Wix Review: What Do Users Say About The World’s Most Popular Website Builder?

Is Wix the Right Way to Build and Host Your Website?

Wix is one of, if not the largest website builder on the web.

It’s been built in order to help people without advanced technical skills or knowledge build simple, attractive websites.

This Wix review is a thorough but simple look at the most important features of Wix and how it actually works. It includes both the good and bad from my experience as a user. By the end, you should know if Wix will help you build the site that you have in mind.

Wix Web Host Review

How Wix Got Started

Wix was founded back in 2006 and has grown steadily to over 110 million users around the world.

Wix began as a drag-and-drop website building platform and continues to be one, although much improved.

“In 10 years, we want to see every small business owner effectively leverage the web to take their business to new heights, and as we already do for millions of people worldwide, we want to give them the easiest and most effective way to do so.” —Avishai Abrahami, CEO of Wix

Wix Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 46 Reviews by Wix Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Pascal Laube avatar
Pascal Laube pascallaube.com
Sep 18, 2018

I am creating websites on wix.com for four years. I also have experience with the former editor. I can tell you, i was always happy about the high grade of design flexibility you have, to build up your absolute personalised website.

It’s possible to edit and customise almost everything. Editor is quite good, sometimes a bit shaky (and no, its not my internet connection:). Online performance: It’s ok.

From time to time it takes quite a while to load the page. (and no, its not my connection). Support: Was always average. You can reach them by email.

They will answer you of course, but you will get some standard answers. and those you can read by yourself on the support page. If you really have a problem, like with the DNS or connection problems, it will be faster if you have the knowledge to fix it up by yourself.

The only thing i am really upset about, is the new blog. Absolutely rubbish. It’s almost an affront.

A lot of bugs and everything standardised. Not the way i know wix… And i was working with the old blog before, and this app was absolutely amazing to work with.

I don’t understand why a leading company with great programmers going to realise such a crappie blog even there was a brilliant product before. Also, be aware: If you are blogger, test the features carefully before you make a final decision and buy a product you won’t be happy with. Also, the latest release of the member area they created, is not really what i want to have or what I personally expected from wix.

Quite a few failures in design and usability. I am a bit worrying, that wix will cut down the design flexibility and reduce the highly customisable contents…. Its just a thought…

Just one more thing: If you think you can sit down, and create a nice website in 5 hours you are wrong. For a great looking website with a intuitive and unique looking interface you need time. Even with wix.com. :))

Visit Host →

Becca Su avatar
Becca Su listentoyourmusic.com
Nov 02, 2018

Wix is pretty great,
1. It’s simple to understand, menus and all they need to be, no fancy stuff to get in the way, it’s great for blogging, easy to navigate around too.
2. The actual building of your website is pretty easy too, mostly drag and drop, not a whole lot of menus, even someone who wasn’t a computer nerd could understand it.
3.

I’ve used other website builders like Weebly and Squarespace but I like Wix the most, it’s simple and easy to understand.
4. Customer service seems okay, the FAQ section doesn’t have all the answers but it has the answers to the questions I ask and that’s what matters most.
5. Wix has many features, Wix E-Store, Wix Chat, Wix Blog, etc.

You can add many apps to your site to help your visitors and boost traffic.
6. Wix was the first website builder I used, when I was new to building websites, and so far I haven’t had any problems, I’ve used Wix for about 2 years now, it’s the best website builder for people who are new to building websites or are not the best when it comes to computers.

Visit Host →

Reynard Gunawan avatar
Reynard Gunawan milklegend.wixsite.com
Sep 22, 2018

Wix.com is a great website maker, it isn’t complicated to create a website with Wix. The editor and the support center are very good tools to help you and your business. It was very simple to make my website and it looked very professional.

It only took 2 days to finish my website, but if I coded my website it would have roughly taken at least 2 months. I love Wix because of it structure and how cheap the plans are. From, MilkLegend
Website -> https://milklegend.wixsite.com/overrealm-music

Visit Host →

John Martinez avatar
John Martinez jmayala.com
Apr 01, 2018

The flexibility, value and power Wix gives you is more than you could ask from website builder/hoster all-in-one. The main reason however of why I keep coming back to Wix for all my projects is the constant updates and innovation. They constantly add new tools and ways to make more complex and sophisticated websites without programming knowledge allowing a designer like me to custom build websites for clients with an extra speedy turnaround.

