Add Your Review for JustHost

JustHost In 2018: How Would JustHost Clients Review Them?

142 Reviews
Last Updated Jan 12, 2018Add your review

Get over 50% off today

JustHost Features

  • Free '.com' domain
  • Money-back guarantee
  • 24/7 technical support
  • Unlimited traffic, emails
  • WordPress integration
  • Free backups

JustHost: Why Buy Hosting From Them?

  • Over 350,000 websites being hosted worldwide.
  • Feature packed web hosting.
JustHost logo justhost.com
Location:USA
Founded:2008

Is JustHost the Right Host for Your Website?

There are many thousands of web hosting companies. And as a result, it can be hard find the right one for your needs. In this article, I will discuss JustHost and help you to see if it is the one for you.

Web Host Review: JustHost

What Is JustHost Web Hosting?

JustHost is a simple-to-use hosting provider seeking to provide website owners all the features top hosting companies do, at a fraction of the cost — especially when using our exclusive coupon code FREEDOMAIN.

With a variety of hosting plans available for website owners of all sizes, a built-in website builder for easy site creation, and superior customer support on hand at all times, your website hosting needs are sure to be met, without destroying your budget.

The Good and the Bad

That said, JustHost doesn't come without some issues. In fact, some weaknesses may be enough for you to consider a different host altogether. So, take a look at what JustHost has to offer and see if it is suitable for your needs.

JustHost Background

Endurance International Group
Endurance International Group

As part of the Endurance International Group (EIG), JustHost plays a controversial role in what is seemingly a monopoly of hosting companies. This is because EIG buys multiple hosting companies and operates under the radar. So, customers won't always know that they might leave a hosting provider under EIG only to switch to another that is also owned by EIG.

Other brands under the EIG banner include BigRock, HostGator and Bluehost.

This can potentially harm customers as they might leave a host who offered bad service, only to find they've signed up with a new one that adheres to the same standards.

JustHost provides hosting solutions — shared, dedicated, VPS, and reseller — for all website sizes and types. The company focuses on customer service, prides themselves on offering competitive pricing, and emphasize features that cater to WordPress website owners.

Please note, although brands are owned by the same company, they are managed by entirely different teams in completely differing methods.

A Look at JustHost's Shared Hosting Plans

There is no denying that there are tons of shared hosting providers to choose from these days. And, with all of them offering a fairly standard set of features and competitive pricing, it can be difficult to know which one is truly the best.

While JustHost does fall in line with what most other shared hosting providers offer customers, you should know about a few standout features before deciding to look elsewhere.

Unlimited Everything (well almost everything)

With JustHost, you will receive unlimited GBs of host disk space, so you are not billed according to your bandwidth usage or the amount of disk space you use. This is because JustHost believes in providing all the resources needed to operate a fully functional, and successful website without having to worry about resource overages.

JustHost Current Email Accounts
JustHost Current Email Accounts

In addition, you can host an unlimited number of domains for easy site management, receive unlimited email accounts, and rest assured that you can transfer an unlimited amount of data to your new hosting provider without being charged.

Plus, you can forward an unlimited number of emails and include unlimited add-on, parked, and subdomains.

Keep in mind, these are almost unlimited features and primarily apply to the most expensive shared hosting plan available. If you look further, you will notice that the cheaper shared hosting plans limit some of the "unlimited" features, which can be a bit unsettling to find out.

Backend Features of JustHost

JustHost wants to ensure you have access to all the server-side services and databases you could possibly need. This is what you see once you log in to your control panel:

JustHost Control Panel
JustHost Control Panel

Here is a look at some of the most popular ones:

  • MySQL and PostgreSQL databases
  • CGI-BIN and CGI Library
  • Perl 5
  • Python
  • Ruby/Ruby on Rails
  • Javascript, DHTML, Flash, and Shockwave support
  • SimpleScripts 1-click script install.

It is worth noting that JustHost also provides support for PHP 5. And, while PHP 5 is adequate for all websites, PHP 7 is nearly twice as fast and ensures that poor speed and performance are a non-issue for website users. It would be nice to see JustHost offer PHP 7 since so many hosting providers are already doing so.

5 Advantages of Free Website Scripts

JustHost makes SimpleScripts available to all website owners. So, you can easily do an array of things due to this perk. Some of these things include:

  1. Creating a message forum using PHPBB;
  2. Installing social networking scripts;
  3. Building a bigger email list;
  4. Adding image galleries;
  5. Building polls and surveys to boost user engagement.

In addition, you can install Moodle, Tikiwiki, Drupal, Joomla, and even WordPress (complete with blogging capabilities) with an easy one-click install.

5 Vital Built-in E-Commerce Features

If you want to launch an e-commerce shop, JustHost has you covered.

E-Commerce Products
E-Commerce Products

The most important features needed to run a successful online store are included here:

  • Free SSL certificate (with premium ones available)
  • OSCommerce, Agora, Cube Cart, and Zen Cart shopping carts
  • Password protected directories for limiting access
  • OpenPGP/GPG encryption
  • Built-In multi-currency payment system.

Weebly - Benefits of Using a Website Builder

For those uninterested in using WordPress, JustHost offers all customers the Weebly Website Builder tool free of charge.

Used to build your website, e-commerce shop, and blog, Weebly is a simple drag-and-drop page builder that makes site creation easy for website owners of all levels.

With over a hundred themes to choose from, Weebly makes choosing the layout and design of your site easy. All you have to do is click and drag to add and rearrange the elements you want to appear on your site.

Having a website builder makes your life drastically simpler than having to hire a developer, alternatively learn code.

Features & Benefits Conventional Website Building Weebly
Design Developer or CSS/Javascript knowledge needed Plug-ins and customizable themes readily available
Content HTML knowledge essential User-friendly front-end, no coding needed
Layout HTML and CSS needed as a minimum Pre-set themes and content builders available for free
Security Developer or managed hosting (extra costs) needed Plug-ins and built-in security measures readily available

If you choose to utilize the Weebly site builder, keep in mind your site will reside on their servers, so you will have to follow their terms and services and you will not own your content, as you would if you choose to use WordPress for your site building needs.

However, for those with limited technical skills, Weebly is a perfect alternative to using the more robust content management systems.

JustHost even offers a custom site-management dashboard, where you're able to manage and monitor themes, plug-ins, and more!

JustHost Site Management
JustHost Site Management

WordPress Hosting

While there are no managed WordPress hosting plans available, JustHost does make hosting a WordPress website straightforward to set up and manage.

As mentioned above, JustHost provides website owners an effective way to install WordPress on your hosting account using the one-click installer in cPanel. But you also have the option to enable automatic WordPress core, plugin, and theme updates via the cPanel, which is typically a managed hosting feature.

Additional Hosting Solutions

In addition to offering shared hosting solutions, JustHost has dedicated, VPS, and reseller hosting plans:

  • Dedicated Hosting
  • VPS Hosting
  • Reseller Hosting.

Dedicated Hosting

JustHost's dedicated hosting solution is for those with large websites experiencing lots of daily traffic.

These plans come with features like instant setup, automatic RAID 1 protection, root access, enhanced caching abilities, server management and cPanel access, and dedicated support.

VPS Hosting

Built using powerful cloud technology, JustHost's VPS hosting plans come with a number of features.

These include root access, an enhanced cPanel, guaranteed server resources, instant setup, and multi-account management.

Reseller Hosting

Choose from share, dedicated, or VPS servers and add-on the services you need to create the perfect reseller package for you.

