Add Your Review for HostMonster

HostMonster Review: Dated Dud Or Next Big Brand? We Asked [count] Users

hostmonster.com
Location:USA
Founded:1996
Phone:866-573-4678
Address:Hostmonster 560 Timpanogos Pkwy Orem, UT 84097 USA
Pros:
  • Unlimited Space & Bandwidth
  • Host Unlimited Domains
  • Free Domain
  • Free Site Builder
  • Phone Support
Cons:
  • Backups not guaranteed
  • No Windows-based plans

HostMonster Review

If you are looking for web hosting, HostMonster is worth a look. In this article, I go through what it has to offer and how it compares to other hosts.

HostMonster Homepage
HostMonster's homepage. Screenshot courtesy of WhoIsHostingThis.

Small Business Hosting

HostMonster is yet another web hosting company that specializes in hosting for small businesses.

Larger companies can find more powerful hosting options with their VPS and dedicated server plans. However, HostMonster is mostly focused on providing budget shared hosting.

Their plans are well-suited to anyone starting a website for the first time.

Small Business Features

With included domain names, easy hosting set-up, a free site builder, and one-click app installations, people can get started without needing any technical knowledge or going elsewhere for additional services.

HostMonster's Corporate Background

HostMonster Features

  • PHP
  • WordPress
  • MySQL
  • Uptime Guarantee
  • Perl
  • cPanel

HostMonster is a web hosting provider that’s been around for two decades. The company is part of the Endurance International Group, a collection of hosting brands for small businesses.

As a result, HostMonster will provide a fairly similar hosting experience as other companies under Endurance International.

For example, HostMonster is a sister company of Bluehost and the two seem almost identical in what they offer.

Getting a Domain with HostMonster

All HostMonster plans include a free domain name for one full year. After this, you will have to renew your domain registration and pay for it yourself.

If you’re looking to get a domain name alone, check out HostGator. They will let you purchase names on their own and point them to whichever hosting company you choose.

PRO TIP: You won’t be able to buy domain names from HostMonster without purchasing a hosting plan as well.

You Get Unlimited Resources for Shared Hosting

HostMonster’s shared plans are perfect for small business web hosting.

It seems commonplace for hosting companies to offer unlimited resources to their shared hosting customers -- and HostMonster is no exception.

All of their shared hosting plans will give you unlimited bandwidth. But, this doesn’t mean that you can use as much as you want. It just means that the company won’t charge you according to how much you use. Instead, accounts on a shared server share all the bandwidth.

But Sometimes "Unlimited" Isn't Actually Unlimited

Sharing bandwidth can be a problem for demanding websites as they may require more bandwidth than is available at times.

However, this storage situation should be adequate for personal websites and small businesses since they won’t have a problem with bandwidth limits. In fact, 99.95% of HostMonster’s customers will be fine with their bandwidth and disk space.

Your disk space allotment will depend on the shared hosting plan that you choose. There are strict limits placed on their cheaper plans while their highest-level plan provides unlimited disk space.

Any small website will have more than enough disk space, even with their cheapest plan.

HostMonster's Cheapest Plans

HostMonster’s cheapest plan also only allows you to host one domain and manage 5 email accounts.

On the other hand, their most expensive shared hosting plan will give you unlimited email accounts, and allow for the hosting of unlimited domains.

Why You Might Want a More Expensive Plan

Why would you need all these email accounts, you ask? Well, you'll probably never need hundreds of them.

But for businesses, it's nice to have different addresses for professionalism. If you have many different employees, then you can give out email addresses to them which they can use for work or to communicate with customers. This makes your businesses appear much more professional and unified.

With HostMonster, you’ll have three different webmail solutions, so your employees can choose the email client that they like the best.

HostMonster's Top 10 Shared Hosting Features

If you explore HostMonster’s website, you’ll eventually land on their "Hosting Features" page. This is full of everything that they offer. But these features aren’t necessarily included in every plan. This list is a bit overwhelming, so I’ll break it down for you.

Shared Hosting Features
HostMonster Feature Description
Website Builder In addition to their unlimited resources, they have listed many other inclusions. For one, all accounts will have access to the free Weebly website builder. This will be described in detail later on.
MOJO Marketplace Additional user-friendly features include HostMonster’s partnership with MOJO Marketplace. With access to this marketplace from your control panel, you’ll be able to install applications in one click.
WordPress So, if you want to start a WordPress website, you won’t have to spend any more time on your HostMonster control panel then you want to.
Blogging As a result, HostMonster supports blogging. You will also be able to collect mailing lists, insert survey software on your site, or add scripts for project management.
Developer Features Developers will have features like FTP access, SSH access, custom Cronjobs, MySQL databases, and CGI-Bin.
Supported Coding Languages Additionally, people with coding knowledge will enjoy support for multiple languages including PHP5, Perl, Python, Ruby on Rails, and JavaScript. These features won’t be important to most hosting users.
E-commerce For e-commerce functionality, HostMonster gives you various shopping carts to choose from. For example, OS Commerce, Agora, Cube Cart, and Zen Cart.
Security Certificates Your website will be hosted on an SSL-secure server and you can generate a free shared security certificate to place on your website. This will provide your customers with the reassurance they need to enter payment information on your store.
Bonus Plan If you want a dedicated IP address and a private SSL certificate for further e-commerce security, HostMonster offers a bonus plan with these included. This bonus plan also comes with Site Backup Pro so you won’t have to purchase it separately.
Media Hosting So that you can give your website all the dynamic and interesting content it needs to keep visitors around, HostMonster supports video streaming, audio streaming, and MIDI files.

HostMonster's Technology

In addition, HostMonster’s technology includes:

  • Dual Quad Processor Performance Servers
  • Diesel Generator Backup power
  • Linux operating system
  • 24/7 network monitoring

These architecture and infrastructure specifications allow HostMonster to offer reliable hosting, reducing the risk of their customers’ websites experiencing large outages.

"Our mission is to bring the power and promise of the web to people." James Grierson, CEO of HostMonster.

Free Website Builder

HostMonster gives you access to the Weebly site builder, a popular drag-and-drop website builder. It allows almost anyone to design and build a website. The website builder software is completely online, meaning you won’t have to install anything to use it.

Using Weebly's Site builder

Designing with Weebly is simple. You just choose a template to start with and then customize it to suit your brand. You can change colors, fonts, and add social sharing buttons. You can drag in pre-built sections like forms.

Weebly vs. WordPress

Upon logging into HostMonster for the first time, you’ll be greeted by options to pick a theme to start designing your new website with WordPress. This shows how simple it is to get started on WordPress when you host with this company.

How to Activate the Weebly Site Builder

But, if you’d rather use the Weebly site builder, you just have to enter your control panel instead and navigate to it.

When you select Weebly from the control panel, you’ll be prompted to pick a theme. Then you’ll have complete drag-and-drop control over your design. Add elements to your pages like maps, contact forms, and buttons.

