Interserver Review: Cheap Hosting Rated By 208 Real Users

Is InterServer the Web Host for You?

What do college students, nonprofits, and small businesses have in common? If you said, “tight budgets,” you’d win the teddy bear!

Short of visiting the midway at the Jersey Shore, you can still feel like a winner if you decide to get a hosting plan from InterServer.

That’s because the Secaucus, NJ, web hosting provider offers a unique “price lock guarantee,” meaning that the hosting rate you book now will never cost more in the future. What’s more, nonprofits can get hosting completely free and students can get their first year hosting fees waived.

Free is in my budget, as is fixed pricing, so I took a look at InterServer for this review.

Web Host Review: InterServer

InterServer’s Infrastructure Is Built for Speed

The first thing that impressed me about InterServer is its network. The company uses three Tier 1 IP backbone providers: Zayo, most heavily networked on the US East Coast; NTT Communications, a global provider with good Asia coverage; and Cogent, which favors European nodes.

It also boasts high-end routing and switching equipment from Cisco, Extreme Networks, and Riverstone, as well as an intelligent BGPv4 routing protocol.

Interserver Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 208 Reviews by Interserver Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Shobhit Prabhakar avatar
Shobhit Prabhakar iwatchindia.com
Oct 09, 2015

I have been using interserver for over a year. I would give them 8/10. They have good support, value for money plans.

There was a bit of performance issue on some occasions on my VPS, but that may be because I have lower end box. If you are on a shared hosting and want to make sure that Your Site wont go slow because other sites sharing the same server are taking too much resources, you can switch to a VPS. interserver provides quality hosting for very economical price.

You can start with lower end box and then upgrade when your site gets more hits and revenues. Overall worth a switch if you want good economical VPS and want good support.

Visit Host →

Kashif Hameed avatar
Kashif Hameed dollerexchange.com
Dec 07, 2015

I am a Blogger and wanted to launch a website that offers online courses comprised of my own video lectures. As I was just starting and got a Hosting. I had a usual complaint of Down-time that was terrible for my limited viewers and members.

I once used VPS service from InterServer and had Excellent customer service and overall Services experience. I decided to go with InterServer. I just got and account with a price that is almost One Third of what I was paying to my previous host, but the services that are far better that them.

I love the team of InterServer that shows a family picture and they consider their clients as family memeber and here their complaints with utmost priority. I am now with InterServer and will be with them. InterServer Rocks…. Great Job Keep up the excellent work.

Visit Host →

Michaela Stubbs avatar
Michaela Stubbs divineangelnews.com
Nov 07, 2015

Interserver is a great hosting company that provides me with everything to run my website/ websites. Interserver is great for small business and or Entrepreneurs. What I like most so far is you get quality product, and customer service for a price others cannot beat.

I needed cron jobs for my site to make sure my site runs smoothly, well my previous web hosting company did not support it. With Interserver I don’t have to get in a contract like with other hosting companies. I like the speed of their servers, my site comes up just like that.

Awesome. The customer service is good, I had to get some info and someone got back to me within 15 minutes via email. Their response time is very fast. I could see Interserver in the Top Rankings in great offering great hosting products and customer service at an affordable price range.

Visit Host →

Daniel Naxon avatar
Daniel Naxon naxon.co.il
Jul 10, 2016

Bottom line: Great product! I migrated from Time4VPS to Interserver because the file upload was too slow (I’m located in Israel), and ever since I got my VPS there wasn’t one moment when I felt sorry for that. The server was launched within minutes, I had their great support by my side at all time (that’s their biggest advantage – Great support), and whenever I needed help I got it immediately via chat or tickets, even when it was about 3rd party software. Recommended for everyone: developers and production websites.

Visit Host →

Sasha Antich avatar
Sasha Antich ecouponsinsider.com
Aug 14, 2016

I am using InterServer‘s web hosting for more then 2 years. I am currently running 3 websites at InterServer, and up to this moment I didn’t have any problems with my websites (they are always up and running 24/7). And when I had some minor issues concerning other aspects of your service – InterServer’s support team was very expeditive and fast in solving those issues.

I hope that I will keep using InterServer’s web hosting service since I’m very satisfied up to this moment with their service. Sasha Antich

Visit Host →

kanayo okwuraiwe avatar
kanayo okwuraiwe dogwiki.co
Jan 04, 2018

After being with Interserver for about 4 months, I think I have experienced what they are all about to give an informed review.

