KnownHost In 2019: What Do KnownHost Client Reviews Say?

Our Verdict: #1 for High-End Hosting

KnownHost specializes in Linux-based VPS, dedicated, and managed hosting plans but also offers shared WordPress plans and account access via cPanel. They have datacenters in the US and Europe and feature raid-10 solid-state drives.

Click through on any of the KnownHost links on this page to get an exclusive discount on high-performance hosting starting at $23.75 per month.

Pros:

  • Specializes in high-end hosting
  • Good value on shared, reseller, and WordPress plans
  • Extensive knowledgebase via wiki

Cons:

  • No phone or chat support
  • Linux-only hosting (no Windows)

Check out reviews from actual KnownHost customers, who give it an overall score of 4.5 stars out of 5, with outstanding ratings on support and quality across all plan types.

Is KnownHost the Perfect Host for Your Website?

Curious about something specific? Jump to our most popular sections:

  • Expert review — Get the straight scoop from our expert, Claire Broadley.
  • Best reviews — Read reviews by KnownHost customers.
  • Hosting plans — See which plan is best for you.
  • FAQ — Find answers to the most common questions about KnownHost.

If you’re looking for high-performance Linux web hosting and managed VPS, KnownHost is worth considering.

Dedicated server packages are available. All plans come with a money-back guarantee.

What’s the quality of their tech support? And what exactly is “managed”?

Here are some important things to know before you sign up.

KnownHost Homepage

About KnownHost

Founded in 2006, KnownHost is a privately-owned web hosting company based in West Chester, Pennsylvania in the United States.

In addition to managed VPS and dedicated hosting, KnownHost offers basic hosting packages. These include shared, cloud, WordPress, and reseller.

Continued after user reviews

Knownhost Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 16 Reviews by Knownhost Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Kevin Quinlan avatar
Kevin Quinlan kqwedphoto.com
Mar 12, 2014

Very happy so far with Knownhost. I have only been with them for a few weeks, but while getting my site up and running and getting my speed to where I want it, the support has been amazing. They have email only support, and they are very responsive.

Once you send them a question they typically take a matter of minutes to respond. The best part of their support is the quality, and the depth of knowledge of the support team working there. I have contacted them dozens of times, and my questions are always quickly answered by people who know what they are doing.

Coming from a shared hosting environment to a VPS, that support is extremely important. I also love the speed, and consistency of speed my sites have now. With shared hosting, my site load times were typically 2 to 3x slower during the day.

With the knownhost vps, speed is quicker, and stays that way all the time. With Knownhost I am using one of their new Ssd-1 package with CPanel added on. Very impressed so far :)

Visit Host Now →

Zaid Markabi avatar
Zaid Markabi cetobeto.com
Mar 17, 2017

i’m using KnownHost for almost 10 months till now. i tried them with 3 Dedicated servers and 5+ VPS. their prices are some higher than other hosting providers, but they have very good and quick technical support team.

im good customer at KnownHost spending $600+ monthly

but what i hate in KnownHost, is that they are saying 30-Day Money Back Guarantee for VPS plans, but this is Not real. one of my websites on their VPS went under attack, they asked me to move it to a Dedicated server, and i did what they asked for. but they rejected to refund credits for this VPS after renewal by 10 days, i asked to refund such as 60% to cover 20 days not used yet but they rejected.

remember im very good customer spending $600/mo with them, having many Dedicated servers and VPSs. another case i have when i ordered new VPS + new Dedicated server, after 12 hours i asked them to cancel the VPS but they again rejected to refund (even i did not setup any website on the VPS, and only some hours passed after order)

i can say, Health of their servers are Good, and they have good technical support. but their Billing support is some bad, they may ask you to leave their servers if you have a lot of traffic or if you got attacked in a day.

and they will Not refund any money. something else, they does not accept Bitcoin as a payment method.

Visit Host Now →

Shiva Chettri avatar
Shiva Chettri netchunks.com
Dec 09, 2011

One of the best VPS web host out there, specially and mainly because of its rock solid uptime and customer support. Even if your website or server goes down (which is highly unlikely), you just need to open a ticket and Your Site will be up in no time. The only thing is that they do not have chat support but still their ticket support is as fast other web hosts chat support so hardly makes a difference. Have been hosting my website for the past 1 year without any complaint.

