HostDime In 2018: What Do HostDime Client Reviews Say?

HostDime Introduction

HostDime is a privately-owned and global hosting organization that has a presence in various locations across North America, South America, Europe, and beyond. The company was founded in 2001 and can claim to host over 2 million domains around the world.

HostDime offers a wide range of services, from simple web hosting to managed VPS and dedicated servers. Like other global hosting companies, HostDime has different websites for different countries, so I will focus on the UK website for this review.

HostDime Hosting Plans

There are 3 shared hosting plans available through HostDime. These plans are all based on Linux operating systems and come with a 100 Mbps connection and unmetered bandwidth. The pricing structure is based on a monthly charge, but if customers sign up for a year, then the cost is reduced.

  • The sHD1 plan provides 50 GB disk space and allows customers to host one domain.
  • The sHD2 offers a step up from the sHD1 plan and comes with 100 GB disk space and allows up to 10 domains to be hosted.
  • The top plan is the sHD3 plan, which provides 150 GB disk space and allows for unlimited domains. This plan also comes with a free SSL certificate and a dedicated IP address.

HostDime also offer 3 Linux hosting reseller plans. Each plan allows for unlimited domains and provides a 100 Mbps connection. The three plans allow customers to choose from 200 GB disk space and 2,000 GB bandwidth, 500 GB disk space and 5,000 GB bandwidth or 1,000 GB disk space and 10,000 GB bandwidth.

HostDime provide a managed VPS hosting service and customers can choose from Linux or Windows operating systems. There are 3 Linux VPS hosting plans, each providing a 1,000 Mbps connection and 2 dedicated IP addresses.

  • The VPS.1 plan comes with 30 GB disk space, 1,000 GB monthly bandwidth and 1024 MB RAM.
  • The next step up is the VPS.2 plan which comes with 50 GB disk space, 1,500 GB bandwidth and 2048 MB RAM.
  • The VPS.3 plan offers 70 GB disk space, 2,000 GB bandwidth and 4096 MB RAM.

There are 3 Windows VPS hosting plans to choose from.

  • The wVPS.1 plan offers 15 GB disk space, 1,000 GB monthly bandwidth, 512 MB RAM and comes with 1 dedicated IP address.
  • The wVPS.2 plan provides 25 GB disk space, 2,000 GB bandwidth and 1024 MB RAM. This plan comes with 2 dedicated IP addresses.
  • The top Windows VPS plan is the wVPS.3, which comes with 35 GB disk space, 3,000 GB bandwidth, 2048 MB RAM and 2 dedicated IP addresses.

Dedicated hosting is one of HostDime’s speciality areas and it offers a broad range of options to choose from. There are five plans available, based on the processor in the server. Each dedicated server is fully managed by HostDime and IPMI is included.

  • A server with an Intel Atom D525 dual core 1.8 GHz processor comes with 2 GB RAM, 500 GB disk space and 5 TB bandwidth.
  • A server with an Intel Core i3-2120 dual core 3.3 GHz processor is built with 4 GB RAM, 500 GB disk space and 5 TB bandwidth.
  • Servers based on the Intel Xeon E3-1230 quad core 3.2 GHz processor have 8 GB RAM, 500 GB disk space and 10 TB bandwidth.
  • Servers with 2 quad core Xeon E5520 2.26 GHz processors come with 12 GB RAM, 1 TB disk space and 20 TB bandwidth.
  • Servers with 2 hexa core Xeon E5645 2.45 GHz processors are built with 16 GB RAM and 1 TB disk space. This plan allows for 30 TB bandwidth.

HostDime also offer a range of add ons for their hosting plans. These include SSL certificates, domain registration tools, merchant accounts and a site builder.

HostDime Uptime/Downtime

Shared hosting with HostDime comes with an SLA which includes an uptime guarantee. This means that should uptime fall below 99.9% in any given month, HostDime will credit the customer’s account. Compensation starts with a credit worth 10% of the customer’s monthly fee where uptime falls between 95% – 99.9% uptime. The credit goes up to 25% for 90% — 94.9% uptime and 100% if uptime falls below 89.9%.

HostDime owns its own data centres which are located around the world. Its UK data centre is based in Kent and is manned at all times by security staff. The data centre utilises UPS and diesel backup power systems and is monitored by their own on-site technicians to keep the systems available for the maximum possible time.

HostDime Support

HostDime customers have a wide range of support options open to them. This includes guides, manuals, FAQs and video tutorials. Customers also have access to a blog, server status page and forums, allowing them to access news and community support. When it comes to technical support, there is an email address, live chat and phone line. The technical teams are available at all times.

There is also a HostDime Twitter account and a Facebook page. These are both active, and the company takes the time to interact with its customers through both channels.

HostDime in the News

Despite being a large global hosting organisation, HostDime have attracted little attention, good or bad, in any of the well-known tech news sites I checked.

