Add Your Review for JustHost

JustHost In 2018: What Do JustHost Client Reviews Say?

justhost.com
Location:USA
Founded:2008
Phone:888-755-7585
Address:Just Host Endurance International Group 10 Corporate Drive, Suite #300 Burlington, MA 01803 USA

Is JustHost the Right Host for Your Website?

There are many thousands of web hosting companies. And as a result, it can be hard find the right one for your needs. In this article, I will discuss JustHost and help you to see if it is the one for you.

Web Host Review: JustHost

What Is JustHost Web Hosting?

JustHost is a simple-to-use hosting provider seeking to provide website owners all the features top hosting companies do, at a fraction of the cost — especially when using our exclusive coupon code FREEDOMAIN.

With a variety of hosting plans available for website owners of all sizes, a built-in website builder for easy site creation, and superior customer support on hand at all times, your website hosting needs are sure to be met, without destroying your budget.

The Good and the Bad

That said, JustHost doesn't come without some issues. In fact, some weaknesses may be enough for you to consider a different host altogether. So, take a look at what JustHost has to offer and see if it is suitable for your needs.

JustHost Background

JustHost Features

  • Free '.com' domain
  • Money-back guarantee
  • 24/7 technical support
  • Unlimited traffic, emails
  • WordPress integration
  • Free backups

Endurance International Group
Endurance International Group

As part of the Endurance International Group (EIG), JustHost plays a controversial role in what is seemingly a monopoly of hosting companies. This is because EIG buys multiple hosting companies and operates under the radar. So, customers won't always know that they might leave a hosting provider under EIG only to switch to another that is also owned by EIG.

Other brands under the EIG banner include BigRock, HostGator and Bluehost.

This can potentially harm customers as they might leave a host who offered bad service, only to find they've signed up with a new one that adheres to the same standards.

JustHost provides hosting solutions — shared, dedicated, VPS, and reseller — for all website sizes and types. The company focuses on customer service, prides themselves on offering competitive pricing, and emphasize features that cater to WordPress website owners.

Please note, although brands are owned by the same company, they are managed by entirely different teams in completely differing methods.

JustHost: Why Buy Hosting From Them?

  • Over 350,000 websites being hosted worldwide.
  • Feature packed web hosting.

A Look at JustHost's Shared Hosting Plans

There is no denying that there are tons of shared hosting providers to choose from these days. And, with all of them offering a fairly standard set of features and competitive pricing, it can be difficult to know which one is truly the best.

While JustHost does fall in line with what most other shared hosting providers offer customers, you should know about a few standout features before deciding to look elsewhere.

Unlimited Everything (well almost everything)

With JustHost, you will receive unlimited GBs of host disk space, so you are not billed according to your bandwidth usage or the amount of disk space you use. This is because JustHost believes in providing all the resources needed to operate a fully functional, and successful website without having to worry about resource overages.

JustHost Current Email Accounts
JustHost Current Email Accounts

In addition, you can host an unlimited number of domains for easy site management, receive unlimited email accounts, and rest assured that you can transfer an unlimited amount of data to your new hosting provider without being charged.

Plus, you can forward an unlimited number of emails and include unlimited add-on, parked, and subdomains.

Keep in mind, these are almost unlimited features and primarily apply to the most expensive shared hosting plan available. If you look further, you will notice that the cheaper shared hosting plans limit some of the "unlimited" features, which can be a bit unsettling to find out.

Backend Features of JustHost

JustHost wants to ensure you have access to all the server-side services and databases you could possibly need. This is what you see once you log in to your control panel:

JustHost Control Panel
JustHost Control Panel

Here is a look at some of the most popular ones:

  • MySQL and PostgreSQL databases
  • CGI-BIN and CGI Library
  • Perl 5
  • Python
  • Ruby/Ruby on Rails
  • Javascript, DHTML, Flash, and Shockwave support
  • SimpleScripts 1-click script install.

It is worth noting that JustHost also provides support for PHP 5. And, while PHP 5 is adequate for all websites, PHP 7 is nearly twice as fast and ensures that poor speed and performance are a non-issue for website users. It would be nice to see JustHost offer PHP 7 since so many hosting providers are already doing so.

5 Advantages of Free Website Scripts

JustHost makes SimpleScripts available to all website owners. So, you can easily do an array of things due to this perk. Some of these things include:

  1. Creating a message forum using PHPBB;
  2. Installing social networking scripts;
  3. Building a bigger email list;
  4. Adding image galleries;
  5. Building polls and surveys to boost user engagement.

In addition, you can install Moodle, Tikiwiki, Drupal, Joomla, and even WordPress (complete with blogging capabilities) with an easy one-click install.

5 Vital Built-in E-Commerce Features

If you want to launch an e-commerce shop, JustHost has you covered.

E-Commerce Products
E-Commerce Products

The most important features needed to run a successful online store are included here:

  • Free SSL certificate (with premium ones available)
  • OSCommerce, Agora, Cube Cart, and Zen Cart shopping carts
  • Password protected directories for limiting access
  • OpenPGP/GPG encryption
  • Built-In multi-currency payment system.
Check out our quick guide to setting up an e-commerce site in just minutes.

Weebly - Benefits of Using a Website Builder

For those uninterested in using WordPress, JustHost offers all customers the Weebly Website Builder tool free of charge.

Used to build your website, e-commerce shop, and blog, Weebly is a simple drag-and-drop page builder that makes site creation easy for website owners of all levels.

With over a hundred themes to choose from, Weebly makes choosing the layout and design of your site easy. All you have to do is click and drag to add and rearrange the elements you want to appear on your site.

Having a website builder makes your life drastically simpler than having to hire a developer, alternatively learn code.

Features & Benefits Conventional Website Building Weebly
Design Developer or CSS Javascript knowledge needed Plug-ins and customizable themes readily available
Content HTML knowledge essential User-friendly front-end, no coding needed
Layout HTML and CSS needed as a minimum Pre-set themes and content builders available for free
Security Developer or managed hosting (extra costs) needed Plug-ins and built-in security measures readily available

If you choose to utilize the Weebly site builder, keep in mind your site will reside on their servers, so you will have to follow their terms and services and you will not own your content, as you would if you choose to use WordPress for your site building needs.

However, for those with limited technical skills, Weebly is a perfect alternative to using the more robust content management systems.

JustHost even offers a custom site-management dashboard, where you're able to manage and monitor themes, plug-ins, and more!

JustHost Site Management
JustHost Site Management

WordPress Hosting

While there are no managed WordPress hosting plans available, JustHost does make hosting a WordPress website straightforward to set up and manage.

As mentioned above, JustHost provides website owners an effective way to install WordPress on your hosting account using the one-click installer in cPanel. But you also have the option to enable automatic WordPress core, plugin, and theme updates via the cPanel, which is typically a managed hosting feature.

Additional Hosting Solutions

In addition to offering shared hosting solutions, JustHost has dedicated, VPS, and reseller hosting plans:

  • Dedicated Hosting
  • VPS Hosting
  • Reseller Hosting.

