Add Your Review for HostMonster

HostMonster Review: Dated Dud Or Next Big Brand? We Asked [count] Users

86 Reviews
Last Updated Nov 28, 2017Add your review

HostMonster Features

  • PHP
  • WordPress
  • Uptime Guarantee
  • MySQL
  • Perl
  • cPanel
HostMonster logo hostmonster.com
Location:USA
Founded:1996
Pros:
  • Unlimited Space & Bandwidth
  • Host Unlimited Domains
  • Free Domain
  • Free Site Builder
  • Phone Support
  • Cons:
  • Backups not guaranteed
  • No Windows-based plans
  • HostMonster Review

    If you are looking for web hosting, HostMonster is worth a look. In this article, I go through what it has to offer and how it compares to other hosts.

    HostMonster Homepage
    HostMonster's homepage. Screenshot courtesy of WhoIsHostingThis.

    Small Business Hosting

    HostMonster is yet another web hosting company that specializes in hosting for small businesses.

    Larger companies can find more powerful hosting options with their VPS and dedicated server plans. However, HostMonster is mostly focused on providing budget shared hosting.

    Their plans are well-suited to anyone starting a website for the first time.

    Small Business Features

    With included domain names, easy hosting set-up, a free site builder, and one-click app installations, people can get started without needing any technical knowledge or going elsewhere for additional services.

    HostMonster's Corporate Background

    HostMonster is a web hosting provider that’s been around for two decades. The company is part of the Endurance International Group, a collection of hosting brands for small businesses.

    As a result, HostMonster will provide a fairly similar hosting experience as other companies under Endurance International.

    For example, HostMonster is a sister company of Bluehost and the two seem almost identical in what they offer.

    Getting a Domain with HostMonster

    All HostMonster plans include a free domain name for one full year. After this, you will have to renew your domain registration and pay for it yourself.

    If you’re looking to get a domain name alone, check out HostGator. They will let you purchase names on their own and point them to whichever hosting company you choose.

    PRO TIP: You won’t be able to buy domain names from HostMonster without purchasing a hosting plan as well.

    You Get Unlimited Resources for Shared Hosting

    HostMonster’s shared plans are perfect for small business web hosting.

    It seems commonplace for hosting companies to offer unlimited resources to their shared hosting customers -- and HostMonster is no exception.

    All of their shared hosting plans will give you unlimited bandwidth. But, this doesn’t mean that you can use as much as you want. It just means that the company won’t charge you according to how much you use. Instead, accounts on a shared server share all the bandwidth.

    But Sometimes "Unlimited" Isn't Actually Unlimited

    Sharing bandwidth can be a problem for demanding websites as they may require more bandwidth than is available at times.

    However, this storage situation should be adequate for personal websites and small businesses since they won’t have a problem with bandwidth limits. In fact, 99.95% of HostMonster’s customers will be fine with their bandwidth and disk space.

    Your disk space allotment will depend on the shared hosting plan that you choose. There are strict limits placed on their cheaper plans while their highest-level plan provides unlimited disk space.

    Any small website will have more than enough disk space, even with their cheapest plan.

    HostMonster's Cheapest Plans

    HostMonster’s cheapest plan also only allows you to host one domain and manage 5 email accounts.

    On the other hand, their most expensive shared hosting plan will give you unlimited email accounts, and allow for the hosting of unlimited domains.

    Why You Might Want a More Expensive Plan

    Why would you need all these email accounts, you ask? Well, you'll probably never need hundreds of them.

    But for businesses, it's nice to have different addresses for professionalism. If you have many different employees, then you can give out email addresses to them which they can use for work or to communicate with customers. This makes your businesses appear much more professional and unified.

    With HostMonster, you’ll have three different webmail solutions, so your employees can choose the email client that they like the best.

    HostMonster's Top 10 Shared Hosting Features

    If you explore HostMonster’s website, you’ll eventually land on their "Hosting Features" page. This is full of everything that they offer. But these features aren’t necessarily included in every plan. This list is a bit overwhelming, so I’ll break it down for you.

    Shared Hosting Features
    HostMonster Feature Description
    Website Builder In addition to their unlimited resources, they have listed many other inclusions. For one, all accounts will have access to the free Weebly website builder. This will be described in detail later on.
    MOJO Marketplace Additional user-friendly features include HostMonster’s partnership with MOJO Marketplace. With access to this marketplace from your control panel, you’ll be able to install applications in one click.
    WordPress So, if you want to start a WordPress website, you won’t have to spend any more time on your HostMonster control panel then you want to.
    Blogging As a result, HostMonster supports blogging. You will also be able to collect mailing lists, insert survey software on your site, or add scripts for project management.
    Developer Features Developers will have features like FTP access, SSH access, custom Cronjobs, MySQL databases, and CGI-Bin.
    Supported Coding Languages Additionally, people with coding knowledge will enjoy support for multiple languages including PHP5, Perl, Python, Ruby on Rails, and JavaScript. These features won’t be important to most hosting users.
    E-commerce For e-commerce functionality, HostMonster gives you various shopping carts to choose from. For example, OS Commerce, Agora, Cube Cart, and Zen Cart.
    Security Certificates Your website will be hosted on an SSL-secure server and you can generate a free shared security certificate to place on your website. This will provide your customers with the reassurance they need to enter payment information on your store.
    Bonus Plan If you want a dedicated IP address and a private SSL certificate for further e-commerce security, HostMonster offers a bonus plan with these included. This bonus plan also comes with Site Backup Pro so you won’t have to purchase it separately.
    Media Hosting So that you can give your website all the dynamic and interesting content it needs to keep visitors around, HostMonster supports video streaming, audio streaming, and MIDI files.

    HostMonster's Technology

    In addition, HostMonster’s technology includes:

    • Dual Quad Processor Performance Servers
    • Diesel Generator Backup power
    • Linux operating system
    • 24/7 network monitoring

    These architecture and infrastructure specifications allow HostMonster to offer reliable hosting, reducing the risk of their customers’ websites experiencing large outages.

    "Our mission is to bring the power and promise of the web to people." James Grierson, CEO of HostMonster.

    Free Website Builder

    HostMonster gives you access to the Weebly site builder, a popular drag-and-drop website builder. It allows almost anyone to design and build a website. The website builder software is completely online, meaning you won’t have to install anything to use it.

    Using Weebly's Site builder

    Designing with Weebly is simple. You just choose a template to start with and then customize it to suit your brand. You can change colors, fonts, and add social sharing buttons. You can drag in pre-built sections like forms.

    Weebly vs. WordPress

    Upon logging into HostMonster for the first time, you’ll be greeted by options to pick a theme to start designing your new website with WordPress. This shows how simple it is to get started on WordPress when you host with this company.

    How to Activate the Weebly Site Builder

    But, if you’d rather use the Weebly site builder, you just have to enter your control panel instead and navigate to it.

    When you select Weebly from the control panel, you’ll be prompted to pick a theme. Then you’ll have complete drag-and-drop control over your design. Add elements to your pages like maps, contact forms, and buttons.

    Weebly Site Builder
    HostMonster's website builder is based off Weebly. Screenshot courtesy of WhoIsHostingThis.

    Building an Online Store Is Easy

    People building online stores will like that they can add product pages and categories to their store as well.

    How to add a product
    Add a product to your store with a few clicks. Screenshot courtesy of WhoIsHostingThis.