Building an Online Store Is Easy

People building online stores will like that they can add product pages and categories to their store as well.

How to add a product
Add a product to your store with a few clicks. Screenshot courtesy of WhoIsHostingThis.

You’ll also have the possibility of adding entire pre-built sections to your website pages.

To test this out, I added a menu and a "meet our team" section to my website. These snapped into place and integrated nicely into the homepage.

Pre-built sections
Dragging pre-populated sections to a web page makes it easy to change your site quickly. Screenshot courtesy of WhoIsHostingThis.

HostMonster’s 24/7 Customer Support

One thing I always look for on hosting company websites is live chat for their browsing site visitors. It’s unbelievably helpful to be able to just start a live chat with a customer service member.

Support for Prospective Customers

Sometimes you’ll want to know something about a hosting company that they don’t make clear on their website. For example, they may not make it obvious where their servers are located, if they offer website migration, or what kind of control panel they give you.

Having live chat support for everyone, not just paying customers, is a great thing that HostMonster does. I had a chance to ask them a question and they responded within 5 minutes with a helpful answer. I was satisfied with our short interaction.

Support for Paid Customers

For customers of paid plans, HostMonster support can be reached by live chat or with a toll-free number as well.

These resources are available 24/7. Their website displays a little green light on the support page if their phone and chat assistants are online. They also have a place to display the average wait time you may experience.

Chat with customer support
Anyone can contact HostMonster's support. Screenshot courtesy of WhoIsHostingThis.

Quality of Online Help Documentation

When you land on HostMonster’s support page, you’re greeted with links to their most popular help articles. These will tell you how to do things such as set-up your email account.

The articles themselves are very helpful, but the layout of the knowledgebase isn’t. I would have liked to see some kind of organization on this page.

Many other companies, like Bluehost, make it easier to find help articles on the topics you need. But with HostMonster, you’ll have to use their search feature to find anything.

Payment and Renewal Options

HostMonster gives you multiple payment options and billing preferences. Their services are auto-renewed by default to prevent you from experiencing outages or losing your domain name. However, you can also choose to renew your services manually.

The company does not offer monthly billing options. You will need to sign up for and pay in advance for at least a full year of hosting.

Cancelling Your Plan

You also won’t be able to get a refund if you cancel your plan before your term is up. So, keep in mind that you’ll be stuck paying for HostMonster’s services until the end of your term if you decide you no longer want to host with them.

Monthly vs. Yearly Payments

If you don’t like this and would rather pay for hosting month-to-month, then HostGator may be a better company for you. They offer their plans on a monthly basis so you can cancel anytime without losing months of hosting that you've already paid for.

VPS Plans

HostMonster has powerful virtual private servers (VPS) for people and businesses that need more power. These plans are all fully-managed, so you won’t need technical expertise to use them.

You’ll also be given dedicated and guaranteed server resources.

No Need to Worry About Shared Resources

What does this mean? That you will always have the disk space and bandwidth that is pre-defined by the plan you choose. No sharing of resources with other people on one server. The resources that you purchased are guaranteed to always be available to you.

HostMonster’s servers are built on cloud technology, allowing them to offer you scalable features. As a result, you can expand your business in the future with easy resource upgrades.

VPS Pricing at HostMonster

Their VPS plans are the same prices as the ones you’ll find at Bluehost and HostGator. However, their cheapest plan will give you much less disk space than you’ll get with HostGator’s VPS plan. And, Bluehost gives you unlimited bandwidth on all of their plans.

HostMonster's VPS plans
HostMonster has a variety of VPS plans. Screenshot courtesy of WhoIsHostingThis.

Our HostMonster Discount for You

If you want to give HostMonster a try, don't forget you can get a full refund if you cancel within 30 days. Just make sure you take advantage of our discount before signing up.

We can give you a special intro offer on their shared hosting plans. No coupon or promo code necessary, just click here to receive the discounted hosting rate.

Behind the Scenes

For managing your hosting, HostGator gives you their own customized version of cPanel.

Using the HostMonster control panel is simple. Upon logging into your hosting account, you’ll be greeted by a clean and organized space to work with. Right away they give you a preview of your website and an easy log-in button to access WordPress.

HostMonster's Control Panel
HostMonster's Control Panel. Screenshot courtesy of WhoIsHostingThis.

On the left sidebar, you’ll be able to view the sites you’re hosting, visit the Marketplace for themes and add-ons, check and manage email, as well as access advanced features typical to cPanel.

When you select these advanced options, you'll be able to view information about your hosting plans and keep track of disk space and bandwidth usage. You’ll also have access to various statistical tools like AWStats and Webalizer.

You'll find it easy to install applications like WordPress and Joomla from the "website" section of the control panel.

Also, try out the included Weebly website builder if you want to build your website here instead of on WordPress.

Advanced options on the Control Panel
Advanced options on HostMonster's Control Panel. Screenshot courtesy of WhoIsHostingThis.

If You Like This Host, Also Look At...

If HostMonster sounds good to you but you want the reliability of an uptime guarantee, you should look at HostGator.

HostGator is a very similar hosting company with a lot of the same features and pricing structures. HostGator includes a 99.9% uptime guarantee for all plans. You can receive compensation from them if your site experiences more downtime than this.

HostMonster may run WordPress, but all they offer is one-click downloads of the app. Other hosting companies can give you optimized WordPress plans that are designed to run the CMS system at optimal performance.

For this, look into Bluehost’s WordPress plans which are built on VPS technology for extreme speed.

FAQs

You've got questions? I've got answers!

What do HostMonster’s courtesy backups entail?

The company states that they provide courtesy backups for your website. So, what exactly does this mean? First of all, they don’t offer redundant or mirrored backups. Only one copy of your website will be backed up.

They run these backups at their own discretion. These are not guaranteed, so don’t rely on them for your backup needs.

Instead, you can add Site Backup Pro to your plan which will allow you to perform your own daily backups and restore your website from multiple points in history. It will be your own responsibility to download backups if you wish to keep a copy of your data.

HostMonster will delete backups older than 30 days.

Does HostMonster make an uptime guarantee?

No, so you will not be compensated if your website experiences significant downtime. Other companies, such as HostGator, provide uptime guarantees and will compensate you with a full month of hosting credit if you experience significant downtime.

Instead, HostMonster makes the same uptime statement as many other companies that don’t offer guarantees. They acknowledge that their servers may experience downtime which is caused by issues typically resolved within 15 minutes. Though, it can sometimes take longer to fix problems.

As a result, HostMonster will issue a pro-rated refund if you cancel your hosting account due to server downtime. You can engage in uptime monitoring from your control panel to keep an eye on this.

How easy is it to set up a basic website with HostMonster?

