Web.com Reviews: Nineties “Has Been”, Or 2019 Contender? We Asked Their Users

To get online every small business needs a website, a domain name, and a web host.

Web.com offers all of this, plus marketing services.

How do you decide whether an “all-in-one shop” like Web.com is right for you? Which is better: a website builder or WordPress?

Let’s find out.

I want to save you time and help you make a better decision by sharing important factors you may not be aware of.

About Web.com

Web.com Home, via WhoIsHostingThis

Web.com was founded in 1999 in Jacksonville, Florida under the name Website Pros. In 2008, Website Pros made the first of many acquisitions when they purchased Atlanta-based Web.com.

Web.com serves over 3 million customers.

From 2008 on the company became known as Web.com. Over the years, they have acquired several other brands, including Network Solution and SnapNames.

In 2018, Web.com was acquired by Siris Capital Group for almost $2 billion dollars.

Today, Web.com employs more than 3,000 employees and serves nearly 3 million customers. They are focused on helping small businesses succeed online.

Quick Overview: What Does Web.com Offer?

Web.com provides small businesses with websites and online stores; web hosting; domain names; and basic marketing services.

These products and services can be purchased a la carte.

Who do these services appeal to?

  • Those who are busy or feel intimidated by the prospect of getting a website up and running.
  • Those who don’t understand digital marketing or don’t want to do it themselves.

With Web.com, you can get all these things taken care of in one place.

But if you’re new to digital marketing or website creation, how can you know you’re making the right choice for your business?

Continued below user reviews.

Web.com Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 114 Reviews by Web.com Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

khalid zouhair avatar
khalid zouhair kmcashforgoldinc.com
Oct 15, 2018

I am very happy with them .They are very Professional and have excellent customer service.I have a cash for gold business ,and I receive phone calls from all over .I used to pay $125 a month and they made it $100 even I did not ask for that.I just have a new plan that will include more key words and SEO … Thank you web.com

Visit Host →

Katharine Roff avatar
Katharine Roff actpositive.co.uk
Jan 19, 2018

In theory the Web.com offering should offer value for money even if you aren’t bothered about having a state of the art website. My experience has been of a poor service and multiple issues with website changes not being done and email security settings not being kept up to date. In essence it’s not value for money as the website design is poor and basic and changes to the structure take a long time to complete; I’ve been waiting over two months for redesign activity to start.

Settings on the email hosting are not kept up to date and as a result we haven’t been able to send emails successfully from our domain for at least six months. Customer service don’t reply to emails or phone messages asking for help, when I have spoken to the customer retention team, they have not been able to resolve the issues, only send a ticket to the technical team. In short I’m still waiting for someone to ‘do’ something.

Visit Host →

Steve Hempel avatar
Steve Hempel hempelair.com
Aug 12, 2018

Was a waste of money for me. Lead stream cost me 5250 for about 500 in profits after 5 months. Seem to be only out to suck money out of you and they do suck.

Watch out for auto-billing signed up for three mo. got and paid for 5 before I caught the auto-suck money feature.

Visit Host →

Cheryl Atkinson avatar
Cheryl Atkinson iraspecialist.net
Jun 18, 2018

Web.com might be the Most frustrating website company I’ve ever dealt with. I started with the DIY option and the tools were terrible. So I gave their $200/mo "Build It For Me" option a try, and it was just as frustrating.

With both options, the results were really amateur and I couldn’t get through one support call without an over-caffeinated rep trying to sell me something. If you want a DIY solution, Squarespace.com is really the way to go. Great tools that won’t make your site explode when trying to edit a template (unlike Web.com).

SquareSpace is a little more expensive then Web.com’s DIY option, but you get what you pay for. As for having someone "Build It For Me," SetMySite.com blows Web.com out of the water. From better pricing, better results, and most of all, way better Support.

There is not a single person at Web.com that can even come close to a personal account manager at SetMySite. Whether you go DIY or have someone build it, I can personally tell you that Web.com was a huge mistake.

Visit Host →

Karen Killilea avatar
Karen Killilea sciotobloom.com
May 31, 2018

Design services only are data input agents, they do not take the time or have the ability to create. I have used this host for 12 years. The prices have gone up and the value for service has gone down.

When calling to cancel the service I agreed to downgrade for a basic service, price never changed. Too bad for me. The email service is also hard to use as you cannot respond directly.

