IX Web Hosting In 2018: What Do IX Web Hosting Client Reviews Say?

IX Web Hosting Introduction

IX Web Hosting is primarily a shared hosting provider, but with one important difference: its services are geared towards SEO. By providing customers with their own dedicated IP addresses, all websites are ready to accept ecommerce transactions. In addition, sites with dedicated IPs could well be given an advantage in the search engines.

Based in Columbus, Ohio in the US, the company was founded by Fathi Said who is still the CEO. Said claimed the company hosted more than a quarter of a million websites in 2007, so five years on, it’s likely that they host considerably more. Fathi Said is also the CEO of Host Excellence as part of the Ecommerce Inc group.

IX Web Hosting Hosting Plans

Let’s look at shared hosting first of all. When comparing IX Web Hosting plans, consider whether you need a dedicated IP, either for SEO or ecommerce. If you do, their plans will be of interest.

The Expert, Business Plus and Unlimited Pro price plans step up incrementally in price. All include unlimited disk space, bandwidth and domains with the option of Linux or Windows hosting. In addition, you get those all-important free IPs: two on the low-cost plan, three on the medium plan and 15 on the top-priced plan. You’ll also get one, two or three free domain names. Beware though: Cpanel and Plesk aren’t included.

IX Web Hosting presents its plans in the wrong order on the shared hosting page, so take care. They promote the most expensive plan in the centre of the page.

Next up are IX Web Hosting’s VPS plans. There are three, all Linux based. The limits they place on resources are fairly standard, and you can choose either Cpanel or Plesk: both are self-installs. Unlimited domain hosting is included, and all plans include two dedicated IPs.

IX Web Hosting also offers four cloud hosting plans with your choice of Linux OS, two dedicated IPs and either Cpanel or Plesk.

IX Web Hosting Uptime/Downtime

IX Web Hosting runs its own tier 3 (N+1) data centre in Ohio. the company does not share its building with anyone else, although it’s formally run through Ecommerce Inc. The facility has two backup generators and protection against server outages. They offer a 99.9% uptime guarantee, which is fairly standard at this level.

The company also takes backups of customer data, although it isn’t clear how often these backups are performed. Software automatically monitors the network, scans for malware and automatically removes any malicious code it finds.

IX Web Hosting Support

IX Web Hosting makes the impressive claim of offering the best support in the web hosting industry. They assign a Personal Support Rep – a named individual – to every customer, helping them handle technical problems, billing issues and more. The name of the IX Web Hosting support rep is even included in the control panel, and any new tickets that are logged are flagged up to that person as they come in.

This is quite an ambitious approach to support; IX Web Hosting even provides access to Personal Support Reps via social media.

On the Support page, users are given various email addresses to contact the relevant department if they have questions. There’s also access to support via telephone (toll-free in the US, regular if outside the US) and live chat, plus video tutorials, FAQs and a manual. The company’s social media pages are active; staff provide support through Twitter and Facebook, and they also have a YouTube channel.

IX Web Hosting in the News

IX Web Hosting doesn’t appear to have hit the headlines, although their parent company has had its controversies. As far as this particular branch of the operation goes, I didn’t find any verified, reliable reports of hacks, downtime or vulnerabilities.

IX Web Hosting Control Panel

VPS and cloud customers can choose Cpanel or Plesk, but shared hosting customers are denied either. Instead, they’re provided with Psoft H-Sphere which is considerably less attractive and more basic than Cpanel. Although H-Sphere is only provided on shared accounts, I found it a fair bit more difficult to navigate and understand than the industry standard tools. There is a live demo on the site if you want to try it out.

IX Web Hosting Extras

The free IPs and domain names are a major selling point for IX Web Hosting. There’s not a lot else in addition.

On the Shared plans customers get Google Adwords credit ($25, $50 or $75), one-click installers, a one-click photo gallery install and between one and three free domains. Customers also have access to a site builder tool.

There are no obvious freebies on the Cloud or VPS hosting plans.

IX Web Hosting Money Back Guarantee / Cancellation Policy

IX Web Hosting offers a free 7-day trial in addition to two money-back guarantees.

The first is a 30-day money back guarantee which provides a refund of hosting and setup fees, although domain name costs and over-limit fees are not included.

