123-reg In 2019: What Do 123-reg Client Reviews Say?

123 Reg Web Host Review

123 Reg is a full-service website shop catering to its primarily UK-based clientele since 2000.

The company focuses on domain name registration, as well as entry-level hosting at prices that do not break the bank.

It also offers some professional services in the fields of web design, SEO, and marketing, as well as premium hosting types like VPS hosting.

123 Reg Web Hosting

Web Hosting

123 Reg offers four main types of hosting:

  1. Web (Shared) Hosting
  2. Premium Hosting
  3. CMS (Content Management System) Hosting
    • WordPress
    • Joomla
    • Drupal
  4. VPS Hosting
123 Reg Home Page
Screenshot via 123 Reg

Entry-Level Hosting Options

If you are looking to get your feet wet with web hosting, you are likely to begin with the shared hosting options (or, if you already know that you need a bit more despite being new, you might spring for premium hosting).

Web (Shared) Hosting

There are four different Web Hosting plans, all offering unlimited bandwidth. The plans differ, however, in terms of:

  1. The number of included domains and subdomains
  2. The number of websites you can host
  3. Storage space allocation
  4. MySQL databases include
  5. WordPress Ready
  6. Free SSL cirtificate
  7. Backup and restore
  8. Scheduled tasks
  9. Password protected folders

The more premium Web Hosting plans include other things MediaWiki and osCommerce.

123 Reg’s plans ship with a custom control panel that, in addition to letting you manage your hosting account, features 123-apps, which is the company’s implementation of a one-click installer.

Prices for Web Hosting plans began at £3.49 per month, excluding 20% VAT

Premium Hosting

For those that need a bit more, there are the Premium Hosting plans. 123 Reg bills these as offering the resources of a dedicated server (albeit a lower-end dedicated server from our perspective) with the customer service and technical assistance typically offered to shared hosting users.

Currently, there are three different Premium Hosting plans from which you can choose. Each varies in terms of CPU power and allocations of RAM, storage, and databases. All plans come with unmetered bandwidth and support for an unlimited number of websites.

CMS Hosting

If you have a website built using WordPress, Joomla, or Drupal, you might consider one of 123 Reg’s platform-specific hosting options. These options are very similar to the generic Web Hosting plans, but your hosting environment has been optimized so that:

  • You can get up running quickly and easily
  • Your website runs on an environment optimized for your platforms or CMSs
  • You can manage and maintain your website’s core with ease due to said optimizations
123 Reg offers two plans: Business and Premium. The Premium plan is almost three times as much as the Business. They differ in six ways:
  1. The number of included domains
  2. The number of websites you can host
  3. Storage space allocation
  4. MySQL databases include
  5. SSL Cirtificate
  6. Dedicated RAM

Website Builder

The web hosting plans do not come with a sitebuilder. If you want this functionality, you will need to purchase one of the Website Builder plans, which do come with hosting. These plans are slightly more expensive than those offering just web hosting.

The web hosting plan that comes with the website builder is very similar to the WordPress/Joomla/Drupal-specific hosting plans.

E-Commerce Builder

An offshoot of 123 Reg’s Website Builder is its E-Commerce Builder. Like the Website Builder, you get everything you need to build and host your website, but you’ll also get e-commerce-specific features like:

  • Inventory management
  • Support and handling for promotions
  • Support for integrations with over 30 payment processors
  • Shipping integrations
  • Full store analytics

They offer three plans that differ substantially in terms of how much you can do with them:

  • Number of products
  • Available payment gateways
  • Discount codes
  • Digital product support
  • Stock control
  • Marketplace feeds
  • Instant order editor
  • Mobile management
  • Bulk invoice printing

123 Reg makes no claims that it is PCI compliant.

123 Reg Hosting Options
Screenshot via 123 Reg

Advanced Hosting Options

123 Reg offers VPS hosting plans. The company does not offer reseller plans, but you could configure the existing options to act as a reselling server.

VPS Hosting

123 Reg’s VPS hosting plans come in four different variants. They vary by:

  • Number of CPU cores
  • Memory and storage allocation
  • Control panel installation

All plans come with unmetered bandwidth, offer a choice of Linux or Windows operating systems, and can support an unlimited number of websites. Furthermore, starting prices for 123 Reg’s VPS hosting plans are relatively low, so you can upgrade the type of hosting you have without much trouble.

Dedicated Servers?