You must rewrite the correspondence address. In the last 6 months I Have had no correspondences initiated through this site, maybe not even at all in the last year, yet paying $49.95 every 4 weeks.

Visit Host →

Ross Bridgers avatar
Ross Bridgers nationalsteelcarports.com
May 03, 2018

I canceled my account with them near the end of last year. So they stopped billing me. But what I didn’t know is that if you use their Facebook feature you have to call another department to cancel, a prime case of left hand not knowing what the right hand is doing.

I asked for a refund and was told no because I did not call the fb team to cancel. Nice employees, but lousy company. You’ll get a much better product working with a developer that is good at coding.

And don’t even think about their SEO services, you will waste your money. Better yet buy google AdWords and have someone run it for you.

Visit Host →

Mahmoud Khatib avatar
Mahmoud Khatib arabtrans.com
Mar 09, 2018

One of the worst web hosting companies. They hosted my website for one year. Their email service is clumsy, too slow and impractical at all.

Even before the end of my year contract, I paid the last month in advance in order to run away from their service. I lost business because of their service.

Visit Host →

Johnny Rio Fultz avatar
Johnny Rio Fultz rio3consulting.com
Mar 19, 2017

I am deeply saddened to have ever dealt with Web.com. At best, they are great at marketing. At worst, they are great at marketing and NOT delivering a quality product or service.

As a national (or even international) company, the limited functionality and cumbersome burden on it’s customers to make changes, get qualified assistance, and even trying to cancel their poor service has been a nightmare. I will Never to business with Web.com again and will certainly spread the word about my experience. I tried cancelling their terrible service through the self-service portal just moments ago.

Of course, an automated cancellation feature is not available. It reads as follows:

We regret that you are considering cancelling your account. We place a high priority on meeting customer expectations and strive to find new ways to exceed them.

Therefore, we would like to do anything we can to keep you as a satisfied customer. Still wish to cancel? We regret that you want to cancel.

Please call between the hours of 8 AM and 8 Pm est Mon-Fri to speak with one of our Account Specialists. Of course I was not satisfied with this response so I called in to at least speak to someone that could notate my account as wishing to cancel on Sunday so that I would not be burdened with having to call tomorrow. I spoke to a "gentleman" in their sales department and stated that I wished to cancel.

He regurgitated the statement above regarding calling back in. I said I am busy tomorrow, but I hope that you can at least make a note that I am cancelling service as of today so I do not have any issues tomorrow. He stated (as I have heard in the past) that unfortunately I cannot see that part of the system and no one here right now can assist you.

I said I have a hard time believing that you cannot note the account or at least let your cancellations department know that I wish to cancel. Without going into the dialogue, the conversation ended with the "gentleman" laughing that I would dare ask for a cancellation on the weekend because the business is closed (hello, you do work for them and it’s the weekend correct). He then proceeded to hang up on me when I asked specifically for someone else at Web.com to assist if he was incapable. I look forward to their explanation of such an unprofessional employee lacking cognitive skills to address an issue.

#NeverUseWeb.com #Web.comSucks

Visit Host →

Ali Sheikh avatar
Ali Sheikh dwellingestatesltd.sandbox.uksites.nts.web.com
Mar 07, 2017

I am gutted that i have not seen these reviews before. I got a call from web.com and without looking anywhere else i went with them to build my website by professional for £300. they showed me samples which were very got but when i got my website it was no where near the samples. it looks like some kid was playing with the web pages. Asked them for about 20 changes and only 1 or 2 things got fixed. Problem is you cant speak with the designer to explain yourself you have to email them and they will do what ever they understood. Information was placed wrong and missing information, when asked to add information no one replied and still the website is same dont want to use these words but it is absolutely rubbish and i dont think so they would be able to fix. They are only using templates to make websites which i can do myself. I recommend never use web.com you can spend your money elsewhere than asking web.com to built your website.

Visit Host →

Brian Smith avatar
Brian Smith timothyvincentauthor.com
Feb 26, 2017

I started with web.com in Feb 2016 with a one year commitment for $124.95. I’m not renewing due to "polite but useless" service as echoed in many of the poor reviews found on www.whoishostingthis.com. I am struggling as to whether to keep the domain with web.com’s do-it-yourself package and I’m looking at the "Professional $7.95" option.