Dedicated Hosting

JustHost's dedicated hosting solution is for those with large websites experiencing lots of daily traffic.

These plans come with features like instant setup, automatic RAID 1 protection, root access, enhanced caching abilities, server management and cPanel access, and dedicated support.

VPS Hosting

Built using powerful cloud technology, JustHost's VPS hosting plans come with a number of features.

These include root access, an enhanced cPanel, guaranteed server resources, instant setup, and multi-account management.

Reseller Hosting

Choose from share, dedicated, or VPS servers and add-on the services you need to create the perfect reseller package for you.

In addition, enjoy access to the WHM and WHMCS for complete account management, domain name promotions, a free pre-made e-commerce storefront, and easy integration with JustHost's HTTP API.

Hosting Variety

As you can see, no matter what size your site is, or what you end goal is, JustHost has a hosting solution to meet your needs.

JustHost Datacenters

JustHost has only one datacenter, located in Provo, Utah. This fact may not sit well with some that have an international brand, as multiple datacenters placed throughout the world often deliver faster and better performing results to site visitors.

Having a single datacenter to rely on can be extremely dangerous - this reflects in JustHost's uptime results.

In addition, increased latency problems and more downtime may result from relying on one datacenter.

That said, JustHost has ways to prevent excess downtime and slower page loading speeds should one customer on a shared server experience a large boost in traffic and monopolize the available resources.

  • CPU Protection
  • CloudFlare CDN.

CPU Protection

All JustHost shared servers are monitored using a specialized software to ensure every customer receives their fair share of the server's resources.

If at any time a server's resources are abused, this software immediately notifies JustHost.

CloudFlare CDN

JustHost offers website owners the powerful content delivery network (CDN) CloudFlare, free of charge, which is easily enabled via your cPanel account.

This global CDN caches your content across the network so site visitors, regardless of geographical location, always receive your site's content at fast speeds.

What About Uptime?

According to Pingdom's results regarding JustHost's uptime, the past six month's average ranks at a disappointing 99.1%. While seemingly good at first glance, it is tough to be okay with this because there are plenty of other hosting providers averaging 99.9% or higher, month after month.

In fact, since February of this year, JustHost failed to hit 100% uptime at all.

As of November 2017, JustHost did hit 100% of uptime all the way up until December, although these are short-term analytics as seen in the moving image.

JustHost Update and Response Time
JustHost Update and Response Time

More disappointing is the fact that JustHost fails to guarantee any uptime percentage or compensate users for any downtime they experience. Rather, the company's terms of service state:

"Due to the complexity and nature of a shared web hosting environment, downtime occurs. Unfortunately, we do not offer compensation for any downtime."

This is not in line with superior customer service and has the potential to dissuade many people from signing up with JustHost as their chosen hosting provider.

Improvements Needed

Though JustHost is a solid hosting solution, there are definitely things that need improvement.

Here are some things I would like to see change about Just Host:

  1. Backups need to be guaranteed
  2. JustHost will migrate up to five websites
  3. Uptime needs to improve.

Backups Need to be Guaranteed

Backups are critical for users to feel comfortable entrusting their websites to this service.

Having to manually backup your own website is something that not many hosting providers make you do.

Though there is a premium backup service available, this free feature is something that is easily found elsewhere.

JustHost Will Migrate up to Five Websites

Although this is a very nice feature, it isn't free. In fact, it comes at a hefty price.

This is disheartening for customers looking to switch hosting providers, since offering free site migrations is fairly standard amongst competing hosting providers.

Uptime Needs to Improve

In addition to this, there should be a guarantee of some sort to reassure customers their websites won't go down without compensation.

The claim that downtime is just a part of the shared hosting experience is unacceptable.

Summary

These downsides to using JustHost may be enough to harm company's overall reputation. While the hosting solutions offered here are adequate, customers seek data protection, free migration services, and uptime guarantees.

Behind the Scenes - Control Panel

JustHost provides customers with cPanel for managing all aspects of your hosting account.

To start, from the Home section of your cPanel, you can access domain information.Register a new domain, view a summary of registered domains, transfer a new domain name, assign domains to your cPanel account, manage domain redirections, and even export a domain list to a CSV file.Additionally, get the Google G Suite, access your hosted sites, the Marketplace, your emails, and things like available plugins, themes, and premium WP Live Support.

You can also login directly to your website from the cPanel. And best of all, directly access the Help Center if you need assistance.

JustHost's actual cPanel is very extensive. Luckily, everything is organized into clear categories.

Here are some of the key things you can access via the cPanel at first glance:

  • One-click installs
  • Mailing lists
  • CloudFlare CDN
  • FTP Manager
  • Site statistics such as bandwidth use, error logs, and latest visitors
  • Upgrades such as domain privacy, SiteLock protection, and Constant Contact
  • Professional services like site migrations
  • Promotional services such as Google AdWords and Bing Ads
  • SSH shell access
  • Database tools
  • Programming access.

Exceptional Customer Support

One thing that makes JustHost stand out amongst even the toughest competition is its dedication to customer support. In fact, the company offers what it deems "customer tailored support" in the form of around the clock phone and email access.

In addition, it has an extensive ticket system, breaking your queries into a variety of categories including affiliates, billing, sales, tech support, and verification. This way, your question is given to the right department immediately.

JustHost Customer Support
JustHost Customer Support

Lastly, you are free to engage in a live chat conversation with one of JustHost's support team members. Here you can ask a variety of questions and express concerns — whether you're a customer of JustHost or not — and expect to get a prompt and informative answer.

Do You Like This Host?

If you like the concept behind JustHost shared hosting, but you don't want to rely on spotty backups or manually creating them yourself, you are better off going with a hosting provider like Bluehost, which offers guaranteed daily, weekly, and monthly backups of your entire account.

For those wanting more managed features, like built-in CDN, caching, backups, and WordPress specific support, WPEngine is an excellent option, though this is far from the cheapest hosting provider on the market today.

Lastly, for those with concerns about JustHost's uptime issues, check out SiteGround. With consistent 99.9% uptime, and compensation for downtime, you can rely on this provider to keep your site up and running, and at comparable prices to JustHost.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does JustHost provide an uptime guarantee?

No. According to JustHost's terms of service, downtime is an expected part of the "shared web hosting environment," and the company doesn't offer compensation for any downtime that occurs, either.

Will the fact that JustHost has one datacenter in Utah site speed for international visitors?

It might. But JustHost does have a few safeguards in place to prevent site downtime or slowdowns due to a spike in on site's traffic. These protections include CPU protection and the use of CloudFlare CDN.

Uptime and Response Time

The average response time for JustHost is 1410ms over 7 days. For the months of November and December in 2017, JustHost had a 100% uptime.

InterServer Quick Overview

Use this quick guide to compare with other hosts that you might be thinking.

Specializations

WordPress Hosting: JustHost caters to those using WordPress and provides access to the one-click installation of WordPress themes and plugins via the MOJO Marketplace.

Customer Satisfaction: JustHost offers 24/7 phone and email support, a ticket system, and live chat support for answering all your questions.

