Ultrahost Review: VPS Hosting From A Company That’s Older than the Web!

UltraHosting Introduction

UltraHosting is a North American hosting business that has been involved in the IT business since 1983. It is a specialist in VPS hosting and has over 25 years worth of experience in the industry.

The company appears to be part of a group of organizations which include momentum.com, a think tank, and OnX IT services company.

UltraHosting Hosting Plans

UltraHosting only off VPS hosting service, but they have a huge range of both Linux and Windows hosting plans available and provide customers with a wide range of operating systems.

There are six VPS hosting plans for Linux operating systems. Each comes with a dedicated IP address and no initial setup fee.

The L-5 plan is the cheapest plan available and provides 256 MB memory, 5 GB disk space and 200 GB bandwidth per month. After the L-5 plan comes the L-10, L-20, L-30, L-40, and L-50 plans. These scale up the available services and provide up to 2048 MB memory, 50 GB disk space and 1500 GB bandwidth per month. Customers also have the option to purchase additional bandwidth and IP addresses.

After Linux VPS hosting there are three types of Windows-based VPS hosting plans, Windows Virtuozzo hosting, Windows Xen hosting and Windows Forex hosting.

  • Windows Virtuozzo hosting plans allow customers to scale their server requirements from 384 MB memory, 5 GB disk space and 200 GB bandwidth per month up to 2048 MB memory, 40 GB disk space and 1500 GB bandwidth per month in five different plans.
  • There are 5 Windows Xen hosting plans allowing customers to scale their requirement from 512 – 2048 MB memory, 5 – 40 GB disk space and 200 – 1500 GB bandwidth per month.
  • Windows Forex is ideally suited for MT4 trading platforms. There are four plans available, allowing customers to choose from 368 MB memory, 5 GB disk space and 200 GB bandwidth per month up to 2048 MB memory, 30 GB disk space and 1500 GB bandwidth.

There is also an affiliate programme available to customers who want to make money for successfully referring paying customers.

UltraHosting Uptime/Downtime

UltraHosting does not publish any figures about its uptime in the past. However, it does provide an SLA with a 100% uptime guarantee, outside of any scheduled server maintenance. If the company break the 100% guarantee customers are rewarded a percentage of their monthly fees. This starts at 10% (for between 99% and 100% uptime) and scales up to 100% should uptime drop below 95% in any given month.

UltraHosting actually owns its own datacenters rather than renting space from another provider. The datacenters are manned and monitored 24 hours a day and utilise redundant power systems to maintain uptime.

There are four different server management plans available for customers who want that extra level of technical help with their server.

UltraHosting Support

UltraHosting boasts an extensive support team. Customers can log support tickets through an online support suite, and they can also refer to a knowledge base, news pages, a blog, a troubleshooting program and a range of downloadable manuals and software.

There is a telephone line and a live chat facility, although these don’t appear to be available at all times. UltraHosting also have a Twitter feed and a Facebook page, but these appear to be fairly inactive.

UltraHosting in the News

UltraHosting have been in the IT industry for a long time, however, there have been no noteworthy stories or scandals about the company.

UltraHosting Control Panel

UltraHosting offer a choice of control panels for Linux hosting customers. Users can choose cPanel or Plesk for site administration purposes. Windows hosting customers are offered Plesk.

UltraHosting Extras

UltraHosting does not offer the usual range of advertising credits that come with most shared hosting plans. As it is a VPS hosting company, this is perhaps to be expected. UltraHosting does take pride in its green credentials; its has partnered with CarbonFund.org to help offset its carbon footprint.

UltraHosting Money Back Guarantee / Cancellation Policy

UltraHosting does not have a money-back guarantee, however, it does offer a 110% no-nonsense price guarantee. This guarantee provides customers with a refund worth 110% if the customer can find a better price for the same service within 30 days of signing up.

UltraHosting Summary

The team behind UltraHosting has been around for a long time. This will inspire confidence in customers, despite the fact that their support provision didn’t match up to some cheaper hosts.

Larger organisations who are looking for a VPS hosting plan would do well to consider the options available through UltraHosting. A wide variety of hosting options and a solid grounding in the hosting industry make UltraHosting a very competitive option.

Ultrahosting Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 3 Reviews by Ultrahosting Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

kim reyes avatar
kim reyes imkim.uiwap.com
Feb 06, 2012

ultra hosting is first at quality, and at UltraHost you get a 99.9% uptime guarantee on service and 24/7 tech support. UltraHost ‘s reliability is guaranteed

Visit Host Now →

Howard Graves avatar
Howard Graves howardgraves.com
Sep 02, 2011

Beware of UltraHosting.com: say goodbye to your money! I am a Forex trader. I wanted to have my MT4 (MetaTrader 4) platform installed on a VPS (virtual private server) so that the platform and software would run 24 hours a day.