In addition, enjoy access to the WHM and WHMCS for complete account management, domain name promotions, a free pre-made e-commerce storefront, and easy integration with JustHost's HTTP API.

Hosting Variety

As you can see, no matter what size your site is, or what you end goal is, JustHost has a hosting solution to meet your needs.

JustHost Datacenters

JustHost has only one datacenter, located in Provo, Utah. This fact may not sit well with some that have an international brand, as multiple datacenters placed throughout the world often deliver faster and better performing results to site visitors.

Having a single datacenter to rely on can be extremely dangerous - this reflects in JustHost's uptime results.

In addition, increased latency problems and more downtime may result from relying on one datacenter.

That said, JustHost has ways to prevent excess downtime and slower page loading speeds should one customer on a shared server experience a large boost in traffic and monopolize the available resources.

  • CPU Protection
  • CloudFlare CDN.

CPU Protection

All JustHost shared servers are monitored using a specialized software to ensure every customer receives their fair share of the server's resources.

If at any time a server's resources are abused, this software immediately notifies JustHost.

CloudFlare CDN

JustHost offers website owners the powerful content delivery network (CDN) CloudFlare, free of charge, which is easily enabled via your cPanel account.

This global CDN caches your content across the network so site visitors, regardless of geographical location, always receive your site's content at fast speeds.

What About Uptime?

According to Pingdom's results regarding JustHost's uptime, the past six month's average ranks at a disappointing 99.1%. While seemingly good at first glance, it is tough to be okay with this because there are plenty of other hosting providers averaging 99.9% or higher, month after month.

In fact, since February of this year, JustHost failed to hit 100% uptime at all.

As of November 2017, JustHost did hit 100% of uptime all the way up until December, although these are short-term analytics as seen in the moving image.

JustHost Update and Response Time
JustHost Update and Response Time

More disappointing is the fact that JustHost fails to guarantee any uptime percentage or compensate users for any downtime they experience. Rather, the company's terms of service state:

"Due to the complexity and nature of a shared web hosting environment, downtime occurs. Unfortunately, we do not offer compensation for any downtime."

This is not in line with superior customer service and has the potential to dissuade many people from signing up with JustHost as their chosen hosting provider.

Improvements Needed

Though JustHost is a solid hosting solution, there are definitely things that need improvement.

Here are some things I would like to see change about Just Host:

  1. Backups need to be guaranteed
  2. JustHost will migrate up to five websites
  3. Uptime needs to improve.

Backups Need to be Guaranteed

Backups are critical for users to feel comfortable entrusting their websites to this service.

Having to manually backup your own website is something that not many hosting providers make you do.

Though there is a premium backup service available, this free feature is something that is easily found elsewhere.

JustHost Will Migrate up to Five Websites

Although this is a very nice feature, it isn't free. In fact, it comes at a hefty price.

This is disheartening for customers looking to switch hosting providers, since offering free site migrations is fairly standard amongst competing hosting providers.

Uptime Needs to Improve

In addition to this, there should be a guarantee of some sort to reassure customers their websites won't go down without compensation.

The claim that downtime is just a part of the shared hosting experience is unacceptable.

Summary

These downsides to using JustHost may be enough to harm company's overall reputation. While the hosting solutions offered here are adequate, customers seek data protection, free migration services, and uptime guarantees.

Behind the Scenes - Control Panel

JustHost provides customers with cPanel for managing all aspects of your hosting account.

To start, from the Home section of your cPanel, you can access domain information.Register a new domain, view a summary of registered domains, transfer a new domain name, assign domains to your cPanel account, manage domain redirections, and even export a domain list to a CSV file.Additionally, get the Google G Suite, access your hosted sites, the Marketplace, your emails, and things like available plugins, themes, and premium WP Live Support.

You can also login directly to your website from the cPanel. And best of all, directly access the Help Center if you need assistance.

JustHost's actual cPanel is very extensive. Luckily, everything is organized into clear categories.

Here are some of the key things you can access via the cPanel at first glance:

  • One-click installs
  • Mailing lists
  • CloudFlare CDN
  • FTP Manager
  • Site statistics such as bandwidth use, error logs, and latest visitors
  • Upgrades such as domain privacy, SiteLock protection, and Constant Contact
  • Professional services like site migrations
  • Promotional services such as Google AdWords and Bing Ads
  • SSH shell access
  • Database tools
  • Programming access.

Exceptional Customer Support

One thing that makes JustHost stand out amongst even the toughest competition is its dedication to customer support. In fact, the company offers what it deems "customer tailored support" in the form of around the clock phone and email access.

In addition, it has an extensive ticket system, breaking your queries into a variety of categories including affiliates, billing, sales, tech support, and verification. This way, your question is given to the right department immediately.

JustHost Customer Support
JustHost Customer Support

Lastly, you are free to engage in a live chat conversation with one of JustHost's support team members. Here you can ask a variety of questions and express concerns — whether you're a customer of JustHost or not — and expect to get a prompt and informative answer.

Do You Like This Host?

If you like the concept behind JustHost shared hosting, but you don't want to rely on spotty backups or manually creating them yourself, you are better off going with a hosting provider like Bluehost, which offers guaranteed daily, weekly, and monthly backups of your entire account.

For those wanting more managed features, like built-in CDN, caching, backups, and WordPress specific support, WPEngine is an excellent option, though this is far from the cheapest hosting provider on the market today.

Lastly, for those with concerns about JustHost's uptime issues, check out SiteGround. With consistent 99.9% uptime, and compensation for downtime, you can rely on this provider to keep your site up and running, and at comparable prices to JustHost.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does JustHost provide an uptime guarantee?

No. According to JustHost's terms of service, downtime is an expected part of the "shared web hosting environment," and the company doesn't offer compensation for any downtime that occurs, either.

Will the fact that JustHost has one datacenter in Utah site speed for international visitors?

It might. But JustHost does have a few safeguards in place to prevent site downtime or slowdowns due to a spike in on site's traffic. These protections include CPU protection and the use of CloudFlare CDN.

Uptime and Response Time

The average response time for JustHost is 1410ms over 7 days. For the months of November and December in 2017, JustHost had a 100% uptime.

InterServer Quick Overview

Use this quick guide to compare with other hosts that you might be thinking.

Specializations

WordPress Hosting: JustHost caters to those using WordPress and provides access to the one-click installation of WordPress themes and plugins via the MOJO Marketplace.

Customer Satisfaction: JustHost offers 24/7 phone and email support, a ticket system, and live chat support for answering all your questions.

Site Management: Not only do you receive a free domain when you sign up for JustHost services, you can also host unlimited domains, making the management of multiple websites easy.

Migration Policy

You can migrate up to five sites and 20 email accounts. This only applies to shared hosting customers, as JustHost does not offer migration support for reseller, dedicated, or VPS server accounts.

Quality of Support Material

Good

Control Panel

cPanel

Available Datacenters

Utah, USA

Money-back Guarantee Trial Period

30-day money-back guarantee with prorated refunds, less setup and domain registration fees.

Lowest Price for Shared Hosting or Other Cheapest Plans

$3.95/mo using our special code FREEDOMAIN

Backup Policy

Complimentary backups performed daily, weekly, and monthly by JustHost, but at the company's discretion per its Policy on Account Backups. In fact, JustHost clearly states that no backups performed are guaranteed and that it assumes zero liability for failed backups, lost data, or data integrity. The company encourages users to perform their own backups via cPanel.

Site Builder Included?