Site Management: Not only do you receive a free domain when you sign up for JustHost services, you can also host unlimited domains, making the management of multiple websites easy.

Migration Policy

You can migrate up to five sites and 20 email accounts. This only applies to shared hosting customers, as JustHost does not offer migration support for reseller, dedicated, or VPS server accounts.

Quality of Support Material

Good

Control Panel

cPanel

Available Datacenters

Utah, USA

Money-back Guarantee Trial Period

30-day money-back guarantee with prorated refunds, less setup and domain registration fees.

Lowest Price for Shared Hosting or Other Cheapest Plans

$3.95/mo using our special code FREEDOMAIN

Backup Policy

Complimentary backups performed daily, weekly, and monthly by JustHost, but at the company's discretion per its Policy on Account Backups. In fact, JustHost clearly states that no backups performed are guaranteed and that it assumes zero liability for failed backups, lost data, or data integrity. The company encourages users to perform their own backups via cPanel.

Site Builder Included?

Yes, for free.

PCI Compliant?

All

Do any big brands use this host?

As of yet, there are no known brands publicly disclosed, which use JustHost's services.

Pros and Cons of JustHost

As a compact hosting provider, JustHost has certain highlightable upsides, as well as flaws.

JustHost Pros

  • Customer support is a major priority
  • Affordable pricing plans
  • Custom control panel for site management.

JustHost Cons

  • Reliance on a single datacenter
  • Backups not guaranteed.

Is JustHost the Right Choice?

The recurring theme here is that JustHost is a decent, though not spectacular, hosting provider. Offering plenty of variety when it comes to hosting plans, JustHost does a good job of providing adequate hosting features at cheap prices.

Slim Feature List

That said, the feature list is slim when it comes to the cheapest plans, and is something you don't necessarily know until you are ready to make your purchase, which can be disappointing.

WordPress

Since WordPress is the most commonly used CMS in the world today, I do enjoy that JustHost offers one-click WordPress installs and automatic core, theme, and plugin updates.

These features are often found in more expensive managed hosting solutions and will be appealing to those looking for a cheaper option.

Weebly

I also like the fact that JustHost offers Weebly, a simple site builder, free of charge that can help those who are new to web development or just need something simple.

Lots to Consider

In the end, there is much to consider when it comes to using JustHost.

It is important you evaluate your individual needs and decide whether the potential downsides are small enough to justify signing up for this company's services.

Last updated: 2018-06-11

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Screenshot of http://morris.hk
4 stars
Support
3 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've used JustHost's 'Unlimited' shared hosting for a bit over 6 years. Its a standard Linux based cPanel setup. I use the account to host a number of small low-traffic domains, and have had no problems with up 18 small wordpress websites on the account.

Their 'Unlimited' plan does actually have limits - they say max 50,000 files, but I've got close to 100,000 at the moment and they haven't complained. I've had to use their support a few times, and it's been OK, but not great. There is often a long wait time for the live chat (anywhere from 10 to 30+ minutes).

The people I've spoken with have mostly been competent, and able to help or to pass me on to a specialist team when needed. Recently I had a malware infect several of my sites and had to pay for them to scan and clean the account. It would be nice if the hosting plan included scanning for infections - but again it's cheap...

Sites hosted on the shared servers can be a little slow - but not terrible, and given that it's one of the cheapest hosts available that's understandable. I've never had a problem with uptime - the servers seem solid, especially since they did an upgrade a couple of years ago. I've had to move a couple of sites out of the shared server as they got bigger (200+ pages) or had lots of large images which were really slow to load, but for personal, or small business sites Justhost have been fine. Conclusion - solid inexpensive hosting that's good value for the price.

 
Screenshot of http://raimistdesign.com
5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have recommended JustHost to friends and colleagues as a great low-cost web hosting service. I set up my site with few problems. I was given prompt, correct support when I needed help.

You need to have some level of comfort with technical issues to use this service. My primary use has been hosting sites I've developed on Dreamweaver, but I've also moved several sites I previously created using iWeb.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I am very pleased with the uptime of my website, and them giving away unlimited virtually everything for a measly £2.75 per month. I think that's a great deal! My only grudge is you have to pay for anything extra, but most of the things are pretty reasonably priced, and affordable.

I have sent a few tickets and all of them have been resolved quickly, and the staff seem to be friendly. I have no grudges about the support team.

 

150 Reviews of JustHost By Our Users

Screenshot of https://socialsparkmedia.com
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

If I could give them zero stars I would. Their DNS is completely screwed up. I asked them to change something simple and the next thing I knew my client’s emails disappeared.

Worst customer service I have ever encountered. The potential problems are not worth the couple bucks a month you might save.

 
Screenshot of http://hunterstables.co.uk
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been with this company for a few years now and was very happy but lately absolutely awful, so bad I am taking my three websites elsewhere. When they had a upgrade not long back they lost my website and could not provide a back up for me!! They don't answer the phone and there always seems to be a 1 minute wait for talk support, which is never anwsered.

Such a shame because they used to be good, goodness knows what has happened to them. Looking forward to fining a new hosting company

 
Screenshot of http://tedavist.com
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Have many plans on Just host, The performance of the servers is so bad, the technical support are there just to drive you crazy and not solve your problem. checking the water fall test of the server I found that the response time of the server taking about 7 seconds, I sent the link of test to the tech support but nothing done! only dump and stupid advice!

 
Screenshot of http://myomytv.com
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've been with Just Host since 2009, and all was good until early 2014 when they upgraded my account without my knowledge (costing me a lot more per year!), and since then they have been an absolutely nightmare to deal with. The latest issue this week is that I could no longer get into my sites. One was due to ""No php version are set on the account.", which is BS because this site had been working fine.

They "fixed" it (without accepting blame or apologising) and the next day it happened again. With other sites, the issue was worse. Just like another reviewer here, they deleted files from my sites and acted like it was some mystery!

The customer service is also terrible because each time you contact them them, you're either waiting to chat with a tech rep for ages, or the issues take at least 45 or 60mins to "look into"... even after you tell them exactly where the issue is (since it was the same as the day before). I am moving all of my domains away from Just Host and won't even go near their sister company, Blue Host.

 
Screenshot of http://farusso.com
3 stars
Support
2 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I too will be moving along to another hosting service. At one time they were one of the best. It now is an uphill battle to get problems resolved.

All my emails had no problems at one time. They are now using sending servers that are shared with known spammers. As such, all my AOL clients do not receive my emails.

They are being blocked because the sending IP address is from a server with known spammers. JustHost keeps saying they are working on the problem... they are working on the problem...

they are working on the problem. In the meantime clients (which are U.S. veterans) are not receiving my emails which are related to veterans benefits, activities, and events. Looks like it will be bye bye JustHost.

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Just terrible. They deleted files of all my websites and Databases. When I contact their support they keep saying " May I place you on hold for 3 to 5 minutes, while I check this for you? " and they kept saying this line put me on hold for more than hour.