Visit Host →

Emre Ata avatar
Emre Ata
Apr 01, 2018

It deserves to be the best web site creator in the world. The user panel, wix editor page and seo wizard are really awesome. A person who does not know the code easily creates a seo compliant website.

In this way, millions of people are moving their businesses into the internet world. They have very friendly and courteous customer representatives. Creating a web site with drag and drop method is very fun and easy.

A company that values people and cares about user affairs. Also the website themes is excellent. A few guides for people who want to create a website with Wix;

www.wixsitekur.net (for Turkish users)

www.bestwebsitebuilder.org (International)

www.crearpaginaweb.net (For espanol language)

Best Regards

Visit Host →

MELISSA ALEJANDRO avatar
MELISSA ALEJANDRO cincypsychic.com
Sep 02, 2018

WIX customer support can totally suck. I could not believe how rude, insulting and degrading one of their customer service reps was to me and She Didn’t Seem To Know What She Was Talking About. She actually have the audacity to say to me "I don’t have to be on the phone with you, you know, I don’t have time for this" She’s incompetent and starts insulting me.

WOW! And the Problem Was and Still is some kind of Glitch in Their System. I paid for a product and service and it’s not working for 2 days now.

They got Paid and I Still Don’t Have a Working Product. Nowhere left to go from here, I guess, but to my credit card company. I Do NOT Recommend!

Visit Host →

Bob Tubek avatar
Bob Tubek timberridgeproductions.com
Jun 24, 2018

Hook and Steer…. I bought into there hype after that payment of over 160 u.s. I was sent and e-mail for 40% off, when I tried to get it after log on I was directed to a much higher priced package

Support was none, could not even understand the person (heavy accent) I cancelled within the cancellation period ( next day) and now there trying to hold my domain hostage so that I go with them at the higher price….

that is my company’s name, wix I own the name and had the domain for 15 years they will not even reimburse for your mailbox 25 U.S. even after its cancelled

Yes BTW you have to pay for a mail box $25.00

I would never again go with this company it’s hook and steer ! ( to a much higher price ) after showing them their own ads they denied me the price change

Visit Host →

Cristina Galan avatar
Cristina Galan katyperrypress.com
Jun 22, 2018

Wix is really a great hosting platform. Not only that the built-in website themes make it super easy to use. Its really time saving and time worthy process to create a website and host it on wix.

Highly recommend this to everyone. Moreover I love the customer service support by wix. Keep it up

Visit Host →

hecktor kuffman  avatar
hecktor kuffman asafby.wixsite.com
Apr 03, 2018

Wix is the best Platform around, Why people still use WP is beyond me. I’ve did a contest with a developer friend who can upload an e-commerce site for a client we both work with and it took me two days, last time I checked he hasn’t finished yet. Wix is the future, developers get on board!

Visit Host →

Asaf Remler avatar
Asaf Remler remlermusic.com
Apr 01, 2018

Hey,

I found Wix platform is diverse and easy to use- offers bookings, events, blogging platforms, hyperlinks everywhere etc. I used also Wix ADI to create my website remlermusic.com and got a great result in terms of what I looked for. I am very happy with Wix product and probably will make my next website in it again :)

Visit Host →

Load More

Free Sitebuilder Plans With Hosting

Users can test out the tool on a free plan, which is enough to build a basic website. Wix also provides the hosting automatically, so you don’t have to worry about any extra set-up or fees.

Overall, Wix is a solid website builder if you don’t have a high level of technical skills.

The pricing for the Wix Premium plans is reasonable, although you will have to have the budget for the monthly cost.

Wix Plans
Wix Free Plan Mid-Tier Plan Top-Tier Plan
Free stock photos Everything in Free Plan plus: Everything in Mid-Tier Plan, plus:
Responsive design No Wix ads Online store
Free hosting (storage & bandwidth limits) Free domain VIP support & priority response
Wix app market Unlimited bandwidth Professional site review
Online help & tutorials More storage
Subdomains only (e.g., yoursite.wix.com) Ad Vouchers
Wix logo & ads on your site

Wix Support Options

Wix has an extensive knowledgebase, but no other real support options, which is unfortunately common with website builders. If you really don’t like reading through support documentation and working through issues you run into, I don’t think you’ll like Wix.

