Verio In 2019: What Do Verio Client Reviews Say?

Verio.com Hosting

As a subsidiary of telecommunications company NTT Communications, Verio operates on a highly scalable and reliable Global Internet Protocol (IP) Network. This hosting solution works for Windows, Linux, and Unix, and is ideal for the support of e-commerce sites and going mobile. With a wide variety of plans and servers, Verio is an ideal host for anyone looking to form or expand their online presence.

Support

Verio offers a knowledge base, control panel, and live chat for support, though the live chat is not available at night or on the weekends. Many hosting plans do include 24/7/365 phone support.

The Verio Support page does contain tools for retrieving your password or making an online payment.

Features

With Windows, Linux, and Unix hosting platforms, you may select from basic shared, SharePoint, e-commerce, Virtual Private Server (VPS), dedicated server, and email hosting.

  • No set up fees
  • 24/7/365 live support
  • 30 day money back guarantee
  • Install free, open-source applications
  • Expand your plan as your business grows
  • Select for Windows, Linux, and Unix platforms

Basic Shared Hosting

Make the most of your site with the Basic, Enhanced, or Premium plan.

  • Free website design and marketing tools, such as Search engine optimization (SEO)
  • Host over 50 pages and welcome more than 500 visitors a day
  • 99.9% uptime
  • Unlimited* disk space
  • 6 TB, 8 TB, and 12 TB monthly transfer respectively
  • Common gateway interface (CGI) compatibility, Perl, and PHP Hypertext Preprocessor (PHP) MyAdmin
  • 1 MySQL database

Verio Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 44 Reviews by Verio Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Peter Brama avatar
Peter Brama eprompter.com
Sep 22, 2018

We originally were with Ixwebhosting.com. Apparently, Verio took over all their Windows Webhosting accounts and "migrated" them to their servers… all without our knowledge or permission.

Then Ixwebhosting shutdown. Verio has NOT been able to get our websites or emails working… at all.

In addition, we had unlimited disk space and emails, and Verio has "limited" unless you pay more. We have been down for 3 weeks, completely… losing business, daily.

All our saved emails, gone. All our saved files, gone. We have had several tech support "tickets" going for weeks at Verio…

all saying "this is our urgent priority"… never a response. Telephone support, hours on hold…

then foreign speaking people. Chat support, same…. worst in the industry.

Then after 3 weeks, they send us an email… to an email address we can’t access Because of them. We have to have their Chat support forward it to a different email address just to see it.

This email says… "after careful review… we can NOT migrate your website to our servers". Followed by "we value your business although".

We pre-paid through April 2020 and now Verio can’t set us up and refuse to refund any money and we need to contact "Ixwebhosting support" which is out of business. Stay away from Verio at all costs!!!!

Visit Host →

Joe Newell avatar
Joe Newell joenewell.com
Jul 10, 2018

Definitely you do not want to use Verio as your webhost. They say you can have unlimited MySql databases, but offer NO way to access the database to create tables, etc. What is the use of 100 databases if you can’t build a table in them?

I have had multiple websites down for multiple days with little to know feedback from support. It was a corruption of files on their behalf that caused the problems and all they say is please allow 24-48 hours for us to get back to you. These websites are for paying clients who use their websites to run their businesses.

They are just out of luck as far as Verio goes. Whatever you do, do not use Verio as your hosting provider.

Visit Host →

Salman Rozdar Syed avatar
Salman Rozdar Syed orion.com.kw
Aug 16, 2018

I have had multiple websites & emails down for multiple days with little to know feedback from support. had to face lot of problems and at the same time our company’s reputation. It was a corruption of files on their behalf that caused the problems and all they say is please allow 24-48 hours for us to get back to you which they will never get back to you with a solution.

If i can give a star rating in minus i would love to give them in minus. Please do not go for verio, even if they are providing you free service. They are just out of luck as far as Verio goes. Whatever you do, do not use Verio as your hosting provider.

Visit Host →

Raffaela Arcamone avatar
Raffaela Arcamone radezigns.com
Mar 02, 2018

Verio Sucks, if I could give 0 stars I would. I am embarrassed to say that I have been hosting my website with them for over 8 years. In the beginning it was fine — if you did not need support.

The truth came out when I suggested their hosting for a client’s e-commerce site and needed support with SSL certificate set-up. That is when I learned that no one ever Ever can answer your question without escalating it to multiple levels. You do not receive the courtesy of a time frame of when someone will contact you back.

They are not in the U.S. but in the Philippines which is frustrating with language barriers and lack of customer service knowledge. It feels like you are talking to a machine, they are literally reading from a script.