You may come across archived documents from when 123 Reg offered dedicated servers. The company no longer sells dedicated servers to new customers (or existing customers that do not already have dedicated servers).

Control Panels

The entry-level hosting plans come with an in-house control panel that comes with an “intuitive interface.”

Users with VPS hosting plans or dedicated servers can choose to use either cPanel or Plesk.

123 Reg Datacenters

123-reg Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 53 Reviews by 123-reg Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Agnieszka Kurzawa avatar
Agnieszka Kurzawa agaia.co.uk
Mar 04, 2018

Do not use for hosting. I fell into a sales trap and signed up for hosting with them along with a domain purchase and I couldn’t be more disappointed. I would be getting approximately 10 notifications per week about my websites being down and whenever I tried to speak to 123-reg rep I would hear that ‘the website works fine for them now’ or ‘there is nothing wrong with our servers’.

When I eventually said I will leave they admitted ‘there may have been a problem with their server and it will work in the next 24 hours’. For the next 7 days I would receive Pingdom updates that the website was down in the middle of the night. They also don’t have any support over the weekend which means you’re stuck with what you’ve got – for me it meant I couldn’t do any work – because the website was down. Again

Visit Host →

Matt Smith avatar
Matt Smith compumexltd.com
Sep 06, 2018

Support is adequate. 1st line can usually fix the issue or at least push you to someone who can. Functionality wise the Control panel does what it needs too. Their webmail interface is mega dated and bizzarly the users cannot change their passwords.

This means the admin knows everyones password – this sort of thing is a serious shortfall and has meant we moved our email. Not had any issues with uptime

Value for money – not the cheapest – I think they have got a bit complacent in pricing as they have been around a long time. Wouldn’t use them going forward as there are much better services elsewhere for less money.

Visit Host →

michael bester avatar
michael bester dulwichsashwindows.com
Jun 20, 2018

I have been with 123 reg for around 10 years via a web designer who made me a website. I only wish I had the know how to quit them and start with another company. I find their auto renewal system to be made complicated , for the obvious reason of profit.

Each year I find myself renewing items I have attempted to cancel (even called them to cancel) and they keep getting my money. Stay away from them, and don’t listen to the good reviews here, they must be from employees/management. I’m going to put the effort into transferring to another company.

Visit Host →

Kevin Forbes avatar
Kevin Forbes forbes.im
Oct 03, 2017

Absolutely appalling service! I gave them the simple task of acquiring a domain for me, not only did they not register the domain to my account, they didn’t even bother informing of their failure. And here I am a week after I paid for this service and they still haven’t refunded my money, explained why they scr*wed up or apologized for doing so.

I have now gone to names.com who had my domain up and running within minutes. I had been a customer of 123-reg for many years but I’ll never trust with my Business again.

Visit Host →

Ibrahim Wild avatar
Ibrahim Wild inverseworld.co.uk
Jun 05, 2017

I’ve currently been with 123-reg as a Host for 6 months. I’m still struggling to resolve issues with page loading speed. At first I thought ok, I’ve bought a cheap package, I’ll upgrade it on the premise that it was configured to work better with wordpress.

However I’m still getting the same page loading speeds. The support is terrible. It takes 3 days or more for them to answer a simple question, then I reply and wait a further 3 days for a reply and this has been going on for months now.

I’ve tried the live support as well and they just fob me off telling me to wait patiently for my reply to be answered. I bought the domain name, hosting and SSL certificate all from 123-reg but they’ve not been helpful in the least. They answer with ambiguous statements and when you reply asking – what does "such and such" mean you then have to wait for days until someone can be bothered answering.

My page load speeds are 7 secs which is unacceptable, and I have tried everything to get my site working – browsing forums endlessly for the past 6 months because 123-reg can’t answer simple questions. I would advise against this company if you are starting a website. If you are looking for a secure site, find a host which accepts external certificates unlike 123 reg which makes you buy them from them. I made a big mistake with this company and I’ve learnt some very important lessons from the experience.

Visit Host →

Bilal Weasel avatar
Bilal Weasel arraad.com
Nov 05, 2016

Hi,

I am web developer and working from over last 18 years. i am using different Hosting services for my clients depending on budget which includes Go-daddy, Site-Ground, 123-reg and HostGator. i can tell you from my experience 123-reg is worst oif them all.

please avoid them. old versions of PHP and mySql. server not properly configured for Worpress and for other CMS. always full of errors File manager and uploader mostly didn’t work.