However, the more I try to work with the polite but ineffective web.com staff, the more inclined I am to go with another hosting service. Here’s my experience, which appears to mirror many of the negative comments I read from other reviewers.
1) There really is not a custom option. You get their templates.

I’m ok with templates, but not at $124.95 a month.
2) The unlimited custom design package is still mostly a diy option. You need to submit all you changes on a web.com portal. This is frustrating as I’m trying to explain what I want when I had thought I was purchasing expert advice.

I did find sending a powerpoint/ keynote or pdf of what you want to be the easiest way to explain Your Site look. Yet, I spent enough time to eventually just figure out how to make the changes myself.
3) The do NOT follow up on any web.com portal submittals. You must follow up and call them multiple times.
4) They do one fix at a time and a fix is subjective.
5) There is an irritating survey after every nauseating call with a very polite but limited helper.

I filled a few out to say she/ he was very nice, but that the work did not get done, the entire work. Their piece was done but there is not connectivity within the web.com company. Use at your own risk.

If you are going to pay $100 – 300, do NOT use web.com. If you are going to pay less than $20 a month, give a high school student the $20 and I bet you’ll get more than what web.com offers.

Visit Host →

Load More

Choose From Three Website Options 

If you select Web.com as your web host and need a website, you’ll have 3 options:

  • The Build It For Me option
  • The Do It Yourself option
  • Create your own WordPress site

Build It For Me: Custom Website Design

The Build It for Me option is where Web.com designs a complete website for you, including creating copy that’s SEO-optimized.

You’ll get a website with mobile-friendly design, SEO-friendly copywriting, and quality control to make sure everything works as it should.

How Does It Work?

The process begins with a customer interview, where you meet with a Web.com representative to discuss your goals and your vision for your website.

Then, the design phase begins. After a set number of iterations, you choose the final design and Web.com creates your website.

What’s Included?

The Build It For Me option includes more than just a website, however. You will also get:

  • A free domain name for the first year
  • Web hosting with a 99.9% uptime
  • An SSL certificate for security

Add-Ons: Marketing, Email, and E-Commerce

Once your website is live, you can easily add Web.com features, functionality, and solutions, such as:

  1. Business email services
  2. Dedicated/tracked phone numbers
  3. Advanced website analytics
  4. Social Media Marketing
  5. Search Engine Optimization/Pay-Per-Click Management
  6. E-Commerce and Local Business Listing services

Do It Yourself: A User-Friendly Website Builder

With the Do It Yourself option, you get an easy-to-use, do-it-yourself tool that allows you to create your own website. No technical knowledge is required.

This is cheaper that getting a custom website design.

Home page of a site built with Web.com's Do it Yourself option
An example of a site built with the Do it Yourself option.

The drag-and-drop website builder is intuitive and easy-to-use.

You’ll get everything you need to create a site, including:

  1. Hundreds of designs (or website templates). These are pre-built websites that you simply add you add your content to.
  2. Thousands of stock images — a robust library of images from which you can choose

Web Hosting and Add-Ons

If you need web hosting for your newly-designed (and built) website, you will need to purchase a separate hosting package.

Then, you can add additional Web.com features, functionality, and solutions, such as:

  1. Business email services
  2. Dedicated/tracked phone numbers
  3. Advanced website analytics
  4. Social Media Marketing
  5. Search Engine Optimization/Pay-Per-Click Management
  6. E-Commerce and Local Business Listing services

The WordPress Option

You have 2 options when it comes to launching a WordPress website on Web.com:

  • Get a custom WordPress website created for you by Web.com
  • Create your own WordPress site after you purchase Web.com hosting.

The latter entails a “one-click” installation of WordPress. Then you select a theme and add your content.

Website Builder vs. WordPress: How to Choose?

  • If you want Web.com to create a custom website for you, I believe you’re better off getting them to create it with WordPress rather than their own builder.
  • Likewise, if you want to create your own site on Web.com, most people will get more bang for your buck from a WordPress website.

Let’s take a look at some key considerations.

Learning Curve vs. Limited Options

WordPress is famous for its ease of use. But, over the years, it’s offered more and more features which means there is a bit of a learning curve.

Typically, website builders are easier to use because they offer far fewer options.

Features and Future Customization

With WordPress you have a choice of thousands of plug-in modules that can extend the functionality of your website and improve its performance.

There are many freelancers trained in WordPress who can customize your site.