    You’ll also have the possibility of adding entire pre-built sections to your website pages.

    To test this out, I added a menu and a "meet our team" section to my website. These snapped into place and integrated nicely into the homepage.

    Pre-built sections
    Dragging pre-populated sections to a web page makes it easy to change your site quickly. Screenshot courtesy of WhoIsHostingThis.

    HostMonster’s 24/7 Customer Support

    One thing I always look for on hosting company websites is live chat for their browsing site visitors. It’s unbelievably helpful to be able to just start a live chat with a customer service member.

    Support for Prospective Customers

    Sometimes you’ll want to know something about a hosting company that they don’t make clear on their website. For example, they may not make it obvious where their servers are located, if they offer website migration, or what kind of control panel they give you.

    Having live chat support for everyone, not just paying customers, is a great thing that HostMonster does. I had a chance to ask them a question and they responded within 5 minutes with a helpful answer. I was satisfied with our short interaction.

    Support for Paid Customers

    For customers of paid plans, HostMonster support can be reached by live chat or with a toll-free number as well.

    These resources are available 24/7. Their website displays a little green light on the support page if their phone and chat assistants are online. They also have a place to display the average wait time you may experience.

    Chat with customer support
    Anyone can contact HostMonster's support. Screenshot courtesy of WhoIsHostingThis.

    Quality of Online Help Documentation

    When you land on HostMonster’s support page, you’re greeted with links to their most popular help articles. These will tell you how to do things such as set-up your email account.

    The articles themselves are very helpful, but the layout of the knowledgebase isn’t. I would have liked to see some kind of organization on this page.

    Many other companies, like Bluehost, make it easier to find help articles on the topics you need. But with HostMonster, you’ll have to use their search feature to find anything.

    Payment and Renewal Options

    HostMonster gives you multiple payment options and billing preferences. Their services are auto-renewed by default to prevent you from experiencing outages or losing your domain name. However, you can also choose to renew your services manually.

    The company does not offer monthly billing options. You will need to sign up for and pay in advance for at least a full year of hosting.

    Cancelling Your Plan

    You also won’t be able to get a refund if you cancel your plan before your term is up. So, keep in mind that you’ll be stuck paying for HostMonster’s services until the end of your term if you decide you no longer want to host with them.

    Monthly vs. Yearly Payments

    If you don’t like this and would rather pay for hosting month-to-month, then HostGator may be a better company for you. They offer their plans on a monthly basis so you can cancel anytime without losing months of hosting that you've already paid for.

    VPS Plans

    HostMonster has powerful virtual private servers (VPS) for people and businesses that need more power. These plans are all fully-managed, so you won’t need technical expertise to use them.

    You’ll also be given dedicated and guaranteed server resources.

    No Need to Worry About Shared Resources

    What does this mean? That you will always have the disk space and bandwidth that is pre-defined by the plan you choose. No sharing of resources with other people on one server. The resources that you purchased are guaranteed to always be available to you.

    HostMonster’s servers are built on cloud technology, allowing them to offer you scalable features. As a result, you can expand your business in the future with easy resource upgrades.

    VPS Pricing at HostMonster

    Their VPS plans are the same prices as the ones you’ll find at Bluehost and HostGator. However, their cheapest plan will give you much less disk space than you’ll get with HostGator’s VPS plan. And, Bluehost gives you unlimited bandwidth on all of their plans.

    HostMonster's VPS plans
    HostMonster has a variety of VPS plans. Screenshot courtesy of WhoIsHostingThis.

    Our HostMonster Discount for You

    If you want to give HostMonster a try, don't forget you can get a full refund if you cancel within 30 days. Just make sure you take advantage of our discount before signing up.

    We can give you a special intro offer on their shared hosting plans. No coupon or promo code necessary, just click here to receive the discounted hosting rate.

    Behind the Scenes

    For managing your hosting, HostGator gives you their own customized version of cPanel.

    Using the HostMonster control panel is simple. Upon logging into your hosting account, you’ll be greeted by a clean and organized space to work with. Right away they give you a preview of your website and an easy log-in button to access WordPress.

    HostMonster's Control Panel
    HostMonster's Control Panel. Screenshot courtesy of WhoIsHostingThis.

    On the left sidebar, you’ll be able to view the sites you’re hosting, visit the Marketplace for themes and add-ons, check and manage email, as well as access advanced features typical to cPanel.

    When you select these advanced options, you'll be able to view information about your hosting plans and keep track of disk space and bandwidth usage. You’ll also have access to various statistical tools like AWStats and Webalizer.

    You'll find it easy to install applications like WordPress and Joomla from the "website" section of the control panel.

    Also, try out the included Weebly website builder if you want to build your website here instead of on WordPress.

    Advanced options on the Control Panel
    Advanced options on HostMonster's Control Panel. Screenshot courtesy of WhoIsHostingThis.

    If You Like This Host, Also Look At...

    If HostMonster sounds good to you but you want the reliability of an uptime guarantee, you should look at HostGator.

    HostGator is a very similar hosting company with a lot of the same features and pricing structures. HostGator includes a 99.9% uptime guarantee for all plans. You can receive compensation from them if your site experiences more downtime than this.

    HostMonster may run WordPress, but all they offer is one-click downloads of the app. Other hosting companies can give you optimized WordPress plans that are designed to run the CMS system at optimal performance.

    For this, look into Bluehost’s WordPress plans which are built on VPS technology for extreme speed.

    FAQs

    You've got questions? I've got answers!

    What do HostMonster’s courtesy backups entail?

    The company states that they provide courtesy backups for your website. So, what exactly does this mean? First of all, they don’t offer redundant or mirrored backups. Only one copy of your website will be backed up.

    They run these backups at their own discretion. These are not guaranteed, so don’t rely on them for your backup needs.

    Instead, you can add Site Backup Pro to your plan which will allow you to perform your own daily backups and restore your website from multiple points in history. It will be your own responsibility to download backups if you wish to keep a copy of your data.

    HostMonster will delete backups older than 30 days.

    Does HostMonster make an uptime guarantee?

    No, so you will not be compensated if your website experiences significant downtime. Other companies, such as HostGator, provide uptime guarantees and will compensate you with a full month of hosting credit if you experience significant downtime.

    Instead, HostMonster makes the same uptime statement as many other companies that don’t offer guarantees. They acknowledge that their servers may experience downtime which is caused by issues typically resolved within 15 minutes. Though, it can sometimes take longer to fix problems.

    As a result, HostMonster will issue a pro-rated refund if you cancel your hosting account due to server downtime. You can engage in uptime monitoring from your control panel to keep an eye on this.

    How easy is it to set up a basic website with HostMonster?

    The process of getting a website up and online will be fairly simple. Once you choose a hosting plan, you’ll be prompted to pick out a domain name. Remember you’ll get one for free with HostMonster. Then, you'll be given additional add-on options including Site Backup Pro, Search Engine Jumpstart, and SiteLock Security.

    Once you have set up your account and paid for your hosting, you’ll have access to HostMonster’s cPanel. Here, you have two options for creating a website quickly. The first is using their site builder, and the second is installing WordPress.

    Either way, you’ll be able to create a basic website in minutes and post it online for the world to see.

    Does HostMonster offer a content delivery network (CDN)?

    Yes, they give you access to CloudFlare, a powerful CDN, for free. You will just have to enable this from your control panel by clicking the CloudFlare icon and clicking "activate."

