VodaHost In 2019: What Do VodaHost Client Reviews Say?

VodaHost Introduction

VodaHost, the Wilmington, Delaware-based web hosting company specializes in the one-size-fits-all, comprehensive hosting package. In addition, they offer traditional hosting services, like reseller hosting, domain registration, and SSL certificates.

Services and Specializations

VodaHost’s web hosting solutions comes two ways: an all-in-one web hosting package and a reseller hosting package.

Web hosting through VodaHost comes with many purported perks, including: unlimited space and bandwidth; unlimited domains and websites; BlueVoda (proprietary) website builder software; Soholaunch (shopping cart software); FTP; MySQL; Email; Control panel; Analytics; and 24/7 support.

Reseller hosting through VodaHost comes equally chock-full of features and support: 100% white-labeled; WHM control panel; built-in customer billing system; domain reselling; unlimited site hosting; and email.

In addition, VodaHost also offers these additional website solutions: domain purchase and registration; SSL certificate purchase; Transaction Guard purchase and security seal.

Network

VodaHost’s network of servers resides solely in the United States.

Powered by state-of-the-art Dell servers, VodaHost’s network is well-maintained and well-managed. Each datacenter comes with HVAC systems, full particle filtering, humidity control, N+1 redundancy, as well as auto-switched power generators.

VodaHost Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 10 Reviews by VodaHost Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

robert island avatar
robert island canadaautopro.com
Sep 20, 2018

Vodahost was a good choice 10 years ago, but today, stay away. Support has always been poor, but it is now almost non-existent. Frequent outages with poor nonsensical responses to support tickets.

Adding SSL is very pricey, and security is poor as every account actually shares the same login ID on the cPanel. You will never reach live support – it doesn’t exist. They actually rent servers from other hosting companies – just try any of the IP addresses they offer and track it – they keep moving around, and when they do, you will be the one hit with downtime as they try to fix the "server issue".

Such a disappointment – they had a great publishing tool called BlueVoda, but they never kept up with Html upgrades, and now it’s a useless tool as it does not support mobile response. For the same price you can get better hosting with actual live support with other hosts.

Visit Host Now →

Gordon Warden avatar
Gordon Warden brittanyfrance.co.uk
Apr 12, 2018

I originally signed up with Vodahost in 2005 and at first I thought they were wonderful. The in house web builder "Blue Voda" was brilliant at that time, and was fun to use. I started using WordPress as well as Blue Voda a few years ago, but found that the WordPress sites were unsupported.

For example I use one of the Genesis themes on my WordPress sites and when Genesis released a new version it caused problems upgrading. I had to FTP the upgrade instead of just pressing a button. The next thing that happened was that one of my premium websites (built with Bluevoda) got severely hacked and was even put into some sort of quarantine by Google.

This caused major issues for me but the help received via email was useless to me, with suggestions from the help desk being of such a technical nature that I, despite my long term web building experience, couldn’t understand what was being suggested at first. When I got myself up to speed by googling, the suggestions turned out to be frankly useless. So I decided to rebuild my premium site, this time using WordPress.

It was then that I noticed more outages, and sometimes (like a few minutes ago) I couldn’t even get onto the Vodahost site, I just received an error page. It made me a bit anxious as to whether this company is actually going to continue, because the signs to me is that they have given up competing, and perhaps are giving up altogether, which would be a shame. I decided to see what the competition offered and ended up with 1and1.

What a difference! everthing is handled so smoothly and simply by comparison, and if something goes wrong, there’s a real live person on the end of the phone who you can rate after the call! WP ugrades are completed at the touch of a button, and anything you need is on hand.

Unfortunately, this has made Vodahost look completely amateurish so I am now migrating all of my sites to 1and1. I am so very sorry to see Vodahost go down the pan like this.

Visit Host Now →

Sandra Ryder avatar
Sandra Ryder goldroads.se
Jun 02, 2011

This is my second hosting company that I chose to host my website with and they are excellent. I had decided to switch companies as my site had been hacked with the previous company I had and I knew there was no way that it was something to do with the way I managed my files and account. It was a shared host account so I immediately sent a support ticket off to the customer service department and wanted them to check their systems.

Their answer to that request was that there was no need to check as nothing had gone wrong. I was angry at this attitude and my anger was only fuelled because I read other forums and members of the same company were saying that their websites had been hacked as well. I went looking around on the web at all the reviews of companies and this company had a high score of percentage uptime and most importantly customer service.

