Linode In 2019: What Do Linode Client Reviews Say?

Linode Introduction

Linode is an American hosting company that provides VPS hosting to its clients. The company was founded in 2003 by Christopher Aker and has grown over the years to incorporate cloud options.

Based in Galloway, New Jersey, Linode has customers in 131 countries and focuses solely on Linux hosting. It provides a detailed breakdown of its customer preferences: at the time of writing this review, 56% of VPS plans were deployed on Ubuntu, for example.

Linode Hosting Plans

Linode’s hosting is exclusively provided on Linux, with virtualization at the core of all plans. Each instance of a Linux server is referred to as a Linode. Customers use the company’s unique Linode Manager tool to deploy a Linode, choose the Linux distribution they want or change its settings. Linode Manager can be used via the desktop or the company’s own free iPhone app.

There are six VPS options, from 1 GB RAM to 16 GB RAM, which includes a sliding scale of storage and transfer. Users can choose one of six data centers in Tokyo, London, New Jersey, Georgia, Texas or California. There are 100 MB test download files on the site so you can assess the best option, and Linode also says you’re free to move later.

All plans come with SSH and root access. Backups are offered as an optional extra service which you’ll have to pay for. Likewise, cPanel and WHM licences aren’t included on any plans.

Linode offers a range of other features, including its NodeBalancer service. NodeBalancers help to intelligently balance demand across several Linodes. Again, this is a paid extra. A wealth of technical data and advanced options are provided for Linux enthusiasts and programmers.

Linode Uptime/Downtime

Linode offers a standard 99.9% uptime guarantee, as defined in its Terms of Service document. The company’s credit policy is simple: if your service is down long enough to break the SLA, you simply request a pro-rata credit. There are no complex rules about how much downtime you can claim: it’s a straight swap. The company doesn’t appear to publish uptime statistics, although it seems that these can be activated via a customer’s VPS if that’s something you want to monitor.

Linode offers customers the opportunity to host their website in one of six data centers; four in the USA, one in the UK and one in Japan. There are some blog posts about its data center facilities on the site, but no real definitive guide to the facilities offered by each one.

I did ascertain that the UK data center is located at Powergate, the newest facility owned by Telecity Group. The New Jersey data center is run by NAC, and the data center in Fremont, California is owned by Hurricane Electric.

As mentioned above, backups are offered on Linode, but you’ll have to pay for them. The backup services looks very capable providing you can afford the hefty additional fee.

Linode Support

Linode is a self-managed hosting company, so don’t expect support to hold your hand; you’ll be on your own with your VPS unless you have a system issue that their technical team need to look into. Most inquiries will be directed to the Linode Library, a comprehensive and rather technical knowledgebase. There’s a ticket system for support requests, plus a US telephone number, although customers are asked to use the ticket system first. As a test, I sent a sales inquiry via email which was answered within a few minutes.

Linode has active pages on Twitter and Facebook, but it doesn’t really use these pages to respond to customer support requests.

Linode in the News

In April 2013, Linode suffered a serious breach of security. According to its blog, a group of hackers known as HTP gained access to the company’s secure database via a vulnerability in its ColdFusion server. The database was used to store customer billing information and passwords. Although Linode says no data was taken, and this claim is republished in the news report below, hackers later posted proof that confidential data had been obtained.

(Linode hacked, customer passwords reset)

Linode Control Panel

Linode’s virtualisation is handled via a custom control panel used to manipulate and deploy server instances. No control panel software is included in its plans.

Linode Extras

Linode does not offer any extras, such as advertising credits or freebies.

Linode Money Back Guarantee / Cancellation Policy

New Linode customers can take advantage of a 7-day money-back guarantee. This is very short in hosting terms, but it’s still good to see a guarantee in place.

If a customer wants to cancel their hosting plan after the first week, they’ll be issued a pro-rata refund minus a $5 fee.

Linode Summary

Linode’s VPS hosting is geared purely towards people knowledgeable in Linux, and there are no managed options whatsoever. While some will relish the chance to purchase a VPS in such an unrestricted way, some customers will find the learning curve too steep to make it worth the switch, despite the fact that Linode’s pricing is competitive.