    CloudFlare caches the content of your website across a global network so that your website viewers will receive content from the location closest to them. They will enjoy much faster loading times as a result of this.

    This will help you reduce bounce rates from visitors who don’t want to wait a few seconds extra for your website to load.

    HostMonster Quick Overview

    Here's a look at HostMonster from cruising altitude.

    Specializations

    HostMonster provides great customer support. They are available 24/7 via phone and live chat, ready to answer any question and help you solve problems.

    They allow inexperienced users to install apps with zero difficulty through MOJO Marketplace.

    HostMonster is fantastic for developers, with many access features and developer tools available.

    Migration Policy

    HostMonster offers a website transfer service from your account. They will migrate up to 5 websites and 20 email accounts for you, from one single account with your old hosting provider.

    Online Support Documentation

    HostMonster has good online help materials.

    1. Searchable Knowledgebase with 550+ articles
    2. "Getting Started" launch page that links to all the steps you'll need to take as a new website owner
    3. "How-to" video tutorials
    4. All help pages are tagged, making it easy to find relevant search terms
    5. Live chat 24/7.

    Control Panels

    HostMonster uses a customized version of the cPanel control panel.

    Datacenters

    The company's datacenter is located in Utah, USA.

    Money-Back Guarantee

    HostMonster offers a 30-day money-back guarantee. You can cancel your hosting account by contacting their customer service and you will be issued a full refund.

    HostMonster's Lowest-Priced Plan

    HostMonster's cheapest plan starts at $4.95/month for your first term, when signing up for 36 months. Your plan will renew at their regular rate which is $10.99/month.

    This plan comes with:

    • One website and one free domain
    • Unmetered bandwidth and 50 GB of storage
    • 5 email accounts, each with 100 MB of storage
    • 5 parked domains
    • 25 subdomains.

    Backup Policy

    HostGator will provide courtesy site backups. However, the details of how they work are unclear.

    You can add Site Backup Pro to your hosting plan at an additional charge for further control over your backups. This will allow you to backup your site daily and restore yourself with one click.

    Site builder Included?

    Yes, HostMonster offers a free site builder via Weebly.

    PCI Compliance

    Yes, HostMonster supports PCI compliance on all of their plans.

    HostMonster's Biggest Customers

    I wasn't able to find any large companies or brands which use HostMonster.

    Pros and Cons

    Let's summarize. What's HostMonster best at? What could be improved?

    Pros

    1. HostMonster has a user-friendly control panel with easy application installs
    2. The company provides many tools for developers, such as various avenues of access to code, files, and databases.
    3. Their shared hosting plans include unlimited disk space and storage which is great for smaller websites.

    Cons

    1. HostMonster doesn't make an uptime guarantee which means you cannot receive compensation from them if your website experiences significant downtime
    2. They could also do with a more organized and user-friendly knowledgebase.

    Final Thoughts

    HostMonster's website isn’t nearly as welcoming as their popular alternatives, Bluehost and HostGator.

    It doesn’t provide much detail for consumers and lists a lot of features without really explaining them. You’ll also have to do some work to find the breakdown of their shared hosting plans as they’re hidden behind a "get started" button.

    However, the company does have some affordable hosting options. You can find some basic shared hosting for smaller businesses at a budget price. And many included features that developers will enjoy.

    However, there is nothing that really sets them apart from their close competitors.

    Last updated: 2018-01-18

    86 Reviews of HostMonster By Our Users

    2 stars
    Support
    2 stars
    Features
    4 stars
    Uptime
    1 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    hostmonster is the worst webhosting provider on the planet, i've been facing problems with email server since i started my hosting (shared Pro package) and when i report my issues to their tech support ,the issue get resolved for a few hours ( sometimes 2 or 3 days max) and they keep coming back
    sometimes they suggest to buy more features,saying that will help solve my issues but nothing get resolved
    based on their recommendation i decided to switch to a dedicated server package, that's when everything went wrong
    i dont recieve emails, emails bounced back on daily basis, ton of spam, storage space get maxed out for no reason
    i even bought their spam filter(spam expert) and nothing happened same issues and worse thing happened after that, i couldn't move my domain to another provider because they were unable to remove the spam filter IP from the emails server MX record
    and they keep giving me excuses all this time without any explanation or even a real ETA to when the issues will be resolved
    and to top it all they will give me my money back with a pro-rated refund(WTH) i switched from shared package a dedicated server and since then i didn't had a single day of a normal operation , this is preposterous

     
    4 stars
    Support
    3 stars
    Features
    4 stars
    Uptime
    5 stars
    Value
    4 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    I been with HostMonster for 7+ years and seen their office in Utah some time back. They run a tight ship and had great tech support with knowledgable folks answering the phone and chats. As a software engineer I was impressed.

    But then they sold out to HostGator their biggest competitor and the nice family feeling on knowing the folks by name changed into a more formal process. Now I can't say the chats are that great technically, they are OK, depending on who you get. I originally chose them because they offered a SSH account and would install extra tools I wanted like a certain version of Python or ImageMagick, they would do it.

    Those days are gone. I like the features they offer with email account and ssh and ftp and its easy to install WP Joomla and create databases with MySQL. I also used get VPS service and its one of the better deals around based on price.

    I don't like they say traffic and storage is unlimited. Really Unlimited? Well I had a camera Ftp'ing security images up and after about a week they shut my account down due to "too many connections".

    How Many? Just too many! No concrete number.

    Why can these ISP give hard numbers on their limits, computers work with hard numbers. Not fuzzy feel good logic. Add better tech support quality of people and some real limits and you get 5 stars.

    Still compared to many other they are a nice place and I like their $65 referral fee. They are BlueHost are basically the same thing. The servers sit side by side.

     
    2 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    1 stars
    Uptime
    3 stars
    Value
    2 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    I used hostmonster for a couple of years and they provided good technical service until I had a problem with their billing department. They have not been able to resolve a billing issue for 4 days so far and my websites and emails have been down. All I get from their chat service is excuses. Look around for another provider unless your business can afford to be without a website and email for an undetermined amount of time.

     
    5 stars
    Support
    5 stars
    Features
    5 stars
    Uptime
    5 stars
    Value
    5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    Best hosting I could ask for. Their customer support is second to none, and the support staff speaks perfect English. Very professional and always helpful.

    I work on mostly WordPress websites and have never had an issue. Only thing to consider, however, is that their monthly prices are very expensive. You get what you pay for though, so I don't mind it at all ($6 a month extra over the competition never killed anyone).

     
    1 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    1 stars
    Uptime
    1 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    Used Hostmonster for several years. When my account was due to expire, I used to receive an email notification allowing me to renew. When the company was bought out, I did not receive any messages.

    The only thing I saw was that there was a problem with my emails. In noticing that, I logged in to see what the problem was and noticed they deleted my entire account and want me to renew. But I would have to start over because all of my files and emails and website directory was gone.

    They provide no help and basically didn't care they deleted my account. I will not do business with Hostmonster or any other company that's affiliated with those owners (BlueHost, etc).

     
    3.5 stars
    Support
    4 stars
    Features
    4 stars
    Uptime
    4 stars
    Value
    2 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    It’s interesting to see how different clients get different treatment from the same service provider. One would think the same treatment has to be offered to every client across the board. But hey, this world wouldn’t be unfair if that was the case.