Visit Host →

pete reilly avatar
pete reilly ionscoop.co.uk
Oct 15, 2013

i’ve mixed feelings about 123-reg. the majority of my experiences with them have been good. i have a VPS with them and it’s reliable with plenty of processing power, RAM and bandwidth…the price is competitive too.

i also use them to register domains. their DNS management has improved mightily over the years. now SPF, Cname and all the usual suspects are very easy to setup.

my main beef is with their support (as others have mentioned, here). i have always got my problems resolved but their team sometimes need things spelled out for them repeatedly. to sum up…an excellent hosting company if you never encounter any issues…if you do be prepared to exercise some patience.

Visit Host →

Brian James Antonio avatar
Brian James Antonio bfmracing.org
Sep 30, 2013

I only use this host when I deal with international clients, overall they’re "okay". Not bad but not good either. Their support staff always seems to be "helping" someone else and makes me feel like they honestly don’t care about you. I like how everything seems organized in the control panel, though.

Visit Host →

Alessandro De Filippo avatar
Alessandro De Filippo twitter.com
Aug 01, 2013

123-reg are amazing! They’re customer services is great and you need no technical experience at all. I would definitely recommend 123-reg to everyone.

Visit Host →

Quang Mien avatar
Quang Mien hoadongtien.org
May 24, 2013

The support team respond quickly to any queeries in a helpful manner. They uploaded our SSL certificates within the hour of our request for help. Thats pretty good! Value For Money

Visit Host →

Load More

Datacenters

The only thing that 123 Reg says about the datacenters for its shared, VPS, and WordPress hosting plans (as well as dedicated servers) is that they are EU-based.

123 Reg’s email hosting is based in Leeds, England and cloud-backups are stored in a datacenter in the United Kingdom.

You do not get to make any decisions as to where your stuff is hosted.

123 Reg Other Products and Serivces

Other Products and Services

In addition to its web hosting and sitebuilding plans, 123 Reg offers the following services.

Domain Name Registration

123 Reg offers a lot when it comes to domain names. In addition to selling and transferring domain names, 123 Reg offers the following services:

  • Bulk ordering, where you can order multiple domains at once
  • Backordering, where you can buy a domain name the moment someone else lets it expire
  • Domain privacy, where you hide your personal information from being publicly listed alongside your domain name in the WHOIS registry

Make Me a Website

123 Reg’s Make Me a Website service is exactly what it sounds like. The 123 Reg team will:

  1. Design and build your website (includes copy as well)
  2. Get your web hosting set up and your website up and running
  3. Keep your site fully optimized for search engines even after launch

You’ll have an Account Manager to help you through this process, and your website comes with a domain name, email, and hosting.

Website Checker

The Website Checker is a free service offered to all by 123 Reg, regardless of whether you are one of its customers or not, that will review your website from top to bottom. 123 Reg will then provide you with a report that includes information on:

  • SEO — can search engines find your site?
  • Mobile performance — does you worksite work well with small screens?
  • Your marketing — are you using things like social integrations?
  • Your content — over time, are you changing up your content to keep things interesting?
  • Any issues — broken links, slow speeds, etc

With this report, you can make the changes you need to improve your website.

Email Hosting

123 Reg offers email-only hosting. If you purchase a hosting plan from 123 Reg, you will not need this, but for those who want email that matches a domain they already have (or are interested in a professional email, but not a website), email hosting is a good option to consider.

Marketing and Search Engine Optimization (SEO)

If you need help marketing your website and making sure it ranks better on Google, 123 Reg offers marketing and SEO-related services to improve your digital presence.

Office 365

While Office 365 is a product developed by Microsoft, 123 Reg offers this product to its customers so that they do not have to look elsewhere for productivity software. For example, former Google users who transfer to 123 Reg can also transfer its use of cloud-based tools from the Google suite to Office 365.

Security

123 Reg obviously takes reasonable steps to ensure that the sites it hosts stay secure, but you can purchase options to protect both you and your users further. 123 Reg will sell you SSL certificates and services like automated backups (without this server, you are welcome to make an unlimited number of backups, but 123 Reg does not assist with this process at all) and SiteLock for malware monitoring and removal.

Do note that the more expensive hosting plans include an SSL certificate free of charge — check to see if this is the case before you purchase another one for yourself!