The process of getting a website up and online will be fairly simple. Once you choose a hosting plan, you’ll be prompted to pick out a domain name. Remember you’ll get one for free with HostMonster. Then, you'll be given additional add-on options including Site Backup Pro, Search Engine Jumpstart, and SiteLock Security.

Once you have set up your account and paid for your hosting, you’ll have access to HostMonster’s cPanel. Here, you have two options for creating a website quickly. The first is using their site builder, and the second is installing WordPress.

Either way, you’ll be able to create a basic website in minutes and post it online for the world to see.

Does HostMonster offer a content delivery network (CDN)?

Yes, they give you access to CloudFlare, a powerful CDN, for free. You will just have to enable this from your control panel by clicking the CloudFlare icon and clicking "activate."

CloudFlare caches the content of your website across a global network so that your website viewers will receive content from the location closest to them. They will enjoy much faster loading times as a result of this.

This will help you reduce bounce rates from visitors who don’t want to wait a few seconds extra for your website to load.

HostMonster Quick Overview

Here's a look at HostMonster from cruising altitude.

Specializations

HostMonster provides great customer support. They are available 24/7 via phone and live chat, ready to answer any question and help you solve problems.

They allow inexperienced users to install apps with zero difficulty through MOJO Marketplace.

HostMonster is fantastic for developers, with many access features and developer tools available.

Migration Policy

HostMonster offers a website transfer service from your account. They will migrate up to 5 websites and 20 email accounts for you, from one single account with your old hosting provider.

Online Support Documentation

HostMonster has good online help materials.

  1. Searchable Knowledgebase with 550+ articles
  2. "Getting Started" launch page that links to all the steps you'll need to take as a new website owner
  3. "How-to" video tutorials
  4. All help pages are tagged, making it easy to find relevant search terms
  5. Live chat 24/7.

Control Panels

HostMonster uses a customized version of the cPanel control panel.

Datacenters

The company's datacenter is located in Utah, USA.

Money-Back Guarantee

HostMonster offers a 30-day money-back guarantee. You can cancel your hosting account by contacting their customer service and you will be issued a full refund.

HostMonster's Lowest-Priced Plan

HostMonster's cheapest plan starts at $4.95/month for your first term, when signing up for 36 months. Your plan will renew at their regular rate which is $10.99/month.

This plan comes with:

  • One website and one free domain
  • Unmetered bandwidth and 50 GB of storage
  • 5 email accounts, each with 100 MB of storage
  • 5 parked domains
  • 25 subdomains.

Backup Policy

HostGator will provide courtesy site backups. However, the details of how they work are unclear.

You can add Site Backup Pro to your hosting plan at an additional charge for further control over your backups. This will allow you to backup your site daily and restore yourself with one click.

Site builder Included?

Yes, HostMonster offers a free site builder via Weebly.

PCI Compliance

Yes, HostMonster supports PCI compliance on all of their plans.

HostMonster's Biggest Customers

I wasn't able to find any large companies or brands which use HostMonster.

Pros and Cons

Let's summarize. What's HostMonster best at? What could be improved?

Pros

  1. HostMonster has a user-friendly control panel with easy application installs
  2. The company provides many tools for developers, such as various avenues of access to code, files, and databases.
  3. Their shared hosting plans include unlimited disk space and storage which is great for smaller websites.

Cons

  1. HostMonster doesn't make an uptime guarantee which means you cannot receive compensation from them if your website experiences significant downtime
  2. They could also do with a more organized and user-friendly knowledgebase.

Final Thoughts

HostMonster's website isn’t nearly as welcoming as their popular alternatives, Bluehost and HostGator.

It doesn’t provide much detail for consumers and lists a lot of features without really explaining them. You’ll also have to do some work to find the breakdown of their shared hosting plans as they’re hidden behind a "get started" button.

However, the company does have some affordable hosting options. You can find some basic shared hosting for smaller businesses at a budget price. And many included features that developers will enjoy.

However, there is nothing that really sets them apart from their close competitors.

Last updated: 2018-08-27

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've been a HostMonster customer for about 8 years. I host all kinds of different custom Html and WordPress websites on my HostMonster account. I've never had an issue with downtime, service, etc.

Everything seems to run very smoothly. FTP always works. I like the cpanel interface. Making custom name server changes is also a breeze for the domains I purchase through HostMonster (though the bulk of my domains are at GoDaddy).

 

87 Reviews of HostMonster By Our Users

Screenshot of allinforou.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Best hosting I could ask for. Their customer support is second to none, and the support staff speaks perfect English. Very professional and always helpful.

I work on mostly WordPress websites and have never had an issue. Only thing to consider, however, is that their monthly prices are very expensive. You get what you pay for though, so I don't mind it at all ($6 a month extra over the competition never killed anyone).

 
Screenshot of http://marchdvd.com
4 stars
Support
3 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I been with HostMonster for 7+ years and seen their office in Utah some time back. They run a tight ship and had great tech support with knowledgable folks answering the phone and chats. As a software engineer I was impressed.

But then they sold out to HostGator their biggest competitor and the nice family feeling on knowing the folks by name changed into a more formal process. Now I can't say the chats are that great technically, they are OK, depending on who you get. I originally chose them because they offered a SSH account and would install extra tools I wanted like a certain version of Python or ImageMagick, they would do it.

Those days are gone. I like the features they offer with email account and ssh and ftp and its easy to install WP Joomla and create databases with MySQL. I also used get VPS service and its one of the better deals around based on price.

I don't like they say traffic and storage is unlimited. Really Unlimited? Well I had a camera Ftp'ing security images up and after about a week they shut my account down due to "too many connections".

How Many? Just too many! No concrete number.

Why can these ISP give hard numbers on their limits, computers work with hard numbers. Not fuzzy feel good logic. Add better tech support quality of people and some real limits and you get 5 stars.

Still compared to many other they are a nice place and I like their $65 referral fee. They are BlueHost are basically the same thing. The servers sit side by side.

 
Screenshot of hellosuckers.net
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been with Hostmonster for about 7 years. At the beginning it was OK and they provided a great service - fast, reliable, and with a great support. But about 3 years ago I started experiencing slow loading, too many down times (at first, they claimed fire in the server room, then a failure of a router and today DDoS attack).

Many times when I complained about a speed time, they blamed me for unoptimized websites and many other stuff. Today I lost my patience when my whole account was down since 11 am and it is now 9 pm and it is still down. All my domains, websites, email accounts are dead.

At first I called them and they told me that it is OK and that they could load everything on their end. And they blamed my ISP provider using wrong routing tables. I had to argue that even third party ping services such as isitdown.com couldn't ping the server and whether they also used wrong tables.

After arguing for some time, they found out that their server I was hosting on was under DDoS attacked, so they shut it down. Can you imagine it? They simply shut down the server.

They do not care about businesses of their clients. So, if you want a reliable service, run! Run fast away from this company.