    Ok, I thought I should just point that out. Well, I have been a Hostmonster client for over 10 years and in my dealings with their support team I have never experience an issue that could call for a rant from me. Their support has always been top notch, fast at resolving issues and great at communication.

    Have had a few down times over the years, of course, but there were all planned and pre communicated to me. Only thing, I think they need to do better is to notify clients of every price increase for their services. It sucks to just wake up and see a different price increase for a domain renewal.

    There is a general downward trend in domain pricing and wonder why domains registered through Hostmonster have taken an upward route, comparatively. Otherwise, overall, I am happy with Hostmonster service.

     
    1 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    1 stars
    Uptime
    1 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    We have been using Hostmonster for our two business websites for years now. We've had our first need to contact them recently for an account outage. While their technical support and account assessment departments were helpful, their billing department was just going around and around in circles, not answering our questions and our underlying issue is still unsolved. We're looking for a new hosting provider now, probably Australian based.

     
    1 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    1 stars
    Uptime
    1 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    This is the worst hosting company I have ever been with. Their phone Always gives a busy signal, their live chat is rarely available and when you do get through, no exaggeration, average wait times exceed 2 hours. The worst part is when you do get through, the customer service reps really arent that helpful

     
    2.5 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    3 stars
    Uptime
    4 stars
    Value
    2 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    I have been a Hostmonster customer since 2007, and have had numerous websites hosted there. I have also suggested their service to everyone of my clients. When I first signed up they boasted great customer service & support.

    Their support was 24/7 & 100% Usa-based with a guaranteed "under 2 minutes wait". They also offered unlimited domain hosting at an extremely fair price. I can definitely vouch for the support.

    Every time I called in it was fast, courteous, and my problems were resolved, no mater what. About a year ago they revamped their offerings, changed the pricing structure, and support just fell off the end of the world. I noticed that their Twitter accts (main & help) stopped being updated about 5 or 6 months ago, support chat wait times were ridiculous, and there were times that the phone was never answered.

    In my most recent experience (today 5/21/16) I was unable to one-click install a Wordpress script (something I've done w/o fail many times in 9 years). I tried several times before contacting support. I logged into chat and wait time showed 7 min.

    When it dropped to 3 min, it jumped up to 5 min, then back up to 7 min. After roughly 12+ min, I was asked to verify my acct. When I the rep my info it was about 3 min before he replied, saying ok give me a few min to verify.

    After verification he asked for a few more min, eventually getting back to me, asking me to now try the one-click install. I got the same error. After a few min of silence, he said OK well you just need to do a manual install.

    WTF? After nearly 10 years I walk away, and will no longer recommend HM. In fact, I will tell my future clients to avoid it like the plague!

     
    1 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    1 stars
    Uptime
    1 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    The worst provider ever especially it's auto renew process. Today it was a second time it charged me without any warning. This time it is for "Professional SiteLock Domain Security" 1 year $47.88

    I don't know anything about how to stop this auto renew process.

    It's very hard to find the setting, I couldn't find it anymore. It charged me a lot of money, took long time to solve the problem and refunded. Very bad experiences with them.

     
    1.5 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    3 stars
    Uptime
    1 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    I have been with Hostmonster for 7 years. I have never had the issues we have had so far this year..unreal amount of down time, every single weekend Im down 2-3 days. Customer support is horrible..no explanations or eta of when the problem is fixed.

    All they do is put a bandaid on the problem, and the weekend comes, and it's right back to being crashed and down. As soon as I can, Im moving all websites off this provider. I do not recommend this provider to Anyone...

     
    1.5 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    2 stars
    Uptime
    1 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    Do not sign up with hostmonster. The company does not send out emails notifying the customer when their site is down. You have to wait an hour for phone support and at least half an hour for online chat support.

    If you host additional sites, they add a dollar to the overall price every year with no improvements to their service. Currently, my site has been down for 4 days. After waiting an hour for tech support, I was told that they are doing maintenance on the server. I have not been notified that my site is down and I do not have access to the control panel or my files.

     
    1.5 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    2 stars
    Uptime
    2 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    Hostmonster at one time, before they got bought out, used to provide reliable service at a fair price. Since the buyout, they've become unresponsive to customer issues, putting their users through a voice mail and online chat hell. It's obvious that the new owners are milking this service for all it's worth without putting anything into solving longtime customer issues.

     
    2.5 stars
    Support
    4 stars
    Features
    2 stars
    Uptime
    2 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    I used them from 2007 to 2015, eight long years. According to pingdom, there are an average of 2.3 downtimes per day, averaging 1 minute long. The uptime percentage is 98.8 percent.

    I have received numerous complaints about how slow my website loads. This is despite the fact that, long ago, I upgraded to the "professional" shared hosting plan, at a cost of close to $40/month. I just moved my site over to SiteGround. 100% uptime in the last 24 hrs and much faster load times.

    At least Hostmonster agreed to cancel my plan and refund my money (prorated). I had to call them to cancel, though. There is no cancel button on their website or in the control panel.

     
    2 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    3 stars
    Uptime
    2 stars
    Value
    2 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    I hate their customer support service. It takes lot of time to be in touch with them. Worse customer support I found.

    I like godaddy instead of it. Hostmonster.com is just a wastage of time. Don't go for it.

    You will regret. My friend suggested me to go for hostmonster.com

     
    1.5 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    2 stars
    Uptime
    1 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    I have had hostmonster for about 5-6 years now, in the beginning the service was "ok", I didn't need any support and I took a while building my site in Wordpress to include purchasing themes etc. I have run into many issues with email & FTP not working, and recently decided to not renew my subscription and move over to Squarespace or someone else who actually values their customers. On December 8th they had a planned server maintenance and upgrade, that same day mysteriously my site was taken down for " TOS Violation- Malware", hmmm a site that has been up and running for 5+ years gives a malware warning in Every directory of Every domain after you upgrade your servers?

    I was eventually sent a email containing a list of "infected" files and directories. They did not include a way to remove those files as the system was locked but I was instructed that these are the problem and need to be addressed (pretty much anything that was a .js file) Anyhow, their support is lacking, their service is lacking and if I had time to move my site 3yrs ago i would have, Now, it seems I have no choice, so I guess I should thank them for that. Avoid hostmoneter if you value Your Site, your business and your online name/ reputation that's just my opinion based on my experience.

     
    2 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    2 stars
    Uptime
    3 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    Can never get a hold of anyone on the support line to ask a question about a bill or anything else. I was unable to find out exactly what I am being billed for. I have another similar site with another provider at 20% of the cost of Host Monster.

    The only way I could stop the mess was to stop the credit card payments. They noticed that right away, but still no way to talk to a person. We will be going with another provider.

     
    3 stars
    Support
    2 stars
    Features
    4 stars
    Uptime
    3 stars
    Value
    3 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    I've had Hostmonster since 2009. It was fantastic, however in the last few years I have noticed a steady decrease in quality. Tech Support:
    When I first used HM the tech support was easy to get a hold of (5-1 minute wait time), knowledgeable, patient, and very friendly.

    Then they introduced their webchat support, which I loved. Now I'm on hold for at least 45 minutes (usually a lot more regardless of the time of day/night) and the webchat is no faster. I've actually have seen the webchat window count down from 59 minutes, get to 1 minute, then restart at 27 minutes.