Visit Host Now →

Load More

Hosting Plans 

KnownHost’s hosting services are roughly divided into three kinds: shared, VPS, and Dedicated. But there’s a lot more to these services than may first appear.

Note that KnownHost offers Linux hosting. If you need Windows hosting, check out LiquidWeb or A2 Hosting.

KnownHost Plans

Managed VPS Hosting

KnownHost offers two kinds of managed VPS hosting: regular and KVM (Kernel-based Virtual Machine) cloud.

The basic difference is that the first is hardware-based and the second cloud-based.

5 Hardware-Based Plans

They offer five plans for managed VPS hosting. The cheapest is their VPS-1 plan, which is just $28.00 per month on a yearly plan. And its specs are impressive: 2 CPU cores, 2 GB RAM, 50 GB RAID-10 SSD storage, 2 TB bandwidth, and two IP addresses.

3 Cloud Plans

There are 3 managed Cloud VPS plans. They cost a bit more. The cheapest plan is Cloud-1 for $50.40 per month on a yearly plan. And it includes: 1 CPU core, 2 GB RAM, 75 GB storage, 2 TB bandwidth, 2 IPv4 and 64 IPv6 addresses.

Dedicated Server Hosting

KnownHost’s dedicated servers are located in its Texas datacenter. They are provided on a fully managed basis, so you don’t have to be a Unix expert to use them.

There are four different plans. The lowest-level plan is built on an Intel i7 processor but the others are built on Xeon processors. Otherwise, the plans differ in how many resources they have.

The low-priced server, KH-MD1, cost $159 per month. It includes 8 GB RAM, 6 TB bandwidth, and 256 GB SSD plus 1 TB SATA storage.

Note that there is a set-up fee for all dedicated hosting plans. These range from $49 to $129.

Shared Hosting

KnownHost offers shared hosting in five different forms:

  1. Shared Hosting

  2. Shared Cloud

  3. Reseller Hosting

  4. Reseller Cloud

  5. WordPress Hosting.

Shared and Shared Cloud

The only real difference between the Shared and Shared Cloud plans is that the first is hosted on traditional hardware and the second is hosted on a cloud server. Otherwise, they are the same in terms of resources, features, and price.

There are two plans: Shared-1 (Shared Cloud-1) and Shared-2 (Shared Cloud-2). The costs are $3.47 and $6.47 if you use the coupon code they provide on their site. You can lock in these prices for up to 3 years.

The higher-level plan offers unmetered resources. Shared-1 is limited to 5 hosted domains and 5 GB SSD storage.

Reseller and Shared Reseller

There are 3 plans for each type of reseller hosting. The cheapest, Reseller-1, provides 25 GB of storage and unmetered bandwidth for $6.97 per month.

WordPress Hosting

KnownHost’s datacenters have 24/7 onsite security, redundant power, and multiple internet connections.

KnownHost offers two WordPress hosting plans.

The cheaper one is $5.97 per month. It provides 50 GB of storage and can support up to 100,000 visitors. You can only host one website on the WordPress plans.

KnownHost Infrastructure

KnownHost runs 4 datacenters: 3 in the US and one in Europe. The three in the US are Seattle, Dallas, and Baltimore — representing the west, center, and east of the country.

Their only European datacenter is in Amsterdam, Netherlands.

Datacenter Security

These are enterprise-level hosting facilities. All datacenters have 24/7 onsite security, redundant power supplies, and multiple internet connections.

Test Downloads

Test downloads are provided for all four datacenters so that customers can decide which one is right for them. It’s especially worth doing this if your target market is outside the US.

Uptime Guarantee

KnownHost offers a 99.9% uptime guarantee. This is standard for the industry. For every 0.1% (or fraction) below that, you get a 10% credit toward your monthly hosting bill.

So, if their uptime drops to 99.9%, you would get a free month of hosting.

This is extremely unlikely to happen, however. KnownHost has an uptime of 99.996% verified by Hyperspin. That is exceptional. It represents less than 2 minutes of downtime per month.

Automatic Backups

As part of its management, KnownHost automatically backs up your website should you ever need to restore it.

KnownHost Contact Info

Money-Back Guarantee

Except for dedicated hosting, all plans come with a 30-day money-back guarantee. Note that this is limited to first-time customers.

You can cancel your plan at any time and receive a pro-rated refund.

