and acquaintances. I have found the support to be prompt and helpful. I have submitted tickets and used the live chat – both work well for me.

My sites are running faster. I’m very happy to have made the switch.

Visit Host →

Zoe Zuniga avatar
Zoe Zuniga mindbodycopy.com
Oct 19, 2018

They are very easy to work with. I switched from BlueHost when it became a big conglomerate. You get all the same features but much better support.

I have had a very easy time transferring my WordPress site over from Bluehost. I also transferred my domain names and set up two more WordPress sites and several subdomains easily. When I have had questions they are helpful and quick to get to me in the chat. There have been no long waits and I have been with SiteGround for almost a year.

Visit Host →

Rodrigo Cuadra avatar
Rodrigo Cuadra vitalpbx.org
Sep 27, 2018

My service ends on October 26, 2018, you sent me a billing notice in which you raise to US $ 34.94 a month when I was paying 11.95, for this reason I will not renew the service, I will move to another hosting. Thank you very much. The price is to hight. The price is to hight.

Visit Host →

Pamela Jessen avatar
Pamela Jessen pamelajessen.com
Sep 27, 2018

Antonio was great. He wasn’t able to help me personally, but let me know what the next steps would be. I appreciated his honesty and the fact that although he couldn’t do anything for me himself, there was the Domain team that would be able to help, and it would be within the next 24-48 hours. I like that the emphasis was on teamwork.

Visit Host →

Chandra Poll avatar
Chandra Poll the-simplifiedfamily.com
Sep 26, 2018

Thank you so much for your help today! The specialist was very prompt and fixed the problem very quickly. There seemed to be a problem with my SSL certificate.

It was telling everyone that my certificate expired the day before. But, when I researched my account, I found that my SSL was not expired. When I reached out, the specialist fixed it and my site was up and running again within less than 5 minutes.

I love SiteGround! Thank you!

Visit Host →

Frank Pereira avatar
Frank Pereira ten12design.com
Sep 21, 2018

Best company ever!!!!! I am so happy that I switched from my other hosting company to SiteGround. The support is by far the best!!!

The fact that support gets back and knows how to help small business owners like me makes me so happy to be part of this company. Thank you!!!

Visit Host →

Wendy Cole avatar
Wendy Cole managersofthehome.com
Nov 12, 2018

SiteGround has been a Huge help to me as a beginning blogger. Their support is exceptional and they are quick and so helpful. If you are a beginner, don’t be concerned about the tech stuff, they will help you and explain everything out to you. Best hosting company for sure.

Visit Host →

Load More

Customer Support 

SiteGround responds to queries from customers in English and Spanish, and their website is localized for nine territories. They offer live chat, ticketing, and phone support. 

24/7 Service

All support options are available 24/7, unlike some web hosts that make you wait until their offices open.

Response Times

They also promise to send an initial response to queries within 10 minutes.

In my experience, they do meet this promise. It sometimes takes longer to get the issue resolved, but that’s generally because the issue is being passed to the right person, and the ticket sits in their queue for a little while. But in most cases, issues have been completely resolved within hours — even if they’ve been passed to multiple tech support operatives. And while you wait, you are kept updated.

Case Study: Site Migration

I had to reach out to customer service personnel when I couldn’t complete a second site migration onto my cloud hosting plan. This is a limitation of the cloud plans because the restore function that you’d expect to see is missing.

The issue was resolved quickly — within a few hours — and I was kept informed at regular intervals while the migrations were taking place.

Indeed you can not restore full cPanel backups yourself on your Cloud Server. Currently we are transferring your remote account via full cPanel backup that we will restore on our end. If you have a full cPanel backup that you need us to restore for you, you could open a new support ticket from User Area > Support and ask us to restore it for you as if you provide us with one or two cPanel backups we will restore it for you.

If you want to perform the restores yourself you could upgrade to a dedicated server with root access.

We will update this ticket with more information regarding the current transfer when available.

Best regards,

Aleksandar Dimitrov
Technical Support Team

Copy of a SiteGround tech support update.

My plan also includes auto-detection of downtime, which works perfectly. On the rare occasion that my site has gone down due to a server issue, it’s been logged and resolved before Pingdom has alerted me to the outage. That helps keep uptime solid and reduces the amount of admin that I have to do.