    When the support does finally help you they are clueless, annoyed, and eager to get off of the phone. If you have used the webchat for tech support they do not respond quickly as they are helping multiple people at once, and they are also unhelpful. Email:
    The email was fine for a while, but recently I noticed that I do not receive emails from clients and have difficulty sending emails.

    When sending an email the window will freeze. The email search option is utterly useless. Even when you have the email address of the sender you are looking for and you use the most general search options, you are unable to find a specific email.

    I've actually had it come up blank many times even though the sender's email will show up in my inbox. Don't even bother adding extra criteria to an email search, you will get nothing. General:
    Whenever I had a problem in the past that was small I would send an email and let them respond when they had a moment.

    At first I would get an email response within 24 hours Plus a follow up phone call. Now I don't event receive an email reply. I like a lot of the features and add-ons Hostmonster offers, but their rude and inefficient customer and tech support have killed it for me.

    The last week has been the final straw for me as the email and control panel have not been accessible. It is time for me to move on.

     
    2 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    4 stars
    Uptime
    2 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    We started using Hostmonster about 8 years ago. At that time, hardly anyone new of them, and the service was impeccable. Support personnel really seamed to care.

    About 3 years ago things began to change and tech support began to wane. In the past year, support is basically non existent. For example, we relied on Hostmonster Webmail, and in the past few months webmail is broken, and there seems to be no interest in fixing it.

    Whenever we call for any type of help, hold time is at minimum 45min to 2 hours and then the tech person doesn't have an answer. I've been a loyal customer, however it is now time to change. My concern is the ease of making a change, how to avoid the pitfalls associated with Hostmonster with a new provider, and how to find a provider that really wants to be a provider.

    Also confusing are the associations. For example, Hostmonster is the same as BlueHost, and even this site rates BlueHost as a reasonable provider whereas in reality they are one and the same as Hostmonster.

     
    2.5 stars
    Support
    2 stars
    Features
    3 stars
    Uptime
    3 stars
    Value
    2 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    I have been with Hostmonster for five years and recently ran into a problem when I found out that someone was able to change my password through the password reset option. So it has to go through billing who informs me that I have to provide the financial document from 5 years ago to prove I am who I say I am. Seriously?

    I have 619 emails over those years with hostmonster but that first one with the order info was not there. Surely they could have used other billing amounts on other dates for the many domain renewals, hosting renewals etc. Nope.

    They have no problem to even suggest I contact the credit card company for them to provide me a paper copy of the statement from five years ago. Yet, the person who gained access to my account can move along with no problem. Lock him out?

    No way. It has been a very unpleasant experience and continues to be so. I am removing all of my domains from their control as fast as possible.

    Bottom line: I found their help for most typical situations to be fine. But have someone steal your access code and they are the most unhelpful people on the planet. If your're running an ecommerce site or need access all of the time, run away from these people.

    Or decide for yourself .... I know I have.

     
    3 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    4 stars
    Uptime
    4 stars
    Value
    2 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    I have been with host monster quite a few years and been quite happy but customer service has got so bad over the last year that I am looking elsewhere. I am also have some problems with their server not running my cron job and terminating my scripts before they have finished, no help or explanation given

     
    2.5 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    1 stars
    Uptime
    4 stars
    Value
    3 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    I've been with HostMonster for many years. For the most part I have nothing to complain about, uptime was amazing, it had all of the features that I needed, price/value was good, and technical support was snappy. Then we look back at the last 18-24 months, and it feels like a different company.

    Tech support wait times have become much longer, with the techs visibly multitasking between tickets. The techs have also gotten worse in their knowledge of the system. I have to teach them the basics, and their scripts are insufficient.

    The majority of their responses to problems are an upsell to some new feature or package. If I didn't know any better, I would say that they fired the techs and moved sales into the tech support position. The worst problems have been in the last 12 months.

    E-mail deliverability has become abysmal. They have signed on so many spammers, that their mail servers are blacklisted around the globe. We are a business that relies on guaranteed email delivery, and the 2 or 3 times we had a flood of bounces, we had to go to our personal gmail accounts just to be able to keep working. They have no answers, leaving us to shop around for a new host.

     
    2 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    2 stars
    Uptime
    3 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    I've had an account with HostMonster for six or seven years. Early on I was reasonably happy with the features and technical support they offered, but their value for money in the last few years has gone downhill rapidly. The most annoying thing about their approach to customer service is their aggressive pricing strategy.

    Their approach is to try to lock customers in and hope that the inconvenience of switching hosts will prevent customers doing so, even if their prices spiral out of control. Right now they are advertising the service that I use with them for $3.95 a month on their homepage. So what's the special price they offer me as a veteran customer? $11.98 if I sign up for another 3 years!

    If I want to pay a month at a time, it's $17.99. Their approach of offering discounts for 3-year contracts should also be a warning: any host that has faith in its own level of customer service and satisfaction shouldn't demand that you lock yourself in for 3 years in order to get a competitive price. It signals to you that they are going to do pretty nicely if you abandon them in disgust after the first few weeks.

    They also advertise a lot of "unlimited"s -- unlimited storage, unlimited transfer. They don't mean it. They repeatedly complain about moderate usage based on a terms of service that is designed not to be read. Altogether, a host that certainly is not interested in keeping its customers happy.

     
    1 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    1 stars
    Uptime
    1 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    Hostmonster is exactly that : A " Monster" to deal with. They have absolute "zero" level of service. The minimum wait to get tech support is over 30 minutes.

    TheIr chat has a wait of 19 minutes! . I have lost 3 weeks of email service with them and they don't know how to fix the problem. They even do not host my website properly as it loads very slow and my search engine marketing campaign is suffering as a result since the "pay per clicks" take long to upload and connect.

    Unfortunately I paid three years of hosting and I cannot even get a customer service person on phone to get my money back. They are horrible in everyaspect. Technical and customer service.

     
    1.5 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    2 stars
    Uptime
    2 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    I have been with hostmonster for many years. The early years were great, smart people, quick resolutions. However....now is a whole new world.

    Server problems poorly resolved, email for clients disrupted. Tickets ignored, or at best dumb answers, like read the help section. The most recent online chat was a disaster, I think the guy must have been a passing cleaner who sat down at the PC.

    He had no idea what I was talking about and was as close to being plain rude and dismissive as it gets and terminated the chat when he got fed up. For Gods sake Don't sign up. Feel sorry for me who was suckered into another 3 years before I released what was happening. It would be nice for an insider to let us know what went wrong there, must have been something big.

     
    2 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    2 stars
    Uptime
    3 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    Same as most here. Hostmonster were good for the first coupe of years. Now it's all falling to pieces.

    Email problems galore. Clients incoming mail is missing, being rejected as spam. This is largely because the spamassasin tool is badly managed, if at all.

    If you look at a rejected mail, to see why it was rejected, it is using an old blacklist database. Which if you visit their site plainly says 'this database in no longer working and is now set to always return a positive' That's why we have all been getting missing mail. As they are selling a 'premium email tool' wouldn't surprise me to find its neglected with a purpose.

    I have repeatedly told them this in 'Tickets' which have all been either, ignored or answered by someone who seems to be on drugs, who doesn't even respond to the question. If you are looking for a host RUN elsewhere.

     
    1 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    1 stars
    Uptime
    1 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    I have been having problem with there system all the time and charging you for site doctor to fix problems, when its there work to fix their own problems, it suck!! Don't spend or waist your money with them.

