Doteasy In 2018: What Do Doteasy Client Reviews Say?

DotEasy Introduction

DotEasy serves more than half a million customers. Their data center in Vancouver, Canada has diesel generator power backup and uninterruptible power systems (UPS) to ensure top performance even in the event of a power outage. They offer excellent support and a library of tutorials for self-directed learning.

Support

You can search an extensive knowledge base, post in the community forum, and access a tutorial library for troubleshooting. If you need more help, you can reach support by submitting a ticket 24/7 or via live chat or telephone between 6 AM and 6 PM PST.

Features

DotEasy offers three types of shared Web hosting, with an optional managed hosting add-on, and three tiers of cloud hosting. The packages for each type of hosting are straightforward and feature-packed.

Web Hosting

Three types of shared plans are available. Basic, Unlimited*, and Unlimited* Windows all come with a website builder to help you get your site up and running.

  • Flash support
  • Domain forwarding
  • POP3, SMTP, Webmail
  • Email forwarding, aliases, and auto-responder
  • Basic
    • 100 MB disk space
    • 1 GB data transfer
    • 10 email accounts
    • cPanel
    • 10 subdomains
    • 10 FTP accounts
    • 10 email accounts
  • Unlimited*
    • Unlimited* disk space
    • Free domain name and unlimited* add-on domains and subdomains
    • Unlimited* data transfer
    • Unlimited*email accounts
    • IMAP support
    • phpMyAdmin
    • Unlimited* MySQL databases
    • cPanel
    • E-commerce; osCommerce, Zen Cart, Cube Cart, Shared SSL
    • Softaculous
    • Popular scripts supported; Joomla, WordPress, Drupal, and more
    • Support for: PHP Hypertext Preprocessor (PHP), Perl, Python, CGI, Server-Side Includes (SSI), FrontPage, GD Library, Image Magick
  • Unlimited* Windows
    • Unlimited* disk space
    • Unlimited* data transfer
    • Unlimited*email accounts
    • PHP
    • phpMyAdmin
    • Unlimited* MySQL databases
    • Ensim control panel
    • MSSQL
    • ODBC support
    • ASP.NET
    • E-commerce; osCommerce, Zen Cart, Cube Cart, Shared SSL

Managed Hosting

Instead of offering a selection of managed plans, DotEasy offers management as an add-on service with a Web hosting package.

  • Monthly fee added to your Web hosting plan
  • Includes one hour per month of administrative service
  • Extra time is charged at a discounted hourly rate
  • Examples of administrative services include:
    • Installation and upgrades to apps
    • HTML website updates
    • Import, export, or optimization of MySQL databases
    • Toll-free phone support
    • Basic script debugging

Cloud Hosting

Customizable, generous plans perfect for sites that are too big for shared hosting.

  • Fully-managed servers
  • Reseller capabilities
  • Unlimited* domain support and sub-domains
  • Unlimited* MySQL databases
  • Support for: PHP, Perl, Python, CGI, PEAR, SSI, Cron jobs, FrontPage, GD Library, Image Magick, DNS management
  • Unlimited* FTP accounts
  • Unlimited* email accounts
  • cPanel/WHM
  • phpMyAdmin
  • Webalizer
  • Dedicated resources
  • Dedicated IP address
  • No long-term contract
  • No setup fee
  • Three tiers of service
  • DotEasy Budget Cloud Server
    • For media-rich websites and blogs
    • 1 GB RAM
    • 1 CPU core
    • 50 GB disk space
    • 1 public IP address
    • 250 GB bandwidth (overage fees apply)
  • DotEasy Power Cloud Server
    • For e-commerce websites
    • 2 GB RAM
    • 2 CPU core
    • 100 GB disk space
    • 2 public IP addresses
    • 500 GB bandwidth (overage fees apply)
  • DotEasy Extreme Cloud Server
    • For corporate websites and resellers
    • 4 GB RAM
    • 4 CPU core
    • 200 GB disk space
    • 4 public IP addresses
    • 1000 GB bandwidth (overage fees apply)

*When hosts describe anything as “unlimited,” it is typically boundless except in cases of abuse. A user may be charged a penalty or be required to subscribe to a more robust package if they are overburdening the servers.

