000WebHost: Truly Free Web Hosting… But What’s The Downside? We Found Out

What is 000webhosting?

If you want completely free web hosting, you usually have to live with ads on your site.

With 000webhost, though, you can get a site which doesn’t cost you anything and won’t have any ads added by the host.

There are limits to what you get, of course, but it’s a viable way to create a site for an individual, club, or small business. You can even place your own ads on your site.

Free Plan Features

When you sign up for a free account, you can create a site using:

  • 000WebHost’s “Easy Website Builder”
  • WordPress
  • Or by directly uploading website files.

That’s an impressive range of options for a free site.

You get 1 GB of disk space and 10 GB of bandwidth, which should be fine as long as you don’t have a lot of big image files.

Some of the features include:

  1. 1 GB Disk Space
  2. 10 GB Bandwidth
  3. Free Domain Hosting
  4. WordPress Hosting Support
  5. cPanel Control Panel
  6. Free Website Builder
  7. PHP and MySQL
000webhost homepage

PHP and MySQL

One of the most impressive features is that you can run PHP and MySQL from a free account.

This enables you to use a Content Management System (CMS) like WordPress, which is great for beginners. (Many popular website platforms — or “content management systems” — are written in PHP and MySQL.)

cPanel

Users can manage their websites through cPanel, a popular brand of control panel. It allows management of databases, email, files, backups, and FTP accounts through a web page.

Files are automatically backed up monthly, giving minimal protection, but you can initiate backups of the website and databases from cPanel to keep them more up to date.

Easy Website Builder

The Easy Website Builder is the simplest choice for someone with no technical knowledge.

Note: Once you login to use the site builder, you’ll be taken to a website called zyro.com. There’s no explanation when you’re redirected away from the 000WebHost website, but the zyro.com domain is legitimate.

000webhost zyro website builder

How to Use Easy Website Builder

You start by choosing a template, which is a pre-built website design.

Then you’ll edit the ‘building blocks’ of your site, called components. You can edit these to customize how they look.

You can drag icons for “text,” “picture,” “YouTube,” and so on, into the page and then add content to them.

The template provides standard pages, and you can add more or delete existing ones.

The 000WebHost YouTube channel has 3 video tutorials.

CSS and Styling

While no technical knowledge is required, someone who understands the concepts of CSS will have an easier time of it. (CSS, or Cascading Style Sheets, are instructions, in code, that govern the visual style of web pages.)

For example, you can’t directly change the font, size, and color of a text object. You have to select a style for it and then edit the style, using the less than obvious “Edit styles” item at the end of the menu. There appears to be no way to add to the handful of available styles.

Styles can have different renderings for different classes of devices, making it easier to set up a mobile-friendly site. You can even add raw HTML in a pane, so there are options for those who know how to code.

Unusual Behavior within Easy Website Builder

There are some oddities. Links are live in the editor, and clicking on them by accident can take you away from the page you’re editing.

Typos in the editorial pane detract from the overall impression. For example, the “Properties” dialog has an option for “Show in a specific pages,” and a label mentions “standart buttons.”

Continued below user reviews.

000webhost Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 187 Reviews by 000webhost Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Parikshit Singh avatar
Parikshit Singh mosrille.ml
Jul 31, 2015

I have used several hosts in the past few years, and used this as well. I find this a quite good hosting site. The limitations are however a bit of problem on free hosting.

They provide just 1500 MB for storage and they are less than the storage capacities I used before, I recommend to use this for blogs and use other free services for image hosting. The uptime they said is 99% on Free Hosting but I noticed more downtimes than other hosts I used. Premium Service is fantastic to use however.

The speed is a bit slow compared to other hosts and there is a box of advertisement on Websites on free hosting which can be annoying sometimes. The Website builder is good for new users, and the cpanel is also familiar to new users.

Visit Host →

Neil Venegas avatar
Neil Venegas crystreblerecords.com
Oct 10, 2015

I tried 000webhost for a few weeks and I was planning to try out the Live Media Share script with it, that being said, this plan obviously did not work very well and it was mostly just a failed experiment on my end. That experience aside, considering the fact that you get Free Hosting and many options for both building and uploading files to your website: it’s a pretty good alternative to paid hosting. While I wouldn’t personally recommend it for professional use, it can be very handy when you’re just starting out or just want to try out making your own website instead of using Weebly, Webs or subdomain hosting of that nature. Their support team was also very quick and helpful to respond to me when I had troubles.

Visit Host →

danish eqbal avatar
danish eqbal phptube.000webhostapp.com
Sep 28, 2018

000Webhost is Very good hosting for learner. where we can show our skills. it’s free.

and its support latest php. its support htaccess. and it is linux operated.

uptime is good enough. but only drawback is sleeptime which hybernate your website for 2 hour. but its on you to change the time of hybernation.

