SoftLayer, Inc. In 2019: What Do SoftLayer, Inc. Client Reviews Say?

SoftLayer Hosting

Founded in 2005, SoftLayer provides enterprise scale cloud hosting. They’re an IBM company with data centers in Amsterdam, Dallas, Houston, San Jose, Seattle, Singapore, and Washington DC They boast a fully automated platform with security and scalability. SoftLayer is headquartered in Dallas, Texas.

Support

For self-help you can use a knowledge base, called KnowledgeLayer® , a forum, and automated tools within SoftLayer’s portal. For technical support, you can submit a support ticket or call a toll-free number. Tickets and phone support are available 24/7. Support tickets receive a response within 20 minutes. Phones are always answered by the second ring.

Features

(Network and Data Center features if several hosting types) Introduction sentence.

  • 100% uptime service level agreement (SLA)
  • 17 geographically diverse points of presence (POPs)
  • Fully redundant
  • Standardized specifications across data centers
  • Full control of services via Customer Portal and application programming interface (API)
  • Server reboots, operating system reloads, and many other services can be done automatically, without contacting customer support
  • Flex Images™ for capturing server images

Dedicated Servers

Available in a wide spectrum, from single processor servers up to massive hex core, and in customized solutions for medium businesses on up.

  • 5 TB outbound traffic
  • 100 Mbps uplink
  • Server to server connectivity
  • Choice of operating system (OS); several Linux distributions or Windows
  • Server update utilities
  • Nimsoft monitoring
  • Provisioning in two to four hours
  • Up to four quad core with 20 MB cache, depending on server configuration chose
  • Up to 32 GB DDR3 random access memory (RAM), depending on server configuration chose
  • One public Internet protocol (IP) address
  • High performance builds with NVIDIA Tesla graphics processing unit (GPU) cards
  • Many RAM, redundant array of independent disks (RAID), and hard drive upgrades available for additional fees

SoftLayer, Inc. Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 13 Reviews by SoftLayer, Inc. Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

K Deeds avatar
K Deeds oldtowncreative.com
Jul 02, 2012

SoftLayer has been great imo over the last 3 years. When they first took over Orbit I felt there were issues. I’ve been coding for 20 years and no matter who you host with there will be an issue or two.

If not you are one lucky coder and living in a different world than the rest of us. I give SoftLayer high marks, and will say we manage our server, so this doesn’t include any of their managed services. Our up-time has been great, their response time to tickets has been fast, and they’ve given me about 10 hours of the last year of free help and advice when I’ve had to make server management decisions.

We currently have 4 servers with them and really can’t dish them at all. I’ve been with about 8 different companies over the years and feel I’ve had my fair share of good and bad hosts. Two thumbs up to SoftLayer from me.

I also will point out if you have clients that are very large and recognized they ask who their site will be hosted with if you are the developer. Spitting out some small companies name they have never heard of can cost you a client from time to time.

Visit Host →

Paul Williams avatar
Paul Williams purelocal.com.au
Jan 12, 2017

Softlayer are a good company with responsive customer support but do not offer unlimited bandwidth which is a Huge drawback. We have a GoDaddy server and use SoftLayer.com webhosting for a separate website. If we go over our allocated bandwidth allowance of 10GB with Softlayer , we pay $75 USD per month for an additional 30GB of bandwidth.

This is now looking like we need an additional 30GB of bandwidth per month so that’s an extra $150USD per month whilst with GoDaddy the bandwidth is unlimited. I don’t understand why SoftLayer charge this much for bandwidth usage compared to GoDaddy but it does require change in my opinion. Contacting SoftLayer about why they charge this much they say that GoDaddy are more for servers and they deal more with larger companies. In short , SoftLayer are a good company but if you use more than 10GB of bandwidth per month I’d say there are better options given their high price for extra bandwidth per month.

Visit Host →

Ashok Kumar A M avatar
Ashok Kumar A M zebros.in
Jan 20, 2013

I have using for the past three years, I never faced downtime to my site. Its works well ever and ever. and their tech support is great.