Customer Support

KnownHost customers are provided with a very thorough knowledgebase and a download library full of useful manuals and software as well as multiple ways to contact the company for account questions or technical support.

Specifically, there’s a nicely organized wiki with guides rated by difficulty and there’s a community forum organized by topic. Another resource: the KnownHost blog.

Live chat is for pre-sales: this is a good way to get questions answered when you’re still in the decision phase.

Tech Support

Customers can contact support staff 24/7/365 through the ticketing system on the website or via email. There is no telephone or live chat support.

Support Team

KnownHost offers cPanel/WHM on all their hosting plans.

KnownHost’s support team is based in the US.

Control Panels

The main control panel offered by KnownHost is cPanel (and WHM if applicable). DirectAdmin is also available on the VPS plans.

Softaculous is also provided. It allows you to easily (with one-click, more or less) install over 400 applications such as CMSs like WordPress, Joomla, Drupal, and Magento.

Summary

KnownHost provides excellent high-end hosting with its managed VPS and dedicated server plans. However, they also offer good value with their lower-level shared, reseller, and WordPress plans.

The only real downside of KnownHost is their lack of phone and live chat support.

If you’re not bothered by the limitations of ticket-based support, KnownHost is worth considering — regardless of the kind of hosting you are looking for. If that’s you, visit KnownHost now.

Most Popular Knownhost Hosting Plans

VPS-1 SSD-1 VPS-2
Disk Space 20GB 15GB 50GB
Bandwidth 1500GB 2000GB 2500GB
Price $23.75 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$33.25 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
$33.33 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit Knownhost Now Visit Knownhost Now Visit Knownhost Now
Plan Disk Space Bandwidth Price
VPS-3
VPS
65GB 3500MB $42.50 / mo Visit Host Now
SSD-2
VPS
30GB 3000GB $47.50 / mo Visit Host Now
SSD-3
VPS
50GB 4500GB $66.50 / mo Visit Host Now
SSD-4
VPS
70GB 6000GB $85.50 / mo Visit Host Now
DEDI-CP1
Dedicated
500GB 8000GB $199 / mo Visit Host Now
DEDI-CP2
Dedicated
500GB 9000GB $229 / mo Visit Host Now
DEDI-CP3
Dedicated
750GB 10000GB $259 / mo Visit Host Now
More Plans +

Knownhost Frequently Asked Questions

  • What support does KnownHost offer?

    KnownHost offers US-based support 24/7 via email and ticket. According to the company, support requests are responded to within 10 minutes. They also have a wiki and a customer forum. They do not, however, provide support via telephone or live chat.

  • Does KnownHost have an uptime guarantee?

    Yes. They guarantee 99.9% uptime in any given month. If they fail to achieve that, then for every 0.1% drop in uptime, customers are credited 10% of the cost. There are a few exceptions to this guarantee like customer controlled downtime or things beyond KnownHost’s control. See their SLA for full details.

    Note, however, that KnownHost’s actual uptime is much better — generally around 99.996%.

  • Where are KnownHost’s datacenters?

    KnownHost runs three datacenters stateside: in Texas, Washington, and Maryland. They also have one in Amsterdam in the Netherlands. These are all state-of-the-art facilities with redundant power and 24/7 security. They also include redundant internet providers.

  • Will KnownHost help migrate my site?

    Yes. If the control panel you’re migrating from is the same as the one you’re going to, then their migration team should be able to do the whole thing without any downtime. If you have special requests, KnownHost will work with you on a plan of action.

  • Does KnownHost use introductory pricing?

    KnownHost plans are set. However, they offer a coupon code that allows you to get half-off your first hosting period. After that, you will be charged the full amount. If you are certain you want to host with them, you are best to purchase the longest plan term.

  • Does KnownHost have an affiliates program?

    Yes. They pay a commission for each sale from your website. The amount you make is based upon what the referral spends. KnownHost says this can be up to $300. They pay on a monthly basis.

Claire Broadley

About Claire Broadley

Claire has been creating websites for over 20 years and has been using WordPress for over ten. She is an expert in web hosting, design, HTML, and more. She lives with her husband and son in the United Kingdom.

Connect with Claire

Review Knownhost & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a Knownhost customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more…

1 How would you rate your experience with Knownhost?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about Knownhost.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that Knownhost rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2019 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2019.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your Knownhost review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).

Comments

Thanks for your comment. It will show here once it has been approved.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

shares