Yes, for free.

PCI Compliant?

All

Do any big brands use this host?

As of yet, there are no known brands publicly disclosed, which use JustHost's services.

Pros and Cons of JustHost

As a compact hosting provider, JustHost has certain highlightable upsides, as well as flaws.

JustHost Pros

  • Customer support is a major priority
  • Affordable pricing plans
  • Custom control panel for site management.

JustHost Cons

  • Reliance on a single datacenter
  • Backups not guaranteed.

Is JustHost the Right Choice?

The recurring theme here is that JustHost is a decent, though not spectacular, hosting provider. Offering plenty of variety when it comes to hosting plans, JustHost does a good job of providing adequate hosting features at cheap prices.

Slim Feature List

That said, the feature list is slim when it comes to the cheapest plans, and is something you don't necessarily know until you are ready to make your purchase, which can be disappointing.

WordPress

Since WordPress is the most commonly used CMS in the world today, I do enjoy that JustHost offers one-click WordPress installs and automatic core, theme, and plugin updates.

These features are often found in more expensive managed hosting solutions and will be appealing to those looking for a cheaper option.

Weebly

I also like the fact that JustHost offers Weebly, a simple site builder, free of charge that can help those who are new to web development or just need something simple.

Lots to Consider

In the end, there is much to consider when it comes to using JustHost.

It is important you evaluate your individual needs and decide whether the potential downsides are small enough to justify signing up for this company's services.

Last updated: 2018-01-18

142 Reviews of JustHost By Our Users

1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

If I could give them zero stars I would. Their DNS is completely screwed up. I asked them to change something simple and the next thing I knew my client’s emails disappeared.

Worst customer service I have ever encountered. The potential problems are not worth the couple bucks a month you might save.

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Please do not use Justhost for your hosting or email services. I renewed my hosting on 6th Nov 2017. Even after 6 days they still could not activate it.

My company's website is down for more that 6 days and their support staff is taking me round the world. They come up with various reasons and the last one was "Suspended due to high resources" I was laughing at this reason...I just have my html files only....not even SQL db. My mail server is located elsewhere......This company is an absolute Joke...

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've been with Just Host since 2009, and all was good until early 2014 when they upgraded my account without my knowledge (costing me a lot more per year!), and since then they have been an absolutely nightmare to deal with. The latest issue this week is that I could no longer get into my sites. One was due to ""No php version are set on the account.", which is BS because this site had been working fine.

They "fixed" it (without accepting blame or apologising) and the next day it happened again. With other sites, the issue was worse. Just like another reviewer here, they deleted files from my sites and acted like it was some mystery!

The customer service is also terrible because each time you contact them them, you're either waiting to chat with a tech rep for ages, or the issues take at least 45 or 60mins to "look into"... even after you tell them exactly where the issue is (since it was the same as the day before). I am moving all of my domains away from Just Host and won't even go near their sister company, Blue Host.

 
3 stars
Support
2 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I too will be moving along to another hosting service. At one time they were one of the best. It now is an uphill battle to get problems resolved.

All my emails had no problems at one time. They are now using sending servers that are shared with known spammers. As such, all my AOL clients do not receive my emails.

They are being blocked because the sending IP address is from a server with known spammers. JustHost keeps saying they are working on the problem...they are working on the problem...they are working on the problem. In the meantime clients (which are U.S.

veterans) are not receiving my emails which are related to veterans benefits, activities, and events. Looks like it will be bye bye JustHost.

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Just terrible. They deleted files of all my websites and Databases. When I contact their support they keep saying " May I place you on hold for 3 to 5 minutes, while I check this for you? " and they kept saying this line put me on hold for more than hour.

After that they said we are investigating issue and we will email you once issue is fixed but they never did that. Just poor and Terrible. Stay away

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

JustHost has been an absolute nightmare the last couple of years and I have thought about switching many times. We have finally come to the end of the line and I can't deal with their awful support at a not great price any longer. Their support is an absolute joke and emails rarely get returned.

 
3.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

In general I have had no problems with this company. Recently, though, they have changed their Support policy and they no longer respond to emails or ticketing for technical issues. They do provide a 'Chat' facility ( which doesn't seem to work on any of the mainstream browsers that I have tried ) or a phone number which, in the U.K.

is a Service number at 55p per minute. I beleive that the call rate for service numbers are set by the organisation rather than the phone provider - so it's no wonder that I have been on hold for 15 minutes!! What a 'nice little earner'!!!!

 
4 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

If you are not limited in budget and you are after reliability and uptime JustHost is one of the best hosting you can get. JustHost provides 24/7 live support. Their live chat support ensures that you can get resolution.

I have tried this several times and they were able to provide good support, though sometimes you will have to ask for level 2 support, which they will instantly respond to. Originally I was with Supergreenhosting which merge with Justhost that's why I got my hosting through JustHost. Compared to the previous one, Justhost only has a few features, though their Mojo marketplace can take care of the installation needs, there are still features that was eventually lost.

Lastly, their price is not cheap. You will start with a very affordable price but after a year you will have to transfer hosting if you are on a budget. But if you decide to stay with Justhost, you wont regret is if you hate downtimes.

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been with JustHost since 2008 and never had a bad word to say about them, like many other people it all seemed to go wrong in 2014, I was used to rapid speeds and great support so much so I had opened five other hosting accounts with them, then all of a sudden for the first time in 6 years I started to get email upgrades newsletters from them asking me to upgrade for additional space and mySQL's etc. I then start to get my accounts suspended for excessive file counts (First time in 6 years) then along comes the server speed upgrade sales emails, never had a speed issue Ever and then all of my sites load speeds have slowly month by month deteriorated to the point I had one site taking up to 30 seconds to load a page

Every time I contacted Live Support (Be prepared to wait minimum 45 mins even when the timer says estimated time 2 mins) and I would be fobbed off with one excuse after another by someone who was obviously reading off a script and with an Indian name so theyve obviously farmed out their technical support to India whereas it was always USA

So out of desperation I started calling their UK support number as I was at least getting through to their USA support team, although more helpful and they do tend to get your issue sorted, this comes at an extremely hefty phone bill

All in all, JustHost once had a great service, great speeds, customer support and at a fair price, now all of this has deteriorated but the price has gone up so from someone who has been with them for 8 years but is migrating all of my sites away, Keep well clear

If you are in the UK I cant speak highly enough of these guys www.eukwebhost.com, support is rapid and it feels like I am dealing with real people who care again, just like JustHost used to be

 
3 stars
Support
3 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Had a good start but went downhill towards the half of the subscription. Features of cPanel Plus (SEO) extras are good but restrcited SSH is available at a fee. Support responds within 24 hours.

I may not have contacted them if server load went to so high my websites started to load long if they ever did. This happened to me 4 times thus my move to another host. I supposed their servers are way oversold and won't recommend them as a budget cPanel web host.

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

First at all, I WAS a perfectly pleased customer of new host, until 2 years ago or so, the first years all was fine, no issues at all, but all changed from last couple of years. I was so satisfied I payed for 3 years in advance until 2017 , since that day the whole service as been from bad to worse. 15 days ago they send me a message that all my sites where suspended by malware, No help from them, they only tried to sell his tools to clean it up (450 USD or so) , I have deleted all content replace with my backups, they said it still has infection. I have my backup scanned by a third party and no infection al all so I get a new host, they transfered my account from just host to their host (I warned about malware but they found none), I changed all my nameservers and nothing, By 4 days I have no access and nobody knows why.

