RackSpace Hosting Reviews: There’s One Big Problem With This Managed Host.

The origins of Rackspace Hosting go back to 1996 when Dirk Elmehof and Pat Condon started a company providing mainly web-based applications. In 1998 the business was named Rackspace, and it moved from mainly providing applications to offering hosting solutions. Rackspace is publicly traded and listed on the New York Stock Exchange.

Company and Services

Rackspace has a wide customer base serving many thousands of small business as well as large corporations. The company is based in San Antonio, Texas (some 200 miles west of Houston). It also has overseas offices in London and Hong Kong.

Since 1998 Rackspace has concentrated on providing dedicated hosting and has built up an impressive brand reputation. Rackspace claims to have grown at least by 50% each year since it began and today is a world leading provider of dedicated server hosting.

Dedicated hosting is offered for both Linux and Windows platforms, and can be managed or intensive (the latter being where the customer manages the servers for themselves). Rackspace guarantees 100% network uptime. This commitment to “zero-downtime” is made possible, it claims, with advanced backup technology whereby if one network or provider fails, Rackspace will immediately scan for a replacement. The end result is designed to be no loss of uptime and a continual service to its customers. Rackspace promises to only use high quality bandwidth providers, underlining its stated intent to provide a high quality, reliable service without fail.

Excellent customer support is another key element of Rackspace’s web hosting offering and is backed up in part by a 2,000 strong workforce, many of which work on the customer care side of the business. Its “Fanatical Support” program includes offering support 24/7 x 365 care by highly trained operatives. In addition, Rackspace is known for achieving faster than average response times to customers’ queries, with unlimited technical support on the phone. Customers also have access to a large knowledge base on Rackspace’s website.

The success of Rackspace has seen it grow to a multi-million dollar international company over the past decade, and many accolades have come along the way, including being selected for ‘Best Place to Work’ awards in both the US and the UK.

Rackspace is one of an increasing number of hosting companies that promote themselves as environmentally aware. A such, it has established tree planting schemes throughout the US and the UK and it also provides the option of carbon-neutral web hosting.

Server Location

Rackspace has several data centers around the world. In the UK it has data facilities in London and Slough. A data center in Hong Kong was opened in September 2008. Finally it has four North American data centers: two in San Antonio, Texas, one in Dallas, Texas and one in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Related Links

Company blog: http://www.rackspace.com/blog/index.php Resource center: http://www.rackspace.com/information/mediacenter/index.php Interview with CMO – http://www.hostindex.com/interviews/Rackspace_Interview.shtm

RackSpace Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 21 Reviews by RackSpace Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Noel Turner avatar
Noel Turner nytix.com
Oct 04, 2018

After great 6 years of hosting with Rackspace, the home of "Fanatical Support" has become the home of fantastical support. Since the acquisition of Datapipe and all the bad policies that they have, Rackspace is now heading for trouble with terrible support, unreliable infrastructure and broken down communication lines. We are leaving.

Visit Host →

Jeff Howland avatar
Jeff Howland titanitllc.com
Sep 25, 2018

We decided we were going to partner with Rackspace for hosting. What a mistake. We were told we would get quotes back same day to get out our customers.

Quotes took 1-3 days to get back, we lost bids because we looked stupid because people were like, um you can’t even get a bid back in a timely manner and you want us to trust you hosting on mid-size applications! The first dedicated server we ordered to migrate an old distributed server environment was another disaster. They set us up on the wrong type of server first, lost our hard drive that we had delivered with images and then took a 6 day gap in answer support emails while we were trying to figure how to clean up all this mess.

Easily cost me $20,000$30,000 and then they billed me for a total of 4 months and are trying to collect an additional $1800 on failing to deliver! This is what I get for trying to leave the AWS infrastructure, I’m sorry Jeff Bezos, I’ll never try and leave AWS again, don’t ever force me to deal with these fools again!

Visit Host →

Johan Johansson avatar
Johan Johansson jocan.com
May 27, 2018

Very overpriced compared to AWS Lightsail. Went from paying USD$380/mo to USD$15/mo, and the sites load significantly faster. A site that loaded in +12s in Emea/ANZ went to loading in less than 6s with no changes to code at all (an identical website).

While on Rackspace, our server was hacked because "you did not patch the kernel", but we were paying for managed hosting??? It turns out that managed hosting really just means the superficial stuff, but anything beyond that requires the customer to do. Rackspace is just a bad company now.

