SiteGround Review: Impressive Customer Service. Where Else Do They Excel?

Our Verdict: #1 of 381 Hosts Overall

SiteGround is best known for their outstanding customer support. On top of that they have fast, rock solid servers and affordable plans with features like free CDNs and SSL certificates. We can’t find a host that beats them overall.

If you’re interested in going with SiteGround for your website, make sure you click our links because nobody beats our discount. You can save up to 77% off all plans .

Pros:

  • Official WordPress-recommended host
  • Award-winning 24/7 support
  • Extremely fast servers

Cons:

  • Setting up backups can be complicated
  • No free domain name

SiteGround scores 5 out of 5 stars across all of our ratings in over 2,100 reviews by actual customers. That means they get top scores for support, quality, features, and value. SiteGround is our user reviewers’ #1 choice for the past three years.

Is SiteGround the Perfect Host for Your Site?

Looking for something specific? Jump to our most popular sections:

  • Expert Review — read our thorough analysis & uptime data by our editorial team.
  • Customer Reviews — see what SiteGround customers have to say.
  • Hosting Plans — compare the best SiteGround hosting plans and their pricing.
  • FAQs — find the answers to the most asked questions about SiteGround!

SiteGround is known for their WordPress expertise and beginner-friendly tech support. Just how good is SiteGround? According to the user reviews further down this page, they’re great! But is this true?

Maybe these high customer satisfaction ratings are a statistical fluke. Or maybe they don’t reflect how SiteGround would work for your particular hosting needs.

So: is SiteGround right for you?

Read on! I’ll explain everything: what hosting plans SiteGround offers, what is good and bad about them, and what they specialize in. And I’ll recommend a few other hosts that might suit some readers better.

SiteGround Overview

SiteGround is privately owned and was founded in 2004. They’re based in Bulgaria, where they have two offices. They also have an office in Madrid, Spain.

SiteGround Hosting

SiteGround’s website promotes different types of hosting; they offer shared, WordPress, cloud, and dedicated plans — in addition to many other specialized plans. Customers benefit from free Cloudflare CDNs and SSL certificates. And their shared plans are packed with features.

Additionally, SiteGround’s servers are rock solid. From experience (see data below), I’ve found that their uptime is impressive.

But SiteGround is most of all known for something else. Ask any customer, and support will be at the top of their list. I discuss this in detail below, including my own experiences with SiteGround’s tech support.

Let’s dive into the details now.

SiteGround Hosting Plans

SiteGround offers the full range of hosting types from shared to cloud, reseller, and dedicated.

Shared Hosting

Shared hosting is the battleground where all the best hosts compete for your attention. It is also the kind of hosting most people need; only large or demanding sites require cloud/VPS or dedicated hosting. SiteGround has done exceptionally well in the shared hosting market, distinguishing themselves from their competitors.

Shared Hosting Plans

SiteGround offers three different plans : StartUp, GrowBig, and GoGeek.

  StartUp GrowBig GoGeek
 
Websites 1 Unl Unl
Disk (GB) 10 20 30
Monthly Visits 10,000 25,000 100,000
Price $3.95 $5.95 $11.95
 

Shared Hosting Features

SiteGround uses CentOS Linux for their servers. So it shouldn’t be surprising that shared hosting plans come with the cPanel control panel.

There are a couple of benefits to this. First, most website owners are familiar with it because of its popularity. And those who aren’t should become so because they are likely to run into it a lot in the future.

The second reason is that using cPanel makes moving to and from SiteGround easier.

SiteGround cPanel
The SiteGround dashboard is easy to use.
Shared Feature: Web Applications

Of particular interest to new website owners is SiteGround’s inclusion of the Softaculous auto-installer. It allows you to easily install over 400 web applications like:

  • Blogs

  • CMSs

  • Forums

  • Wikis

  • Social Networking

  • E-Commerce.

These applications include WordPress, Joomla, Magento, PrestaShop, and phpBB3.

Shared Feature: Bandwidth

All shared plans come with unmetered bandwidth. However, this is not how SiteGround measures site use. Each plan allows for a set maximum of site visitors per month — as shown in the table above.

The numbers are approximate and designed to reflect reasonable resource usage. They are meant to give you an idea of what kind of plan is right for your website. And SiteGround’s technical support will help you minimize your resource usage so that you stay within the parameters of your plan.

Like practically every host, SiteGround does have acceptable use limits. If you host movies, image galleries, or audio files, your web site might be considered an excessive drain on bandwidth. In this case, you may need to upgrade to a more powerful plan .

Shared Feature: Disk Storage

SiteGround’s shared hosting plans offer between 10 GB and 30 GB of disk space. All of this storage is on fast SSDs (solid-state drives).

Shared Feature: Free CDN

SiteGround offers the Cloudflare CDN for all shared hosting plans.

A Content Delivery Network (CDN) stores copies of your website all over the world. This speeds up page delivery to people located far from your base web server.

SiteGround offers the Cloudflare CDN for all shared hosting plans . If you are hosting more than one website, you can use this for all of them.

Shared Feature: SSL Certificates

Free Let’s Encrypt Secure Socket Layer (SSL) certificates come with all shared hosting plans. SSL certificates are essential if you are going to run an e-commerce site.

However, they are important even if you don’t have an online store. SSL certificates (HTTPS) are a sign of trust to users. Google also gives SSL sites a minor ranking boost. So they are good to have regardless of your website.

Shared Feature: Website Builder

For those who aren’t technically inclined but still want a great website, SiteGround offers a website builder . Weebly provides it. You just drag-and-drop elements to create pages. It even has e-commerce features.