An online search turned up the UltraHosting.com advertising offering VPS services, one in particular designed for the MT4 platforms. My service was started on July 11, 2011. They offer monthly service, but if you purchase three months in advance you get a slight discount.

Their advertising suggests, as did my initial phone calls to their sales department that you can install any MT4. I paid the $63.62 for three months service. They tell you that each weekend they will reboot the server.

No problem. For five days of service I didn’t notice any problem. After the first weekend reboot, on Monday I noticed the platform was not up and running.

When I went to open the MT4 platform it opened for about 3 seconds and shut off. This happened again about 10 times. Finally, it appeared that the platform is open, up and running.

When I checked back later it was off again. Mind you, I have been successfully running this platform on my desktop for over a year. I began calling the tech department daily.

To make a long story short, this happened over and over and over for the next week. They could not find the problem, nor could they duplicate the problem. After a total of 10 days of service, five of which the platform shut down constantly, I told them forget it, this is not working, I want my money back.

At this time they pointed out that occasionally "not all MT4 platforms are compatible with their VPS"… really?…now you tell me? And then I was told by UltraHosting Billing that their policy is Not to refund prepayment.

So, Beware of Ultrahosting.com! If you prepay for any amount of service and then find that your MT4 platform does not work properly, They will not refund you one penny! You have no way of knowing if your MT4 platform is compatible until after you pay for the service and then install it and attempt to run it.

That is a ridiculous and unfair policy. The customer service I received was the most rude and obnoxious customer service I think I’ve ever received anywhere. And they will be keeping your money! Ultrahosting.com………Runnnnnnnn!

Visit Host Now →

Michael Richardson avatar
Michael Richardson none
May 09, 2013

I signed up for their Forex VPS. It said the account will be set up within 48 hours. However, now almost a week has passed, and the account has not been set up.

I filled out the contact form on their website, but got an error message. Surprisingly, I got an automatic email confirming the support ticket submission, but got no reply. Overall, I get the impression they are out of business, but still have their website partially running. If they still are in business, probably it’s not for long.

Visit Host Now →

Load More

Most Popular Ultrahosting Hosting Plans

VPS-L5 Linux Plan VPS-L10 Linux Plan W-5 Windows VPS Plan
Disk Space 5GB 10GB 5GB
Bandwidth 200GB 500GB 200GB
Price $16.74 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$23.25 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$23.25 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit Ultrahosting Now Visit Ultrahosting Now Visit Ultrahosting Now
Plan Disk Space Bandwidth Price
VPS-F5 Windows Forex VPS Plan
Shared
5GB 200GB $23.25 / mo Visit Host Now
X-5 Windows Xen VPS Plan
Shared
5GB 200GB $29.95 / mo Visit Host Now
VPS-L20 Linux Plan
Shared
20GB 500GB $32.55 / mo Visit Host Now
W-10 Windows VPS Plan
Shared
10GB 500GB $32.55 / mo Visit Host Now
VPS-F10 Windows Forex VPS Plan
Shared
10GB 500GB $32.55 / mo Visit Host Now
X-10 Windows Xen VPS Plan
Shared
10MB 500GB $39.95 / mo Visit Host Now
VPS-L30 Linux Plan
Shared
30GB 1000GB $41.85 / mo Visit Host Now
W-20 Windows VPS Plan
Shared
20MB 1000MB $41.85 / mo Visit Host Now
X-20 Windows Xen VPS Plan
Shared
20GB 1000GB $49.95 / mo Visit Host Now
VPS-L40 Linux Plan
Shared
40GB 1500GB $51.15 / mo Visit Host Now
W-30 Windows VPS Plan
Shared
30GB 1500GB $51.15 / mo Visit Host Now
VPS-F200 Windows Forex VPS Plan
Shared
20GB 1000GB $51.15 / mo Visit Host Now
X-30 Windows Xen VPS Plan
Shared
30MB 1500GB $59.95 / mo Visit Host Now
VPS-L50 Linux Plan
Shared
50GB 1500GB $60.45 / mo Visit Host Now
W-40 Windows VPS Plan
Shared
40GB 1500GB $65.10 / mo Visit Host Now
VPS-F30 Windows Forex VPS Plan
Shared
30GB 1500GB $65.10 / mo Visit Host Now
X-40 Windows Xen VPS Plan
Shared
40GB 1500GB $69.95 / mo Visit Host Now
More Plans +
Claire Broadley

About Claire Broadley

Claire has been creating websites for over 20 years and has been using WordPress for over ten. She is an expert in web hosting, design, HTML, and more. She lives with her husband and son in the United Kingdom.

Connect with Claire

Review Ultrahosting & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a Ultrahosting customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more…

1 How would you rate your experience with Ultrahosting?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about Ultrahosting.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that Ultrahosting rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2019 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2019.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your Ultrahosting review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).

shares