I thought there was hope when they recently were bought by some other company and I spoke to a person in the U.S. but just the other day I called and sure enough – NO U.S. support — and sure enough I am on day two still waiting to hear back from someone about my problem with my site.

This is the worst company I have Ever worked with and just auto-paid for my annual but will not wait any longer. I am moving my website and will pay what I have to in order to rid myself of such a soul-sucking company that lacks service or technical knowledge of any kind. Beware

Visit Host →

Gardner Hall avatar
Gardner Hall creced.com
Apr 25, 2017

For a number of years Verio hosted my web page with a minimum of difficulty. In the past 6 months I have had a variety of problems, starting with the upgrades to their system. My site has been offline more than it has been on during the past two months.

Phone calls are answered courteously by kind people who promise help. However, seldom is the problem fixed. My latest call has me wondering if I will ever be online with them again.

They want information, addresses, upgrades, etc. that I simply can’t provide at my level of technical skill. Cannot recommend them. Hope I can figure out a way to move my site, www.creced.com, elsewhere without too much hassle.

Visit Host →

Andras Dallos avatar
Andras Dallos dallos.com
Jan 27, 2017

I host (soon in the past tense) two web domains and several Exchange accounts through Verio. Have been a loyal and low maintenance customer for over 15 years (of Verio). After about 12 of those 15 years I respectfully asked for some upgrades (was willing to pay extra) as the systems were archaic, though pretty stable being Unix based.

No luck. However in mid 2016 they started upgrading on their own. I have to say that in my many years in business this was one of the most poorly communicated and implemented upgrades I have seen.

They have not communicated upfront, the communication received was bad/inaccurate, the websites and emails were down during the time they migrated data, the tech support people were clueless and unable to do pretty much anything, just said "to wait", and they ended up taking all of the pre-migration emails on several accounts offline without any kind of a heads-up and took them close to 3 months to send a link to an FTP site for me to recover the info in a useless and inaccessible format only to find out that the info was not all there. As much as I have been a customer for many years and as much pain as it is going to be for me to have to undo all of the systems that I currently have with Verio, I will cancel all of my accounts and go somewhere else as I cannot imagine that there is another organization out there that is this inept.

Visit Host →

Denise Bohn avatar
Denise Bohn legacybouviers.com
Jul 27, 2018

My hosting account was migrated from another web host that was discontinuing service. I had great service from my previous web host, and had expectations of a similar experience from Verio. I was very disappointed.

I lost my entire website I had built, and they brought up an old website from several years prior that had incorrect information. When I tried to work with support to get the site back up, I was told repeatedly that they would have their technical support team work on it. I would receive an email 24 hours later, but the problem was not resolved.

When I went to the online support several times again, I ended up with the same result, no change in my website. Very frustrating. I would not recommend using their services

Visit Host →

Michelle Preston avatar
Michelle Preston panacea-medical.com
Feb 15, 2018

I have been a Verio customer for my email for many years. I decided in January to transfer my web hosting to them. On February 1 they put my domain on "client hold".

I have not been able to access my email since, probably pissing off/losing many of my clients. I call Verio or do the online chat with their "support" team every day (from the UK – it’s costing me a fortune), only to be told it will be shortly. I’m at my wits’ end. Dreadful.

Visit Host →

Wilburn Wilkins III avatar
Wilburn Wilkins III bluenitephoto.com
Apr 18, 2013

I was using them becuase the company I work for had them for the websites they owned. I’m the IT guy and found them to be a nightmare….the control panel is from the 90’s and has a feature set to match,

I can’t even transfer a domain out without contacting their horribly slow customer service.

Visit Host →

James Haverkamp avatar
James Haverkamp jamesahaverkamp.com
Dec 12, 2017

If you like spending your time waiting on hold listening to crappy music or waiting in front of a computer screen for a "chat" with a "service" employee who doesn’t know how to fix your problems, then Verio is probably the right host for you. My domain email stopped working SIX days ago, and despite countless hours I’ve spent nobody at Verio has been able to fix it or bothered to return my inquiries to explain what happened or why or what needed to be done. I’ve done everything I was told by they’re uninformed and poorly trained service employees, who read from their scripts in some call center somewhere, and in the meantime my business is going to hell because I can’t receive or send emails using my business email address.

Clients are calling telling me they can’t email and wondering what’s going on. I’ve tried to calling their service number twice, hung up after waiting fifteen minutes yesterday, and today toughed it out for 45 minutes today before anybody answered and then spent over an hour with a guy with a heavy accent who couldn’t do anything but tell me to submit "verification" to a Verio address (as I had already done Five days ago) and everything would be solved in 24 hours same thing I was told in the chat session five days ago. Obviously Verio is trying to run itself on a shoe string, and it’s time to find someone else.