HostDime Control Panel

HostDime offers familiar, branded control panels for all customers. Shared hosting accounts on Linux have cPanel. VPS hosting and resellers also get WHM. Windows based VP hosting comes with Plesk.

HostDime Extras

Aside from the plans that come with dedicated IPs and SSL certificates, HostDime also provides two one-click application installers, Softaculous and Fantastico. WordPress, Joomla, Drupal, Zen Cart, PHP and more well-known applications are supported. Other freebies include a site builder and analytics tools.

HostDime Money Back Guarantee / Cancellation Policy

Although there is no money-back guarantee advertised with HostDime’s hosting plans, there is a 90 day satisfaction guarantee. This is slightly different from most money-back guarantees. Whilst it offers a full refund in theory, customers have to provide a reason why they are cancelling their account – HostDime will decide if you qualify for a refund, based on whether they have taken all possible steps to correct the situation that has prompted you to cancel.

HostDime Summary

HostDime has the appearance of a very professional hosting company with a wide range of services, support and guarantees to back them as a solid choice for business. That cancellation policy is a bit sneaky, as it effectively rules out the ‘guarantee’ part of any refunds by asking the customer to qualify their reason for cancelling. However, it does show that the company wants to ensure that its support have done everything possible to meet the customer’s needs.

HostDime will appeal to large organisations. As you can see from this review, its top-end plans are very detailed and there are no shortage of configuration options to choose from. However, if you are looking for a basic low cost plan, you may be better looking elsewhere for more resources.

HostDime Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 39 Reviews by HostDime Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Evans Makundi avatar
Evans Makundi webhost.co.tz
Nov 10, 2015

They have great packages and seems they "might" have great features but their customer support sucks. I have more than 100 channels somewhere and I wanted to know what features do they have so that I can move few accounts for testing. It was impossible getting a trial account or even to get a demo account for an hour even a dummy one. They guy did not have a good tone all he was saying is "sorry we can’t" they did not even try to understand what I really wanted the only answer the representative had is they cannot show me a demo account or create a test account for me
Worse service ever.

Visit Host →

Edwin avatar
Edwin stupidnothings.com
Dec 22, 2011

Been hosted with Hostdime / Surpass since 2003, and in all that time they have been very helpfull when something went wrong, even if it was something I broke. Of course they have their downtimes, just as anyone else.

Visit Host →

Filipe Kiss avatar
Filipe Kiss filipekiss.com.br
Sep 30, 2010

They have a great support. Quick answer, they solve almost any problem that get into their hands. I own a reseller plan and I have nothing to complain about it.

I have some difficulties, though, when setting up foR applications, but since my clients don’t use that much, I can stick with PHP only. Cpanel and WHM to manage the domains make this host just perfect for my everyday hosting needs

Visit Host →

Kenneth Maddux avatar
Kenneth Maddux notwhatyouwant.com
May 15, 2012

Problem with Host dime is they Slow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Alot of people email me asking why the site takes to long to load. Terrible speeds I must say.

I have been with them for about 3 years planning on moving because the site is just way to slow for people. And if you have a lot of traffic I would not do Hostdime!

Visit Host →

Amal Murali avatar
Amal Murali activenerds.com
Mar 27, 2012

HostDime really rocks! I’ve been using their service for more than a year now and I never had any problems with that. I am actually stunned at the way their support team works.

Their customers don’t require much technical experience and the control panel is not sophisticated at all. And even if you face some difficulties with something, you can clear that in the live chat discussion with a tech-support member. HostDime have always handled my problems with care and I’m loving it.

This host is best fit for customers having a website with an average traffic. Especially for wordpress blogs. I would seriously recommend HostDime to all of you.

Visit Host →

Nathaniel Glosser avatar
Nathaniel Glosser memethink.com
Aug 18, 2013

My experience with HostDime: Massive amounts of downtime on my server, reluctance of support to change to a different server, mistakes by customer service and tech support, one hand not knowing what the other is doing, slow response and complete failure to reply to tickets. and this was for very basic issues. I just cancelled my account.

Yeah, the prices are good for what they promise – so I give them a 5 for features. The only problem is that they don’t deliver the uptime, the tech support, the customer service they promise, so the value is nil. I’d give them zero stars on all other categories, but that isn’t an option.

No – I won’t recommend HostDime to friends. I don’t recommend it to the readers of these reviews. I don’t understand how they (as of the time of this review) have a 4 star Overall rating and 4.5 stars for tech support on this site. Don’t use HostDime!

Visit Host →

juan g polanco avatar
juan g polanco internetandhosting.net
Apr 17, 2013

Excellent host provider, support and service is 200% they have in different languages support. For me in Spanish the response is fast.

Visit Host →

project36 avatar
project36 project36.com
May 02, 2012

HostDime does have very responsive technical support, which is great compared to a lot of other web hosts, however we have had a specific problem over the past year or two that just keeps getting worse. Our email service over the past year has never worked for a full month straight. At least once a month our email goes down for several hours, we get support to work on it and they claim everything is solved and the problems won’t come back.