Additionally, they offer the ‘Anytime’ guarantee. This allows you to request a refund of your current month’s fees, plus any future fees, although not fees due in the current billing cycle. Setup fees aren’t included in this refund policy, and nor are domain name or over-limit fees. Customers who pay via Alipay are excluded from this guarantee clause.

Cancellations must be requested via their contact form on the Support page.

IX Web Hosting Summary

When comparing IX Web Hosting’s plans with other shared hosting providers, consider whether you need a dedicated IP. If you do, you might save a fair chunk of cash simply because you won’t need to pay top-up fees for your IP addresses, and the SEO advantages of having those IPs will appeal to some people with specialized needs.

The plans are otherwise fairly unremarkable, although capable enough for the price, and the support department’s commitment to personal service is very impressive if true. The ‘anytime’ money-back guarantee is also a step up from other hosts in the same price band.

IX Web Hosting Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 86 Reviews by IX Web Hosting Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Alex Abughaida avatar
Alex Abughaida medical-web-designers.com
Mar 20, 2018

IXWebhosting being migrated to Site5. Will migrate my hosting account one by one to other reliable hosting service provider. I’ve been using IX for last 10 years but no more.

I’m losing my business since email, websites are down for many days and no help. Better to make an informed decision than to wait and suffer.

Visit Host →

Albert Gustafson avatar
Albert Gustafson vismeg.com
Sep 01, 2018

ixWebHosting used to be a good website provider. However, it was recently acquired by Site5. Now it is the worst website provider ever.

I cannot even login to the ixWebHosting control panel. The email does not work at all. Worst of all, there is no contact number to call or email to resolve a problem.

This website provider can not get any worse. No one should purchase A Web hosting plan from the provider. The company that acquired ixWebHosting is Site5. Because nothing works and there is no way to even contact the new owner, it appears that it does nothing right or worst, it is just a fraud.

Visit Host →

Guy Thornton avatar
Guy Thornton found.co.uk
Mar 05, 2018

They are an absolute disgrace. They migrated my domains away from them to a company called Dotster without asking my permission. They also lost one in the process.

There email support is pathetic. It’s impossible to get through to anyone too. In the end, I’ve just given any hope of finding the lost domains.

They don’t seem to understand that small businesses can be heavily affected by their ineptitude. Avoid them at all costs.

Visit Host →

Jean Paul Polen avatar
Jean Paul Polen guerrafilms.com
Nov 07, 2012

The only thing I don’t like about IX is that I can’t assign different access accounts to different domains in one hosting product. That would be the best, just like I can do it with FTP. It would be awesome if we could give our clients a particular login/password to access just their domain control panel.

Visit Host →

Mark Randa avatar
Mark Randa opendesignproject.org
Feb 07, 2012

Down quite a bit, but the worst thing is their server and other software. I could not update WordPress to 3.0 when it came out because they were using such an old version of PHP. Today I was informed I couldn’t install a plugin because their version of Apache was too old.

They tried to sell me a VPN account. No thanks. When they finally updated PHP, my site was down for days, and I had to move to a new server that took a huge amount of time and a Google rank hit.

They have also canceled the free domain updates and other "lifetime" features (I’ve been with them for 6 or 7 years now I believe. Time to move on. IX’s "control panel" is incredibly an lame POS that looks like something from the last century.

And lastly, they have one server farm instead of the two or more that others have. Very slow.

Visit Host →

Rob Lynch avatar
Rob Lynch lynchtek.com
Oct 05, 2010

Ok, I have only been with them for about 2 weeks, however they seem to offer a huge amount for how little you pay. I have sites being hosted on hostoptima and webhost4life. Hostoptima is probably faster, but WAY more expensive and have a tendency to nickle and dime you for everything.

So far the speed here has been good. The help desk seems good. I have only opened support tickets and not phoned in or used live chat, but the responses are timely (within the hour) and accurate (a few simple steps to solve all the problmes.)

Most of my issues is that the control panel isn’t very intuative.

However, currently I have 3 sites (with unlimited emails) being hosted here. Absolutly No complaints!. Compared to webJoke4Life (webstrive4life) opps webhost4life.

These guys rock. I will be taking the 30 sites we have hosted there and moving them to these guy’s. Rob

Visit Host →

Deron Garing avatar
Deron Garing dmgimages.com
Mar 04, 2014

When IX is up and running it is fine. But over the last couple years, I have experienced more & more down times. I am currently going on my third day without email and they still cannot tell me when they will get my email back up and running.