Datacenters

SiteGround is one of a small clutch of web hosts that offer a choice of datacenters to shared hosting customers. It’s certainly worth taking advantage of this, and picking the right datacenter when you sign up.

Locations

SiteGround has datacenters in Chicago, the UK, the Netherlands, and Singapore. SiteGround says they have picked these locations because they’re the most reliable. But they also offer a good global reach. Some web hosts only offer you a choice of US locations, so this is nice to see.

Remember that the datacenter you choose should be closest to your primary visitors. So if you’re running a business in northern Europe, the UK or Netherlands datacenters are going to prove fastest for them.

Cloudflare CDN

Using Cloudflare CDN will also help you to speed up content delivery irrespective of visitor location. The basic Cloudflare plan is provided by SiteGround and integrated right into cPanel, so it’s very easy to get started. Once it’s enabled, you can use it for all subdomains by following a few additional steps in cPanel.

Of course, if you already have a standalone Cloudflare account, you can continue to use it in the way you always have. Providing your nameservers are correctly set, you’ll be good to go.

Control Panel

SiteGround has cPanel on all of their plans. The version of cPanel you’ll use is slightly customized; SiteGround has added additional features, but the core components will look familiar if you’ve used cPanel before, or you’ve seen a host review of another plan that provides it.

Customer Account Area

In addition, SiteGround has their own customer account area, which offers detailed information about your plan and — if applicable — your server. They call this the “User’s Area,” and it provides easy access to the support portal and ticket system.

Support Portal and Ticket System

For my cloud plan, I can see the following information as soon as I log in:

  • Server specifications

  • Datacenter location

  • Primary domain (the domain SiteGround assigns — not my own)

  • cPanel username

  • Server IP

  • DNS

  • FTP and email server details

  • Backup plan

  • Cloudflare CDN status.

Some of this information is also provided in the SiteGround cPanel, but it’s very helpful having it all in one place for reference.

Buying Extra Services

You can also purchase standalone email, FTP, PHP, or MySQL hosting plans through this panel. SiteGround has a library of templates for Joomla, Magento, and WordPress. And they can register domains for you too, although this isn’t a service that they advertise prominently.

If you need to increase the capacity of your plan, or order an additional web hosting account, you can do this within the User’s Area as well.

SiteGround Services

Uptime Performance

In my testing, SiteGround consistently exceeds their uptime guarantee of 99.9%. In fact, for the 10-months of data I have, they have averaged 99.99% uptime — just over 3 minutes of downtime per month.

Server Response Times

Their response times are also very good: usually below 500 ms and often under 400 ms. This is much better than our tests of GoDaddy, which indicate has an average response time of ~1,000 ms. SiteGround is generally very slightly faster than Bluehost.

It is not, however, as good as WP Engine, which our tests indicate has an average response time consistently less than 400 ms.

These tests can’t be taken as the final word on SiteGround’s server performance. Hosts’ numbers do change remarkably over time. But these numbers indicate that SiteGround offers very good and reliable performance.

Month Uptime Time
Mar 2018 99.97% 433 ms
Apr 2018 100.00% 511 ms
May 2018 100.00% 371 ms
Jun 2018 100.00% 331 ms
Jul 2018 100.00% 462 ms
Aug 2018 100.00% 402 ms
Sep 2018 100.00% 509 ms
Oct 2018 100.00% 428 ms
Nov 2018 99.98% 492 ms
Dec 2018 99.99% 431 ms
Average 99.99% 437 ms

Does SiteGround Offer an Uptime Guarantee?

SiteGround does offer a refund if their uptime falls below 99.9%. But this is extremely unlikely to happen since they measure their uptime yearly. (Most hosts that offer a guarantee measure it monthly.)

In case you do experience downtime of more than 0.1% annually, you’ll be compensated as follows: one month of free hosting for uptime between 99.0% and 99.9%; and one month free for every percentage point below that.

If you feel like you have outgrown your hosting plan, your first step should be to upgrade to the GoGeek plan. After that check out Cloud and Dedicated hosting.

SiteGround is unlikely to ever have to compensate for downtime. And that’s a good thing.

Upgrading Your Hosting

If you feel like you have outgrown your hosting plan and you have the StartUp or GrowBig plans, your first step should be to upgrade to the GoGeek plan. These plans are hosted on servers with fewer accounts and so are faster and more robust.