 
Screenshot of http://iba-ceva.com
2 stars
Support
2 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

hostmonster is the worst web hosting provider on the planet, I've been facing problems with email server since I started my hosting (shared Pro package) and when I report my issues to their tech support, the issue get resolved for a few hours ( sometimes 2 or 3 days max) and they keep coming back
sometimes they suggest to buy more features, saying that will help solve my issues but nothing get resolved
based on their recommendation I decided to switch to a dedicated server package, that's when everything went wrong
I don't receive emails, emails bounced back on daily basis, ton of spam, storage space get maxed out for no reason
I even bought their spam filter(spam expert) and nothing happened same issues and worse thing happened after that, I couldn't move my domain to another provider because they were unable to remove the spam filter IP from the emails server MX record
and they keep giving me excuses all this time without any explanation or even a real ETA to when the issues will be resolved
and to top it all they will give me my money back with a pro-rated refund(WTH) I switched from shared package a dedicated server and since then I didn't had a single day of a normal operation, this is preposterous

 
Screenshot of sethcottam.com
2.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've done development on dozens of server but used Host Monster for my personal development server for about a year and a half. I have had a half dozen problems that I've never had elsewhere, which hostmonster claims are not caused by them. Examples, resetting the php.ini to turn off error reporting (3 times asking support - finally resolved by adding code to each page I was debugging), Displaying ads on my site due to a bug in my code that made them think the page not in use. (3 times asking support - they swore it was not them until it was finally resolved by turning off a cPanel option...the rep finally addmitted it must be them, also later fixed my code).

My NaviCat connection went bad, they claimed I'd have to reinstall my NaviCat even though it still worked fine on the 6 other servers I tested it on (2-3 times with support, they stopped responding, unresolved). Every few months there is a new issue, only one unique to my experience with Host Monster. Tldr; It's worth it if you need a cheap way to start, plan on moving on asap. Their support is not knowledgeable in their product, you'll have to contact them multiple times for any resolution, if you get one at all.

 
Screenshot of www.reddiamondteaistoxic.com
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

When I first started with HostMonster in 2008 they provided good service. Now in 2013 they suck. I have a lot of domain names, and a couple websites I've had them host.

HostMonster are always taking money from my credit card. I get emails about the withdrawals with no explanation as to the charges. I have to contact them to find out.

I later found out I was being charged for hosting services I wasn't using because no one there explained that they don't allow you to just park a domain name. You Have to pay for server space with every domain name you register with them. This is not the norm with domain name registration.

In addition to ripping you off, their customer service is awful. When you ask them a question via their "open a ticket" format, you Never get a response. I am using another company for my website hosting and I'm glad I switched.

I wouldn't recommend them. This company has gone from one of the best to being one of the worst.

 
Screenshot of www.e-mergemarketing.net
3 stars
Support
2 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Not sure why or how people can give these guys glowing reviews. Fact of the matter is that over the past couple months, our business is without a website or email on the average of 2-3 times a Week. The end of 2012, they changed something in their email system to where we are now getting about 10% of our emails bounced back as reported Spam.

Emails that have been successful to the same email addresses for the past two years. When their technical support department is contacted, they pass the problem on to others or shrug their shoulders and indicate they don't know what the problem is. This isn't a one-off situation.

Every time we have a bounced email reported back as Spam, we contact HostMonster and are told the same thing "Contact the ISP of the company who is responsible for their email processing and report it to them." Who here knows who the ISP is for all the outbound emails they are sending. Website and email outages have been running at a rate of about 2-3 a week. When we call their technical support department, it is like the first time they heard their was a problem and simply give us an "I don't know answer".

 
Screenshot of www.chickensys.com
3 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I completely do not recommend Hostmonster because of their support. I really want to be fair with Hostmonster. I have been with them for over 6+ years.

It's the nature of hosting that when it works, it works, and it'll work for a reasonably long time. They have lots of services and the have a updated cPanel and their support is great Only as far as access to someone over the phone. But as some other reviewers say, if something doesn't work, you're screwed.

After tons of problems over the last months (late 2012 early 2013) I can't deal with the downtime (often exceeding 2 weeks) anymore. Obviously such downtime is intolerable, but that's not my total complaint. When you call HostMonster, you are getting a American call center with reps that know just enough.

Some know a little more, but none really know who the server works nor can really deal with your issue. If things get a little tough, they go into a chat with a L2 or even L3 rep, so you really can't talk with the people that really can do anything. But that's not all - I'm not a server guy, but I know a certain amount just from the experiences I get.

But the types of solutions I get from even the L2 or L3 reps indirectly never solve the problems; in fact, I could swear they don't even read the issues. Most of the time they assume and make their recommendations assuming it's your fault or there's something you can do. In my case it wasn't, and in the last problem I had I actually logged over 9 hours (and counting) over the phone.

Let me make this clear: if there was anything I could do about my issues, I would love to do it. I google and do lots of research. If I'm misunderstanding HostMonster, I want to be the first to admit it.

I just want my site(s) up, if I'm right or wrong means nothing to me. I can tell if technical support is flawed just as a fluke or if it's systematic. With HostMonster, there's no question in my mind that it's systematically incompetent.

I know this because I have had several different issues over time, and all of them have taken weeks to resolve, and all of them have the same pattern - they assume the problem is on your end, you take 10-14 days breaking them down that it's not on your end, and then finally they do something and - look at here, it was a IP they were blocking by accident or a misconifigured server entry! All those issues - from Day One - could have been fixed if they would just been thorough and stopped blowing me off. I understand many customers may not know what they are doing.

But in every case I was always kind and polite and tried to bring out the facts in a clear and concise way. But none of that ever helped. I always was humiliated and exhausted by the number of incorrect options they suggested that never worked.

Plus every time you call up you are essentially starting over. Their tech support is very nice and friendly, but that's NOT what I ultimately need. I need results. I never got that from HostMonster.

 
Screenshot of www.cavsi.com
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Server issues in a daily Basic. My website has been down temporary almost every day. HostMonster says "They have a server issue" but they don't solve the problem.

My website has reach more than 20.000 daily visitors, I don't think their server can handle websites with so much traffic. Now Google is penalizing my site because it is down so many times. What a rip of!!!

Unlimited space, unlimited bandwidth... such a lie!!!

 
2.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been a Hostmonster customer since 2007, and have had numerous websites hosted there. I have also suggested their service to everyone of my clients. When I first signed up they boasted great customer service & support.

Their support was 24/7 & 100% Usa-based with a guaranteed "under 2 minutes wait". They also offered unlimited domain hosting at an extremely fair price. I can definitely vouch for the support.

Every time I called in it was fast, courteous, and my problems were resolved, no matter what. About a year ago they revamped their offerings, changed the pricing structure, and support just fell off the end of the world. I noticed that their Twitter accounts (main & help) stopped being updated about 5 or 6 months ago, support chat wait times were ridiculous, and there were times that the phone was never answered.

