VPS.net In 2019: What Do VPS.net Client Reviews Say?

VPS.net Introduction

VPS.net is a web hosting company with a specific focus on cloud VPS hosting. The company was founded in 2008 by the UK2 Group, who also own other global brands such as 100TB, Autica and Dotable. UK2 have in turn been acquired by Lloyds Development Capital.

VPS.net is based in Utah but utilizes cloud servers which span the entire globe. Its server farms are continually expanding, and its services are targeted at customers looking for something more than shared web hosting. However, it does offer a few alternatives as well.

VPS.net Hosting Plans

VPS.net has a wide variety of hosting plans on offer. Whilst its focus is on cloud-based VPS hosting, it also offers ‘elastic’ VPS hosting and a cloud VPS reseller plan for web designers and hosts. The company also offers a choice of Windows or Linux-based plans.

Cloud VPS hosting allows you to scale your hosting plan according to your needs. The range of service begin with 1.2 GHz processor power and 376 MB dedicated ram, 10 GB disk space and 1TB bandwidth. This scales right up to a massive 14.4 GHz processor power, 4512 MB of dedicated RAM, 120 GB disk space and 12 TB bandwidth.

VPS.net usefully provides a plan which allows you to purchase the cloud server space suited to the software you want to use. For example, cloud VPS hosting based on Ruby on Rails may require different resources to a standard plan.

In addition to VPS.net’s cloud VPS hosting plans, the company has also come up with ‘elastic VPS’ hosting which allows you to scale up or down the server space you need. There are three Elastic VPS plans.

  • The Small plan provides between 3 and 6 GHz processor power, 1880 MB to 3706 MB Ram, between 50 and 100 GB storage space and between 5 and 10 TB bandwidth.
  • The Medium plan allows you to choose 6 GHz processor power, 3760 MB RAM, 100 GB disk space and 10 TB bandwidth up to 12 GHz processor power, 7520 MB RAM, 200 GB disk space and 20 TB bandwidth.
  • The Large plan allows you to vary your hosting from 12 GHz processor power, 7520 MB RAM, 200 GB disk space and 20 TB bandwidth up to 24 GHz processor power, 15040 MB RAM, 400 GB disk space and 40 TB bandwidth.

VPS.net has a VPS reseller plan based on its cloud hosting infrastructure, but you need to contact the company directly for a quote if you’re interested in this. Prices aren’t published.

Cloud hosting through VPS.net also comes in three different packages.

  • The Business plan provides 5 GB disk space, 250 GB bandwidth and is designed for traffic equal to approximately 25,000 visitors per month.
  • The Pro plan provides 25 GB disk space, 500 GB bandwidth and is designed for traffic equal to approximately 125,000 visitors per month.
  • The High-Traffic plan provides 50 GB disk space, 1 TB bandwidth and is designed for traffic equal to approximately 500,000 visitors per month.

VPS.net Uptime/Downtime

VPS.net does not make any claims about uptime, but as its services are based on cloud hosting, this is unsurprising – the whole idea of the cloud is to provide better reliability anyway. The website advertises its cloud hosting as being based on ‘self-healing hardware’. Should the server your site is held on go down or fail for some reason, it will automatically transfer to another server within seconds, meaning that downtime should be practically nil in real times.

The VPS.net server farms are held in 17 different locations around the globe, including America, Europe, Asia and Australia. This allows you to choose from clouds around the world to help you maximise performance, depending on your own location and the location your clients are likely to inhabit. Customers are also able to monitor servers and move between them as they see fit, which is a nice feature.

VPS.net Support

Support for VPS.net customers is available through a helpdesk, 24 hours a day. Live chat, telephone and email support is also available at no extra charge. The site also provides an email address for their management team if you are unsatisfied with their support.

VPS.net offers a chargable service for tasks that are additional to ordinary support requests. Customers can also purchase a managed service package which provides peace of mind via professional server management from the host. This in turn provides customers with a comprehensive SLA which goes beyond the SLA specified on other hosting services offered by the company.

VPS.net provides a wiki/ knowledgebase and company blog. Its Facebook page is moderately active, as is its Twitter account. Technical support staff also appear to promptly respond to customers, although people asking for support about specific problems are usually directed to the helpdesk email address. There is also a well designed community forum for VPS.net customers which is a useful beginner resource.