After that they said we are investigating issue and we will email you once issue is fixed but they never did that. Just poor and Terrible. Stay away

 
Screenshot of http://www.vitawell-medi.co.uk
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

We are UK based and were with E-Host, we then received a renewal notice from JustHost, the cost was 5 times higher than we were paying with E-Host, we complained once we figured out how to actually get in touch with them, they said "not our fault, a notice was put on the website of the changes", great said I only we never had to login to our hosting account as never encountered any problems. That was just the start, we tried to move our site and was told it was £150 to doso, wee tried to get their free shared SSLcertificate, onee operative sent us on a wild goosechase, anotherr said yes we could but their tech dept said itwouldn'tt work it only works on JustHost server, so 25 live chats and 80 hours later we still haveproblems, weeboughtt a dedicated IP then found out we had to purchase an SSLas welll, then we had to purchase plugins to work the SSL then JustHostdidn'tt tell us that SSHwasn'tt activated on oursite... wee are novices atthis, JustHostt are Just thepits, theirr customer service sucks.

Its now 122 live chats later and still we are no closer to getting our site SSL operational as JustHost keeps blocking it and also ourbackupp attempts via VaultPress despite advising JustHost of the whitelist ranges. Myadvice, stayy very clear of JustHost they areuselesss and the worst hosting companyI'vee ever had the misfortune to deal with

 
Screenshot of http://www.empiretradingagency.lk
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Please do not use Justhost for your hosting or email services. I renewed my hosting on 6th Nov 2017. Even after 6 days they still could not activate it.

My company's website is down for more than 6 days and their support staff is taking me round the world. They come up with various reasons and the last one was "Suspended due to high resources" I was laughing at this reason... I just have my html files only....not even SQL db. My mail server is located elsewhere......This company is an absolute Joke...

 
Screenshot of http://kathleenprincephotography.com
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

My account was migrated from eHost to JustHost - due to company merger/takeover or something like that. I have had no issues with eHost, uptime had been wonderful, support great. My account was migrated to JustHost and now I can't access the cPanel.

I called in 4 days ago, spend several hours with a tech and was told finally that they had to open a ticket, and to check back in the morning for resolution. Called the next morning - no one even knew about that ticket. So, another several hours on the phone and another ticket created.

Called the following morning - situation still down. After 2 hours, the ticket just said "login problems" and it was closed! So, yet another ticket was created.

Today is day 4. I called back in and the ticket is still open - and they are "working on it"., Known issue, apparently impacting many people - but no ETA, nothing, nada. This experience definitely makes me want to consider moving to a different hosting company.

JustHost does NOT appear to be concerned with customer's website uptime, or the impact that the downtime has on the client and the client's customers. Hoping that they get this fixed Asap!

 
Screenshot of http://joellennash.com
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Just Host told me they backed up my website when in reality that had wiped it out. 20 year website with over 60 pages of content. Then they actually charged me to renew it, under the condition that my site could be restored, then took my money. When it was determined they had actually deleted it all they would not give me my money back.

Even though I only agreed to renew under that condition and was assured my site was still in existence. They have cost me untold amounts of business lost and income. Do not use this company.

Run! Use Go Daddy instead.

 
Screenshot of http://dexterspizza.com
3 stars
Support
3 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Had a good start but went downhill towards the half of the subscription. Features of cPanel Plus (SEO) extras are good but restrcited SSH is available at a fee. Support responds within 24 hours.

I may not have contacted them if server load went to so high my websites started to load long if they ever did. This happened to me 4 times thus my move to another host. I supposed their servers are way oversold and won't recommend them as a budget cPanel web host.

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

JustHost has been an absolute nightmare the last couple of years and I have thought about switching many times. We have finally come to the end of the line and I can't deal with their awful support at a not great price any longer. Their support is an absolute joke and emails rarely get returned.

 
Screenshot of www.croatranslations.com
2 stars
Support
2 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

They have been my host for a year. It was everything okay until the last 3-4 months. My website is constantly offline and seems like nobody gives a crap.

Support is okay, but they can't really do anything about the quality, my website keeps just going offline every hour, and I can't afford that because I run business and I need it to be online all the time. I decided to use another webhost, that is HostGator, hoping it would be better. If they fail, they'll get a very low rating too.

 
Screenshot of http://justtechnika.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I want value for my money and a guarantee that i can always cancel my orders get refund for my payments. Well , justhost provided me both of this. Their webhosting plan are very cheap actually very very cheap.

I hope they provide cheapest web host in market. Above that they also give one or three free domain name according to the plan selected. Well their support is really fast.

And they provide us three options to get support live chat with a real person (Best to solve small problems)
, Email and phone. But i must tell that their real time chat support personnels don't have much technical knowledge. But their phone and email support are very fast and useful also.

I get my problem solved through email support in just 1-3 hours. But i have also faced many downtimes in their server I have been victim of 4 downtimes from 3 hours to 48 hours!!!! in 7 months of my hosting with them.

But that problem was in the beginning of my hosting signup and now a days i don't get such problems. As they provide Cpanel for hosting control any one with Basic Cpanel control knowledge can signup with them And they also provide many video
tutorials to use Cpanel so its not so hard for newbie webmasters also to have a hosting account with them and control it. I will recommend everyone to use justhost.com .

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I am very new to running a website on my own server. I had a bit of a hard time to get the first few steps right, but JustHost's help center sure did help! I have to say though, that the help center can be a bit out of date, but it took me 5 seconds to Google my questions and find an answer.

I think that is mostly due to my lack of knowledge about these things. Overall, I'm pretty satisfied with the service and I think I'll continue to use it for fathers' company website (which I'm still building, to be honest) and my personal tech blog!

 
4.5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I was with justhost for a short time, but they was able to provide great services, quick support and had my site up the whole time with no downtime. I recommend them to all because they keep by their word.

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Simply aweful!. I would have given them 'No Star' if I could. I have 2 sites running with Justhost, and they all getting dropped about 4 times a day.

Support is hopeless. they don't give me any clean answer for the downtime.

 
1.5 stars
Support
2 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Problems from day one!!! I went with Justhost because a company that I worked for had pretty good luck with them, and that they're dirt cheap(except for domain registration, $14.99 vs the comp at $9.99)

Since signing up with them they've had an average of 5 to 10 hours of downtime (Per week!) and that's not counting their "nightly server maintenance"(which yields about 1 or 2 hours Per night!)

Then to top that off they have performance issues, badly. Each minor edit in Drupal takes minutes out of my day, that's if it responds at all.

It's not a Drupal issue because other hosts I work with for customers are lightning fast. Not going to lie, but their customer service is actually somewhat friendly, wait times average 2-3 minutes, but usually no more than 5. And that's noting that I'm more of a Pita of a customer, and my chat sessions are more of a "Fix your stuff" session.(As I know that it's not something on my end.)
But the thing that got me on their customer support is, they're not the brightest crayons in the box.

I once asked for a downtime ETA and got a "We're not sure." response(that was from their tech team.) Who brings a server down for maintenance that doesn't weigh in the downtime it brings? That stuff's kind of important in IT. Especially in a hosting company.