123 Reg Technical support and Customer Service

Technical Support and Customer Service

If you ever have any questions, comments, or concerns, 123 Reg’s technical/customer support team can be reached 24/7 via Support Centre, Live Chat, or telephone.

123 Reg’s written support resources are excellent.

123 Reg offers a robust Support Centre, and this is where you will find all of the documentation. When you look through the resources provided, you are asked a couple of questions about the product(s) you are using — this makes sure that you only see the docs that are relevant to you.

Not only are there a lot of articles, but the articles are also well-written, in-depth, and complete. Even novices will find 123 Reg’s documentation 100% accessible.

123 Reg Support Centre
Screenshot via 123 Reg

Migration Policy and Assistance

You are responsible for moving your website and domain name. 123 Reg, however, provides in-depth tutorials that you can follow to make sure that everything gets moved and set up appropriately.

Refunds and Money Back Guarantee

123 Reg offers a 30-day money back guarantee. It applies only to web hosting, and you can request a cancellation and refund via telephone or by opening a support ticket.

123 Reg Pros and Cons

Pros and Cons

Now that we have taken a look at all the details, what are the upsides and downsides to opting for 123 Reg? As with most hosts, it’s a mixed bag. Whether 123 Reg is right for you will depend upon your specific needs.

Pros

  1. Full-service provider — you can purchase everything you need for a website from 123 Reg
  2. Entry-level hosting options are inexpensive
  3. 123 Reg offers VPS hosting, so you can upgrade without switching hosts

Cons

  1. The company emphasizes its shared hosting options. There are alternatives, but it feels like those are mere afterthoughts.
  2. The plans offered are no-frills. You get all the resources you need to launch and maintain your website, but the company does little for you (eg, make backups, help with website migration)
  3. UK-oriented, so this company might not be the best option for someone outside the UK or seeking an international audience

123 Reg Comparable Hosts

Comparable Hosts

If 123 Reg looks good, but is not quite the option for you, check out these alternative web hosting companies:

GoDaddy

GoDaddy is more than just a web hosting company — you can think of GoDaddy as a full-service internet shop.

In addition to web hosting plans and domain names, the company offers productivity tools like Office 365, email services, SSL certificates and other security tools, add-on phone numbers, and more.

GoDaddy is very similar to 123 Reg, but with a more international focus (eg, less emphasis on location-specific domain names) and a broader offering of web hosting plans.

HostGator

HostGator is a stripped down version of GoDaddy — it offers everything you need to host your website, no matter what type of hosting you need.

You will not have a hard time finding the products and services you need to build and host your website, but you will not find add-ons like productivity suites and second phone lines for sale.

HostGator is also known for its excellent customer service.

SiteGround

Like 123 Reg, SiteGound is a web hosting company that focuses mostly on entry-level hosting options, though the company does offer cloud hosting and enterprise-grade options for users who need more for their websites.

SiteGround also offers managed WordPress hosting. If SiteGround offers what you are looking for in terms of technical requirements, you cannot go wrong with them. Their plans are well-thought-out, and the company strives to make your web hosting experience as easy as possible.

SiteGround also offers top-notch customer service.

123 Reg Summary

Summary

123 Reg is a leading provider of domain registration and web hosting services to UK-based customers (and to a to a lesser extent, those around the world). The company focuses on shared hosting packages, but does offer more advanced options as well as a full suite of professional services.

In short, 123 Reg:

  • Offers domain registration for UK-flavored names at reasonable prices
  • Focuses on entry-level hosting (shared hosting, shared hosting with sitebuilder features, WordPress hosting), as well as email-only options
  • Offers professional services (including web design and SEO/marketing)
  • Provides 24/7 technical support via Live Chat, telephone, and its in-house support center

Most Popular 123-reg Hosting Plans

Start up Business Professional
Disk Space 1GB 50GB Unlimited
Bandwidth Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Price $2.99 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$4.99 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$8.99 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit 123-reg Visit 123-reg Visit 123-reg
Plan Disk Space Bandwidth Price
L VPS Hosting Plan
Shared
70GB Unlimited $31.75 / mo Visit Host
XL VPS Hosting Plan
Shared
100GB Unlimited $50.14 / mo Visit Host
XXL VPS Hosting Plan
Shared
150GB Unlimited $75.21 / mo Visit Host
L Cloud Hosting Plan
Shared
2000GB Unlimited $98.64 / mo Visit Host
XL Cloud Hosting Plan
Shared
2000GB Unlimited $123.71 / mo Visit Host
XXL Cloud Hosting Plan
Shared
3000MB Unlimited $148.79 / mo Visit Host
More Plans +

123-reg Frequently Asked Questions

  • Does 123-Reg offer Windows or Linux hosting?