In my most recent experience (today 5/21/16) I was unable to one-click install a Wordpress script (something I've done w/o fail many times in 9 years). I tried several times before contacting support. I logged into chat and wait time showed 7 min.

When it dropped to 3 min, it jumped up to 5 min, then back up to 7 min. After roughly 12+ min, I was asked to verify my acct. When I the rep my info it was about 3 min before he replied, saying ok give me a few min to verify.

After verification he asked for a few more min, eventually getting back to me, asking me to now try the one-click install. I got the same error. After a few min of silence, he said OK well you just need to do a manual install.

WTF? After nearly 10 years I walk away, and will no longer recommend HM. In fact, I will tell my future clients to avoid it like the plague!

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Hostmonster is not a good option. They charged my PayPal long after I cancelled my account. Their rep put me on infinite hold. Their servers are really slow. I would avoid them at all costs.

 
5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Hostmonster is a great place to host Your Site. I'm being completely honest, my website had an error once, and their great support team helped me Right away. I mean they Seriously put customers first.

In fact, every now and then I get an e-mail asking if the site is running well. And hostmonster is the most reliable host I've ever used. There have been 0 files lost.

Their price is unbeatable for that type of service. They have products for Basic sites and e-commerce websites. You can use third party tools of course.

Wordpress is available. Their tools are all up to date. I would definitely encourage you to try out, you won't regret it.

Take my word for it, they are #1. I tried to make this review short. But the service is better than it sounds.

 
4 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

They found hackers on my cpanel and hopefuly I don't lose my files any more. There usually quick to respond and help out to the best of there knowledge. Thank-you

 
3.5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Well, I am a software engineer basically and I know what it takes to keep things going on your end, though, I have few points as a user and I know that would help

1. I see some blur, ghost image kind of display at time, which code editor.
2. I find entire thing bit slow and I am aware of the fact that a speed of service is subjective

3.

May a more user friendly interface would do great for people I guess, I personally have no issues with existing UI to get things done.

4. I host three domains, I received a wordpress subscription notification with no domain information. I didn't know which domain got that user registered.

Not sure if this is an issue with hostmonster. Thanks

 
Screenshot of www.lonihuff.com
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Switched to Hostmonster.com three years ago. Having come from a number of other terrible hosts (BlueHost, Dreamhost), I was very happy for at least a year, possibly 18 months. Nonetheless, Hostmonster eventually fell into the same disrepair as my previous hosts: hosting too many sites on a server and blaming their users for installing computationally intensive scripts and not performing optimizations (site was running Wordpress,the blogging software Hostmonster goes out of its way to tout the virtues of on their front page).

Solicitations of support result in canned responses at best, misplaced blame on you at worst. I look forward to taking my business elsewhere.

 
Screenshot of http://norwaythailand.com
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

The worst provider ever especially it's auto renew process. Today it was a second time it charged me without any warning. This time it is for "Professional SiteLock Domain Security" 1 year $47.88

I don't know anything about how to stop this auto renew process.

It's very hard to find the setting, I couldn't find it anymore. It charged me a lot of money, took long time to solve the problem and refunded. Very bad experiences with them.

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Long time client and as a small business owner, they did a great job for me in the initial five years. In the past couple of years, it seems I'm a tadpole in Lake Erie. First, emails were blacklisted because of others on the same email server Spamming and for over a month my emails were periodically being blocked by other servers but no one informed me this is happening.

My solution was to go with Office 365 which works great. Next issue, I use an html editor to manage certain pages and now they have changed it and the new one doesn't have all the same features. I'm now going to have to go find another host. Hostmonster Sucks!

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Hostmonster is an Amazing host for people hosting anything from a personal/E-Commerce site, to a business site. They provide all tools needed for a great website. Personally, I've never had a problem with HM and whenever I had a question, I got a solution.

Their prices are unbeatable for that type of quality. They have many plugins such as Wordpress. They even have a Market!

This all sounds awesome but it's even better having it. Trust me they've hosted me for 4 years.

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I should have read the reviews before purchasing service from HostMinster. HostMonster Sucks, and here's why. I purchased service from them one week ago.

after spending the time it takes to give them my CC information, choose a user name, password. FTP files. etcetera ...Everything seemed fine.

Wrong. They wait a few days then ask me to send them a copy of my Identification, along with a copy of my credit card. They ask for all of the numbers of my credit card to be blacked out except the last four digits.

Are they serious? I tried to call them, and was on hold for around fifteen minutes before I somehow got disconnected. So I responded to them explaining that this was not going to happen.

What they did was to shut down my site, and replace my html with their ads with a note to call customer service. Hopefully this review will save someone precious time before wasting time with HostMonster. It turned out to be a blessing in disguise, because after this incident, I researched them further and found out that they are a sub par hosting company, nothing like I expected.

So if you don't care about service, and you don't mind sending a copy of your drivers license and credit card info to complete strangers. Then this may be the hosting company for you.

 
Screenshot of http://propheciesoftheendtimes.com
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been with Hostmonster for 7 years. I have never had the issues we have had so far this year..unreal amount of down time, every single weekend I'm down 2-3 days. Customer support is horrible..no explanations or eta of when the problem is fixed.

All they do is put a band aid on the problem, and the weekend comes, and it's right back to being crashed and down. As soon as I can, I'm moving all websites off this provider. I do not recommend this provider to Anyone...

 
Screenshot of http://www.explorerjamaica.com
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been having problem with there system all the time and charging you for site doctor to fix problems, when its there work to fix their own problems, it suck!! Don't spend or waist your money with them.

 
2 stars
Support
3 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Host Monster sucks because they lie about providing unlimited space, unlimited databases, and unlimited email accounts. On their home page they list those items as a main feature but actually on the terms of service they stipulate limits for number of mysql tables, limits on total number of files, and so every email you receive is counted as a file, so actually there is no unlimited email space. My account has been deactivated - taking all of my sites down - twice.

Once because I had too many mysql tables, and the second time because One of my email accounts had too many emails on it. I think if they were a honest company they should remove those highlights from their home page as they are deceiving people, or at least put a big asterisk on each one of them and a copy at the bottom letting people know that those features are not actually real.

 
Screenshot of www.sagaryadav.com
2.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Hostmonster sells it's Unlimited Hosting Plans and then tells you that it is actually a limited hosting plan and the limits are so low that it is hard to run a normal joomla, wordpress or ecommerce website. I do not recommend HostMonster at all because they surprize you by deactivating your account when you cross these unknown limits and then take weeks to reactivate it after you comply by their limits.

 
Screenshot of http://www.pamsika.com
3.5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

It’s interesting to see how different clients get different treatment from the same service provider. One would think the same treatment has to be offered to every client across the board. But hey, this world wouldn’t be unfair if that was the case.

Ok, I thought I should just point that out. Well, I have been a Hostmonster client for over 10 years and in my dealings with their support team I have never experience an issue that could call for a rant from me. Their support has always been top notch, fast at resolving issues and great at communication.