Visit Host →

Roland Halpern avatar
Roland Halpern covotersforanimals.org
Aug 24, 2018

Rackspace email has been down for over 24 hours and no one there seems to know what the problem is nor when service will be restored. Lack of access to email has cost me time, money and the ability to interact with my customers. I regret having chosen Rackspace and am embarrassed I recommended them to three of my associates.

Visit Host →

Juan Donoso avatar
Juan Donoso supermadre.net
Apr 25, 2017

Their support services is the worst ever. You can’t contact them by e-mail, you can’t call them (local phone company blocks rackspace number). They charge me several hundred bucks for a service that i can’t use (my login and password doesn’t work even after password reset). I’ve been using/tried at least 20 hosting services on the last years and rackspace i far far far the worst.

Visit Host →

Trevor Jones avatar
Trevor Jones trevorjones.com
Apr 14, 2017

Rackspace forces a "managed service plan" for no reason at all. I stopped using their servers altogether after migrating to AWS but needed to keep the Rackspace account open to continue to serve a few files from their "Files" service (the links were already out in the wild). A bill that would maybe be $5/mo after bandwidth and the Files service charge, now I’m stuck with a service fee that doesn’t even make sense for my account. Stay away from Rackspace.

Visit Host →

Robert Johnstone avatar
Robert Johnstone client-ms.com
Mar 15, 2011

I have had a Rackspace server for two months now and they have been amazing! There technical support is unparalleled and light years ahead of any other hosting company I’ve used (thank god). I have yet to come across an instance where they have NOT been able to help me, to be quite frank.

They always answer the phone, and if you don’t want a ticket they will find someone to walk through the solution with you. You couldn’t ask for more! I am the technical support for both the backend and front end of the company I work for.

That means I have to get e-mail, POP3, Smtp, WebMail, Https (certificates and all that), SSL, Plesk, etc… up and running. They have been able to answer all my questions from simple Http stuff right through to SSL. The only downside is that you really have to pay to have that level of expertise on tap.

Visit Host →

Bryan Fritchie avatar
Bryan Fritchie gmail.com
Mar 26, 2015

We slowly switched our email hosting from December ’14 through January ’15. We were not in a hurry and wanted to make sure we got everything correct as we moved our users. Towards the end of the process we moved our internally written email services to start using Rackspace Smtp servers.

At first they worked like a champ, then they started simply not working. We debugged, tried some stuff out, and got them working again. Over time they stopped working again.

Rinse, repeat a couple of times. Today I found Error log functionality in the email component that had been turned off. I turned it on and found that Rackspace was somehow flagging our emails as Spam.

I talked to Rackspace support and went round and round with her. She wants me to send her a copy of the failed email… the email that doesn’t exist because their servers prevent it from being created.

She finally just cut me off and closed the chat window. We still have phones and some services through the old company that was hosting our email before. So on a hunch I switched back to their email servers and everything works perfectly again. Rackspace is no help at all fixing this, and the support person I talked to couldn’t seem to even comprehend the issue I was dealing with.

Visit Host →

Chase Bowers avatar
Chase Bowers nine.is
Jun 21, 2013

We’ve used Rackspace for over 5 years at our Web Development agency. We’re using a Dedicated Server. Rackspace has great support, always answers the phone and provides great hosting.

Visit Host →

David Perez avatar
David Perez thecolor.com
Sep 12, 2017

Used to have amazing customer service. Now if you open a ticket it can go days without anyone bothering to open it. You have to call the 800# to get someone to look at the ticket and this even after a long hold time.

I have already moved 1 server to Liquid Web. Going to move my other $6,000 a month to them as well. Not sure who is running Rackspace but they are putting profits ahead of fanatical service and they are going to see a mass exodus.

Visit Host →

Load More

Most Popular RackSpace Alternatives

Limestone Networks logo

Starts at:

$104

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

Cherry Servers logo

Starts at:

$144

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

Pair Networks logo

Starts at:

$5.47

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

WhoIsHostingThis Team

About WhoIsHostingThis Team

Our writing team comes from all over the world with diverse backgrounds in the arts and sciences. But what links them is their passion for the internet. All together they represent many decades of experience working in all facets of it — from programming and hardware creation to website design and marketing.

Connect with WhoIsHostingThis