This swayed me to open an account with them because after the way I had been treated the last time, I wanted someone to take me seriously. I had set up my account with them and am glad to say since then everything has been going smoothly. I monitor the uptime on my site and it is up 99.9% of the time as they guarantee.

There has never been a problem with my account panel and I feel that my website is safe from hackers. I have confidence in their customer service department as they have always been available any-time of the day. I recommend using these guys as they are reliable with great service!

Visit Host Now →

Load More

Security and Monitoring

In addition to relying on Dell to power their servers, Cisco powers VodaHost’s network.

All datacenters are monitored 24/7 and access to the server rooms is highly restricted; only level three technicians are admitted. Regarding security, VodaHost’s network is fully switched, so that all traffic that passes through their servers must go through their switch equipment first. This offers VodaHost’s customers another layer of protection against cyber attacks.

Uptime Guarantee

While there aren’t too many details regarding the actual guarantee, VodaHost does promise customers 99.9% uptime.

Support and Customer Service

Although VodaHost’s network of servers is 100% US-based, their support system is not. They have locations in the United States, Singapore, the United Kingdom, and Australia. Customers can reach representatives there by email or phone.

In terms of support, VodaHost’s 24/7 customer service can be accessed through their customer support portal. This not only includes a direct ticketing support system, but also gives customers learning tutorials, an online knowledgebase, and support forum.

Billing and Payment Policies

This is the one piece customers need to be extra careful with. While VodaHost promises no contracts, no setup fees, and cancellation anytime, they have a very strict no-refund policy. So for customers trying to get a better deal by choosing the annual or biennial hosting option, be aware that no refunds are issued if you cancel before that time period ends.

Summary

For website owners concerned with cost and simply wanting a good starter web hosting solution, this may be a good fit for you. VodaHost makes web hosting simple and includes everything you need to manage a website within their single hosting solution. Just remember to keep an eye on their billing and refund policy as a longer term investment cannot be cancelled or refunded early.

Most Popular VodaHost Hosting Plans

Web Hosting Reseller Silver Reseller Gold
Disk Space Unlimited 60GB 80GB
Bandwidth Unlimited 600GB Unlimited
Price $7.95 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$24.95 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$34.95 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit VodaHost Now Visit VodaHost Now Visit VodaHost Now
Plan Disk Space Bandwidth Price
Reseller Diamond
Shared
100GB Unlimited $44.95 / mo Visit Host Now
More Plans +

VodaHost Frequently Asked Questions

  • Do they offer both Windows and Linux hosting plans?

    No Windows plans are available. VodaHost offers Linux hosting plans.

  • Are there any hidden fees I should be worried about?

    The company claims to have no hidden fees, but it’s always a good idea to read the fine print.

  • Can I get a dedicated server at VodaHost?

    No, VodaHost focuses on shared hosting plans.

  • Will they provide me with a free domain if I decide to get a hosting plan?

    Yes, VodaHost offers one-year free domain registration with the purchase of their hosting plans for clients who opt for annual or biannual payment options.

  • Can I register new domains via VodaHost? Can I transfer existing domains from my current host?

    Yes, the company offers domain registration services, as well as domain transfers.

  • What sort of money-back guarantee do they have?

    VodaHost does not have a refund policy and does not offer a money back guarantee of any type.

  • Does VodaHost have any VPS hosting plans?

    No VPS plans are available.

  • What forms of support are available?

    Customer support is provided via 24/7 tickets, emails and an online forum.

  • What languages is customer service available in?

    VodaHost’s customer service is available in English.

  • Where is the VodaHost head office located?

    VodaHost is headquartered in Wilmington, Delaware, US. The company also has offices in Singapore, London and Sydney.

  • Where are their data centers located?

    VodaHost relies on The Planet data centers located in the US.

  • What programming languages and scripting languages do VodaHost plans support?

    Most industry standard languages are supported, including CGI, PHP and Perl.

  • Do they offer any reseller plans?

    Yes, VodaHost offers three reseller plans – Silver, Gold and Diamond, at different prices.

  • Does VodaHost have an affiliate program?

    Yes, the company has an affiliate program and offers up to $70 commission for each sale delivered.

  • I already have a number of different websites and domains. Will they help me transfer them? How much will it cost me?

    The company offers free domain transfers, as well as video tutorials to help users interested in migration.