VPS.net in the News

VPS.net has not attracted little attention in the news, either good or bad. This suggests that the services are relatively stable and secure.

VPS.net Control Panel

The main control panel offered by VPS.net is Cpanel. Cpanel is used by many web hosting companies, so customers will have little difficulty making the transition from another host if they’ve used it before. Resellers are also offered an exclusive white label control panel, allowing them to brand their backend and reseller area as they see fit.

VPS.net Extras

Many shared hosting companies offer incentives such as free domain names or Google Adwords credits however, as VPS.net does not offer standard shared hosting, these types of offers are not available. Basically, what you see is what you get: there are no ad credits or freebies to claim.

Drupal, WordPress and Joomla hosting is available through VPS.net and it also supports business tools such as Magento, PostBooks, phpBB, RoundCube, osCommerce and more. CMS tools such as Open Enterprise, Concrete5 and Twiki are available, as are a wide range of developer tools, CRM tools, project management tools and more.

VPS.net Money Back Guarantee / Cancellation Policy

Customers have to provide 30 days written notice to terminate their accounts with VPS.net, but only the Cloud Hosting packages come with this money-back guarantee. The money-back guarantee gives customers an admirable 60 days’ grace to try out the service, which is a fair bit higher than I expected.

VPS.net Summary

It’s difficult to compare VPS.net to the majority of other hosting companies out there. Its services are based on a modern cloud infrastructure, so they do not offer the standard shared hosting services many other hosting companies tend to concentrate on. For example, the standard uptime guarantee is really unnecessary, and that makes VPS.net a good choice for reliability.

VPS.net’s cloud based VPS hosting will be suited to those specifically looking for this type of hosting, and it’s as feature-packed as any other rival’s service. In addition, the elastic VPS and VPS Reseller hosting plans give them the edge over shared hosts who offer VPS as an afterthought.

Customers looking to upgrade beyond shared hosting but are not looking to pay big prices will be interested in VPS.net. Small businesses and people looking to build hobby sites may want to consider looking elsewhere for shared hosting, at least to get their site off the ground, since a VPS requires a certain investment of time.

VPS.net Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 13 Reviews by VPS.net Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Kyle Hynek avatar
Kyle Hynek hynicon.com
Mar 27, 2018

I had removed my Ssd vps and you would think that you wouldn’t get charged again. Wrong I apparently still had a windows server license hidden within the sites interface and not on the main dashboard page. I got charged for having a license while not even having an active VPS.

There are many of other better sites that run a better. Take your money elsewhere.

Visit Host →

carlos bastidas avatar
carlos bastidas estoesculiacan.com
Aug 03, 2014

I have been using this provider for more than 3 years in a row. The support is pretty good, They are there when I need them most and my uptime is exactly what I need. I would recommend It in a heartbeat.

Visit Host →

Nic Windley avatar
Nic Windley nicwindley.co.uk
Sep 20, 2013

I had a lot of trouble with vps.net in the beginning, however things seem to have improved and I’ve also learnt a lot about getting the most from these servers. Pretty good now! Yes, I’m a real customer with 2 cloud VPS, one in the US and one in the UK.

Visit Host →

Brandon Thorn avatar
Brandon Thorn sourced.fm
Oct 02, 2014

I’ve been a VPS.net customer for two years, and I honestly don’t know why I haven’t just invested the time to finally leave this terrible service. In addition to the hosting, I pay $70/month for "proactive" managed services which amount to snakeoil and have cost me more time than they’ve saved. There’s nothing "proactive" about this service either.

Months passed with no security updates until I finally had to make a request to ask them to do part of what the service is supposed to include. My most recent request is now going on 5 days with the server offline and no resolution.

5 days my server has been down due to a simple request to swap the CGI environment to Php-fpm through FastCGI. The CGI environment was forced on me from day one so their incompetent techs can have their precious admin panel.

There’s no reason this request should have taken longer than an afternoon. First they tried to refuse to do the work because they would lose their admin panel. Even though I, the paying customer, don’t touch the panel, it was being prioritized over the environment I need to run for my application.