Just be careful: if you select the Site Builder for your account, any content you’ve created outside of the site builder will be deleted. So be sure to only activate the site builder on a completely clean account, or if you’re happy to lose the data that’s already there.

Other Shared Hosting Features

SiteGround offers SSH access with all of their plans. Most website owners won’t use this. But if you plan to do any development (or hire someone to do it), this is critically important.

You get unlimited email addresses and databases. You may be surprised how many email addresses you use: for your blog, for sales questions, for a newsletter, and on and on.

Most web applications use a database. Thus, even though you may not deal with them directly, it’s good to have them.

There are many other features you shouldn’t forget. SiteGround offers a 30-day money-back guarantee . And you get SiteGround’s exceptional technical support (see below).

GrowBig Shared Features

If you’re going to use a major CMS like WordPress or Joomla, it is probably worthwhile to step up to the GrowBig plan . It includes everything in the StartUp plan and then some.

The primary appeal of this plan is that it offers SuperCacher — SiteGround’s own caching system. It allows static and dynamic web pages (as well as database queries) to be cached for quick delivery to users.

The GrowBig plan also allows you to host unlimited websites on your account (up to your resource limit). Additionally, it includes free site migration.

GrowBig allows you to perform backups on-demand so that you can set restore points before you do anything that you think might be reversed.

A final great feature is one-click staging servers for your WordPress and Joomla sites. This makes managing a site easier and safer.

GoGeek Shared Features

The biggest reason to choose GoGeek is that it is PCI compliant — essential if you are running an online store.

If you are running an e-commerce site (or otherwise have a demanding site), GoGeek is the best choice . It includes all the features of GrowBig and more.

The biggest reason to choose GoGeek is that it is PCI compliant — essential if you are running an online store.

Another important bonus for GoGeek users is great support access. SiteGround is known for its great support. And GoGeek users get priority support where their requests are sent to SiteGround’s most experienced tech support staff.

Finally, it provides greater speed and computational power by having fewer websites hosted on your server.

WordPress Hosting

SiteGround offers a special form of shared hosting for WordPress users. It is mostly the same: visits, disk space, features. Its most obvious difference is that WordPress is installed for free. But there is more under the hood.

Choose from 3 WordPress plans starting at $3.95/month.

Bot Protection for WordPress

In 2017, SiteGround launched their own bot protection system, powered by their own artificial intelligence algorithm. When this system was switched on, I noticed a remarkable reduction in the number of alerts from my WordPress security plugins.

This system prevents the vast majority of brute force attacks on the WordPress login screen, and it also does a good job of detecting malicious login attempts.

It presents a Captcha challenge to any suspicious user; any genuine user that successfully completes the Captcha won’t be blocked again. And it continually adapts to new threats.

This kind of technology is increasingly important in tackling the millions of unauthorized login attempts that webmasters have to battle.

Of course, you can achieve this with a plugin for the CMS or script that you’re using. But the fact that SiteGround has implemented it means that many of those malicious bots need never hit your site in the first place.

So it’s a speed-booster for your site, as well as an important security feature .

WooCommerce Hosting

Another variant of shared hosting is SiteGround’s WooCommerce hosting. If you are planning to start a WooCommerce site (built on WordPress), you should look into these plans. However, you will almost certainly want to use the GoGeek plan as it is the only one that is PCI compliant.

Cloud Hosting

For high-demand websites, SiteGround offers 4 cloud hosting plans : Entry, Business, Business Plus, and Super Power.

All of them provide 5 TB of monthly data transfer. Even the Entry plan is extremely powerful as you can see in the following table.

Plan CPU Cores RAM Disk Price (mon)
Entry 2 4 GB 40 GB $80.00
Business 3 6 GB 60 GB $120.00
Business Plus 4 8 GB 80 GB $160.00
Super Power 8 10 GB 120 GB $240.00

Reseller Hosting

Reseller hosting allows businesses to create additional revenue streams by including web hosting with their services. You could also set up your own web hosting business using these reseller plans , and white label everything, so your users won’t ever see the SiteGround brand.

The core package includes 10 GB disk space, and the ability to host an unlimited number of customers. But the pricing is a little unconventional.

Reseller Credit System

Here’s how the credit system works:

  • You must buy at least 5 credits to get set up as a reseller

  • One reseller credit is equal to a year’s hosting for your customers; if you begin with 10 customers, you need 10 credits to activate each site for one year

  • Additional services, like domains, must be paid for by credit card

  • Resellers get discounts on space and domain registrations; the more credits you buy in one transaction, the bigger the discount will be.

As a reseller, you don’t get access to WHM. Everything is done via your SiteGround user area.

A Different Reseller Option

Of course, if you don’t like this credit system (and you want more control over client accounts), you could just purchase a cloud plan and use WHM with that.

The disadvantage is that you’d lose some of the best features of SiteGround’s reseller package, like the ability to choose each customer’s datacenter location individually.

High-End Hosting: Dedicated and Custom-Built Servers

SiteGround offers two kinds of hosting for website owners who require the most power and stability. Even if that isn’t you, it’s good to know that you have a path upward should your website take off.

There are three plans for dedicated servers: Entry, Power, and Super Power. They are all built on Intel Xeon processors and come with 10 TB of monthly bandwidth. They vary as to CPU cores, RAM, and disk space.

SiteGround also provides enterprise hosting where they build custom servers for you and then manage them. You will have to contact them about these, however.



web hosting deals

Save big on our #1 rated host
Our readers can currently save up to 67% on SiteGround’s fast hosting. Use this exclusive discount link  to get the best deal available.