Instead, look for a website builder that has a support team that you can contact directly when you have issues.

ALERT: Free plans don’t come with personalized customer support (chat, email, phone) outside of the online knowledgebase.

How to Create a Website in Minutes

Wix used to only have one website builder, but that had quite a steep learning curve and required a decent level of technical skills.

Two Ways to Build a Site

When you go to create a new website in your Wix account now, you’ll first pick which type of site you’d like to make:

Creating a Wix site
The Wix sitebuilder starts by asking you a few questions.

After that, you’ll now see 2 different options to create your website:

Wix offers two sitebuilders
You can choose between one of Wix’s two sitebuilders.

The Wix Artificial Design Intelligence sitebuilder (ADI) is much more beginner friendly while the standard Wix Editor is good if you’ve used Wix before or are used to other website builders.

Let’s preview both options quickly.

Option #1: Use the Wix ADI

The ADI asks you a few basic questions, and then uses artificial intelligence to choose a unique combination of styles and structures from billions of combinations.

If you picked an online store in the first step of creating a new website, you’ll be asked to be more specific about what type of Wix store you’re trying to create:

ADI sitebuilder
Starting the ADI sitebuilder.

Then, you’ll be asked to pick the main website features you’d like to have:

ADI sitebuilder wizard
The ADI sitebuilder wizard lets you choose the features you want.

After a few more basic questions, which you’re allowed to skip if you’d like, you’ll be presented with a final choice of which type of design you’d like.

ADI themes
ADI creates a theme based on the colors and designs you like.

Instead of picking a specific theme, you choose a general design and ADI will design an appropriate site.

How Wix ADI Creates a Site For You

Using all the data you just entered, ADI uses artificial intelligence to create your unique website and generates it in just a few seconds.

ADI design output
ADI generates a website via artificial design intelligence.

If you create a site with ADI, you’ll have a different drag-and-drop website editor than the standard Wix Editor.

It’s simpler, more modern, and less cluttered.

Get Started With Tutorials

One of the nicest features that this editor comes with is an onboarding support checklist (that you can hide if you’d like).

ADI tutorials
ADI’s tutorials walk you through the steps you need to take to finish your site.

The checklist gives you a tour of the most important areas of the editor, as well as a quick tutorial to show you how to use them.

Once you’re done with that, you can edit the content on your web pages.

Customize Everything

Clicking any element will bring up a custom sidebar editor that will let you customize text, color, style, and more:

Wix sidebar
The Wix sidebar editor lets you customize anything you like.

You also have access to any advanced features you asked for upfront in the questions, like a store manager:

Wix store manager
The Wix store manager wizard takes you through the process of opening your store.

Option #2: Use the Standard Wix Editor

Sometimes you just want more control over how your website is structured and designed.

In that case, the Wix Editor is a good choice.

The only real setup step is to choose from the hundreds of templates that Wix offers:

Wix templates
Wix has hundreds of site templates.

After that, your basic site template will be generated and you’ll be sent to the editor.

Wix standard editor
Wix has powerful functionality.

The Wix Editor: Powerful But Complex

The editor gives you full control over your site’s:

  • Background
  • Apps
  • Store
  • Bookings
  • Blog.

You can enable or disable any feature, and customize them to your site.

There is a fairly steep learning curve, but Wix has hundreds of clear support articles to walk you through things.

Finally, you’ll notice that certain features, like the store manager, are different than they look in the ADI editor.

Wix store manager
Wix’s store manager.

While they contain all the same functionality, they do have a different design and structure. Since the ADI editor is newer, it’s usually more user friendly.

What Could Wix Do Better?

There’s a few specific things that I believe Wix could improve upon:

  1. Editor interfaces are inconsistent — As I showed you, the editor interfaces are very different. If you use both the ADI and classic Editor, you’ll need to learn both, resulting in wasted time.
  2. More focus on SEO — Besides a few basic SEO extensions, there’s very little SEO support for your websites offered.
  3. Full online store support is only available on the most expensive plans.

Behind the Scenes With Wix Apps

The Wix app market is extremely powerful and contains apps that allow you to add most common functionalities to your site.

For example, by searching for “social media,” you can add social media buttons to your website for all the major social networks with just a few clicks:

Wix social media apps
You can add a variety of apps to your Wix site.

While the default Wix editor isn’t quite as powerful as some competitors, the apps can more than make up for it in certain situations.