Visit Host →

Soyam Shrestha avatar
Soyam Shrestha creation800.blogspot.com
Oct 18, 2018

This is like a nightmare it good for beginners but not enough. This host is not even providing which other free hosting services are providing it’s paid plan are even worse needs a lot of improvement. It was not worth of using it the day I started looking at things it made me more confused even when it gets on speed then don’t think about it.

Visit Host →

amit pal avatar
amit pal studypeak.in
May 28, 2018

I think free 000webhost is not that much good it has so much of issues on their server and but paid hosting is good as compare other there pricing is also quite nice it will you a long time of benefits. So Don’t go to Free Hosting invest in the good hosting plan which gives you a nice result in your work. The free hosting will never crawl in Google’s first page it will give you a disadvantage in ranking.

Visit Host →

Nathan LaBrake avatar
Nathan LaBrake natecreative.com
May 03, 2018

This Webhost sucks. Period. One day they literally deleted everything on my cPanel, and refused to tell me why.

They simply said that I had violated their terms and conditions, and when I asked what those were, they again refused to tell me what that was. I finally realized it was probably that there were a few images that I had on the site that I wasn’t directly using on my site, and they assumed I was using their host for storage, which is against their terms of services. However, I was not using it for storage.

If you’re going to offer a free hosting service, please be ethical and if you think someone is violating your terms of service, and it isn’t completely clear, talk to them about it. It’s pretty simple. They just find a way to clear data and will find any excuse they can to do so.

Their strategy is obvious. If I had any important data saved on there, I would have sued, but fortunately I had copies of everything.

Visit Host →

Soham  Parker  avatar
Soham Parker techscire.tk
Jan 24, 2018

000webhost sucks. They randomly shut down one of my sites for some reason. They won’t tell u what the reason is just that it violated their Terms and Conditions.

You have to pay to upgrade your hosting to get your files out and there’s no guarantee Your Site will even go live again. And they also start to curtail the features like storage space etc. And always showing ads for upgrading my hosting plan. That’s why 000webhost sucks.

Visit Host →

Proloy Nandy avatar
Proloy Nandy palproit.000webhostapp.com
Apr 29, 2018

Thanks for give me this opportunity.
1 > very slow loading for normal low waight website ..if we using a complex theam with WordPress sometime we see website not found ..440 error..

2> very long wait for one support email..

3> some time FTP server show busy. trying latter..can’t use FTP for important time ..

4> cost should be increased for giving better service ..

5>facing deficulty when try to change PHP version ..

Visit Host →

Ruhul amin avatar
Ruhul amin ramovies.tk
Jan 15, 2018

IAM using 00webhost Free Hosting,
It’s the Best Free web hosting.there Free hosting speed is good.you can easily install WordPress on Free hosting plan. And you use cloudflare CDN service on 00webhost.you can Easy upgrade to their premium service.iam using 00webhost 6month.and. No problem faced.
00webhost is one of the fast Free web hosting
And they never put ads on Your Site.

Visit Host →

George Armstrong avatar
George Armstrong gustosocafe.xyz
Aug 05, 2018

I’ve been using 000webhost for about 2 years now, and I have to say I’m blown away by the quality of service they provide. They’re helpful, easy to contact and actually act on what you bring to their attention. The community is excellent and willing to help you with any questions or concerns you may have and I would certainly recommend them to a friend! Excellent service, keep it up!

Visit Host →

Load More

Installing WordPress

Each free account comes with a standard cPanel control panel, which lets you edit your site without much technical knowledge.

It’s where you’ll:

  • Manage domains
  • View traffic levels
  • See how much space your site is using
  • Install WordPress so you can create a new WordPress site.
cpanel demo

This script will let you choose a few options for your site, and then go through the process of installing WordPress for you automatically.

No Technical Expertise Required

You don’t need to know how to set up databases or transfer files yourself to get a site up and running.

After WordPress is installed, you can add your choice of themes, plugins, and widgets.

Those who are technically inclined, will want to know that:

  • Free accounts are allowed two databases, without size limitations.
  • Management of the databases with phpMyAdmin is included.
  • You can use PHP to send out email automatically.

WordPress Limitations

The only real limitation that you face with WordPress on a free account is a potential space limitation.

You only have 1 GB of disk space, which is enough for a small free site, but if you publish a lot of pages or posts with large images, you can quickly reach that cap.

Technical Support and Customer Service

While 000webhost doesn’t provide support to free users, it lets them post questions to a forum where other users may give helpful replies.

Community Forum

You can search the forum to see if there’s already an answer to your question.

The quality of the forum answers will vary. Older discussions may not reflect the current feature set of the site builder. Still, the forum is a good place to start.

Free vs. Premium Hosting: What’s the Difference?

While you’re working on your free site, you’ll see plenty of reminders that you could get more with a paid account. The site is frank about the limitations of its free service.

Paid plans and contributions are what make the free sites possible.

So what are the main differences and are they worth the money?