Continued after user reviews

SiteGround Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 2,764 Reviews by SiteGround Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Rich Austin avatar
Rich Austin richaustinmusic.com
Oct 01, 2018

Amazing technical support. The best. Every support agent I speak to knows their stuff and they are always on hand.

I’m a complete layman when it comes to computers and they teach you as well as being extremely polite, fun and helpful. Highly recommended, so no need to look any further :)

Visit Host Now →

Kath Dawson avatar
Kath Dawson digitalacademycollective.co.uk
Jun 17, 2017

I have used Siteground for years, both as a previous agency owner, and now as a consultant. I am absolutely confident that if I get stuck with an installation that live chat tech support will get me up and running. They have honestly never failed to solve a problem. Always willing, polite and incredibly helpful I find the support staff a delight to deal with.

Visit Host Now →

David Wright avatar
David Wright surreywebdesigns.com
Jul 01, 2019

Tried all three wordpress recommended hosting and SiteGround is the best. We are just transferring the last of 10 websites hosted on BlueHost (1 of3 recommended) to SiteGround. The other hosting companies are much slower websites, constant issues, the SiteGround speed optim plugin does everything we were trying to do with 3 other 3rd party plugins.

Customer service is far better. Just overall the whole experience is flawless compared to the other 2 companies (BlueHost & HostGator). Massive thanks to Antonio K. for all the help today = Legend.

Visit Host Now →

Karen Neumann avatar
Karen Neumann websavvystudio.com
Dec 04, 2018

I was nervous about a major WordPress release (5.0 Gutenberg) and the auto update feature, so I contacted support. Wow, I was thrilled to hear that they already had it under control and were extending the auto update timeframe for this release. SiteGround rocks because as a web developer they make my job easier! Support is always helpful and pleasant to work with – I feel like I have a team working with me.

Visit Host Now →

Steve Albin avatar
Steve Albin steve-albin.com
Nov 13, 2018

I switched from another ISP where I was managing about a dozen small websites for friends and acquaintances. I have found the support to be prompt and helpful. I have submitted tickets and used the live chat – both work well for me.

My sites are running faster. I’m very happy to have made the switch.

Visit Host Now →

Zoe Zuniga avatar
Zoe Zuniga mindbodycopy.com
Oct 19, 2018

They are very easy to work with. I switched from BlueHost when it became a big conglomerate. You get all the same features but much better support.

I have had a very easy time transferring my WordPress site over from Bluehost. I also transferred my domain names and set up two more WordPress sites and several subdomains easily. When I have had questions they are helpful and quick to get to me in the chat. There have been no long waits and I have been with SiteGround for almost a year.

Visit Host Now →

Rodrigo Cuadra avatar
Rodrigo Cuadra vitalpbx.org
Sep 27, 2018

My service ends on October 26, 2018, you sent me a billing notice in which you raise to US $ 34.94 a month when I was paying 11.95, for this reason I will not renew the service, I will move to another hosting. Thank you very much. The price is to hight. The price is to hight.

Visit Host Now →

Load More

Customer Support 

SiteGround responds to queries from customers in English and Spanish, and their website is localized for nine territories. They offer live chat, ticketing, and phone support.

24/7 Support

Unlike some web hosts that make you wait until their offices open to get support, SiteGround provides 24/7 customer support .

Support Response Times

They also promise to send an initial response to queries within 10 minutes.

In my experience, they do meet this promise. It sometimes takes longer to get the issue resolved, of course. In most cases, issues have been completely resolved within hours — even if they’ve been passed to multiple tech support operatives. And while you wait, you are kept updated.

Support Case Study: Site Migration

I had to reach out to customer service personnel when I couldn’t complete a second site migration onto my cloud hosting plan. This was a limitation of the cloud plans because the restore function that you’d expect to see was missing. (Since this experience, SiteGround upgraded all their plans to provide free restores.)

The issue was resolved quickly — within a few hours — and I was kept informed at regular intervals while the migrations were taking place.

Indeed you can not restore full cPanel backups yourself on your Cloud Server. Currently we are transferring your remote account via full cPanel backup that we will restore on our end. If you have a full cPanel backup that you need us to restore for you, you could open a new support ticket from User Area > Support and ask us to restore it for you as if you provide us with one or two cPanel backups we will restore it for you.

If you want to perform the restores yourself you could upgrade to a dedicated server with root access.

We will update this ticket with more information regarding the current transfer when available.

Best regards,

Aleksandar Dimitrov
Technical Support Team

Copy of a SiteGround tech support update.

My plan also includes auto-detection of downtime, which works perfectly. On the rare occasion that my site has gone down due to a server issue, it’s been logged and resolved before Pingdom has alerted me to the outage. That helps keep uptime solid and reduces the amount of admin that I have to do.

SiteGround infrastructure

SiteGround is one of a small clutch of web hosts that offer a choice of datacenters to shared hosting customers. It’s certainly worth taking advantage of this, and picking the right datacenter when you sign up.

Datacenter Locations

SiteGround has datacenters in Chicago, the UK, the Netherlands, and Singapore. SiteGround says they have picked these locations because they’re the most reliable. But they also offer a good global reach. Some web hosts only offer you a choice of US locations, so this is nice to see.

Remember that the datacenter you choose should be closest to your primary visitors. So if you’re running a business in northern Europe, the UK or Netherlands datacenters are going to prove fastest for them.

Cloudflare CDN

Using the Cloudflare CDN will also help you to speed up content delivery irrespective of visitor location. The basic Cloudflare plan is provided by SiteGround and integrated right into cPanel, so it’s very easy to get started. Once it’s enabled, you can use it for all subdomains by following a few additional steps in cPanel.

