eHost.com In 2019: What Do eHost.com Client Reviews Say?

eHost Introduction

Important: eHost is no longer taking customers. They recommend that people looking for hosting use iPage.

eHost is a US-based hosting company, originally founded in 1996. The company was purchased by the Endurance International Group in 2010, and is now one of its key brands in the low-cost, beginner hosting market. It is based out of Houston, Texas in the United States, where its datacenter is also located.

Services and Specializations

eHost keeps things very simple, with just one Linux shared hosting package. The plan includes unmetered storage space and bandwidth. To get your site up and running quickly, a drag-and-drop website builder is included. One-click installers, including WordPress, Joomla and Drupal, are provided along with the hosting account. All customers can set up unlimited email addresses, databases, and domains. Advertising credits are included to give your site a head-start on AdWords and the Yahoo/Bing ad network.

The plan also includes a sitebuilder tool, a domain name, and a variety of ecommerce scripts and packages to help you get a store online. The price advertised is an introductory rate, so its likely that you’ll pay a higher price when it’s time to renew.

Bear in mind that unmetered bandwidth isn’t necessarily unlimited on shared hosting plans. Companies like eHost monitor users to make sure their usage falls within an acceptable range. Few business websites will exceed normal resource consumption, but if you run lots of scripts, you may be asked to upgrade. Running bandwidth-intensive services, like file download websites, is usually prohibited on these kinds of plans.

Although eHost’s support material refers to VPS and dedicated servers, these don’t currently seem to be available for purchase.

eHost.com Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 61 Reviews by eHost.com Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Saransh Bhatt avatar
Saransh Bhatt kickiteasy.com
Oct 21, 2015

I’ve been using eHost from 11 months and the quality of service is pretty amazing. I signed up for eHost.com in Jan 2015 and I’m surprised with the quality of support, they have been polite whenever I had any problem. Seriously, if you are starting a new blog then eHost might be the best options for you.

Site uptime and site loading speed is great. Earlier I had some problems with the name servers so I raised a ticket and the issue was resolved within 16-18 minutes, great isn’t it ? For just $2.75 per month (for 1st year) its a value for money service.

I don’t know why eHost is having some bad reviews as I’m completely satisfied and happy with their service. Just go for ehost without having any second thought in your mind. Value for money!

Visit Host →

Chirag Agarwal avatar
Chirag Agarwal webtrafficnow.xyz
May 03, 2016

I bought hosting from Ehost.com at a right time. I got a free domain name with many other Marketing features. I am quite new so I reached their support many times.

I was able to connect in approximate 5 minutes. They have a custom Cpanel which makes very easy to handle everything. I have been hosting my sites on Ehost from almost 5 months and my site got no downtime(in my knowledge).

The best part is that my hosting space is unlimited(if used acc. To their guidelines).

Visit Host →

bak john avatar
bak john mydiscountour.com
Feb 19, 2018

One of the worst companies you may think to deal with, you will never get a clear answer or support. It seems you deal with robots and nobody cares how bad is your issue. I faced a server down issue for 3 days and the only replay I was getting that "Please wait for our email" !

Visit Host →

Adilson Delima avatar
Adilson Delima aqstore.com
Jan 03, 2018

this guys are moving to another platform and abandoned their customers…..They are not doing the things right. I cant access my emails and also I can’t verify my domain name

Visit Host →

Marios Koutroullos avatar
Marios Koutroullos lanitishalls.com
Dec 11, 2017

I am trying to transfer my domain and hosting from Ehost to BlueHost. Ecost is giving me very hard trouble to allow me to transfer. Just stay away from them.

At the beginning they blocked the status and after discussion the unblocked then I changed the email because they used their email for registration and because it was a bug in their system it was not being updated to Icann. Then the updated my email so i can proceed by they changed the status again to clientTrasferProhibited so I would not be able to proceed with the transfer then again I contacted them and they said wait for some hours. Last time I asked to change status it was changed immediately but now i have to wait hours.

My opinion stay away. Stay away!

Visit Host →

Angela Manyara avatar
Angela Manyara blackfinancialunity.org
Dec 10, 2017

E-host are terrible. Do not use e-host. They very poor technical support.

We prepaid for the hosting service for 3 years in advance. At some point, the server hosted at e-host got malware contents. They do not clean up their own servers.

They suspended my account and then attempted to force me to pay for a 3rd party to clean their servers. They refuse to give me a refund for services that I’ve paid for and did not receive the agreed services.