There are a few other hosts operating in the same price band offering similar features, so it’s worth researching the market thoroughly before signing up – some include backups, for example. The billing hack Linode experienced may be unfortunate, but it’s also going to be a serious concern to anyone looking at signing up with Linode in future.

Linode Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 5 Reviews by Linode Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Tengfei Yu avatar
Tengfei Yu ytf4425.com
Dec 26, 2014

As you see,Linode is one of the best vps in the world,its uptime is the best one in my all vps,and it provides great hardware and control panel. I love it,although it’s a little expensive for me. It’s famous for its great ticket system,however,I think it doesn’t work well.Once I ask a question about IPv6,the Technical Support doesn’t tell me how to solve it, they just let me test again and again.

It’s a big problem. Another problem is the speed of booting vps is too low,I don’t know why, maybe because of xen.

Visit Host →

Rofiil Honi avatar
Rofiil Honi pemendek.ml
May 18, 2015

this ssd vps hosting is great, with so many location in US, and other server at Singapore and United Kingdom
Cheap Price for 1gb Ram and 20gb ssd , also with 2 TB Bandwidth /mo so make me easy to make a hosting

and also have many OS, but not have Windows OS, Only Linux

Easy Configuration and not blocking any port,

Visit Host →

Shady Sherif avatar
Shady Sherif shadysweb.com
Dec 21, 2014

Linode is on of the best vps hosting providers I have used. because, pretty much all hosting providers revolve around the same feature set as ssh access, 99.99% uptime guarantee, various server locations. But what makes a difference is their support.

Unless your are on a manger plan they won’t help you manage your vps in any way. but, all other questions about billing, account, technical problems. They will answer you in under 3 minutes maximum & and that what really impresses me.

Knowing that someone will answer you immediately when you want help with something. Previously I have been using net firms as a shared hosting provider. Once I wanted to ask a question related to my billing status.

I had to wait for 30 minutes for some to finally talk to me on their live chat system in addition to about a 5 minutes delay with every response. I have been with linode for 6 months now. And their support team astonishes me.

Other than their support they have amazing features like internal network access where you can join multiple lines together. And a system usage statistical app called Longview which is amazing for runtime usage analysis.

Visit Host →

Bebi Devi avatar
Bebi Devi thebebidevi.net
Feb 09, 2016

I didn’t got any reason to mark any starts down because it has very good support, value and well as pricing. It is best cloud hosting on its great starting pricing. If you are looking for cloud hosting, Linode is the best one for your needs and you should try at least.

Visit Host →

Mohamed Abbas avatar
Mohamed Abbas market-analysis.net
Jul 06, 2016

Linode is a great cloud hosting. It is best suitable for developers who need to get the most out of their server. Linode offers seamless scaling up and down; thus you may start your server initially with as cheap as 10-dollars 2M Ram-server and scale up as long as your business needs go up to 120M Ram-server.

even more you may hire the server on an hourly-basis you should not pay for what you do not use rather pay for needs only. In addition to use Linode as a developers for some data mining purposes, I used it too as a web developer to host my own websites and it works fine to me. their support team were always kind enough to answer my questions even if it was not related to technical issues.

response time to answer questions was really amazing few years ago but it want slowly and slowly as long as they get well known due ti massive tickets they receive. They are kind enough to offer you $50 free hosting if they found you are away for long time form using their service. Actually, I usually come back to use their service as little thank you for this incentive.

on the other hand I have to mention that I used to move to digital ocean from time to time, as they offer more roust & speed servers – it is my own point of view – than Linode, but they has none-responsive support team with regard to Linode support team. one of the selling features that differentiate Linode from other cloud hosting is "Node Balancer" which allows websites of hi traffic & database hitting to balance hits among more than one server to keep server requests replied on time and in a responsive way.

Visit Host →

Load More

Most Popular Linode Hosting Plans

Linode 1GB
Disk Space 24GB
Bandwidth 2TB
Price $10 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit Linode
Claire Broadley

About Claire Broadley

Claire has been creating websites for over 20 years and has been using WordPress for over ten. She is an expert in web hosting, design, HTML, and more. She lives with her husband and son in the United Kingdom.

Connect with Claire

Review Linode & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a Linode customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more…

1 How would you rate your experience with Linode?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about Linode.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that Linode rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2019 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2019.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your Linode review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).