If You Like Wix, Check Out These Hosts Too

If you’re looking for a website building platform with more advanced e-commerce site functionality, I’d consider Weebly. Weebly has advanced functionality and lets you add and sell as many products as you’d like on certain plans.

On the other hand, if you’re most concerned about support, consider trying Squarespace. Like Wix, Squarespace wants you to use support articles whenever possible, but you can reach them by email or live chat if you have a serious issue.

FAQs About Wix

Below are a few common Wix questions and their answers.

How many visitors can a Wix website support?

Each Wix plan has a different amount of bandwidth. Bandwidth is consumed each time someone loads a page on your website.

The more expensive Wix plan offer “unlimited bandwidth.”

That doesn’t truly mean “unlimited bandwidth,” but it means that your website should be able to support a large amount of visitors with no issues.

Can you create a website on any topic with Wix?

While Wix provides the technical capabilities to build many types of websites, there are certain topics and functionalities that are deemed off limits.

In their terms of use, Wix specifies that no illegal, malicious, or obscene content is allowed.

Remember that Wix has full control over your Wix website, so if you break any of these conditions, Wix can shut down your site permanently.

Also, check out our answers to additional common questions below.

Uptime and Response Time

No data yet.

Wix Quick Overview

This section provides a simple overview of Wix aspects so that you can use it when comparing Wix to other hosting options.

Wix Specializations

Wix’s strengths lie in its usability:

  • Simple to use — You can create a basic website in minutes.
  • Extensive functionality — Supports blogs and e-commerce stores. Has an huge app store to extend your website’s features.
  • Smooth drag and drop editor — One of the simplest and smoothest drag-and-drop website editors available.

Migration Policy

Wix uses their own custom content management system. There’s no easy way to migrate sites to or from Wix.

Quality of Online Support Material

Wix has excellent online documentation.

Control Panel

Wix gives users a custom built control panel to manage their site(s).

Datacenters

Wix has servers that host their user’s websites all over the world (mainly Europe and the U.S.).

Wix Guarantee

There’s a 14 day money-back guarantee with no questions on any Premium plan.

Lowest Plan Price

Wix’s Premium plans start at $5 per month.

Backups

No automatic backups. You can generate manual backups whenever you’d like for free.

Wix’s Sitebuilders

Yes, all sites on Wix must be made with one of their two sitebuilders.

PCI Compliance

Yes. All plans are PCI compliant.

Does Wix Host Any Big Brands?

Epsilon, TrendMicro, and the states of Maine and Hawaii use Wix on their sites.

Pros and Cons of Wix

Like most hosts, Wix does some things better than others. Here’s the breakdown.

Wix Pros

  1. Simple and fast setup — you can create a site with the Wix Editor from scratch in minutes, or use the Wix ADI to create one even faster.
  2. Templates to customize site design — there are hundreds of modern, responsive templates to choose from.
  3. Excellent knowledgebase — there are hundreds of detailed articles on how to use Wix to create your website.
  4. Simple to Use Control Panel — a custom built dashboard to control your site.
  5. PCI Compliant — allows you to easily take and store credit card information.

Wix Cons

  1. Limited ability to customize — Even with apps, you may not be able to add certain custom functionality. Wix is not suitable for complex sites.
  2. The Wix editor itself is not responsive — There can be display issues and frustration if you’re using Wix with a small monitor or in a non-maximized window.

Final Thoughts: Is Wix the Website Builder for You?

With the addition of the Wix ADI, I think the Wix website builder has become a great choice for web development beginners who just want to build a simple site.

It’s not for you if you’re looking to build a complex site, or want to build a website with little or no ongoing fees.

I also think that if you’re planning on creating a small business website, there are better alternatives like Squarespace that are geared specifically towards small business owners.

Most Popular Wix Hosting Plans

Connect Domain Unlimited eCommerce
Disk Space 500MB 10GB 20GB
Bandwidth 1GB Unlimited 10GB
Price $4.08 / mo $6.21 / mo $8.08 / mo
Visit Wix Visit Wix Visit Wix
Plan Disk Space Bandwidth Price
Combo
Shared
3GB 2GB $8.25 / mo Visit Host
More Plans +

Wix Frequently Asked Questions

  • What is Wix?

    Wix is a website building and hosting service. They work a little bit like WordPress, but use proprietary software and themes instead of open source ones.