Of course, if you already have a standalone Cloudflare account, you can continue to use it as you always have.

Control Panel

SiteGround provides cPanel for all of their plans. The version of cPanel you’ll use is slightly customized; SiteGround has added additional features, but the core components will look familiar if you have encountered cPanel before.

Support Portal and Ticket System
The SiteGround dashboard makes it easy to get assistance, create email accounts, and launch a WordPress website .

Control Panel: Customer Account Area

In addition, SiteGround has their own customer account area, which offers detailed information about your plan and — if applicable — your server. They call this the “User’s Area,” and it provides easy access to the support portal and ticket system.

For my cloud plan, I can see the following information as soon as I log in:

  • Server specifications

  • Datacenter location

  • Primary domain

  • Server IP

  • DNS

  • FTP and email server details

  • Backup plan

  • Cloudflare CDN status.

SiteGround Services
Upgrading your hosting plan can be done from your dashboard.

Control Panel: Add Services

You can also purchase standalone email, FTP, PHP, or MySQL hosting plans through this panel. SiteGround has a library of templates for Joomla, Magento, and WordPress. And they can register domains for you too, although this isn’t a service that they advertise prominently.

If you need to increase the capacity of your plan, or order an additional web hosting account, you can do this within the User’s Area as well.

Hosting Performance

In my testing, SiteGround consistently exceeds their uptime guarantee of 99.9%. In fact, for the 12-months of data I have, they have averaged 99.995% uptime — just over 2 minutes of downtime per month.

SiteGround Pingdom Data
We tested SiteGround ‘s server response times and tracked their uptime.

Server Response Times

Their response times are also very good: usually below 500 ms and often under 400 ms — 431 ms average.

This is much better than our tests of GoDaddy, which indicate has an average response time of ~1,000 ms. And SiteGround is generally very slightly faster than Bluehost.

SiteGround is not, however, as good as WP Engine, which our tests indicate has an average response time consistently less than 400 ms.

These tests can’t be taken as the final word on SiteGround’s server performance. Hosts’ numbers do change remarkably over time. But these numbers indicate that SiteGround offers hosting plans with very good and reliable performance.

Map of SiteGround Server Response Times
Map of SiteGround server response times (green indicates times less than 500 ms)

Uptime Guarantee

It is extremely unlikely that you will collect on SiteGround’s 99.9% uptime guarantee. For one thing, their uptime numbers are excellent. For another, they measure their uptime yearly. (Most hosts that offer a guarantee measure it monthly.)

In case you do experience downtime of more than 0.1% annually, you’ll be compensated as follows: one month of free hosting for uptime between 99.0% and 99.9%; and one month free for every percentage point below that.

If you feel like you have outgrown your hosting plan, your first step should be to upgrade to the GoGeek plan . If that isn’t enough, check out Cloud and Dedicated hosting.

Don’t be concerned that you probably won’t collect on SiteGround’s uptime guarantee. You don’t want to! You want great uptime.

Upgrading Your Hosting

If you feel like you have outgrown shared hosting with the StartUp or GrowBig plans, your first step should be to upgrade to the GoGeek plan. These plans are hosted on servers with fewer accounts and so are faster and more robust.

Upgrading to Cloud Hosting

If GoGeek doesn’t cut it, you should look at SiteGround’s cloud hosting plans. Cloud hosting services model the traditional VPS, with a few small changes to the way they’re set up and managed.

Your account will be isolated when you choose a cloud plan , and you’ll benefit from full management if things go wrong.

You’ll benefit from auto-scaling on a cloud server, so your site won’t go offline if you need more resources; it’ll just be upgraded, and you’ll be billed for the difference. This is likely worth the extra money for business customers.

Upgrading to Dedicated Servers

SiteGround also offers dedicated servers, with various customizable options, including the choice of Apache or Nginx web servers. There’s no extra charge for cPanel and you get 10 TB of bandwidth and 5 IP addresses.

SiteGround Pros

Here are five reasons why I like SiteGround:

  1. They are clear about the resources they provide. For example, each plan comes with a set amount of disk space. Often, hosts offer unlimited disk space with the caveat “as long as you don’t use too much.” Similarly, their higher-end hosting plans come with set bandwidth allowances. The shared hosting plans have set website visitor allowances. As a result, you are unlikely to ever have your account suspended because of some nebulous “excessive resource usage.”

  2. The GoGeek plan provides high-performance shared hosting by putting fewer websites on the same server.

  3. All shared hosting plans use servers that are tuned for top WordPress performance.

  4. Its self-help material is accurate and readable — similar to the excellent material provided by InMotion Hosting.

  5. SiteGround runs fast web servers using a variety of techniques: SSD storage, Nginx web server, SuperCacher, Cloudflare CDN, and HHVM.

SiteGround Cons and Complaints

No web host is perfect, and SiteGround is no different. But their imperfections are unlikely to be deal-breakers for most website owners. Still, it pays to be informed before signing up.

Here are four things I’d like to see SiteGround improve:

  1. Although SiteGround offers great value for their services, they are still more expensive than competitors like Bluehost and A2 Hosting. That’s especially true if you have more than one site to host. So if price is a major concern, SiteGround may not be the best choice.

  2. SiteGround doesn’t offer a free domain name — even for people who sign up for their maximum contract length (3 years). A free domain name makes starting a new website much easier.

  3. SiteGround only offers a free website migration on their higher-end plans . And only for the first one. If you have more than one site to move — and for any site for their basic (StartUp) plan — you’ll be billed.