Then to top things off only 6 months in, I got an email that my SiteLock(Which I paid for through Justhost) failed because Justhost servers are noted for sending spam. They still have yet to fix the issue!

8 months in I tried to cancel and transfer, they don't even answer their cancellation emails, At all! Luckily I'm only a 1 year subscriber with 49 days left, so I'm kissing them goodbye.

You just don't simply screw over someone who's very proficient in computers and networking. I did learn a lesson though, web hosting, don't skimp. Right now I'm looking at my options, and saw this so wanted to give my 2c.

 
Screenshot of http://www.carl-sanders.com
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

This used to be good when we first started but I can not receive emails via our account on both email addresses, they keep sending renewal notices but take not notice to unblock our email address. Apparently someone hacked in and was sending spams from our address. Totally lost all control of the site and trying to get the account reinstated.

Dreadful! They just want the fees not the responsibility to progress problems, we are changing to GoDaddy and will transfer everything over to them. Not recommended. They have a dreadful customer service, sure we used their chat line three times to try and get it resolved, still blocked.

 
Screenshot of http://compscicon.no
2.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

JustHost rocks because they are easy to get started with and you get a lot of features for a fixed low price. JustHost sucks because their shared servers are often overloaded, and your sites are not stable. JustHost sucks because your data/files/email may randomly be deleted without anyone getting a notice.

JustHost rocks because they can recover your files/data/email accounts(not email) when the above happens. (if you ask nicely, within 24 hours)

JustHost sucks because their tech support is more interested in answering your question than resolving your case when the above happens and you feel like they should look into why your data was deleted. JustHost rocks because I'm not gonna use them anymore.

 
2.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I Would not recommend Justhost! I used to love this company, and I have used them for many of my clients over the last few years, but after the Terrible experiences I have had over the last 24 hours I am going to spend this entire weekend moving my clients to a new host. Their tech people are uninformed and do not know how to even use their help ticket system.

I just had two different techs hang-up on me after placing me on hold because they couldn't answer my questions. Then I just had a 3rd one confirm that they had screwed up as a result of the recent buyout and that they would NOT be willing to compensate me for the downtime, 3 hours on the phone, AND that they would have to charge me to upgrade my account to restore the same service that I had for the previous 3 years.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

The prices for the hosting with JustHost are Amazing, and they don't limit you in stupid hidden ways they don't tell you about until after you buy the hosting plan. I don't think I was faced with any surprises, I came to support almost every day for 6 days, with a 30 second wait time to just connect to the chat, I always had a friendly, humorous, support agent to assist me with my questions/ problems. They require you to have almost no expertise in hosting.

They guide you to add files to the site in every way possible. Even tell you what FTP client to use and how to get it. I so far can not rate Just Host on them dealing with my problems, since I have had none.

I found one problem setting up a forum software with them and the php version was out of date, just before I could open a support chat tab, the problem was fixed. Just Host is suitable for any customer. They offer very simple features to upload Your Site and get it done instantly, but they also offer the tools for advanced users to play around with and make your site even better.

I would definitely recommend this web host to Anyone looking for a long-term/ permanent web host, as you will face no problems, and the support is great. And I didn't say it's great for short term sites, because, you won't stay with them for a short term. You will never want to leave.

 
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

We started with super green hosting, which was a subsidiary owned by justhost.com to meet their "green" vision - except in the last 6 months or so, it was taken over completely by JH and now their service, uptime and support Sucks. Two sites have been taken down without warning for "breach" of their unlimited hosting plans. I'd be OK if I got some kind of timeframe, you have 24 hours to optimize Your Site.

We run businesses on JustHost.com including one for a political organization in NZ parliament and JustHost.com's stupid policy meant our site was completely on the day of the election!!! WTF - seriously find someone else to host with, this company is getting too big to care about their customers!

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I am very happy with my JustHost hosting package. It's cheap and very fast, no downtimes, no problems. I recommend it to anyone.

 
Screenshot of http://headchange.org
5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

JustHost offers great deals, on quality hosting. The only thing that I really don't like about them, is that they are constantly trying to get more money out of me. They concentrate on marketing in every aspect, emails and even ads in the cPanel.

It's nothing that greasemonkey can't take care of, of course. I've been with them around 6 months now, no downtime, whatsoever. Support is decent. I would recommend JustHost to any intermediate web designer/developer.

 
Screenshot of http://www.christineschoell.com
4 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been with JustHost for almost 10 years. Like others, I can't say anything good about their support anymore. They used to be phenomenal.

But recently I ran into an issue that they seem to not be able to resolve. My files randomly get wiped to 0 bytes for no reason, even files that have been on the server for years without issue. JustHost has literally stopped responding to my support tickets. 3 in the past month, none responded to. I am throwing in the towel and switching because that is all I can do at this point.

 
Screenshot of www.planoattorney.net
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

we have had nothing but problems and the technical support is non-existent. Do not use this host service. They are cheap and that is what you will get, cheap.

If you want your website to go down for service, go offline without warning, your e-mail to stop working for no reason all to spend 2 Plus hours on hold or seeking help just to be told it is your fault . . . then this company is for you, if you want service that works, pay more or pay less but whatever you do, pay someone else.

 
Screenshot of http://gmnetworks.org
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been with them for 2 years (give or take a month) and have had horrible experiences with them. Please be aware I do own a reseller account with them. Uptime is like 78%.

Your Site will go down randomly for about 1-2 hours every other week it seems. When needing to transfer domains or get something added to your site like Whmcs there seems to always be an issue. So when you contact support there first and always automated response is the guide that you had cleared pointed out in your message that you sent in about it not working.

Please be aware there support is like a sea you might get a good support guy but the chances are really slim. Best choice is go to a major company like godaddy, 1n1, etc. Its not worth the hassle with them and the cost is not worth the uptime.

 
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Terrible, Terrible, Terrible!!! Run Away!!! This is the worst hosting.

Their up time is almost non-existent sometimes. And even after days of being down, they refuse to compensate their customers even the least bit, for having to shut down their business for several consecutive days. Right now I have no email, or websites, for either of my businesses.

I'm shut down. I try to call the customer support line to find out an ETA of getting my service back, and they turned off the phones. Their own site is even down right now.

Obviously they have no redundancy built in. Once in the past when I was down for several days in a row, I asked if they would even just extend my service for the missing three days, They refused!!! But wait?

I paid for 365 days of service not 324 days! You owe me that you cheap idiots. I pay hundreds of dollars every year for the dozens of sites I operate.

Do not, Do not, Do not, sign up. Terrible uptime. I'm losing customers as I'm writing this. Run away!!!

 
4.5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

It was Good. I,m a professional web developer having a developing farm. So need a lot of webspace for my job. For This I like Justhost. They are Cheaper and Helpful.Really like them.

 
4.5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

JustHost is a good host for starting a website. If you want to have a website with traffic spikes, this may not be your best choice. I had troubled it at the start, but now it is good.

Their servers are pretty fast. I asked them a question and they responded pretty quickly. I don't like their cpanel admin layout.