I have all my sites pointed to justhost no mattar what. So please Stay away, was affordable and great years before, now is just affordable.

 
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

For 3 years I had used Just Host, until one year ago was OK but then became a worst thing that I had used! The technical suport doesn't work; you have to wait a long time, the "technicians doesn't solve your trouble, be very polite but doesn't work!! They return the same ask more than one time.

I had tried solve the trouble several times without solution. At least they told me that my domain "doesn't exist" and my password "dont match"!!!!!!!! And the site still send my emails but nobody con aswer me!!!

When I tried to cancel they told me that I doesn't exist so they can't do it!!!!!! Fortunatelly I had used Pay Pal and they solve it!!! Avoid it in any case!!!

Use smoke signals, telegraphe, drums but no Just host. I sugest that they change the name to Just worst!!!

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Truly displeased with what JustHost has become. I have been running a WordPress themed website with them for the last 3 years. I've had no issues until recently.

And when it gets bad; apparently there is no support involved. I ran into issues of where my website was down, I couldnt access the page from anywhere, I couldnt even log into my backend of wordpress. Got the issue solved, they managed to restore something that allowed me access to wordpress, but then my site was extremely slow.

It would time out or just take a few minutes to load. And when it comes to pleasing customers, they will not wait more than 20 seconds to see the page load. So again I contact support and they tell me it is because my site needs optimizing, and instead of helping me understand the problem they just continuously spam me with links to purchase their service to optimize.

A lot of issues come with language barrier. It feels like they arent understanding your concern and when they see what they understand they give you what their command prompt tells them to do. So the next day i went to see what i needed to do to cancel them because i wasnt going to pay to have slow and non-existent service.

The lady on the other end assured me that by upgrading it would fix the issue, and i specifically asked "If it doesnt speed my website up can i get a full refund" of course her answer was yes. So i went forward with the upgrade, I waited 2 days to make sure it wasnt just time it needed to be switched, but the speed did not get any better, and in fact there was then a limit on my images and somehow i was over my space requirments - which made my site verrrrrrry slow and non responsive - i couldnt log in the back end. (I was hosting 2 websites under one account and they assured me it would all work out) So to a user who doesnt know what they are doing. Stay away.

I'm taking my business local where i can get it at a better price and be more secure about everything. Also be careful because during these conversations my one domain was taken from GoDaddy and put onto JustHost, I thought the email i received had to do with nameservers being pointed there (as the email notice came from GoDaddy and not JustHost), but it was actually the whole domain moving and now i have to deal with removing it from JustHost. Just unethical in my opinion.

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

JustHost's support team are the worse I've ever come across. The email addresses linked to my account were not working for 3 weeks, and I emailed several times without getting a response. When I finally did get a reply it did not answer my question, and I had to contact them through Twitter to get a response.

I tried to use the LiveChat support service but the people operating it do not seem to have any technical skill at all, are very slow, and do not answer questions. My website is occasionally down and a reason for it is never given. I have been using JustHost for 6 years but will be transferring to another hosting site as soon as possible because the service is so bad. I would not recommend them to anyone.

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Really trash hosting, lost all my database and my website even though i had dedicated hosting paid for a whole year, not reliable at all Plus nasty customer service, customer service is very poor I keep being transferred to different dept, know one is willing to solve the problem.. 2 weeks no help.

 
2.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

JustHost used to be really good when I first signed up about 6 years ago. It has really gone downhill over the last year or so, especially over the last 6 months. The main problem I have is with their email service.

For the last 6 months, I have been unable to send out emails. I have several work-related email addresses for my nonprofits. As essentially a small business owner, I need professional email addresses to build our organizations and be a professional.

With JustHost, my emails will act like they have sent because they are in your sent folder. But, they are really not sent. I had people whom I was doing business with get mad and accuse me of not responding to their emails.

It has been very embarrassing and harmful to my business. When I contacted JustHost, I get told my email is working find no problems. When I complain again, I get no response.

With Chat support, I got connected to a "specialist." I was told that I send out mass emails that are blocked by spammers, which is not true. They blamed me the client who pays them money each year and has been a loyal customer for over 6 years. I was threatened and told if I continue to send spam I would be forever blocked.

Right now, I am forever blocked anyways. They refuse to admit that they have a problem with their entire email system being registered as a spammer. My email has not been fixed after 6 months of begging them to help me.

They have been a horrible nightmare over this email situation and have cost me time, money and business that I could not afford to lose. I am warning people to stay away, because if I had know this is what was going to happen I would never have signed up with them.

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

JustHost is the absolute worst. My site's performance is mediocre at best, and I pay over $30 a month for services. In terms of customer support, it's a joke.

Truly. The "web chat" support is nothing more than operators in India prepped with canned responses. You will sit in a queue for 40 minutes, and then they spew complete fabrications about how "they are working on a server issue which will be resolved as soon as possible." The next day, it's the same thing, and the next operator says they don't know why you were told that, and that there's no issues with the server.

It's complete garbage. Don't waste your time or your money with this organization. Their service is terrible, and their customer support is even worse.

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Justhost seems good at first. Comprehensive cpanel, good price and package. It has been a catastrophe.

To summarise

-I had to pay 79eur to migrate my website
-I experience frequent downtime
-website and back end on Wp are extremely slow despite optimising database and images as much as possible
-they dont respond to tickets. At best you get a canned response within a week. The only quick way to contact them is via the chat with a min of 20min waiting time
-I am now trying to migrate to a new host and just host doesn't provide the full cpanel back up making the migration a week later impossible to complete. All in all just avoid!

 
4 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been with JustHost for almost 10 years. Like others, I can't say anything good about their support anymore. They used to be phenomenal.

But recently I ran into an issue that they seem to not be able to resolve. My files randomly get wiped to 0 bytes for no reason, even files that have been on the server for years without issue. JustHost has literally stopped responding to my support tickets. 3 in the past month, none responded to. I am throwing in the towel and switching because that is all I can do at this point.

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have used JustHost for a long time now, about 6-7 years. I used to recommend them to everybody. Their service was top-notch and their shared hosting plan was very affordable.

However, everything with JustHost has taken a huge nosedive in the past year. First, their shared servers had a massive spam issue and so all of our email domains on our sites were blacklisted for months this fall. I believe they still are in some cases.

JustHost always gave different answers on when or even if they were going to fix the problem. They kept promising I would receive email updates and I never did once. This cost us a lot of business issues, obviously.

The wait times for customer service have become terrible. 30 minutes or more is the usual wait and many times it is longer. We used to get amazing customer service, fixing pretty much every issue immediately during our chat. Now, it seems that they have people with no technical knowledge running the chat service.

I will ask a specific question and their answer won't even address it. Sometimes their answers make me feel like they just have a magic 8 ball that they are using for responses so my guess is their untrained support techs are merely reading from a script. They are currently having major server issues that seem to be affecting every aspect of the hosting including back end, front end, cpanel, etc.

They have refused to offer a full backup without purchasing an extra product, which is fine, I went ahead and purchased it so that I can transfer everything away from them. We are going with a new hosting provider. It is a shame that a company that was so good has become so awful. I would not recommend them at this point to anyone.

 
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Notice that the positive reviews are all from about 5-7 years ago? Thats no coincidence. I've been a justhost customer for about 7 years.

The first couple years I had nothing but great things to say about justhost. Their customer service WAS outstanding. If you tried online chat, you'd get a representative in no more than a couple minutes.