     
    2.5 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    2 stars
    Uptime
    3 stars
    Value
    3 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    HostMonster - *Very poor technical support! We have had technical errors on our hosting server for almost 2 months without proper resolve - Technical staff are friendly/ etiquette, but simply cannot fix the technical issues and are very quick to try and pass technical related issues back to the client without root cause fixes in place. We have followed ever request and yet technical staff are quick to claim they've 'tested' the issue and all is fine, but as soon as we try what should be a very simple once-click install for software via their Mojo solution, various errors occur (Numerous emails have been sent with screen shots).

    After holding the line for a fairly long time (*South Africa to USA) and testing with tech staff to no avail... We requested technical staff contact us after their "thorough investigation", which never happened and we had to follow-up again due to the lack of feedback. We then requested a senior technical manage contact us, but have yet to hear anything. HostMonster is quite happy to charge a monthly fee, but seem to think its more than satisfactory to keep client's website solutions down for months (*first call was logged in early December 2014) - Would your business want this from a so called "Top" hosting company?

     
    3 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    5 stars
    Uptime
    3 stars
    Value
    3 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    Initially, i liked the price and features they were offering for a VPS. Until yesterday afternoon the website was working perfectly. After i returned from lunch the website got screwed up with database connectivity issues.

    I have been calling them repeatedly but they are neither giving a time line nor a solution. The support technicians are not able to answer two simple questions
    1.) When everything was working perfectly why did the website go down
    2.) If you say, the files are altered why don't you restore them to the previous state i.e., 1 day back
    I call them and they put me on hold for half an hour. Really Disgusting. HostMonster has to improve its support to stay in the market.

     
    2 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    1 stars
    Uptime
    3 stars
    Value
    2 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    Hostmonster was excellent when we first signed up about 6 years ago. In the past 2-3 years, I feel like it's a completely different company. It almost takes a talent to be that bad in customer service, reliability and indifferent attitude.

    My biggest issue is recently all of our company's email are being flagged as Spam. The explanation I got was that we are on a shared server and when other clients spam, we get affected by the server's IP address. They offered a dedicated server option to us for almost $100/month which defeats the purpose of using them in the first place b/c at that price I can manage our own server on location. My advice: is to stay away from them and look else where.

     
    1 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    1 stars
    Uptime
    1 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    Hostmonster is not a good option. They charged my PayPal long after I cancelled my account. Their rep put me on infinite hold. Their servers are really slow. I would avoid them at all costs.

     
    5 stars
    Support
    4 stars
    Features
    5 stars
    Uptime
    5 stars
    Value
    5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    Hostmonster is a great place to host Your Site. I'm being completely honest, my website had an error once, and their great support team helped me Right away. I mean they Seriously put customers first.

    In fact, every now and then i get an e-mail asking if the site is running well. And hostmonster is the most reliable host i've ever used. There have been 0 files lost.Their price is unbeatable for that type of service.

    They have products for Basic sites and e-commerce websites. You can use third party tools of course. Wordpress is available.

    Their tools are all up to date. I would definitely encourage you to try out, you wont regret it. Take my word for it, they are #1.

    I tried to make this review short. But the service is better than it sounds.

     
    2 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    1 stars
    Uptime
    2 stars
    Value
    3 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    Long time client and as a small business owner, they did a great job for me in the inital five years. In the past couple of years, it seems I'm a tadpole in Lake Erie. First, emails were blacklisted because of others on the same email server Spamming and for over a month my emails were periodically being blocked by other servers but no one informed me this is happening.

    My solution was to go with Office 365 which works great. Next issue, I use an html editor to manage certain pages and now they have changed it and the new one doesn't have all the same features. I'm now going to have to go fine another host. Hostmonster Sucks!

     
    5 stars
    Support
    5 stars
    Features
    5 stars
    Uptime
    4 stars
    Value
    5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    Hostmonster is an Amazing host for people hosting anything from a personal/E-Commerce site, to a business site. They provide all tools needed for a great website. Personally, i've never had a problem with HM and whenever i had a question, i got a solution.

    Their prices are unbeatable for that type of quality. They have many plugins such as Wordpress. They even have a Market!

    This all sounds awesome but its even better having it. Trust me they've hosted me for 4 years.

     
    2 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    2 stars
    Uptime
    3 stars
    Value
    2 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    I should have read the reviews before purchasing service from HostMinster. HostMonster Sucks, and here's why. I purchased service from them one week ago.

    after spending the time it takes to give them my CC information, choose a user name, password. FTP files. etcetera ...Everything seemed fine.

    Wrong. They wait a few days then ask me to send them a copy of my Identification, along with a copy of my credit card. They ask for all of the numbers of my credit card to be blacked out except the last four digits.

    Are they serious? I tried to call them, and was on hold for around fifteen minutes before I somehow got disconnected. So I responded to them explaining that this was not going to happen.

    What they did was to shut down my site, and replace my html with their ads with a note to call customer service. Hopefully this review will save someone precious time before wasting time with HostMonster. It turned out to be a blessing in disguise, because after this incident, I researched them further and found out that they are a sub par hosting company, nothing like I expected.

    So if you don't care about service, and you don't mind sending a copy of your drivers license and credit card info to complete strangers. Then this may be the hosting company for you.

     
    3 stars
    Support
    3 stars
    Features
    1 stars
    Uptime
    5 stars
    Value
    2 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    I have used this host for several years. Lately I began getting spam emails that came from third party vendors and I contacted Hostmonster about this. They do distribute emails to third party vendors without permission. If you like email spam, this is your company.

     
    5 stars
    Support
    5 stars
    Features
    5 stars
    Uptime
    5 stars
    Value
    5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    I have no idea who is posting these other reviews by my experience has been completely positive with Hostmonster. I have used a couple of competitors and had issues primarily with downtime. I host about 10 different domains currently with Hostmonster and the only downtime I have ever had was planned and they would send emails in advance notifying me of the planned outage including dates, times, and expected length.

    My traffic is low and I don't need to utilize too many features, however I have no complaints at all as compared with other more expensive providers I have used in the past. I have never had to contact support because I have never had problems.

     
    2 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    3 stars
    Uptime
    1 stars
    Value
    2 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    Hostmonster started out really great for my needs; hosting a small business webpage with low traffic. When our requirements changed and we started hosting small databases; the hosting was impossibly slow. We were encouraged to upgrade to a shared hosting server (shared with fewer customers).

    This again was far too slow and we were encouraged strongly to move to a VPS at a cost of around $500/yr... again, this was too slow. Tech support advised us that its slower than the service we first had, just that it was a private resource.

    Then came the downtime - we had to close our online part of the the business for ten days with their company wide outages, we lost thousands of dollars. Tech support gave no answers, no Eta's - literally a 'keep waiting' style response. Once the network was back online - customers received a 'sorry we messed up' email; no explanations, no compensation - nothing. Hostmonster is good if you want to host a family album or a hobby website; but its just not fit for businesses of any size

     
    1 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    1 stars
    Uptime
    1 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    Hostmonster has turn off my account for several times with no announcement first. Then I must buy sitedoctor to clean my sites from malware (they said). If they want to sell such services, why don't they including the cost in the hosting package cost?

    I ran an online business and my hostmonster account contain at least 5 websites, don't they think about what lost I got? I won't recommend this host again to my clients. I plan to move all of my sites to other hosting company. Is anyone could give me recommendation??