Cloud Hosting

If GoGeek doesn’t cut it, you should look at SiteGround’s cloud hosting plans. Cloud hosting services model the traditional VPS, with a few small changes to the way they’re set up and managed.

Your account will be isolated when you choose a cloud plan, and you’ll benefit from full management if things go wrong. SiteGround’s management includes auto-detection of outages.

You’ll also benefit from auto-scaling on a cloud server, so your site won’t go offline if you need more resources; it’ll just be upgraded, and you’ll be billed for the difference. This is likely worth the extra money for business customers.

Dedicated Servers

SiteGround also offers dedicated servers, with various customizable options, including the choice of Apache or Nginx — the latter is offered for those that need the best possible speed. There’s no extra charge for cPanel and you get 10 TB of bandwidth and 5 IP addresses.

SiteGround Overview

This quick overview will help you compare SiteGround to other hosting companies.

Specialties

  1. WordPress hosting: SiteGround has developed impressive security and speed features that are specific to WordPress, and offers managed WordPress on all plans.

  2. Excellent global sites, English and Spanish technical support, and an international outlook.

  3. Promises 99.9% uptime but strives for better, and in our experience, delivers.

Migration Policy

On the higher level (GoGeek and GrowBig) plans, you get one free site migrated within 24 hours of account activation. Other site migrations (including the first for the lowest-level, StartUp, plan) can be purchased.

Support Material

Good.

Available Datacenters

Chicago, USA; UK; Netherlands; Singapore.

Money-Back Guarantee

30-day money-back guarantee.

Lowest Price

$3.95/mo using our special link.

Backup Policy

Free, but with a fee to restore on the basic (StartUp) plan. On-demand backups are only included in the top-tier (GoGeek) plan.

SiteGround Pros

Here are five reasons why I like SiteGround:

  1. They are clear about the resources they provide. For example, each plan comes with a set amount of disk space. Often, hosts offer unlimited disk space with the caveat “as long as you don’t use too much.” Similarly, their higher-end hosting plans come with set bandwidth allowances. The shared hosting plans have set website visitor allowances. As a result, you are unlikely to ever have your account suspended because of some nebulous “excessive resource usage.”

  2. The GoGeek plan provides high-performance shared hosting by putting fewer websites on the same server.

  3. All shared hosting plans use servers that are tuned for top WordPress performance.

  4. Its self-help material is accurate and readable — similar to the excellent material provided by InMotion Hosting.

  5. SiteGround runs fast web servers using a variety of techniques: SSD storage, Nginx web server, SuperCacher, Cloudflare CDN, and HHVM.

SiteGround Cons and Complaints

No web host is perfect, and SiteGround is no different. But their imperfections are unlikely to be deal-breakers for most website owners. Still, it pays to be informed before signing up.

Here are five things I’d like to see SiteGround improve:

  1. Although SiteGround offers great value for their services, they are still more expensive than competitors like Bluehost and A2 Hosting. That’s especially true if you have more than one site to host. So if price is a major concern, SiteGround may not be the best choice.

  2. SiteGround doesn’t offer a free domain name — even for people who sign up for their maximum contract length (3 years). A free domain name makes starting a new website much easier.

  3. Backup protection is complicated and expensive unless you have their higher-end plans. All accounts are backed up daily by SiteGround. But you have to pay for restores if you have their lowest-level plan (StartUp). And creating backups on-demand is only free for the top-tier plan (GoGeek). I would like to see universal backup and restore services.

  4. SiteGround only offers a free website migration on their higher-end plans. And only for the first one. If you have more than one site to move — and for any site for their basic (StartUp) plan — you’ll be billed.

  5. Its reseller hosting, while logical, is a web of complicated credits and discounts.

These aren’t going to trouble every SiteGround user. And when a host does well on all other counts, it’s difficult to be picky.

But the backup system is one key area where I feel SiteGround could polish their offer and make it much friendlier to all customers.

SiteGround Alternatives

Although I really like SiteGround, they aren’t right for everyone. Here are some excellent alternatives.

Bluehost

Bluehost specializes in WordPress hosting — in fact, they were the first official WordPress host. You might want to stay away from their Basic plan because it is limited in things like email.

InMotion Hosting

Like SiteGround, InMotion Hosting is independently owned and targets businesses.