If you tried to call, it might take you 5-10 minutes max to get through to a live person. However, over the last 3 years, justhost has become about the worst hosting company out there. I tried to get someone on online chat and it gave me an estimate of 30 minutes.

I waited the full 30 minutes and the timer was seemingly stuck at 1 min remaining for about 20 minutes. So after about 50 minutes waiting, I finally got a person on chat who gave the most generalized, non-helpful answers to any and all questions I asked. Anytime you ask a question, they will search the knowledge base for a relevant article and give you a link.

That is not support. I currently have an issue that has brought my business to a complete halt caused by justhost. I have been waiting 5 days for someone to respond to my support ticket.

I've called in multiple times and everyone I speak to says the issue is out of their hands and they're waiting on a senior rep to review and respond.

- High prices
- High downtime
- Zero competent customer support
- Raise rates to tax existing customers well above industry standards. Avoid justhost like the plague!

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Live chat is a joke with Just Host. I've been with them for 2 years and can hardly wait til my contract is up so I can change. For example, clicking on live chat it will say something like 16 minutes and an hour later someone will finally come on line and then not be able to help.

My site was hacked and trying to get any kind of assistance was a joke and all they wanted was for me to sign up for another service which would cost $89 for one time or $500 for a full blown cleaning according to them. I hired an outside service that will stay on top of it for me at a lot less. Their pricing just keeps going up and frankly a year ago I purchased a back up plan they well recommending that caused my site problems but they wouldn't do anything to help with that either. I definitely do not recommend this company.

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

This used to be good when we first started buy I can not receive emails via our account on both email addresses, they keep sending renewal notices but take not notice to unblock our email address. Apparently someone hacked in and was sending spams from our address. Totally lost all control of the site and trying to get the account reinstated.

Dreadful! They just want the fees not the responsibility to progress problems, we are changing to Go Daddy and will transfer everything over to them. Not recommended. They have a dreadful customer service, sure we used their chat line three times to try and get it resolved, still blocked.

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Have been a customer for 7 years, after one year of "Pro" they upped the pricing by $60. The pricing is far too much for services that they fall through on. I mentioned to chat support(after waiting 40 minutes to connect) that I'm considering transferring my web hosting provider and now almost all of my 50 websites are down.

Interesting timing, right? I tried resetting my password and all I get is "There was an error submitting your password." Can't even login to my own account. Support said to wait several hours to try again and also that websites will be back up in 12 hours.

Terrible support, terrible hosting, terrible up-time. Would not recommend to anyone. Migrating to another hosting provider.

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Had a really good experience with Justhost for a number of years. Everything seem to work fine. Bog-standard websites and good hosting charges.

During September 2015 I had my first Malware attack with all 10+ websites going down. I was obliged to purchase their recommended scanning service to bring them all back online which took around five days. Emails since were erratic with Live Chat support in a similar vein.

Today (3/12/15) another Malware attack and all down once again. Justhost are happy to push the same Site Doctor scanning service which 'cleans' the files for the same cost again. The scan/clean 'guarantee' is for 30 days and therefore cannot be relied on to do a good job Plus the vendors seem to lack confidence in their own product. Anyway, need to look elsewhere for a decent hosting company I can rely on.

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've been a customer for several years. It was great in the begining, I started with hosting only but over the years I've added anti-spam, icloud, etc... I only use it for my personal email nothing else.

Lately it's been very frustrating; with all the choices out there surely there's a better option.
1). Increasing issues out of my control; Terrible customer service (and snarky!).
2). Down time seems to be on the rise.
3).

Lately seems to be lots of problems accessing my account.
4). I currently get over 300 spam emails per day, the spam blockers they offer are all or nothing. Either I get everything or nothing.
5).

Suprise actions without notice or warning on the account (suddenly no emails!)
6). I dont think I'm going to renew; terrible customer service, poor communication, Lots of time spent on hold with tech support

 
2 stars
Support
2 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

At first I was very impressed with the service that this company provided. However now just four months later my site is running very slow and could pretty well be as good as down. It is described as "an intermittent problem which our technicians are working very hard to resolve" This problem has been occurring on and off for about two months now and there only solution seems to be to move over to the more expensive plans.

I'm sorry but if I was looking for a dedicated server I would have chosen another company. Looking now for a better product somewhere else.

 
2.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

JustHost Sucks big time!!! They recently have been hit by a Ddos attack and i haven't even been informed, not just me, if you do a quick search on google you will see how many people are complaining!! My email is down, can't use FTP and now my website is down as well.

After a few calls to support, more than 30 min waiting just to talk with someone and being passed from one department to another the only solution that they have offered me was for me to buy an extra service ( dedicated IP ) or wait until they fix it, no ETA. So, lack of professionalism and very very poor service. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

 
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I would like to say that their Support staff is all too often not knowledgeable. They have been unprofessional and all too often the hold time to speak to a Support person is very, very long. I have not been able to send or receive emails using my two email accounts at JustHost since last Thursday and today is Saturday!

I called several times about the problem and today, was on the phone approximately 1 hour and 45 minutes. The first Support person told me that I couldn't log in because their was a cookie or cache problem and I needed to clear them. I told him it did the same thing on another browser (which I had to re-enter my info) so that was not true or false.

He told me basically that he was very experienced with email Support and ended the call without anything resolved. The second Support person finally resolved the issue. The issue stemmed from a Denial of Service Attack and they blocked me and others from using their server.

I called them and was told that I needed to get a dedicated IP address and that would fix it within around 10 minutes. So I paid $95 and it didn't fix anything hours later and not until today, even though I spoke to multiple Support people, was I told that I needed to enter the new IP address in my email client so it would work! So I entered the new IP address and now, finally, I can send and receive emails on my two accounts I couldn't before.

I still cannot log onto my Webmail though! Now, I will have to call again and see why that's not resolved yet. This has been reported many times but is still not resolved.

 
3.5 stars
Support
2 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been a JustHost customer for 4 years and have 3 servers with them. They represent good value and for the majority, they have been good (enough). However things seem to be changing for the worse.

This year on two occasions they have deactivated my server due to terms of service with NO warning or notification. First time, I went over file count (so to fix, I just had to reduce count, contact them to re run log counter). This time it was an alleged Malware attack.

I was forced to purchase Site Doctor 3 days ago. It is now approaching day 4 and I am still out of action completely, I was told today that there are still 10 jobs in front of me - hence, for 3 days, nothing has been done to get my sites online. I could have setup a new server and restored last known good backup and been up and running in 1/2 day.

They dont seem to care or appreciate the potential loss of business leaving a business offline for 4+ days without action... Hence, I am now looking to move my 3 servers elsewhere.... I do NOT recommend any serious orgs who rely on integrity of web services for their business to use JustHost.

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I tried hosting with JustHost in July of 2013 and immediately canceled because I found their service to be terrible. After a long annoying process, I got my money refunded. Then the following year I suddenly got a bill on my credit card for $35 for two "add-on" services that I didn't even know I had.

When I called about it, they informed me that when I canceled my web hosting, I didn't cancel those other services, and they refused to refund my money. They claimed that because they had emailed me prior (emails which I didn't get) and I had not responded, that I was not entitled to a refund. So I was paying for services for something that didn't even exist.

I told the woman to cancel every single service that they had me down for, and to never charge me for anything again. So now another year later, they have charged me again! Now I have to file a dispute with my credit card company.

What a pain. Do not use this company!