Have had a few down times over the years, of course, but there were all planned and pre communicated to me. Only thing, I think they need to do better is to notify clients of every price increase for their services. It sucks to just wake up and see a different price increase for a domain renewal.

There is a general downward trend in domain pricing and wonder why domains registered through Hostmonster have taken an upward route, comparatively. Otherwise, overall, I am happy with Hostmonster service.

 
Screenshot of http://www.novaseal.com
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

We started using Hostmonster about 8 years ago. At that time, hardly anyone new of them, and the service was impeccable. Support personnel really seemed to care.

About 3 years ago things began to change and tech support began to wane. In the past year, support is basically non existent. For example, we relied on Hostmonster Webmail, and in the past few months webmail is broken, and there seems to be no interest in fixing it.

Whenever we call for any type of help, hold time is at minimum 45 min to 2 hours and then the tech person doesn't have an answer. I've been a loyal customer, however it is now time to change. My concern is the ease of making a change, how to avoid the pitfalls associated with Hostmonster with a new provider, and how to find a provider that really wants to be a provider.

Also confusing are the associations. For example, Hostmonster is the same as BlueHost, and even this site rates BlueHost as a reasonable provider whereas in reality they are one and the same as Hostmonster.

 
Screenshot of http://pendelhaven.com
2.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've been with HostMonster for many years. For the most part I have nothing to complain about, uptime was amazing, it had all of the features that I needed, price/value was good, and technical support was snappy. Then we look back at the last 18-24 months, and it feels like a different company.

Tech support wait times have become much longer, with the techs visibly multitasking between tickets. The techs have also gotten worse in their knowledge of the system. I have to teach them the basics, and their scripts are insufficient.

The majority of their responses to problems are an upsell to some new feature or package. If I didn't know any better, I would say that they fired the techs and moved sales into the tech support position. The worst problems have been in the last 12 months.

E-mail deliverability has become abysmal. They have signed on so many spammers, that their mail servers are blacklisted around the globe. We are a business that relies on guaranteed email delivery, and the 2 or 3 times we had a flood of bounces, we had to go to our personal gmail accounts just to be able to keep working. They have no answers, leaving us to shop around for a new host.

 
Screenshot of http://silencescape.net
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've had an account with HostMonster for six or seven years. Early on I was reasonably happy with the features and technical support they offered, but their value for money in the last few years has gone downhill rapidly. The most annoying thing about their approach to customer service is their aggressive pricing strategy.

Their approach is to try to lock customers in and hope that the inconvenience of switching hosts will prevent customers doing so, even if their prices spiral out of control. Right now they are advertising the service that I use with them for $3.95 a month on their homepage. So what's the special price they offer me as a veteran customer? $11.98 if I sign up for another 3 years!

If I want to pay a month at a time, it's $17.99. Their approach of offering discounts for 3-year contracts should also be a warning: any host that has faith in its own level of customer service and satisfaction shouldn't demand that you lock yourself in for 3 years in order to get a competitive price. It signals to you that they are going to do pretty nicely if you abandon them in disgust after the first few weeks.

They also advertise a lot of "unlimited"s -- unlimited storage, unlimited transfer. They don't mean it. They repeatedly complain about moderate usage based on a terms of service that is designed not to be read. Altogether, a host that certainly is not interested in keeping its customers happy.

 
Screenshot of http://www.potionuk.com
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Hostmonster started out really great for my needs; hosting a small business webpage with low traffic. When our requirements changed and we started hosting small databases; the hosting was impossibly slow. We were encouraged to upgrade to a shared hosting server (shared with fewer customers).

This again was far too slow and we were encouraged strongly to move to a VPS at a cost of around $500/yr... again, this was too slow. Tech support advised us that its slower than the service we first had, just that it was a private resource.

Then came the downtime - we had to close our online part of the the business for ten days with their company wide outages, we lost thousands of dollars. Tech support gave no answers, no Eta's - literally a 'keep waiting' style response. Once the network was back online - customers received a 'sorry we messed up' email; no explanations, no compensation - nothing. Hostmonster is good if you want to host a family album or a hobby website; but its just not fit for businesses of any size

 
Screenshot of http://www.balibirucollection.com
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I got an email which announce that my web hosting has been deactivated with reason listed in spamhaus blacklist. And I am sure that I did not did something which break their rules. Then I contacted them and they suggest me to purchase their Site Doctor to clean my site.

After around six hours from the purchase, my hosting was activated but it deactivated again in the next few hours. I don't understand what was happen? My server was deactivated 2 times in 24 hours.

You can imagine what will happen to your online business if this kind of problem appear in that frequency. I hope Hostmonster team could improve their services to their customers if they want to exist in web hosting business.

 
Screenshot of ParrisTroika.com
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

It sucks! I've suspected my web developer was looking for excuses when he has complained about Hostmonster being very slow. I've called Hostmonster's tech support 3-4 times, they tried to convince me that I was crazy and everything was working just fine. I switched today to iPage and my website is running very smoothly at last.

 
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Do not sign up with hostmonster. The company does not send out emails notifying the customer when their site is down. You have to wait an hour for phone support and at least half an hour for online chat support.

If you host additional sites, they add a dollar to the overall price every year with no improvements to their service. Currently, my site has been down for 4 days. After waiting an hour for tech support, I was told that they are doing maintenance on the server. I have not been notified that my site is down and I do not have access to the control panel or my files.

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Can never get a hold of anyone on the support line to ask a question about a bill or anything else. I was unable to find out exactly what I am being billed for. I have another similar site with another provider at 20% of the cost of HostMonster.

The only way I could stop the mess was to stop the credit card payments. They noticed that right away, but still no way to talk to a person. We will be going with another provider.

 
Screenshot of http://maxtec.biz
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been with hostmonster for many years. The early years were great, smart people, quick resolutions. However....now is a whole new world.

Server problems poorly resolved, email for clients disrupted. Tickets ignored, or at best dumb answers, like read the help section. The most recent online chat was a disaster, I think the guy must have been a passing cleaner who sat down at the PC.

He had no idea what I was talking about and was as close to being plain rude and dismissive as it gets and terminated the chat when he got fed up. For Gods sake Don't sign up. Feel sorry for me who was suckered into another 3 years before I released what was happening. It would be nice for an insider to let us know what went wrong there, must have been something big.

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Absolutely Terrible. Do not waste your time and money! I have several domains and hosting accounts with them.

My sites are down regularly for hours at a time. When I ask technical department when they will be up, I get short sharp response that they have no idea and cannot give me a timeframe, as they are working on their servers and no apologies. I cant even transfer my sites now to a new host as the files and databases cannot me accessed.

For all I know its all been wiped. There technical department are useless, don't care at all that the services you are paying for don't work, my customers can't access the sites, and no one can work on them. Do not waste your money and time!