Visit Host →

Mark Pettit avatar
Mark Pettit marketpro.tk
Jun 23, 2012

Best host I have ever used and seen. The uptime is wonderful and their support is superb! My host, Empire Hostings, is run through them and I love the server

Visit Host →

Bryan avatar
Bryan maplecreaper.cz.cc
May 14, 2011

SoftLayer is kinda good cuz they have a Very good support and 95% uptime services. They’re support helpers are almost like 24/7 trying to help all the peoples that needed help. The prices of their hosts are affordable too.

Visit Host →

David Frauenheim avatar
David Frauenheim 26northmedia.com
Jan 25, 2016

I have been with SoftLayer/IBM or the companies that proceed it for over 10 years. In that time I have seen this company get larger and offer more features to its web control panel. I have enjoyed these features have they have come online.

I have also like using the IBM name and its cache to promote my companies hosting credentials. For many years the support was excellent with fast response time and helpful staff. In the past 1-2 years the support has been very disappointing.

On more than 1 occasion they have actually wasted my time by not reading the support ticket fully and sent back responses that were already covered or doing work that was not helpful or asked for. Most ticket responses can take hours, or one more than 1 occasion I have had no response at all waiting 24 hours then having to call. Since they have so many support staff and the response time being slow a ticket could end up being handled by several different staff.

This is why as the client end up having to repeating information in a ticket or getting the wrong work done. This once again shows that they are not taking the time to read the thread. I can only image that they are being timed and forced to work to fast OR the culture over there has gotten lazy.

Getting a ticket to your data center support staff is also an issue, as it appears that unless you call and complain only the first terrier staff located elsewhere review the ticket and your issue from a far. The response for the last issue of a failing network took 5 days and several phone calls and was never fully resolved. It has gotten so frustrating that for 2016 I will be replacing my 4 servers with new ones at a different data center company.

The first one has already been purchased to replace the one with the network issue. Over 10 years and they have finally broke me, and I am done with SoftLayer.

Visit Host →

Martin Mbugua Kinyanjui avatar
Martin Mbugua Kinyanjui vhealthsite.com
Sep 17, 2011

Good support from you guys. When I got stuck with a domain I was investigating at flippa website Auction, your team was readily available to answer and guide me through out that duration. I got all the information I need within a very short time, keep it up guys.

Visit Host →

Jimbo Adriatico avatar
Jimbo Adriatico allsaintslittleshelford.org
Jun 10, 2016

We’re a happy SoftLayer client and we’ve never experienced downtime with this host. We think that SoftLayer deserves a place in the Top 10 hosts because of the good points on most areas. We were using WordPress for a long time and when we decided that Joomla is a better option, a CMS that we knew nothing about, SoftLayer tech support guided us and had the installation setup for us in a few minutes.

I won’t recommend anything else in terms of stability and reliability. We’re happy to have chosen SoftLayer.

Visit Host →

CHINTAN MODASIA avatar
CHINTAN MODASIA facebook.com
Sep 18, 2012

it’s a good website giving the offer to developer to upload their data and website to his server and makes his customers that it can’t be hacked till they are alive thanks for your support

Visit Host →

James Riley avatar
James Riley jamespriley.com
Mar 26, 2010

SoftLayer is one of those hosting providers that is simply mind-numbingly awesome. They’re the only dedicated server provider I’ve seen that gives you everything from Ip kvm to ethernet control, remote power outlet control, automated OS reloads/changes all through the control panel, all with no tickets. They’ve automated their processes to make it easier for you to manage your business infrastructure with minimal interaction with their tech team, which frees their techs up to handle the more intricate issues on the network and hardware side of things.

Their network is absolutely top notch. You’ve got the public network, but aside from that there is a private network – all of your servers and services, whether physical or virtual, whether in Dallas, Seattle, or DC are able to communicate securely on your own private Vlan with no bandwidth charges. I have never seen an unplanned network outage affect services in my entire time working with them, and even planned outages generally are set up so well that services are entirely unaffected.