Visit Host →

Razil Salam avatar
Razil Salam successlineedu.com
Apr 16, 2017

I have been using ehost.com about 1 year. I feel that it has gave me the best support I ever seen. It really deserves value for money.

I’am very sure that ehost support is very responsive and up-time. And the hosting is also cheap, I got it for 70% discount and a free domain. It was an unbelievable experience. Totally it is a very fulfilling web hosting service, I highly recommend them.

Visit Host →

Si Mughal avatar
Si Mughal homehealthmiracle.com
Mar 26, 2017

For the price, ehost shared hosting is worth more than what I paid for it. I got 1 year for around $12! Really expected it to be a cheap alternative for testing out new sites, but actually I got the same experience as with HostGator, but for a fraction of the price.

Only time I got worried was when my cpanel wasn’t loging in for around 6 hours but my site has been up for over 6 months now with no downtime (that i know about). And speed is what you would expect from shared hosting, comparable to any other shared hosting like hostgator. Has all the features i needed, unlimited everything, addon domains, emails, bandwidth and storage, also one free domain.

The only thing not included was whois guard for $10, which i should have taken because i got some spam emails about my domain afterwards. But I can’t complain since it’s still cheaper than BlueHost and hostgator that i used before. My conclusion: if your looking for shared hosting, this is definately the most reliable option for this price range.

P.S if you’re wondering how i got 1 year for $12, i completed the checkout but had to go right before the last step. Then got followup emails with massive discounts :)

Visit Host →

bill meyes avatar
bill meyes billmeyerswebdesign.com
Mar 21, 2017

Set up eHost with Safari. I design website for the blind. No problem except everything is extremely slow.

After a few months, I wanted to make some changes to a couple of my databases but now I cannot login. I can login with Chrome and Firefox but, as I am blind and use a screen reader, Safari is my preferred browser. Told the support tech and he asked me to take a screenshot!!! Will right off what I paid as a bad choice and go back to iPage.

Visit Host →

Dale Yarborough avatar
Dale Yarborough daleyarborough.com
Mar 19, 2017

I have had multiple issues with eHost..I have also used Godaddy, and highly recommend them over eHost. I have had a website that my account shows I paid for three years, and it was recently taken down. I raised four tickets to resolve the issue within a months period, and received either poor or no response with my issues.

If you would like to stay clear of issues with your account/ billing, stay clear of eHost’s services. If anyone would be interested in snapshots of the issue that I had with eHost or email correspondence between the "Billing Administrator" and myself, I would be happy to provide them.

Visit Host →

Load More

Support and Customer Service

Support is available 24/7 via phone, live chat, and email. eHost says that phone calls will be answered in less than 2 minutes. There are also a range of online tutorials covering basic hosting administration tasks.

If you need to migrate your site from another host, you’ll have to do this yourself. Migration assistance isn’t provided. If you’re moving from a cPanel host, the move should be relatively straightforward, since eHost also provides cPanel. Moving from a host with a different control panel could be technically complex, and is a task for experienced users only.

Infrastructure and Backups

eHost uses 24 hour network monitoring. All personal information for your account, such as credit card data, is collected using SSL security and stored on secure servers. The company offers limited information on its datacenter, other than its location. It’s CyrusOne, a facility in Houston, Texas.

Business customers and healthcare professionals should note that eHost is not HIPAA compliant. PCI compliance is also not guaranteed on its shared hosting plans.

eHost maintains automated backups for all servers, but those only run once per week. What’s more, backups are only stored for a single week before being replaced. Any account that uses more than 20 gigabytes of data will not be included in this backup scheme. eHost will back up the customers’ databases, but not the files. If you are concerned about data loss, it’s always a good idea to set up your own backup solution.

Uptime Guarantee

eHost offers a 99.9% uptime guarantee, not including scheduled maintenance. If it fails to meet that guarantee, you may be eligible for a one-month account credit. You’ll be expected to provide evidence of the excessive downtime within 30 days of the end of the month, and the final decision will be down to eHost.

Billing and Cancellation Policies

eHost accepts payment via major credit cards, bank wire transfers, Western Union, checks, and money orders. The eHost plan is auto-renewed, unless other arrangements have been made. It is up to the customer to ensure their payment information remains up-to-date to avoid late payment, as any accounts not paid within 15 days of the invoice date may be suspended or terminated.

eHost offers a 30-day money-back guarantee on shared hosting services. Any cancellations within that time, for first-time buyers, will receive a full refund, minus the cost of domain registration. You’ll need to request cancellation, then write to the support department to ask for your refund within 90 days. If you miss this step, you won’t receive a refund.