Typically, website builders offer far fewer options and the pool of people familiar with a particular builder is much smaller.

“Portability”

With a WordPress site, you “own” the website fully. This means you can move it to a new host whenever you like.

With website builders, you cannot move your website to a different host.

This means, that in the future, if you desire a higher level of web hosting performance (such as faster site loading) you won’t be able to choose a different web host.

Future Growth

You want a website option that’s versatile and can grow with your business by enabling you to easily add new features like online forums, abandoned cart recovery, and various discounts.

In my opinion, WordPress is the best choice for a serious, growth-oriented business.

Marketing Services

If you are running a business-related website, you can get professional help with things like search engine optimization (SEO), local business listings, lead generation, and digital and social media marketing.

Web.com offers local search listing optimization

Grow Your Small Business

This is a positive for those new to digital marketing.

Taking on teaching yourself SEO, social media marketing, and more can be overwhelming. It takes time and patience to learn.

Web.com can provide a quick route to ROI-based marketing for your business.

Web Hosting Packages

Web.com boasts that its products are for great options for “reliable, affordable hosting.” These options are shared hosting plans.

The company does not currently offer any type of advanced hosting packages, such as reseller (exept in Canada), virtual private server (VPS), or dedicated servers.

Currently, there are three different shared web hosting plans from which you can choose:

  • “Essential Hosting” – the entry-level plan
  • “Professional Hosting” – the mid-range plan
  • “Premium Hosting” – the top-tier plan

The “Essential Hosting” Plan

The most inexpensive, entry-level plan is targeted at small business owners who are looking for hosting for small, basic websites.

These are websites that don’t feature a lot of multimedia elements, such as high-resolution images, videos, or streaming audio files.

This package includes 300 GB of disk space, no limits on data transfer, a maximum of 25 FTP accounts, and 100 multi-user email addresses (accounts).

The “Professional Hosting” Plan

The mid-range plan is a good option for those owning small- to medium-sized businesses who are looking for websites that do have multimedia content.

The package includes 500 GB of disk space, no limits on data transfer, 50 FTP accounts, and 500 multi-user email addresses (accounts).

The “Premium Hosting” Plan

The most expensive, most full-featured hosting plan is targeted toward small- to medium-sized business owners who strive to run a single, resource-intensive website or multiple websites.

The package includes an unlimited allocation of resources, including disk space, data transfer, and FTP accounts. You will also get 1000 multi-user email addresses (accounts).

FeatureEntry-LevelMid-RangeHigh-End
Disk Space Allocation300 GB500 GBUnlimited
Data Transfer LimitsNoneNoneNone
FTP Accounts2550Unlimited
Email Accounts1005001000

What’s Included in All Plans?

In addition to the features and functionality mentioned in the plan descriptions above, all Web.com hosting plans come with the following tools, features, and services:

  • One-click installer for some of the most popular tools used in web hosting, including content management systems (like WordPress), e-commerce solutions, and communications tools (like live chat or video chat)
  • A drag-and-drop, do-it-yourself website builder
  • 24/7 technical support
  • Service Level Agreement/Uptime Guarantee
  • A free domain name

Is There an Uptime Guarantee?

Web.com promises a 99.9% guaranteed uptime.

This is unique in that shared hosting plans typically do not include uptime guarantees — these tend to be reserved for more expensive options, such as VPS plans or dedicated servers.

No Website Migration Services

Web.com does not include any migration-related services with their packages. You are wholly responsible for such tasks.

Similarly, when transferring out of Web.com, you are responsible for backing up and moving out all of your data.

A Surprising Lapse

Most hosts do offer migration service, so it is surprising that Web.com does not.

Small business owners looking for a basic site are unlikely to have the technically know-how to perform this, so this feels like a gaping hole in their offerings.

Control Panel

All Web.com hosting packages come with a proprietary control panel you can use to manage your servers.

Web.com, however, calls this the Web Hosting Toolbox. You get one for each site/domain name you register with Web.com.

We were unable to determine exactly what brand of control panel is provided, but the screenshots available indicate that it is similar to the popular cPanel.

Datacenter Locations

The Web.com Group uses two datacenters for customer data. One is located in Jacksonville, Florida, and the other is in Atlanta, Georgia.

Backup Policy

Web.com does not offer any type of backup-related services that users can purchase. You, as the end user, are responsible for backing up your website.