Pros

  • Generous support
  • Management add-on available for any shared hosting plan
  • Reseller capability without special reseller account

Cons

  • No dedicated servers
  • Very limited script and programming in basic plan

The Verdict

DotEasy has been in the industry since 2000, with a long track record of happy customers. Whether you want managed or unmanaged Web hosting for your business, or you need robust cloud hosting for reselling or media-rich websites, DotEasy has a plan to fit your needs and your budget.

Doteasy Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 11 Reviews by Doteasy Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

gaby diaz avatar
gaby diaz gabydiaz.com
Oct 11, 2016

I have been using doteasy for almost 10 years and I think they do the job well. They answer all my questions and are always willing to help. I have done transfer or even cancel a hosting plan for one website and they add the remaining time to the other site.

I do website design and always recommend to go to Doteasy. It is a good price for the service they provide. They have been getting better with the years.

Visit Host →

Md  Ehtesham avatar
Md Ehtesham schoolhive.in
May 18, 2016

I have started my first website hosting with Doteasy and I can tell you that they are worth your money. They give quality service with good uptime for my website. I am using it for around 1 Year and till now I have not got any problem, and if it occurs they are there to help you. I always refer Doteasy to everyone.

Visit Host →

Tim Duncan avatar
Tim Duncan timsworld.com
Jan 27, 2016

Absolutely useless company. Their staff does not know the basics of technology and hosting management. They answer questions with questions never actually solving the problem just cyclical spinning.

One person is more useless than the next. The servers are slow. They use antiquated tools and help desk functionality is useless as stated.

Visit Host →

Mshari Ali avatar
Mshari Ali mshari.me
Sep 30, 2017

My experience has been for a long time 2 y . Unfortunately it costs a lot with very slow support they do not know anything. I would not recommend you hosting your domain here you can not transfer after a while you can not switch the domain Lock to OFF. But hosting is really quick and powerful faster than my other host.

Visit Host →

Norman Fowler avatar
Norman Fowler celestial-star.net
Jan 23, 2015

This is the perfect host for newbies starting out. It gives excellent support since they’ll give you detail instructions on how to move Your Site to their server. Their server is awesome it’s fast and 99% uptime!

They got cpanel so it’ll be easy to manage a website and install apps such as wordpress, joomla, drupal etc. Overall I think newbies should try this host out!

Visit Host →

William Hamilton avatar
William Hamilton careasy.net
Jul 24, 2017

Doteasy rocks. I migrated over about a year ago and the uptime has been flawless. I run an online web store with a blog and I haven’t had any issues to date.

Their support team was very helpful during the migration process, walking me through how to import my files and databases. Highly recommend Doteasy for WordPress users.

Visit Host →

Steve Wu avatar
Steve Wu ncix.com
Oct 10, 2013

Used them for over 10 years and honest people. A bit slow when introducing new features, such as new domain extensions. Very knowledgeable support people and always try their best to answer my questions. Price is not cheapest, but you get the support you need.

Visit Host →

Bryan Lam avatar
Bryan Lam avey.co
Jul 04, 2016

I really don’t know what I like about this provider. Their UI is messy as well as everything else. Can’t recommend them to anyone.

I believe that well, everyone should know about this. Also, their hosting is terrible and slow as hell. Don’t go to this company! They probably run on a gig of ram and 1ghz CPU

Visit Host →

Tony Mina avatar
Tony Mina famb.org
Mar 04, 2014

The only complaint I have is the support. It takes at least 30 minutes on the phone before they can get back to you.

Visit Host →

Andrea Christians avatar
Andrea Christians bigfashionsale.com
Mar 16, 2016

Great support! I just have them resolved a problem on my website – turned out it was an user-error (user = me). But they guided me through the problem-solving process and was very professional and courteous.

Yes, feature-wise they fall a bit short compared to other competitors, but then again, I would have excellent support than a load of features that I don’t really need. They have great uptime, too! I would definitely recommend them to anyone who is just starting out or is new to websites and web hosting.