– Yes, they have a very (very) quick response time.
– Yes, their live chat seems to be Always online. At least every time I have needed to chat with them even at odd hours in my time zone.
– Yes, they (seem) to have quite a high uptime. I say seem, because I forgot to install the plugin that tells me whenever my site goes offline.

But there were very few times in these 4 months that I visited my site and it was offline. Which is not to say it was never offline. But compared to my last host, I give interserver a pass mark.

The above are their positives. Their negatives, which in my opinion overshadows their positives, are:

– Very (very very) buggy/unstable/unfriendly "Webuzo" dashboard. Yup.

I had never heard of Webuzo panel before, but it is a free alternative to Cpanel. Which by the way you will have to pay for monthly if u chose to use it with Interserver. Question then is, if many of these $1/month host can give you CPanel for free, why can’t Interserver give it to me at my $6/month.

And to think others pay $12/month and more. More on Webuzo…. Simple things like deleting a folder, changing a password, creating a folder, creating a new database, duplicating a folder, and several others were very often a challenge.

So much so that I always had to go to support for help. Imagine that… going to support to help me delete/change a password, etc.

Cos their system wouldn’t allow me. There’s very probably many more of these issues I had with their dashboard that I can’t remember now, but it was Irritatingly constant and many. And actually remains till today as I write this.

Fortunately, some of these problems seemed to have gone away, but in the early days, it was a nightmare. But 2 days ago, I wanted to log into my phpmyadmin, with the same password I have Always used, which is stored in my password manager, and it wouldn’t let me in. This is like the 3rd or 4th time this has happened.

Whether it was my phpmyadmin, or my file manager, my email, etc. In closing… will I keep using them…

very highly unlikely. I am already searching for an alternative. Should you sign up with them…

Put yourself in my shoes and ask yourself, could you live with all the issues I mentioned above, vis-a-vis the good things about the? Your answer will determine which way you should lean.

Visit Host →

Andy Saputra avatar
Andy Saputra saputrad.com
Nov 16, 2018

To be honest I’m very happy with their service and the price for standard web hosting. I got 8 cpanel accounts. But it last only for about 6 months.

Slowly but sure, I feel the quality decreasing especially for the bandwidth! The features each time I order for new cpanel account is not consistent. Sometimes I got 2GB ram, sometimes only 1gb
And the most terrible is their affiliate system. And all I can say is Its scam!

Visit Host →

Adam Phillips avatar
Adam Phillips adaphiserver.com
May 18, 2018

I have used a number of hosts through the years, but hands down, Interserver is one of the best! Live chat customer support is almost always available, tickets are answered fast, they offer the best features. They have made good on every request I have placed with them, and never complained.

I have never had a downtime, and never experienced lag with my site. Please, if you need a host, check them out!

Visit Host →

JOAO CARLOS avatar
JOAO CARLOS joaocarlos.com.br
Jan 26, 2018

Their support is completely crap, they take forever to answer tickets and there’s no chat available. I lost a whole day trying to set things up with zero response from those people. I’d better pay a more expensive host than putting up with this. I do not recommend this at all.

Visit Host →

Mark Austin avatar
Mark Austin swordsales.eu
May 07, 2018

Things started well when I bought hosting from Interserver but soon went bad, very bad. First, my site was in the bottom 2% for upload speeds in Australia, and not good elsewhere. Second, Interserver tehn farmed out their "support" to a terrible 3rd party center in India!!!

The support was so bad that they did not even know what cpanel my Interserver account used. So I left them. Truly, you need to avoid these "people" at all costs.

Visit Host →

Load More

VPS and Dedicated Hosting for Businesses

InterServer offers a full suite of hosting packages — everything from shared hosting to virtual private server (VPS) and dedicated hosting, where they also optimize for speed.

Hosting Features

Before going into more detail, let’s compare these options which InterServer offers:

  ASP.NET Hosting VPS Hosting Dedicated Hosting
Features
  • Free SSL Certificates
  • Unlimited Storage
  • Up to 20 Websites
  • Unlimited FTP Accounts
  • Custom Power Selection
  • Custom Storage Size Selection
  • Free Migration Service
  • Server Monitoring Included
  • 5 IP Addresses
  • No Set-Up Fee
  • 24/7 Uptime Monitoring
  • Managed Support Included
Pricing from $5/month from $6/month from $50/month

Virtuozzo 7

They recently installed a new virtualization platform called Virtuozzo 7.