They have too many ads for upgrades and other services. It is pretty cheap considering the price. This is suitable for small businesses and website with steady traffic.

They have handled my problems pretty good till now. They have unlimited space and bandwidth or so they say. I haven't had that many visitors on my site to know.

I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a good web host for cheap. Just host is given 4 out of 5 stars

 
3 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I am the webmaster for a prominent university. We originally purchased a dedicated premium package costing us almost $3,000/yr. Repeatedly, our servers have gone down over the past few months and for extended periods of time. I would not recommend their services for dedicated hosting; however, their shared hosting is a relatively reliable service.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I'm very satisfied with this web host,when I registered my account ,I made subscription via paypal but I accedintly closed the page after payment was ended and did not returned to just host website to complete registration , I contacted the sales and they gave me my login details. their features and limitations are very fair for what you pay (3.4$ per month)
I got the unlimited plan(I can host as many websites as I wish ) . I strongly recommend this web host to my friends and colleagues.

 
Screenshot of http://lunanueve.com
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

First at all, I WAS a perfectly pleased customer of new host, until 2 years ago or so, the first years all was fine, no issues at all, but all changed from last couple of years. I was so satisfied I paid for 3 years in advance until 2017, since that day the whole service has been from bad to worse. 15 days ago they send me a message that all my sites where suspended by malware, No help from them, they only tried to sell his tools to clean it up (450 USD or so) , I have deleted all content replace with my backups, they said it still has infection. I have my backup scanned by a third party and no infection al all so I get a new host, they transferred my account from just host to their host (I warned about malware but they found none), I changed all my nameservers and nothing, By 4 days I have no access and nobody knows why.

I have all my sites pointed to justhost no matter what. So please Stay away, was affordable and great years before, now is just affordable.

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have used JustHost for a long time now, about 6-7 years. I used to recommend them to everybody. Their service was top-notch and their shared hosting plan was very affordable.

However, everything with JustHost has taken a huge nosedive in the past year. First, their shared servers had a massive spam issue and so all of our email domains on our sites were blacklisted for months this fall. I believe they still are in some cases.

JustHost always gave different answers on when or even if they were going to fix the problem. They kept promising I would receive email updates and I never did once. This cost us a lot of business issues, obviously.

The wait times for customer service have become terrible. 30 minutes or more is the usual wait and many times it is longer. We used to get amazing customer service, fixing pretty much every issue immediately during our chat. Now, it seems that they have people with no technical knowledge running the chat service.

I will ask a specific question and their answer won't even address it. Sometimes their answers make me feel like they just have a magic 8 ball that they are using for responses so my guess is their untrained support techs are merely reading from a script. They are currently having major server issues that seem to be affecting every aspect of the hosting including back end, front end, cpanel, etc.

They have refused to offer a full backup without purchasing an extra product, which is fine, I went ahead and purchased it so that I can transfer everything away from them. We are going with a new hosting provider. It is a shame that a company that was so good has become so awful. I would not recommend them at this point to anyone.

 
Screenshot of http://www.budgetwebandgraphicdesign.com
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Notice that the positive reviews are all from about 5-7 years ago? Thats no coincidence. I've been a justhost customer for about 7 years.

The first couple years I had nothing but great things to say about justhost. Their customer service WAS outstanding. If you tried online chat, you'd get a representative in no more than a couple minutes.

If you tried to call, it might take you 5-10 minutes max to get through to a live person. However, over the last 3 years, justhost has become about the worst hosting company out there. I tried to get someone on online chat and it gave me an estimate of 30 minutes.

I waited the full 30 minutes and the timer was seemingly stuck at 1 min remaining for about 20 minutes. So after about 50 minutes waiting, I finally got a person on chat who gave the most generalized, non-helpful answers to any and all questions I asked. Anytime you ask a question, they will search the knowledge base for a relevant article and give you a link.

That is not support. I currently have an issue that has brought my business to a complete halt caused by justhost. I have been waiting 5 days for someone to respond to my support ticket.

I've called in multiple times and everyone I speak to says the issue is out of their hands and they're waiting on a senior rep to review and respond.

- High prices
- High downtime
- Zero competent customer support
- Raise rates to tax existing customers well above industry standards. Avoid justhost like the plague!

 
Screenshot of http://www.myaesthetician.com
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Live chat is a joke with Just Host. I've been with them for 2 years and can hardly wait til my contract is up so I can change. For example, clicking on live chat it will say something like 16 minutes and an hour later someone will finally come on line and then not be able to help.

My site was hacked and trying to get any kind of assistance was a joke and all they wanted was for me to sign up for another service which would cost $89 for one time or $500 for a full blown cleaning according to them. I hired an outside service that will stay on top of it for me at a lot less. Their pricing just keeps going up and frankly a year ago I purchased a back up plan they well recommending that caused my site problems but they wouldn't do anything to help with that either. I definitely do not recommend this company.

 
Screenshot of http://www.snicker-stickers.com
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I tried hosting with JustHost in July of 2013 and immediately canceled because I found their service to be terrible. After a long annoying process, I got my money refunded. Then the following year I suddenly got a bill on my credit card for $35 for two "add-on" services that I didn't even know I had.

When I called about it, they informed me that when I canceled my web hosting, I didn't cancel those other services, and they refused to refund my money. They claimed that because they had emailed me prior (emails which I didn't get) and I had not responded, that I was not entitled to a refund. So I was paying for services for something that didn't even exist.

I told the woman to cancel every single service that they had me down for, and to never charge me for anything again. So now another year later, they have charged me again! Now I have to file a dispute with my credit card company.

What a pain. Do not use this company!

 
Screenshot of http://www.nepalproxy.com
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

JustHost Sucks

I will tell you all why. Their support system is totally flawed. I think they have not given proper priority to their support.

Their chat will make you wait for 30 minutes. I do not know how many seconds they have in their minutes. The Chat page shows 30 minutes of wait and I waited for more than 45 minutes for it to drop to 14 minutes.

I called their support +18887557585 using skype and after pressing the key 2 for technical support I waited for more than 40 minutes and then their Voice automation redirected me to the survey where I pressed 0 that I would not recommend JustHost to anyone. I was totally surprised. The ticket went unanswered.

I waited for their chat and their phone support but it was a total waste of time. I wanted to get a SSL Certificate Installed. They have remove the Certificate Installation feature from SSL/TLS manager for custom certificate installations.

This is because they want to force their own SSL Products available through them. I had the Certificate issued but just to get it installed the JustHost made me wait just and just for a long long time. Their support totally sucks and I am not the only one to be a victim of their improper support system.

I would not recommend anyone to host any of their websites with JustHost because support is the key thing in hosting. If there are no proper support then it's useless whatever service they provide and how good they are. So please please kindly think before you sign up with JustHost.