You are also responsible for maintaining those backups. We were unable to determine if there are built-in backup assistance tools in the Web.com control panel.

Domain Names

If you are in need of a domain name, Web.com can get you set up with a domain name with or without web hosting.

This is useful if you want to hold a domain name, but you are not ready to commit to web hosting just yet.

SSL Certificates

SSL certificates are a way to prove that your website is secure.

Web.com offers multiple options and you choose the one that best fits your needs.

Enterprise-Level Solutions

If your needs or the needs of your business exceed the scope of that which we have defined above, you can contact Web.com to inquire about enterprise-level solutions.

Such solutions include marketing, data collection and analytics, and web design.

Custom, Industry-Specific Options

Web.com also offers industry-specific options for those in dentistry, real estate, or a field where communication with field crews is important.

Selling Online With Web.com

If you are interested in launching more than just a basic website for your business, Web.com offers an e-commerce option.

This option is a managed solution where the Web.com team will assist you with developing a fully-fledged online store.

Web.com's ecommerce lets you sell securely online

We noticed that Web.com claims its do-it-yourself website builder can be used as a DIY e-commerce solution, but be sure to check to see if it will meet the security requirements needed to operate an online store.

We saw no mentions of what security features (other than SSL certificates) Web.com offers to assist with this.

Is Web.com PCI-Compliant?

Web.com does not indicate that any of its plans are PCI compliant, so we assume that none are.

Because these plans are shared hosting plans, it may be difficult (if not impossible) to set up a PCI compliant website using Web.com’s options.

However, Web.com does claim to offer e-commerce solutions, so this may be something with which the Web.com professional services team could help.

Customer Service and Technical Support

Web.com provides the following support channels:

  • Live chat
  • Text
  • Telephone support
  • Knowledgebase

Online Documentation is Disappointing

Unfortunately, I found the quality of support material provided by Web.com to be lacking.

  • There are few documents available.
  • Those that are available contain very little usable information.
  • I even made a last-ditch effort to see if Google would be able to unearth information I could not find using the website’s own navigation, and we were unsuccessful.
  • It was difficult for me to find information that I was interested in, such as migrations — the information I ended up finding came from the Web.com Terms of Service.
  • A fair amount of the information I did find was branded as Network Solutions which, as I mentioned in the introduction, is the parent company of Web.com. The documentation provided for Web.com users seemed like an afterthought that was never really completed.
  • There were key points that were only mentioned in the Terms of Service.

What Does This Mean For You?

Be aware that, if you opt for a Web.com hosting package, you should be prepared to either contact the Web.com support team regularly or to muddle through and figure things out on your own.

Live Chat

The live chat presents the customer rep’s messages in light gray text against a white background, making the text almost illegible.

live chat web-com
This live chat message from a Web.com operator is difficult to read due to low contrast between the text and the background. (We were using the Chrome browser.)

Live chat is available during business hours.

Phone Support

The phone agents answered relatively quickly. Though the first agent couldn’t answer my question, she quickly transferred me to a “specialist” who did.

Web.com does boast 24/7 customer service, which we feel is necessary given the lack of printed material available.

Money-Back Guarantee and Trial Period

Web.com does not offer any trial periods, but all new accounts do get a 30-day (limited) money-back guarantee.

If you like this host…

If you like some aspects of Web.com but are interested in exploring alternatives, check out these web hosts.

Bluehost

bluehost homepage

BlueHost is an all-around solid web hosting provider offering lots of web hosting options, robust customer service and customer support, and marketing services.

There are two downsides to BlueHost, however:

  1. BlueHost offers limited web design options and lacks a website builder — you may have to solicit the services of a third-party web designed if you opt for BlueHost. (To be fair, there are many hosting companies that are lacking in design options, so BlueHost is not unique in this regard.)
  2. BlueHost does not offer any type of service-level agreement or uptime guarantee for its entry-level options

A2 Hosting: Features for Developers

a2 hosting homepage

I consider A2 Hosting to be the BlueHost for geeks. If you have complex technical needs, consider A2 Hosting.

Like BlueHost, A2 Hosting is limited in terms of the web design services they offer. There’s no website builder.

A2 Hosting is also a web host that offers uptime guarantees to even entry-level packages.

GreenGeeks: High-Tech Green Hosting

greengeeks homepage

GreekGeeks is an eco-friendly web host offering shared and reseller hosting plans.