     
    5 stars
    Support
    5 stars
    Features
    5 stars
    Uptime
    5 stars
    Value
    5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    I run a web development company and always host client's as well as my own company's site with Hostmonster (over 6 years now). Quite frankly, I don't understand the negative reviews here. Over the past 6 years I have had very little trouble with this hosting service and when I have a question, Tickets and Live Chat are prompt and on-point.

    No issues here. In fact, we routinely move clients' over from other hosting services who nickle-and-dime them for resources and features that are already included with the Basic HM service (cough GoDaddy *cough). CON: The basic hosting service can be a little slow when it comes to First-byte page loading, but that's the price for a shared hosting service.

    I have also experienced the same with PowWeb and GoDaddy. However, once you bump up to Pro Hosting, the speed of Your Site increases tremendously. I would highly recommend over GoDaddy or similarly-priced web hosting service.

     
    1 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    1 stars
    Uptime
    1 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    My company used this service for several years, but in the last 6 months, they've had nothing but problems! I moved our entire company site to another hosting company and no problems since!! However, today my boss asked me to contact HostMonster and find out why one of our oldest web pages would not load.

    Customer service was just downright Rude and ignorant. They even had the gall to keep regurgitating the Same sentences when I asked several questions!! The final straw was when the representative on Live Chat told me to find the problem myself!

    We've cancelled every subscription with this horrible hosting company and will Never recommend them!! If this is how they treat long term customers they will soon be out of business and well deserved too! Don't go with BlueHost either...they are owned and run by HostMonster!!

     
    1 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    1 stars
    Uptime
    1 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    Absolutely Terrible. Do not waste your time and money! I have several domains and hosting accounts with them.

    My sites are down regularly for hours at a time. When I ask technical department when they will be up, I get short sharp response that they have no idea and cannot give me a timeframe, as they are working on their servers and no apologies. I cant even transfer my sites now to a new host as the files and databases cannot me accessed.

    For all I know its all been wiped. There technical department are useless, don't care at all that the services you are paying for don't work, my customers can't access the sites, and no one can work on them. Do not waste your money and time!

     
    1 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    1 stars
    Uptime
    1 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    I have moved my personal hosting, and that of most of my clients away from Hostmonster. Unfortunately, I have one client left there. I went in today at 10:00 am est 2014-04-16, and .........you guessed it........they went down!!

    It is 4:07 pm est as I write this.........they are still down. When they come up I will move my last client, and be rid of this black hole of a hosting company. Dont buy their services!!!!!!!!!!!!!

     
    3 stars
    Support
    2 stars
    Features
    4 stars
    Uptime
    2 stars
    Value
    3 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    When I put up my site in 2011, everything ran great, I had no observable downtime and phone tech support was fast. For about the last year and a half, the decline has been swift. I'm on the phone with them about every 2-3 months.

    One day in 2013, the entire BlueHost family went dark for almost an entire business day, including phone support. I had to google my problem before I could find out the situation. Then I found out the ugly truth-they run 4 companies out of the same data center with no redundancy and no separate communication systems.

    And no letter of apology to customers for the extreme inconvenience. My email went down just the other day, the wait for tech support was over 30 minutes and all they could say is that they were working on the outage and had no ETA on when service would return. It was down 8 hours, but back up by noon my time.

    I just don't trust them, this is my business. I'm looking for a better host.

     
    2 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    4 stars
    Uptime
    1 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    ​I just left hostmonster(really sucks, rated Zero) after 4 years. Thru the 4 years, I have over 3000 emails from intersee stating my site was down anywhere from 1 hour to 3 days as i believe they meddle with the server too often, what isn't broke doesn't need fixing. Aside from that, i have word press sites that they recommend with the one click but wordpress is total garbage, it is the easiest hacking site on the internet and hostmonster doesn't protect its customers from malware or virus attacked, yes, they are getting through the website but they are hacking your server and you should have protection on your servers.

    I just called other hosting like 1and1 and they provide free malware protection with sitelock, all hostmonster wants is money, they tech support staff is the worst, i know more of what problems are then they do. i have told they so many times that my site was down do to php configurations and they would say no, no one meddle with the server today, just garbage and stay away from them. They chose to lose me as a customer rather than just run a program to fix the malware they allowed to happen due to no protection, just shows they do not care about you as a customer, very poor communication skills as well

     
    2 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    4 stars
    Uptime
    1 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    hostmonster is by far the biggest crap hosting company you can find on this planet. I changed my websites to hostmonster because I wanted to diferentiate my business websites to reduce 100% downtown and thus no income... Jezus, there is nothing more that I regret in my life than changing my money websites to hostmonster!

    since I use hostmonster my life is a mess. My websites are more offline than online. I get constantly 500 errors!

    I have been hacked 4 times in 2 months which I Never had before in 3 years of online affiliate marketing ventueres. this joke costed me over 450$ to restore 22 of my websites. When you see that your website is offline and you contact the support the real trouble starts.

    All they do is blame you for their mistakes and problems. Your website is offline sire? perhaps you should buy site security?

    WTF, I already bought sitedoctor for all of my 22 websites which costed me a fortune and afther 1 month all my websites got offline again... BUT you would need to buy sitedoctor again since it is a one time service. talking about quality...

    the support members are mostly rude and not helpfull, waiting times are super long and 1 minute is 10 minutes in reality. I am going to change all of my domains to another host and am looking forward again to a good night rest while my affiliate sides pay my rent. At this moment I spended severial $100's of dollars to this bullshit company.

    My advice: don't work with them! Ever!

     
    1 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    1 stars
    Uptime
    1 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    I have been with Hostmonster for about 7 years. At the beginning it was OK and they provided a great service - fast, reliable, and with a great support. But about 3 years ago I started experiencing slow loading, too many down times (at first, they claimed fire in the server room, then a failure of a router and today DDoS attack).

    Many times when I complained about a speed time, they blamed me for unoptimized websites and many other stuff. Today I lost my patience when my whole account was down since 11 am and it is now 9 pm and it is still down. All my domains, websites, email accounts are dead.

    At first I called them and they told me that it is OK and that they could load everything on their end. And they blamed my ISP provider using wrong routing tables. I had to argue that even third party ping services such as isitdown.com couldn't ping the server and whether they also used wrong tables.

    After arguing for some time, they found out that their server I was hosting on was under DDoS attacked, so they shut it down. Can you imagine it? They simply shut down the server.

    They do not care about businesses of their clients. So, if you want a reliable service, run! Run fast away from this company.

     
    1 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    1 stars
    Uptime
    1 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    Worst Hosting Company. They mess up all the time, and try blame it on you. My websites have been up and down for 5 days straight....very unreliable and the staff is rude and inconsiderate!

    I do not know how such a company can run with so much down time. Absolutely not worth the hundreds of dollars ive spent to get VPS! Someone needs to restructure this company and get top admins to make sure their servers are running ALL the Time, Not some of the time!

     
    2.5 stars
    Support
    1 stars
    Features
    3 stars
    Uptime
    1 stars
    Value
    5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    If you're looking for a cheap host for a small site, go ahead. If you have any interest in uptime, kept promises, or halfway decent support, look elsewhere. After hitting limits on what their front page said was unlimited, we upgraded to their VPS service for considerably more money.