WP Engine

If you want managed WordPress, but you don’t feel comfortable using cPanel and FTP, WP Engine is probably going to be a smoother ride for you — albeit with a higher price tag.

A2 Hosting

A2 hosting specializes in hosting for developers. But they are also an exceptional general hosting provider with solid servers, plenty of features, and low prices.

Is SiteGround Right for You?

SiteGround is a solid web hosting provider. My experience is certainly good on the things that are important — uptime, support, speed, and technical capability.

The plan you choose will affect performance and speed to some degree. But when I’ve talked to SiteGround users, I’ve found that all plans perform well in terms of uptime and features.

The customer service you get is great across the board; customers on the cheaper hosting plans appear to experience the same quality of support as those paying more.

SiteGround is definitely a host any serious website owner should consider. Are they the right fit for you? Head over to SiteGround.com and decide for yourself.

Edited with additional material by Frank Moraes and fact-checked by Sherrie Gossett.

Most Popular SiteGround Hosting Plans

StartUp GrowBig GoGeek
Disk Space 10GB 20GB 30GB
Bandwidth Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Price $3.95 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$7.95 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$14.95 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit SiteGround Visit SiteGround Visit SiteGround
Plan Disk Space Bandwidth Price
Reseller Hosting
Reseller
10GB $42 / mo Visit Host
Entry Cloud
Cloud
20GB 5TB $60 / mo Visit Host
Business Cloud
Cloud
40GB 5TB $80 / mo Visit Host
Business Cloud Plus
Cloud
60GB 5TB $100 / mo Visit Host
Enterprise Cloud
Cloud
80GB 5TB $140 / mo Visit Host
Entry Server Dedicated Hosting
Dedicated
500GB 5TB $229 / mo Visit Host
Power Server Dedicated Hosting
Dedicated
1TB 5TB $329 / mo Visit Host
Enterprise Server Dedicated Hosting
Dedicated
2GB 5TB $429 / mo Visit Host
More Plans +

SiteGround Frequently Asked Questions

  • Where is SiteGround located?

    SiteGround is a web hosting company that offers a range of hosting services, including shared, cloud, and dedicated hosting.

    They are located in Sofia, Bulgaria with an office in Madrid, Spain. And they have datacenters in Chicago, London, Amsterdam, and Singapore.

  • Is SiteGround any good?

    Based on the experience of our staff and the user reviews here, SiteGround is more than good. In particular, they offer some of the best WordPress hosting around without costing as much as WordPress-only hosts like WP Engine and Kinsta.

  • Does SiteGround offer a free domain?

    No. However, you can pay to register a domain with SiteGround at the time you sign up.

  • Is SiteGround better than Bluehost?

    Both SiteGround and Bluehost are excellent hosting providers. Which one is right for you will depend upon your needs.

    In general, SiteGround provides better performance while Bluehost provides better prices.

  • How much does SiteGround cost?

    By using the link on this page, you can get SiteGround for as little as $3.95 per month.

  • If SiteGround is based in Bulgaria, will my website be slow for visitors in the US?

    No. SiteGround gives you a choice of datacenter locations, so you can choose the one closest to your customers. You can also set up their free Cloudflare CDN to ensure that your site loads quickly.

  • What’s the difference between Let’s Encrypt SSL Certificates and a paid SSL certificate from another authority?

    SiteGround’s free SSL certificates come from Let’s Encrypt, which provides trimmed down versions of the SSL certificates you buy from third parties. They have put together a help article so you can see the difference between Let’s Encrypt and the competitors.

    In short, these free SSL certificates are just validated on your domain, and not your company data. So they’re fine for basic security, but if you’re running an e-commerce store, you might want more advanced features, which means paying for an SSL certificate.

    SiteGround offers an upgrade to Wildcard SSL or EV SSL which are more advanced than Let’s Encrypt, and more suitable for medium to large businesses that need additional features. You can purchase either of these from your User’s Account once signed in.

  • Do I have to use WordPress on SiteGround?

    No. SiteGround has optimized their service for WordPress, but you can use any application that is permissible, such as the ones they provide as 1-Click installs. That includes alternative CMSs like Joomla and Magento. You may also want to use SiteGround’s site builder to create a website quickly and without hassle.

  • Is there a money-back guarantee?