 
3 stars
Support
2 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

When I put up my site in 2011, everything ran great, I had no observable downtime and phone tech support was fast. For about the last year and a half, the decline has been swift. I'm on the phone with them about every 2-3 months.

One day in 2013, the entire BlueHost family went dark for almost an entire business day, including phone support. I had to google my problem before I could find out the situation. Then I found out the ugly truth-they run 4 companies out of the same data center with no redundancy and no separate communication systems.

And no letter of apology to customers for the extreme inconvenience. My email went down just the other day, the wait for tech support was over 30 minutes and all they could say is that they were working on the outage and had no ETA on when service would return. It was down 8 hours, but back up by noon my time.

I just don't trust them, this is my business. I'm looking for a better host.

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

all my sites are down..have been for 24 hours..support doesn't know when they can get them back up because it is a "server issue" that needs to be fixed. If I want to get off the broken server they want me to send in a "ticket" request and that takes 24-48 hours. "there is nothing I can do" response from the support staff. Quick research online shows hostmonster really is a horrible option

 
2 stars
Support
2 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

This company is a complete Joke. If you don't care if Your Site is down for hours on end, hostmonster.com is for you. On the other hand, if you're like me and trying to build a business and require your site to be up and running, avoid HostMonster.com at ALL costs. I wouldn't use HostMonster.com again if they paid me.

 
Screenshot of www.zeevat-mice.com
4 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

My site is on hostmonster since 2009. Another person make the website and I don't understand much about this. Anyway, the issues that I have at the moment, the support was very good.

Of course, I've took the phone and talk with them. This works. Not sure if I open a ticket (don't have good reviews on the web). Hope my websites will be on today again. (let you know). :)

 
Screenshot of annieyarn.com
2.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I signed up for HostMonster somewhere around 2009-2010, and I loved everything about them. Their support was amazing, my sites were fast even despite large amounts of traffic, and when I had a problem, they helped me fix it. Fast forward to 2011.

I had the opportunity to renew my service for a great price, so I went with it even though it meant switching servers. At first I noticed just a little bit of slowness, but it was still acceptable. It's been over two years now, and my sites have slowed WAY down to the point of not even loading.

And that's despite having handed off the biggest site I ran when I quit being the webmaster. I've spent way too much time on the phone with support only to have them imply that these issues aren't on their end. They've told me it's my plug-ins or my photos or WordPress or something else they can't pinpoint.

They told me to delete files I didn't need, remove mySQL databases I didn't use anymore, and disable all of my plug-ins and that it would speed up within a few days. I did all of that, but two months later, things are even slower than before. We spent over an hour on the phone with support today, and they said the same things as before.

They said the only thing they could recommend that would speed up my sites for certain was upgrading to their Pro plan for $20/mo. Other than that, they couldn't offer any solutions. I am going to change Web hosts just as soon as I can, and I will no longer recommend them to my Web design clients.

I'm sad to have to do this, as I know what HostMonster used to be. If they still maintained the level of service and support that I experienced for the first year or two after signing up, there's no way I'd be changing.

 
3.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

They used to have great Live Chat service, but they've switched to a different Live Chat format, and the wait time for Tech help is approximately 30 minutes. After finally getting Jason A. to chat with me, I was disconnected!

This is after trying to work out a problem that, after almost 40 minutes, was not yet resolved when we got disconnected. So here I sit waiting another 30 min. just to get someone to talk to me again.

Also, when I emailed the Live Chat transcript to myself, I got a transcript, but all it said was: [Initial Question]
That's not almost 40 minutes of chat time! This really sucks.

 
Screenshot of www.hellobaryon.com
4.5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

It is great, because it is stable, and the support is effective and rapid. But it can be better if the fee can be reduced a little for five-year user like me.

 
Screenshot of http://www.senior-gardening.com
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Hostmonster at one time, before they got bought out, used to provide reliable service at a fair price. Since the buyout, they've become unresponsive to customer issues, putting their users through a voice mail and online chat hell. It's obvious that the new owners are milking this service for all it's worth without putting anything into solving longtime customer issues.

 
Screenshot of http://ebayfeescalculator.co.uk
3 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been with hostmonster quite a few years and been quite happy but customer service has got so bad over the last year that I am looking elsewhere. I am also have some problems with their server not running my cron job and terminating my scripts before they have finished, no help or explanation given

 
Screenshot of http://www.zwaanz.com
2.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

HostMonster - *Very poor technical support! We have had technical errors on our hosting server for almost 2 months without proper resolve - Technical staff are friendly/ etiquette, but simply cannot fix the technical issues and are very quick to try and pass technical related issues back to the client without root cause fixes in place. We have followed ever request and yet technical staff are quick to claim they've 'tested' the issue and all is fine, but as soon as we try what should be a very simple once-click install for software via their Mojo solution, various errors occur (Numerous emails have been sent with screen shots).

After holding the line for a fairly long time (*South Africa to USA) and testing with tech staff to no avail... We requested technical staff contact us after their "thorough investigation", which never happened and we had to follow-up again due to the lack of feedback. We then requested a senior technical manage contact us, but have yet to hear anything. HostMonster is quite happy to charge a monthly fee, but seem to think its more than satisfactory to keep client's website solutions down for months (*first call was logged in early December 2014) - Would your business want this from a so called "Top" hosting company?

 
Screenshot of http://www.ntitservices.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have no idea who is posting these other reviews by my experience has been completely positive with Hostmonster. I have used a couple of competitors and had issues primarily with downtime. I host about 10 different domains currently with Hostmonster and the only downtime I have ever had was planned and they would send emails in advance notifying me of the planned outage including dates, times, and expected length.

My traffic is low and I don't need to utilize too many features, however I have no complaints at all as compared with other more expensive providers I have used in the past. I have never had to contact support because I have never had problems.

 
Screenshot of fuelyouredge.com
3 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have hosted 4 or more domains on my HostMonster account for over 5 years. I have a high level affiliate account for the amount of referrals I bring in. Since the new ownership, I have seen nothing but downhill management.

Although the front line support reps are great, the people managing them have poor business skills when it comes to service. Not only has 2013 been full of constant down time while they upgrade their servers and fix ongoing issues, which they acknowledge, I have had multiple directories disappear from my server. After searching the limited server access logs my own personal FTP logs, I have evidence of now file or directory removal activity.

Their advanced support teams found the same results, yet insist it something I "must have done", even though I'm sending them evidence of otherwise, and they cannot find their own history. I really do not like making accusations but it's extremely ironic that my account on my shared server always goes down when I have high bandwidth traffic. In addition, I always receive incentives to upgrade to their Backup Pro service whenever I have an entire website directory disappear!

I was to be their number 1 customer when they had beta testing on their VPS and Dedicated hosting before it's public debut. Unfortunately I am so far away from paying them any more money to upgrade, that I've just the cancellation process. Hostmonster, Blue Host, HostGator, and JustHost are all owned by EIG.