Performance Boost

This brought a 60% performance boost on their virtual machines for VPS plans on Linux servers. Virtuozzo 7 also allows for access via to the VPS control panel by way of Virtual Network Computing (VNC).

Aside from the awesome features, take a look at the custom hosting package generator:

interserver-custom-package
Choosing an InterServer custom package, via WhoIsHostingThis

Windows and Linux VPS

VPS hosting comes in both Linux and Windows flavors. You can pick any number of slices you like for a fixed amount per slice. InterServer uses a VPS control panel called Bread Basket that appears to be proprietary. The panel also comes with hundreds of 1-click install apps.

Linux VPS Hosting starts at $6/month, whereas Windows VPS Hosting starts at $10/month.

InterServer’s Array of Linux Distributions

InterServer’s dedicated hosting plans are pretty beefy, featuring Intel Atom and Xeon CPUs.

Linux Distrobutions

They offer more operating systems than most web hosts. You can choose the usual Cloud Linux distro, or you can also opt for Centos, Ubuntu, Gentoo, and Red Hat Fedora.

Windows Servers With ASP.NET MVC

Some businesses prefer Windows hosting and InterServer features an ASP.NET Model-View-Controller (MVC) framework that comes with all the bells and whistles, including over 100 1-click installs.

How ASP.NET MVC Helps Development

You might need ASP.NET MVC to help you manage complexity when working on apps that are test-driven or require large development teams. It also gives you full design and behavior control over your application.

Five Reasons to Try InterServer’s Unlimited Shared Hosting

On its shared web hosting plans, InterServer offers unlimited storage, transfer, websites, and email, as well as free SSL certificates. That’s kind of a big deal.

You may think that other hosts also give unlimited storage and bandwidth — but you’d be wrong. So why is it a such a bargain?

Special Shared Features

  1. Free SSL Certificates
  2. Unlimited Storage
  3. Unlimited Bandwidth
  4. CloudFlare CDN
  5. Pricing and Value.

Free SSL Certificates

Some hosts offer free SSL certificates. But they are usually only on their higher-end plans

Otherwise, these certificates will usually cost you extra cash.

Unlimited Storage and Bandwidth

With some other hosting providers, “unlimited bandwidth” isn’t really unlimited. Although these other web host providers say their plans don’t have usage caps, if they find you hogging all the shared server’s resources, they’ll throttle you back or ask you to upgrade.

On the other hand, with InterServer shared plans, unlimited actually means unlimited. How can they offer this promise? Behind the scenes, they limit all their servers to run at 50% of the hardware’s capacity. You’ll never max it out because when capacity starts creeping over the halfway mark, they beef up the server.

The word “unlimited” is often thrown around, however InterServer actually back it up with some clever technology under the hood.

CloudFlare CDN

If your site will have visitors from all over the world, you will want a Content Delivery Netnetwork (CDN). It allows browsers from anywhere to connect to a server that is close to them.

InterServer’s shared hosting is boosted by Cloudflare’s content delivery network (CDN) for free. Cloudflare CDN makes your website load faster with caching and delivery optimization.

It also protects your site from a ton of security threats. You’ll need to sign up for a Cloudflare account to activate its benefits, but it’s completely free if you purchase a hosting package via InterServer.

Pricing and Value

Even if InterServer didn’t include all of these great features, it would be hard to beat at just $5 per month.

But given all the extras it provides, InterServer offers some of the best value on the internet.

SitePad Site Builder

I tried out the shared hosting plan and purchased a domain for it. Even though InterServer is a Drupal hosting partner and also offers WordPress installs, I opted to use their site builder, SitePad to create my website.

Difficult Dashboards

The InterServer dashboard is a layer above the cPanel dashboard. The domains dashboard was also on a separate page.

At first, it was a bit confusing finding my way around this maze. It was befuddling enough that I didn’t even realize that I hadn’t actually paid for my domain, even though I’d already purchased hosting.

Customer Service

When I ran into trouble with the domain purchasing issue, I had a less-than-stellar interaction with customer service live chat.

SitePad Is a Good Site Builder

SitePad doesn’t get much splashy coverage, but actually quite good at what it does.

There are almost 300 themes to choose from — and most of them look pretty slick.

Adding text, pages, and even a blog are a snap, just as you’d expect from a professional site builder.

Is InterServer Good for E-Commerce?