I am far from alone – there are over 1,000 comments of angry customers on their status site… with still no estimated time of getting our email backup. It’s pretty hard to run a business without being able to send or receive email – much less for 3 plus days. Absolutely ridiculous – Trust me – find another web hosting company!!!

Visit Host →

Noel ivon avatar
Noel ivon sahyadri.himadventures.mobi
Mar 28, 2013

Our websites are down- all in name of phishing attack. It is being told to us that old version of WordPress are reason for this. I would like to discuss with users – is this correct explanation for phishing ?

And who gives rights to down our websites- You should have asked us to upgrade. But admins choose to delete ….:( and this is called Support.

Visit Host →

Tab O'Neal avatar
Tab O'Neal taboneal.com
Dec 22, 2012

We’ve been hosting with IX Web since their first year. That’s over a decade of customer loyalty. We have five small, very small, sites for non-profits and extremely low traffic.

Two weeks ago our traffic soared on one of them. IX Web shut down ALL of our sites for TOS Violation. Our site had been hit by a bot and SQL Injection.

Rather than assist us, they just gave us a list of things that we could do. We’re not back end programmers. We were offline for a week as we learned about SQL and vulnerabilities.

All the while, we were unable to work on the site through the c-panel because they blocked us. Finally, not thanks to IX Web, we changed some SQL settings, added some other files designed to block bots and were back up. Four days later we were pulled off line again by IXW.

This time it was not SQL injection but…. I don’t know. They locked us out.

Why does ix web not provide A Secure Environment for hosting? Should they not know how to block bots? How to secure their servers and maintain quality hosting?

Does being a decades long customer have any value to IX Web Hosting? Apparently not. I found this site looking for a new host.

It is the Saturday before Christmas, 3 AM. and here I am having to restore five sites thanks to the "do as little as we can" attitude of IX Web. (Caveat: If you get a US based tech on the phone the service is at least kindly. Their chat and ticket based service is all eastern European and common sense and understanding seem to be lost in translation.)

Visit Host →

Gavin Brooks avatar
Gavin Brooks noschemins.com
Mar 19, 2009

* What do you wish you’d known before becoming a customer? They were good in the beginning (few years ago) But now seem out of date
* How have they handled your support queries? They are not as quick as I Would like
* What level of technical expertise do their customers need?

Medium level
* How have IX Webhosting handled any problems? Not too bad but often seem like an excuse!
* What kind of customer is this host suitable for? Small simple websites to small companies
* Would you recommend IX Web Hosting to friends?

I Did in the past but not anymore

further info
ix Webhosting has average features but Ifound the uploading of files a constant pain, always very slow and having to retry numerous times. I used IXwebhosting for a few years but as their systems seem to be going out of date I will not be renewing my contract. Very useful tip from me: Do host checks by testing out their own site and one of their customers especially on a package that you are interested in, perhaps by using a free online tools.

e.g. http://tools.pingdom.com/fpt/

and if necessary do a world wide ping test to check if the hosts web site data packets deliver okay around the earth! e.g.

http://just-ping.com/index.php

Please note most host providers are generally very good and the saying ‘you get what you pay for’ is very very true. Please also note only one simple website is left running on the ix webhosting server, only until the contract ends. I had fourteen with them in the past. And a big thank you to ‘whoishostingthis’ website for a place where I can post my comments :-)

Visit Host →

Load More

Most Popular IX Web Hosting Plans

Expert Linux Business Plus Linux Unlimited Pro
Disk Space Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Bandwidth Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Price $3.95 / mo $7.95 / mo $7.95 / mo
Visit IX Web Hosting Visit IX Web Hosting Visit IX Web Hosting
Plan Disk Space Bandwidth Price
WordPress Hosting
Shared
Unlimited Unlimited $8.95 / mo Visit Host
Unlimited Pro Windows Hosting
Shared
Unlimited Unlimited $10.95 / mo Visit Host
Business Plus Windows Hosting
Shared
Unlimited Unlimited $10.95 / mo Visit Host
X4 Linux VPS Hosting
VPS
50GB 1500GB $54.95 / mo Visit Host
X4 Windows
Shared
50GB 1500GB $74.95 / mo Visit Host
X8 Linux VPS Hosting
VPS
100GB 2TB $89.95 / mo Visit Host
Professional Cloud Plan
Cloud
20GB 300GB $99.99 / mo Visit Host
Professional Cloud Windows
Cloud
40GB 300GB $106.40 / mo Visit Host
X8 Windows
Shared
100GB 2000GB $114.95 / mo Visit Host
Business Cloud Windows
Cloud
60GB 900GB $168.15 / mo Visit Host
Business Cloud Plan
Cloud
60GB 900GB $174.99 / mo Visit Host
Corporate Cloud Windows
Cloud
150GB 1500GB $239.40 / mo Visit Host
Corporate Cloud Plan
Cloud
150GB 1500GB $249.99 / mo Visit Host
More Plans +