I don't want anyone to suffer because of their poor support system and improper management. Thanks

 
Screenshot of http://www.citytranslations.co.uk
2 stars
Support
2 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Justhost offers a very good price and a lot of features, and if you are looking for hosting for a personal project, I'm sure it's great. However, if you need hosting or email for business, I'd give it a wide berth, as the low price is not worth the cost to your business of frequently being unable to access your emails. For instance, this morning I've been unable to access my emails at all for at least an hour and a half - I've opened their live chat support app, but that says the current wait time is 30 mins.

This is not a real waiting time. It's said that for at least the last fifteen minutes, and last time I was given a wait time of 30 mins on the app, after 2 hours I still wasn't through to support - although my wait time was down to five minutes by the time my email came back up. Also, they get a lot of spam problems, so if you share a server with anyone else, expect not to be able to email anyone who's signed up to an anti-spam service at random intervals.

The least of my worries is that the three online email viewers that are irritating to use and strike me as the technology of a decade ago. Certainly searching your emails is a problem - possibly partly because of justhost's general slow speeds. I guess you get what you pay for there.

If you're thinking that you don't need email, just webhosting, again I maintain that their offering is fine for personal use, but not for business. My website is often slow. I am barely prepared to wait long enough for a new page to open, so I dread to think how clients experience it.

You'll also find it an uphill struggle to build your website, as the speed of the site means that you will have long waiting times every time you need to make a change. I've built several sites before (mainly on Yahoo and Google) and I was confident that this wouldn't be a problem, as I was only building a small site, but actually it was so slow it was a real problem. That said, justhost does have a wide range of features and is almost certainly fine for a personal or hobby site, as you don't need to present a professional face to clients and it doesn't matter if there are some mornings when you can't access your emails, but you will still be able to take advantage of all justhost's range of features.

 
Screenshot of http://mndance.com
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

My website hosting was paid automatically on Dec. 26th with my credit card. Because it was unclear to me, I asked my Credit Card company for clarification. Yesterday my website stopped working, as did my email, at about 7:30am.

When I found out through one of my customers, I called Justhost customer service. I was informed that the billing department shut down my site - they thought I was disputing the above charge, which I wasn't. Rather than contacting me, calling me, emailing me, they just shut down my site and email.

Even after I informed them of the error, they requested that I send in copies of ID's and the credit card. Even though I had no email, and I was away from a fax or a scanner, I managed to create a GMail email, (remember-they shut down my email) take a photo and send it in. That was at about 5PM (I have to work, and cannot devote 100% attention to these mistakes).

I called again. The picture wasn't clear enough, they said, could I send another? I took another with a better camera, and send it.

This morning, I checked the site - still not working. Called again. Now they wanted an email saying that the charge was not disputed.

I sent it immediately. The site was restored about 10:30AM. All totaled this took 28 hours to get resolved, despite my pointing out the billing department's error within 4 hours.

And they still won't admit their mistake! After my site was up again, and I started receiving my email again, I received the email from the billing department that told me there was an issue. So they sent me the email After they shut my email down.

I asked for justification - it shows the Chargeback amount at $0.00. They are unable to understand documents, it seems. Yet they still believe they were justified.

Frankly, I think I have a right to a verification of a Credit Card charge - from ANY company - without so severe of recrimination. And they should give the billing department access to a phone.

 
Screenshot of http://www.wicksie.co.uk
3 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I switched to them from Heart Internet after having been assured that everything (including the audio & video files) would be ok, and that the transfers would be quick and painless. I had 8 domains that were to be transferred and again, they said there would be no problem. However, this was not the case.

Firstly, they failed to notify me when the transfers had taken place, which resulted in all domains being down for quite a long period. Then after just a few days, they sent a very strong email telling me I had to remove all media from the site as it was not allowed. When I contacted them to resolve this, they were less than helpful.

I explained that I was the owner of all the media, but they wanted proof. I sent them a photo of me, since it is me in the videos, but they just said I could have got that from anywhere (effectively accusing me of Identity Fraud). I sent another showing me at my computer and the screen showing I was talking to them at the time.

They still refused to acknowledge this, and disconnected the site, and would only reactivate it when I had removed ALL media. Needless to say I cancelled, and went back to Heart Internet, as I have never had a single problem with them in over 20 years. I only left because of cost, and I now know "you get what you pay for"......

 
Screenshot of http://babyfavorsandgifts.com
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have JustHost for a few years, and they are getting worse by the minute. They used to be good, but now the people in support seems to have no technical knowledge at all, so it's impossible to talk to them. I just found out that they are not keeping full copies of my site!

They have none! So if you are looking for hosting keep in mind that there is a good chance that you may lose Your Site (all files) in an instant! And if you already have them call and find out if they are keeping your copy, because they told me that they really don't need to keep them that it is only a courtesy that they do.

Right now I am really sorry I have them, but when you switch hosts, your positioning in google is affected badly. Think I might have to do it anyway.

 
4.5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Hello, I've been with JustHost for a couple of years now and I am more than happy. I use it mainly for email which I have been very happy with. I have many wesright.com email addresses that I need up and running all the time and JustHost has done very well by me so far.

There have been a few times the servers were down but they were few and far in between. To be honest I cannot remember the last downtime. I've also had to submit a ticket or two in the past and they were always handled quickly and professionally.

I wish I had more to say about them but mostly they are transparent and I tend to forget they are there. Everything I have setup with them works so I often forget they are there. What more could I ask? Lastly, I don't really use the web page service so I can't really go into those services.

 
Screenshot of www.dwtusa.com
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Just Host is a total mistake for my business. I was on hold for over 30 min. before I just had to give up.

Then when I went to the "on line chat", that was another 27 min. to wait to talk to someone. Then, after chatting about a "translate" button I saw at the bottom of emails, I was told "I don't know but I would not try it as there are probably bugs".

Building a website, not as easy as everyone makes out. I would be leary because I believe most of the "reviews" are paid for. Bottom line, Don't do it, Don't do it, Don't do it

 
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

In 2102 I had problems in that my account kept going down. I contacted the service center but had no satisfaction. They couldn't get the account up and running.

N June 2012 I cancelled the account. Jan 2013 they told me there was no record of my cancellation and charged me for another year. I contacted the service center again.

I had no access to the account in all this time. I was told they would cancel the account. I sent a formal cancellation email.

I was charged for another year. Now in June 2014 I have been charged again. In May 2014 I was notified that I was due for a bill.

I again contacted Just Host and canceled the account. For 2 years now I have been paying for a service I can't access and they disregard my attempts to cancel the account. I can't cancel it online as I have no access to the account. I find their service lacking and their ethics appalling

 
Screenshot of https://vitaminsforpitbulls.com
1.5 stars
Support
3 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Just host / BlueHost / HostGator (all the same company) have been down 4 times in the past month. The latest time that their servers crashed on April 17, 2014, our website was down for 24 hours. We paid for a dedicated server to top it off.

This cost us well over $5,000.00 and forced us to change hosting companies. Their response was offering a free month of hosting.

 
Screenshot of http://camasfarmersmarket.org/
4.5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I would highly not recommend JustHost to anyone. The entire website is a based around a cheap plan, but requires upgrade. I wish I had known before I signed up that they were going to put up old versions of my site and not maintain the backups.

