Awardspace In 2018: What Do Awardspace Client Reviews Say?

AwardSpace Hosting Introduction

AWARDSPACE.com is a German hosting company developed out of mother companies Zetta Hosting Solutions, Ltd. and AttractSoft GmbH. With services ranging from free shared hosting to Virtual Private Server (VPS) hosting, AWARDSPACE.com is flexible and adaptable.

Support

Support is available with FAQs, Need Help Areas, and the Trouble Ticket System. The FAQs are the go-to, and include a wide variety of typical questions asked by users. Need Help Areas reads more like a manual. Trouble tickets allow you to pose specific questions to the support team.

Features

AWARDSPACE.com provides free and paid shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, and free reseller hosting.
  • Unlimited* disk space with paid plans
  • Unlimited* traffic with paid plans
  • Programming languages supported: PHP Hypertext Preprocessor (PHP), Perl/CGI-BIN, File Transfer Protocol (FTP), Ruby, and Python (Ruby and Python with paid plans only)
  • SITE Builder with paid hosting plans
  • Zacky Installer with paid hosting plans
  • 24/7 dedicated support
  • 30-day money back guarantee on new signups and annually upgraded accounts

Shared Hosting

Shared hosting is available for free or with a paid plan.
  • Free Shared Hosting
    • Ideal for hobby sites, trying before buying, sites in test stages, and non-profits
    • 250 MB disc space
    • 5 GB traffic per month
    • 1 hosted domain
    • 2 MB file size limit
    • Supports Joomla and WordPress
  • Paid Shared Hosting
    • Ideal for essential and business websites
    • Up to 100% faster than free hosting plans
    • 3 plan levels with setup fees waived: Basic, Web Pro Plus, and Max Pack Plus
    • Unlimited* storage and data transfer
    • 99.9% uptime
    • 2, 10, and unlimited* domains respectively
    • 5, 20, and unlimited* subdomains respectively
    • 20, 40, and unlimited* FTP accounts respectively
    • 1,000 email accounts and aliases with basic, accounts and aliases unlimited* with Web Pro Plus and Max Pack Plus
    • 2, 10, and unlimited* MySQL and Postgre databases respectively
    • Stable Linux with Apache
    • Over 50 popular one-click software applications installed for free with ZackyTools

VPS Hosting

You may chose from Starter VPS, Pro VPS, and Advanced VPS unmanaged plans.
  • 100% individual machine with root access
  • Dedicated central processing unit (CPU) and random-access memory (RAM)
  • Each virtual server may run under its own operating system (Linux distributions) or have custom configurations of its own
  • Easy VPS control panel
  • RAID Protected Storage 15 GB, 25 GB, and 50 GB respectively
  • Traffic allotment 250 GB, 500 GB, and 1,000 GB respectively
  • 1 Internet protocol (IP) address
  • Bandwidth 6 Mbit/s, 8 Mbit/s, and 10 Mbit/s respectively

Semi-Dedicated Hosting

Semi-dedicated offers three plans: Starter, Pro, and Advanced.
  • Ideal for maintaining multiple websites or one high-traffic website
  • Easily upgraded if you outgrow plan capacity
  • Disk space 30 GB, 40 GB, and 60 GB respectively
  • Data transfer 350 GB, 700 GB, and 1,000 GB respectively
  • 99.9% network uptime
  • Unlimited* domains allowed
  • Unlimited* email accounts and aliases
  • Unlimited* MySQL and Postgre databases and storage
  • Stable Linux with Apache
  • Over 50 popular one-click software applications installed for free with ZackyTools
*When hosts describe anything as “unlimited,” it is typically boundless except in cases of abuse. A user may be charged a penalty or be required to subscribe to a more robust package if they are overburdening the servers.

Free Reseller Hosting

AWARDSPACE.com considers itself a pioneer of free reseller hosting.
  • You may offer free or paid shared hosting, VPS hosting, domain names, and Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) certificates
  • Your site resides on your own domain or on a free subdomain from AWARDSPACE.com.
  • AWARDSPACE.com handles all service responsibilties – all you do is drive traffic
  • You determine your prices

Awardspace Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 31 Reviews by Awardspace Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Tariqul Islam avatar
Tariqul Islam appz.ml
Aug 25, 2018

I have been using awardspace for a long time. One major plus point that I will definitely mention is that they really have a good uptime record. Even with the free plan, the servers never went down.