InterServer does offer e-commerce functionality through it’s 1-click add-ons and Softaculous. They also give you a free SSL certificate, but you’ll need to call support to get it turned on.

E-commerce functionality isn’t available in the SitePad site builder so you’ll have to do it from scratch.

Necessary E-Commerce Features

When selecting a host for e-commerce purposes, these are the key features and functionalities you should look for:

  • E-commerce Plug-In Support
  • Easy-Install Payment Systems
  • PCI Compliance
  • Bandwidth
  • Storage.

E-commerce Plug-In Support

This feature eliminates a lot of hassle when setting up your shop.

One-click installs can be extremely useful for e-commerce projects, bear in mind this can cost $5/install, depending on which package you choose.

Easy-Install Payment Systems

You do not want to do this manually. It can be expensive and time-consuming.

So unless you are an expert, this is the way to go.

PCI Compliance

PCI compliance is short for Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard. If you are going to be taking credit cards (and you will be losing out on a lot of sales if you don’t), you need it.

So make sure your site is PCI compliant from the very beginning.

Note that PCI compliance isn’t part of InterServer’s shared hosting plans. You’ll need to get compliance from whichever add-on you use (eg, OpenCart) or from the WordPress e-commerce plug-in you choose.

Bandwidth

Everyone knows that people online are impatient. But whereas a slow blog might lose you a few readers, a slow online store could cost you thousands of dollars.

As a result, you want your e-commerce website to be as fast as possible. You don’t want to give your customers time to change their minds just when their about to buy.

Storage

Customer and user data can take up tons of space. So you don’t want to have to worry about storage capacity on your store. Be ready!

InterServer for E-Commerce?

Considering all these things, I’d say that InterServer wouldn’t be my first choice for hosting an e-commerce site.

But you might be different. Setting up an e-commerce site is always a big decision that requires making a lot of choices.

Power and Uptime Guarantees

InterServer offers customers an uptime guarantee to a level of 99.9% and uninterrupted power 100% of the time. Their SLA defines downtime as being “unable to send data to or receive from a server.”

Uptime Guarantee

You can get up to 50% credit off the month’s cost of your hosting plan if they don’t deliver on their guarantee.

You’ll need to catch your site being down, however, because Interserver doesn’t offer a way to monitor uptime.

You can use a service like Uptime Robot’s free service to keep tabs on your site’s availability.

interserver-uptime
InterServer uptime graph, via WhoIsHostingThis

It’s actually very transparent of InterServer to allow you to monitor your own uptime since some web hosting providers use their own tools (which their customers aren’t privy to) in measuring uptime.

As soon as you experience an interruption in uptime, all you need to do is fill out a customer support ticket documenting the outage.

Affiliate Program and Reseller Hosting

InterServer offers two ways to make money with time: affiliate programs and reseller hosting.

Affiliate Program

InterServer’s affiliate program is pretty sweet.

You get $100 for every paying customer you refer from your affiliate link. They’ll also create a free landing page for your referrals.

If your site is popular, you can even negotiate a higher commission.

interserver-affiliate-program
InterServer’s affiliate program, via WhoIsHostingThis

Reseller Program

If you like digging into the grunty side of web hosting, you might be a good candidate for InterServers reseller hosting plan.

Unlike the affiliate program, you need to know your geeky stuff well and put effort into running your own hosting service.

InterServer Marketing Materials

If you decide to partner up with either of their programs, InterServer gives you access to marketing materials and your own InterServer personal assistant.

Behind the Scenes

InterServer makes it really easy to control the part of your website that the public doesn’t see.

Hosting Dashboard

When you log into the InterServer dashboard, you can see all your plans and servers in one place — including shared, cloud, VPS, and dedicated servers.

interserver-hosting-dashboard
A look at InterServer’s hosting dashboard, via WhoIsHostingThis

Domains List

On the domains dashboard, you can see all the domains you’ve purchased from InterServer.

Unfortunately, that’s about all it shows; there’s no indication of which web hosting plan is associated with the domains, even if they’re hosted by InterServer.

interserver-domains
InterServer’s domain registration dashboard, via WhoIsHostingThis

cPanel Control Panel

For cloud hosting, as well as VPS and dedicated server plans, you get cPanel when you choose a Linux server. (All shared hosting is on Linux, but you get a choice of OS with VPS and dedicated plans.)

It’s a very long control panel because there’s a lot of functionality here.