  4. Its reseller hosting, while logical, is a web of complicated credits and discounts.

These aren’t going to trouble every SiteGround user. And when a host does well on all other counts, it’s difficult to be picky.

When I first wrote this review, I was most concerned about their backup system. Although they offered free backups, restores were expensive on all but the higher-level plans. This is no longer true. Now, SiteGround provides free restores on all their plans, which is a great change.

SiteGround Alternatives

Although I really like SiteGround, they aren’t right for everyone. Here are some excellent alternatives.

  SiteGround Bluehost InMotion A2 Hosting
 
Websites 1 1 2 1
Disk (GB) 10 50 Unm Unm
Bandwidth Unm Unm Unm Unm
Price $3.95 $2.75 $3.99 $3.92
 

SiteGround vs Bluehost

Bluehost specializes in WordPress hosting — in fact, they were the first official WordPress host. You might want to stay away from their Basic plan because it is limited in things like email.

But they are an excellent host — especially for users on a budget.

SiteGround vs InMotion Hosting

InMotion Hosting is a lot like SiteGround. They offer a full range of hosting types with generous disk storage and unmetered bandwidth.

They are also known for their great support.

SiteGround vs A2 Hosting

A2 Hosting specializes in hosting for developers. But they are also an exceptional general hosting provider with solid servers, plenty of features, and low prices.

They also offer fast and reliable servers.

Looking for Managed WordPress Hosting?

If you want managed WordPress, but you don’t feel comfortable using cPanel and FTP, WP Engine is probably going to be a smoother ride for you — albeit with a higher price tag.


web hosting tips

Save big on our #1 rated host
Our readers can currently save up to 67% on SiteGround’s fast hosting. Use this exclusive discount link to get the best deal available.


Is SiteGround Right for You?

SiteGround is a solid web hosting provider. My experience is certainly good on the things that are important — uptime, support, speed, and technical capability.

The plan you choose will affect performance and speed to some degree. But when I’ve talked to SiteGround users, I’ve found that all plans perform well in terms of uptime and features.

The customer service you get is great across the board; customers on the cheaper hosting plans appear to experience the same quality of support as those paying more (although those with the GoGeek plan may be served faster).

SiteGround is definitely a host any serious website owner should consider. Are they the right fit for you? Head over to SiteGround.com and decide for yourself.

Edited with additional material by Frank Moraes.

Most Popular SiteGround Hosting Plans

StartUp GrowBig GoGeek
Disk Space 10GB 20GB 30GB
Bandwidth Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Price $3.95 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$7.95 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$14.95 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit SiteGround Now Visit SiteGround Now Visit SiteGround Now
Plan Disk Space Bandwidth Price
Reseller Hosting
Reseller
10GB $42 / mo Visit Host Now
Entry Cloud
Cloud
40GB 5TB $80 / mo Visit Host Now
Business Cloud
Cloud
60GB 5TB $120 / mo Visit Host Now
Business Cloud Plus
Cloud
80GB 5TB $160 / mo Visit Host Now
Entry Server Dedicated Hosting
Dedicated
500GB 5TB $229 / mo Visit Host Now
Enterprise Cloud
Cloud
120GB 5TB $240 / mo Visit Host Now
Power Server Dedicated Hosting
Dedicated
1TB 5TB $329 / mo Visit Host Now
Enterprise Server Dedicated Hosting
Dedicated
2GB 5TB $429 / mo Visit Host Now
More Plans +

SiteGround Frequently Asked Questions

  • Where is SiteGround located?

    SiteGround is a web hosting company that offers a range of hosting services, including shared, cloud, and dedicated hosting.

    They are located in Sofia, Bulgaria with an office in Madrid, Spain. And they have datacenters in Chicago, London, Amsterdam, and Singapore.

  • Is SiteGround any good?

    Based on the experience of our staff and the user reviews here, SiteGround is more than good. In particular, they offer some of the best WordPress hosting around without costing as much as WordPress-only hosts like WP Engine and Kinsta.

  • Does SiteGround offer a free domain?

    No. However, you can pay to register a domain with SiteGround at the time you sign up.

  • Is SiteGround better than Bluehost?

    Both SiteGround and Bluehost are excellent hosting providers. Which one is right for you will depend upon your needs.

    In general, SiteGround provides better performance while Bluehost provides better prices.

  • How much does SiteGround cost?

    By using the link on this page, you can get SiteGround for as little as $3.95 per month.

  • If SiteGround is based in Bulgaria, will my website be slow for visitors in the US?

    No. SiteGround gives you a choice of datacenter locations, so you can choose the one closest to your customers. You can also set up their free Cloudflare CDN to ensure that your site loads quickly.

  • What’s the difference between Let’s Encrypt SSL Certificates and a paid SSL certificate from another authority?

    SiteGround’s free SSL certificates come from Let’s Encrypt, which provides trimmed down versions of the SSL certificates you buy from third parties. They have put together a help article so you can see the difference between Let’s Encrypt and the competitors.

    In short, these free SSL certificates are just validated on your domain, and not your company data. So they’re fine for basic security, but if you’re running an e-commerce store, you might want more advanced features, which means paying for an SSL certificate.

    SiteGround offers an upgrade to Wildcard SSL or EV SSL which are more advanced than Let’s Encrypt, and more suitable for medium to large businesses that need additional features. You can purchase either of these from your User’s Account once signed in.

  • Do I have to use WordPress on SiteGround?