 
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

The worst company ever. They used to be OK, however you will know the truth once you need to contact their so called Tech Support team you will realize how incompetent they are. Had my email down for a week and every time I contact them I end up with some Idiot that know nothing about the issue nor how to fix it.

Fist time I contact them, the "tech support" forgot to create the ticket to fix the issue
Second time (2nd day); They create the ticket and promise to have it solved in 24hrs
Third time (4th day): the tech support tells me it is impossible to have this fixed in 24hrs it takes 36hrs
Forth time (7th day) the tech support tells me there is nothing wrong with your emails, so I explain again and again.... yet nothing gets fixed

If you ever thing of dealing with these guys, think again!!! Unless you don't mind not having emails for a week or probably more, this is not the company you want to deal with. In fact I'm surprised they exist.

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

we have had nothing but problems and the technical support is non-existent. Do not use this host service. They are cheap and that is what you will get, cheap.

If you want your website to go down for service, go off line without warning, your e-mail to stop working for no reason all to spend 2 Plus hours on hold or seeking help just to be told it is your fault . . . then this company is for you, if you want service that works, pay more or pay less but whatever you do, pay someone else.

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've been with JustHost for several years now. In the begining they were pretty decent. Prices started off great with around $4/month.

Now several years later I'm paying $11.95/month. I was hoping that with being a long time customer your rates would be good. This will be the last time I renew my hosting with them.

I wouldn'y have minded paying if the service was good but there is so much downtime. The worst is that I lose about 90% of emails that come in from clients. have a "contact us" form on the website and never get any reservations from customers come through.

They would call me an hour later and ask if I had received their emails and it would leave me looking unprofessional that I had no clue as to what they were talking about. I am able to email between my JustHost email accounts but can never send or receive email from any other source ie. Gmail, Yahoo, Hotmail, ATT or other business emails.

I read on their site that this can be due to reaching my quota but I'm only at about 30% of my quota thus far. I've opened a ticket with them but only received an automated reply and nothing else. I would recommend staying away from JustHost!!

You will lose business and clients!! Stay away, find another web hosting company. They will sucker you in for an introductory rate of $2.95/month and then jack it up to $12/month. Beware JustHost

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've had the $3.95 @ month domain now for a little more than a week - testing Wordpress. Navigating around the user interface is slow. Hit a button and wait...Update text on a page, hit the preview button and wait...Hit "all pages" just to get to another Wordpress page or anywhere else in Wordpress, and wait...Navigating the live site even to pages with little content is a wait...Tech support says everything looks fine where they are at. (wadda surprise) OK, lets check...waiting...Everything is a wait...Just for the record, wait times have averaged from 5 seconds to 30 seconds, averaging 5+ seconds for Wordpress user interface navigation.

It's almost like the system farts when you hit a button and then needs time to compose itself out of embarrassment. And no, it's not my connection or a bloated Wordpress site, yadda yadda yadda. The problem is consistent throughout the day and into the night...Extremely annoying! Moving elsewhere...

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have JustHost for a few years, and they are getting worse by the minute. They used to be good, but now the people in support seems to have no technical knowledge at all, so its impossible to talk to them. I just found out that they are not keeping full copies of my site!

They have none! So if you are looking for hosting keep in mind that there is a good chance that you may loose Your Site (all files) in an instant! And if you already have them call and find out if they are keeping your copy, because they told me that they really don't need to keep them that it is only a courtesy that they do.

Right now i am really sorry i have them, but when you switch hosts, your positioning in google is affected badly. Think i might have to do it anyway.

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Such poor customer service :-(

Tried contacting them 3 or 4 times now - because they deactivated my cPanel (I guess due to inactivity). These people just don't get back to you ...... and when they do, all you get is, “send us another e-mail.”
What is the point if they don't respond to the 1st e-mail?

They boast about ‘Customer tailored support’ and offering a ‘Real human to talk to’. I'd rather speak to a bleeding computer and get helped, than dealing with some fellow just stinting there waiting for his next paycheque. I’ll definitely ask to move my domain name, etc.... but I expect they'll not make it easy.

 
4 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been a JustHost customer for almost one year now and I must say they are just an average web hosting company. Since I am the owner of an Albanian web design & development company (SuccessSite.Co) I have experience on more than 20 different web hosts. The uptime was great the first 6 months (no downtime at all) but it started having small time downtimes (5 minute downtimes) often.

I believe this differs from server to server but their uptime was just average or even below average. Their support was also average (I only used phone support though) and I cannot say if the staff was qualified enough because I didn't ask them for help with programming my websites, it was rather about migrations, uptime and changing the hosting plan. What made me to wait for my hosting term to end is their features.

They provide a custom cPanel with a customized x3 theme. The latest theme (and the one I love most) is Paper Lantern and I was a bit disappointed because they do not offer it. I was caught up on their first month price by not realizing that their renewal fees were more than double the first month's but it was not a lot higher than most so I sticked with it until now.

They also do not offer an advanced DNS zone editor (they offer the simple one though) so I couldn't actually do all I wanted with my domain without activating CloudFlare first. Mojo Marketplace was new to me but it wasn't all that bad. Most other features were what you can also find in HostGator or other hosting companies so all in all I believe that JustHost is below average when it comes to the features.

Anyway it is all about what you want to do. If you are not a professional and want only to host your own website then JustHost is a really good host but if you are looking for the latest features (like I am) you would better go with another hosting provider.

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Stay away from this host - the worst i have ever worked with. Expensive (not 3.95$/hour)

Non existing support (It takes the support 5 minutes in the chat to answer a question)

Horrible reliability. Stay away!

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I am very new to running a website on my own server. I had a bit of a hard time to get the first few steps right, but JustHost's help center sure did help! I have to say though, that the help center can be a bit out of date, but it took me 5 seconds to Google my questions and find an answer.

I think that is mostly due to my lack of knowledge about these things. Overall, I'm pretty satisfied with the service and I think I'll continue to use it for fathers' company website (which I'm still building, to be honest) and my personal tech blog!

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Stay away, save your money, save yourself from disappointment. I was a customer of JustHost for more than 3 years. In the beginning, their shared service was really cheap ($3/month), but their regular price was around $8.75/month, they also offered a free domain name and free domain name privacy.

The servers were really fast, they had lots of features, zero downtime, no problems of any way. Fast forward to the future, the last two years JustHost had constant downtimes, even for static Html pages. Their FTP service is terrible due to constant disconnections.

Their Cpanel logs you out constantly without reason. Their shared host service is totally unusable, and don't think on installing Wordpress because you simply won't be able to post anything. I had to quit because a) they changed their TOS and I had to pay for my "free" domain name and domain name privacy b) they moved me to a higher cost service that costs $15/month since the $8/month is only for a single domain name c) I have lost a lot of traffic from search engines due to the constant downtimes.

d) basically, my hosting expenses doubled out of the blue. If you want to know why I sticked too long with such a bad service, it was due mostly because I had no money nor time to move to another service. JustHost might seem cheap, but it's bad quality and you end paying more money at the end of the day than even buying a private VPS. Stay away from this provider.

 
4.5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Hello! I just want to let you know about my experience with JustHost. Pros:
- A great deal for what you get!
- Rapid support (20-40 minutes!)
- High uptime!
- Overall website seems faster.

Cons:
- Seems a little to expensive for me, a beginner. I'm a student, I don't have loads of money.
- The price creeps up on you after the introductory period. To sum it up, I would recommend JustHost to any of my clients, however, for someone like a student like me, I'd unfortunately have to turn them away. For the price and what you get, great deal!