Cancellations after 30 days may result in a prorated refund, though this is left to eHost’s discretion.

Conclusion

If you need a basic, shared hosting solution that will allow you to quickly set up your online presence with little hassle, eHost offers the right solution. This isn’t necessarily a business-grade hosting service, but it’s designed to give you the basics that you’ll need to build your first store or blog. eHost customers benefit from competitive prices and a good foundation; the inclusion of cPanel is a big plus point, for example. There are no VPS packages on offer, so upgrading may mean moving to another host, but eHost’s basic shared hosting should get your site up and running.

Most Popular eHost.com Hosting Plans

eHost Everything Plan
Disk Space Unlimited
Bandwidth Unlimited
Price $2.75 / mo
Visit eHost.com

eHost.com Frequently Asked Questions

  • Does eHost offer VPS hosting?

    No. eHost offers one shared hosting plan. There are some references to VPS hosting in its knowledgebase, but no indication that VPS plans are currently available.

  • Does eHost offer Windows hosting?

    No. eHost only offers one Linux shared hosting plan.

  • Does eHost provide help with site migration?

    No. eHost does not provide any technical support for site migration. You may be able to migrate your websites yourself, depending on the software or CMS that you are using.

  • Is unlimited storage and bandwidth available?

    Yes. eHost provides unmetered bandwidth and storage space. In practice, this usually means that eHost will expect your site to fall within reasonable limits, and the website consumes normal amounts of resources. eHost says that 99.95% of customers fall into this category. Any customer using extremely large amounts of storage or bandwidth will be issued with a warning.

  • What control panel is provided?

    All shared hosting customers are provided with cPanel. It appears that eHost previously used vDeck.

  • Does eHost provide a free domain name?

    Yes. You get one free domain when you sign up for your hosting account.

  • Is there an uptime guarantee?

    Yes. eHost guarantees 99.9% uptime, measured monthly. If you experience downtime beyond this, you can claim a 1 month account credit. If you feel that your server is not providing adequate performance, eHost can move you to another server. To do this, you will need to order a new hosting account of the same type that you currently have, and then raise a ticket to have your data migrated from your old account to the new one. You can then change your DNS and cancel the old account.

  • Does eHost offer one-click script installs?

    eHost offers a Design Suite with each hosting plan. This includes one-click installers for software like WordPress and b2Evolution. If you need more flexibility, you can ask for Quickinstall for MOJO Marketplace to be enabled on your account. This offers around 100 scripts that you can install via cPanel.

  • Does eHost provide free stock images and other media?

    No. eHost does not offer any free media for download.

  • What programming languages are available?

    All customers are set up with PHP 5.4, but can request to switch to PHP 5.5 or PHP 5.6. Ruby on Rails, PEAR, Python and Perl are available.

  • Does eHost accept payments by Paypal?

    Yes. You can pay via PayPal or most major credit cards.

  • Can I pay monthly?

    Yes. eHost lets you pay for your hosting month to month, so you can cancel at any time. If you choose to pay for a year or more in advance, you may be offered a discount on the hosting price.

  • Is a content delivery network (CDN) available?

    No. You will need to set up your own CDN if you would like to use one.

  • Where are eHost’s datacenters?

    eHost uses the CyrusOne datacenter in Houston, Texas in the USA.

  • Can I host more than one website?

    Yes. eHost allows you to use unlimited domains with your account.

  • Does eHost have special deals for students and schools?

    No. eHost does not offer discounted plans for students, schools, or non-profit organizations.

  • Does eHost have a reseller program?

    No. eHost only offers one plan, which cannot be used for reselling.

  • Will eHost back up my website for me?

    No. You can create backups manually using cPanel.

Most Popular eHost.com Alternatives

SiteGround logo

Starts at:

$3.95

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

BlueHost logo

Starts at:

$2.75

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

InMotion Hosting logo

Starts at:

$3.99

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

Jaramy Conners

About Jaramy Conners

Jaramy has been a technical writer for many years, specializing in privacy, identity theft, blogging, business, and communications writing. But he's also a children's writer. His short story "Steve" won the Hunger Mountain Katherine Paterson Prize for Young Adult and Children's Writing. He lives with his wife in upstate New York.

Connect with Jaramy

Review eHost.com

Already a eHost.com customer? Write an honest & helpful review.

1 How would you rate your experience with eHost.com?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about eHost.com.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that eHost.com rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 About You

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2015 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2015.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2015 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your eHost.com review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).