If you find the options provided by BlueHost and A2 Hosting overwhelming, but Web.com does not do it for you, consider GreenGeeks.

GreenGeeks’ plans are fast and scalable, so they are a good option for those who are not seeking super powerful, super fancy web hosting packages.

GreekGeeks does offer a website builder.

Web.com vs. Wix vs. Squarespace

If you have experience with the website builders put out by other web hosts or website building services (such as Wix or Squarespace), how does Web.com’s option compare?

Web.com’s site building option comes with:

  • Hundreds of design templates
  • Thousands of images
  • Unlimited access to a website coach

Free Trials and Guarantees

First, know that Web.com’s option is not free. But they do offer a 30-day money-back guarantee.

Both Wix and Squarespace offer free trials.

Easy to Use, Modern Templates

Web.com claims that its option is intuitive and easy-to-use, with templates that can help you get started. The live site examples appear modern and responsive.

web-com site builder

Wix and Squarespace also offer modern, impressive designs.

Previewing Templates

Since Web.com doesn’t present all their templates, it’s not easy to make a comparison to Wix and Squarespace.

Squarespace will let you preview all the templates before you sign up.

In the end, all three options (Web.com, Wix, and Squarespace) offer options that can help you get up and running with a well designed website with as little hassle as possible.

Which is the Cheapest?

If you are on a strict budget, you should know that Web.com is the most inexpensive option, followed by Wix, then Squarespace.

Web.com Quick Overview

Specializations

  • Inexpensive shared hosting
  • Web design tools and services

Plans starting at…

$5.95 per month for Essential Hosting

Sitebuilder included?

Yes

Migration Policy

None — you’re on your own.

Quality of Support Material

Poor

Control Panel

Included

Datacenter Locations

No information provided

Money-Back Guarantee

30 Days, Limited

Backup Policy

None — you’re on your own.

PCI Compliant

No

Pros and Cons of Web.com

We’ve said a lot about Web.com, but what are the high (and low) points of this web host?

Web.com Pros

  • All hosting plans are on the inexpensive side
  • One-click installation of many popular addons (including WordPress) and do-it-yourself website builder make getting a website up and running relatively simple
  • Web.com is owned by Network Solutions, a conglomerate of web hosting and other website-related online businesses — there is a vast network infrastructure backing your website

Web.com Cons

  • No advanced hosting options (reseller, virtual private server (VPS), or dedicated), so if you outgrow your hosting package, you will need to migrate to another web host
  • Support documentation is seriously lacking

Conclusion

  • Those looking for budget hosting with an uptime guarantee and basic marketing services should consider Web.com.
  • If you get the Web.com team to build your website, I recommend you get it done on WordPress.
  • Exploring bargain web hosts that offer more features and better support materials may help you find the right fit.
  • Those looking for hosting packaged with marketing services and plenty of online tutorials for beginners should explore options like Bluehost or 1&1 IONOS.

Most Popular Web.com Hosting Plans

Essential Professional Premium
Disk Space 300GB 500GB Unlimited
Bandwidth Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Price $5.95 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$7.95 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$9.95 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit Web.com Visit Web.com Visit Web.com

Pros and Cons of Web.com

Should you choose Web.com? It depends on your business and your needs. But, to make the decision easier, we’ve outline pros and cons to keep in mind while you decide.

Pros

  • Accessible and affordable for small businesses
  • The wide range of services means small businesses can get everything done in one place
  • Shared hosting has a high uptime.
  • Wide range of options for website building–choose WordPress, Do It Yourself, or Do It For Me

Cons

  • No site migration to or from Web.com, you are left on your own to figure this out.
  • Free domains renew at $38 a year, which is quite high for most domains.
  • Hosting renews at more than twice the price of the intro rate, which is higher than many competitors.
  • Hosting is billed every four weeks, not monthly, which can be confusing.
  • Live chat has off hours or just doesn’t work? When trying to access the live chat, we were greeted with a message saying we’ve reached them after hours or the operator was helping someone else, so we should call support.
  • There are a high volume of bad reviews, leaving us to wonder if they fall into the “Jack of all trades, master of none.”
  • Limited ability to scale as your business grows. They offer ‘enterprise’ services, but those are still quite limited. If you are looking for any type of extended functionality you are out of luck.