You can also launch SitePad, InterServer’s website builder from this panel or instigate Softaculous 1-click installs.

interserver-cpanel
InterServer’s version of cPanel, via WhoIsHostingThis

Cloudflare CDN Integration

You can log into your Cloudflare account via your hosting panel. (In my case, it was cPanel.) You’ll need to create an account with Cloudflare and then sign in from the web host panel.

interserver-cloudflare
Linking Cloudflare’s CDN to your InterServer website, via WhoIsHostingThis

Softaculous 1-Click Installs

You can add apps from Softaculous right from the cPanel dashboard, including e-commerce apps like OpenCart.

interserver-softaculous
Softaculous 1-click apps, via WhoIsHostingThis

Site Builder Dashboard

From the SitePad dashboard you can add pages to your site, change themes, upload media, and write blog posts.

interserver-sitebuilder-dashboard
Using InterServer’s site builder, via WhoIsHostingThis

Site Builder Themes

With almost 300 themes to choose from, SitePad can help you create a professional looking site in minutes. It only took me about 15 minutes to create mine.

interserver-sitebuilder-themes
Some of InterServer’s site builder themes, via WhoIsHostingThis

Site Builder Content

Adding content is as easy as double-clicking to add text or dragging widgets to where you want them.

interserver-sitebuilder-content
Some of InterServer’s site builder themes, via WhoIsHostingThis

Site Builder Finished Site

Here’s what my site looked like after 15 minutes. Pretty slick! Of course, you’ll need additional time to personalize the copy and images, as well as adding your own offers or products.

interserver-finished-site
A few pages from my finished site, via WhoIsHostingThis

Customer Support

One of Interserver’s standout features as a web host is providing 24/7 support service for its customers.

Even better, the level of support you get has nothing to do with which plan you choose. Everyone gets the same access to phone, ticket or chat support, regardless of plan.

InterServer will also migrate your existing site to their servers for free.

Liking This Host?

If InterServer looks interesting to you, check out these hosts who offer similar services and plans, like transparent pricing, fast servers, your choice of data centers, business focus, and domain purchasing.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why is InterServer’s WordPress plan more expensive than its shared hosting plan?

When I asked the sales team this question, they explained that the increased price is due to the additional security measures required to prevent hacks on WordPress hosting.

These measures include “strong mod_security ruleset from Atomicorp, daily virus scanners on all internal pages, additional backups and blacklists some known bad WordPress plugins.”

Are InterServer’s 1-click installs free on a shared hosting plan?

Some installs are free, like WordPress. Others, like OpenCart, carry an additional monthly cost (often $5/month), over and above your plan’s cost.

Can I really get free InterServer hosting if I’m a student?

Yes. Students can get one year of the standard shared hosting plan for free. When the first year is over, you’ll be charged the $5/month plan fee.

What’s the deal with free nonprofit hosting on Interserver?

Hosting is completely free for nonprofits who provide their 501(c)(3) information. All Interserver asks in return is a text link on the bottom of your homepage that says, “Powered by InterServer,” with a link back to their site.

Do I get a free domain with my hosting plan?

No. InterServer doesn’t provide free domains.

Does Interserver offer a way to get a server up quickly?

Yes. InterServer can get a dedicated “Quick Server” online in about 20 minutes.

Does Interserver offer any additional perks?

Yes! All shared hosting plans come with $100 in Google Adwords Credits and a 20% Template Monster discount. VPS and Dedicated plans are excluded from these perks.

Does InterServer really give you unlimited storage and bandwidth?

Yes. Their strategy is to continuously operate at 50% capacity, ensuring that you’ll always have the overhead you need for resources.

InterServer Quick Overview

This quick overview of InterServer features will be helpful in comparing it to other hosting providers you may be considering.

Specializations

  • InterServer focuses on business hosting with fast servers and optimized network connections
  • They offer a “price lock guarantee” which means your hosting rate will never go up
  • InterServer has a free plan for nonprofits and will give students their first year free.

Migration Policy

You can migrate as many sites as your shared hosting plan supports for free.

For example, the WordPress plan allows for one site — so you can migrate only one site.

Quality of Support Material

I found the support material on the website to be outstanding. Search is well-indexed and speedy. Instructions and tutorials were clear and illustrated with screenshots.

In particular, I appreciated that each support article is dated, giving me an idea of how up-to-date the information is. In most cases, the articles I retrieved had been updated within the last six months. Their blog is helpful, too.