Visit Host →

Load More

Most Popular Doteasy Hosting Plans

Basic Hosting Plan Unlimited Hosting Plan Unlimited SSD Hosting Plan
Disk Space 100MB Unlimited Unlimited
Bandwidth 1GB Unlimited Unlimited
Price $1.95 / mo $9.95 / mo $11.95 / mo
Visit Doteasy Visit Doteasy Visit Doteasy
Plan Disk Space Bandwidth Price
Unlimited Windows Hosting Plan
Shared
Unlimited Unlimited $19 / mo Visit Host
Doteasy Budget Cloud Server
Shared
50GB 250GB $39 / mo Visit Host
Doteasy Power Cloud Server
Shared
100GB 500GB $59 / mo Visit Host
Doteasy Extreme Cloud Server
Shared
200GB 1000GB $99 / mo Visit Host
More Plans +

Doteasy Frequently Asked Questions

  • Does Doteasy offer Windows hosting plans?

    They offer mostly Linux hosting services. However, Windows is available on their cloud hosting plans.

  • What hosting packages does Doteasy provide?

    Doteasy offers shared, managed, and WordPress hosting. Cloud and Reseller hosting plans are also available.

  • Does Doteasy offer a free domain with their hosting plans?

    Free domain is available on all their shared hosting plans. Their lowest tier plan states domain is free for the first year only. They also offer domain registration and transfer, and you can order WHOIS privacy for an additional fee.

  • Where are their datacenters located?

    Their datacenters are located in Vancouver, Canada. The company is also based out of Canada.

  • What forms of support are available?

    The company offers phone support between 6 am and 6 pm Monday through Friday. Email support and live chat is available 24/7. They also have an extensive knowledge base. Customer support is available in English.

  • Does Doteasy offer website migration services?

    Website migration services are available for an additional fee, which depends on the number of websites and their size. This includes migrating WordPress, Drupal, Joomla, and similar CMS websites.

  • Does Doteasy offer site builders?

    A free website builder is included on each of their shared hosting plans. Additionally, they offer one-click installers for most popular applications such as WordPress, Joomla, and Magento.

  • Does Doteasy offer support for ecommerce websites?

    The company offers SSL certificates for an additional fee and supports a number of ecommerce applications such as Magento, PrestaShop, OpenCart, and others.

    Payment gateways, shipping and tax configurations are also supported as well as inventory management, automated emails, one page checkout, and more.

  • What control panel does Doteasy offer?

    They offer cPanel on their hosting plans.

  • What programming options are available?

    They support PHP, Perl, Python, and CGI scripts.

  • Can I stream audio and video?

    You are recommended to use one of their cloud hosting plans for audio and video streaming.

  • Does Doteasy offer unlimited bandwidth and storage?

    Their starter package is rather limited in terms of bandwidth and storage, offering only 1 GB of storage and 10 GB of bandwidth, along with the ability to host one website and up to 10 email accounts.

    The higher tier shared hosting plans offer unlimited storage and bandwidth as well as the ability to host an unlimited number of websites and email accounts.

  • What security features does Doteasy offer?

    The company has their own security systems in place to monitor and protect their clients. Additionally, they offer email spam protection for an additional fee.

  • Does Doteasy offer website backups?

    Clients are advised to take their own backups or to sign up for their paid plan which offers automated backups.

  • Does Doteasy offer any uptime guarantee?

    The company does not have any uptime guarantees nor does it offer compensation in the event of down time.

  • What payment methods does Doteasy accept?

    They accept Visa and MasterCard and PayPal by request. However, PayPal is not available as a payment method for the initial sign up. They offer billing terms from one month all the way up to three years.

  • Does Doteasy have a money-back guarantee?

    All of their hosting plans include a 30-day money-back guarantee. This does not apply to domain registrations.

  • Does Doteasy offer any discounts?

    They offer promotional prices for the first year only and their hosting plans renew at the regular rate. They don’t offer any specific discounts aside from that.

  • Does Doteasy offer any extra features?

    SSL certificates, automated backups, web design services, and email protection are all available for an additional fee. They do not offer CDN support.

Most Popular Doteasy Alternatives

SiteGround logo

Starts at:

$3.95

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

BlueHost logo

Starts at:

$2.75

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

InMotion Hosting logo

Starts at:

$3.99

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

Claire Broadley

About Claire Broadley

Claire has been creating websites for over 20 years and has been using WordPress for over ten. She is an expert in web hosting, design, HTML, and more. She lives with her husband and son in the United Kingdom.

Connect with Claire