Contributing writer: Danielle Antosz

Web.com Frequently Asked Questions

  • Where is Web.com located? 

    The company is based out of Jacksonville, Florida in the USA. It is owned by Web.com Group, Inc.

  • Where is the Web.com datacenter?

    The Web.com Group uses two datacenters for customer data. One is located in Jacksonville, Florida, and the other is in Atlanta, Georgia.

  • Does Web.com offer any Windows hosting packages?

    No. Web.com only sells Linux hosting.

  • Can I upgrade to a VPS?

    No. Web.com only sells shared hosting.

  • Do they offer reseller options?

    Web.com does offer reseller hosting packages in Canada. Their reseller account allows you to resell any Web.com hosting plan and take advantage of their “volume based discount structure.” Which, essentially, means you pay a lower rate if you sell more sites. They also offer 24/7 support and a dedicated support team to help you with any issues that may arise. Web.com lists no pricing structure for reseller accounts. Interested customers should reach out to Web.com for additional details.

  • Can I buy dedicated servers?

    No. Web.com provides does not provide any dedicated hosting services.

  • Will my hosting plan come with a free domain?

    Yes. One free domain is included.

  • Can Web.com help me to transfer my site?

    No. There are no migration services included.

  • Will the renewal price be higher than the intro price?

    No. Prices are set according to the package you choose, and the contract length.

  • Is there a money-back guarantee?

    Yes. Web.com provides a 30 day money back guarantee.

  • Which control panel does Web.com use?

    The company has its own custom control panel.

  • Does Web.com offer phone support? 

    Yes. Phone support is provided in English between 8am and 8pm, EST. It also has a ticket system.

  • What programming languages are supported?

    Web.com supports JSP, CGI-BIN, SSI, Perl, Ruby on Rails, PHP 5, Zend Libraries and Python.

  • Can I host WordPress on their services?

    Yes. Its shared hosting will support a WordPress installation.

  • Can I host unlimited websites?

    No. All customers are limited to hosting 100 websites.

  • Does Web.com have a sitebuilder?

    There is no sitebuilder with the shared hosting plan. Web.com offers a ‘Do It Yourself’ hosting service, separate to its shared hosting services. 

  • Is their platform suitable for an e-commerce site?

    Yes. You can purchase an SSL certificate from Web.com, and install the cart software that you prefer.

  • Can I install Magento?

    Yes. Magento is supported. 

  • Could I host an image-heavy site on their services?

    Web.com offers unlimited bandwidth and disk space on its top tier shared hosting plan. This would be the most suitable option for an image-heavy site.

  • What payment options does Web.com accept? 

    It accepts major credit cards, including MasterCard, Visa, American Express, and Discover. It also accepts PayPal.

  • Does Web.com offer an uptime guarantee?

    Yes. There’s a 99.9% uptime guarantee backed by a service credit. The maximum credit is 144 hours in a single month. The uptime measurement is taken across all Web.com services, not just the server that your site is located on.

  • Does Web.com offer cPanel?

    No, Web.com uses a proprietary control panel similar to cPanel. It is easy to use and allows you to access the same elements as cPanel.

  • What is Leadstream from Web.com?


    It is a lead generation service provided by Web.com using PPC (pay per click) ads to encourage leads to call your business or fill out a lead form.

    Web.com Lead Stream reviews are mostly negative, which doesn’t bode well. We also found the Web.com page for Lead Stream is pretty vague on how the process works.

  • Who founded Web.com?

    Web.com was founded by current CEO David Brown as a company called Atlantic Teleservices, Inc. in 1997. In 1999, he sold the company to Website Pros, which was founded in 1999 by Darian Brannan. Website Pros later acquired Web.com and took on their name.

  • Who is Network Solutions?

    Network Solutions is a domain registration and hosting company which was purchased by Web.com in 2011. They still provide services under their own name as a subsidiary of Web.com

Katie Horne

About Katie Horne

Katie is a C# developer who became a technical writer. She is a lifelong bookworm and all-around nerd with a soft spot for gimmicks and packaging. She judges books by the cover, and she's not sorry about it. In her spare time, she likes to swim, knit, and do the New York Times Crossword Puzzle.

Connect with Katie

Review Web.com & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a Web.com customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more…

1 How would you rate your experience with Web.com?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about Web.com.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that Web.com rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2019 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2019.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your Web.com review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).