IX Web Hosting Frequently Asked Questions

  • Where are IX Web Hosting’s offices located?

    IX Web Hosting is headquartered in Columbus, Ohio in the United States.

  • Where are IX Web Hosting’s datacenters located?

    The company’s datacenter is based out of Columbus, Ohio. It owns and operates its own facility.

  • What control panel software is provided?

    IX Web Hosting has its own proprietary control panel for all Windows and Linux shared hosting.

  • Can I get a virtual private server from IX Web Hosting?

    Yes. IX Hosting sells Windows and Linux VPS plans.

  • Will the price go up when it’s time to renew?

    Most of plans are initially sold at a discount, which means your price will go up on your renewal date.

  • Will my hosting plan come with a free domain?

    Most plans come with at least one free domain. Some plans come with up to three free domains. 

  • Is there a CDN included?

    IX Web Hosting does not provide a CDN.

  • Is there a money-back guarantee?

    Yes. There is a 30-day money-back guarantee, and some plans are also provided with a 7-day free trial.

    Note that IX Web Hosting also provides refunds for the whole term within 90 days, which it markets as a separate 90-day money-back guarantee. Be sure to check the fine print for all three offers.

  • Does IX Web Hosting offer support over the phone?

    Yes. Support is available 24/7 by phone, email and chat.

  • Are any reseller hosting plans available?

    No. IX Web Hosting does not offer plans specifically aimed at reselling.

    However, some plans can be split and resold. If you are looking for reseller hosting, be sure to contact IX Web Hosting and ensure your chosen plan meets the requirements.

  • Can IX Web Hosting help me to transfer an existing site?

    Yes, but there’s a fee for the migration service which covers a maximum of one database.

  • Does IX Web Hosting allow more than one domain per account?

    All plans offer unlimited domain hosting with no theoretical limits.

  • Does IX Web Hosting provide website builder software?

    Yes. It provides SiteStudio with all plans.

  • What security provisions are in place?

    IX Web Hosting carries out 24/7 monitoring, and offers Spam Assassin on all accounts.

  • Are one-click installers included?

    The EasyApps collection includes 32 one-click installers, including WordPress, Zen Cart, Joomla, and Gallery. Note that you cannot use EasyApps to install WordPress into the root of your hosting account.

  • How can I pay for my plan?

    You can pay with MasterCard, Visa, American Express, Discover, PayPal and AliPay.

  • What’s the uptime guarantee?

    IX Web Hosting offers a 99.9% uptime guarantee backed by a service credit for downtime beyond that figure.

  • How many email addresses do I get with my plan?

    This company offers unlimited email accounts and 10GB total storage space with the premium plan. Other plans scale this down, according to the price point.

  • Does IX Web Hosting provide unlimited bandwidth and space?

    Unlimited bandwidth and disk space are available on all IX Web Hosting plans.

  • Is IX Web Hosting shared hosting suitable for video streaming?

    Yes, but not on a shared hosting account. IX Web Hosting advises that VPS server options should be used for this purpose.

Most Popular IX Web Hosting Alternatives

SiteGround logo

Starts at:

$3.95

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

BlueHost logo

Starts at:

$2.75

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

InMotion Hosting logo

Starts at:

$3.99

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

Claire Broadley

About Claire Broadley

Claire has been creating websites for over 20 years and has been using WordPress for over ten. She is an expert in web hosting, design, HTML, and more. She lives with her husband and son in the United Kingdom.

Connect with Claire

www.ixwebhosting.com

86 Reviews

Starts at:

$3.95 / mo
Visit IX Web Hosting
mark

All IX Web Hosting plans include 100% Money Back Guarantee

Table of Contents