  • What is a Wix site?

    A Wix site is a website created using the Wix website builder. Wix allows people to get a site online without any coding knowledge.

  • What hosting products does Wix offer?

    Wix isn’t a traditional host. All their hosting is done through their website building service, which is a shared hosting platform.

  • Is there anything I can’t do with Wix?

    Customers can do most things that they could do with a traditional hosting company like SiteGround. However, Wix doesn’t provide dedicated, VPS, or a reseller hosting, and its customers have significantly less control over their hosting environment.

  • What does “less control” mean?

    With Wix, there’s no control panel access and no access via programming language at all. All website management happens through Wix’s proprietary backend system, which makes it extremely easy for non-developers to get a site up and running but does limit what tech savvy customers can do.

  • What payment options are available? What billing cycle does Wix run?

    Wix accepts payments via major credit cards only and bills either monthly, annually, or bi-annually.

  • Are there any discounts available?

    Yes. Customers who sign on for a longer plan and pay up front get a discount. See website for specifics.

  • What sort of support is available?

    Wix has a dense knowledge center at the core of their support network. They also have phone support and a version of email ticketing through their knowledge center. Higher tier plans come with priority support, which gets them to the front of the call queue and instant responses in the knowledge center.

  • Does Wix offer domain and website migration?

    Sort of. Wix will help you migrate your domain, but because they use a proprietary system, instead of something like cPanel, it’s not possible to migrate website content directly over to a Wix site.

  • Can I buy a domain with Wix?

    Yes. Wix does let you purchase domains and most plans include a free year of domain registration.

  • Does Wix offer an uptime guarantee?

    No, Wix does not guarantee any uptime.

  • Does Wix offer a money back guarantee or free trial?

    Yes, both. They operate on a freemium business plan. Their free option lets customers get a website up and running but comes with restrictions like Wix ads on your website. For their paid plans, they offer a 14 day money back guarantee. All add-on services are non-refundable.

  • What applications can I use with Wix?

    Wix doesn’t use applications like shopping carts and CMSs. Instead, the use their own proprietary applications based around templates to help customers build the site they need. They also have an app store to help take the place of plugins and provide additional services and themes to customers.

  • Does Wix offer any marketing support?

    Yes. Wix offers their customers things like SEO help, ad credits, and UX/UI site reviews. All these services vary in cost and inclusion depending on what plan customers purchase. See website for details.

  • What is the Wix website editor?

    Wix uses a drag and drop website editor to help customers launch their website. It’s a WYSIWYG editor that uses artificial intelligence and Flash/HTML5 to make building a website easier. For most customers, the website editor is where most interaction with their website will happen. It’s essentially a cross between cPanel and a CMS backend.

  • What backup options does Wix offer?

    None. Their terms of service specify that customers need to provide their own backups and Wix is in no way responsible for that task or any lost data.

  • What security does Wix offer?

    Wix offers their ecommerce customers secure credit card transactions and SSL certificates. They are also PCI Data Security Standards compliant and are a level 1 service provider (the lowest of 4 levels). On their website, Wix assures its customers it is completely virus free.

  • Is there a limit on things like storage and bandwidth?

    It depends. Some plans do come with unlimited bandwidth, but the terms of service do outline that Wix has the right to throttle a site if it’s using too many resources. All plans are limited with storage though.

  • Can I use a Wix site for anything?

    Pretty much. There is no acceptable use policy outlining the usual restrictions (eg, no adult content) and the only restrictions outlined in the terms of service are that you are not allowed to run a website if you’re in a country the US is embargoing and you have to be over 18. If you’re unsure, check with Wix directly.

  • Is Wix completely free?

    There is a free plan, but you will find that advertising is displayed around your site content. If you want to remove the advertising, you will need to pay to upgrade your Wix plan.

Most Popular Wix Alternatives

Web.com logo

Starts at:

$5.95

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

Weebly logo

Starts at:

$8

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

Squarespace logo

Starts at:

$5

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

Dale Cudmore

About Dale Cudmore

Freelance blogger by day, developer by night, Dale is a freelance writer who specializes in technology and digital marketing. He studied Chemical Engineering at the University of Waterloo. After finding that unfulfilling, he moved onto a career in freelance writing, while self-teaching himself web development on the side.

Connect with Dale