SoftLayer is definitely not for everyone – to take full advantage of their systems you have to be well versed in server administration. They do offer managed services but it’s on a per ticket basis with a $3 fee per ticket, so if you’re looking for fully managed they’re not for you. Sside from being extremely well versed in what they’re doing, the techs some of the most professional support personnel I’ve ever had the pleasure of working with.

Their responses are quick, to the point, and if there’s something that needs clarification they’re very good at asking the right questions. If you really need to clarify something and typing it out isn’t working they’re just a phone call away, but tickets are the preferred method of communication. I’ve only opened up 45 support tickets since 2006 – and while you may think that’s a lot, the majority of it was hardware upgrades and just simple questions about the infrastructure to help me better plan my setup.

There have been less than 5 instances where support needed to get involved to get something fixed. Whenever I had a problem, working on it with the tools they provide almost always proved to be successful. Bottom line: If you want a server that you can manage yourself and have fast, fine grained control over, SoftLayer is the host for you.

They’re more expensive than the competition, but you get what you pay for. Actually, with SoftLayer I’d say you get far more than you pay for! The only thing I wish I’d known before becoming a customer was that they existed.

I’d been through several hosting companies all with several nightmares. As soon as a friend referred me to SoftLayer, I checked it out and was immediately sold. I will not be taking my business elsewhere – nothing compares.

Visit Host →

Load More

CloudLayer

Cloud-based server options that are perfect if you’re short on time or need lots of flexibility.

  • Rapidly deployable; as few as five minutes
  • Customizable plans
  • Robust content delivery network (CDN) with pay as you go bandwidth
  • Hourly or monthly pricing without contract
  • Scalable
  • Seamless integration with physical servers for hybrid environment
  • Option to Build Your Own Cloud
  • Choice of public, private, or Bare Metal cloud
  • Up to 8 core, 8 GB RAM, and 100 GB storage, depending on Public Cloud server chosen
  • Up to 8 core, 32 GB RAM, and 100 GB storage, depending on Private Cloud server chosen
  • Up to 16 core, 64 GB RAM with 250 GB hard drive, depending on Bare Metal server chosen
  • Additional storage and alternate operating systems available for a fee

Managed Servers

If you’d rather have someone handle the updates and monitoring of your server, a managed server is right for you.

  • Deployment in one business day
  • Monthly contracts
  • Fully customized solutions; engineering team helps you find the best architecture for your business
  • Daily backups
  • Full monitoring
  • Database monitoring and tuning
  • Advanced security measures; virus scanning, firewalls, and server hardening
  • Service organization control (SOC) 2 compliant
  • 1 Gbps ports with base configuration
  • Separate private and public network interfaces
  • Antivirus software with base configuration
  • Virtual dedicated rack
  • 50 GB Evault® backup with base configuration
  • Additional Bare Metal restore plugin with base configuration running Windows
  • Managed Nimsoft monitoring

Pros

  • Premium support standard
  • Fully customizable plans
  • Monthly plans; no long service contracts

Cons

  • No budget hosting plans
  • Few package plans; pricing is vague
  • Popular features, like cPanel, WHM, and Fantastico cost extra

The Verdict

SoftLayer offers up the type of solutions that are perfect for you if you’re running a large scale business, numerous sites, or resource needy websites. These are not hosting plans for an individual or a blogger. They include premium technical support, such as round the clock phone support. This is not a place for budget hosting solutions. If you need a serious hosting provider with experienced support and a rock-solid, geographically diverse infrastructure, then SoftLayer is for you.

Most Popular SoftLayer, Inc. Hosting Plans

Virtual Server
Disk Space 25GB
Bandwidth 250GB
Price $25 / mo
Visit SoftLayer, Inc.

Most Popular SoftLayer, Inc. Alternatives

Limestone Networks logo

Starts at:

$104

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

Cherry Servers logo

Starts at:

$144

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

Pair Networks logo

Starts at:

$5.47

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

WhoIsHostingThis Team

About WhoIsHostingThis Team

Our writing team comes from all over the world with diverse backgrounds in the arts and sciences. But what links them is their passion for the internet. All together they represent many decades of experience working in all facets of it — from programming and hardware creation to website design and marketing.

Connect with WhoIsHostingThis