Visit Host →

Load More

SharePoint Hosting

SharePoint is a great way to collaborate in the workplace, and you can choose plans ranging from 200 MB to 100 GB of disk space.

  • Unlimited* users
  • 200 MB, 2 GB, 10 GB, 50 GB, or 100 GB disk space, depending on plan level
  • Additional disk space available for a small fee

E-commerce Hosting

Whether you sell 5 or 500 products, Verio’s Starter, Manager, or Pro plan will get you up and running quickly.

  • Free Web design and marketing tools
  • Automatic generation of mobile friendly pages
  • Flexible templates and theme options, no need for design xperience
  • 5 GB, 10 GB, or 20 GB disk space respectively
  • 6 TB, 8 TB, and 12 TB data transfer respectively
  • Unlimited* products and product pages with upper two plans
  • Collect payments with Google Checkout, Paypal, Amazon, and third party gateways

VPS Hosting

Obtain private resources for the powering of your growing and high traffic website.

  • 99.9% uptime
  • Windows shared VPS with private resources
  • Linux VPS offers secure, isolated space on a large server
  • cPanel or FreeBSD VPS for isolated central processing unit (CPU) and random-access memory (RAM)
  • Verio takes care of security, maintenance, backups, and licensing

Dedicated Server Hosting

Managed, dedicated hosting is available with one of three Windows, three Linux, or three Linux cPanel plans.

  • Dedicated Linux
    • 2 GB, 4 GB, and 8 GB RAM respectively
    • 100 GB, 200 GB, and 300 GB disk space respectively
    • Unlimited* email accounts
    • Unlimited* domains
    • 1 TB, 2 TB, and 3 TB monthly transfer respectively
    • Install just about any application
    • Ready to use file transfer protocol (FTP) server
  • Dedicated Linux cPanel
    • 2 GB, 4 GB, and 8 GB RAM respectively
    • 100 GB, 200 GB, and 300 GB disk space respectively
    • Unlimited* email accounts
    • Unlimited* domains
    • 1 TB, 2 TB, and 3 TB monthly transfer respectively
    • Dedicated Windows
      • 1 GB, 4 GB, and 4 GB respectively
      • 60 GB, 140 GB, and 280 GB disk space respectively
      • 1000 GB, 2000 GB, and 3000 GB monthly transfer
      • UP to 10 MSSQL databases
    • Verio takes care of security, maintenance, backups, and licensing

    Cloud Hosting

    These custom servers are ideal for technological flexibility and business growth.

    • 5 plans for RAM and CPU options
    • Free inbound and outbound bandwidth
    • Free firewall and load balancer
    • Windows, Red Hat, Linux, CentOS, and Ubunto operating systems (OS)

    *When hosts describe anything as “unlimited,” it is typically boundless except in cases of abuse. A user may be charged a penalty or be required to subscribe to a more robust package if they are overburdening the servers.

    Pros

    • Basic shared plans with impressive size and power
    • Works with Windows, Linux, FreeBSD, and Unix
    • Lots of plans to suit just about any customer or system
    • 24/7/356 tech support

    Cons

    • Overwhelming amount of choices
    • Live chat not always available

    The Verdict

    Verio is a highly versatile host, supporting your use of multiple operating systems, applications, and features. Businesses of any size can benefit with this hosting provider. Getting started, however, may be a challenge if you are new to hosting or simply want a small personal site, as endless choices and plans are available. Still, the 24/7 support and apparent flexibility may be just the thing to get you started, if you are willing to spend a little time getting to know the system.

    Most Popular Verio Hosting Plans

    Basic Linux
    Disk Space Unlimited
    Bandwidth Unlimited
    Price $10.99 / mo
    Visit Verio

    Most Popular Verio Alternatives

    SiteGround logo

    Starts at:

    $3.95

    (per month)

    Visit Host

    Read Reviews

    BlueHost logo

    Starts at:

    $2.75

    (per month)

    Visit Host

    Read Reviews

    InMotion Hosting logo

    Starts at:

    $3.99

    (per month)

    Visit Host

    Read Reviews

    WhoIsHostingThis Team

    About WhoIsHostingThis Team

    Our writing team comes from all over the world with diverse backgrounds in the arts and sciences. But what links them is their passion for the internet. All together they represent many decades of experience working in all facets of it — from programming and hardware creation to website design and marketing.

    Connect with WhoIsHostingThis