Finally after 3 days of back and forth and excuse after excuse justifying why they couldn’t do the work, they started the process. Since then two days have passed and there’s still no resolution. The server is now configured properly with FPM and FastCGI, but they’ve taken nearly a full day to transfer the less than 200MB of data I have on the server to the new environment.

A host that can’t transfer 200MB in less than a day is a web host that doesn’t deserve paying customers as far as I’m concerned. Jay Pollock’s review above (or below I suppose) is bang on. There seems to be a formulaic process of denying the problem for hours, then shifting blame onto the end user, and then finally after escalating the ticket to management they’ll start the process which is usually at least a solid day after the request was made.

Once I have time (lack of time being the thing that made me buy into the lies this company peddles re: their managed services), I will be leaving VPS.net for a better host. Their complete indifference for customer needs is disgusting. Consistently throughout this hellish relationship the word "unacceptable" has been brought up request after request.

It is the only word that truly describes the VPS.net experience. Unacceptable.

Visit Host →

Kevin Davidson avatar
Kevin Davidson blogordie.com
Jul 22, 2013

For the past year and a half, I’ve had my main hosting with VPS.NET, with a Business Cloud Sites plan at the lowest $20 level. I’m an "advanced hobbyist blogger." I’m hosted at their Atlanta data center. Literally the day I moved my sites over, they had a major problem with their SAN and all the sites on the server were up and down and slow and broken for days.

I finally got them to move me to another SAN network at the Atlanta data center, and it was fine then, for a while. But then there was router problems that knocked the site down for 12 hours. Then there was a power outage, and the backup generators failed, site down for more than a day.

I documented at least a dozen outages of an hour or more over a year and a half. They schedule 3-hour maintenance windows at inopportune times. The support ticket submission thing goes down just when you need it.

OK, the support staff generally doesn’t have English as a first language and the grammar can be a little odd at times, but just a little. I have not had any communications problems at all. I would describe the support response time as OK, not super, but OK.

Generally, they get the job done and they are quick to acknowledge a problem which is a major plus compared some other companies, and I cannot emphasize that enough! Most recently I had a problem with someone on my shared server hosting malware, getting my email server shared IP address block listed. The first time that took 3 days to resolve, and the 2nd time after 2 days it still wasn’t resolved, so I bought a dedicated IP address (which is broken right now for email sending, but it’s been less than a day and I’m no worse off than before).

Based on my experience with VPS support, I expect that they will fix it. I’m not sure what I would recommend VPS.NET for. It is far too unreliable for a commercial business.

They just can’t keep their hardware up. It’s too pricey for the casual home user and blogger. I guess it makes sense for the advanced blogger like myself because it does seem to handle surges in traffic with WordPress just fine (and the only host I’ve ever had that does that).

Before signing up, make sure you understand the limitations on the number of domains you can host. Subdomains count in the total of 10. Also you’re limited to 10 email addresses.

Those limits are really low for a $20/mo hosting plan when cheaper plans give you unlimited. One other thing when signing up for a Cloud Sites plan is to consider that their service level estimator oversells. Start at the bottom; you can always add later.

Visit Host →

Tweaked Geek avatar
Tweaked Geek tweakedgeek.com
Dec 17, 2011

Initially VPS.net was great – the price was good and the service was stable without much downtime. However, over the past 6 months the service has gotten progressively worse, with daily outages which VPS.net constantly blamed on the SAN. It would seem if they were having problems with the SAN over such a long period of time, they would replace it with a SAN which worked.

Working with VPS.net’s technical support is difficult if you don’t understand Russian. The broken English they speak only causes more stress when your server is offline. Additionally, the customer support personnel can be rude. All in all – it’s great when it works, but when it doesn’t (which seems to be more often than not) it’s just not worth dealing with them.

Visit Host →

Ryan Breen avatar
Ryan Breen net-critical.com
Jan 22, 2014

Sucks… Been a customer all of but 1-2 hrs. First off my account was flagged for fraud, had to scan my passport to verify…

OK actually that was resolved fairly quickly, but it takes a away from there "set up account in seconds" claim. Secondly, ok so I get into my account, first server deployed, can’t ping the ip, can’t log in through SSH. So then I tried to login through their backend management console, well there java app that runs vnc doesn’t meet security qualifiications as set out by Java, so you have to add a manual exception, had to speak to support to find out that they i had to add control.vps.net in addition to console.vps.net to get the security exception work around going.