They must have good backup plan and maintenance strategy. Awardspace doesn’t offer free SSL. But I think they could have integrated Let’s Encrypt’s free SSL for the users.

They could implement AutoSSL with Let’s Encrypt. They only offer paid SSL service, which is a bit expensive. Lots of features are disabled for the free users, i.e, .htaccess file generator, mod_rewrite, Firewall, Password protection, SSH manager etc.

One other issue is that they don’t use SSD for free/Basic plans. All of their plans have unlimited traffic and unlimited disk storage except the free plan. Control panel is highly customization which we don’t see often with other hosting providers.

Anyone can add widgets onto control panel. So, I would definitely suggest awardspace to both free and premium users.

Visit Host →

Tom Piper avatar
Tom Piper tom-piper.com
Feb 27, 2017

Let me start off by saying, if your on a budget, AwardSpace is the go to place for you. I’ve been with them for nearly a year now, and let me say, their pricing is fantastic! For only a few dollars you can get a years worth of hosting for Your Site, sounds good right?

Alright, the site loading speeds aren’t the fastest, and support isn’t as good as it can be, but for pure hosting they are great. Let me remind you again, instead of paying $5 monthly for hosting, you can get a years worth for $3 – looking for some Basic yet solid hosting, I really do recommend them. :) I’m currently hosting two of my domains with them, along with unlimited subdomains and it does just what I want. I’m not in need of much power so it works great, I only host the occasional landing page or post.

Visit Host →

Nelson Tinoco avatar
Nelson Tinoco shuttlelaceibatoleon.com
Dec 16, 2016

I started with there free account, then there Basic plan and finally there Max pack plus. I paid 5 years in advance and do not regret it. I wish they had more user options but I understand from there point of view of security that they cannot activate certain features on shared hosting plans.

If they lower there prices for there vps service I will definitely stay with them after my plan expires. There tech support is excellent and they respond to your emails in less than an hour. Most issues have been me messing up or not understanding certain features but they are very pleasant and will walk you thru any issues you might have.

You get value for what you pay and there prices are fair. Uptime is 99% I have no complaints with there service. Give them a try.

Visit Host →

Altin Selimi avatar
Altin Selimi teknomatriks.com
May 15, 2015

I started with a free web hosting plan, only to upgrade to a Basic plan after 1 week of using it. It was a promotional offer, so I got a basic plan for a total of 8$ or less (0,6$/month). The service and features were all great, except the website loading speed.

Considering the price and the fact that I was on a shared hosting plan, it was something I could live with. After 1 year, they automatically renewed the plan, but this time it was not 8$ a year (0,6$/month) but >70$/year. That’s why I’d like to Warn anyone who joins Awardspace, to contact their support and disable this auto-renewal thing.

In spite of that, my website was down a couple of times. After contacting their support it turned out that It was my fault because I edited a file on my ftp called .htaccess (which I never did).

Visit Host →

MUMBERE AUSBEL avatar
MUMBERE AUSBEL dodicf.org
Apr 30, 2018

I used Awardspace for many months and I was truly disappointed with the services offered on it. I even failed to connect Jetpack On my site which I hosted there because they weren’t accepting external connections on their free hosting while others do. I was gonna upgrade but after seeing this, I immediately took my leave.

Visit Host →

Ari Agustian avatar
Ari Agustian ari.agustian.tk
Mar 23, 2018

Awardspace is a hosting provider that is suitable for all private domain owners, not least with the company domain. With enough features and low prices. Awardspace also provides free hosting features so peoples can try it first before purchasing the package. And the free hosting feature is what I love.

Visit Host →

Lily Li avatar
Lily Li hexuan.in
Nov 08, 2014

Awardspace is an awesome hosting provider, especially for beginners. I tried their free plan hosts for a long time now, and I’m very impressed. Not because it is fast, because is stable.

And as a beginner, installing wordpress or Joomla can be very complicated, but they provide an online installer called Zacky Installer for free!! They also provide free website builder for your webpage. In conclusion, I really like Award space,and if you are a beginner and you are looking for a stable, easy to use hosting, this is for you, but if you are seeking for speed then I won’t recommend this .