    123-Reg offers both Windows and Linux hosting.

  • I see that there is documentation for Dedicated Servers, but no mention of this product on the website?

    We are not sure why, but 123 Reg does not offer dedicated services to new users. The support docs for dedicated servers exist, but have been archived — we assume that this is a courtesy to existing customers who 123 Reg does not want to force onto the next lower option, VPS hosting.

  • Does 123-Reg offer managed services?

    Yes, managed services are available on their Premium Hosting plan and are tailored specifically for WordPress.

  • Does 123-Reg have an uptime guarantee?

    Yes, they claim your website will be up 24/7 thanks to their load balancing features which means your website will be hosting on multiple servers. If anything happens they simply switch to another server so your site stays online.

  • Does 123-Reg have any limitations on disk space and bandwidth?

    All the web hosting packages on their shared plans offer unlimited bandwidth. Low-tier hosting packages offer limited disk space while higher priced plans offer unlimited space and bandwidth.

  • Does 123-Reg offer free backups?

    No, they don’t offer free backups, however, clients have access to necessary tools to perform website backups themselves.

  • What type of support is available?

    They offer phone and Live Chat support during regular business hours from 9 am to 7 pm. They also have an extensive knowledge base on their website. Customer support is only available in English.

  • Does 123-Reg offer domain registration services?

    Every new account comes with a free .co.uk domain name which renews at a regular price after the first year. They also offer domain registration services where you can choose from hundreds of different extensions.

  • Where is 123-Reg located?

    123-Reg is located in Middlesex in the United Kingdom. Their datacenters are located in the United Kingdom as well.

  • What programming languages do they support?

    Depending on which platform you choose for your hosting plan, there are a variety of languages available such as PHP, Perl, Ruby on Rails, ASP, and ASP.NET.

  • Can they help with transferring an existing website?

    The company does not have specific transferring services, but they do provide support through a series of comprehensive guides, tools, and articles.

  • Does 123-Reg include any software so that I can easily build a website?

    123-Reg offers several tools that can help you build your website. These include a drag-and-drop website builder, online shop builder, and one-click installations of popular CMS software such as WordPress, Drupal, and Joomla.

  • What ecommerce tools are available?

    Aside from the aforementioned online shop builder, 123-Reg offers support for PrestaShop, Magneto, and other ecommerce applications.

  • Could I host an image-heavy site on their services? What about video streaming?

    All of 123-Reg’s hosting plans offer unlimited bandwidth so you are only limited by the allotted disk space on low-tiered hosting plans.

    Regardless, you will be limited by the server resources. If you plan on hosting a video streaming website, it is recommended that you use a VPS.

  • Does 123-Reg provide a control panel?

    Yes, they do. The provided control panel will depend on the type of hosting plan selected and will be either 123-Reg’s own control panel, cPanel, or Plesk.

  • What payment options does 123-Reg offer?

    123-Reg accepts major credit cards, PayPal, and Direct Debit transactions for payment.

  • Is there a minimum contract?

    Their hosting packages are available in yearly contracts, and you can pay quarterly, monthly or annually.

  • Does 123-Reg offer a money back guarantee?

    123-Reg offers a full refund for their hosting plans within the first 14 days of signing up for the service. This excludes any additional fees for domain registrations.

  • Does 123-Reg offer any extra features with their plans?

    They offer a variety of security procedures and firewalls to secure unauthorized use of or access to personal data, blacklist monitoring, and 24×7 data center monitoring.

    On certain hosting plans, SSL certificates are included or they can be purchased separately.

Katie Horne

About Katie Horne

Katie is a C# developer who became a technical writer. She is a lifelong bookworm and all-around nerd with a soft spot for gimmicks and packaging. She judges books by the cover, and she's not sorry about it. In her spare time, she likes to swim, knit, and do the New York Times Crossword Puzzle.

Connect with Katie

Review 123-reg & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a 123-reg customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more…

1 How would you rate your experience with 123-reg?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about 123-reg.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that 123-reg rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2019 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2019.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your 123-reg review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).