    No. SiteGround has optimized their service for WordPress, but you can use any application that is permissible, such as the ones they provide as 1-Click installs. That includes alternative CMSs like Joomla and Magento. You may also want to use SiteGround’s site builder to create a website quickly and without hassle.

  • Is there a money-back guarantee?

    Yes. There is a 30-day money-back guarantee. You can cancel your service within the first 30 days and receive a full refund.

    The money-back guarantee does not cover cloud or dedicated hosting, and there are some restrictions on reseller plans. You must raise your request through the User Area to claim your refund.

  • Can I choose a datacenter location?

    Yes. You can choose which of the four datacenters that your server is located in.

  • What payment methods does SiteGround accept?

    SiteGround accepts payment by VISA, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover. Payments must be made for one, two or three years’ service.

    However, if you want to trial their service, you can also pay for one month before committing to a longer contract.

  • Will SiteGround back up my website?

    SiteGround stores 30 backup copies of your website at any time. You can restore any of these for free.

  • Does SiteGround offer free site migration?

    For their top shared hosting plans (GrowBig and GoGeek), SiteGround will migrate one existing website free of charge, without downtime. This includes WordPress websites.

    If you need more help, SiteGround provides 24/7 support to get you up and running quickly. If you need help moving your domain to SiteGround, they have step-by-step tutorials in their help center.

  • Do they offer one-click installers?

    SiteGround offers Softaculous with more than 400 web applications — including WordPress and Joomla — to install automatically.

  • How does SiteGround secure web hosting accounts?

    SiteGround isolates shared hosting accounts from each other, which prevents malware from spreading from one shared hosting customer to the next. The company has also rolled out more than 800 custom firewall rules to prevent malicious hacks.

    You should still take measures to keep your website safe from hacking, including using a strong password for your account, and taking advantage of their automatic updates for WordPress and Joomla!.

  • Is Windows hosting available?

    SiteGround offers Linux hosting only. They do not offer Windows hosting. 

  • What’s SiteGround’s uptime guarantee?

    SiteGround guarantees 99.9% uptime, averaged over a 12 month period. If they fail to provide that, they will provide an account credit.

    The amount of downtime will determine the value of the credit you receive. SiteGround does this proactively, so you don’t need to monitor uptime yourself. They provide an uptime calculation in their User Area for each customer.

  • What control panel does SiteGround offer?

    All plans come with cPanel. There are no extra fees for cPanel on any plan. Dedicated and cloud hosting plans also come with WHM.

  • Does SiteGround offer VPS hosting?

    SiteGround provides cloud hosting instead of VPS hosting. Cloud hosting offers very similar specifications to VPS hosting, with the ability to scale up your plan on-demand. All cloud hosting packages are fully managed.

  • Is there a reseller hosting plan?

    Yes, SiteGround has a reseller hosting plan with a scalable volume discount, so you receive a better price as your requirements increase. Resellers also benefit from a discount price on domain name registrations.

  • Does SiteGround offer management with dedicated hosting plans?

    Yes. Management is included as standard on all dedicated hosting plans.

  • What programming languages does SiteGround support?

    SiteGround supports many scripting languages, including Perl, Python, Ruby, and multiple versions of PHP, including PHP 7.

  • Can SiteGround provide specialized Magento support?

    Yes. SiteGround has a hosting plan optimized for Magento Community Edition.

    The plan includes shared hosting with CloudFlare with Railgun, free Magento install (via support or Softaculous), site transfer assistance, and specialized Magento support.

    SiteGround provides a free Magento tutorial on their website.

  • Which version of Linux will I get on my dedicated server?

    SiteGround uses Apache/Nginx on CentOS for their dedicated servers.

  • Do SiteGround plans come with a CDN?

    Yes. All SiteGround plans include CloudFlare.

  • Does SiteGround offer unlimited storage and bandwidth for shared hosting customers?

    SiteGround does not include unlimited storage with their shared hosting accounts. But the amount of storage should be adequate for most websites.

    Bandwidth is unmetered. However, SiteGround has a limit to the number of monthly users your site may host. If you hit the limit on your chosen plan, you will be asked to upgrade to the next tier.

Claire Broadley

About Claire Broadley

Claire has been creating websites for over 20 years and has been using WordPress for over ten. She is an expert in web hosting, design, HTML, and more. She lives with her husband and son in the United Kingdom.

Connect with Claire

Review SiteGround

Already a SiteGround customer? Write an honest & helpful review.

1 How would you rate your experience with SiteGround?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about SiteGround.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that SiteGround rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 About You

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  2. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  3. You hereby grant QNL a perpetual, exclusive, irrevocable, royalty free, licence to host, display and otherwise use the review for any purpose anywhere in the world.

Thank You For Your Review

Thanks! We’ve received your review of SiteGround. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).

Comments

Thanks for your comment. It will show here once it has been approved.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

avatar

Sherri Colon

June 2, 2019

I have used a few different website hosts and SiteGround’s service is by far the best. I do use the knowledge base, but usually the questions I have are fairly unique. Whether it is a phone call or a chat, I receive excellent help in a timely fashion. I am using their WordPress product. The site isn’t very complex and it’s for a nonprofit, so there isn’t really a budget for a developer. This is the perfect solution and I highly recommend SiteGround.

avatar

SHEILLA DINGUS

September 5, 2019

I just signed up tonight and am in the process of having my site moved. It was down for most of the day with my old host, so it’s really nice to read that someone in a position similar to me is having a great experience.

avatar

Tracy Gum

September 14, 2019

Sheilla hope everything went well with swapping over to siteground
I swapped over a few years ago and the great thing about them is I have to remind myself who I am with unlike some others previously.