I called customer service and they told me I should buy their extra plan to make my site a higher priority for them. The base plan is 2.95 a month, which is super good. However, adding the extra 20 dollars for priority is not so good.

Their up-time is a big issue as well. In addition, the FTP is super slow. I would not recommend this to anyone, because there are so many better alternatives out there.

In fact, when I asked for a refund, they gave me so many fees like domain registration fees for a Free domain! Ugggggggg. This site has made me very mad.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

JustHost are awesome. I heard many great things about JustHost from my friends. And I guess its the best.

I'm totally in love with JustHost. I always want to work with such sites. JustHost rocks because it gives full support to their customers and always there for help.

It's fantastic and outstanding. Right now I'm searching for the words to say. Actually it's the father of all hosting sites.

 
3.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

The speed of these servers leave a lot to be desired. Support continually blames the sites for the speed, but yet when I transfer any site to a new server, its speed is increased by 10 times. The same hosting plan is on the new server.

Every time I transferred a site to them, my clients start calling complaining about speed issues. I have submitted multiple support tickets and have had several useless chats all of which turn out to be my fault or the site's fault, and god forbid, that it be their servers. I've sent screen shots of speed tests before move and after move and in each case the speed has gone from 16 - 48 seconds to 2 seconds or less to load on the new server.

Even their own reseller's area is slow as dog poop. I can't get anything done without having to wait for unacceptable times for the pages to load. They can't seem to grasp the fact that it's not just sites, it's their whole network.

I'm disgusted with trying to talk to these people. Even chat chokes and I get "Waiting for justhost.com" in the status bar of the chat window. I hit the send button and it took 2 minutes to finally post to the chat.

WTF? Be careful when you are choosing Just Host for your host.

 

Most Popular JustHost Hosting Plans

Basic Plus Pro
Disk Space 50GB 150GB Unlimited
Bandwidth Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Price $3.49/mo $5.95/mo $13.95/mo
View Plan View Plan View Plan

All JustHost Hosting Plans

Hosting Plan Features Disk Space Bandwidth Price
Basic Shared
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Python
  • Linux
  • MySQL
  • Merchant Account Support
50GB Unlimited $3.49/month
Usual price:
Plus Shared
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Python
  • Linux
  • MySQL
  • Merchant Account Support
150GB Unlimited $5.95/month
Usual price:
Pro Shared
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Python
  • Linux
  • MySQL
  • Merchant Account Support
Unlimited Unlimited $13.95/month
Usual price:
VPS Hosting Standard Shared
  • WordPress
  • Shell Access
  • CentOS
  • Linux
  • Check Payments
  • Phone Support
30GB 1TB $15.06/month
Usual price:
VPS Hosting Enhanced Shared
  • WordPress
  • Shell Access
  • CentOS
  • Linux
  • Check Payments
  • Phone Support
60GB 2TB $30.12/month
Usual price:
VPS Hosting Premium Shared
  • WordPress
  • Shell Access
  • Debian
  • CentOS
  • Linux
  • Check Payments
120GB 3TB $45.19/month
Usual price:
VPS Hosting Ultimate Shared
  • WordPress
  • Shell Access
  • CentOS
  • Linux
  • Check Payments
  • Phone Support
240GB 4TB $60.23/month
Usual price:
Reseller Hosting Silver Reseller
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Shell Access
  • WHM
  • Python
  • MySQL
100GB 15MB $19.95/month
Usual price:
Reseller Hosting Gold Reseller
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Shell Access
  • WHM
  • Python
  • MySQL
250GB 25MB $49.95/month
Usual price:
Reseller Hosting Platinum Reseller
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Shell Access
  • WHM
  • Python
  • MySQL
500GB 35MB $89.95/month
Usual price:
Standard Dedicated Server Hosting Dedicated
  • WordPress
  • Dedicated Server
  • Shell Access
  • CentOS
  • Linux
  • Check Payments
500GB 5TB $82.98/month
Usual price:
Enhanced Dedicated Server Hosting Shared
  • WordPress
  • Shell Access
  • CentOS
  • Linux
  • Check Payments
  • Phone Support
1000GB 10TB $112.85/month
Usual price:
Premium Dedicated Server Hosting Shared
  • WordPress
  • Shell Access
  • CentOS
  • Linux
  • Check Payments
  • Phone Support
1000GB 15TB $139.40/month
Usual price:

JustHost Frequently Asked Questions

  • Can I buy Windows shared hosting from JustHost?

    JustHost uses Linux and does not offer Windows hosting.

  • Does the monthly price increase when it's time to renew?

    There's a discount on new customers' first term of service. When you renew, you'll be billed at the regular rate for your plan.

  • Do any plans include a free domain?

    All of their plans include one free domain registration. With shared hosting plans, it's limited to one year.

  • Does JustHost provide refunds for any downtime?

    No. There is no uptime guarantee.

  • Is there a money-back guarantee?

    Yes. If you cancel within 30 days, you will be refunded the full cost of your hosting plan. After the 30 days, you can cancel at any time and get a refund for the prorated portion of unused service. Domain names are chargeable.

  • Does JustHost offer any VPS hosting plans?

    Yes. There are four different VPS hosting plans.

  • Can I reach JustHost support via phone?

    Yes. Support is available via phone and live chat 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

  • Which programming languages does JustHost support?

    It supports all common programming languages that can run on Linux servers, including PHP, Perl, Python, and Ruby on Rails.

  • Does JustHost provide any hosting reseller options?

    No. It does not offer reseller plans.

  • Will JustHost support transfer my existing website?

    No. JustHost does not provide website transfer services.

  • Can I create more than one website on my account?

    Yes. All plans include unlimited domains, so you can create as many websites as you'd like.

  • What control panel software is provided?

    cPanel is provided with all its hosting plans.

  • Can I pay for my hosting plan with Paypal?

    Yes: PayPal, credit card (Visa, Master Card, American Express, or Discover), check, or money order.

  • Can I pay for hosting services monthly?

    Yes. Monthly payment plans are available for all of its hosting packages. No matter what billing cycle you choose, you can cancel at any time and get a refund for the unused portion of your cycle.

  • What kind of backup services does JustHost offer?

    JustHost may offer courtesy backups at their own discretion, but there's no guarantee that backups will be available. They strongly recommend running your own off-site backups.

  • Do nonprofits, schools, or students get special discounts on JustHost's regular pricing?

    JustHost offers discounted rates to students at participating universities.

  • Which of JustHost's plans is best for streaming video?

    You can set up streaming video and streaming audio with all JustHost hosting plans.

Who Are The Most Popular JustHost Alternatives?

Overall 2.5 stars
Support
2 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
2.5 stars
Visit JustHost

Price Comparison

JustHost$3.49
SiteGround$3.95
BlueHost$2.75
InMotion Hosting$2.95
A2 Hosting$3.92
HostPapa$3.95

Review JustHost & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a JustHost customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more...

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about JustHost.
Please be specific: we're only interested in hearing that JustHost rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

(We hate spam - see our privacy policy)