  • I am just getting started and I am my first WordPress site. Is VodaHost a good choice for novices?

    VodaHost offers hosting plans suitable for small WordPress users and it offers one-click installation of WordPress.

  • Can I host and manage multiple websites on VodaHost shared hosting plans?

    Yes, you can host and manage multiple websites on all VodaHost shared hosting plans.

  • I am no good at HTML, can I build a website without any coding? What about site builder software and templates?

    VodaHost provides its own drag & drop ‘BlueVoda’ website builder that can be used with no HTML or coding knowledge.

  • I make WordPress sites for various customers, so I need a secure hosting provider. I don’t want any of my clients to have their site hacked on my watch. What’s the security like?

    The company offers Rapid SSL low cost, single root SSL certificates suitable for securing all levels of e-commerce, which should cover the needs of most small businesses.

  • What about e-commerce plans? Are their shared plans capable of handling my e-commerce needs?

    VodaHost web hosting packages come prepared for e-commerce use. The company also offers Soholaunch that enables you to build a professional looking website with e-commerce capabilities.

  • I need to transfer existing Joomla sites from my current host. Will they help me? What about auto transfers?

    The company does offer Joomla upgrades and templates, but transfer support is not mentioned on their website.

  • I would need to transfer a few of my old WordPress sites. Can I expect any support?

    The company does not specify whether it offers support for WordPress transfers.

  • I plan to accept credit card payments on my site. I need SSL certificates, so do they sell them?

    VodaHost offers Rapid SSL low-cost, single root SSL certificates. In case you need something better, you will have to source your own SSL certificates.

  • Is VodaHost a good choice for hosting a lot of images?

    The company claims to have unlimited storage for its hosting plans, but a number of restrictions still apply and you need to check the terms of service. You cannot use your account as a storage repository for images.

  • Do they offer Magento packages? Can I get help transferring existing Magento sites?

    The company offers Magento support, and it recommends paying a ‘Script Installation’ fee to expedite installation. There is no word on migration support.

  • What kind of control will I get?

    The company offers full-featured c-Panel on all shared hosting plans.

  • What forms of payment do they accept? Can I use PayPal

    VodaHost accepts various forms of payment, including PayPal and major credit cards.

  • What about VodaHost’s uptime guarantee?

    This host has a 99% uptime guarantee.

  • Do they have any special security features?

    The company offers industry-standard security features, nothing more.

  • What about CDN support?

    There is no word on CDN support on the company website.

  • Can I pay monthly? What billing cycles are available?

    Yes – VodaHost offers monthly, annual and biannual payment options.

  • If I choose to register a new domain, can I get whois ID protection?

    Yes, VodaHost offers whois ID protection for a nominal annual fee.

  • What is their backup policy like?

    The company offers several backup options through cPanel.

  • I currently maintain several websites. Should I choose to transfer, which package should I go for?

    VodaHost’s basic shared package could meet your needs, provided you do not expect too much traffic.

  • What about email? How much storage do I get? How many addresses can I use?

    VodaHost claims to have unlimited storage and email addresses, but some restrictions apply.

  • Are bandwidth and storage on VodaHost plans really unlimited?

    The company’s terms of service state that bandwidth is unlimited for one account with a single control panel. Certain storage restrictions apply, too.

  • What about discounts?

    No discounts are currently mentioned on the company’s website.

  • Will they provide me with some advertising credits for Adwords if I choose to sign up?

    No advertising credits appear to be available at this time.

  • Are VodaHost shared plans suitable for video streaming?

    While you could use this host for some limited video streaming, bear in mind that video can only make up 10% of your storage at any given time.

  • What about resource usage restrictions?

    In addition to storage and bandwidth restrictions, Vodahost also lists a number of prohibited resource-intensive activities. If your site starts using more than 5% of the server system resources, your account will be automatically suspended.

  • What about termination and refunds? Do they have a prorate policy?

    No. VodaHost does not prorate any fees for any unused time.

Brenda Barron

About Brenda Barron

Brenda is an active online publisher and experienced WordPress blogger. She has been building websites since 1997. In addition, she publishes science fiction and fantasy stories under the name Brenda Stokes Barron.

Connect with Brenda

Review VodaHost & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a VodaHost customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more…

1 How would you rate your experience with VodaHost?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about VodaHost.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that VodaHost rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2019 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2019.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your VodaHost review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).

shares