The good thing about that is that i never have issues with siteground. The only issues i ever have are the ones of my making LOL I mess up from time to time with tinkering with things I shouldn’t LOL

the folks here fix my messes every time very patiently.

avatar

Sean McMahon

June 4, 2019

Tsacho was polite, helpful and thorough in his assistance. What more could I ask for. Thank you Tsacho and Siteground :)

avatar

R1Law

June 10, 2019

I’ve moved over from a different hosting company that had great reviews, and my experience there was good (A2Hosting), but the level of service at SiteGround is above and beyond great. Site migration went smoothly, email accounts configured perfectly (this is for 13 sites) and speed is on shared hosting account is excellent. Chat support is superior to anything I’ve experienced. The only reason I need the help is normally because I’m implementing something that is beyond my expertise on the server side. Highly recommended to users that know enough to get into trouble but not enough to drop into configuration files.

avatar

Steph

July 6, 2019

Totally relatable, and definitely agree to this!

avatar

Sherrie

August 9, 2019

Re: “Chat support is superior to anything I’ve experienced.” – Totally agree. You can tell they have true pride and dedication (in addition to expertise) in what they do. It really shows.

I also love the layout of the live chat – you can see a photo of the person you’re talking to, and they have a star rating showing how other customers have rated them. There’s also a short bio.

avatar

Teo

June 11, 2019

The Siteground customer support it’s probably one the best when we talk about Hosting support,fast 24/7 and all the people are very professional.In this review I want thank you Roisin G. for her quick help

avatar

Gualberto Magallanes

June 13, 2019

Siteground provee excelentes productos y servicios y sobre todo un servicio de postventa muy bueno.
La atención es de primera.
Lo recomiendo!!!

avatar

Arun Kumar

June 18, 2019

Siteground has more qualified tech support staff than Bluehost from my experience.

avatar

Ronn Loy

June 27, 2019

Having used both webhost, I couldnt disagree more. The service quality of Siteground support teams beats Bluehost with both hands down and both eyes closed.

Its hard to leave Siteground if they keep up such great support quality.

avatar

Danny R Kellogg Sr

June 20, 2019

SiteGround is awesome! I’ve worked with multiple hosting servers over the past 30 years, and none can come close to the excellent tech support and service I have received from SiteGround. Thank you all!

avatar

JC Tambeau

June 22, 2019

As always I have great things to say about SiteGround – today Dzhanan H looked after my support concerns and she was the awesome – very friendly and very helpful – I appreciate her help and would like to say it is people like her that make your company what it is today. :)

avatar

Tamara Laschinsky

June 25, 2019

Siteground is great and loving your customer support!

avatar

Gleb

June 27, 2019

Fixed all the issues in the shortest amount of time! Best Service 2019

avatar

Koichiro

July 1, 2019

All your support staff members are always helpful and attentive. That is why I have been using SiteGround for years.

avatar

Jack McCullars

July 2, 2019

Not perfect, but they are close and their tech support is the best I have experienced with a web hosting company.

avatar

Jean Marc Brissat

July 2, 2019

Siteground has allowed me to take my web development business to the next level. The fact that I can concentrate on designing and publishing while trusting Siteground to handle any technical aspect has really been a dream come true… The live support people are top notch and I highly recommend Siteground’s services!

avatar

Marco Aurelio Cutrufo

July 4, 2019

perfect! This is my favourite provider.
High quality, fast, safe and helpful.
Tha key feature of SiteGround is the support 24/7 that is always ready and professional.
Many times the solved all the problems helping me for anything.
I appreciated the time with them for me and my customer

avatar

Walter Hunt

July 5, 2019

I have had other hosting websites in the past 15 years along with SiteGround and no one tops their support team of the 100% up time, they will keep you site online all the time. Thanks SiteGround.

avatar

John Carlisle Swaringen

July 6, 2019

As a developer I’ve used many different hosts for clients over the years. Siteground has the best feature set for the money you could find. Their support Staff is amazing. I will probably make my clients switch to Siteground because they are so good at support.

avatar

Colin Lynch

July 13, 2019

Best ever hosting provider! Support is excellent with typically fast response time and explanations of how and why an issue arose rather than a simple ‘It’s fixed!” Saved me so much time and helped avoid having to rebuild my site.

avatar

Nai Thy Wonna

July 14, 2019

Thank you SiteGround. You are very helpful and your service are great. Hosting speed very fast, your teams are very helpful and friendly.

avatar

mcjohnlj

July 15, 2019

Perfect hosting with fantastic good tech support. Chat support is my favorite and never had to wait longer than 1 – 3 minutes!
Great hosting plans with a lot of freedom n your server. Plus, have you seen the price?

For any E-commerce, drop shipper looking for hosting here is your home for your store!

avatar

Roger Garlin

July 19, 2019

Quick, courteous, knowledgeable, helpful – I could go on; let’s just say, everything I’ve encountered to far about SiteGround is flawless. Thanks a gazillion, guys!

avatar

Mike Barlow

July 20, 2019

Your support people are extremely helpful, responsive, and courteous. They don’t just answer your question or solve your concern, they also give you a variety of useful options so you can make decisions from an informed perspective. I have had experience with the support departments of several web hosting companies, but SiteGround is by far the best!

avatar

Luca

July 22, 2019

Stefan D. from support

Is the greatest guy you will ever meet. you know that he will always be there for you even if he’s at the darkest moment, he will simply put on a smile and support you for whatever it is needed. although he makes other people happy, hes own life isn’t perfect its self, but he doesn’t get that in the way when helping others, he is a true hero and if, not the one we deserve but the one we need .

avatar

Roberto Vázquez González

July 26, 2019

With no doubt, it’s my go-to hosting for any PHP development, website hosting.
It’s always up, their CPanel provides anything you would need for your website, you can create backups of your full site (including the databases) and the best is their terrific support’s 🤩.