 
4.5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Hello, I've been with JustHost for a couple of years now and I am more than happy. I use it mainly for email which I have been very happy with. I have many wesright.com email addresses that I need up and running all the time and JustHost has done very well by me so far.

There have been a few times the servers were down but they were few and far in between. To be honest I can not remember the last downtime. I've also had to submit a ticket or two in the past and they were always handled quickly and professionally.

I wish I had more to say about them but mostly they are transparent and I tend to forget they are there. Everything I have setup with them works so I often forget they are there. What more could I ask? Lastly, I don't really use the web page service so I can't really go into those services.

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Very bad support. If they are want to answer they will. I close just host account, and steel waitin refund about month.Get I my money back or not, I don't know.

But people must to know, that it is very bad company. Hosting is very slow. I will tell everybody for this company very bad review.

 
4.5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

JustHost.com features a lot of Great features; to name a few:

1. Awesome live online chat support (0-10 min waiting time)
2. Free domain name when you register & instant set-up
3.

Unlimited websites: unlimited domains & subdomains of those domains!
(transferring a domain to them cost $14.99/yr, but I don't think its necessary as long as you change the DNS)
4. Unlimited e-mails @your-domains.com and @your.subdomains.com
5. Unlimited space & bandwidth
6.

Good Price ($2.50/month for the first term; up to 3 years!) & flawless up-time
7. Free website builder and free plug-ins like 1-click wordpress, joomla, etc.
8. Unlimited mysql databases
9.

Advertisement credits: $50 Facebook, $100 Google, $50 Bing
10. cPanel, Domain managers, 2 online FTP managers, Mysql control, etc. The only thing I don't like are some the addons on cPanel cost extra (like site backup), but you probably won't need them.

However they are not anywhere near as sneaky as iPage's hidden costs--who I got a refund from. JustHost is affordable, and liked it better than iPage and any other hosting service I've tried (which are about 5 services)

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Just Host is a total mistake for my business. I was on hold for over 30 min. before I just had to give up.

Then when I went to the "on line chat", that was another 27 min. to wait to talk to someone. Then, after chatting about a "translate" button I saw at the bottom of emails, I was told "I don't know but I would not try it as there are probably bugs".

Building a website, not as easy as everyone makes out. I would be leary because I believe most of the "reviews" are paid for. Bottom line, Don't do it, Don't do it, Don't do it

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

i am another unhappy reseller. sent several tickets for backup problem and after 10 days they replied finally but i already rebuilt our site. also sent several tickets asking help for cPanel errors (SimpleScripts doesn't work) but no one replies.

now i am transfer to another SSD hosting company. horrible tech support.

 
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

JustHost Sucks

I will tell you all why. Their support system is totally flawed. I think they have not given proper priority to their support.

Their chat will make you wait for 30 minutes. I do not know how many seconds they have in their minutes. The Chat page shows 30 minutes of wait and I waited for more than 45 minutes for it to drop to 14 minutes.

I called their support +18887557585 using skype and after pressing the key 2 for technical support I waited for more than 40 minutes and then their Voice automation redirected me to the survey where I pressed 0 that I would not recommend JustHost to anyone. I was totally surprised. The ticket went unanswered.

I waited for their chat and their phone support but it was a total waste of time. I wanted to get a SSL Certificate Installed. They have remove the Certificate Installation feature from SSL/TLS manager for custom certificate installations.

This is because they want to force their own SSL Products available through them. I had the Certificate issued but just to get it installed the JustHost made me wait just and just for a long long time. Their support totally sucks and I am not the only one to be a victim of their improper support system.

I would not recommend anyone to host any of their websites with JustHost because support is the key thing in hosting. If there are no proper support then it's useless whatever service they provide and how good they are. So please please kindly think before you sign up with JustHost.

I don't want anyone to suffer because of their poor support system and improper management. Thanks

 
2 stars
Support
2 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Justhost offers a very good price and a lot of features, and if you are looking for hosting for a personal project, I'm sure it's great. However, if you need hosting or email for business, I'd give it a wide berth, as the low price is not worth the cost to your business of frequently being unable to access your emails. For instance, this morning I've been unable to access my emails at all for at least an hour and a half - I've opened their live chat support app, but that says the current wait time is 30 mins.

This is not a real waiting time. It's said that for at least the last fifteen minutes, and last time I was given a wait time of 30 mins on the app, after 2 hours I still wasn't through to support - although my wait time was down to five minutes by the time my email came back up. Also, they get a lot of spam problems, so if you share a server with anyone else, expect not to be able to email anyone who's signed up to an anti-spam service at random intervals.

The least of my worries is that the three online email viewers that are irritating to use and strike me as the technology of a decade ago. Certainly searching your emails is a problem - possibly partly because of justhost's general slow speeds. I guess you get what you pay for there.

If you're thinking that you don't need email, just webhosting, again I maintain that their offering is fine for personal use, but not for business. My website is often slow. I am barely prepared to wait long enough for a new page to open, so I dread to think how clients experience it.

You'll also find it an uphill struggle to build your website, as the speed of the site means that you will have long waiting times every time you need to make a change. I've built several sites before (mainly on Yahoo and Google) and I was confident that this wouldn't be a problem, as I was only building a small site, but actually it was so slow it was a real problem. That said, justhost does have a wide range of features and is almost certainly fine for a personal or hobby site, as you don't need to present a professional face to clients and it doesn't matter if there are some mornings when you can't access your emails, but you will still be able to take advantage of all justhost's range of features.

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

We move our site to JustHost after doing a lot of research. Seemingly every review I read of webhosts ranked JustHost in their top 3, lauding uptime, performance and superior customer service. So, we decided to go with them.

That was a big mistake I would encourage others not to make. FIrst, performance on the site was poor. We have a small site that consumes very few resources, and yet we were experiencing significant amounts of CPU throttling and slow table queries.

We would have a simple query on an indexed table with 100 records take 5-10 seconds to return a value. That's crazy. So, we started attempting to communicate with their tech support people.

That's where we experienced the second problem with JustHost. Their technical support was absolutely horrible. We would email, then wait typically 12-18 hours to get a reply, and the reply was almost always short and generic and did nothing to address our issue.

So then I'd respond, complaining about the wait time and the worthless reply and would then get a reply fairly quickly that was only slightly more helpful. Our issues persisted. I finally had our developer send in an email with data from our logs so we could try to troubleshoot the problem.

He never got a reply, so after 24 hours of waiting I requested our issue be escalated to a manager. It went to someone with the title of Director who emailed me about 12 hours later to apologize for our experience and to assure me they were "handling this personally". That was 5 days ago and I've heard Nothing from anyone at JustHost.

My developer has heard nothing from anyone at JustHost. Pathetic. So on Friday of last week we made arrangements to move our site to a new host, InMotion.

But before I pulled the trigger I gave them one last chance, and initiated a livechat. That was a joke. Took almost 30 minutes just to get someone live while I waited in their queue, then once I did the first person was completely worthless so I had to wait 10 minutes while they got someone else who was only slightly less worthless.

He had no technical knowledge that could help us in any way. So after being in chat with them for almost an hour and getting nothing accomplished I told him he was going to tell me one of two things, either by what manner my developer would be contacted by someone within the next 15 minutes to resolve this issue, or what my next step was to cancel our account and move our domain to a new host. His response was to offer to email the Director mentioned above and request they actually respond to me.

Um, no, not acceptable. I gave you two choices, mister. Pick one.