I definitely no longer recommend any of their service. If the customer service reps were not compensated so well for doing their dirty work, I am sure they would move on as well.

 
Screenshot of madamsara.com
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

As a piece of interface software, the Hostmonster c-panel is poorly designed and dated. I can live with that. But what is unacceptable is that the excellent tech support that the company promised and delivered when it began has, as others here point out, degraded.

In its quest for more lucrative 'advanced' users, Hostmonsters appears to have reduced its support staff by about 60 percent for those of us Basic users who helped the company get its start. The best 40 percent have been moved to the high end support echelons, leaving us with 30 minute wait times for online chat (but no wait time to interact with sales), and worse if by phone. More seriously, the quality of phone techs is dangerously uneven.

It's difficult and time consuming for a basic user to move to another hosting company once they've invested in building a site or two -- this is probably what Hostmonster is counting on as it grows its business at our expense. While I don't know enough about Hostmonster's competitors to compare them, I wouldn't recommend Hostmonster to anyone as a first hosting platform. Such a cynical business plan doesn't deserve one's business.

 
Screenshot of www.lenluterbach.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I very rarely have a problem and when I do (which is usually caused by me) they are quick to respond, friendly, and knowledgeable. I cannot imagine changing hosting providers it is that simple

 
Screenshot of www.buzzellwoodcraft.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

What makes HostMonster a great provider is, number one: it works. I don't recall ever having any unscheduled downtime. When I have run into a problem, I've either found the answer on the FAQs or forum, or they've responded within a very reasonable time. Being appropriately self-centered, I'd love to have them respond immediately, but generally within a couple of hours and normally, whatever it was is fixed on that call (notwithstanding user-error...).

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I used hostmonster for a couple of years and they provided good technical service until I had a problem with their billing department. They have not been able to resolve a billing issue for 4 days so far and my websites and emails have been down. All I get from their chat service is excuses. Look around for another provider unless your business can afford to be without a website and email for an undetermined amount of time.

 

Most Popular HostMonster Hosting Plans

Basic Plus Pro
Disk Space 50GB 50GB Unlimited
Bandwidth Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Price $4.95/mo $6.95/mo $14.95/mo
View Plan View Plan View Plan

All HostMonster Hosting Plans

Hosting Plan Features Disk Space Bandwidth Price
Basic Shared
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Shell Access
  • PostgreSQL
  • CentOS
  • Python
50GB Unlimited $4.95/month
Usual price:
Plus Shared
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Shell Access
  • PostgreSQL
  • CentOS
  • Python
50GB Unlimited $6.95/month
Usual price:
Pro Shared
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Shell Access
  • PostgreSQL
  • CentOS
  • Dedicated IP
Unlimited Unlimited $14.95/month
Usual price:
Standard VPS Shared
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Shell Access
  • PostgreSQL
  • CentOS
  • Dedicated IP
30GB 1TB $28.74/month
Usual price:
Enhanced VPS Shared
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Shell Access
  • PostgreSQL
  • CentOS
  • Dedicated IP
60GB 2TB $57.49/month
Usual price:
Premium VPS Shared
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Shell Access
  • PostgreSQL
  • CentOS
  • Dedicated IP
120GB 3TB $86.24/month
Usual price:
Ultimate VPS Shared
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Shell Access
  • PostgreSQL
  • CentOS
  • Dedicated IP
240GB 4TB $114.99/month
Usual price:
Standard Dedicated Shared
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Shell Access
  • PostgreSQL
  • CentOS
  • Dedicated IP
500GB 5TB $143.74/month
Usual price:
Enhanced Dedicated Shared
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Shell Access
  • PostgreSQL
  • CentOS
  • Dedicated IP
1000GB 10TB $191.66/month
Usual price:
Premium Dedicated Shared
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Shell Access
  • PostgreSQL
  • CentOS
  • Dedicated IP
1000GB 15TB $239.57/month
Usual price:

HostMonster Frequently Asked Questions

  • Does HostMonster offer any Windows hosting plans?

    HostMonster is a Linux-only provider.

  • Where are HostMonster's datacenters located?

    HostMonster does not publicize the location of its datacenter.

  • Are managed dedicated servers available at HostMonster?

    Yes. HostMonster provides both dedicated servers and VPS servers with full management.

  • Do I get a free domain with my hosting plan?

    Every plan comes with a free domain for the first year.

  • Will my price change from the intro price when I renew my services?

    HostMonster offers a promotional price for the first term only. It renews at the regular rate. It offers progressively lower prices for longer contracts.

  • If I am dissatisfied, can I get a refund?

    HostMonster provides a 30-day money-back guarantee on most hosting plans. If you cancel after this time, you will receive a pro-rated refund for unused months.

  • Will HostMonster compensate me for downtime?

    No. HostMonster does not have an uptime guarantee.

  • Can I get support on the phone?

    Yes. 24x7 support is available by phone.

  • Does HostMonster still offer reseller plans?

    No. HostMonster announced in late 2014 that it will no longer be accepting reseller hosting signups.

  • Can the team help me with transferring an existing site?

    It will migrate up to 5 websites and 20 email accounts from a single account. More information is provided in the customer account area.

  • Does HostMonster allow more than one domain per account?

    Yes. Unlimited domains can be hosted.

  • Does the company have a sitebuilder?

    Yes. To help users create sites easily and quickly, Weebly is provided.

  • Does it offer cPanel?

    Yes. cPanel is provided as the default control panel.

  • What payment options does HostMonster accept?

    HostMonster accepts credit cards, including Visa, Master Card, American Express and Discover. It also accepts PayPal, checks (USD) and money orders (USD).

  • Is there a one-click installer library?

    Yes. All customers can use Mojo Marketplace which allows you to install or upgrade applications, including WordPress and Joomla!.

  • Does HostMonster set up monthly contracts?

    Yes, you can opt for a monthly contract or a longer deal.

  • What does its backup policy look like?

    HostMonster backs up data at its discretion, and those backups are kept for a maximum of 30 days. It would be sensible to set up your own backups, as HostMonster does not guarantee availailability.

  • Which of service would be most appropriate for multiple websites?

    All HostMonster hosting plans can accommodate an unlimited number of websites.

  • Does the company provide unlimited bandwidth and unlimited space?

    Yes. HostMonster offers unlimited bandwidth and disk space, subject to its fair use policy.

Who Are The Most Popular HostMonster Alternatives?

Overall 2.5 stars
Support
2 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
2.5 stars
Value
2.5 stars
Visit HostMonster

Price Comparison

HostMonster$4.95
SiteGround$3.95
BlueHost$2.75
InMotion Hosting$3.99
A2 Hosting$3.92
HostPapa$3.95

Review HostMonster & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a HostMonster customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more...

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about HostMonster.
Please be specific: we're only interested in hearing that HostMonster rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

(We hate spam - see our privacy policy)