Live chat support via InterServer’s website was answered quickly when I tested it.

Note that support is only provided in English on the website documentation as well as from support personnel.

Control Panel

InterServer provides different control panels depending upon the kind of hosting you use

  • cPanel for shared and Linux hosting
  • Plesk for Windows hosting
  • Bread Basket proprietary panel for VPS hosting.

Available Datacenters

InterServer owns and operates three datacenters: two centers are located in Secaucus, NJ and one is in Los Angeles, CA. You can choose any of these centers to host your sites.

Money-back Guarantee Trial Period

Shared hosting and WordPress plans don’t have a free trial period but they are backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee, no questions asked.

To initiate the refund, you can send an email to billing@interserver.net, Interserver’s billing support email.

VPS, Quick Server, and Dedicated hosting plans do not offer refunds after the server has been deployed.

InterServer also guarantees 99.5% uptime and 100% power.

If they fail to meet these standards, you can request a refund from support which can be up to 50% of your hosting fee.

Lowest Price for Shared Hosting or Other Cheapest Plans

InterServer’s shared hosting plans are quite cheap. The standard shared hosting plan costs $5/month and managed WordPress hosting costs $8/month.

If you pay for a year or more at a time, you’ll get a bit of a bulk discount. What’s more, thanks to their price lock guarantee, your plan price will never increase.

Also, if you click through from WhoIsHostingThis, you can get your first month for a penny ($0.01) with coupon code WHOISHOST.

Note that some 1-click installs cost an extra $5/month on shared hosting plans, on top of your plan’s base price.

Backup Policy

InterServer uses OpenStack to create redundancy on its systems, so every shared hosting plan comes with free weekly backups. They keep three copies of each backup for 60 days.

Restores

Restores are free and can be done from your control panel.

You can also initiate a manual backup or restore from cPanel (Linux servers) or Plesk (Windows servers).

WordPress

For WordPress hosting, you can add additional backups with a free plugin like BackWPUp.

VPS and Dedicated Servers

For VPS and Dedicated servers, you must take care of your own backups, but there are good support articles to help you.

Site Builder Included?

InterServer uses SitePad as a site builder, which you’ll get access to after you purchase a hosting plan.

For e-commerce, you can choose add-ons from Softaculous like OpenCart or PrestaShop.

Note:Many 1-click installs cost an extra $5/month on your hosting plan.

PCI Compliant?

All shared hosting plans come with a free SSL certificate, but you must contact support to activate it.

PCI compliance comes with several of Interserver’s 1-click installs like OpenCart, Magento, and PrestaShop. Adding on one of these e-commerce platforms costs an extra $5/month on top of your hosting plan.

For WordPress plans, you’ll need to rely on your particular e-commerce and payment gateway plug-ins for PCI compliance.

Do Any Big Brands Use This Host?

InterServer says that its datacenter in Los Angeles is popular with the entertainment industry. However, no company names are mentioned.

Pros and Cons of InterServer

Let’s take a final look at the key advantages and disadvantages of InterServer as a host.

Overall, InterServer boasts some brilliant features, however breaking down some of the below can act as an important reminder before committing to a package.

InterServer Pros

  1. Price Lock Guarantee: fair, transparent pricing which is guaranteed not to increase
  2. Legitimate unlimited storage and bandwidth with no caveats, as well as free migration
  3. Excellent online support articles.

InterServer Cons

  1. Flow for buying domains and hosting is somewhat crude and difficult to follow, as I learned firsthand
  2. One-click add-ons can get pricey ($5/month)
  3. Although some of the pages on InterServer’s website look sharp, there are a good number of other pages that have some formatting and typo issues, including low-res images and out-of-date comparisons to other hosts, that make it seem less professional than some of its competitors.

Is InterServer Right for You?

Here are some considerations if you’re considering InterServer as your next web host provider.

Are You Tech Savvy?

InterServer is best suited for businesses that are a bit of tech-savvy and want to lock in a great price for their yearly budgets.

Bona fide unlimited bandwidth and storage sweetens the deal on some of InterServer’s plans.

Great for Non-Profits

InterServer’s web hosting is also great for nonprofits and students, both of whom can get free services.

Steep Learning Curve

InterServer probably isn’t ideal for people who are unfamiliar with web technologies since they’ll struggle with a steep learning curve.