He said he could not have anyone contact our developer but we were welcome to create a new service ticket request. So that was it, we were done. We moved our domain over the weekend and here's what we've observed at InMotion: our site is blazing fast, no interruptions to uptime (which we were consistently getting at JustHost), and when we've needed to interact with customer support it's been Very fast to get them and they've been very helpful.

The complete opposite experience of JustHost. The livechat with JustHost was valuable for one reason. The guy said he knew it didn't help but that they were experiencing double the normal support requests for this time of year and were trying to staff up to handle it.

Well, why would they be experiencing double the support requests? One of two things is happening to JustHost: either they grew too fast and are putting too much traffic onto their shared servers, or they are having some really fundamental technical issues that are causing widespread performance issues and it wasn't just us seeing lousy performance, it's a significant portion of their customer base. And their tech support people are drowning.

I also discovered after doing more indepth research that JustHost only uses SSD drives on their SQL databases, NOT on your actual website. Seriously? If I'd known that we wouldn't have signed up in the first place.

InMotion's solution is 100% SSD and it shows. The difference in our site's performance now with InMotion versus a few days ago with JustHost feels like the difference between going from dial up to a cable modem, it's been dramatic. JustHost may have been great in the past, and perhaps they will be again, but right now this is a company that is struggling at every level.

In the strongest possible terms I recommend you avoid putting Your Site at JustHost. Our experience with them was as bad as it could've possibly been. And InMotion has been absolutely terrific.

 

Most Popular JustHost Hosting Plans

Basic Plus Pro
Disk Space 50GB 150GB Unlimited
Bandwidth Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Price $3.49/mo $5.95/mo $13.95/mo
View Plan View Plan View Plan

All JustHost Hosting Plans

Hosting Plan Features Disk Space Bandwidth Price
Basic Shared
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Python
  • Linux
  • MySQL
  • Merchant Account Support
50GB Unlimited $3.49/month
Usual price:
Plus Shared
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Python
  • Linux
  • MySQL
  • Merchant Account Support
150GB Unlimited $5.95/month
Usual price:
Pro Shared
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Python
  • Linux
  • MySQL
  • Merchant Account Support
Unlimited Unlimited $13.95/month
Usual price:
VPS Hosting Standard Shared
  • WordPress
  • Shell Access
  • CentOS
  • Linux
  • MOJO Marketplace
  • Help Center Live
30GB 1TB $15.06/month
Usual price:
VPS Hosting Enhanced Shared
  • WordPress
  • Shell Access
  • CentOS
  • Linux
  • MOJO Marketplace
  • Help Center Live
60GB 2TB $30.12/month
Usual price:
VPS Hosting Premium Shared
  • WordPress
  • Debian
  • Shell Access
  • CentOS
  • Linux
  • MOJO Marketplace
120GB 3TB $45.19/month
Usual price:
VPS Hosting Ultimate Shared
  • WordPress
  • Shell Access
  • CentOS
  • Linux
  • MOJO Marketplace
  • Help Center Live
240GB 4TB $60.23/month
Usual price:
Reseller Hosting Silver Reseller
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Shell Access
  • WHM
  • Python
  • MySQL
100GB 15MB $19.95/month
Usual price:
Reseller Hosting Gold Reseller
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Shell Access
  • WHM
  • Python
  • MySQL
250GB 25MB $49.95/month
Usual price:
Reseller Hosting Platinum Reseller
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Shell Access
  • WHM
  • Python
  • MySQL
500GB 35MB $89.95/month
Usual price:
Standard Dedicated Server Hosting Dedicated
  • WordPress
  • Shell Access
  • Dedicated Server
  • CentOS
  • Linux
  • MOJO Marketplace
500GB 5TB $82.98/month
Usual price:
Enhanced Dedicated Server Hosting Shared
  • WordPress
  • Shell Access
  • CentOS
  • Linux
  • MOJO Marketplace
  • Help Center Live
1000GB 10TB $112.85/month
Usual price:
Premium Dedicated Server Hosting Shared
  • WordPress
  • Shell Access
  • CentOS
  • Linux
  • MOJO Marketplace
  • Help Center Live
1000GB 15TB $139.40/month
Usual price:

JustHost Frequently Asked Questions

  • Can I buy Windows shared hosting from JustHost?

    JustHost uses Linux and does not offer Windows hosting.

  • Does the monthly price increase when it's time to renew?

    There's a discount on new customers' first term of service. When you renew, you'll be billed at the regular rate for your plan.

  • Do any plans include a free domain?

    All of their plans include one free domain registration. With shared hosting plans, it's limited to one year.

  • Does JustHost provide refunds for any downtime?

    No. There is no uptime guarantee.

  • Is there a money-back guarantee?

    Yes. If you cancel within 30 days, you will be refunded the full cost of your hosting plan. After the 30 days, you can cancel at any time and get a refund for the prorated portion of unused service. Domain names are chargeable.

  • Does JustHost offer any VPS hosting plans?

    Yes. There are four different VPS hosting plans.

  • Can I reach JustHost support via phone?

    Yes. Support is available via phone and live chat 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

  • Which programming languages does JustHost support?

    It supports all common programming languages that can run on Linux servers, including PHP, Perl, Python, and Ruby on Rails.

  • Does JustHost provide any hosting reseller options?

    No. It does not offer reseller plans.

  • Will JustHost support transfer my existing website?

    No. JustHost does not provide website transfer services.

  • Can I create more than one website on my account?

    Yes. All plans include unlimited domains, so you can create as many websites as you'd like.

  • What control panel software is provided?

    cPanel is provided with all its hosting plans.

  • Can I pay for my hosting plan with Paypal?

    Yes: PayPal, credit card (Visa, Master Card, American Express, or Discover), check, or money order.

  • Can I pay for hosting services monthly?

    Yes. Monthly payment plans are available for all of its hosting packages. No matter what billing cycle you choose, you can cancel at any time and get a refund for the unused portion of your cycle.

  • What kind of backup services does JustHost offer?

    JustHost may offer courtesy backups at their own discretion, but there's no guarantee that backups will be available. They strongly recommend running your own off-site backups.

  • Do nonprofits, schools, or students get special discounts on JustHost's regular pricing?

    JustHost offers discounted rates to students at participating universities.

  • Which of JustHost's plans is best for streaming video?

    You can set up streaming video and streaming audio with all JustHost hosting plans.

Who Are The Most Popular JustHost Alternatives?

Overall 2.5 stars
Support
2 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
2.5 stars
Visit JustHost
Overall4 stars

Price Comparison

JustHost$3.49
SiteGround$3.95
BlueHost$2.75
iPage$1.99
InMotion Hosting$2.95
A2 Hosting$3.92

WhoIsHostingThis Recommends

5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4.5 stars

Pros: 24/7 Customer Service , WordPress Experts

Cons: No Windows hosting plans

SiteGround is an established web host managing well over 1,000 servers and... Read more about SiteGround

Visit host
3.5 stars
Support
3.5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
3.5 stars
Value
3.5 stars

Pros: Free Domain , Unlimited Bandwidth

Bluehost provides customers with low-cost shared hosting, as well as reseller, VPS... Read more about BlueHost

Visit host

3. iPage

4 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
4 stars

Pros: Instant Activation , Money-back Guarantee

Based in the US, iPage specialises in low-cost shared hosting. Each plan... Read more about iPage

Visit host

Review JustHost & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a JustHost customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more...

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about JustHost.
Please be specific: we're only interested in hearing that JustHost rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

(We hate spam - see our privacy policy)