    Yes. There is a 30-day money-back guarantee. You can cancel your service within the first 30 days and receive a full refund.

    The money-back guarantee does not cover cloud or dedicated hosting, and there are some restrictions on reseller plans. You must raise your request through the User Area to claim your refund.

  • Can I choose a datacenter location?

    Yes. You can choose which of the four datacenters that your server is located in.

  • What payment methods does SiteGround accept?

    SiteGround accepts payment by VISA, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover. Payments must be made for one, two or three years’ service.

    However, if you want to trial their service, you can also pay for one month before committing to a longer contract.

  • Will SiteGround back up my website?

    SiteGround stores 30 backup copies of your website at any time. But you have to pay for restores if you have their lowest-priced shared plan.

  • Does SiteGround offer free site migration?

    For their top shared hosting plans (GrowBig and GoGeek), SiteGround will migrate one existing website free of charge, without downtime. This includes WordPress websites.

    If you need more help, SiteGround provides 24/7 support to get you up and running quickly. If you need help moving your domain to SiteGround, they have step-by-step tutorials in their help center.

  • Do they offer one-click installers?

    SiteGround offers Softaculous with more than 400 web applications — including WordPress and Joomla — to install automatically.

  • How does SiteGround secure web hosting accounts?

    SiteGround isolates shared hosting accounts from each other, which prevents malware from spreading from one shared hosting customer to the next. The company has also rolled out more than 800 custom firewall rules to prevent malicious hacks.

    You should still take measures to keep your website safe from hacking, including using a strong password for your account, and taking advantage of their automatic updates for WordPress and Joomla!.

  • Is Windows hosting available?

    SiteGround offers Linux hosting only. They do not offer Windows hosting. 

  • What’s SiteGround’s uptime guarantee?

    SiteGround guarantees 99.9% uptime, averaged over a 12 month period. If they fail to provide that, they will provide an account credit.

    The amount of downtime will determine the value of the credit you receive. SiteGround does this proactively, so you don’t need to monitor uptime yourself. They provide an uptime calculation in their User Area for each customer.

  • What control panel does SiteGround offer?

    All plans come with cPanel. There are no extra fees for cPanel on any plan. Dedicated and cloud hosting plans also come with WHM.

  • Does SiteGround offer VPS hosting?

    SiteGround provides cloud hosting instead of VPS hosting. Cloud hosting offers very similar specifications to VPS hosting, with the ability to scale up your plan on-demand. All cloud hosting packages are fully managed.

  • Is there a reseller hosting plan?

    Yes, SiteGround has a reseller hosting plan with a scalable volume discount, so you receive a better price as your requirements increase. Resellers also benefit from a discount price on domain name registrations.

  • Does SiteGround offer management with dedicated hosting plans?

    Yes. Management is included as standard on all dedicated hosting plans.

  • What programming languages does SiteGround support?

    SiteGround supports many scripting languages, including Perl, Python, Ruby, and multiple versions of PHP, including PHP 7.

  • Can SiteGround provide specialized Magento support?

    Yes. SiteGround has a hosting plan optimized for Magento Community Edition.

    The plan includes shared hosting with CloudFlare with Railgun, free Magento install (via support or Softaculous), site transfer assistance, and specialized Magento support.

    SiteGround provides a free Magento tutorial on their website.

  • Which version of Linux will I get on my dedicated server?

    SiteGround uses Apache/Nginx on CentOS for their dedicated servers.

  • Do SiteGround plans come with a CDN?

    Yes. All SiteGround plans include CloudFlare.

  • Does SiteGround offer unlimited storage and bandwidth for shared hosting customers?

    SiteGround does not include unlimited storage with their shared hosting accounts. But the amount of storage should be adequate for most websites.

    Bandwidth is unmetered. However, SiteGround has a limit to the number of monthly users your site may host. If you hit the limit on your chosen plan, you will be asked to upgrade to the next tier.

Claire Broadley

About Claire Broadley

Claire has been creating websites for over 20 years and has been using WordPress for over ten. She is an expert in web hosting, design, HTML, and more. She lives with her husband and son in the United Kingdom.

Connect with Claire

Review SiteGround & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a SiteGround customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more…

1 How would you rate your experience with SiteGround?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about SiteGround.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that SiteGround rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2019 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2019.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your SiteGround review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).