I’m not anywhere close to a newbie, but even I had trouble finding areas of the website I needed and figuring out what steps to take next.

Find Out More

  • Check out InterServer’s site builder, SitePad
  • Browse Softaculous’s library of 1-click installs that InterServer offers its shared hosting customers
  • Test drive cPanel’s control panel before you commit to Linux hosting.

Most Popular Interserver Hosting Plans

Cloud Web Hosting Linux Cloud VPS Windows Cloud VPS
Disk Space Unlimited 25GB 25GB
Bandwidth Unlimited 1TB 1TB
Price $4.50 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$6 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$10 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit Interserver Visit Interserver Visit Interserver
Plan Disk Space Bandwidth Price
RS One
Reseller
80GB 500GB $17.96 / mo Visit Host
RS Two
Reseller
100GB 700GB $26.96 / mo Visit Host
RS Three
Reseller
160GB 1000GB $35.96 / mo Visit Host
RS Four
VPS
200GB 1300GB $44.96 / mo Visit Host
RS Five
VPS
240GB 2000GB $69.95 / mo Visit Host
More Plans +

Interserver Frequently Asked Questions

  • Where is Interserver located?

    The company’s offices are in Secaucus, New Jersey, in the USA.

  • Does Interserver offer Windows hosting?

    Yes. The company offers both Linux and Windows shared hosting.

  • Is there a reseller plan?

    Yes. Interserver offers five reseller plans. All reseller hosting comes with cPanel and WHM.

  • What programming languages does its shared hosting plans support?

    Shared hosting supports CGI, PHP, Fast CGI, Ruby on Rails, Python and SSI.

  • Will Interserver give me a free domain if I decide to sign up?

    No. Interserver does not offer free domains as an incentive for signing up.

  • Is there a money-back guarantee?

    Some hosting plans have a 30-day money-back guarantee. The guarantee is not defined in the Terms of Service document, so it would be a good idea to check the fine print before you sign up.

  • Where are Interserver’s data centers located?

    The company owns two datacenters in New Jersey, which are located adjacent to each other. It also has servers in one of the Equinixs IBX datacenters in Los Angeles, California.

  • How do I contact support?

    Phone support is available 24/7, along with a ticket system.

  • What languages does Interserver’s tech support team speak?

    Service and support is only available in English.

  • Will Interserver help me to move my data from my old hosting company?

    Yes. Interserver offers website migration for any shared, VPS and dedicated hosting clients at no extra cost.

    The migration service is available to Magento, WordPress and Drupal users, and Interserver aims to have the transfer completed within 48 hours.

  • Is there a sitebuilder tool?

    No. Sitebuilder software is not mentioned on the Interserver features list.

  • Does Interserver have any special security plans?

    Interserver doesn’t appear to make any special arrangements in terms of security.

  • Can I get an SSL certificated directly from Interserver?

    Yes. Interserver sells SSL certificates.

  • Could I host a large image library on an Interserver shared hosting account?

    You can, as long as it conforms with normal usage. A photography website or gallery should be fine. However, Interserver may limit your shared account if you use it for file archives or download services.

  • Does Interserver cater for Magento users?

    Yes. Interserver offers Magento hosting plans. Magento is available as a one-click install. Free migration is available too.

  • What control panel does Interserver provide?

    It provides cPanel on Linux, and Plesk on Windows. WHM is provided too, where appropriate.

  • How can I pay for my hosting?

    You can pay via a major credit card, debit card, PayPal, check, or money order. Dedicated servers and colocation services can be paid for via wire transfer.

  • What is Interserver’s uptime guarantee? 

    The company operates a 99.9% uptime guarantee. If uptime drops below this, Interserver says it’ll give you some money back. The amount you will be given will not exceed 50% of your hosting fee. 

  • Does Interserver provide a CDN?

    No. You’ll need to make your own arrangements if you’d like to use a CDN.

  • Can I pay monthly?

    Monthly payments are available, as well as quarterly, semiannual, annual, biennial and 3-year billing cycles.

Natalie Mootz

About Natalie Mootz

Natalie specializes in consumer tech writing and light-hearted blog posts. She's written dozens of tech and humor pieces throughout the web. She lives on the west coast of the US with her husband and banjo.

Connect with Natalie

Review Interserver & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a Interserver customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more…

1 How would you rate your experience with Interserver?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about Interserver.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that Interserver rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2019 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2019.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your Interserver review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).