I always recommend it for any wordpress, drupal, grav or php development 🙌

avatar

Nathalie

July 31, 2019

The tech support is fantastic. My questions were answered and the solution was provided quickly!

avatar

russell ventura

August 5, 2019

Siteground’s initial cost was acceptable, but over the time of the 1 year contract the performance of the hosting dropped where I used to be able to run independant backups, but continued to face performance and resource issues with a small site and subdomain hosted.

When I got the renewal which was 100% more than the initial cost, I decided to move to another host which offered more resources for a lower cost.

I used siteground’s support which I always found to be very good. This was the best part of the contract.

Today, i received an automated renewal (even though I had disabled it) which was 15 days early. When I contacted siteground, they said it was clear in their small print that this is how they operate. I was not expecting this, and it placed me in a financial problem. After chatting to an operator and supervisor, they have refunded my account, but this may take several days. This made me very unhappy, and I will no longer use or recommend siteground on this basis alone.

Their support, and operators are always polite and professional, but their costs and how they handle billing is too much in favour of siteground and not their customers. They should reconsider this as its a very competitve market providing hosting.

avatar

Shane C.Rodrigo

August 11, 2019

I cannot rate SITEGROUND highly enough!

I spent hours doing my due diligence. Reading review after review on the PRO’s and CONS of each Hosting Company.

The ease of navigation through the backend is fairly simplistic. Even if you are not that Tech savvy like myself.
But if you are still none the wiser? Then the expedience and level of competence to which the SITEGROUND SUPPORT TEAM attend to your matter, is not only reassuring. But is what you would only EXPECT when you put YOUR BUSINESS into the hands of a Hosting Company.

I do not hesitate in recommending SITEGROUND to fellow colleagues or friends looking to start up a new venture.

Thanks to the many CSO’s I have fired questions off to around the clock!

PLEASE KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK!!!! It’s what sets you apart from the OTHERS!

Regards,

avatar

Dave Tease

August 22, 2019

After researching Web hosts, I kept coming back to Siteground as the best organisation to work with. When you can host anywhere in the world, you’ll realise they are the best.
Period.
Uptime is the best, support is the best, and usually any issue is fixed within minutes.

avatar

Dana Jensen

August 30, 2019

We bought a website and in turn inherited Siteground as the hosting company! We have been using it for a month now and I’m very happy with the tech service. I’ve had some hiccups with my site but Siteground has been very helpful in fixing the problems quickly! Everyone has been so friendly! Love it!

avatar

Marko

October 14, 2019

I’m glad to hear about your uplifting feedback regarding SG’s customer support, Dana.

I’ve had a similar experience with SiteGround’s support throughout my time with them as a client. Having purchased my first plan with them 2 years ago, I remembered the support as excellent and rapid in speed. Upon my return to SiteGround in recent months, I still can’t fault their service.

What are your thoughts about their hosting account dashboard?

avatar

Stephen Scalese

September 18, 2019

I designed and managed by simple WordPress site for several year. Without notice the hosting service I was using went silent and I couldn’t contact them at all. I decided to go with the top-level service, but unfortunately I wasn’t a top-level ($) client, so I got where for weeks. Finally, after many requests it finally refunded my money. SiteGround has been refreshing but it’s still taken awhile to get things moving because my old hosting service was completely unresponsive. SiteGround techs found ways around this stonewall, and the road forward is smoothing out. I would still request that a way be found to translate tech terms, like DNS server, FTP/ MySQL, FTP, the hosts file, MX records, A record, etc. My email accounts are still not migrated to the new server and are a pain to use. But over all, given the fix I was in, the customer service has been excellent.

avatar

Paul J Gourhan

September 23, 2019

Siteground has fair pricing and excellent customer service! I have several sites with them and every time I had a problem or question they were there to help. Their support people were knowledgeable and always went above to help me. They are my only hosting company from now on.

avatar

Joseph Leonard

September 28, 2019

There is no Cpanel. Instead, you must use their SiteTools which does not have all the Cpanel features and is very hard to navigate. I am sorry that I recommended my client to host with SiteGround as it is making my job as a web developer that much harder.

avatar

Jill

October 7, 2019

I have no idea what I am doing when it comes to making a website, and I have done almost everything on my own, but there have been two things I have really been stuck on and the live chat has been so helpful and spent the time to actually help me and not try to rush me to end the chat. Very happy with my choice

avatar

David Longstreet McCreary

October 7, 2019

Tsacho provided excellent, fast, perfect service today. As always with Siteground. NEVER before in 25 years of working with a hosting company have I been able to submit a question for support and leave the window open, just hit refresh in a minute or less, and have the answer. Your support for me is priceless. Just extraordinary. THANK YOU.

Was SiteGround not quite right? We recommend

Top Alternative
BlueHost logo
  • Generous storage & bandwidth
  • Great support & easy setup
(483)

$2.75 /mo

Get % off!

Visit BlueHost Now

money back guarantee

A2 Hosting logo
  • Great value Windows hosting
  • 45 day money-back guarantee
(257)

$3.92 /mo

Get % off!

Visit A2 Hosting Now

HostPapa logo
  • Generous storage & bandwidth
  • Great support & easy setup
(396)

$2.95 /mo

Get % off!

Visit HostPapa Now

No thanks

shares