Paid Plan Features

The paid plans are still shared hosting plans, but with a few big extra features:

  • 10 times more disk space (let’s you store more files and create larger websites).
  • 10 times more bandwidth (supports more visitors). The top paid plan offers “unlimited” bandwidth.
  • More auto installer scripts (the paid plan supports other CMSs besides WordPress like Joomla and Drupal).
  • Weekly data backups
  • Access to an email account.
  • 24/7 support.
  • Free domain (on top paid plan, which is still cheap).
  • Private SSL certificates are available with paid accounts.

Free Plan Limitations

When you pay nothing, you don’t expect everything. Some omissions, though, could be serious concerns to many site owners.

No SSL on Free Plan

The most important absence is SSL support. This makes any site which accepts passwords or other confidential information a risky proposition.

With many people using unsecured Wi-Fi, interception of data is a very real danger. Running e-commerce without secure access would be a bad idea.

Monthly Backups

You need to remember to run backups periodically. The automatic monthly backup is just a safety net if you forget completely.

Points to Remember

  • If you’re running any sort of site for any reason other than learning purposes, you should at least get a cheap paid plan.
  • If you need more resources after that, or a faster website, you’ll need to migrate to hosts that focus more on performance over cost.

Pros and Cons

There are a number of positive and negative factors to using 000WebHost over rival hosting solutions. In this section we will look at the pros and cons of using 000WebHost.

Pros

Here are some of the advantages of using 000WebHost

  • It includes a free package
  • Ad-free hosting
  • Supports PHP and MySQL
  • User can place own ads on website

Cons

Here is a list of some of the disadvantages of using 000WebHost when compared with other hosting options.

  • Limited tech support
  • WordPress limitations
  • Earlier PHP versions on free accounts
  • No SSL support

Need More? Other Hosts to Consider

While 000webhost is a good place to start out, most website owners will eventually need something more powerful. There are many other hosts with paid plans that are still cheap, but might be better fits for your needs.

Comparison Table: 000WebHost vs. Hostinger vs. InMotion Hosting

Here are the top ones I would consider and a comparison to 000WebHost:

Feature000WebHostHostingerInMotion Hosting

Space

1000mb

Up to Unlimited

Up to Unlimited
Bandwidth1gb / 10gbUp to UnlimitedUp to Unlimited
Free DomainNoYesYes
SupportNo / 24-724-724-7
  • Hostinger 000webhost is actually powered by Hostinger. So if you like 000webhost, Hostinger will feel the exact same, just with better paid plans. Here’s our full Hostinger review.
  • InMotion Hosting Offers low cost shared hosting plans for WordPress that are much faster than 000webhost and support more visitors. Sites are still managed through cPanel. Their support team is available 24/7 and will help you migrate your site over. See our InMotion Hosting review for more.

Quick Overview

Here’s a wrap-up of what we’ve covered:

  • The resources you get on a free hosting plan are limited but adequate for a simple site, and being able to run PHP and MySQL is a strong positive for a free service, even if it isn’t always the latest version.
  • Being able to manage everything from cPanel is a rare feature among free sites.
  • Don’t expect a highly available site. A site may temporarily go offline for exceeding limits, accounts can be terminated without cause.
  • A free service must constantly cull spam accounts, and it’s easy to make a mistake. Files larger than 5 megabytes aren’t prohibited but may be deleted without notice if space is tight.
  • There have been security issues. In 2015, over 13 million passwords were stolen from 000webhost. Security experts concluded that the passwords had been stored as plain text, which is a substandard security practice.

Summary

If you’re willing to spend money on an account, there are better options.  Phone or email support is a necessity for a serious business, as is secure SSL access to the site. The strength of 000webhost.com is in its free sites, and there it’s quite impressive.

FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions)

  • Does InMotion Hosting offer shared hosting?

    Yes. InMotion refers to it as Business Hosting.

  • Do I have to use a CMS on InMotion Hosting plans?

    On many hosts, your only option is to install a major CMS like WordPress or Joomla. It’s an option on InMotion Hosting, but far from the only one. All hosting accounts support PHP, Ruby, Perl, and Python. You also have SSH access on most plans. Put these two factors together, and it’s easy to host many custom built sites as well if that’s the path your developer chooses.


  • Does 000Webhost offer free and premium web hosting packages?

    000Webhost is best known for their free web hosting plans, but also offers low-cost paid plans that have more disk space, more bandwidth, and live support.


  • Does 000webhost support WordPress?

    Yes, the free plan comes with an autoinstaller that makes it easy to install WordPress.

  • Does 000webhost support PHP?

    Yes, all their plans support PHP, but the PHP version can only be changed on paid plans.

  • Does 000webhost support Python?

    No 000webhost does not support Python.

Gary McGath

About Gary McGath

Gary McGath spent years as a software developer before turning to writing. In addition to writing many articles on technology, he's the author of two crowdfunded e-books. His tech passions include data security and digital preservation.

Connect with Gary

Review 000webhost & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a 000webhost customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more…

1 How would you rate your experience with 000webhost?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about 000webhost.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that 000webhost rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2019 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2019.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your 000webhost review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).