    This was a mistake. Their VPS servers are even more unreliable, and go down on an almost weekly basis taking our email offline with them. When contacting support, you have about a 50/50 chance of getting someone competent, and for most issues, it takes forever to fix, and they never admit fault, even when it's obviously theirs. If you're considering HM for a commercial site or email, think again and save yourself a world of pain.

     
    2 stars
    Support
    3 stars
    Features
    1 stars
    Uptime
    3 stars
    Value
    1 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

    Host Monster sucks because they lie about providing unlimited space, unlimited databases, and unlimited email accounts. On their home page they list those items as a main feature but actually on the terms of service they stipulate limits for number of mysql tables, limits on total number of files, and so every email you receive is counted as a file, so actually there is no unlimited email space. My account has been deactivated - taking all of my sites down - twice.

    Once because I had too many mysql tables, and the second time because One of my email accounts had too many emails on it. I think if they were a honest company they should remove those highlights from their home page as they are deceiving people, or at least put a big asterisk on each one of them and a copy at the bottom letting people know that those features are not actually real.

     

    Most Popular HostMonster Hosting Plans

    Basic Plus Pro
    Disk Space 50GB 50GB Unlimited
    Bandwidth Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
    Price $4.95/mo $6.95/mo $14.95/mo
    View Plan View Plan View Plan

    All HostMonster Hosting Plans

    Hosting Plan Features Disk Space Bandwidth Price
    Basic Shared
    • WordPress
    • PHP
    • Shell Access
    • PostgreSQL
    • CentOS
    • Python
    50GB Unlimited $4.95/month
    Usual price:
    Plus Shared
    • WordPress
    • PHP
    • Shell Access
    • PostgreSQL
    • CentOS
    • Python
    50GB Unlimited $6.95/month
    Usual price:
    Pro Shared
    • WordPress
    • PHP
    • Shell Access
    • PostgreSQL
    • Dedicated IP
    • CentOS
    Unlimited Unlimited $14.95/month
    Usual price:
    Standard VPS Shared
    • WordPress
    • PHP
    • Shell Access
    • PostgreSQL
    • Dedicated IP
    • CentOS
    30GB 1TB $28.74/month
    Usual price:
    Enhanced VPS Shared
    • WordPress
    • PHP
    • Shell Access
    • PostgreSQL
    • Dedicated IP
    • CentOS
    60GB 2TB $57.49/month
    Usual price:
    Premium VPS Shared
    • WordPress
    • PHP
    • Shell Access
    • PostgreSQL
    • Dedicated IP
    • CentOS
    120GB 3TB $86.24/month
    Usual price:
    Ultimate VPS Shared
    • WordPress
    • PHP
    • Shell Access
    • PostgreSQL
    • Dedicated IP
    • CentOS
    240GB 4TB $114.99/month
    Usual price:
    Standard Dedicated Shared
    • WordPress
    • PHP
    • Shell Access
    • PostgreSQL
    • Dedicated IP
    • CentOS
    500GB 5TB $143.74/month
    Usual price:
    Enhanced Dedicated Shared
    • WordPress
    • PHP
    • Shell Access
    • PostgreSQL
    • Dedicated IP
    • CentOS
    1000GB 10TB $191.66/month
    Usual price:
    Premium Dedicated Shared
    • WordPress
    • PHP
    • Shell Access
    • PostgreSQL
    • Dedicated IP
    • CentOS
    1000GB 15TB $239.57/month
    Usual price:

    HostMonster Frequently Asked Questions

    • Does HostMonster offer any Windows hosting plans?

      HostMonster is a Linux-only provider.

    • Where are HostMonster's datacenters located?

      HostMonster does not publicize the location of its datacenter.

    • Are managed dedicated servers available at HostMonster?

      Yes. HostMonster provides both dedicated servers and VPS servers with full management.

    • Do I get a free domain with my hosting plan?

      Every plan comes with a free domain for the first year.

    • Will my price change from the intro price when I renew my services?

      HostMonster offers a promotional price for the first term only. It renews at the regular rate. It offers progressively lower prices for longer contracts.

    • If I am dissatisfied, can I get a refund?

      HostMonster provides a 30-day money-back guarantee on most hosting plans. If you cancel after this time, you will receive a pro-rated refund for unused months.

    • Will HostMonster compensate me for downtime?

      No. HostMonster does not have an uptime guarantee.

    • Can I get support on the phone?

      Yes. 24x7 support is available by phone.

    • Does HostMonster still offer reseller plans?

      No. HostMonster announced in late 2014 that it will no longer be accepting reseller hosting signups.

    • Can the team help me with transferring an existing site?

      It will migrate up to 5 websites and 20 email accounts from a single account. More information is provided in the customer account area.

    • Does HostMonster allow more than one domain per account?

      Yes. Unlimited domains can be hosted.

    • Does the company have a sitebuilder?

      Yes. To help users create sites easily and quickly, Weebly is provided.

    • Does it offer cPanel?

      Yes. cPanel is provided as the default control panel.

    • What payment options does HostMonster accept?

      HostMonster accepts credit cards, including Visa, Master Card, American Express and Discover. It also accepts PayPal, checks (USD) and money orders (USD).

    • Is there a one-click installer library?

      Yes. All customers can use Mojo Marketplace which allows you to install or upgrade applications, including WordPress and Joomla!.

    • Does HostMonster set up monthly contracts?

      Yes, you can opt for a monthly contract or a longer deal.

    • What does its backup policy look like?

      HostMonster backs up data at its discretion, and those backups are kept for a maximum of 30 days. It would be sensible to set up your own backups, as HostMonster does not guarantee availailability.

    • Which of service would be most appropriate for multiple websites?

      All HostMonster hosting plans can accommodate an unlimited number of websites.

    • Does the company provide unlimited bandwidth and unlimited space?

      Yes. HostMonster offers unlimited bandwidth and disk space, subject to its fair use policy.

    Who Are The Most Popular HostMonster Alternatives?

    Overall 2.5 stars
    Support
    2 stars
    Features
    3 stars
    Uptime
    2.5 stars
    Value
    2.5 stars
    Visit HostMonster
    Overall4 stars

    Price Comparison

    HostMonster$4.95
    SiteGround$3.95
    BlueHost$2.75
    iPage$1.99
    InMotion Hosting$2.95
    A2 Hosting$3.92

    WhoIsHostingThis Recommends

    5 stars
    Support
    5 stars
    Features
    5 stars
    Uptime
    5 stars
    Value
    4.5 stars

    Pros: 24/7 Customer Service , WordPress Experts

    Cons: No Windows hosting plans

    SiteGround is an established web host managing well over 1,000 servers and... Read more about SiteGround

    Visit host
    3.5 stars
    Support
    3.5 stars
    Features
    4 stars
    Uptime
    3.5 stars
    Value
    3.5 stars

    Pros: Free Domain , Unlimited Bandwidth

    Bluehost provides customers with low-cost shared hosting, as well as reseller, VPS... Read more about BlueHost

    Visit host

    3. iPage

    4 stars
    Support
    4 stars
    Features
    4 stars
    Uptime
    4 stars
    Value
    4 stars

    Pros: Instant Activation , Money-back Guarantee

    Based in the US, iPage specialises in low-cost shared hosting. Each plan... Read more about iPage

    Visit host

    Review HostMonster & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

    Already a HostMonster customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more...

    Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about HostMonster.
    Please be specific: we're only interested in hearing that HostMonster rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

    Claim Your Free Domain

    If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

    (We hate spam - see our privacy policy)