Visit Host →

Todd McCormick avatar
Todd McCormick toddmccormick.onlinewebshop.net
Feb 18, 2015

Awardspace.com is one of the best hosts I’ve used, to be honest. Support is friendly and helpful, control panel is easy to build a site or install wordpress/joomla, but the best part is that their costs are low and won’t break the bank. If you’re looking for hosting, especially if you want to set up a blog, check them out. They even have free hosting options.

Visit Host →

Edward Fung avatar
Edward Fung decca.atwebpages.com
Oct 27, 2014

I have signed on with a free account. I use to create a simple payment registry for a small business. The system use Perl CGI to create html files on the fly.

It also use the included mysql for storing user, product and payment data. It works beautifully. I used to use the similar Tripod free web hosting since 1998.

But Tripod is not good anymore in the free hosting area. So I looked around and found AwardSpace. I was skeptical at first, but after start working, I love it.

The File Manager, and the Database Manager user interface are top notch, beautifully design. I have not had the need to call for support yet, so I do not know if their support is good or not.

Visit Host →

Pablo Borges avatar
Pablo Borges youtube.com
Feb 23, 2015

I recently signed up for a free hosting account with Awardspace and I noticed that the website I uploaded was slower to load than another one that I have hosted at GoDaddy.com. The next day the server was down for a while (I couldn’t access my website or account). I decided to test them for a while longer and decided to buy a Basic Account.

For my surprise I receive and email issuing a refund and I could no longer access my account. Contacted them and this is the answer I got back:

Hello,
Thank you for contacting us on the matter. We are unfortunate to let you know that the order that you have placed with us, has not
passed the verification process and the account has been closed.

Due to that, the order has been canceled and the amount refunded. Please note that our company reserves the right to make final decision on any orders places on our system. This will be our final reply on the matter.

Thank you

Very professional isn’t it. I’ll stick with godaddy.com!

Visit Host →

Load More

Pros

  • ”Green” hosting options
  • 30-day money back guarantee when you sign up
  • Variety of plans for an array of need and experience levels
  • Lots of features

Cons

  • Support communication is limited to electronic tickets
  • Free hosting plans are minimal in features and power
  • VPS hosting is unmanaged

The Verdict

AWARDSPACE.com is a versatile hosting provider for both individuals and businesses. Several options are available for size and included features, and you can upgrade your account if you outgrow your plan. Support is only available over the Internet, so if you want to talk to someone by phone, this might not be the option for you. If you want to offer various levels of hosting to your own clients, AWARDSPACE.com offers some simple and potentially profitable plans.

Most Popular Awardspace Hosting Plans

Free Shared Hosting BASIC WEB PRO PLUS
Disk Space 5GB Unlimited Unlimited
Bandwidth 250MB Unlimited Unlimited
Price $0 / mo $2.99 / mo $4.57 / mo
Visit Awardspace Visit Awardspace Visit Awardspace
Plan Disk Space Bandwidth Price
MAX PACK PLUS
Shared
Unlimited Unlimited $5.83 / mo Visit Host
STARTER SEMI DEDICATED
Shared
30GB 350GB $14.99 / mo Visit Host
Starter VPS
VPS
15GB 250GB $16.50 / mo Visit Host
PRO SEMI DEDICATED
Shared
40GB 700GB $24.99 / mo Visit Host
Pro VPS
VPS
25GB 500GB $29.66 / mo Visit Host
ADVANCED SEMI DEDICATED
Shared
60GB 1000GB $35.99 / mo Visit Host
Advanced VPS
VPS
50GB 1000GB $58.29 / mo Visit Host
More Plans +

Most Popular Awardspace Alternatives

iPage logo

Starts at:

$1.99

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

WebHostFace logo

Starts at:

$3.45

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

GoDaddy.com logo

Starts at:

$1

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

Claire Broadley

About Claire Broadley

Claire has been creating websites for over 20 years and has been using WordPress for over ten. She is an expert in web hosting, design, HTML, and more. She lives with her husband and son in the United Kingdom.

Connect with Claire