Every month (at least once) and more recently, weekly, our email goes down again, they always get it running again, but sometimes the email is lost altogether. This is not a great solution if you rely on your daily email for running your business.

Visit Host →

Henk Schwietert avatar
Henk Schwietert ambermill.com
Apr 30, 2012

In general I am very happy with Hostdime, with the exception of the billing process. I am always concerned that I forget to pay in time, and that I then loose e-mails or even the domain name. Since renewing takes place only once every few years, I have to study each time what exactly the procedure is. If hostdime can make that process easier and send reminders (perhaps they do this, I do not remember) then this would be much appreciated.

Visit Host →

Christian Paul Garcia avatar
Christian Paul Garcia wapshared.com
Feb 10, 2012

Hostdime is Great! Recommended to anyone. you cannot experience any downtime..All server are UP 24/7/365. and the support is also available anytime even midnight..Great web hosting I ever use. :)

Visit Host →

Load More

Most Popular HostDime Hosting Plans

Managed VPS 1 Managed VPS 2 Windows wVPS.1
Disk Space 60GB 100GB 60GB
Bandwidth 5TB 5TB 5TB
Price $65 / mo $80 / mo $85 / mo
Visit HostDime Visit HostDime Visit HostDime
Plan Disk Space Bandwidth Price
Windows wVPS.2
VPS
100GB 5TB $100 / mo Visit Host
Colocation
Shared
$100 / mo Visit Host
Managed VPS 3
VPS
140GB 5TB $120 / mo Visit Host
Windows wVPS.3
VPS
140GB 5TB $140 / mo Visit Host
Quad Core Managed Ded
Dedicated
128GB 10TB $179 / mo Visit Host
More Plans +

HostDime Frequently Asked Questions

  • Does HostDime offer Windows hosting?

    Yes, they offer manager VPS Windows and Linux hosting.

  • What type of hosting services do their provide?

    HostDime provides managed dedicated hosting, Cloud, and VPS hosting.

  • Where are HostDime’s datacenters located?

    Their datacenters as well as their headquarters are located in Orlando, Florida.

  • Does HostDime offer a control panel?

    Their hosting plans offer cPanel and Plesk control panels.

  • What methods of support are available?

    They offer support via phone, email, Live Chat, and support ticketing system. They also offer an extensive knowledge base. Support is available in English only.

  • Can HostDime migrate my site for me?

    Yes, HostDime offers free website migration services within the first 30 days of signing up for their service. This includes cPanel to cPanel and Plesk to Plesk migrations as well as migrating WordPress or other CMS websites.

  • Can I host multiple websites?

    Yes, the company offers generous bandwidth and storage plans which means you shouldn’t have any problems hosting multiple sites.

  • Does HostDime provide site builders or one click installers?

    HostDime includes Softaculous script library which has several one-click installers for most popular applications such as WordPress, Joomla, Drupal, and others.

  • Are ecommerce and shopping cart applications available?

    They offer a range of ecommerce applications which can be installed from the Softaculous library.

  • What forms of payment do they accept?

    HostDime accepts various payment methods which include all major credit cards, PayPal, wire transfers via Western Union, bank wires, and Bitcoin payments via bitpay.

  • Is there a minimum contract period?

    There is no minimum contract period. They offer monthly and yearly plans which can be cancelled at any time.

  • Do I get a discount if I pay ahead?

    There doesn’t appear to be a discount if you pay ahead. However, they do offer a pro-rated amount for the first term.

  • Is a domain included with their plans?

    They do not offer a free domain with their plans, however you can purchase a domain for an additional fee during the signup process.

  • Does HostDime offer domain registrations?

    Domains can be registered through their site independently of the hosting package.

  • Does HostDime offer email accounts?

    Yes, there is no limit on the number of email accounts you can create. You are, however, limited by the amount of storage your selected plan offers.

  • Does HostDime provide an uptime guarantee?

    HostDime offers 99.9% uptime guarantee backed by service credits for any downtime experienced.

  • Does HostDime offer a money back guarantee?

    HostDime offers a 45-day money back guarantee on their VPS plans.

  • What security features are in place?

    HostDime offers firewall, DDoS, and antivirus protection for an additional fee. Their facilities include complete redundancy in power, network connectivity, fire suppression, and 24/7 monitoring.

  • Does HostDime offer SSL certificates?

    SSL certificates can be purchased separately and HostDime offers basic, wildcard, and extended validation certificates.

Most Popular HostDime Alternatives

SiteGround logo

Starts at:

$3.95

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

BlueHost logo

Starts at:

$2.75

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

InMotion Hosting logo

Starts at:

$3.99

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

Claire Broadley

About Claire Broadley

Claire has been creating websites for over 20 years and has been using WordPress for over ten. She is an expert in web hosting, design, HTML, and more. She lives with her husband and son in the United Kingdom.

Connect with Claire