Server won’t ping from console side even to google.ca or google’s main dns ip 8.8.8.8. Had to creat a support ticket and now have been waiting to get it resolved for 30+ min now. Support has been responsive, but first impression both through sales process and sever automated deployment has been nothing short of a headache each step of the way.

Visit Host →

musfiqur nabil avatar
musfiqur nabil securitymeasure.com
Sep 21, 2014

This is wonderful hosting site..up to time,Online,Support.This is Great! The speed is amazing. When most of other hosting site cause many problems.

And VPS.net is always upto time, 100% online, Support facility is Great. I recommend everyone to use this hosting service.

Visit Host →

jay pollack avatar
jay pollack treasurion.com
May 21, 2013

I’ve been with them for 6 months, and went through hell on earth. We had multiple errors on server, san issues on vps.net. On top of that we had to deal with near-hostile, useless support.

They seem to have standard procedures, something like some insurance companies in the US: first write that nothing happened, than if it won’t magically disappear blame everything on customer and than – if he’s still insisting – maybe restart server and say: "look, now everything is ok". I’m really tired of VPS and not with them for some time now (with Liquid Web and happy bunny). Suffice it to say, there were weeks when up-time was below 70% (at least) and over 24 hr instances of downtime.

Thanks to them we’ve lost a couple clients and few thousands of $. I understand that there are people who are happy with them (incredibly lucky?) but a lot of those "positive reviews" sound like written by themselves to me. For me it’s definite and ultimate NO!. This is the worst hosting company I’ve ever been with and I’ve been with quite a few, some really disgraceful (like 1&1), but nothing comes even close to vps.net.

Visit Host →

Tim Berrisford avatar
Tim Berrisford easyanimal.co.uk
May 07, 2013

Too many times my website has gone down, its cost me a fortune, never had one explanation from them why this is. Surely this is a cloud server so should never go down.!!! Think twice before moving Your Site to vps.net

Visit Host →

Load More

Most Popular VPS.net Hosting Plans

Cloud Hosting Plan 1 WP Business Hosting Plan Business Cloud Site Plan
Disk Space 10GB 5GB 5GB
Bandwidth 3TB Unlimited 250GB
Price $18 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$20 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$20 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit VPS.net Visit VPS.net Visit VPS.net
Plan Disk Space Bandwidth Price
Cloud Hosting Plan 2
Shared
20GB 6TB $36 / mo Visit Host
Cloud Hosting Plan 3
Shared
30MB 9TB $54 / mo Visit Host
WP Pro Hosting Plan
Shared
25MB Unlimited $60 / mo Visit Host
Pro Cloud Site Plan
Shared
25GB 500GB $65 / mo Visit Host
Cloud Hosting Plan 4
Shared
40GB 12TB $72 / mo Visit Host
Cloud Hosting Plan 5
Shared
50GB 15TB $90 / mo Visit Host
Cloud Hosting Plan 6
Shared
60GB 18TB $108 / mo Visit Host
Cloud Hosting Plan 7
Shared
70GB 21TB $126 / mo Visit Host
Managed Cloud Hosting Plan Level 1
Shared
20GB 6MB $135 / mo Visit Host
Cloud Hosting Plan 8
Shared
80GB 24TB $144 / mo Visit Host
WP High Hosting Plan
Shared
50GB Unlimited $150 / mo Visit Host
High Cloud Site Plan
Shared
50TB 1TB $160 / mo Visit Host
Cloud Hosting Plan 9
Shared
90GB 27TB $162 / mo Visit Host
Managed Cloud Hosting Plan Level 2
Shared
40GB 12TB $165 / mo Visit Host
Cloud Hosting Plan 10
Shared
100GB 30TB $180 / mo Visit Host
Managed Cloud Hosting Plan Level 3
Shared
80GB 24TB $245 / mo Visit Host
More Plans +

VPS.net Frequently Asked Questions

  • Who owns VPS.NET?

    VPS.NET is part of the UK2Group, a UK-based company that owns several different hosting providers including UK2.NET, Midphase, 100TB, ANHosting, WingSix, and more.

  • Are multiple datacenter locations maintained?

    A network of 19 cloud data centers is maintained with locations scattered around the world. All data centers are secured with 24-hour onsite staff, and video surveillance. In addition, they all have redundant power supplies and connections to multiple network carriers.

  • What support options are available?

    24/7 phone and ticketing system support is available. In addition, an expansive Knowledge Base is available to help with frequently asked questions and common issues.

  • Can I get a refund if I’m not satisfied with the service I receive?

    A 30-day money-back guarantee is included with all new plans. So you have 30 days to change your mind, cancel your account, and request a refund. Check out the full terms of the guarantee at the VPS.NET website.

  • What is the typical billing cycle?

    Most plans appear to be offered on a monthly billing cycle. The terms of service suggest that a 30-day cycle is the most typical, but that longer cycles may also be available. It does not appear that there is any cost advantage so signing up for a longer billing cycle.

  • Will I have root access to my virtual server?

    Yes. All plans include root access to the server, which means you can do just about anything you want with your server as long as you aren’t violating the terms of service or applicable laws.

  • Can I run multiple websites from a single account?

    Yes. All accounts include unlimited domains. So you can run as many websites as the resources your plan includes will support. If you do find you’ve stretched your resources too thin you can always add additional resources to your plan.

  • Can I upgrade my plan anytime I like if I need additional resources?

    Yes. Upgrading your plan can be done easily and the upgrade completed automatically. Doing so will require your server to restart, but an upgrade typically only takes about a minute to complete, meaning downtime will be minimal.

  • What if I buy too many resources. Can I downgrade my plan?

    You can downgrade anytime you like. However, keep in mind that downgrading will require shutting down your server, and while upgrades only take about a minute to complete, downgrades take considerably longer. You should allow for up to an hour of downtime to complete a downgrade.

  • Are virtual private servers a good idea for beginners?

    Probably not. If you’re a web hosting beginner you will be better served by a shared web hosting plan. That type of plan will cost a lot less, offer all of the firepower you need for simple projects, and will have a much easier learning curve. There are lots of shared web hosting providers, however, VPS.NET is not one of them.

  • If I need help managing my server is help available?

    Assisted startup is available to help get your server up and running. If you want ongoing help with server administration managed hosting is available as an add-on service. For an additional monthly fee, you’ll have access to a server tech to help manage your server.

  • Are server contents backed up automatically?

    A VPS account is designed for professionals. As such, automatic backups are not typically part of the agreement. VPS.NET does offer a backup option, however, many VPS users will prefer to set up and maintain backups themselves so that they can choose which backup to rollout in the event that a server crashes irreparably.

  • What operating systems can I use?

    The standard VPS accounts are Linux-based, and you can have either CentOS or Ubuntu pre-installed. Since you have root access you have the ability to install any Linux OS you’d like to use after account setup. Windows servers are also available, but an additional fee will apply.

  • What plan should I consider for hosting my high-traffic WordPress site?

    There is a WordPress hosting plan. It comes with extra support and is optimized for WordPress hosting. However, it comes at a higher price and with more limitations than the standard VPS accounts which could support multiple self-managed WordPress installations. If you have one to five high-traffic WordPress sites, and would like upgraded hosting with premium support, the WordPress hosting option is worthy of consideration.

  • What sort of uptime is guaranteed?

    99.9% uptime is guaranteed subject to certain fairly standard limitations (force majeure events, violations of the Acceptable Usage policy, user error, scheduled maintenance, etc). If downtime exceeds .1% you can request pro-rated reimbursement for the downtime. Check out the full-service level agreement at the VPS.NET website.

  • Are there any limitations in the Acceptable Usage Policy I should be aware of?

    The definition of Acceptable Usage is pretty standard. No illegal, violence inciting, malicious, spamming, privacy violating, national security compromising, copyright infringing activity is permitted. There is nothing in the Acceptable Usage Policy that would rule out normal, legitimate business activity, including hosting legal adult content if you so desire.

Claire Broadley

About Claire Broadley

Claire has been creating websites for over 20 years and has been using WordPress for over ten. She is an expert in web hosting, design, HTML, and more. She lives with her husband and son in the United Kingdom.

Connect with Claire

Review VPS.net & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a VPS.net customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more…

1 How would you rate your experience with VPS.net?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about VPS.net.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that VPS.net rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2019 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2019.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your VPS.net review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).